Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 265 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Two sons must set out on a perilous journey to bring back the Water of Life to their ailing father.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Sep 19, 2013
    100
    If you're the sort of person who thinks video games are capable of not just entertaining us but also making us think and feel, you owe it to yourself to play Brothers.
  2. Sep 9, 2013
    94
    It’s an incredible game well-worth its $15 asking price on any platform you desire – although the symmetrical sticks of the PS3 may be a bit easier to get used to than the 360′s design.
  3. Aug 7, 2013
    90
    A nordic-esque fable narrated with a feeling of peace and sadness, Brothers A Tale of Two Sons is just the kind of game a fan of Starbreeze's last titles should avoid. The story of two brothers and their journey will take us on a ride similar to other jewels like ICO or Journey. A ride that maybe has a very peculiar use of the pad -simultaneously 1 player cooperative-, but where we can interact with two characters to a level never done before, in a journey of search that requires us to accept its rules and let us go into the experience by the hand.
  4. Some games stay etched in your memory because of the emotional journey you experienced, like The Walking Dead, The Last of Us or Ico. Brother: A Tale of Two Sons does not quite belong on that list, but it does come very close. [October 2013 p.94]
  5. Jul 23, 2013
    83
    A surprisingly touching adventure with innovative single-player co-op and beautiful scenery and music. If not for the short length, it would be an absolute must-buy. As it stands, this is still a unique treat that deserves a look. [Issue#233, p.83]
  6. Sep 9, 2013
    80
    Marred only by occasionally obtuse controls and a slight lack of difficulty, if this is the kind of content we can expect from Sony’s army of indie developers, the future is very bright indeed.
  7. Jun 12, 2013
    70
    This is a puzzle-platform game pared down to its base essentials, with a sweet, simple tale and an artfully imagined world wrapped around that core. [July 2013, p.122]

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 52
  2. Negative: 4 out of 52
  1. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    This game or should I say "interactive experience" is absolutely outstanding. This is exactly what the game industry needs, a breath of freshThis game or should I say "interactive experience" is absolutely outstanding. This is exactly what the game industry needs, a breath of fresh air and creativeness.

    The art design, sound and music, and character development is beyond expectation. A lunch price of $14.99 is an absolute steal for a gem like this. I can see myself playing this game multiple times as the tale is that gripping.

    The team at Starbreeze has done an excellent job and I support their efforts and hope to see more gems from them in the future... Enclave II please
    Collapse
  2. Mar 24, 2014
    10
    I don't know how I should rate this game. But I will ignore the bugs and focus on the emotional effect of this game in addition to it's mindI don't know how I should rate this game. But I will ignore the bugs and focus on the emotional effect of this game in addition to it's mind teasing controls with it's simple wonderful puzzles.
    For controls. It's different. Controlling 2 characters at the same time and making them interact with each other to help each other solve a puzzle or pass a certain area is really wonderful. I liked. Playing as the older brother and trying to save your younger brother who you also control will seed you with how strong this relation is. You'll love them both.
    During the game play there are lots of fun moments that will make you chuckle. Also there will be sad moments that will drive your emotions to the edge. Just listen to main theme of the soundtrack and you'll understand how sad these moments could be.
    Puzzles are fantastic. Not hard at all. yet still challenging because of mind teasing controls of controlling 2 characters at the same time to solve those puzzles.
    The story is remarkable. One of the best stories I ever played through. It was touching really. You'll feel it when you play it to the end.
    You'll wish you can be their third character inside the game to give a hand. It was that amazing.
    I'll give this game a 10/10
    Expand
  3. Sep 10, 2013
    10
    What a feeling of joy and pleasure you receive when you work as a team!! As this is one of it's strong points it also occasionally getsWhat a feeling of joy and pleasure you receive when you work as a team!! As this is one of it's strong points it also occasionally gets confusing as to which player i'm controlling minus that minor bump in the road this is a must have one of the best buys from PSN!!! Expand
  4. Dec 13, 2013
    9
    I loved this game. Sometimes the controls plays tricks on your mind, but it's fantastic. It's not very challenging, but it's makes for aI loved this game. Sometimes the controls plays tricks on your mind, but it's fantastic. It's not very challenging, but it's makes for a great adventure. My only gripe is that I wish it were longer! Expand
  5. Mar 2, 2014
    9
    Great game, got this free with ps plus and im glad I downloaded it. PROS: Story, characters, audio, visuals, gameplay. CONS: blurry textures,Great game, got this free with ps plus and im glad I downloaded it. PROS: Story, characters, audio, visuals, gameplay. CONS: blurry textures, short, confusing controls (sometimes) Expand
  6. Jun 11, 2014
    8
    Brothers: the tale of two sons. wht t say about this art. its just amazing.

    Grafics 12/20 - It is beautyfull, but its not tht well done as
    Brothers: the tale of two sons. wht t say about this art. its just amazing.

    Grafics 12/20 - It is beautyfull, but its not tht well done as i think tht they didnt caring tht much was intencional i give then this grade.

    Campaign 18/20 - i have to say tht its short, but in only 2~3 hours at most if you kinda slow, it really make you feel this time, its intense, you feel the history. the main and the side-historys even without understanding any word, you really feel the history, is amazing.

    Gameplay 15/20 - then you come: WHT THE HELL the gameplay is awlfull, yeah at first it seems so, but it has to be hard so the game becomes kinda hard too. the gameplay is indeed very good, cause the controls aswer very well.

    Difficulty 10/20 - other than the controls the game is very eazy.

    Fun 20/20 - you dont play this game, you feel it. its very fun when its suposed to, very sad when suposed to etc.

    Overall 83/100
    Expand
  7. Jan 25, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I created an account just to review this game. I though it was something special to look at but I never got the hang of controlling two characters at the same time. Then the ending came, talk about a waste of time. The death of a young man while on a journey to save a sick older man undermines the whole reason for going on the journey in the first place. I'm sure the dad would have preferred to die instead of sending his son to death so it made the whole game feel pointless. You'll play through the game to save a life only to lose one even more important. This game is terrible & I hate it. I really wanted to like it but they killed the kid for "emotional impact" when all I could think was "Are you kidding me?!?! Why did I just spend three hours playing this game if the outcome solves nothing!!!!!!????" There is no resolution here, just a Frenchman's desperate attempt to pull on your "heart strings". Get out of here. No more Starbreeze Studios games for me. Expand

See all 52 User Reviews