User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 413 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 49 out of 413

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ChrisL.
    Jan 26, 2008
    9
    An overall great game, progress is fast and as soon as you adapt to the find your own route and not being able to restart (If you have to restart too often, your the sucky one not the game.) The offline mode is very easy and only used for getting new cars to use in the online mode which is far better than any other online mode in whatever game i have ever played. You have the freedom of a An overall great game, progress is fast and as soon as you adapt to the find your own route and not being able to restart (If you have to restart too often, your the sucky one not the game.) The offline mode is very easy and only used for getting new cars to use in the online mode which is far better than any other online mode in whatever game i have ever played. You have the freedom of a MMO but with racing insted of monsters. Its practically the MMO of racing when you go online. The car system is great and the different ways to get cars makes it more interesting, you don't drive from race to race just to race, you do it so you can get a new car on the way, as they drive around in the city and you simply have to take them down and they will be at your Junkyard. Its new, its great and probably a contender for racing game of the year, and its only January :) Expand
  2. MasJ.
    Jan 18, 2008
    9
    No other racing game (except maybe Motorstorm when boosting) gives the sense of just barely in control speed and the OMG wow crashes like Burnout. Super graphics, physics and the cars don't handle like pushing a shopping cart uphill on ice like some other racing titles do. The sandbox style means lots of replay value, its a buy not a rental.
  3. Trevor
    Jan 31, 2008
    10
    There have been very few games that I've played and enjoyed as much as Burnout Paradise. I have long been a fan of the Burnout series, but I can honestly say, this is my favorite. Yes, crash is gone, but it has been replaced with showtime, which is similar but less boring and repetitive (albeit overdone). But the real beauty is the freedom and how the driving itself becomes the There have been very few games that I've played and enjoyed as much as Burnout Paradise. I have long been a fan of the Burnout series, but I can honestly say, this is my favorite. Yes, crash is gone, but it has been replaced with showtime, which is similar but less boring and repetitive (albeit overdone). But the real beauty is the freedom and how the driving itself becomes the interface to the game. This keeps you constantly engaged and always driving. Sure, you may be stuck at the end of a race after failing, having to drive back to the start, but why not pick up another race on the way? And if you wreck your car on the way, no worries. You'll enjoy the incredibly detailed crash sequence that results. Expand
  4. OLMF
    Jan 31, 2008
    9
    This appears to be a love it or hate it game for most. Count me in the love it camp! I find it interesting that one of the negatives of most game designs is that they are only minor updates to previous games and that nothing is really new to their current game, and yet when a developer does something completely new and takes their franchise to a new level (like Criterion has done here) This appears to be a love it or hate it game for most. Count me in the love it camp! I find it interesting that one of the negatives of most game designs is that they are only minor updates to previous games and that nothing is really new to their current game, and yet when a developer does something completely new and takes their franchise to a new level (like Criterion has done here) people are complaining that they want the same old games that they had before! I would have loved to see weather changes, or day/night cycles to add to the experience. Maybe the next game will have those. Until then, I will be drving the streets of Paradise loving every second of it. Expand
  5. MiguelJ.
    Feb 10, 2008
    9
    This game is pure fun, its a do whatever you want to do game, if you have to drive all the way back, have fun doing it, it is a great game and the developers really impressed me with the open map style, they took a big chance and it paid off. If you wish to have fun online and offline, get it now. I did not give it a ten since the online chat is all distorted.
  6. AidanJ.
    Mar 2, 2008
    10
    Fantastic game, Criterion really pushed the boundaries to make it seamless with no loading. Online is very good, especially when people have headsets and cameras.
  7. Apr 9, 2013
    9
    This is classic Burnout with way better graphics. It's just fun. I could play this all day with my friends, my relatives or whoever. If you don't have it, it's fun as hell.
  8. May 22, 2013
    9
    *The* best racing game you can get a hold of in PC, granted that neither Forza or Gran Turismo ever hitting Steam, amazingly well done roads,shortcuts, enjoyable cars the feel that high speed gives, crashing mechanics... the only downside for me was not so-challenging AI but that can be easily fixed with Multiplayer, although i myself could never experience it yet.
