Burnout Paradise PlayStation 3

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 467 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 52 out of 467
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 16, 2017
    8
    Open world 60 fps racing was quite impressive those days, perfectly and fast working online too (few clicks, few seconds and connected with others). But i preferred older formula with single race tracks. Anyway it was final, not fantasy, title i series.
  2. Feb 11, 2017
    8
    I am not very fond of racing games, but I remember enjoying this one quite much. Even though the graphics are realistic, gameplay is kind of arcade, which I like a lot. It is an addictive game, you always feel like driving for a bit longer.
  3. Dec 12, 2016
    10
    My second favorite racing game of all-time ( Burnout 3 is the first one). This look incredible. The crash are so details and the cars feel very fast. I love how the world look and there alot of diversities in the environment. You've got your classics burnout modes, and they are still alot of fun to play. We've got bikes now! And they control great! The soundtrack is awesome too! TheMy second favorite racing game of all-time ( Burnout 3 is the first one). This look incredible. The crash are so details and the cars feel very fast. I love how the world look and there alot of diversities in the environment. You've got your classics burnout modes, and they are still alot of fun to play. We've got bikes now! And they control great! The soundtrack is awesome too! The multiplayer is fun and got his own challenges too! There is alot of stuffs to do, and none are boring, because they don't ask you to stop, you just need to smash stuffs and do big jumps! A must have for anyone! (PS: get the Big Surf Island pack with it, It's totally worth every penny!) Expand
  4. Nov 11, 2016
    9
    great game, but strangely my favorite part is the bike dlc, it is almost perfect ! Great sense of speed, best mix between arcade and simulation. No one will get close to,this ever !
  5. Jul 28, 2016
    8
    Probably the best open world racing game that i've played. The best comparison I can give this game is an mix of Need for Speed Most Wanted (2012). and motorstorm, with a dash of burnout. I will say I've only played the first burnout, so take my dash of burnout with a grain of salt. The highlight of this game was the amazing open world, it's literally a playground with massive jumps, funProbably the best open world racing game that i've played. The best comparison I can give this game is an mix of Need for Speed Most Wanted (2012). and motorstorm, with a dash of burnout. I will say I've only played the first burnout, so take my dash of burnout with a grain of salt. The highlight of this game was the amazing open world, it's literally a playground with massive jumps, fun obstacles, hidden pathways, tunnels, etc. It was a blast roaming the open world looking for the yellow gates, the suprise within the yellow gates were amazing and well worth checking out. How good was the open world? Good enough for a setting to host a GTA game, it was very authentic open world. Now the sense of speed and "pick up and play" driving was excellent for an arcade racer, definitely a plus in the gameplay department. The cars itself were good to look at, but majority handled and sounded the same, so it was an ok overall car designs. Now there were two big negatives this game has that affected my enjoyment of it. No waypoint for races make sense on paper for an open world, but when you race and have to stop over and over again to see where you're going it stops the immersion and sense of speed. The A.I was questionable and borderline laughable; especially during regular races, I'll hold down my acccelarate button half way and still beat an super car down a straight road. I also didn't like the grindiness of the main levels that you have to partake in order to officially beat the game. All races end in the same destination, and I'll find myself taking the same road over and over again to get there.. now rinse and repeat that about 40-50 times during the game. I will say that marked man challenge does become a decent challenge an is actually pretty fun, and so is road rage game mode. Overall a very good game, but I will remember it always as an fun and amazing open world driving game, with very grindy main missions. Buy for open world racing chaos. (I didn't play much mp, but it's there). Expand
  6. Sep 26, 2015
    9
    Brilliant game. Provided at least 75+ hours of entertainment and because challenges/events repeat getting harder as you progress there's always something to do. Crashing is fantastic, the slow motion as your car is mashed into tiny pieces is great. Road Rage events are really fun, the point being simply to smash your opponents off the road in different styles and watch them crash, onlineBrilliant game. Provided at least 75+ hours of entertainment and because challenges/events repeat getting harder as you progress there's always something to do. Crashing is fantastic, the slow motion as your car is mashed into tiny pieces is great. Road Rage events are really fun, the point being simply to smash your opponents off the road in different styles and watch them crash, online is still going strong 7 YEARS after release and is really well executed with a lot of options for what to do. Unfortunately it's not as good as Burnout games that have come before (I.e. Revenge and 3: Takedown) as it's missing the signature crash mode, although it has 'showtime' which can be activated at anytime and involves bouncing your car around causing damage, it's not quite the same. It's also missing the classic ability to blow up your car in events to cause collateral damage (Crashbreaker). Overall a really good game, just not quite as good as the legendary Burnout 3. Expand
  7. Aug 12, 2015
    10
    I love this game SO much. I disliked the new update a bit, but that just changed interface and added new modes. My personal favorite mode is Road Rage. GTA without the violence and sexuality.
