User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 164 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 84 out of 164
  2. Negative: 53 out of 164

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 17, 2014
    3
    This game was clearly unfinished. Splash Damage put in LOADS of cool ideas; but sadly, none of them work! The customisation is very good, but other than that, it's just your boring, faceless, plotless shooter. Seriously, there is NO plot whatsoever. Also, it has some of the worst multiplayer lag I have ever seen! Two words: STAY WAY!
  2. Apr 22, 2014
    9
    I actually thought this game was pretty good. While yes, there were some issues with the lag, that happened to me very rarely. I enjoyed the fast parkour and gunning down foes after hopping over a object or sliding under one. In my opinion, a very underrated game, and still a good time to play with friends.
  3. Jan 2, 2014
    7
    The game has it's flaws and it is not perfect but the fact that it is one of the most unique shooters out there makes it an overall good game.
    The SMART system is very interesting to use and the classes are all very well balanced. The weapon and character customization is good and gives you the opportunity to make a very unique character and depending on your style an awesome-looking and
    The game has it's flaws and it is not perfect but the fact that it is one of the most unique shooters out there makes it an overall good game.
    The SMART system is very interesting to use and the classes are all very well balanced. The weapon and character customization is good and gives you the opportunity to make a very unique character and depending on your style an awesome-looking and effective weapons.
    There might not be many maps but the ones that the games has to offer are very well thought of and are fun to play on.
    The game has to be a bit polished though. There are some glitches and from time to time the texture popping is vague. The graphics are good and I like them but the only thing they need is more maps to play on and a better story since the story has some interesting character which we have no idea who they are.
    I hope that helps.
    Expand
  4. Aug 20, 2013
    6
    Brink has many good ideas and much wasted potential.
    The campaign is not existent, it´s just multiplayer with bots.
    The movement feels great but does not offer many opportunities for the player. The gun customization is good but there are many useless attachments. You might have fun with this game with some friends, you shouldn´t try online mode alone because missing players get
    Brink has many good ideas and much wasted potential.
    The campaign is not existent, it´s just multiplayer with bots.
    The movement feels great but does not offer many opportunities for the player.
    The gun customization is good but there are many useless attachments.
    You might have fun with this game with some friends, you shouldn´t try online mode alone because missing players get removed by bots. This completely destroys the online gameplay.
    Expand
  5. May 21, 2013
    1
    Good overall gun selection. HORRIBLE COMPUTER TEAMMATES. Objective is on one side of the map and the team is always somewhere else. Characters health is taken fast when shot but not when your shooting the enemy. I use gat gun and seems to do very little damage to enemy in groups. The abilities are slow to use such as healing refilling ammo grenades and using your character to do actions.Good overall gun selection. HORRIBLE COMPUTER TEAMMATES. Objective is on one side of the map and the team is always somewhere else. Characters health is taken fast when shot but not when your shooting the enemy. I use gat gun and seems to do very little damage to enemy in groups. The abilities are slow to use such as healing refilling ammo grenades and using your character to do actions. Overall i give this game a 1. Expand
  6. Apr 7, 2013
    0
    There is no reason for this game to exist. The only reason to play it would be because you hate yourself and want to put yourself through the worst experience possible. Do yourself a favor, if you decide at any point that you may want to give this game a try, go outside, take a hammer and hit a nail through your eyeball, I guarantee you it will hurt less and you will feel better than ifThere is no reason for this game to exist. The only reason to play it would be because you hate yourself and want to put yourself through the worst experience possible. Do yourself a favor, if you decide at any point that you may want to give this game a try, go outside, take a hammer and hit a nail through your eyeball, I guarantee you it will hurt less and you will feel better than if you ever make the mistake of picking up this garbage title. Expand
  7. Apr 2, 2013
    6
    Brink has an interesting concept on paper, But fails gameplay-wise.

    Gameplay 6/10 The Idea of the SMART system seems really interesting. It was supposed to bring Mirrors Edge into the world of FPS. But when they came to implement it, it kind of failed. What we got was a clunky climbing mechanic which feels more like Duke Nukem Forever than Mirrors Edge. The Campaign Missions feel
    Brink has an interesting concept on paper, But fails gameplay-wise.

    Gameplay 6/10 The Idea of the SMART system seems really interesting. It was supposed to bring Mirrors Edge into the world of FPS. But when they came to implement it, it kind of failed. What we got was a clunky climbing mechanic which feels more like Duke Nukem Forever than Mirrors Edge.
    The Campaign Missions feel alot like Unreal Tournament 3's Story mode, by that I mean, basically its just the games online mode but instead of other players they are replaced with bots.

    Story 4/10 The story in this game is basically non-existent, the main focus of the development of the game was the Customization and Online mode so the story mode was just tacked on. There is nothing I can really say about this other than, if your after a story driven game... look elsewhere.

    Presentation and Extras The Customization clearly took a page out of Army of Two's book. It is in-depth and you can clearly spend hour swapping and changing your characters clothes, skills, weapons and abilities. The Presentation of this game was pretty well done, I fell in love with the menu's and the way everything was presented, the way you snap to different body parts when you are in the customization mode and the way you swing through the different sections.

    Final Verdict 6/10 Not what I was expecting when I got the game but the customization is enough to bring me back. If you are looking to buy the game buy it pre-owned or cheap.