  9. NikoB.
    Apr 26, 2008
    10
    Best racing game ever. takedown was fun for like two days, and paradise is a great turn for the series.
  10. MrX
    Jan 25, 2008
    10
    Stop whining about not being able to restart the race! Just start another one close by. The whole idea is to keep things different and fluid and learn the city. Just because you suck at the game and have to redo a race a thousand times doesnt mean the game is bad. The open city is awesome and really gives a sense of freedom. It also adds to the replay value because you can take a Stop whining about not being able to restart the race! Just start another one close by. The whole idea is to keep things different and fluid and learn the city. Just because you suck at the game and have to redo a race a thousand times doesnt mean the game is bad. The open city is awesome and really gives a sense of freedom. It also adds to the replay value because you can take a different route every time you do a race and find all the shortcuts. I thought Crash in the previous Burnouts was boring and overated, so I don't miss it here either. The graphics, responsiveness and sense of speed are amazing, and a definite improvement on previous versions. Brilliant. Expand
  11. LucazP.
    Mar 5, 2008
    9
    Da most awesome game from burnout yet, other den takedown. The graphics r up dere with da best, speeding wif my jensen carbon x12 is simply spectacular. Ppl say lose a race, u cant restart, so wad, either u just win. or go 2 da next traffic lite n start a new event, simple. Online is even better, ive onli played bout 20 hours of burnout, but still as addicted as the 1st day i bougt it. TheDa most awesome game from burnout yet, other den takedown. The graphics r up dere with da best, speeding wif my jensen carbon x12 is simply spectacular. Ppl say lose a race, u cant restart, so wad, either u just win. or go 2 da next traffic lite n start a new event, simple. Online is even better, ive onli played bout 20 hours of burnout, but still as addicted as the 1st day i bougt it. The only reason it gets a 9 is cause i tinkgettin rid of party crash is a slite buumer, cause wen my frens come over, its a slite drag, but ode den dat, its wicked awesome, buy it ppl!!! Expand
  12. GamingGuru
    Jan 29, 2008
    9
    WOW, these people on here have no idea how to play this game. Showtime is a MILLION times better than crash. It's crash mode anytime, anywhere you want!!!!!!! Don't like open worlds? Are you crazy? It's flat out awesome, and navigation was fairly easy, at least on a HDTV (50 in). Yeah, there is no way to restart a race, but why would you, there is a newer one one block WOW, these people on here have no idea how to play this game. Showtime is a MILLION times better than crash. It's crash mode anytime, anywhere you want!!!!!!! Don't like open worlds? Are you crazy? It's flat out awesome, and navigation was fairly easy, at least on a HDTV (50 in). Yeah, there is no way to restart a race, but why would you, there is a newer one one block away. If you are a "linear" type player for racing games, this is not for you. This is about fun, not beating everything, though you can do that to. If that sounds like you, pick it up, you will love it. Expand
  13. AlvinL.
    Jan 30, 2008
    10
    Awesome arcade game!!!! Don't listen to all the negative reviews..this is what next-gen gaming is all about!!! Buy this game now!!!
  14. SaviorM.
    Feb 24, 2008
    9
    People need to wake up. It's *not* cool when developers take successful franchises into a new generation of hardware, and upgrade only the graphics. When they do this, we get Devil May Cry 4--at least as good a game as DMC3, but not genuinely better. That's because it's really the same game, pretty much, with new graphics. Burnout Paradise doesn't have Crash Mode--yes. People need to wake up. It's *not* cool when developers take successful franchises into a new generation of hardware, and upgrade only the graphics. When they do this, we get Devil May Cry 4--at least as good a game as DMC3, but not genuinely better. That's because it's really the same game, pretty much, with new graphics. Burnout Paradise doesn't have Crash Mode--yes. You aren't dragged back to the beginning of an event when you lose--yes. This is because Criterion committed fully to the open-world sandbox concept. If you lose an event, wherever you end up, there will be something to do there instead. You have to learn to navigate the city--yes. Not restarting an event will help you learn *faster.* I'm completely disgusted by the whining crybabies ruining this game's community score here and elsewhere--it's as if they want to play the same game five times in a row. You people are the reason why the publishers churn out a new-and-unimproved version of every annualized franchise every year. Congratulations. For everybody with good taste and good sense, Burnout Paradise delivers on the Burnout legacy while adding fantastic new features. No, it isn't the same game you've been playing these five iterations; and you're welcome. 9.0. Expand