  8. Jun 19, 2015
    8
    I played the game in summer 2015 and found a lot of online activity, a brilliantly varied sandbox of races, stunt hops, collectibles and a city with many landmarks to explore. The core mechanics are most important for the moment-to-moment fun of the game, and I think they're spot on. Extremely fast cars that handle very differently but always in a predictable and realistic way. The PS3I played the game in summer 2015 and found a lot of online activity, a brilliantly varied sandbox of races, stunt hops, collectibles and a city with many landmarks to explore. The core mechanics are most important for the moment-to-moment fun of the game, and I think they're spot on. Extremely fast cars that handle very differently but always in a predictable and realistic way. The PS3 'Ultimate Box' includes special cars, smaller 'toy cars', bikes, a hover car and much more. It's a ridiculous amount of content for a bargain price, and I didn't even begin to talk about the online features. Online has lots of activity, often with microphone conversations, and many 'Group challenges' that you have to co-operate on (for example, meet up at some jump and collectively work towards 50 successful jumps). Overall, I haven't had this much fun with a sports game since SSX 3 back in the days. Expand
  9. May 15, 2015
    9
    This game does everything right an arcade racer has to do. Insanely fun gameplay, a lot of races to do, a lot of different collectibles to get and a good amount of cars to collect. The map is quite big and has some cool stunt spots. This game is arcade racing on its best.
  10. Dec 23, 2014
    7
    Great racing game but the amount of micro transactions annoyed me to a point that i refused to keep playing. It is the same problem with every EA game! This sucks and leads to that that i think twice before buying a EA game.
  11. Sep 23, 2014
    8
    While the decision to go open world may be jarring for hardcore Burnout fans, I still believe this to be one of the finest racers of the generation. Lots to do and find, and the 8-player online can be fantastic competition; whether it's races, a co-operate meet-up or simply trying to outscore friends' crash scores on a single street.
  12. Jul 6, 2014
    7
    Good idea for this franchise. To have open world racing and good graphics. First thing the loading of this game is like 4 hours! 4 HOURS! or even more...But still game is fun and good looking but when you play this like 5 hours. Then you just get bored. 7/10 Still 2008s best racing game.
  13. Jun 25, 2014
    10
    This is an excellent open world racing game. Graphics still hold up against today's games. This is an arcade type racing game, not a simulator, so if your looking for realistic racing then this is not the game for you. This game is not like past burnout games, there isn't a crash mode. However it is an excellent racing game with lots of races, 75 cars, boards to smash through, jumpThis is an excellent open world racing game. Graphics still hold up against today's games. This is an arcade type racing game, not a simulator, so if your looking for realistic racing then this is not the game for you. This game is not like past burnout games, there isn't a crash mode. However it is an excellent racing game with lots of races, 75 cars, boards to smash through, jump locations to jump, awesome crashes.

    Want realistic racing, or expect something like the older Burnout games then don't buy.
    If you want one of the best arcade racing games out there then this is a must buy.