    Thanks to Grainger Games for providing this game for review.
    Expand
  8. Mar 24, 2013
    8
    8-Presentation; The story is well written and the setting is amazing. The characters are flat, but the audio logs provide a good amount of info to the story. The menu's are well laid out and easy to navigate.
    8-Graphics; Despite a lot of texture pop in, the art style is beautiful, and the models and animations are great. Textures are good, and the lighting is amazing.
    8-Sound; Everything
    8-Presentation; The story is well written and the setting is amazing. The characters are flat, but the audio logs provide a good amount of info to the story. The menu's are well laid out and easy to navigate.
    8-Graphics; Despite a lot of texture pop in, the art style is beautiful, and the models and animations are great. Textures are good, and the lighting is amazing.
    8-Sound; Everything sounds great.
    9.5-Game play; The levels are rewarding and excellently designed. The controls and mechanics are amazing, and the AI is competent overall
    6.5-Lasting appeal; There's only 8 maps. Tons to unlock, but you'll unlock everything quickly.
    Overall-8/10
    Expand
  9. Jan 28, 2013
    7
    This game has something that I've missed for quite sometime:
    BOTS! YES! You can use BOTS like in Red Faction 2.
    The gameplay is a bit slow, but the overall build of the game makes up for it.
    I'd say pick it up if its 10 to 20 dollars (which it probably is by now).
    The character customization is a little cool feature as well (though it makes gameplay confusing as hell at times).
  10. Dec 3, 2012
    2
    Brink was said to be the next big fps but what it really turns out to be a bunch of unfinished ideas and glitchy gameplay but was thrown out the door anyway. Maybe if Brink was given another half a year it could have been what it was hyped up to be. Instead we have a boring single player campaign with no story, the laggiest online I've seen in a long time and a game thats not worth theBrink was said to be the next big fps but what it really turns out to be a bunch of unfinished ideas and glitchy gameplay but was thrown out the door anyway. Maybe if Brink was given another half a year it could have been what it was hyped up to be. Instead we have a boring single player campaign with no story, the laggiest online I've seen in a long time and a game thats not worth the price tag slapped onto it. Expand
  11. Nov 18, 2012
    5
    Could be better.
    I mean few aspects of this game have been good but they **** up many other things.
    Dissapointning after so many promises made for this game prerelease
  12. Oct 11, 2012
    9
    I honestly suggest this to any fan of First Person Shooting this game brings alot to the table Customization, A Great Experience, Shooting,Shooting, more shooting and of course PARKOUR which is basically jumping over obstacles or sliding through stuff and climbing stuff anyways the game is A great and Tremendous change over Call of duty which is not doing very well due to mw3 suckingI honestly suggest this to any fan of First Person Shooting this game brings alot to the table Customization, A Great Experience, Shooting,Shooting, more shooting and of course PARKOUR which is basically jumping over obstacles or sliding through stuff and climbing stuff anyways the game is A great and Tremendous change over Call of duty which is not doing very well due to mw3 sucking bad!! and battlefield which has had mixed opinions about it but here we have an OLD-SCHOOL "Enemy Territory" kind of game which in my opinion the best style for a action FPS especially when theres multiplayer involved BUT BUT BUT (only for the ps3 version) it has lag even when updated PLUS no ones playing online which is sad coz i would love to play this with friends or anyone really its a great game and my final verdict is a 9/10 its a must buy and u should totally pick up Expand
  13. Aug 18, 2012
    4
    My biggest criticism is that every single (EVERY SINGLE) mission has a time limit. While this does at times add to the intensity of the game, I detest time limits with a hatred so pure and intense that it is inconceivable to the mere human mind. Generally I find them more enraging than anything else. I do thoroughly enjoy reward-based RPG games, and while Brink allows for characterMy biggest criticism is that every single (EVERY SINGLE) mission has a time limit. While this does at times add to the intensity of the game, I detest time limits with a hatred so pure and intense that it is inconceivable to the mere human mind. Generally I find them more enraging than anything else. I do thoroughly enjoy reward-based RPG games, and while Brink allows for character upgrading, I'd recommend Borderlands as a far better substitute. With endless guns, missions, enemies and possibilities it would almost be unfair to compare the two. Also, RPG games generally allow for open-world exploration, Brink doesn't really offer that in the same way that Fallout or Borderlands or Dead Island do. However, Brink isn't all bad. The character customisation is something I think we should see more of. I can quite happily spend over an hour pimping out my character to look increasingly menacing. I especially enjoyed customising the rebels. This is one area where Brink excels at. Overall Brink is a decent game, it's pretty fun to play even if it is quite short. If they ever do bring out a second one I probably wouldn't buy it Expand
  14. Apr 18, 2012
    2
    Hands down the worst game I played in 2011. I bought into the hype and drank the coolaid in hopes that this shooter was going to be different than all the recent shooters...boy was I disappointed.
  15. Apr 6, 2012
    1
    Absolutely horrendous. The game showed promise in the early trailers, but boy was I disappointed. This game doesn't have a story, it just isn't there, aside from the brief cut scene in the beginning, and two second clips at the end of each "mission". The gameplay....the gameplay is terrible. Guns feels weak, almost like toys, it takes a full clip to take down one bad guy, who then dropsAbsolutely horrendous. The game showed promise in the early trailers, but boy was I disappointed. This game doesn't have a story, it just isn't there, aside from the brief cut scene in the beginning, and two second clips at the end of each "mission". The gameplay....the gameplay is terrible. Guns feels weak, almost like toys, it takes a full clip to take down one bad guy, who then drops awkwardly unto the floor and can be revived by his team mate. It frustrates me even to write this review, because the game is so bad, unfinished and in some way repulsive. Stay away from it as far as possible, the development studio should purge everyone who worked on this disjointed mess. Expand
  16. Mar 30, 2012
    3
    Brink is essentially a crappy mash up of Call of Duty and Team Fortress. The lack of people online means you're likely to be stuck playing with bots which are horrendous and boring to play with.
  17. Jan 27, 2012
    6
    this is not what i was expecting from bethesda at all which makes mostly story based games. this is an alright game but is ment to be enjoyed in small doses. there is a story but it feels non existant and like it is getting in the way of you playing the game. the whole game feels is ment to be played online and it has bots to fill in for actual people if you are playing offline. thethis is not what i was expecting from bethesda at all which makes mostly story based games. this is an alright game but is ment to be enjoyed in small doses. there is a story but it feels non existant and like it is getting in the way of you playing the game. the whole game feels is ment to be played online and it has bots to fill in for actual people if you are playing offline. the objectives you need to do in each map is exactly the same all the time you pick a mission to play and it is always the same map and the same objectives, there isnt anything wrong with this it just gets dull after a while. there is also challenges set up for you to do that can help you to learn to better play the game but are pretty dull and boring. the best thing i think about this game is the infinate amount of customization options for you to choose from there are so many peices of clothing and hair styles and accesories that no 2 peoples characters will be the same. over all this game is pretty dull and is not for everyone so my warning is try before you buy Expand
  18. Jan 4, 2012
    8
    this game is for certain people.i myself like it it has more user movements than mw3 which i also like.it also takes time to play.each mission is from usually 6-30 minutes long. but if you want a different game other than battlefield and mw3 i would choose this game it is extremely fun to play
  19. Dec 19, 2011
    3
    Brink is garanteed to not live up to your expectations. It's a wanabee of the popular shooters such as Halo, Call of Duty, and Battlefield. As an owner and reviewer of all of them, it was easy enough to find that this was a cheap mixture of them combined, it expresses not originality of it's own, it has no ups other than an addictive campaign. In EastonReviews, Portal 2 remains the Game ofBrink is garanteed to not live up to your expectations. It's a wanabee of the popular shooters such as Halo, Call of Duty, and Battlefield. As an owner and reviewer of all of them, it was easy enough to find that this was a cheap mixture of them combined, it expresses not originality of it's own, it has no ups other than an addictive campaign. In EastonReviews, Portal 2 remains the Game of the Year. Expand
  20. Dec 7, 2011
    7
    Buy this game, for it's price it definitly a good game.
    Nice CO-OP missions. The free play sucks, don't do that.
    The graphics aren't the best,
    Gameplay = good, bit laggy,
    Missions are great,
    Weapons are good, except the shotguns.
    Nice attachements also.