  15. ElG.
    Feb 26, 2008
    10
    60 hours played and counting! Superb game! I thought the demo was rubbish, due to all the issues other people have raised in previous, more negative reviews. I gave it another chance and it won me over. Crash has gone ...so what, you still have your old games for that (and there is now Showtime - a bit like Crash). Yes it is sometimes a little frustrating to lack a restart event option, 60 hours played and counting! Superb game! I thought the demo was rubbish, due to all the issues other people have raised in previous, more negative reviews. I gave it another chance and it won me over. Crash has gone ...so what, you still have your old games for that (and there is now Showtime - a bit like Crash). Yes it is sometimes a little frustrating to lack a restart event option, but like others say, simply start a new event. You will learn the world faster, and until the very last few events of the the game, there are plenty of events to choose from (at every junction), all colour coded so you know what event it is. The map is clear and easy to follow, some bits more than others but it is only a map. The learning curve of the game is great and the unlockables seem to feel rewarding. There are 3 different types of boost as in other BO games, Speed, Stunt, and Aggression each gain boost differently. Once you get your Burnout license, the cars start getting really quick. "Zone"-like focus required. Online mode is a gem. Virtually seamless online support, straight online from anywhere, anytime. With online races and co-op challenges, as well as Freeburn which allows players to compete against each other for Longest Jump, Airtime, Most Burnouts, Oncoming etc. Great, great game. If I am honest, its probably more like a 9/10 but where others have whinged and given it a 0, I think a 10 is easily justified. Expand
  16. KyleS.
    Feb 3, 2008
    9
    I was skeptical about buying this, what a mistake if i hadn't! This a truly amazing game that is near flawless. I just hope for the next one they have a mode called ' kick the teeth in of that Sunday driver who lost you the last race. I haven't even gone online yet the single player is so good!
  17. ToddK.
    Feb 5, 2008
    9
    This one gets a strong 9.9 and I only give that one-tenth less because of 2 things. 1)No car with all 10 ratings, at least not yet. and 2)When you get down to the last 30 or so races, it can get a little tiresome driving all the way back to a race starting point if you lose the race. Solution - Don't lose :-) Other than 1 and 2, BY FAR HANDS DOWN BEST GAME FOR PS3 YET. I have played This one gets a strong 9.9 and I only give that one-tenth less because of 2 things. 1)No car with all 10 ratings, at least not yet. and 2)When you get down to the last 30 or so races, it can get a little tiresome driving all the way back to a race starting point if you lose the race. Solution - Don't lose :-) Other than 1 and 2, BY FAR HANDS DOWN BEST GAME FOR PS3 YET. I have played over 80 hours already and have only completed 73%. AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Anyone who lilkes a good racer needs this game. Expand
  18. MOQ
    Mar 30, 2008
    10
    Its brilliant-awesome-amazing! Ok I really like it. its changed from the original but for the better. The Burnout Boost is just incredible, Showtime is the new crash, onlline is too much fun. Buy it now!
  19. JohnRain
    Dec 18, 2007
    10
    A stunning game and a true show piece for the Playstation 3. I really wasn
  20. PatC.
    Jan 22, 2008
    9
    Don't have time to type a good deatiled review, but overall a great game. Great graphics, physics, cars everything! This game will keep you entertained for quite some time. Be aware that, though it is fun, it does get repetitive fairly quickly. Play this game in sessions, not all at once.
