Burnout Paradise PlayStation 3

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 467 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 52 out of 467
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DenJ.
    Feb 2, 2008
    6
    Weakest Burnout in quite a while. Major omissions unforgivable and open world system hampered by poor navigation.
  2. Trevor
    Jan 31, 2008
    10
    There have been very few games that I've played and enjoyed as much as Burnout Paradise. I have long been a fan of the Burnout series, but I can honestly say, this is my favorite. Yes, crash is gone, but it has been replaced with showtime, which is similar but less boring and repetitive (albeit overdone). But the real beauty is the freedom and how the driving itself becomes the There have been very few games that I've played and enjoyed as much as Burnout Paradise. I have long been a fan of the Burnout series, but I can honestly say, this is my favorite. Yes, crash is gone, but it has been replaced with showtime, which is similar but less boring and repetitive (albeit overdone). But the real beauty is the freedom and how the driving itself becomes the interface to the game. This keeps you constantly engaged and always driving. Sure, you may be stuck at the end of a race after failing, having to drive back to the start, but why not pick up another race on the way? And if you wreck your car on the way, no worries. You'll enjoy the incredibly detailed crash sequence that results. Expand
  3. OLMF
    Jan 31, 2008
    9
    This appears to be a love it or hate it game for most. Count me in the love it camp! I find it interesting that one of the negatives of most game designs is that they are only minor updates to previous games and that nothing is really new to their current game, and yet when a developer does something completely new and takes their franchise to a new level (like Criterion has done here) This appears to be a love it or hate it game for most. Count me in the love it camp! I find it interesting that one of the negatives of most game designs is that they are only minor updates to previous games and that nothing is really new to their current game, and yet when a developer does something completely new and takes their franchise to a new level (like Criterion has done here) people are complaining that they want the same old games that they had before! I would have loved to see weather changes, or day/night cycles to add to the experience. Maybe the next game will have those. Until then, I will be drving the streets of Paradise loving every second of it. Expand
  4. AlvinL.
    Jan 30, 2008
    10
    Awesome arcade game!!!! Don't listen to all the negative reviews..this is what next-gen gaming is all about!!! Buy this game now!!!
  5. KayC.
    Jan 30, 2008
    5
    For me, Burnout games were too good to bother changing the whole style, the gameplay mechanics were nearly flawless. It seems to have lost that edge now. Instead of jumping straight into Crash mode or a Race, you have to find one, which slows down the progress of the game. Some reviewers say driving around looking at the scenery is amazing. I for one do not care of the scenery, I want to For me, Burnout games were too good to bother changing the whole style, the gameplay mechanics were nearly flawless. It seems to have lost that edge now. Instead of jumping straight into Crash mode or a Race, you have to find one, which slows down the progress of the game. Some reviewers say driving around looking at the scenery is amazing. I for one do not care of the scenery, I want to race and crash, not look for billboards to jump into. Crash mode was much better than showtime because in crash mode they set out crashes on a plate ready for you to gorge. That brings me to another point... WHERE IS SPLIT SCREEN!!!! Am I one of the few guys who still have friends to come over and play video games? Am I the only one who still remembers how fun multiplayer on one screen is? The online is great but when friends come over you don't want to play 1 by 1, games like this and Motorstorm are set-up for split screen, but it isn't there. The gameplay itself isn't rubbish but the game doesn't know what it wants to be, Midnight Club? Need for Speed? or Burnout? Though the gameplay is quite good, it is missing out on some things that would make the game universal. Such as, having the option of choosing a level on the menu screen, restarting a race, split screen. Good, but there was no need to change it so much, the game was close to perfect, not a big step back, but a step back nethertheless. Expand
  6. GamingGuru
    Jan 29, 2008
    9
    WOW, these people on here have no idea how to play this game. Showtime is a MILLION times better than crash. It's crash mode anytime, anywhere you want!!!!!!! Don't like open worlds? Are you crazy? It's flat out awesome, and navigation was fairly easy, at least on a HDTV (50 in). Yeah, there is no way to restart a race, but why would you, there is a newer one one block WOW, these people on here have no idea how to play this game. Showtime is a MILLION times better than crash. It's crash mode anytime, anywhere you want!!!!!!! Don't like open worlds? Are you crazy? It's flat out awesome, and navigation was fairly easy, at least on a HDTV (50 in). Yeah, there is no way to restart a race, but why would you, there is a newer one one block away. If you are a "linear" type player for racing games, this is not for you. This is about fun, not beating everything, though you can do that to. If that sounds like you, pick it up, you will love it. Expand