    Expand
  14. May 20, 2014
    10
    here is a question can there be a better racing game then burnout paradise the answer so far no this is the best racing game ever made unless you like sims i still cant believe this game is six years old and still how well it hold up today its sad we wont see a follow up to this with criterion having like 10 people left thanks ea =(
  15. Mar 23, 2014
    5
    I only spent 5 hours in this game but now I can’t even force myself to play it (I’d have to reinstall it first). It feels like I should get paid to play this. When you have to constantly worry about crashing into stuff you can’t pause the gameplay every 2 seconds to look at the map. That’s the game’s biggest issue. Maybe a minimap that actually told you where to turn would have helped. TheI only spent 5 hours in this game but now I can’t even force myself to play it (I’d have to reinstall it first). It feels like I should get paid to play this. When you have to constantly worry about crashing into stuff you can’t pause the gameplay every 2 seconds to look at the map. That’s the game’s biggest issue. Maybe a minimap that actually told you where to turn would have helped. The takedown mode and the races are okay but the others feel like stress-inducing chores. The cars aren’t real and the music sucks (I swear if I hear Paradise City once more my head will explode). No split screen either. A disappointing game if I ever saw one. That’s 18 dollars I’ll never get back. Expand
  16. Jan 13, 2014
    8
    An 8.5/10. A really fun racer. Honestly however, I think the best Burnout is Burnout 3: Takedown. That's not to say Paradise is bad; far from it. The open-world feature is a nice addition. My main gripe is that there are main landmarks that serve as finish lines for each race. So, you will realize that you are racing to the same destinations, only that there are different paths. You'llAn 8.5/10. A really fun racer. Honestly however, I think the best Burnout is Burnout 3: Takedown. That's not to say Paradise is bad; far from it. The open-world feature is a nice addition. My main gripe is that there are main landmarks that serve as finish lines for each race. So, you will realize that you are racing to the same destinations, only that there are different paths. You'll probably tire of seeing same places over and over. Races aren't the only modes, however. You have others like Stunt Run, Marked Man and Road Rage (which is the best since you can commit carnage anywhere). Cars are fun to wreck and destroy. If you're lucky, you might find a few people still playing online. Dirt cheap now, and I recommend it. Expand
  17. Dec 17, 2013
    3
    I'm gonna whine again: not being able to restart the race is a game breaker.
    I don't like open world racing games either. I want to race other drivers, not drive around in an open world with no purpose.
    The gameplay is fun but I always find Burnout to be too difficult, the difficulty in these games always spikes after a while and I've never finished a Burnout game yet because off it.
  18. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    The best racing game ever! The graphics are great, the events are great, the freeburn is great, multiplayer is great, and the cars are great! I can play this game for hours without getting bored,and can easily lose track of time! Buy it now!
  19. Nov 19, 2013
    9
    Un juegazo, a mi no me gustan los juegos de coches y carreras, pero este si me encanto, es un juegazo, lo recomiendo 100% tanto para fans de coches como para los del sandbox tipo GTA, es un juego con un mapeado extensisimo que te encantara disfrutar, solo o acompañado, es divertidisimo y muy adictivo, a la minima que podais pillaroslo, de verdad que os lo recomiendo, amigos este si que esUn juegazo, a mi no me gustan los juegos de coches y carreras, pero este si me encanto, es un juegazo, lo recomiendo 100% tanto para fans de coches como para los del sandbox tipo GTA, es un juego con un mapeado extensisimo que te encantara disfrutar, solo o acompañado, es divertidisimo y muy adictivo, a la minima que podais pillaroslo, de verdad que os lo recomiendo, amigos este si que es un Burnout!! Expand
  20. Aug 22, 2013
    8
    Burnout Paradise is a fun but flawed sandbox racer. The game focuses on the gameplay and does not have any story to speak of, because of this the graphics and gameplay are fantastic. The graphics look very sharp and realistic. When you are speeding past the scenery at a high speed, it looks beautiful. However, the gameplay is the real star of the show. Burnout Paradise allows you toBurnout Paradise is a fun but flawed sandbox racer. The game focuses on the gameplay and does not have any story to speak of, because of this the graphics and gameplay are fantastic. The graphics look very sharp and realistic. When you are speeding past the scenery at a high speed, it looks beautiful. However, the gameplay is the real star of the show. Burnout Paradise allows you to explore it's sandbox world looking for events. These events include races, road rages, stunt runs, and marked man. Each of these are fun if you spread them out amongst each other. However, if you do keep doing the same type of event over and over again, the game becomes very repetitive quickly. Even if you spread them out, the game will eventually become repetitive. For example, you will realize that in the races, you are doing the same routes again and again with a few different turns. The repetitiveness of the game comes from the fact that while the world is beautiful, it is tiny. It doesn't take long to see everything the game has to offer. The only other problem with the game is it's difficulty curve. The game is easy for the most part, but there are random difficulty spikes throughout the game. However, it is easy to adjust to the spikes due to the car selection. If the current car that you have does not work well for the event you are currently trying to complete, then change to a newer car. This does mean that the car selection is unbalanced but this actually works in the games favor. Overall, Burnout Paradise is fun game that anyone can enjoy, it just has a few flaws. Expand
  21. May 22, 2013
    9
    *The* best racing game you can get a hold of in PC, granted that neither Forza or Gran Turismo ever hitting Steam, amazingly well done roads,shortcuts, enjoyable cars the feel that high speed gives, crashing mechanics... the only downside for me was not so-challenging AI but that can be easily fixed with Multiplayer, although i myself could never experience it yet.