    My time to finish carreer : 12 houres

    I definitly enjoyed the game. Want a good game but don't got much money.
    This is what U wont .
  21. Nov 29, 2011
    2
    The biggest plus about the game was supposed to be the run feature where you can run past or jump over items in the environment. You rarely if ever use it. I am not that huge online player so this aspect didn't appeal to me at all. You empty a clip into someone and they keep coming. Seriously a full clip. This is what I hated about Borderlands. Yeah this game is awful.
  22. Nov 27, 2011
    9
    I dont Get Why People Rant on it. Its A really Good Break From traditional FPS Games Like CoD or Halo. But Overall ITs Not A Bad Game. The Parkour IS Really Usefull. Its Basicly Like A Improved Team Fortress 2 .
  23. Sep 5, 2011
    2
    Brink is by far one of the worst games I've ever purchased. Picked it up from k-mart for 30$ believing I may have purchased a decent game reading some of the reviews. I was seriously misled. The redeeming feature(s) is that the graphics aren't bad and there are call of duty controls. Here's where it tails off. The story is crap. It's terrible. Some of the mechanics feel clanky and broken.Brink is by far one of the worst games I've ever purchased. Picked it up from k-mart for 30$ believing I may have purchased a decent game reading some of the reviews. I was seriously misled. The redeeming feature(s) is that the graphics aren't bad and there are call of duty controls. Here's where it tails off. The story is crap. It's terrible. Some of the mechanics feel clanky and broken. Like sliding on the floor. What the hell is that all about? This game feels like it was made to play with friends rather then play by yourself. I don't know anyone else who has wasted their money on this game so I couldn't say much more on that. The character models look awful too. Everyone looks deformed it's laughable I don't know what the hell this company was thinking. Voice acting is so bad and incredibly annoying hearing that Jamaican voice every time you fail a mission that I had to turn the volume of my TV all the way down and there are no subtitles unfortunately. This game is terrible don't waste your money on it. It's a joke that something like this could be released, and its an even bigger joke that this piece of garbage got mediocre reviews. Expand
  24. Sep 3, 2011
    6
    brink is some thing alittle bit differnt to the FPs market . team based objective matches with classes and leveling up along with abilities to unlock. sounds great doesnt it? well its abit of a mixed bag with this game . first off the graphics style is rediculas looking and just looks stupid.. well the charicter models do atleast. there is a decent amount of wepons but problem is therebrink is some thing alittle bit differnt to the FPs market . team based objective matches with classes and leveling up along with abilities to unlock. sounds great doesnt it? well its abit of a mixed bag with this game . first off the graphics style is rediculas looking and just looks stupid.. well the charicter models do atleast. there is a decent amount of wepons but problem is there doesnt feel like they have any varity they almost all feel the same. the customisation of your charicter just feels bland . some of the missions are fun and there are one or two that can be frustrating and unbalanced if your playing by your self. that also becomes part of the games problem the online community is pretty much dead . ive only had a few games where i actaully played with a few people. the story i found unintresting and basically skipped most of it . the AI bots are rediculasly retarded and i mean REALLY retarded. your team for the most part is usless outside of cannon fodder and occasionally reviving you. the enimy AI is just laughable most of the time . you can easily stand off to there side and just lay into 2 or 3 of them and some times they wont even respond to your attacks . there only mainly dangerous as a group . another thing that would have really helped would be a team command to make the bots follow you, cause believe me they will do alot of stupid things . like run off and do other objectives and gaurd crap you dont care about and just want them to follow you to the main objective . brink isnt a bad game if it had a decent online community i could probubly give it a score of 7. as it sits i cant recommond more then a rental or if you have some friends to play with get it if you can pick it up for under $20 . thats all i paid for it and wouldnt pay no more. Expand
  25. Aug 20, 2011
    9
    Great game. Currently my shoot of choice to play. When I first got it, I put it down after a few hours. I almost gave up on it. It plays out a lot different than the current trend of shoots. There are no "one-hit-kills", there is no spawn camping, there is no sitting in a tower or bush with a sniper all day. You can't run in to a crowd of people by yourself and mow them down. You HAVE toGreat game. Currently my shoot of choice to play. When I first got it, I put it down after a few hours. I almost gave up on it. It plays out a lot different than the current trend of shoots. There are no "one-hit-kills", there is no spawn camping, there is no sitting in a tower or bush with a sniper all day. You can't run in to a crowd of people by yourself and mow them down. You HAVE to work with your team, whether that be bots or humans. With all the recent patches, the bots are awesome now. Online is almost LAG free (it's P2P so it depends on who's in the game). This game doesn't even keep track of your KDR or kill count (in game), but rather gives XP based on how well you fulfilled your role as whatever class you played as....which is a great twist to the shooter genre. Expand
  26. Aug 2, 2011
    6
    Have Internet and friends to play with? Buy it. Have not? Do not waste your precious time and/or money. Well... It's a fun game. You have a great customization menu. You have lots of guns and etc. The maps are well built and things like that, but you can only enjoy it if you go online, because the singleplayer is boring, even having two options of history. Brink is a game made for onlineHave Internet and friends to play with? Buy it. Have not? Do not waste your precious time and/or money. Well... It's a fun game. You have a great customization menu. You have lots of guns and etc. The maps are well built and things like that, but you can only enjoy it if you go online, because the singleplayer is boring, even having two options of history. Brink is a game made for online battles and nothing more, nothing less. Expand
  27. Jul 29, 2011
    1
    The most joy I got from this video game experience was getting $30 for trading it in on amazon.com. The campaign and MP are the same story arch with or without BOTS depending on how many people are online at the time. THE STORY IS THE SAME!! If you enjoy the constant threat of lag, this is your game. The sad thing is that they executed so many "game-changing" idea so horribly that thisThe most joy I got from this video game experience was getting $30 for trading it in on amazon.com. The campaign and MP are the same story arch with or without BOTS depending on how many people are online at the time. THE STORY IS THE SAME!! If you enjoy the constant threat of lag, this is your game. The sad thing is that they executed so many "game-changing" idea so horribly that this could've been a great title if it wasn't for all of it's setbacks. The controls are tight and the traversing the environment is a joy, but playing the game is a frustrating bore. AI is a non-threat the entire time unless they outnumber you 3-1, and MP is impossible to enjoy with half of the onscreen characters being bots. Final verdict... just don't... sorry bethesda, I love you but you should've delayed this one and perfected it some more. Expand
  28. Jul 15, 2011
    0
    One word review: Terrible.
    Two words: REALLY terrible.
    Oponents are too hard to kill whilst your character is far too easy to kill, no cover system apart from crouching makes even the single player game seem like a very badly designed online multiplayer.
    Hectic, with some nice design work but this doesn't compensate for the other failings.
  29. Jul 13, 2011
    3
    For me it was a big disappointment, it could have been a great game, but the enemies are so hard to kill, (it takes like half a mag to take one out). Also, you die to much as the enemies always outnumber you and you have little health. One final thing is that most of the time i had no idea what i was supposed to be doing, there was so many objectives like guard this and repair that, i justFor me it was a big disappointment, it could have been a great game, but the enemies are so hard to kill, (it takes like half a mag to take one out). Also, you die to much as the enemies always outnumber you and you have little health. One final thing is that most of the time i had no idea what i was supposed to be doing, there was so many objectives like guard this and repair that, i just didn't know where to start or which class i had to be, (a class is a type of character which has different roles: medic, operative, soldier, and engineer). overall, the game is kinda okay, mainly because the weapon customization is good and the fact that there are two different campaigns. but i regret buying it. Expand
  30. Jul 3, 2011
    8
    Most importantly, if you're looking to buy a game similar in graphics, gameplay, and over-epicness to the 'Call of Duty' spasm festivals, don't buy Brink. While criticized for its lack of story, Brink tells a (short as it indeed may be) powerful tale of the uprising of an oppressed people through cut-scenes specific to each level. The player has tons of freedom to create their ownMost importantly, if you're looking to buy a game similar in graphics, gameplay, and over-epicness to the 'Call of Duty' spasm festivals, don't buy Brink. While criticized for its lack of story, Brink tells a (short as it indeed may be) powerful tale of the uprising of an oppressed people through cut-scenes specific to each level. The player has tons of freedom to create their own player-character and weapons, and is given the choice between 4 classes: The Soldier, The Medic, The Operative, and The Engineer. While the class upgrade system might by some be viewed as somewhat restrictive, it does allow the player to make the choice between dedicating their character to one class, or to be a 'jack of all trades'. Also, it's possible to create multiple characters. Graphically, Brink is not the state of the art, but it is unique in it's own way, and while the parkour abilities may be somewhat gelatinous, the maps are indeed opened up to be traversed however the player can think to do so. Brink offers a fun and deep alternative to other heavily team-oriented games (such as Bad Company), and between this and Killzone 3 I expect to enjoy online FPS-ing until Battlefield 3 arrives at my doorstep. Expand
  31. Jun 28, 2011
    8
    Brink brings fast-paced Action to the Shooter market - very well. The things that Brink boasts the most (e.g. The Objective Wheel, Free-Running, Character Customisation etc.) really fade into the background and do not add too much to the actual game; however, Brink is a truckload of fun. Find a friend or two, and this game will bring you hours and hours of enjoyment - and then some.Brink brings fast-paced Action to the Shooter market - very well. The things that Brink boasts the most (e.g. The Objective Wheel, Free-Running, Character Customisation etc.) really fade into the background and do not add too much to the actual game; however, Brink is a truckload of fun. Find a friend or two, and this game will bring you hours and hours of enjoyment - and then some. However, three things really disappointed me about Bethesda's latest masterpiece: You can only play Campaign missions (no deathmatches/capture the flag/king of the hill etc.), the lack of objectives on The Objective Wheel, and the lack of importance/difference between each of the four classes. Expand
  32. Jun 19, 2011
    3
    I hate caning games because i can appreciate they are hard to make and time consuming and the people that make them genuinely care about the product. This is diabolical to the point of tedium. Online/ offline its the same and its got some great ideas that are hampered by unsatisfactory game play and a stodginess that seems dated.
  33. May 25, 2011
    8
    Brink, in my opinion, is a new and interesting twist on the standard run of the mill FPS. The SMART system is amazing and helpful, only a few times when first using it have i leaped onto an object i wasn't trying to go over. However, the SMART system is used very often in maps, leaving more obstacle cluttered maps to be desired. The Character Customization is fun, which a decent amount ofBrink, in my opinion, is a new and interesting twist on the standard run of the mill FPS. The SMART system is amazing and helpful, only a few times when first using it have i leaped onto an object i wasn't trying to go over. However, the SMART system is used very often in maps, leaving more obstacle cluttered maps to be desired. The Character Customization is fun, which a decent amount of items to be chosen from the begining, hopefully it will be expanded further in upcoming updates. The Single-player isn't bragable, but it does play like multiplayer giving new players a good idea of the up and coming. The campaign does come in Versus and Co-Op, giving players challenge or some help, depending on your situation. The AI is like most gaming AI, Clutter Rushers, coming at you in the group no matter how many corpses of their allies are strewn. The Storyline isn't deep, but is midly interesting. Guns are plenty, feel balanced, and most come unlocked, but dont come with much description. Grenades now fall under a "Supply Meter", which is used for various tasks(See Below). Grenades have limited radius and lower damage than most games, but do have a knockdown effect on the enemy. No single gun has been marked overly newbish or unfair as of now. There is also gun customization, allowing you to edit the Top Rail, bottom attachment, magazine attachment, and barrel attachments on most assault rifles, SMG's, and shotguns. Not as much on other guns though, but almost every gun has at least one option. As for graphics, they are pretty solid, and i always have all of my textures finish rezzing while playing. Next, Multiplayer, the claim to fame. Multiplayer feels solid, with the Customization, no two teamates look alike, making it feel like your have ALLIES, not uniformed husks who will always look the same. The SMART system lets you use the environment, not fight it. Guns are plentiful and balanced, grenades have been dumbed down to prevent spamming. The Supply Meter, which is used for Special abilites, and grenades, prevents spamming but does allow the player more than just one grenade per life. Grenades however, are on a cooldown feature in addition to using the supply meter. Abilities, most of which have to be unlocked through level then bought with level points, gained every level, are used here as well. Like the Engineer's Land Mines and turrets, the Soldier's special grenades, the Medic's healing, and the Operatives... whatever. The game also features a class system, however guns can be used on any class. The Soldier is the standard demolition man, carrying HE charges to destroy specified objectives, Molotovs and flashbangs to kill the enemy. The Engineer is used to repair and place turrets, place land mines, buff player's weapons, pass out kevlar vests, and to repair certain objectives. The Medic is a team doctor, also able to give out a Health Buff which increases the players life bar slightly, but goes away when the damage goes out. The Operative, is the least used and unbalanced of all the classes, with its only real benefit is its ability to disguise itself as another player. It's comm hack, which can show enemy players on the radar, isnt that helpful either. Map designs are good, and the objective type matches actually make players work together. Brink also does not tell players their K/D Ratio, which leads to a better experience as players work together to win, Not just kill. Map designs are good, but the lack of map leaves something to be desired. A level design option would make this an amazing game. Overall, Brink is a stand out shooter in the world of generic FPS, at least worthy of a try to you hardcore COD bastards. Its character customization, SMART System, and Class System leaves a worthwile gameplay, while lack of maps leaves something to be desired. Expand
  34. May 25, 2011
    8
    Brink is a good alternative if your looking for a shooter to pass the time til MW3 or BF3. The customization of the game is a very nice feature. I like the idea of the 3 body types and they feel realistic when using each of them. The guns could be better as they all seem to be relatively the same (at least the SMG and assualt rifles.) Teamwork is essential and the game shines whenBrink is a good alternative if your looking for a shooter to pass the time til MW3 or BF3. The customization of the game is a very nice feature. I like the idea of the 3 body types and they feel realistic when using each of them. The guns could be better as they all seem to be relatively the same (at least the SMG and assualt rifles.) Teamwork is essential and the game shines when playing with friends or teammates. The game does seem to get repetitive, but again, if you are playing with teammates, each game is a different experience. Overall I think it's visually pleasing, the character movements are fluid, multiplayer is fun, and the guns shoot. Good game to pass time with friends. Expand
  35. May 19, 2011
    3
    A very un-inspiring game for me, unfortunately. I had my sights set on this game for a while now and to be honest I wasn't expecting to be so disappointed by it. There's really nothing terribly wrong with it and unlike some folks I didn't have much problems with lag, and truth be told it does have some good ideas. So why did I put it away after roughly three hours of playtime and haven'tA very un-inspiring game for me, unfortunately. I had my sights set on this game for a while now and to be honest I wasn't expecting to be so disappointed by it. There's really nothing terribly wrong with it and unlike some folks I didn't have much problems with lag, and truth be told it does have some good ideas. So why did I put it away after roughly three hours of playtime and haven't touched it since ? well, its just.... blunt and boring for lack of better words. I can't relate to the characters, the maps invariably funnel into a middle choke point, and the lack of a campaign means you never get to really immerse yourself into the story (by the way, what story??). Bots are stupid as hell and imho the mix of bots and humans is a bad idea - a bot does not replace a human, no matter how many times SD said so in the interviews, really (even more so when the AI is dumb as hell). I gave it to my kid and he wasted even less time on it, so this one's probably going back. Expand
  36. May 18, 2011
    10
    Teamfortress 2 + Call of Duty 4 = Awesome

