Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Jan 22, 2014
    70
    Brothers is one of those games which won't disappoint you if you are looking for something different. However, you must keep in mind that this game is short, even though it's a great game, it's not a long one and it won't offer anything new if you replay it.
  2. Some games stay etched in your memory because of the emotional journey you experienced, like The Walking Dead, The Last of Us or Ico. Brother: A Tale of Two Sons does not quite belong on that list, but it does come very close. [October 2013 p.94]
  3. Sep 19, 2013
    100
    If you're the sort of person who thinks video games are capable of not just entertaining us but also making us think and feel, you owe it to yourself to play Brothers.
  4. 85
    Brothers is a consistently fun and endearing fairy tale, but technical issues and a slow start keep it from legendary status.
  5. Sep 9, 2013
    94
    It’s an incredible game well-worth its $15 asking price on any platform you desire – although the symmetrical sticks of the PS3 may be a bit easier to get used to than the 360′s design.
  6. Sep 9, 2013
    80
    Marred only by occasionally obtuse controls and a slight lack of difficulty, if this is the kind of content we can expect from Sony’s army of indie developers, the future is very bright indeed.
  7. Aug 11, 2013
    80
    It has a strong likeness to games like Ico and Journey. With innovative controls you guide two brothers through a fairytale world. Yet, the game misses the emotional impact to qualify as a real classic.
  8. Aug 7, 2013
    90
    A nordic-esque fable narrated with a feeling of peace and sadness, Brothers A Tale of Two Sons is just the kind of game a fan of Starbreeze's last titles should avoid. The story of two brothers and their journey will take us on a ride similar to other jewels like ICO or Journey. A ride that maybe has a very peculiar use of the pad -simultaneously 1 player cooperative-, but where we can interact with two characters to a level never done before, in a journey of search that requires us to accept its rules and let us go into the experience by the hand.
  9. Aug 7, 2013
    80
    From a hopeful beginning to a heart-wrenching conclusion, Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons is an endearing and emotional adventure that will resonate strongly with anyone who has a younger or older sibling.
  10. Aug 7, 2013
    85
    A lovely fairy tale, told using the very strengths of gameplay and interaction. It's got some small issues and if you're looking for a complex and long action adventure it's not for you, but it's a very strong experience that touches themes you rarely see in videogames.
  11. Jul 28, 2013
    80
    Brothers is exactly the length you want it to be, showing just enough of its hand when it comes to the tale of these two siblings for it to live long in the memory. [Issue#137, p.118]
  12. Jul 23, 2013
    83
    A surprisingly touching adventure with innovative single-player co-op and beautiful scenery and music. If not for the short length, it would be an absolute must-buy. As it stands, this is still a unique treat that deserves a look. [Issue#233, p.83]
  13. Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons is the most charming and important downloadable indie game since Journey, and that’s not a claim we make lightly. [August 2013, p75]
  14. Jun 12, 2013
    70
    This is a puzzle-platform game pared down to its base essentials, with a sweet, simple tale and an artfully imagined world wrapped around that core. [July 2013, p.122]
  15. Charming, engaging and affecting, this is a unique experience that any indie fan should take in. Finally, a positive use for the term 'bro-op.' [July 2013, p.98]
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 242 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 48
  2. Negative: 4 out of 48
  1. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    This game or should I say "interactive experience" is absolutely outstanding. This is exactly what the game industry needs, a breath of fresh air and creativeness.

    The art design, sound and music, and character development is beyond expectation. A lunch price of $14.99 is an absolute steal for a gem like this. I can see myself playing this game multiple times as the tale is that gripping.

    The team at Starbreeze has done an excellent job and I support their efforts and hope to see more gems from them in the future... Enclave II please
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 4, 2013
    9
    Already on my best-indie-games-ever list, along with other gems like Journey. What a beautiful, haunting game. And so, so original. The setting is gorgeous (with a Nordic/fairy tale thing going on). You play as two brothers who depart on a quest to save their father (there's no text nor dialogue, just some sounds that resemble some sort of language, but we always understand what they mean). The brothers are different in terms of physique and personality (the older is stronger and more mature, while the younger is thinner and more aggressive). And controlling both of them at the same time the epicenter of the game's mechanics is original, engaging and sometimes quite challenging. But a good challenge; the one where you know what needs to be done, and you just work your way through. Playing a game like this just makes me so grateful for this generation of gaming and the ascension of these indie wizards. We would never be able to play something like that 10, 20 years ago; and think of what is yet to come! This game MUST NOT BE MISSED. Full Review »
  3. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    This game is so much heavier than i originally thought. I was not very impressed by the beginning and I didn't really like the controls but then... Wow. The feeling this game made me feel, it's just amazing. Some parts of the game just made me sit with my mouth open in rapture. Full Review »