  22. Apr 9, 2013
    9
    This is classic Burnout with way better graphics. It's just fun. I could play this all day with my friends, my relatives or whoever. If you don't have it, it's fun as hell.
  23. Feb 27, 2013
    7
    I was a big fan of Revenge and Takedown, but I feel as though EA has pulled a "Capcom" and tried to do an unnecessary revamp of their old series. The lack of loading screens is awesome, which means the gameplay doesn't stop for a second, but I feel as though the game has lost its multiplayer edge due to the lack of split screen and the removal of crash parties, which in my opinion, was theI was a big fan of Revenge and Takedown, but I feel as though EA has pulled a "Capcom" and tried to do an unnecessary revamp of their old series. The lack of loading screens is awesome, which means the gameplay doesn't stop for a second, but I feel as though the game has lost its multiplayer edge due to the lack of split screen and the removal of crash parties, which in my opinion, was the most fun part of Revenge. The open world is a rather ingenious addition to a racing game, and although I admit it works and it is a joy to play at times, it feels as though several events from the previous games have been dulled down to fit into the open world. Again, good game, definitely recommendable, but I would like it much better with crash parties and split screen. Expand
  24. Jan 13, 2013
    5
    Make this in a open world was a great mistake. Burnout 3: Takedown, Need for Speed Hot Pursuit and Burnout Revenge are the best racing games Critrerion made. Like Criterion's Most Wanted, it is a empty feeling game. But Most Wanted does't have **** navigation and a static map.
  25. Nov 26, 2012
    5
    It's not a bad game, but also not a good one in my opinion. It took me over 3 days to start feeling comfortable with it. That maybe down to the open world and lack of directional arrows when racing....it seems over-whelming, but once you get past that, it's ok as a time filler. I didn't like how when you leveled up it reset all the races you'd done. It seemed like a cheap way to getIt's not a bad game, but also not a good one in my opinion. It took me over 3 days to start feeling comfortable with it. That maybe down to the open world and lack of directional arrows when racing....it seems over-whelming, but once you get past that, it's ok as a time filler. I didn't like how when you leveled up it reset all the races you'd done. It seemed like a cheap way to get longevity out of the game. You could do better than this but it certainly isn't the worst game. I can see why it would be enjoyable, but it's not really for me. Expand
  26. Nov 10, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If you're looking for an arcade racer with lots of challenges this will be your game. Some challenges require some training and you will make some mistakes if you are not used to the map yet. I don't . like the location for the map, being in the right bottom corner but you will get used to it. If like me, you like some realism in racing games, stay as far away from this game as you can. This was the first burnout game I played and I'm not impressed. The speed, the jumps, the crashes everything is there, but there is no sense of danger when you're performing a jump, no sense of thrill when you're trying to make a high speed turn, just no spice. Expand
  27. Oct 25, 2012
    8
    To put yourself on a wheel of a car and drive into an open world city and surroundings and every once in a while stop in a traffic light and start a challenge is that much fun. B.P. is one of the best car games around.