    Fun RPG character development and always on servers making this a great toy out of the box. That is of course if playstation ever goes online again.
  37. May 18, 2011
    7
    When i first saw this game on the GamesMaster preview i was estatic; another game by the amazing splashdamage and published by Bethesda, which in my opinion are the best publishers in the world. Lets start with the campaign. To be honest when you get in the game and select the first mission you are quite excited but as you play you realise the missions seem to take a vast amount of time.When i first saw this game on the GamesMaster preview i was estatic; another game by the amazing splashdamage and published by Bethesda, which in my opinion are the best publishers in the world. Lets start with the campaign. To be honest when you get in the game and select the first mission you are quite excited but as you play you realise the missions seem to take a vast amount of time. When you compare it to the length of missions in other fps' s you realise its the same but tiresome. However, the missions are very good in co-op.
    The main feature was the customisation and i admit the options are stunning but there aren't too many but enough to be unique. Overall i believe that the game is good with some great features.
    Expand
  38. May 16, 2011
    10
    This game is great! Seriously why give it a 6.5 or a 73!? This game has a solid structure. Sure its frustrating sometimes but this game is great. Its the character progression and customization that makes it kick ass great.
  39. May 16, 2011
    10
    I was really hyped for this game. When I got my hand on it I was really disappointed and felt cheated.
    But after a few hours I got into the game and the gameplay became really fluid and very fun.
    It still has flaws but it will be patched amazing game if you play online. The story for me is enough to give a great mood for the whole.
    I love this game, just don't ragequit guys
  40. May 16, 2011
    9
    First off, this game is wonderful. When I first got the game I played all single player because PSN was down. I had a blast. The game mechanics are absolutely incredible, and the use of parkour is such an incredible thing to have in a FPS. It is something that I have always wanted in a game--the ability to climb that ledge or jump over that box that most FPS just won't let you do--theyFirst off, this game is wonderful. When I first got the game I played all single player because PSN was down. I had a blast. The game mechanics are absolutely incredible, and the use of parkour is such an incredible thing to have in a FPS. It is something that I have always wanted in a game--the ability to climb that ledge or jump over that box that most FPS just won't let you do--they were once impassable mountains and now they are just another obstacle to leap and bound over. The challenges is where I started--and they definitely help you to learn the mechanics and learn how to play with what the game is offered. This game is all about movement. Shooting is necessary, but it doesn't feel like the only thing in the game. I think this is my major heat with other FPS--you just shoot and it ends up getting old. Team oriented gameplay is what I look for in games. And I can't praise this game enough for making it a requirement to work as a team. You can not just run and gun in this game--there are no Rambos allowed in this game...you will be plowed over. You need your team to guard, complete objectives, buff your health, buff your guns, and buff just about anything to keep you alive and kicking to take out more enemies and give you sufficient time to hack/fix/bomb/guard your objectives. Its great fun. I give this game a 9 because I don't think many have given it a fair score. Yes, there are a few issues with the game...mainly Poor AI on your team...and great AI on the opposing team. Meaning your Bots suck while the opposing Bots are incredible. Also, there have been some lag issues while playing on line--but i blame this on my connection and PSN just coming back online--PSN is extremely busy right now with dishing out updates and a mass flood of people getting back online. But to be fair to SplashDamage...they have been very...no...EXTREMELY active in providing updates/feedback/patches/and information relating to online issues--which enthuses me--because I know they are in this game for the long haul. They want the game to be better--and they are addressing the issues that fans bring up. Not to mention they are providing a free DLC with new maps and new content in June.

    I would recommend this game to individuals that enjoy team based games. This is not just a run and gun Rambo game--its not about how many kills you get..or how many headshots...its about working together to complete the objectives---and using your XP to better your character skills and attributes--in order to help out in completing those objectives the best you can.

