Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 226 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Two sons must set out on a perilous journey to bring back the Water of Life to their ailing father.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Sep 19, 2013
    100
    If you're the sort of person who thinks video games are capable of not just entertaining us but also making us think and feel, you owe it to yourself to play Brothers.
  2. Sep 9, 2013
    94
    It’s an incredible game well-worth its $15 asking price on any platform you desire – although the symmetrical sticks of the PS3 may be a bit easier to get used to than the 360′s design.
  3. Aug 7, 2013
    90
    A nordic-esque fable narrated with a feeling of peace and sadness, Brothers A Tale of Two Sons is just the kind of game a fan of Starbreeze's last titles should avoid. The story of two brothers and their journey will take us on a ride similar to other jewels like ICO or Journey. A ride that maybe has a very peculiar use of the pad -simultaneously 1 player cooperative-, but where we can interact with two characters to a level never done before, in a journey of search that requires us to accept its rules and let us go into the experience by the hand.
  4. Some games stay etched in your memory because of the emotional journey you experienced, like The Walking Dead, The Last of Us or Ico. Brother: A Tale of Two Sons does not quite belong on that list, but it does come very close. [October 2013 p.94]
  5. Jul 23, 2013
    83
    A surprisingly touching adventure with innovative single-player co-op and beautiful scenery and music. If not for the short length, it would be an absolute must-buy. As it stands, this is still a unique treat that deserves a look. [Issue#233, p.83]
  6. Sep 9, 2013
    80
    Marred only by occasionally obtuse controls and a slight lack of difficulty, if this is the kind of content we can expect from Sony’s army of indie developers, the future is very bright indeed.
  7. Jun 12, 2013
    70
    This is a puzzle-platform game pared down to its base essentials, with a sweet, simple tale and an artfully imagined world wrapped around that core. [July 2013, p.122]

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 44
  2. Negative: 4 out of 44
  1. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    This game or should I say "interactive experience" is absolutely outstanding. This is exactly what the game industry needs, a breath of fresh air and creativeness.

    The art design, sound and music, and character development is beyond expectation. A lunch price of $14.99 is an absolute steal for a gem like this. I can see myself playing this game multiple times as the tale is that gripping.

    The team at Starbreeze has done an excellent job and I support their efforts and hope to see more gems from them in the future... Enclave II please
    Expand
  2. Apr 4, 2014
    10
    I didn't even know what anyone was saying, but I understood all of it, nonetheless....

    "Brothers" is a game that borders more on being an
    art-form than on just being a video game. You are forced, as the player, to pay attention to all the other 80% of communication that comes in the form of facial expressions, visual cues, posture, tone of voice, etc. in order to follow the story of these two sons journeying to find the cure for their father's illness.

    We see in the very beginning how Nyee, the younger brother, watched firsthand as his mother drowned in the sea. Then at a slightly later point in time, he and his older brother, Nya, need to journey to the land of the giants to find a special cure for their ailing father. Along the way, we discover, through having the boys interact with in-game characters, exactly what they are like, personality-wise. Nya, the older brother, is responsible and considerate of others. Nyee is the goof who likes to have a lot of fun. And, we see their beautiful relationship with each other revealed as they encounter life-threatening situation after life-threatening situation.

    The gameplay is difficult at first, but you get used to it after a little while. You use both sticks on your controller to move the boys at the same time, and at no point can they be physically too far away from each other. Imagine they both have a rope tied around their waists and that's how it plays (they literally have a rope between them for some platforming levels). Many puzzles and platforming require good coordination skills, so some may become frustrated as a result.

    You play as both brothers, solving puzzles and figuring out how to get them from point A to point B. There is no combat in this game at all. Neither of these brothers has some sort of weapon or martial arts move-set to use against an enemy. They do face a couple of bosses, but they have to work together to outsmart them David vs. Goliath-style, minus the sling-shot.

    Not only is the world amazing and the story poignant, enough to punch me in the gut harder than most stories ever have before, but this game is rich in symbolism. If you love symbolism, you will love trying to figure out what it all means. I think the giants serve to symbolize adulthood, and how the giants live their lives represents the loss of boyhood, childhood and innocence. Even Nya, the older brother, will find because of his age (early teens), he is more easily corruptible than his much younger brother, Nyee.

    For $15, this is an experience like nothing else, and you won't be sorry you spent it on this game. You may feel like the only reason you're not jumping back in to play it again and again is simply because the game made you feel TOO much, and you need a break before returning to it.

    Don't play this because you want a mind-numbing game to help you forget how crappy your life is. Play it because you want to question life itself and what your childhood really meant. Why did you have to leave it behind? And, to become what--a society-made monster? Perhaps you will realize you want to keep a piece of your former innocence with you at all times. This game is all about how tragic it is to lose that childhood innocence, especially at a young age.

    I give this game either a 10 or at least a 9.5. It deserves every point.
    Expand
  3. Feb 4, 2014
    10
    Got this game for myself and my wife. My wife is not a game addict like myself, but she could not put the controller down. I didn't get a chance to play; she beat the game in one sitting. Great game for it's price. And as a plus, this is a great game for non experienced players.

    Instagram: Game_Row
    Expand
  4. Dec 13, 2013
    9
    I loved this game. Sometimes the controls plays tricks on your mind, but it's fantastic. It's not very challenging, but it's makes for a great adventure. My only gripe is that I wish it were longer! Expand
  5. Feb 28, 2014
    9
    Amazing game for anyone who has ever had a fleshy, spiritual or otherwise person they viewed as a brother. The music is deep and rich, the story line grabs you from the very start and the game finishes in a the most glorious and emotionally engaging way possible.

    I wish it was a bit longer and some times the dual stick controls make your head spin. Otherwise, its amazing. There is no reason for you NOT to purchase and play this game.
    Expand
  6. May 14, 2014
    8
    At first I wasn't sure if I'd get involved in the story since I didn't really liked the promotional art. I'm really happy I continued my purchase. It is an absolutely beautiful game with interesting puzzles and a beautiful and moving story. Very nice! A must play! Collapse
  7. Jan 25, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I created an account just to review this game. I though it was something special to look at but I never got the hang of controlling two characters at the same time. Then the ending came, talk about a waste of time. The death of a young man while on a journey to save a sick older man undermines the whole reason for going on the journey in the first place. I'm sure the dad would have preferred to die instead of sending his son to death so it made the whole game feel pointless. You'll play through the game to save a life only to lose one even more important. This game is terrible & I hate it. I really wanted to like it but they killed the kid for "emotional impact" when all I could think was "Are you kidding me?!?! Why did I just spend three hours playing this game if the outcome solves nothing!!!!!!????" There is no resolution here, just a Frenchman's desperate attempt to pull on your "heart strings". Get out of here. No more Starbreeze Studios games for me. Expand

See all 44 User Reviews