  21. KyleT.
    Jan 28, 2008
    9
    I'm sorry, but not liking the gameplay style is by no means an excuse to rate an otherwise flawless game badly. This game, while not much like previous Burnouts, is a beast of its own. The single player mode is expansive and incredibly entertaining. Exploring isn't a MUST per-se, but it's obviously a large part of the game. The multiplayer is a beast of it's own. Not I'm sorry, but not liking the gameplay style is by no means an excuse to rate an otherwise flawless game badly. This game, while not much like previous Burnouts, is a beast of its own. The single player mode is expansive and incredibly entertaining. Exploring isn't a MUST per-se, but it's obviously a large part of the game. The multiplayer is a beast of it's own. Not only is it incredibly fun just racing with up to 7 other people, the 50 challenges for each class (350 in all) really flesh out the experience. The challenges involve stuff as mundane as boosting for a few seconds and escalate all the way up to performing group barrel rolls through the fuselages of planes at an abandoned airfield. The only things that I would even think of criticizing about the game are a lack of custom soundtrack in the PS3 (which was sort of a no-brainer...no idea why that didn't happen), the inability to "restart" a race (I know it doesn't allow for as much exploration, but driving back to a starting point to restart a difficult race over and over is a humongous pain.), and POSSIBLY the removal of crash mode. Although I think showtime has a ton of promise with random friend gatherings (beating scores, bouncing around etc), old fashioned crash mode will be missed. I'll be playing this game for a while. Online and off. Don't trust the user score and try the demo yourself before you make a judgment. This game is amazing no matter how you look at it - but don't go in expecting a cut and dry burnout - although the racing style remains the same, we're dealing with a completely different beast here. Expand
  22. Acook
    Feb 17, 2008
    9
    why does everyone say stuff like "its lost it burnout feel ." Its called evolving GET USED TO IT!! I love this game I gave it nine because no 2 player offline still loved it!
  23. MatthewN.
    Feb 21, 2008
    10
    I'm not a racing game fan, and was not familiar with the Burnout franchise, but from the moment I played the demo on my PS3 this game has grabbed me like no other. I am amazed at the fun it has supplied me and how hard it is for me to put the game away.
  24. JeffA.
    Feb 23, 2008
    10
    Photorealistic graphics blended with spot on controls give this sandbox racer a perfect score.
  25. BillG.
    Mar 12, 2008
    10
    Great racing game, things from previous games have been improved upon. New features have been added, some removed and some blended together to create new things. No more crash instead we get showtime for example. Open world lets you explore at your own pace, online integration is great.
  26. DamienR.
    Mar 31, 2008
    10
    This is by far the best racing game I have ever played. It is the complete Burnout experience with all new features... and I hear a lot of people saying "they've done away with the crashes".. well... obviously they werent going fast enough were they? Put the foot down you panzies!! The crashes are in and better than ever! Everything is also open-world as well, so the option to This is by far the best racing game I have ever played. It is the complete Burnout experience with all new features... and I hear a lot of people saying "they've done away with the crashes".. well... obviously they werent going fast enough were they? Put the foot down you panzies!! The crashes are in and better than ever! Everything is also open-world as well, so the option to explore Paradise City from top to bottom is at your fingertips. They've got a new formula going here.. and should continue it with the next generation of Burnout games - cause here we have something that works, and works better than every other racing on the market! Expand
  27. DJATOMICA
    Apr 22, 2008
    10
    I don't know why you stupid idoits are hating about this game. YALL SUCK! but, to tell you this, the cars was a little dissappointing,you can't restart, and the gates,smashes,and billboards are a waste of time and a pain. Burnout revenge or Burnout 3 should be on ps3
  28. BGriffiths
    Apr 25, 2008
    10
    Absolutely hilarious fun. Passed the 80% completion mark and still finding things that absolutely surprise and entertain me. Great fun discovering it all and unlocking the game on your own, and the fun gets exponentially better when you play with friends. Solid as a whole - if you like driving games this is a great one to spend some time on (while you wait for GT5)