  7. KyleT.
    Jan 28, 2008
    9
    I'm sorry, but not liking the gameplay style is by no means an excuse to rate an otherwise flawless game badly. This game, while not much like previous Burnouts, is a beast of its own. The single player mode is expansive and incredibly entertaining. Exploring isn't a MUST per-se, but it's obviously a large part of the game. The multiplayer is a beast of it's own. Not I'm sorry, but not liking the gameplay style is by no means an excuse to rate an otherwise flawless game badly. This game, while not much like previous Burnouts, is a beast of its own. The single player mode is expansive and incredibly entertaining. Exploring isn't a MUST per-se, but it's obviously a large part of the game. The multiplayer is a beast of it's own. Not only is it incredibly fun just racing with up to 7 other people, the 50 challenges for each class (350 in all) really flesh out the experience. The challenges involve stuff as mundane as boosting for a few seconds and escalate all the way up to performing group barrel rolls through the fuselages of planes at an abandoned airfield. The only things that I would even think of criticizing about the game are a lack of custom soundtrack in the PS3 (which was sort of a no-brainer...no idea why that didn't happen), the inability to "restart" a race (I know it doesn't allow for as much exploration, but driving back to a starting point to restart a difficult race over and over is a humongous pain.), and POSSIBLY the removal of crash mode. Although I think showtime has a ton of promise with random friend gatherings (beating scores, bouncing around etc), old fashioned crash mode will be missed. I'll be playing this game for a while. Online and off. Don't trust the user score and try the demo yourself before you make a judgment. This game is amazing no matter how you look at it - but don't go in expecting a cut and dry burnout - although the racing style remains the same, we're dealing with a completely different beast here. Expand
  8. SamH.
    Jan 28, 2008
    10
    I don't have time for a full review because, frankly, I want to get back to playing the game. The racing is better than ever, the open world design is a much needed refresh to the burnout series, andthe cars are all distinct from one another (in the previous entries it seemed to me as if you would recieve ten of the same car with slight upgrades). Unlike some of the other users, I I don't have time for a full review because, frankly, I want to get back to playing the game. The racing is better than ever, the open world design is a much needed refresh to the burnout series, andthe cars are all distinct from one another (in the previous entries it seemed to me as if you would recieve ten of the same car with slight upgrades). Unlike some of the other users, I love the omission of restart. If you finish a race in a losing position, then you only need to drive a few feet to the next intersection to start a completly different race. This serves to make each race about skill, not about how many turns of the turns and shortcuts you have memorized. Expand
  9. RickK.
    Jan 27, 2008
    9
    I am not sure if many of the reader reviews have actually even played the game. While it is true that crash is gone, it is replaced by something completely different and better in my opinion. Showtime is some of the most fun I have ever had in a virtual vehicle. Gone are the days of a crash taking place in a predetermined location, now you can crash anywhere and everywhere and carry the I am not sure if many of the reader reviews have actually even played the game. While it is true that crash is gone, it is replaced by something completely different and better in my opinion. Showtime is some of the most fun I have ever had in a virtual vehicle. Gone are the days of a crash taking place in a predetermined location, now you can crash anywhere and everywhere and carry the crash as far as you can, getting a hundred thousand dollars per thousand yards you go. Hit buses for multipliers instead of 'x2 x4' coins. In addition, I love the open ended races. Circuit races aren't realistic for this type of game. Now you can take any route you want and do insane things to get to the finish. The addition of gas stations, paint shops, and repair shops is very creative and helpful. Seeing and playing this game on the next generation systems is unreal, and the graphics are unbelievable. The ONLY reason why I wouldn't give this a perfect ten, is because there is no longer 'aftertouch'. I haven't played Revenge, though, so I don't know if that's news or not. Overall this game is a MUST buy for any racing/driving fan. Having to start a race over should be the least of your concerns. If you mess up so bad you have to restart, just finish the race, you probably need the practice driving around the city anyway. Expand
  10. BrettJames
    Jan 27, 2008
    1
    I'm not sure what game the reviewers got to play but the Burnout Paradise I played is the WORST sequel since Devil May Cry 2. No crash mode?? No auto restart? And what the hell happened to the sense of speed? The previous games were blazing fast. This barely gets things going. The Burnout series was always about one thing...FUN. You could hop in, run a couple of races or just smashI'm not sure what game the reviewers got to play but the Burnout Paradise I played is the WORST sequel since Devil May Cry 2. No crash mode?? No auto restart? And what the hell happened to the sense of speed? The previous games were blazing fast. This barely gets things going. The Burnout series was always about one thing...FUN. You could hop in, run a couple of races or just smash around. Great times. But this game? All work. You've got to drive to every race, that you have to find yourself! No one's mentioned that you only see maybe 2 or 3 races when the game starts. You've got to drive around and discover where all the races start. Then you've got to drive back to the same spot if you lose. Oh and don't forget to drive one place to fix your car, another place to paint it (with so few options it's hardly worth it) and another place to fill up the turbo. This is annoying in real life. Why, oh why, would the designers think that that would be fun here? And did I mention that this game feels slow? Oh good I did. This used to be a great game for having your friends over and seeing who could finish a run the fastest or cause the biggest wreck. Now the only wreck here is the game itself. It is a real slap in the face to fans of the series. Just like DMC2. PLEASE rent before you buy if you must know how this is. You'll thank me later. Expand