    Love the game.....Haters will be haters--and anyone that gives this game a 0 is over reacting---hell anything below a 6 is overreacting and just hoping to skew the review score.
    Expand
  41. May 15, 2011
    0
    Brink is a case of: "Hey, that's a bag of great ideas, there!" Except they've stuffed them all into one game, and the execution of the ideas is really poor. The single-player drags it down further with bots that ignore their duty as medic, run into walls, and generally act less intelligent than the old Quake II bots. I haven't seen AI that poor in a game for a long time. Then there's theBrink is a case of: "Hey, that's a bag of great ideas, there!" Except they've stuffed them all into one game, and the execution of the ideas is really poor. The single-player drags it down further with bots that ignore their duty as medic, run into walls, and generally act less intelligent than the old Quake II bots. I haven't seen AI that poor in a game for a long time. Then there's the parkour system, which is very selective in regards to what it allows you to parkour with. You have two things that look identical? One might allow a parkour dash over it, one might not. It's a mess, really. It's good ideas weighed down by **** execution and having too many ideas in there in the first place which would've been better saved for other, better games, and superior developers. Check out the GiantBomb.com quick look on it, it's worth watching. Expand
  42. May 15, 2011
    9
    So after the reviews I almost decided not to get BRINK although I had pre-ordered it. Normally if it's a game I really don't know that much about or the developer I will hang back. The graphics reminded me of Borderlands (which I thoroughly enjoyed) so eventually I made my way to the store and got it. Honestly, I haven't been disappointed and I really wonder what people are looking atSo after the reviews I almost decided not to get BRINK although I had pre-ordered it. Normally if it's a game I really don't know that much about or the developer I will hang back. The graphics reminded me of Borderlands (which I thoroughly enjoyed) so eventually I made my way to the store and got it. Honestly, I haven't been disappointed and I really wonder what people are looking at in viewing this game. Yes, the single player is meaningful yet cheesy. I think it just primes you up for the multi-player experience. It is a team concept game even in single player and although your teams AI can be pretty bad it hasn't taken away from my fun. I usually like to do things on my own anyway, so if they don't get it the objectives, they can just back me up which they seem to do a good job of anyway. I personally think once PSN goes up, which it did for awhile today EVERYONE will have fun playing the multi-player. It's a fresh new concept, good gun play, great customization and it really does deserve a score better then 6.5. I am well versed in the FPS genre, having owned about every FPS out there. If you are just getting it for single player action, although fun, stay away. It's just a warm up to multi-player. Overall, good choice for me and something to relieve the boredom of COD in wait for BF3. Expand
  43. May 15, 2011
    10
    Great Game, resembles, Team fortress/Shadow Run the game is solid, and balanced. Challenges are very hard, Cant wait for psn to come back on so i can get online and try that out. all together a 9.5 very pleased with this purchase. If your looking for a game like Cod or battlefield walk away, if you don't mind trying something new pick it up and give it a spin.
  44. May 15, 2011
    10
    It is really sad that this game is getting so many bad reviews because PSN is down and because some of the lag issues on the other platforms, oh how it could have been so much better if splash damage had waited 2 more weeks to get it released. I really loved everything about it. The graphics are lovely, if you like borderlands style cartoony graphics and the parkour is great and could haveIt is really sad that this game is getting so many bad reviews because PSN is down and because some of the lag issues on the other platforms, oh how it could have been so much better if splash damage had waited 2 more weeks to get it released. I really loved everything about it. The graphics are lovely, if you like borderlands style cartoony graphics and the parkour is great and could have had a bigger role. The gameplay and teamplay are amazing if you can get good teammates and/or friends on your side. The story could have been a bit more engaging but I really liked it. It really is meant to be online based, so the fact that PSN is down kind off prevents you from appreciating the full game, anyways its a great game, and I would suggest buying it after PSN gos back online and the new DLC comes out Expand
  45. May 15, 2011
    7
    My online has been limited obviously you know why so I won't speak about that. From the campaign I have played it has been an enjoyable experience. The parkour is fluent and the customization superb. The color matching is easy and looks great. The weapons look nice for both security and resistance respectively. They definitely defined each side specifically with the resistance your rag tagMy online has been limited obviously you know why so I won't speak about that. From the campaign I have played it has been an enjoyable experience. The parkour is fluent and the customization superb. The color matching is easy and looks great. The weapons look nice for both security and resistance respectively. They definitely defined each side specifically with the resistance your rag tag gang of rebels and the security being the uptight clean sophisticated police force. Both feel very natural and I find myself relating to the side I choose. The combat is decent and the shooting manageable. The HUD is nicely laid out nicely and easy to understand. The classes are nice but I sense some definite inbalance.

    Only few problems I have is some of the parkour, combat and missions. With the parkour sometimes it feels like I have to hit a railing straight on because sometimes you get a bit stuck. With vaulting up ledges it is animated weirdly sometimes hands not really near the ledge. Sometimes I feel like I am bouncing around in the wrong direction because the SMART will get confused with where I want to go. The combat sometimes feel like hip firing is better then aiming down the sights. Some of the guns seem underpowered and the pistol knife hard to execute. The sniping seems like it is obsolete because of such rapid movement. I wish that you could be light or heavy right of the bat because you start with medium. You shouldn't have to wait to unlock them in my opinion. The missions sometimes seem too difficult or too easy. Cheesy most of the time but still enjoyable. Some missions have points where the enemies just rush and it is difficult to retaliate as the computers seem sluggish (again cannot say with multiplayer how it would be). All in all Brink is customization masterpiece. Each character feels unique and each gun looks superb. The attachments available seem realistic and souping up my guns feels oh so right. The combat needs a definite update and balance would be nice. Some of the missions need to be toned down and vice versa. Brink is entertaining but I feel like there should be more. It is incomplete.
    Expand
  46. May 14, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Obviously, the game had lots of potential, and of course, with the end result, many things that would have made this game a benchmark upon FPS's are missing. In all though, the game is decent from an entertainment standpoint, which all games should focus on, but lacks in narrative, storytelling, and other key things that would have perfected Splash Damage's first mainstream release title (Other than modding or add-on/multiplayer). With customization, hectic multiplayer gameplay, and great level design, this game will keep you busy for weeks. But with Single Player, the overpowered enemy bots and the lacking intelligence of your own teammates will immediately downgrade your experience. But since this game is in par with multiplayer standards, the quick movement and fast-pace of parkour-blending-gunslinging stylization will immerse you in the dog-eat-dog gameplay. Objectives are simple, and though wishing that there could be even more objectives, 16v16 multiplayer, and larger map designs, the game is a winning formula that is sure to make an explosive sequel. On to customization, there are literally guns-a-plenty; customize away, and get addicted to making your perfect weapon of destruction. Character customization also allows unique capabilities, allowing you to create a military force, or a resistance fighter of choosing for battle. There are also body types, disguises, and classes to affect your gameplay style, where on-the-fly class changing is key, though that could have been implemented more into the fast-pace fluidity of the gameplay. In all, the game is a disapointment in terms of expectations, but is still a nice entry into the cliche world of FPS titles. Expand
  47. May 14, 2011
    10
    First off stop reviewing this game badly because there is no PSN at the moment, it's a great game that's fairly fast paced and a "thinking man's shooter". The way XP is given out encourages players to work as a team, and the modes are decent and the customisation is great. Definitely recommend this game and the wait for online is fine by me.
  48. May 14, 2011
    9
    I don't understand why there has been a lot of negative reviews about BRINK. To me, BRINK is fantastic. It is very unique and that perhaps may be the reason many people have been slating it. I think everyone is too used to playing call of duty and just don't get the new approach to an online FPS. If you liked star wars battlefront, you WILL like BRINK
  49. May 14, 2011
    6
    After playing Brink non-stop I'm starting to feel disappointed mostly on the terrible map design. The AI is like something of a joke and the overall feeling you get when playing a really good game isnâ
  50. May 14, 2011
    6
    I made an account just to say this: Please, oh please, don't give games a really high rating just because you are in love with it! "It's not CoD, 10!!" "The colors are so bright!! (Oh yeah, the bots sorta stink, and I really can't stomach the single-player.) 8!!! Save those scores for really nicely done, beautiful, smooth, complete games. It really throws off people who don't have loads ofI made an account just to say this: Please, oh please, don't give games a really high rating just because you are in love with it! "It's not CoD, 10!!" "The colors are so bright!! (Oh yeah, the bots sorta stink, and I really can't stomach the single-player.) 8!!! Save those scores for really nicely done, beautiful, smooth, complete games. It really throws off people who don't have loads of cash to spend on something they might not like. Say that you like it, you recommend it, but then give it a fair score. The end. Expand
  51. May 13, 2011
    5
    Whilst it started ok.It ended getting tiresome and boring,run kill,run get killed,oh unlock a safe,oh blow up a door...Camera issues & what seems to be general chaos ends a brief encounter with this game for me.
    MUST TRY HARDER...
  52. May 13, 2011
    7
    Brink is a pretty good game worthy of buying. But be prepared that there are some flaws, the campaign is absolutely frustrating with overtime BS, your teammate's AI is comparable to that of a monkey. But I will give credit where it is due, the freedom of movement is amazing, the customization is fantastic, and the weapons are very cool. Hopefully updates to the teammate AI will be made andBrink is a pretty good game worthy of buying. But be prepared that there are some flaws, the campaign is absolutely frustrating with overtime BS, your teammate's AI is comparable to that of a monkey. But I will give credit where it is due, the freedom of movement is amazing, the customization is fantastic, and the weapons are very cool. Hopefully updates to the teammate AI will be made and my opinion will change, but as it stands now this game is only a moderate success Expand
  53. May 13, 2011
    5
    Unfortunately with the lack of the PSN, I don't think any reviewer can give a just review of Brink. Based on the single player experience, Brink just hasn't lived up to the hype. It's 8 maps are quite linear and after a couple of play-throughs of each, they become very repetitive. Originally the marketing of the game was focused strongly on the free-running aspect (SMART movement), whichUnfortunately with the lack of the PSN, I don't think any reviewer can give a just review of Brink. Based on the single player experience, Brink just hasn't lived up to the hype. It's 8 maps are quite linear and after a couple of play-throughs of each, they become very repetitive. Originally the marketing of the game was focused strongly on the free-running aspect (SMART movement), which is completely un-noticable when you're playing. Some of the game's positives include the massive armoury which you can load up from and the ability to add attachments to nearly every weapon without having to spend days leveling up (akin to the COD series).

