Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. Feb 22, 2011
    90
    This is a game that wants you to laugh so hard that you sneeze on yourself, but it's also a game that wants you to experiment as much as possible with the tools you've been given. Its cleverness is as lightly worn as it is unexpected. It's the best kind of guilty pleasure.
  2. Feb 25, 2011
    90
    Thanks to its addictive gameplay, compelling mechanincs and over the top narrative, Bulletstorm represents a breath of fresh air for any FPS fan out there. The Duke has finally found a worthy rival. Gearbox is warned!
  3. Mar 1, 2011
    87
    Differentiating from your everyday shooter, Bulletstorm is more "action thrill-ride" with an emphasis on stylized killing, edgy dialog and extreme set pieces, a change of pace from the overly dramatized shooters that usually dominate the top of the charts.
  4. Feb 22, 2011
    93
    An exceptional shooter brimming with personality and originality, but the concept is spread too thin in the later levels. New homicidal toys are constantly introduced in the first three-quarters of the game, which makes the final few hours a little stale. Mix in a ho-hum ending and the stellar experience goes out on a bit of a low note.
  5. Mar 7, 2011
    88
    As a sequel to Painkiller, spiritual or otherwise, Bulletstorm is a disappointment. The best way to approach it, if you played Painkiller, is to forget there's a link between the two games at all. Instead, take Bulletstorm for what it is: a ridiculous arcade-ish FPS with a goofy sense of humor and a talent for amazing action sequences.
  6. Mar 7, 2011
    90
    With Bulletstorm we're talking about a shooter that makes fun of its own genre, and games as a whole. At the same time, it's extremely funny to play. That combo is just priceless.
  7. Feb 22, 2011
    100
    Forget your preconceptions of Bulletstorm as a foul-mouthed big dumb action game. It's an intelligent, nuanced design with fathoms of depth, which marks a return to the importance of player creativity in shooters and simultaneously evolves the concept of interactivity in an FPS world. And with two cleverly complimentary secondary modes, it will have serious legs for a good long while to come.
  8. Mar 27, 2011
    87
    Bulletstorm is the NFL Blitz of first-person shooters.
  9. Feb 27, 2011
    92
    At first, Bulletstorm didn't immediately give me the wow factor but as I played, this game just got better and better.
  10. Mar 2, 2011
    87
    While Bulletstorm isn't going to bring the FPS genre to its knees, it is a game that tries to stand out from the mundane, and to a certain extent it achieves just that.
  11. A playground of destruction like nothing else you can buy. [Apr 2011, p.108]
  12. 90
    A creative and invigorating shooter that excels in expletives, over-the-top action and gratifying kills.
  13. Mar 13, 2011
    91
    Brash, unique and fun - refreshes old-school values to shame most modern shooters. [Apr 2011, p.80]
  14. Feb 22, 2011
    88
    It's a lot of fun and fast as hell, at least in the first half. The pace sometimes slows down as you get to the end, and the Skillshot system dowsn't work smoothly all the way through. It's still an original and funny take on first person shooting: it won't last too long, but you'll enjoy a lot out of it.
  15. Feb 22, 2011
    95
    An incredibly welcome breath of fresh air. Never underestimate the simple need to let loose and cause some mayhem, and the skill shot system is exceptionally done.
  16. Feb 22, 2011
    90
    Behind the f-bombs and dick-t.ts are some incredibly mature and well thought out mechanics. Not only does the Skillshot system invite a completely new approach to shooting in single-player, it uses scores and leaderboards to inspire competition in a completely different vein to the amalgamate of contemporary shooters.
  17. Mar 6, 2011
    90
    It's a very fresh FPS in a genre that feels more stale every year. It's certainly one of the better new IPs that I've seen this year, and I'm very curious to see what People Can Fly do with the sequel.
  18. Feb 28, 2011
    88
    Bulletstorm manages to make itself relevant by spending the right amount of time on character development while balancing the adult nature of the content with gameplay and presentation that are likely to have staying power.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 245 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 75
  2. Negative: 6 out of 75
  1. Feb 22, 2011
    6
    I am having mixed feeling about this game. It seems like a great idea but in my opinion it lacks game play and gets old very fast. i would recommend this game to someone who is just looking for pure fun. This just was not a game for me. Full Review »
  2. Mar 1, 2011
    7
    ill start off with the negitive on this game. first off this game is pretty damn buggy and glitched up both online and off. in the story mode the biggest 2 ive had issues with is one the ammo . when you go and in resupply your ammo and upgrade ive had the issue in almost the entire second half of the game where all my ammo would be reset to 0 and my power shots so id have to buy them all over again . another one is when starting a new chapter my guns wouldnt fire and grey's arms and gun would be all goofy on the screen . also ive had a few times of getting stuck into the floor and having to restart my game . obvously theese things can and will most likely be patch some time this year but still playing half the game stuck in that ammo glitch sours my experiance with this game . also online the special kills are very glitched and will not register. that out of the way the rest of this game is very fun . the special kills are great and alot of fun to pull off . the wepons are pretty cool and the story is actaully pretty decent . very suprising Epic manage to tell a story decently looking at Gears of war which was a very intresting concept for a story but told extremely half assed . the game has some amazing cinematics the enviroments are nice and change up very smoothly never making me feel bored of what i was looking at . the games about 7-8 hours long which is pretty typical for FPS games . the online horde mode style game mode is ok but im already gettin bored of it after just a few days of playing it . i cant play the full online since i only rented it and you have to enter a stupid code to play it and since i wanted to rent it to test the online mode to see if it was any good before i did . i will not be buying it . its worth atleast a rental but i would not really recoment buying it till theres a price drop and its been patched and with epic that patching process will most likely be slooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooow. Full Review »
  3. Apr 8, 2011
    6
    Not a bad little game, fairly far from perfect, but not at all bad, or unenjoyable. The biggest problems here are: 1) The novelty of creatively killing enemies eventually wears off and reveals itself to be the clever gimmick we always suspected it was. Most people's reviews, and enjoyment of this game, will likely be directly related to how long it takes for this process to happen. 2) The humour is really poor. At times feeling as if the authors lacked a sense of one! It's as if they were so desperate to be considered funny that they succumbed to forcefully cramming the word "dick" into as many conversations as possible, and contrary to what most contemporary comedic films would have you believe, this DOES NOT neccesarily equal funny dialogue. There's quite a sophisticated craft to selling a quality dick joke... and this game has maybe (MAYBE) 1 or 2 instances where it even comes close to that level. Overall, however, I genuinely enjoyed this game for several hours... right up until the repitition tired me out. Still, enjoying 5-6 of the games 8 hours is worthy of at least a rental, if not an outright purchase. Full Review »