Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 140 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Brütal Legend is an epic action game from visionary developer Tim Schafer. Jack Black stars as Eddie Riggs, a legendary roadie summoned to a world of Heavy Metal where mountains are made of amplifiers, killer spiders spin guitar strings and Rock Legends roam the landscape. As Eddie, crush skulls with a battle axe, ravage the road in a super-charged Hot Rod and unleash the power of Rock to reign down fire from the sky - all to save humanity and become a Brütal Legend. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 61
  2. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. There's never been anything like it and there may never be again. Brütal Legend is truly a gift to metal and game fans alike and my new, best 3D game ever.
  2. This is a heavy metal fairy tale, spun with love and copious amounts of good humor from Shafer and crew – and it’s every ounce the game fans hoped it would be.
  3. 90
    The soundtrack in particular won me over from the very start. But despite all the references to this beloved material, I also felt satisfied as a gamer, challenged by its unique blend of exploration, action and strategy.
  4. The unwieldy Stage Battles maim the battle system and multiplayer, but this gaffe doen’t take away from Brütal Legend’s charm. If you’re a fan of Tim Schafer’s humor and the type of person who decides between wearing a Metallica and Slayer tee-shirt when you wake up, this is a must-play.
  5. It's undoubtedly a fun game, packed full with humour (although this does tail off towards the end), metal references, amazing encounters and memorable characters. It's the RTS sections that really let the game down for me, feeling like a good idea that hasn't quite been implemented well enough to gel with the rest of the game.
  6. The story falters towards the end, and the fact that the game is so short is the biggest bummer of all. Regardless, it’s a great game that will be remembered for a long time coming.
  7. The gameplay, as singular a combination of gameplay styles as it is, suffers from being a jack of all trades and master of none. Like most teenage metalheads, this game has got issues, but if you're willing to look past some very uneven gameplay, Brutal Legend will rock you. Hard.

See all 61 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. dene
    Jan 16, 2010
    10
    Simply a legendary game. Soundtrack is unbelievable. Gameplay is awesome, the humour is great, even the story is awesome. Definitely the game of the year for me. Collapse
  2. MarkW
    Dec 26, 2009
    10
    I almost let this one pass me by...I thought it was some sort of Guitar Hero game...luckily I figured it out. It's one of the most mind blowing games I've ever played. The second I saw Lemmy, I knew I was in for a ride. It featured some of the original bands that Metalica stole from. My heart skipped a beat as I was flipping through song selections (during a high speed chase) and found Budgie's "Breadfan". The game has over 100 songs and not one of them from a "sellout" group. The story is epic and sublime...not spoon fed like so many others. A couple of the cut scenes sent shivers up my spine while others made me trip out a little. You'll want an HDTV and a cranked up surround sound to truly get the full effect of this wonderful game. Expand
  3. ACKMINDSEYE
    Nov 30, 2009
    9
    I loved this game but the tower defense RTS element is absolutely aggravating. Granted, I have always hated the micromanagement of RTS and TD games but this one just needs to be thrashed with broken guitar strings. Aside from these segments, I pressed on to discover the rest of what Tim Schaffer had to offer and I enjoyed it. PLEASE get rid of the RTS/TD elements for Brutal Legend 2! I don't know if I can survive a second game with so much fun and such irritating parts! Expand
  4. BrandonL
    Oct 13, 2009
    8
    I've been waiting to get my greedy hands on this title since I first heard about it almost a year ago. Now that I have it, I feel that the anticipation and wait was more exciting then the game itself. Yes, Tim Schafer makes this game original and better then what it would have been if someone else would have made it; and yes, Jack Black does an amazing job as Eddy Riggs. It's just, there's nothing making me wanting to come back to this game. Nothing wanting to pull me in. I doubt I'll ever enjoy the multiplayer much either, albeit it's hell bent with originality I've not seen for a while. Don't get me wrong, the game is good. It's just not $60 good. Expand
  5. JamesD
    Jan 9, 2010
    8
    Some might see Brutal Legend as a very innovative game and others will see it as a watered down collaboration of the sums of its parts. Brutal Legend is funny and over the top with some clever humour and a good story for those interested. The themes and level design and structure are breathtaking and gives a brilliant immersion into this vibrant world of Metal. It's such a shame though that most of its parts are watered down, the combat and missions are repetitive and there is little attension to upgrading fighting moves. Customisation is decent but the depth of it isn't so compelling. If you like Jack Blacks brand of comedy and music and if you are a fan boy of his, then this game will satisfy your needs. If not at least check it out but if you're the demanding type this might not be for you. Expand
  6. Nov 18, 2010
    6
    A couple of years ago i bought psychonauts, a game made by Tim Shafer, and loved it. It was original, fun and unique. since Brutal legend was made by the same guy, i simply had to buy it. I was somewhat disappointed. the game isn't bad by all means, but it's just not that good either. the humor is really good and the characters are interesting but the story is short and the gameplay gets boring quickly. the worst thing is that the game changes its own genre in the middle of the game, from a action adventure game to an rts. some gamers loved it but i did not. the rts elements are fairly basic so the game doesnt excel at anything. it tries to be some games mixed up but in my opinion doesnt succeed in doing so. it's a great tribute to metal and if you are a huge huge fan of metal you will love the game but if you are looking for a deep, unique and fun experience ,like usually found in Tim Shafer games, you might be disappointed. for me fun was really lacking in this game. Expand
  7. Jul 15, 2014
    4
    I feel genuinely bad giving this review, because this game did make me smile and was quite fun for the first few hours. Jack Black is quite funny, the theme of metal music is a good one for the setting and allows for humorous level design and characters; it really had potential... and then it fell apart.

    The world quickly started to seem slapdash once the game opens up and the shift in gameplay style is jarring and irritating. The combat, though sluggish at times, was serviceable and could have been used far more effectively, likewise for the driving sections of the game, but the strategy sections which start to dominated the game are simply terrible. With difficult control and limited visibility, this quickly begins to feel like a PC real time strategy game that you're forced to play with a controller and the camera settings of a third person action brawler game... and yes that's as bad as it sounds. It takes an otherwise interesting and amusing game and destroys the element of fun it started with.

    This game would have been far better if it was, as advertised, a game where you spend 6-8 hours playing as Jack Black; hitting the things from 80s heavy metal LP artwork with your guitar whilst cracking silly one-liners. For the first 2 hours, and intermittently after that, this is what you get; but the awful strategy game hidden in here make it a chore to play. If you see it for bargain bin prices, pick it up and play through the first few hours if you want something light-hearted and amusing, but don't expect to ever actually finish it... I know I couldn't.
    Expand

See all 24 User Reviews