    While it looks like a great gaming formula on paper, Brink is unfortunately a very mediocre game.
    Expand
  54. May 12, 2011
    10
    This game is love it or hate it. It is very teamwork focused almost impossible to go lone wolf. There are few one hit kills or sniping. There is only one game mode (similar to rush from BC2) and Brink doesn't have "realistic" graphics. But if you don't care about these or can get past it Brink provides a very refreshing change to the standard FPS formula and is one hell of a ride.
  55. May 12, 2011
    9
    This game is not perfect, but finally something different than the "realistic" plethora of CoD shooters. If you are looking for a solid SP campaign, stay away, this game is meant to be played online and it's a lot of fun. Graphics are great (something different, mix between Borderlands, Bioshock and Fallout), Sound is awesome (great gun noise and footstep sounds), weapons have a nice feel,This game is not perfect, but finally something different than the "realistic" plethora of CoD shooters. If you are looking for a solid SP campaign, stay away, this game is meant to be played online and it's a lot of fun. Graphics are great (something different, mix between Borderlands, Bioshock and Fallout), Sound is awesome (great gun noise and footstep sounds), weapons have a nice feel, much content with many things to unlock. Graphics 9/10
    Gameplay 9/10
    Sound 9/10
    Story 5/10
    Longevity 8/10

    Overall 9/10

    Absolutely no fail game.
    Expand
  56. May 12, 2011
    6
    Brink is a class-based first-person shooter that attempts to change the established formula of shooters by introducing class-specific objectives, vast character customization and a parkour-like maneuverability system. While these ideas sound great on paper, they are much less enjoyable in practice.

    Upon loading the game, players are given a brief introduction to the game world. In the
    Brink is a class-based first-person shooter that attempts to change the established formula of shooters by introducing class-specific objectives, vast character customization and a parkour-like maneuverability system. While these ideas sound great on paper, they are much less enjoyable in practice.

    Upon loading the game, players are given a brief introduction to the game world. In the near future, a man-made island called the Ark has become the last bastion for humanity on Earth. Due to the dwindling resources and ever-growing population, the Ark is in the middle of a civil war between the Security, who seek to maintain peace through order, and the Resistance, a ragtag group of refugees who wish to see power in different hands. The narrative more or less ends there with no continuity from one mission to the next. Characters can play on either the Security or Resistance side online and the appearance of both can be customized. Customization as a whole is Brink's strongest point, offering enough faces, voices, tattoos, scars, body types and clothing options for both factions to provide a unique sense of identity. Guns are also customizable via scopes, extended clips, grips and silencers. A third layer of customization comes in the form of abilities, unlockable skills that augment the game's four classes: the Solider, Engineer, Medic and Operative.

    These classes are the foundation of Brink's gameplay. Instead of allowing any player on a team to accomplish an objective, certain objectives can only be completed by a certain class. For example, only the Operative can hack a terminal and only the Solider can destroy a barricade. This is Brink's greatest downfall, especially when playing offline. Players will undoubtedly become comfortable with one class and prefer it to the other three. This works well when the player's preferred class is the one that is needed to accomplish the objective but when it isn't the player will be regulated to escort duty. If the map being played has no objectives for the Solider, players to invest their unlock points in Soldier abilities will suddenly find themselves a superfluous commodity. Players are free to change classes in the middle of a match but asking them to give up their unlocked abilities and perhaps even change their entire playstyle in order to be an actual participant in the battle seems unfair. Brink does not reward players for trying new things, it practically forces them to.

    Standard gameplay is the same formula we've seen in shooters for years: the triggers aim and shoot, the buttons reload and jump, there's a sprint function and a melee ability. It's kind of hard to screw up such a heavily-used control scheme and Brink incorporates its parkour system into it seamlessly: when sprinting, your character will automatically hurdle low obstacles and a tap of a button causes him to scale nearby ledges or slide into cover. It's a neat trick, but one that is rarely useful. The shockingly stupid AI is worth mentioning to those playing offline but this is forgivable as it is clear that Brink was meant to be played online where other players fill in for the ridiculous bots found when playing alone.

    Presentation-wise, Brink is right in the middle of average. The graphics are not especially noteworthy one way or another and the presence of custom character models in the cutscenes is a nice touch. The sound is weak overall, with guns feeling weak and underpowered. The multiple voices available to characters are all fairly well done but are undermined by poor dialog that consists almost entirely of status updates from teammates (â
    Expand
  57. May 12, 2011
    8
    Its a decent game. The freerunning takes some getting used to but it makes for a pretty fun and challenging game. Some parts -like the single player- feel unpolished, and the AI is cannon fodder a lot of the times. It is however, exactly what I expected and I'm happy with this game.
  58. May 12, 2011
    2
    This game was pretty bad. I wouldnt say the worst game made but it was an unfinished game with many flaws. Its like a mix between quake wars and left 4 dead with state of emergency ps2 graphics. Really disspointed
  59. May 11, 2011
    10
    Brink. When I first saw this game sometime last year, I didn't think much about it. Fast forward to January 2011, I couldn't wait for it. When I opened it and popped it in, I was not disappointed. Brink is a game unlike any other, mixing fast paced shooter action with team and objective based gameplay. The amount of guns is, while not too much, it isn't too small. You have your shooterBrink. When I first saw this game sometime last year, I didn't think much about it. Fast forward to January 2011, I couldn't wait for it. When I opened it and popped it in, I was not disappointed. Brink is a game unlike any other, mixing fast paced shooter action with team and objective based gameplay. The amount of guns is, while not too much, it isn't too small. You have your shooter basics: assault rifles, sub-machine guns, pistols, shotguns, rifles, and light machine guns. Joining the fray are: a heavy machine gun (The Chinzor), a minigun (The Gotlung), an auto shotgun (The Hjammerdeim), and an automatic grenade launcher (The E-Z Nade Launcher). These weapons, while restricted to the heavy body type, add the support role to the long list of things you can do to advance your team in combat. This game is not about kills. Just killing will get you no where. You need to work as a team, completing objectives. In one mission, you must escort a maintenance bot from the beginning to a bio-weapons lab in Container City. If the bot breaks down, engineers must go and repair it. This road is heavily guarded, so soldiers can set their objective to destroy a barricade that would provide an alternate flanking route to the bot. Medics are a necessity, as their ability to revive incapacitated team mates proves invaluable in a heavy firefight. Operatives can sneak behind enemy lines disguised as an enemy (similar to TF2's Spy) and hack enemy turrets to fire on them. If you don't do the objective, you lose. As the trailer says, this game is about movement. Move more than you shoot, and you have a greater chance of getting the objective done. In that same mission, instead of shooting the enemies firing at me, I sprinted for the bot to repair it, and I managed to take cover behind the bot and repair it at the same time, saving my ass while helping the team. Had I even tried to turn around and shoot, I would have been dead. Working as a team is the only way to win. Next, on to character and weapon customization. You don't start out with much, but by the time you are level twenty, the highest level, you will have everything. When Splash Damage says there are over one hundred and two QUADRILLION different characters that can be created, they tell no lie. There isn't even a fraction of that amount of people on Earth. Weapon customization isn't lacking either. There are hundreds of ways you can customize your gun with attachments that you are guaranteed to find a combination of guns and attachments you like. My personal favorite guns are the Rokstedi with Adjusted Iron Sights, Vertical Grip, Rapid Fire, and Dual Vent Muzzle Break, and the Sea Eagle with Adjusted Iron Sights, Up Vent Muzzle Break, Speed Sling, and Rapid Fire. Now, this game has it's flaws, but these are easily overlooked when you actually play the game just to have fun. SO, I recommend this game to anyone looking for a different kind of shooter. Thank you for your time. Expand
  60. May 11, 2011
    8
    What is it? [TL:DR below]