  29. ENOUGH!!
    Jan 16, 2009
    9
    While getting lost during races, I just stop caring and rush around the city. That's the beauty of this game. If you get lost, just rush around the city at an insane speed and run the risk of getting your car smashed to pieces. This is fun, and it also helps you learn the best paths from place to place. It's burnout, It's got the twisted metal, the Aggro, (a form of) "crash While getting lost during races, I just stop caring and rush around the city. That's the beauty of this game. If you get lost, just rush around the city at an insane speed and run the risk of getting your car smashed to pieces. This is fun, and it also helps you learn the best paths from place to place. It's burnout, It's got the twisted metal, the Aggro, (a form of) "crash mode" (RIP) and a lot of speed. Paradise city, here we come. Expand
  30. KeithJ
    Jan 26, 2009
    9
    This game does not deserve the 0's and 1's. Even if you dislike the game, or it's too hard for you the presentation is awesome. The soundtrack is also great, it features LCD Soundsystem and Janes Addiction and a great variety of uncliche driving music. Sure the Guns and Roses theme song is kind of dumb, but the rest of the music is great. Give this one a chance, it's This game does not deserve the 0's and 1's. Even if you dislike the game, or it's too hard for you the presentation is awesome. The soundtrack is also great, it features LCD Soundsystem and Janes Addiction and a great variety of uncliche driving music. Sure the Guns and Roses theme song is kind of dumb, but the rest of the music is great. Give this one a chance, it's available for 20 dollars almost everywhere and is really fun! Forget about these crybaby reviews. Expand
  31. MichaelJ.
    Jan 24, 2008
    9
    The open world is definitely a step in the right direction for the series, and its absolutely huge amount of events and collectibles provides the replay value that previous iterations have been lacking. The classic Burnout drift-heavy controls have been perfected, and the game feels tighter than ever. Criterion has the uncanny ability to squeeze all the power they can out of a console and The open world is definitely a step in the right direction for the series, and its absolutely huge amount of events and collectibles provides the replay value that previous iterations have been lacking. The classic Burnout drift-heavy controls have been perfected, and the game feels tighter than ever. Criterion has the uncanny ability to squeeze all the power they can out of a console and make their games look as good as possible. They haven't failed to do this for their first true next-gen game, as Burnout Paradise is the one of the few to rival Gears of War in terms of impressing visuals. But transitioning to an open-world style did not go as smooth as it could have, and the lack of a retry option for events might annoy some players. But it was not much of a problem for me; after failing an event and inevitably being far from its starting point, there was always a different one to try close by, and it forced me to not tare my hair out trying to complete something that was too hard for me. Players might also miss the traditional crash mode that has been replaced with a different, less deep version. It serves as a nice breather between normal events and gets boring quickly, but it is not "bad". Hey, there is nothing wrong to going back to a previous Burnout and getting your crash fix there. As a whole though, Paradise is an incredibly fleshed-out experience. There are so many different things to get and do, and getting and doing them is so much fun. Expand
  32. ChristopherS.
    Jan 25, 2008
    10
    I am truly shocked at the player response to this game. What we have here is perhaps the finest graphical representation of a city ever seen in a video game. This is an historic moment. We have never seen or played anything quite like this before. How lucky we are as gamers to be alive in this day and age. To give anything less then a 9 is not only horrendously unfair but also a display I am truly shocked at the player response to this game. What we have here is perhaps the finest graphical representation of a city ever seen in a video game. This is an historic moment. We have never seen or played anything quite like this before. How lucky we are as gamers to be alive in this day and age. To give anything less then a 9 is not only horrendously unfair but also a display of total ignorance to where we were and how far we've come. This city is not only beautiful its huge and will take months of exploration to fully learn all that it has to offer. Gone is the easy progression of the past, replaced with challenge and hard work. Finally a game that I would be willing to spend $60 for. This my friends is the promise of electronic gaming...realized! Expand
