Brink Image
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 169 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Brink is an immersive shooter that blends single-player, co-op, and multiplayer gameplay into one seamless experience, allowing you to develop your character across all modes of play. You decide the role you want to assume in the world of Brink as you fight to save yourself and mankind’sBrink is an immersive shooter that blends single-player, co-op, and multiplayer gameplay into one seamless experience, allowing you to develop your character across all modes of play. You decide the role you want to assume in the world of Brink as you fight to save yourself and mankind’s last refuge for humanity. Brink offers a compelling mix of dynamic battlefields, extensive customization options, and an innovative control system that will keep you coming back for more. A man-made floating city called the Ark, made up of hundreds of separate floating islands, is on the brink of all-out civil war. Originally built as an experimental self-sufficient and 100% "green" habitat, the reported rapid rise of the Earth's oceans has forced the Ark to become a refuge for humanity. Crammed with the original Ark founders, their descendants, as well as tens of thousands of refugees, the Ark exists in total isolation from the rest of the world. With 25 years of social unrest, the inhabitants of the Ark have reached their breaking point. It's up to you to decide the future of the Ark and the human race. Blurring the Lines Between Offline and Online - Advance your character’s development across every gameplay mode: single player, co-op, and multiplayer. Gain experience points that you can spend on customizing and upgrading your skills and abilities, designing an entirely unique look and feel for your character. Brink uses the familiar shooter controls that you're used to, without frustrating, artificial constraints and takes advantage of a new feature: the SMART button. When you press the SMART button, the game dynamically evaluates where you’re trying to get to, and makes it happen. No need to perfectly time a jump or vault, the game knows what you want to do. Objectives, communications, mission generation, and inventory selection are all dynamically generated based on your role, your status, your location, your squad-mates, and the status of the battle in all gameplay modes. You'll always know exactly where to go, what to do when you get there, and what your reward will be for success. Brink’s proprietary technology, Virtual Texturing, breaks new ground on current-gen consoles and PCs with an even greater focus on highly detailed characters, realistic environments, lighting, effects, and atmospherics. This competitive lead on the squad-combat genre helps thrust players into the gritty reality of the Ark's epic secluded arcology. [Bethesda Softworks] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Brink Developer Diary #3
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. May 10, 2011
    90
    Looking for a deep and meaningful single player story? Then step away. Looking for an intense online shooter with more guns than Texas? Come on in, the water's fine.
  2. Games Master UK
    Jun 4, 2011
    83
    An innovative, forward thinking new shooter - and how often can you say that? [July 2011, p.84]
  3. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Jun 19, 2011
    80
    Get/bribe some mates and there's a great game here. [July 2011, p.92]
  4. May 12, 2011
    72
    If treading the waters and building up a solid roster of characters sounds appealing then Brink could be the alternative shooter you've been waiting for.
  5. May 19, 2011
    70
    Brink tries to present many good ideas, but it falls short and, in the end, it's just the same gameplay mechanics we've seen many times. The SMART systems is not as dynamic as it should be; the game modes are all the same; the feeling, overall, is that we have a fun and interesting multiplayer game (even in its Campaign mode), but users are left without new emotions. Many customization options that, in the end, are nothing new.
  6. Play UK
    Jun 26, 2011
    67
    You can get a sense of the minute-to-minute gunplay being something special with the right group of friends. [Issue#206, p.87]
  7. May 18, 2011
    40
    On the brink of greatness, Brink employs objective-based matches to churn out a dull, frustrating time.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 71
  2. Negative: 19 out of 71
  1. May 10, 2011
    10
    This is a very good game buy it I have over 150 games and this is very close to my perfect game up there with mgs4 bad company 2 and 007This is a very good game buy it I have over 150 games and this is very close to my perfect game up there with mgs4 bad company 2 and 007 night fire it should have a better story but it's more multiplayer than single player 9.4/10 Expand
  2. May 18, 2011
    10
    Teamfortress 2 + Call of Duty 4 = Awesome

    Fun RPG character development and always on servers making this a great toy out of the box. That is
    Teamfortress 2 + Call of Duty 4 = Awesome