  11. GusD.
    Jan 26, 2008
    6
    The arcade purity seems to have been lost this time around. Restarts are a pain and crash is gone. Not worth the wait.
  12. ChrisL.
    Jan 26, 2008
    9
    An overall great game, progress is fast and as soon as you adapt to the find your own route and not being able to restart (If you have to restart too often, your the sucky one not the game.) The offline mode is very easy and only used for getting new cars to use in the online mode which is far better than any other online mode in whatever game i have ever played. You have the freedom of a An overall great game, progress is fast and as soon as you adapt to the find your own route and not being able to restart (If you have to restart too often, your the sucky one not the game.) The offline mode is very easy and only used for getting new cars to use in the online mode which is far better than any other online mode in whatever game i have ever played. You have the freedom of a MMO but with racing insted of monsters. Its practically the MMO of racing when you go online. The car system is great and the different ways to get cars makes it more interesting, you don't drive from race to race just to race, you do it so you can get a new car on the way, as they drive around in the city and you simply have to take them down and they will be at your Junkyard. Its new, its great and probably a contender for racing game of the year, and its only January :) Expand
  13. ChristopherS.
    Jan 25, 2008
    10
    I am truly shocked at the player response to this game. What we have here is perhaps the finest graphical representation of a city ever seen in a video game. This is an historic moment. We have never seen or played anything quite like this before. How lucky we are as gamers to be alive in this day and age. To give anything less then a 9 is not only horrendously unfair but also a display I am truly shocked at the player response to this game. What we have here is perhaps the finest graphical representation of a city ever seen in a video game. This is an historic moment. We have never seen or played anything quite like this before. How lucky we are as gamers to be alive in this day and age. To give anything less then a 9 is not only horrendously unfair but also a display of total ignorance to where we were and how far we've come. This city is not only beautiful its huge and will take months of exploration to fully learn all that it has to offer. Gone is the easy progression of the past, replaced with challenge and hard work. Finally a game that I would be willing to spend $60 for. This my friends is the promise of electronic gaming...realized! Expand
  14. CliffB
    Jan 25, 2008
    7
    Not bad by any means but not as good as I was hoping after such a long wait. Some key Burnout tried and tested modes have disappeared and have been replaced with inferior new modes, presumable for the sake of having new stuff. If it ain't broke... Lets hope the open structure dies quickly and they get back to basics with Burnout 6
  15. MrX
    Jan 25, 2008
    10
    Stop whining about not being able to restart the race! Just start another one close by. The whole idea is to keep things different and fluid and learn the city. Just because you suck at the game and have to redo a race a thousand times doesnt mean the game is bad. The open city is awesome and really gives a sense of freedom. It also adds to the replay value because you can take a Stop whining about not being able to restart the race! Just start another one close by. The whole idea is to keep things different and fluid and learn the city. Just because you suck at the game and have to redo a race a thousand times doesnt mean the game is bad. The open city is awesome and really gives a sense of freedom. It also adds to the replay value because you can take a different route every time you do a race and find all the shortcuts. I thought Crash in the previous Burnouts was boring and overated, so I don't miss it here either. The graphics, responsiveness and sense of speed are amazing, and a definite improvement on previous versions. Brilliant. Expand
