User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 147 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 147

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. dene
    Jan 16, 2010
    10
    Simply a legendary game. Soundtrack is unbelievable. Gameplay is awesome, the humour is great, even the story is awesome. Definitely the game of the year for me.
  2. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    This game is the most awesome game EVER! The soundtrack is perfect, but it would be a lot better if ther was any led zeppelin song. As a piece of art, this game is a 10, but, technically it's not very good. There a **** bug issue.
  3. DannyC.
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    Got it last night, played through the first couple hours and have really enjoyed it so far. It's VERY funny and you can tell it's a Tim Schaffer (sp?) game. In case you don't know, this is the guy that did Monkey Island among other hits. Like I said, I'm diggin it so far. I don't have a problem with any of the game play mechanics, it seems to me that everything Got it last night, played through the first couple hours and have really enjoyed it so far. It's VERY funny and you can tell it's a Tim Schaffer (sp?) game. In case you don't know, this is the guy that did Monkey Island among other hits. Like I said, I'm diggin it so far. I don't have a problem with any of the game play mechanics, it seems to me that everything works fine as long as you use it correctly. All and all, I'm pleased with my purchase. Expand
  4. EvanB
    Nov 28, 2009
    9
    This game is truly for metal fans. The cameos alone are worth a single play through, and the combination of guitar and axe attacks are very satisfying. It does suffer from repetitive side missions, but they are usually very short. The upgrade system keeps the player engaged and on the lookout for more "fire tributes" to pay for all the new stuff that flows out until the very end. A great This game is truly for metal fans. The cameos alone are worth a single play through, and the combination of guitar and axe attacks are very satisfying. It does suffer from repetitive side missions, but they are usually very short. The upgrade system keeps the player engaged and on the lookout for more "fire tributes" to pay for all the new stuff that flows out until the very end. A great experience for any fan. Expand
  5. ACKMINDSEYE
    Nov 30, 2009
    9
    I loved this game but the tower defense RTS element is absolutely aggravating. Granted, I have always hated the micromanagement of RTS and TD games but this one just needs to be thrashed with broken guitar strings. Aside from these segments, I pressed on to discover the rest of what Tim Schaffer had to offer and I enjoyed it. PLEASE get rid of the RTS/TD elements for Brutal Legend 2! I I loved this game but the tower defense RTS element is absolutely aggravating. Granted, I have always hated the micromanagement of RTS and TD games but this one just needs to be thrashed with broken guitar strings. Aside from these segments, I pressed on to discover the rest of what Tim Schaffer had to offer and I enjoyed it. PLEASE get rid of the RTS/TD elements for Brutal Legend 2! I don't know if I can survive a second game with so much fun and such irritating parts! Expand
  6. Chris
    Oct 15, 2009
    9
    Actually 2 scores. Multi-player 10. Single player 8 (probably 8+, but not a 9) Excellent game, but needs some tweaking up. Dunno what Tim is talking about, but this game definitely is enough of an RTS to qualify for the phrase. Yes you can hack n' slash during it, but heroes in WC3 didn't suddenly make it an "action" game. I wish they actually would balls up and say it's an Actually 2 scores. Multi-player 10. Single player 8 (probably 8+, but not a 9) Excellent game, but needs some tweaking up. Dunno what Tim is talking about, but this game definitely is enough of an RTS to qualify for the phrase. Yes you can hack n' slash during it, but heroes in WC3 didn't suddenly make it an "action" game. I wish they actually would balls up and say it's an RTS game, because it's probably the most brilliantly done RTS game on a console ever. It controls well, once you get past how many buttons their are too it. It's probably one of the most pure joy Action/RTS experiences I've had on console. As far as single player goes. Side mission variety is a bit lacking (but overall still fun). Lack of jump is missed, but not for gameplay reasons (jumping is just fun in this sort of game). And I wish it was more hack n' slash. The single player stuff was great, the RTS stuff isn't bad, but I was looking for a different experience for single player (as far as the main campaign goes). Good game. Expand
  7. StevenA
    Oct 19, 2009
    9
    A very different kind of game. A game that takes time getting used to. A somewhat slow beginning that is linear and moves into a non-linear, open-world game with tons of unlockables and minor issues of repetativity. Brutal Legend is labeled under the action-adventure genre, while it also contains strategy elements, a few RPG elements and driving, as well. It's a mixed bag that works A very different kind of game. A game that takes time getting used to. A somewhat slow beginning that is linear and moves into a non-linear, open-world game with tons of unlockables and minor issues of repetativity. Brutal Legend is labeled under the action-adventure genre, while it also contains strategy elements, a few RPG elements and driving, as well. It's a mixed bag that works out really well. The graphics aren't too advanced, but the environments are incredible and the character animations are interesting and entertaining. Few minor graphical issues forgiven. The music in this game is absolutely godlike and the voice acting and story is top-notch. I will admit: for an open-world adventure game, the main story is short. It's no Legend of Zelda, but Brutal Legend holds it's own, because it's fun and unique. The multiplayer isn't excellent but it's better than "OK". It's good. To soem extent, it's challenging and PS3 trophies are fun to collect. To make worth of your money, play the game a second time with a friend. It's much more fun, that way. Glad to have a fun adventure game for my PS3. I would give this game a 8.5/10. But I'll be generous and give this game a 9/10. Expand
  8. [Anonymous]
    Oct 19, 2009
    9
    Excellent immersion into a heavy metal world, it's just as if you were inside a classic metal album. Don't worry about the gameplay, this game is for fans of the music.