  33. RickK.
    Jan 27, 2008
    9
    I am not sure if many of the reader reviews have actually even played the game. While it is true that crash is gone, it is replaced by something completely different and better in my opinion. Showtime is some of the most fun I have ever had in a virtual vehicle. Gone are the days of a crash taking place in a predetermined location, now you can crash anywhere and everywhere and carry the I am not sure if many of the reader reviews have actually even played the game. While it is true that crash is gone, it is replaced by something completely different and better in my opinion. Showtime is some of the most fun I have ever had in a virtual vehicle. Gone are the days of a crash taking place in a predetermined location, now you can crash anywhere and everywhere and carry the crash as far as you can, getting a hundred thousand dollars per thousand yards you go. Hit buses for multipliers instead of 'x2 x4' coins. In addition, I love the open ended races. Circuit races aren't realistic for this type of game. Now you can take any route you want and do insane things to get to the finish. The addition of gas stations, paint shops, and repair shops is very creative and helpful. Seeing and playing this game on the next generation systems is unreal, and the graphics are unbelievable. The ONLY reason why I wouldn't give this a perfect ten, is because there is no longer 'aftertouch'. I haven't played Revenge, though, so I don't know if that's news or not. Overall this game is a MUST buy for any racing/driving fan. Having to start a race over should be the least of your concerns. If you mess up so bad you have to restart, just finish the race, you probably need the practice driving around the city anyway. Expand
  34. SamH.
    Jan 28, 2008
    10
    I don't have time for a full review because, frankly, I want to get back to playing the game. The racing is better than ever, the open world design is a much needed refresh to the burnout series, andthe cars are all distinct from one another (in the previous entries it seemed to me as if you would recieve ten of the same car with slight upgrades). Unlike some of the other users, I I don't have time for a full review because, frankly, I want to get back to playing the game. The racing is better than ever, the open world design is a much needed refresh to the burnout series, andthe cars are all distinct from one another (in the previous entries it seemed to me as if you would recieve ten of the same car with slight upgrades). Unlike some of the other users, I love the omission of restart. If you finish a race in a losing position, then you only need to drive a few feet to the next intersection to start a completly different race. This serves to make each race about skill, not about how many turns of the turns and shortcuts you have memorized. Expand
  35. JamesF.
    Apr 11, 2008
    9
    Very glad they didn't repeat the previous offerings. Excellent though they were, if I want to play those I can play the PS2 versions on the PS3. Frankly not missing crash mode at all (though Showtime is a little gimmicky). The races, marked man and slick on-line make this a classic! Can't wait for the DLC!
  36. JeffF
    Jun 27, 2008
    9
    Amazing game, the only problem I have is getting lost during races.
  37. timdaley
    Dec 17, 2007
    10
    This game, in a word, is simply SPECTACULAR. The graphics are supberb and the controls and gameplay are ultra tight. No one does speed like the burnout series and this version follows suit.

    The open environment is the logical progression for this franchise and the implementation of seemless online play is fantastic. Bottom line: This game is a must have title and will certainly
    This game, in a word, is simply SPECTACULAR. The graphics are supberb and the controls and gameplay are ultra tight. No one does speed like the burnout series and this version follows suit.

    The open environment is the logical progression for this franchise and the implementation of seemless online play is fantastic.

    Bottom line: This game is a must have title and will certainly give GT a run for its money. For me, burnout rules all hands down. It doesn't get any more fun than this. PERIOD!
    Expand
  38. JeffKoltun
    Dec 17, 2007
    9
    Graphically awesome, easy in-game menus, great crash physics and a completely open city to play with! All of this promises a fantastic platform to terrorize the roads and duel with friends on-line in unlimited urban vehicle assault. For my money, and being a fan of the whole series, look no further for excitement and heart-pounding action. Too bad it won't be here before the holidays!
  39. Oct 12, 2010
    9
    Pros: Great driving and stunt mechanics, game-modes, and online system/challenges/community. A large variety and amount of trophies and cars. A large, sprawling city featuring elements from London, New York, Tokyo, rural areas, and waterfronts to explore. Excellent DLC. Great graphics and sound effects. The soundtrack is good, although it could use a bit more variety. Excellent supportPros: Great driving and stunt mechanics, game-modes, and online system/challenges/community. A large variety and amount of trophies and cars. A large, sprawling city featuring elements from London, New York, Tokyo, rural areas, and waterfronts to explore. Excellent DLC. Great graphics and sound effects. The soundtrack is good, although it could use a bit more variety. Excellent support from the developer; many sales on DLC, a website online for tracking stats and completing the Paradise City map, custom music support, eye-toy integration, lots of added trophies, challenges, and excellent patches with new features such as motorcycles and day-and-night cycles. Cons: Races in offline can become repetitive and are often confusing due to the manner in which the game points you to the right direction. However, this ceases to be a problem when you gain more experience with the maps. Expand
  40. Oct 17, 2010
    10
    Great game. Great cars. Great crashes. Burnout paradise is a very good game as it has a very good sense of speed in it and anyone can enjoy it even if they're not into cars. I think that everything in the game feels very rewarding and everything is fun to do.