  16. MichaelJ.
    Jan 24, 2008
    9
    The open world is definitely a step in the right direction for the series, and its absolutely huge amount of events and collectibles provides the replay value that previous iterations have been lacking. The classic Burnout drift-heavy controls have been perfected, and the game feels tighter than ever. Criterion has the uncanny ability to squeeze all the power they can out of a console and The open world is definitely a step in the right direction for the series, and its absolutely huge amount of events and collectibles provides the replay value that previous iterations have been lacking. The classic Burnout drift-heavy controls have been perfected, and the game feels tighter than ever. Criterion has the uncanny ability to squeeze all the power they can out of a console and make their games look as good as possible. They haven't failed to do this for their first true next-gen game, as Burnout Paradise is the one of the few to rival Gears of War in terms of impressing visuals. But transitioning to an open-world style did not go as smooth as it could have, and the lack of a retry option for events might annoy some players. But it was not much of a problem for me; after failing an event and inevitably being far from its starting point, there was always a different one to try close by, and it forced me to not tare my hair out trying to complete something that was too hard for me. Players might also miss the traditional crash mode that has been replaced with a different, less deep version. It serves as a nice breather between normal events and gets boring quickly, but it is not "bad". Hey, there is nothing wrong to going back to a previous Burnout and getting your crash fix there. As a whole though, Paradise is an incredibly fleshed-out experience. There are so many different things to get and do, and getting and doing them is so much fun. Expand
  17. GregH.
    Jan 24, 2008
    5
    Since B3 there has been a steady decline in the series with an unecessary addition of new things for the sake of it, rather than perfection of what was already there. This one, whilst next-gen, really is clutching at straws and some very weird things have gone in or been omitted. Crash has vanished and has been 'superceeded' with the feeble Showtime. Open plan racing is one of Since B3 there has been a steady decline in the series with an unecessary addition of new things for the sake of it, rather than perfection of what was already there. This one, whilst next-gen, really is clutching at straws and some very weird things have gone in or been omitted. Crash has vanished and has been 'superceeded' with the feeble Showtime. Open plan racing is one of the things you don't do.. particulary with the speeds involved here.. and if you are going to do it make damned sure the navigation system is up to the job.. which it's not. Full of disappointments for me personally. I expected a lot more after waiting so long.. and you have to drive back to the start to restart a race!! eurgh. Expand
  18. js
    Jan 22, 2008
    0
    Yeah, might be worth something if it didnt constantly go to cutscene/wreck everytime i try to something cool. should be a mode to turn off wrecks. environment not so interactive to. should have been made for the pc so it could be modded like a real game (ut3). don't waste your money like me...
  19. DennisA.
    Jan 22, 2008
    1
    I give this a 1 because the graphics are unbelievable. The gameplay however is very annoying compared to Burnout games of the past. Why can't you restart races? I hate the fact that you have to waste time driving around to get to challenges. Why can't you select them from the map? I don't know what they were thinking when they made this game, but its not done well at all!
  20. PatC.
    Jan 22, 2008
    9
    Don't have time to type a good deatiled review, but overall a great game. Great graphics, physics, cars everything! This game will keep you entertained for quite some time. Be aware that, though it is fun, it does get repetitive fairly quickly. Play this game in sessions, not all at once.
  21. MarcusG.
    Jan 22, 2008
    4
    Looks polished but too many unforgiveable mistakes have been made here for me to score this any better. Crash has vanished and is replaced with something nowhere near as good. Open worlds don't work in racing games period. Restart a race by going all the way back to the start! ...don't think so. This has been an age in development and has frankly not been worth the wait. Looks polished but too many unforgiveable mistakes have been made here for me to score this any better. Crash has vanished and is replaced with something nowhere near as good. Open worlds don't work in racing games period. Restart a race by going all the way back to the start! ...don't think so. This has been an age in development and has frankly not been worth the wait. I'd be surprised if we see another Burnout after this as it seems that the ideas pot has run very dry. Expand
  22. DaveI.
    Jan 21, 2008
    6
    Okay GFX are wonderful, handling is not that bad either... However the removal of Crash Mode has fundamentally taken all the fun away from our drunken Friday night game sessions, that coupled with the need to drive back to the start of the race instead of using a restart option also sucks just as badly. Stop providing us 'Need For Speed' clones, and get back to the Burnout menus Okay GFX are wonderful, handling is not that bad either... However the removal of Crash Mode has fundamentally taken all the fun away from our drunken Friday night game sessions, that coupled with the need to drive back to the start of the race instead of using a restart option also sucks just as badly. Stop providing us 'Need For Speed' clones, and get back to the Burnout menus & instant restarts, then I might just buy into the franchise again. Expand
  23. PaulM.
    Jan 19, 2008
    5
    Where have the slick, pure racing tracks gone? Exploration is the last thing you want to do in a racing game, come on! Crash is no longer either. Ah man, gutted.