  28. Sep 10, 2012
    3
    This game is awful compare to Burnout 3: Takedown or Revenge. This game plays more like a modern racing game instead of a burnout game and don't have the feel of a burnout game. What made me most annoyed was the races has been slowed down as a normal racing game. I remember burnout to be the super fast racing game, that actually was and felt fast in comparison to something like Need ForThis game is awful compare to Burnout 3: Takedown or Revenge. This game plays more like a modern racing game instead of a burnout game and don't have the feel of a burnout game. What made me most annoyed was the races has been slowed down as a normal racing game. I remember burnout to be the super fast racing game, that actually was and felt fast in comparison to something like Need For Speed. Another thing that's annoying is the open world, it's like comparing Need For Speed Underground with Underground 2. Open-world racing games gets extremely BORING after a while (it's fun in the beginning). Then on top of all, you can't not restart a race in burnout paradise WTF.

    This is the WORST in the series, hands down. a SHAME.
    Expand
  29. Aug 1, 2012
    10
    Still (2012) think the best racing game ever released in this generation.
    Everything in this game is perfect, events, races, the city of the game is more fun to explore in a racing game, a must see!
  30. Apr 1, 2012
    9
    Burnout Paradise is a game I understand people disliking. It's not much of a game to hate for it doesn't have anything more than a share of minor problems: such as having to check the map on a constant basis to understand where you're going (which doesn't grow on you as being as horrible as it sounds), or that sometimes you have to drive quite a while to one of the very few "junkyards"Burnout Paradise is a game I understand people disliking. It's not much of a game to hate for it doesn't have anything more than a share of minor problems: such as having to check the map on a constant basis to understand where you're going (which doesn't grow on you as being as horrible as it sounds), or that sometimes you have to drive quite a while to one of the very few "junkyards" spread across the map in inconvenient places, or DJ atomica and his annoying radio graces. The making or breaking point of this game only comes down to how much you like it's monotonous gameplay of driving back and forth between a few game types. Beside the Road Rage challenges, nothing is too interesting: you can Race, you can go for a Stunt record, you can blah, you can blah, nothing too interesting. You unlock vehicles by doing these challenges and getting new licenses (which come from doing these challenges and have no real point). You will be driving from challenge to challenge in a damn well designed map that is anything but small. The majority of my fun found was in the mountainous area with less obstacles and plenty of room to test vehicle's handling and speed, though the whole city is bright and looks great. The graphics are great, and the sound is absolutely outstanding. Every vehicle's engine sounds unique and well realistic, and you'll find yourself drooling at the sound of the gear changes. All of the vehicles are well varied. You will be driving everything from A Team types vans, to F1 cars, and it takes quite the bit of time to unlock each vehicle from doing these challenges. So if you are one that enjoys the core gameplay and challenges, you will have a lot of grinding to do unlocking what you want. Though don't worry about the difficulty. The game constantly steps up the difficulty from challenge to challenge, and it does get quite difficult. The games presentation does well to constantly keep you in the action. The game takes place entirely within the world just like GTA. The games menus take place through a couple of different pause screens that make things quick and simple. Now that you have an idea of what you're doing, you probably want to know just how it feels. This is no driving sim like Gran Turismo. This is pure arcade fun. The slowest vehicle in this game goes at least 300 mph. All the vehilces handle insanely and are a lot of fun to drive. That's really what this game is all about: core gameplay, and that's really all that separates you liking or disliking it. The game runs smoothly and is slowed by very very few bugs, and the frame rate is absolutely outstanding. You can be driving 600 miles per hour and there is still absolutely no pop up. All of this you can also take online with not extra game modes, but a smooth experience absolutely no different than the single player. It's a lot of fun getting online with people and doing different challenges, and definitely steps up the game's replay value. Whether you like or dislike this game will be found in the first 10 minutes of gameplay. I rated this game a 9 out of 10 on the premise that I absolutely love these arcade racers, and there is no short of content on this game, though nothing is too interesting, it's a racer (you can't exactly take things to a whole new level). I would recommend this game to anyone into fast and unrealistic racing. You can't get any better than Burnout Paradise on the 7th generation of consoles when it comes to Arcade racing. Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    90
    Scarily deep. It demands you play it: there's so much to find it's incredible. [Jan 2008, p.88]
  2. 100
    Give it a chance and you may find yourself having the most fun you've ever had in a virtual car. [Feb 2008, p.70]
  3. Official Playstation 2 Magazine UK
    90
    A truly superb racer; fast, vast and there's plenty to do under that super-slick surface. [Jan 2008, p.118]