  41. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    Being the 5th title in the 'Burnout' franchise you would expect ideas to be running thin and a lot of familiar ground. What you wouldn't expect is an open world where you can quite literally own the road. Welcome to Paradise. As soon as the classic 'Paradise City' kicks in you get an understanding of where this game is coming from, Loud songs and even louder vehicles! If you are lookingBeing the 5th title in the 'Burnout' franchise you would expect ideas to be running thin and a lot of familiar ground. What you wouldn't expect is an open world where you can quite literally own the road. Welcome to Paradise. As soon as the classic 'Paradise City' kicks in you get an understanding of where this game is coming from, Loud songs and even louder vehicles! If you are looking for a quiet country drive you are in the wrong town.

    So once you have fired up your first motor and won your first race you realize the true scale of Paradise City, with a diverse range of environments and a plethora of stunning vistas, becomes apparent.
    Game types range from Racing to Marked man events. There are also online races and variants on game modes like Cops 'n' Robbers (DLC) I don't want to dissect this game and tell you everything about it. I just want you to understand this is like getting your first car and working your way up to your new sports car. It is a journey one I haven't forgotten and one I still want to go back to. For me this is the definitive racing game on (PS3! or 360 or PC for that matter)
    Expand
  42. Mar 24, 2011
    10
    This game is simply the best racing game on PS3. Still fresh after 3 years. Open world, LOTS of stuff to do, great graphics, stunning crashes and multiplayer. Pure entertainment.
  43. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    J'ai jamais vu un jeu de voitures aussi travaillé sur les crashs.
    Le monde ouvert regorge de défis en tout genre, les voitures sont nombreuses avec plusieurs types.
    Encore aujourd'hui Criterion fait fort.
    Continuez les gars !!!
  44. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    Very good game, lots of exciting races and events. It has a 9 instead of 10 for repetitiveness. Online is really fun where you can race with other people, very intense.
  45. Apr 1, 2012
    9
    Burnout Paradise is a game I understand people disliking. It's not much of a game to hate for it doesn't have anything more than a share of minor problems: such as having to check the map on a constant basis to understand where you're going (which doesn't grow on you as being as horrible as it sounds), or that sometimes you have to drive quite a while to one of the very few "junkyards"Burnout Paradise is a game I understand people disliking. It's not much of a game to hate for it doesn't have anything more than a share of minor problems: such as having to check the map on a constant basis to understand where you're going (which doesn't grow on you as being as horrible as it sounds), or that sometimes you have to drive quite a while to one of the very few "junkyards" spread across the map in inconvenient places, or DJ atomica and his annoying radio graces. The making or breaking point of this game only comes down to how much you like it's monotonous gameplay of driving back and forth between a few game types. Beside the Road Rage challenges, nothing is too interesting: you can Race, you can go for a Stunt record, you can blah, you can blah, nothing too interesting. You unlock vehicles by doing these challenges and getting new licenses (which come from doing these challenges and have no real point). You will be driving from challenge to challenge in a damn well designed map that is anything but small. The majority of my fun found was in the mountainous area with less obstacles and plenty of room to test vehicle's handling and speed, though the whole city is bright and looks great. The graphics are great, and the sound is absolutely outstanding. Every vehicle's engine sounds unique and well realistic, and you'll find yourself drooling at the sound of the gear changes. All of the vehicles are well varied. You will be driving everything from A Team types vans, to F1 cars, and it takes quite the bit of time to unlock each vehicle from doing these challenges. So if you are one that enjoys the core gameplay and challenges, you will have a lot of grinding to do unlocking what you want. Though don't worry about the difficulty. The game constantly steps up the difficulty from challenge to challenge, and it does get quite difficult. The games presentation does well to constantly keep you in the action. The game takes place entirely within the world just like GTA. The games menus take place through a couple of different pause screens that make things