    Fun RPG character development and always on servers making this a great toy out of the box. That is of course if playstation ever goes online again.
    Expand
  3. May 16, 2011
    9
    First off, this game is wonderful. When I first got the game I played all single player because PSN was down. I had a blast. The gameFirst off, this game is wonderful. When I first got the game I played all single player because PSN was down. I had a blast. The game mechanics are absolutely incredible, and the use of parkour is such an incredible thing to have in a FPS. It is something that I have always wanted in a game--the ability to climb that ledge or jump over that box that most FPS just won't let you do--they were once impassable mountains and now they are just another obstacle to leap and bound over. The challenges is where I started--and they definitely help you to learn the mechanics and learn how to play with what the game is offered. This game is all about movement. Shooting is necessary, but it doesn't feel like the only thing in the game. I think this is my major heat with other FPS--you just shoot and it ends up getting old. Team oriented gameplay is what I look for in games. And I can't praise this game enough for making it a requirement to work as a team. You can not just run and gun in this game--there are no Rambos allowed in this game...you will be plowed over. You need your team to guard, complete objectives, buff your health, buff your guns, and buff just about anything to keep you alive and kicking to take out more enemies and give you sufficient time to hack/fix/bomb/guard your objectives. Its great fun. I give this game a 9 because I don't think many have given it a fair score. Yes, there are a few issues with the game...mainly Poor AI on your team...and great AI on the opposing team. Meaning your Bots suck while the opposing Bots are incredible. Also, there have been some lag issues while playing on line--but i blame this on my connection and PSN just coming back online--PSN is extremely busy right now with dishing out updates and a mass flood of people getting back online. But to be fair to SplashDamage...they have been very...no...EXTREMELY active in providing updates/feedback/patches/and information relating to online issues--which enthuses me--because I know they are in this game for the long haul. They want the game to be better--and they are addressing the issues that fans bring up. Not to mention they are providing a free DLC with new maps and new content in June.

    I would recommend this game to individuals that enjoy team based games. This is not just a run and gun Rambo game--its not about how many kills you get..or how many headshots...its about working together to complete the objectives---and using your XP to better your character skills and attributes--in order to help out in completing those objectives the best you can.

    Love the game.....Haters will be haters--and anyone that gives this game a 0 is over reacting---hell anything below a 6 is overreacting and just hoping to skew the review score.
    Expand
  4. May 18, 2011
    7
    When i first saw this game on the GamesMaster preview i was estatic; another game by the amazing splashdamage and published by Bethesda, whichWhen i first saw this game on the GamesMaster preview i was estatic; another game by the amazing splashdamage and published by Bethesda, which in my opinion are the best publishers in the world. Lets start with the campaign. To be honest when you get in the game and select the first mission you are quite excited but as you play you realise the missions seem to take a vast amount of time. When you compare it to the length of missions in other fps' s you realise its the same but tiresome. However, the missions are very good in co-op.
    The main feature was the customisation and i admit the options are stunning but there aren't too many but enough to be unique. Overall i believe that the game is good with some great features.
    Expand
  5. Jan 27, 2012
    6
    this is not what i was expecting from bethesda at all which makes mostly story based games. this is an alright game but is ment to be enjoyedthis is not what i was expecting from bethesda at all which makes mostly story based games. this is an alright game but is ment to be enjoyed in small doses. there is a story but it feels non existant and like it is getting in the way of you playing the game. the whole game feels is ment to be played online and it has bots to fill in for actual people if you are playing offline. the objectives you need to do in each map is exactly the same all the time you pick a mission to play and it is always the same map and the same objectives, there isnt anything wrong with this it just gets dull after a while. there is also challenges set up for you to do that can help you to learn to better play the game but are pretty dull and boring. the best thing i think about this game is the infinate amount of customization options for you to choose from there are so many peices of clothing and hair styles and accesories that no 2 peoples characters will be the same. over all this game is pretty dull and is not for everyone so my warning is try before you buy Expand
  6. Nov 18, 2012
    5
    Could be better.
    I mean few aspects of this game have been good but they **** up many other things.
    Dissapointning after so many promises
    Could be better.
    I mean few aspects of this game have been good but they **** up many other things.
    Dissapointning after so many promises made for this game prerelease
    Expand
  7. Jul 15, 2011
    0
    One word review: Terrible.
    Two words: REALLY terrible.
    Oponents are too hard to kill whilst your character is far too easy to kill, no cover
    One word review: Terrible.
    Two words: REALLY terrible.
    Oponents are too hard to kill whilst your character is far too easy to kill, no cover system apart from crouching makes even the single player game seem like a very badly designed online multiplayer.
    Hectic, with some nice design work but this doesn't compensate for the other failings.
    Expand

See all 71 User Reviews