Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 57 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 254 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Bulletstorm's array of distinct skillshots produces unprecedented levels of frantic gameplay. The skillshot system rewards players for laying waste to enemies in the most imaginative way possible. The more insane the skillshot, the more points players collect to upgrade and unlock weapons,Bulletstorm's array of distinct skillshots produces unprecedented levels of frantic gameplay. The skillshot system rewards players for laying waste to enemies in the most imaginative way possible. The more insane the skillshot, the more points players collect to upgrade and unlock weapons, which in turn allows them to execute even more inventive moves and exaggerated skillshots. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. Feb 22, 2011
    100
    Forget your preconceptions of Bulletstorm as a foul-mouthed big dumb action game. It's an intelligent, nuanced design with fathoms of depth, which marks a return to the importance of player creativity in shooters and simultaneously evolves the concept of interactivity in an FPS world. And with two cleverly complimentary secondary modes, it will have serious legs for a good long while to come.
  2. Mar 6, 2011
    90
    It's a very fresh FPS in a genre that feels more stale every year. It's certainly one of the better new IPs that I've seen this year, and I'm very curious to see what People Can Fly do with the sequel.
  3. Feb 22, 2011
    88
    It's a lot of fun and fast as hell, at least in the first half. The pace sometimes slows down as you get to the end, and the Skillshot system dowsn't work smoothly all the way through. It's still an original and funny take on first person shooting: it won't last too long, but you'll enjoy a lot out of it.
  4. Feb 24, 2011
    84
    Bulletstorm is a game that achieves a unique feel despite being pieced together from other shooters. May be not a AAA stunner, but People Can Fly has proven themselves as a developer to follow.
  5. 80
    Bulletstorm promised fun and fulfilled that in an exemplary manner.
  6. Feb 23, 2011
    80
    After being really down on Bulletstorm for the first couple of hours, I was pleasantly shocked to see how well it started coming together once I started getting better at using the different weapons and once the story started moving at a faster pace.
  7. Mar 16, 2011
    58
    An otherwise thoroughly enjoyable experience is riddled with technical problems and hiccups throughout a majority of the single player campaign. Thankfully, you will only be spending a couple of hours in that made; the other modes provide great spurts of intense and enjoyable gameplay with a new gameplay mechanic that is a whole lot of fun.