quick and simple. Now that you have an idea of what you're doing, you probably want to know just how it feels. This is no driving sim like Gran Turismo. This is pure arcade fun. The slowest vehicle in this game goes at least 300 mph. All the vehilces handle insanely and are a lot of fun to drive. That's really what this game is all about: core gameplay, and that's really all that separates you liking or disliking it. The game runs smoothly and is slowed by very very few bugs, and the frame rate is absolutely outstanding. You can be driving 600 miles per hour and there is still absolutely no pop up. All of this you can also take online with not extra game modes, but a smooth experience absolutely no different than the single player. It's a lot of fun getting online with people and doing different challenges, and definitely steps up the game's replay value. Whether you like or dislike this game will be found in the first 10 minutes of gameplay. I rated this game a 9 out of 10 on the premise that I absolutely love these arcade racers, and there is no short of content on this game, though nothing is too interesting, it's a racer (you can't exactly take things to a whole new level). I would recommend this game to anyone into fast and unrealistic racing. You can't get any better than Burnout Paradise on the 7th generation of consoles when it comes to Arcade racing. Expand
  46. Aug 1, 2012
    10
    Still (2012) think the best racing game ever released in this generation.
    Everything in this game is perfect, events, races, the city of the game is more fun to explore in a racing game, a must see!
  47. Nov 19, 2013
    9
    Un juegazo, a mi no me gustan los juegos de coches y carreras, pero este si me encanto, es un juegazo, lo recomiendo 100% tanto para fans de coches como para los del sandbox tipo GTA, es un juego con un mapeado extensisimo que te encantara disfrutar, solo o acompañado, es divertidisimo y muy adictivo, a la minima que podais pillaroslo, de verdad que os lo recomiendo, amigos este si que esUn juegazo, a mi no me gustan los juegos de coches y carreras, pero este si me encanto, es un juegazo, lo recomiendo 100% tanto para fans de coches como para los del sandbox tipo GTA, es un juego con un mapeado extensisimo que te encantara disfrutar, solo o acompañado, es divertidisimo y muy adictivo, a la minima que podais pillaroslo, de verdad que os lo recomiendo, amigos este si que es un Burnout!! Expand
  48. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    The best racing game ever! The graphics are great, the events are great, the freeburn is great, multiplayer is great, and the cars are great! I can play this game for hours without getting bored,and can easily lose track of time! Buy it now!
  49. Jun 25, 2014
    10
    This is an excellent open world racing game. Graphics still hold up against today's games. This is an arcade type racing game, not a simulator, so if your looking for realistic racing then this is not the game for you. This game is not like past burnout games, there isn't a crash mode. However it is an excellent racing game with lots of races, 75 cars, boards to smash through, jumpThis is an excellent open world racing game. Graphics still hold up against today's games. This is an arcade type racing game, not a simulator, so if your looking for realistic racing then this is not the game for you. This game is not like past burnout games, there isn't a crash mode. However it is an excellent racing game with lots of races, 75 cars, boards to smash through, jump locations to jump, awesome crashes.

    Want realistic racing, or expect something like the older Burnout games then don't buy.
    If you want one of the best arcade racing games out there then this is a must buy.
    Expand
  50. May 20, 2014
    10
    here is a question can there be a better racing game then burnout paradise the answer so far no this is the best racing game ever made unless you like sims i still cant believe this game is six years old and still how well it hold up today its sad we wont see a follow up to this with criterion having like 10 people left thanks ea =(
  51. May 15, 2015
    9
    This game does everything right an arcade racer has to do. Insanely fun gameplay, a lot of races to do, a lot of different collectibles to get and a good amount of cars to collect. The map is quite big and has some cool stunt spots. This game is arcade racing on its best.
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Scarily deep. It demands you play it: there's so much to find it's incredible. [Jan 2008, p.88]
  2. 100
    Give it a chance and you may find yourself having the most fun you've ever had in a virtual car. [Feb 2008, p.70]
  3. A truly superb racer; fast, vast and there's plenty to do under that super-slick surface. [Jan 2008, p.118]