    The bastard child of a 3-way between Killzone,COD and Bad company. [In that order] But it is own game and feels different enough from those titles. It's like in Killzone's style gameplay wise with the objectives, repairing, turrets,setting bombs etc. Its different in map style they aren't all doomy and gloomy looking. They
    What is it? [TL:DR below]

    The bastard child of a 3-way between Killzone,COD and Bad company. [In that order] But it is own game and feels different enough from those titles. It's like in Killzone's style gameplay wise with the objectives, repairing, turrets,setting bombs etc. Its different in map style they aren't all doomy and gloomy looking. They are prettier and are not so depressing. There is no invisible people like in Killzone The control is great, smooth and fluid like call of duty. But there is no team deathmatch or kill streaks. It is like Bad company in the sense you give your teammates ammo and revives, but the system is kind of better, because you throw ammo or revive syringes, and buffs to your teammates with a simple hit of the square button. You can also buff damage, health and give armor to teammates depending on your class. The classes are similar to bad company, but any class can carry any weapon*. You basically can also have two primary weapons if you wish. The classes are Solider: [assault]gives ammo, places charges medic: revives, buffs teammate health engineer: repairs objectives, mines[place and diffuse],Defuse charges, place turrets, buff teammate weapons operatives: Hack terminals, turrets, can disguise as fallen enemy or see disguised enemies, buff teammate armor. *Only heavy body characters can carry heavy weapons like Gatling guns.

    In Brink you make a custom character [Up to 10] Body type is most important part of it all. Light bodies move really quick, scale obstacles and climb, but have the least health. Medium move slower, can scale obstacles and climb and have more health. Heavy bodies cant scale or climb, move really slow, but can take a bunch of damage. There are many, many further customization options for the look of a character. There are a lot of cool weapon attachments and customizations, Drum mags, grips, muzzle breaks etc also. I haven't really unlocked them all. There are also 20 or so different perks and they are stackable. Perks and cosmetic options are unlocked through leveling up. Weapons and attachments are unlocked thru challenge scenarios, most of which are kind of easy.

    The level cap is at 20, but you make another character and can do it all again. You get XP for everything thing, even landing a round on and enemy gets you xp or just standing near and objective. Playing in the campaign, which really is just a series of multiplayer matches with bots and cut scenes gets you xp and you can level up. Multiplayer just gives you more xp. The online multiplayer is basically the missions from the campaign, extra scenarios and more customizable gameplay. You could play the campaign and have friends or people from the public join in earning xp the whole time. One thing i really like instead of hit markers you see the number of XP your getting from damaging an opponent.

    The one other distinguishing facet of brink is player movement. You can slide away from fire, under obstacles or easily move over small obstacles and climb up two different levels all with the L2 button. You can even jump and run along a wall very briefly to reach certain areas. There are many things different about Brink, it feels like a fresh shooting game and not more of the same. By playing the single player I have seen and felt what the multiplayer experience is like and its fun even with bots. They throw you ammo, and revive and will flank and bumrush you in a group. But playing with a team and communicating could be pretty cool with this game. If PSN network decides to ever come back up. The only downside i see is Brink is P2P like call of duty, so there could be intermittent lag, but it always a crap shoot online regardless. I have been looking for a second shooter to play for a while, The Medal of honors and Homefronts aside I can 90% say i am sure i have found one in Brink. Cant say for sure until PSN comes back if there are any problems with the game's online functionality. Graphics 85/100 The maps and the art-style of game are unique, but the graphics are not up to Killzone' standards. But the look is more pleasant

    Sound 95/100 Not quite as good as BC2, but better the COD. Gunfire sounds excellent. Weapons 80/100 sound great, punch hard and of are replicas of well known guns with different names, and a few original looking ones. Good variety, great customization options. DRUM MAGS SON!

    Maps: 70/100 great look and design, some room to maneuver. Fights occur at bottlenecks frequently but there always see
    Expand
  61. May 11, 2011
    7
    If your a story driven gamer like myself, you will be disappointed. However, This game as a whole is pretty good. I can imagine with the PSN back online, it will be even better. It naturally feels like a Multi-Player game. it requires team work and strategy. Using the different Classes to get the job done. I suggest you keep it, unlock all the weapons and attachments, and when PSN comeIf your a story driven gamer like myself, you will be disappointed. However, This game as a whole is pretty good. I can imagine with the PSN back online, it will be even better. It naturally feels like a Multi-Player game. it requires team work and strategy. Using the different Classes to get the job done. I suggest you keep it, unlock all the weapons and attachments, and when PSN come back online, experience it the way the game was meant to be played! Expand
  62. May 11, 2011
    1
    this game is a disappointment. the campaign is another forgettable joke and the guns just don't do it for me. there are just way too many awesome fps out there to waste my time with this so i will likely return this game before psn ever comes back on.
  63. May 10, 2011
    8
    The brink I played was for the PS3, and I enjoyed it far more then the reviews seem to think of it. The SMART gameplay was smooth and well done while the customization was intense. The only reason why I'm not giving it a 9 or ten is because of the AI, it was unpolished but nonetheless was still playable.
  64. May 10, 2011
    8
    this is "undoubtedly" NOT the worst game ever made, contrary to those given to visceral bouts of hyperbole.
    -a bit glitchy? check. -screen tear? check. pining for a 1.04 patch? it'll come (and check).
    but show me a AAA title lately not plagued by these, if not more serious issues and i'll weld you a feather basket... the community, assuming PSN ever gets over it's current death-rattle,
    this is "undoubtedly" NOT the worst game ever made, contrary to those given to visceral bouts of hyperbole.
    -a bit glitchy? check. -screen tear? check. pining for a 1.04 patch? it'll come (and check).
    but show me a AAA title lately not plagued by these, if not more serious issues and i'll weld you a feather basket...
    the community, assuming PSN ever gets over it's current death-rattle, will likely decide the ultimate fate of this unique, admittedly-divisive and mad potentially-laden gem in the (subjective) rough.
    if you're after another CoD, BFBC, KZetc. clone, this may not be your cup-o-tea, sure. but if you like a lil' strategy/team-centric/FF Tactics-style evolution to your gameplay, then this just might surprise you.
    that's the best comparison i can make right now... feels like a true "shooter" w/ RPG elements that feel natural, not tacked on - and the art director deserves a "whatever" art directors receive in lieu of an Oscar.

    i'd give it an 8.
    you might want to give it a chance.