See all 57 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 77
  2. Negative: 6 out of 77
  1. Feb 24, 2011
    10
    Pure Gaming Goodness! That is what BulletStorm is. Original and refreshing and a joy to play. BulletStorm is a Gamers Game...bottom line. IfPure Gaming Goodness! That is what BulletStorm is. Original and refreshing and a joy to play. BulletStorm is a Gamers Game...bottom line. If you can not find pleasure in this game yo may want to look for a new hobby. If you wish to hate on it, it is only because you are a FanNerd and a delusional one at that. Expand
  2. Jun 5, 2011
    10
    Despite the multitude of jocular references to mostly male genitalia, this one glued me to the screen. The action was fast-paced, the storyDespite the multitude of jocular references to mostly male genitalia, this one glued me to the screen. The action was fast-paced, the story was OK, the gameplay was fantastic. I recently have had enough of games which have only one, maximum two ways of killing a boss, and if you don't manage to do that, again from the previous checkpoint. Bulletstorm also has checkpoints, but i never found them frustrating, mostly because it always represented the chance of getting more points. Highly recommendable. Expand
  3. Mar 25, 2011
    10
    This game is good not great.It will give you some laughs but thats about it.The game lacks a good story and multiplayer.Single player is okayThis game is good not great.It will give you some laughs but thats about it.The game lacks a good story and multiplayer.Single player is okay but not anything amazing here.Dispite great graphics this game never takes itself serously.Storyline is pretty much horrible.Only a few characters are likeable which means not alot.Overall game lacks good multiplayer a solid story or likeable chracters.Also tends to get really repetative. If you want to play you might as well save your money and rent it. Expand
  4. Feb 28, 2011
    9
    Bulletstorm is everything you want in a shooter and more. Great graphics, amazing set-pieces, and adrenaline fueled action. Instead of theBulletstorm is everything you want in a shooter and more. Great graphics, amazing set-pieces, and adrenaline fueled action. Instead of the standard aiming for the head like the majority of first-person shooters, the skillshot system is great for rewarding you with how inventive you can be with slaughtering the oncoming hordes. Nothing is more satisfying than seeing you setup a kill involving the deaths of 5+ enemies at once and seeing your entire screen explode with points which is used as currency for buying ammo and unlocking weapons and upgrades. I played the game on HARD which had the perfect balance of difficulty so that I could focus on killing things creatively just as equally as I had to focus on my own survival. The game has a great story, and the characters who at first may seem loud, crass and two dimensional, slowly flesh out into surprisingly deep and likable characters. Bulletstorm is a lot more intelligent than it may appear to be, and at the end when the credits started rolling I was left wanting more. Expand
  5. May 18, 2011
    8
    Far from Perfect but strangely while playing through the singleplayer i found i was having fun which is something i haven't experienced in anFar from Perfect but strangely while playing through the singleplayer i found i was having fun which is something i haven't experienced in an FPS in a long time far to many FPS games take them selves so seriously it almost feels like a chore- yes this game is crass and little buggy as it crashed on me several times .is it game of the year or Fps of the year No... but sometimes its fun just to play a FPS that doesn't have its head stuck up its uber serious military ass Expand
  6. Aug 10, 2014
    7
    Another surprise game that I enjoyed. I bought this game before reading reviews and would not have bought it if I had researched it betterAnother surprise game that I enjoyed. I bought this game before reading reviews and would not have bought it if I had researched it better because in general potty mouth immaturity is something I have long ago grown out of. That said, I owned it and thought I should play it. My forecast was at least take a peak then come here and bash it but to my surprize I enjoyed it. At first I was a little put off I had to kill an enemy with a skill shot I was just going to go the typical assault rifle path, but then somehow I actually started to enjoy the variety and environmental methods available to dispose of your ememies...the animations were enjoyable and somehow brings out that male dominance trait of wanting to wave bye bye sucker as you play.....And in turn with this brutalness it became apparent that the protagonists had to be potty mouths because the characters do some silly killing and their personalities should match. All said it was ok to have some indecent boyish humor in this game. It actually became a bit nostalgic....Ok some other things, overall I was only interested in single player so thats all I did. I liked the large amount of chapters (19) which were broken up into 15 min to half hr limiting commitment, and I especially loved the way the world felt. This game somehow reminded me of Rapture in Bioshock. Was it as good, not quite but it did remind me of that and the main characters somehow reminded me as well of Duke Nukem..... One of those games was bad, and one was pretty decent and this game seems to me to be a hybrid between those games. Now that I think about it this game seems to be a tongue in cheek mockery of almost all the popular shooters this generation and also for that reason I am partial to it.I think a 7 is a fair score for that mixture. I actually would have given this and 8 but the EA has already closed the online servers to this game. Overall I quite enjoyed this but it is going for trade in. One other thing EA forces you to agree to their terms of service when you purchase this game even though the servers are already closed down. This is completely indecent of them its like going to McDonalds and then they say you must agree to our terms and track how you eat your burger, how many sips do you take, and does it cause you bloating and how long til your bowel movement. This trend where software companies think they are entitled to invade your privacy for their selfish interests have to stop. Make a good game please EA and monitor how good it is by how well it sells it is really distasteful you think its ok to stalk, sorry collect data Expand
  7. Mar 25, 2011
    0
    Yet more proof of how much of a stale cash grab FPS games are. This game reminds me of Dr. Rockso the Rock n' Roll Clown.

    Bulletstorm is just
    Yet more proof of how much of a stale cash grab FPS games are. This game reminds me of Dr. Rockso the Rock n' Roll Clown.

    Bulletstorm is just another shooter trying to differentiate itself by trying to seem edgy. Instead, it ends up being corny and kind of embarrassing. The question is never about graphics. The real question is how does this game differentiate itself from other shooters? What features does it offer that haven't couldn't just be a clever mod for Quake 2?
    The answer: Nothing really. Story doesn't make up for putting a month of modelling effort into some new guns and terrain. This stuff is cheap to produce. It's the complex and innovative rules and game mechanics that push the envelope. Something Bulletstorm doesn't even come close to doing with it's messy hair and only-big-boys-can-act-bad (for kids) attitude.

    This game isn't very good, I feel weird listening to the dialogue and the action is over the top in such a way that it's bad.
    Expand

See all 77 User Reviews