  9. GoergeB.
    Oct 22, 2009
    9
    Great game. It didn't have any bad songs. The main story could have been a little longer since you don't see all the third factions troops before finishing and heading to multiplayer.
  10. danm
    Dec 19, 2009
    9
    this is truly a metal master piece game great soundtrack great story great game youll love this game!
  11. MarkW
    Dec 26, 2009
    10
    I almost let this one pass me by...I thought it was some sort of Guitar Hero game...luckily I figured it out. It's one of the most mind blowing games I've ever played. The second I saw Lemmy, I knew I was in for a ride. It featured some of the original bands that Metalica stole from. My heart skipped a beat as I was flipping through song selections (during a high speed chase) I almost let this one pass me by...I thought it was some sort of Guitar Hero game...luckily I figured it out. It's one of the most mind blowing games I've ever played. The second I saw Lemmy, I knew I was in for a ride. It featured some of the original bands that Metalica stole from. My heart skipped a beat as I was flipping through song selections (during a high speed chase) and found Budgie's "Breadfan". The game has over 100 songs and not one of them from a "sellout" group. The story is epic and sublime...not spoon fed like so many others. A couple of the cut scenes sent shivers up my spine while others made me trip out a little. You'll want an HDTV and a cranked up surround sound to truly get the full effect of this wonderful game. Expand
  12. Oct 24, 2011
    10
    when i first saw this game in stores i just skipped right over it because i thought it was some knock off of guitar hero or something but after i was informed otherwise i decided to pick it up and i couldnt believe what i was playing. this game is no guitar hero game it is an action game mixed in with real time strategy. now i know that real time strategy games usually turn people rightwhen i first saw this game in stores i just skipped right over it because i thought it was some knock off of guitar hero or something but after i was informed otherwise i decided to pick it up and i couldnt believe what i was playing. this game is no guitar hero game it is an action game mixed in with real time strategy. now i know that real time strategy games usually turn people right off but this game is different because not only are you in control of your army but you can fight along side them as well and doing this is easy since the controls are nice and its easy to remember. this game's story is also mind blowing the actual story is great and kept me interested with amazing actors that you can tell are so into the game that it is more than a paycheque for them. the graphics arent the best around but they still do a good job of presenting the game and the game turns this into charm and makes the graphics feel right and normal. all of this in one package is a good game already but throw in the fact that the music is simply orgasmic i love heavy metal and these are all amzing and original songs not songs that the big names ripped off. all in all this game is amazing and should be experianced by everyone Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 61
  2. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. 90
    Brutal Legend is a tour de force that wraps up humor, music, and clever gameplay into one highly polished package. You haven't played a game quite like this before and won't want to miss it.
  2. 93
    Charming and clever in equal portions, Brütal Legend is a classic example of cohesive game design...In an age of ever-increasing monotony and creative stagnation, a game like Brütal Legend is brash, proud, subversive and triumphant - and it deserves to succeed. Get on board, crank it up and make it so. Two horns up.
  3. There are very, very few games which truly make me sit back and go “wow”. Among the slew of games that I’ve reviewed this year, there are only a couple that I really enjoyed playing, and continue to do so. Brutal Legend is one such game – even though I aced my Public Speaking and English Literature classes, words only slur together when I try to describe this game. Truth be told, I only heard about the game in the last month or so, but after spending a good amount of time with it, I was transformed from a mere gamer into a rocking, die-hard fan.