    (the significant disparity in review scores ought to be enough to get the right kind of folks wondering, imho.)
    Expand
  65. May 10, 2011
    10
    From the Minute I stepped into Brink and created my character, I knew I was playing something different than the oft mentioned Battlefield, Call of Duty and Halo. I was transported into an environment that was unique and extremely cool in a stylistic manner. I found the introduction of movement unhampered by canned animation refreshing and the reliance on tactics and skill a welcomeFrom the Minute I stepped into Brink and created my character, I knew I was playing something different than the oft mentioned Battlefield, Call of Duty and Halo. I was transported into an environment that was unique and extremely cool in a stylistic manner. I found the introduction of movement unhampered by canned animation refreshing and the reliance on tactics and skill a welcome relief. The objective basis of Brink brings a fresh dynamic that allows numerous strategies and direction. This game is not meant to be populated by one type of player, but is made for a diversity of needs and desires. This is where the game excels. It allows me to get my Secret Operative on, who gathers information and infiltrates the enemy lines or be the engineer, changing the flow of battle and the landscape. I can run and gun as a soldier or be the man that everyone wants in their corner, the medic. In addition, I loved the storyline and plot. The two sides of the coins are demonstrated well in the cutscenes. Even more depth is giving to the story by the actual environment and information picked up around the way. The bots were not great by any mean, but I am not playing for the bots, I am playing for the MINGLEPLAYER. The ability to run through the game with others and still complete the campaign. Occasionally running through the regular campaign and finding myself facing real players on the other factions makes the unpredictability increase 10 fold. I personally decided to forego the use of S.M.A.R.T. (Smooth movement across randomized terrain) and manually mantle and slide through the environments. The shock to the opposing faction when I come sliding through a staircase or piping system and kicking an opposing player is unparalleled. There is a constant tension about where someone can approach... from above? Below? Behind ME? MY TEAMMATE!!!!.... I absolutely love it. This game has met and exceeded my expectations with the ease of dropping in and out of games, creating FIRETEAMS when I want to play with my friends and providing me and atmosphere unlike anything I have played. Oh yeah, I love the sound system. You can literally tell what is occurring around the corner by the sounds.... footsteps and grenades and weapons all have distinct sounds that make playing superbly immersive. I could go on and on, but I think I will stop here. Expand
  66. May 10, 2011
    10
    This is a very good game buy it I have over 150 games and this is very close to my perfect game up there with mgs4 bad company 2 and 007 night fire it should have a better story but it's more multiplayer than single player 9.4/10
  67. May 10, 2011
    10
    this game is amazing, once psn is back it will really come into its own. been reading the xbox reviews of online and not a bad word atm :D
    customisation is epic, the SMART button is awesome... one to watch here
  68. May 10, 2011
    9
    Brink is an interesting concept, and has solid fundamental gameplay, but it does have a few flaws. Let me first state that this is a review of Single player only. As of writing this review, the PSN is still down. So, lets touch on the first blemish; whoever said these bots were going to be like players, must have modeled them after the mentally impaired. The bots are clearly bugged. TheyBrink is an interesting concept, and has solid fundamental gameplay, but it does have a few flaws. Let me first state that this is a review of Single player only. As of writing this review, the PSN is still down. So, lets touch on the first blemish; whoever said these bots were going to be like players, must have modeled them after the mentally impaired. The bots are clearly bugged. They have one strategy: bumrush everything. Even if their whole team going into that corridor has gotten them killed three times, they will try it again and again. Human players MUST win games for bot teams. Like many bots you may have previously encountered, these frequently stumble around as if in a daze, sometimes completely ignorant to your presence. This is especially annoying if they are a medic and you require healing, or laughable if they are an enemy. I assume these will be patched. Secondly, the story is a bit short, I assume there will be DLC extending it as is apparently the norm with modern video games. Third; there are some minor graphical issues, textures typically need a few seconds to load their normal rez models. Usually this is sorted at the start of a match, so it isn't too bad. Overall the graphics are rather nice, and the cartoonish-hybrid style works. Issue four; Defense maps are heavily slanted in the defender's favor. Engineers are able to almost instantly undo the work of soldiers and operatives that may have taken a minute or more. Defenders can instantly ship "flag" type packages back to their start location, rather than be required to carry them back. Its something more acceptable in a CTF setting, but not in a timed objective game like this. To have five minutes of fighting and running erased by five seconds of activating a flag-item, sending it to it's base is ridiculous. Issue Five: The weaponry does not really explain what it does very well. For example; you may pick out an assault rifle assuming it to be a fully automatic weapon, only to find in actual combat that it is a single shot or burst fire gun. SMGs tend to be extremely powerful in close range combat, which is the order of the day in brink. Assault rifles seem to fire much slower despite having a similar or identical "refire rate" stat bar. Honestly the gear just generally needs more in-game data for the player. The stat bars may as well not even exist when they just don't give you real information about the weapon. Additionally there is no easy way to compare two firearms. In all honesty I am probably being a bit harsh on this game, perhaps because of all the hype. It introduces some interesting features which future FPS games really should incorporate, and if only a few of my concerns were patched into acceptability I would give this a ten, and I am very stingy with my ten scores. Collapse
  69. May 10, 2011
    8
    So far, I've really been getting into this game. The customization is really deep and I could easily see spending hours changing my character to what I would like him to look like. The parkour elements are really smooth and give the FPS genre something it been lacking for a while. Something new that thinks outside of the box. Now onto the Single Player. This is my biggest gripe with theSo far, I've really been getting into this game. The customization is really deep and I could easily see spending hours changing my character to what I would like him to look like. The parkour elements are really smooth and give the FPS genre something it been lacking for a while. Something new that thinks outside of the box. Now onto the Single Player. This is my biggest gripe with the game. It didn't have a lot of focus to it and felt just a little thrown together. The game play itself though is, in my opinion, a different story. (No pun intended.) IT feels great and the abilities you get for a class help give the game some diversity. Players generally feel different from one another. Overall, I think this game is a solid buy, not the best out there, but what it brings to the table, from what I've seen, makes it a good game to play for months to come. Expand
  70. May 10, 2011
    9
    simply amazing parkour is amazing the story is not that much but it can lengthen the entire contents of weapon skills and equipment is amazing I just wish that PSN already set to start playing online us online ... a great masterpiece ...
  71. May 10, 2011
    10
    Although psn is down i have still had a amazing time on custization and singleplayer which is great although the singleplayer is a bit cheasy, but the actual gameplay is wicked!
  72. May 10, 2011
    8
    Sadly since the PSN has been down I've yet to try the online, so I'm not surprised to see the PS3 version get some crappy reviews. But from what I've played so far, it's pretty decent. The parkour ability to jump over anything is pretty cool and the character and gun customization is pretty cool. It's a shooter that should be standing out in the generic world of FPS's today, and I'm hopingSadly since the PSN has been down I've yet to try the online, so I'm not surprised to see the PS3 version get some crappy reviews. But from what I've played so far, it's pretty decent. The parkour ability to jump over anything is pretty cool and the character and gun customization is pretty cool. It's a shooter that should be standing out in the generic world of FPS's today, and I'm hoping it will be when the PSN comes back.â Expand
  73. May 10, 2011
    0
    Brink is an interesting concept, and has solid fundamental gameplay, but it does have a few flaws. Let me first state that this is a review of Single player only. As of writing this review, the PSN is still down. So, lets touch on the first blemish; whoever said these bots were going to be like players, must have modeled them after the mentally impaired. The bots are clearly bugged. TheyBrink is an interesting concept, and has solid fundamental gameplay, but it does have a few flaws. Let me first state that this is a review of Single player only. As of writing this review, the PSN is still down. So, lets touch on the first blemish; whoever said these bots were going to be like players, must have modeled them after the mentally impaired. The bots are clearly bugged. They have one strategy: bumrush everything. Even if their whole team going into that corridor has gotten them killed three times, they will try it again and again. Human players MUST win games for bot teams. Like many bots you may have previously encountered, these frequently stumble around as if in a daze, sometimes completely ignorant to your presence. This is especially annoying if they are a medic and you require healing, or laughable if they are an enemy. I assume these will be patched. Secondly, the story is a bit short, I assume there will be DLC extending it as is apparently the norm with modern video games. Third; there are some minor graphical issues, textures typically need a few seconds to load their normal rez models. Usually this is sorted at the start of a match, so it isn't too bad. Overall the graphics are rather nice, and the cartoonish-hybrid style works. Issue four; Defense maps are heavily slanted in the defender's favor. Engineers are able to almost instantly undo the work of soldiers and operatives that may have taken a minute or more. Defenders can instantly ship "flag" type packages back to their start location, rather than be required to carry them back. Its something more acceptable in a CTF setting, but not in a timed objective game like this. To have five minutes of fighting and running erased by five seconds of activating a flag-item, sending it to it's base is ridiculous. Issue Five: The weaponry does not really explain what it does very well. For example; you may pick out an assault rifle assuming it to be a fully automatic weapon, only to find in actual combat that it is a single shot or burst fire gun. SMGs tend to be extremely powerful in close range combat, which is the order of the day in brink. Assault rifles seem to fire much slower despite having a similar or identical "refire rate" stat bar. Honestly the gear just generally needs more in-game data for the player. The stat bars may as well not even exist when they just don't give you real information about the weapon. Additionally there is no easy way to compare two firearms. In all honesty I am probably being a bit harsh on this game, perhaps because of all the hype. It introduces some interesting features which future FPS games really should incorporate, and if only a few of my concerns were patched into acceptability I would give this a ten, and I am very stingy with my ten scores. Collapse
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Brink is essentially a mess of interesting ideas that fail to amount to anything larger. [Aug 2011, p.86]
  2. Jun 26, 2011
    67
    You can get a sense of the minute-to-minute gunplay being something special with the right group of friends. [Issue#206, p.87]
  3. Get/bribe some mates and there's a great game here. [July 2011, p.92]