  24. JohnC.
    Jan 19, 2008
    7
    Not quite as good as it could have been. I think the best Burbouts may well be behind us. Takedown was great but since then the series seems to have lost it's way. Talking of losing you way, the nav in this is pretty bad. Starting a race means going all the way back to tyhe beginning too which seems a very odd decision. There is showtime in this version which is , is all honesty, a Not quite as good as it could have been. I think the best Burbouts may well be behind us. Takedown was great but since then the series seems to have lost it's way. Talking of losing you way, the nav in this is pretty bad. Starting a race means going all the way back to tyhe beginning too which seems a very odd decision. There is showtime in this version which is , is all honesty, a poor mans crash. Flawed in many little ways this is not quite what I'd hoped it would have been. Expand
  25. JGerard
    Jan 19, 2008
    2
    Race restarts are irritaion itself! The nav system is awful and there's no crash.... rubbish.
  26. CliffB.
    Jan 19, 2008
    6
    Hasn't quite lived up to the expectations I had for it. It's been an age in development and has ultimately disappointed alas. The open world thing just doesn't do it for me here at all. A real shame that you have to drive back to teh start to begin a race again too.
  27. MasJ.
    Jan 18, 2008
    9
    No other racing game (except maybe Motorstorm when boosting) gives the sense of just barely in control speed and the OMG wow crashes like Burnout. Super graphics, physics and the cars don't handle like pushing a shopping cart uphill on ice like some other racing titles do. The sandbox style means lots of replay value, its a buy not a rental.
  28. DaveP
    Jan 16, 2008
    5
    Could have been a lot better IMO. Obvious things seem to have been missed here and basic racing game no-no's have gone in to try and revive the franchise yet anotehr time. Open plan fits Burnout in no way whatsoever. The breakneck speed and navigation are at odds with each other.
  29. SiFeltham
    Jan 16, 2008
    3
    What's with the dull showtime rubbish? and you have to drive back to the start line to start a race again - are they mad? That's the trouble when you deviate from the tried and tested set race routes I guess. Seems that Burnout has run it's course now that desperate measures such as sprawling worlds have been resorted to. Bring back the pure adrenaline rush of BurnoutWhat's with the dull showtime rubbish? and you have to drive back to the start line to start a race again - are they mad? That's the trouble when you deviate from the tried and tested set race routes I guess. Seems that Burnout has run it's course now that desperate measures such as sprawling worlds have been resorted to. Bring back the pure adrenaline rush of Burnout Takedown I say. Disappointing after an enormous time in development. Expand
  30. geoffhant
    Jan 10, 2008
    6
    I expected more after the amount of time Paradise has been in development. It must have cost a fortune to make. Unfortunately this does nothing for me having been a fan of the previous Burnouts. I think the series may have had it's day with the developers resorting to the red-herring of open-worlds. Navigation, predictable is a nightmare.
  31. JohnRain
    Dec 18, 2007
    10
    A stunning game and a true show piece for the Playstation 3. I really wasn
  32. JeffKoltun
    Dec 17, 2007
    9
    Graphically awesome, easy in-game menus, great crash physics and a completely open city to play with! All of this promises a fantastic platform to terrorize the roads and duel with friends on-line in unlimited urban vehicle assault. For my money, and being a fan of the whole series, look no further for excitement and heart-pounding action. Too bad it won't be here before the holidays!
  33. timdaley
    Dec 17, 2007
    10
    This game, in a word, is simply SPECTACULAR. The graphics are supberb and the controls and gameplay are ultra tight. No one does speed like the burnout series and this version follows suit.

    The open environment is the logical progression for this franchise and the implementation of seemless online play is fantastic. Bottom line: This game is a must have title and will certainly
    This game, in a word, is simply SPECTACULAR. The graphics are supberb and the controls and gameplay are ultra tight. No one does speed like the burnout series and this version follows suit.

    The open environment is the logical progression for this franchise and the implementation of seemless online play is fantastic.

    Bottom line: This game is a must have title and will certainly give GT a run for its money. For me, burnout rules all hands down. It doesn't get any more fun than this. PERIOD!
    Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    90
    Scarily deep. It demands you play it: there's so much to find it's incredible. [Jan 2008, p.88]
  2. 100
    Give it a chance and you may find yourself having the most fun you've ever had in a virtual car. [Feb 2008, p.70]
  3. Official Playstation 2 Magazine UK
    90
    A truly superb racer; fast, vast and there's plenty to do under that super-slick surface. [Jan 2008, p.118]