Burnout Paradise PlayStation 3

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 465 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 52 out of 465
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 19, 2015
    8
    I played the game in summer 2015 and found a lot of online activity, a brilliantly varied sandbox of races, stunt hops, collectibles and a city with many landmarks to explore. The core mechanics are most important for the moment-to-moment fun of the game, and I think they're spot on. Extremely fast cars that handle very differently but always in a predictable and realistic way. The PS3I played the game in summer 2015 and found a lot of online activity, a brilliantly varied sandbox of races, stunt hops, collectibles and a city with many landmarks to explore. The core mechanics are most important for the moment-to-moment fun of the game, and I think they're spot on. Extremely fast cars that handle very differently but always in a predictable and realistic way. The PS3 'Ultimate Box' includes special cars, smaller 'toy cars', bikes, a hover car and much more. It's a ridiculous amount of content for a bargain price, and I didn't even begin to talk about the online features. Online has lots of activity, often with microphone conversations, and many 'Group challenges' that you have to co-operate on (for example, meet up at some jump and collectively work towards 50 successful jumps). Overall, I haven't had this much fun with a sports game since SSX 3 back in the days. Expand
  2. Apr 9, 2013
    9
    This is classic Burnout with way better graphics. It's just fun. I could play this all day with my friends, my relatives or whoever. If you don't have it, it's fun as hell.
  3. Jul 28, 2016
    8
    Probably the best open world racing game that i've played. The best comparison I can give this game is an mix of Need for Speed Most Wanted (2012). and motorstorm, with a dash of burnout. I will say I've only played the first burnout, so take my dash of burnout with a grain of salt. The highlight of this game was the amazing open world, it's literally a playground with massive jumps, funProbably the best open world racing game that i've played. The best comparison I can give this game is an mix of Need for Speed Most Wanted (2012). and motorstorm, with a dash of burnout. I will say I've only played the first burnout, so take my dash of burnout with a grain of salt. The highlight of this game was the amazing open world, it's literally a playground with massive jumps, fun obstacles, hidden pathways, tunnels, etc. It was a blast roaming the open world looking for the yellow gates, the suprise within the yellow gates were amazing and well worth checking out. How good was the open world? Good enough for a setting to host a GTA game, it was very authentic open world. Now the sense of speed and "pick up and play" driving was excellent for an arcade racer, definitely a plus in the gameplay department. The cars itself were good to look at, but majority handled and sounded the same, so it was an ok overall car designs. Now there were two big negatives this game has that affected my enjoyment of it. No waypoint for races make sense on paper for an open world, but when you race and have to stop over and over again to see where you're going it stops the immersion and sense of speed. The A.I was questionable and borderline laughable; especially during regular races, I'll hold down my acccelarate button half way and still beat an super car down a straight road. I also didn't like the grindiness of the main levels that you have to partake in order to officially beat the game. All races end in the same destination, and I'll find myself taking the same road over and over again to get there.. now rinse and repeat that about 40-50 times during the game. I will say that marked man challenge does become a decent challenge an is actually pretty fun, and so is road rage game mode. Overall a very good game, but I will remember it always as an fun and amazing open world driving game, with very grindy main missions. Buy for open world racing chaos. (I didn't play much mp, but it's there). Expand
  4. Jan 13, 2014
    8
    An 8.5/10. A really fun racer. Honestly however, I think the best Burnout is Burnout 3: Takedown. That's not to say Paradise is bad; far from it. The open-world feature is a nice addition. My main gripe is that there are main landmarks that serve as finish lines for each race. So, you will realize that you are racing to the same destinations, only that there are different paths. You'llAn 8.5/10. A really fun racer. Honestly however, I think the best Burnout is Burnout 3: Takedown. That's not to say Paradise is bad; far from it. The open-world feature is a nice addition. My main gripe is that there are main landmarks that serve as finish lines for each race. So, you will realize that you are racing to the same destinations, only that there are different paths. You'll probably tire of seeing same places over and over. Races aren't the only modes, however. You have others like Stunt Run, Marked Man and Road Rage (which is the best since you can commit carnage anywhere). Cars are fun to wreck and destroy. If you're lucky, you might find a few people still playing online. Dirt cheap now, and I recommend it. Expand
  5. Nov 19, 2013
    9
    Un juegazo, a mi no me gustan los juegos de coches y carreras, pero este si me encanto, es un juegazo, lo recomiendo 100% tanto para fans de coches como para los del sandbox tipo GTA, es un juego con un mapeado extensisimo que te encantara disfrutar, solo o acompañado, es divertidisimo y muy adictivo, a la minima que podais pillaroslo, de verdad que os lo recomiendo, amigos este si que esUn juegazo, a mi no me gustan los juegos de coches y carreras, pero este si me encanto, es un juegazo, lo recomiendo 100% tanto para fans de coches como para los del sandbox tipo GTA, es un juego con un mapeado extensisimo que te encantara disfrutar, solo o acompañado, es divertidisimo y muy adictivo, a la minima que podais pillaroslo, de verdad que os lo recomiendo, amigos este si que es un Burnout!! Expand
  6. Feb 11, 2017
    8
    I am not very fond of racing games, but I remember enjoying this one quite much. Even though the graphics are realistic, gameplay is kind of arcade, which I like a lot. It is an addictive game, you always feel like driving for a bit longer.
  7. Oct 25, 2012
    8
    To put yourself on a wheel of a car and drive into an open world city and surroundings and every once in a while stop in a traffic light and start a challenge is that much fun. B.P. is one of the best car games around.
  8. Sep 23, 2014
    8
    While the decision to go open world may be jarring for hardcore Burnout fans, I still believe this to be one of the finest racers of the generation. Lots to do and find, and the 8-player online can be fantastic competition; whether it's races, a co-operate meet-up or simply trying to outscore friends' crash scores on a single street.
  9. Jun 25, 2014
    10
    This is an excellent open world racing game. Graphics still hold up against today's games. This is an arcade type racing game, not a simulator, so if your looking for realistic racing then this is not the game for you. This game is not like past burnout games, there isn't a crash mode. However it is an excellent racing game with lots of races, 75 cars, boards to smash through, jumpThis is an excellent open world racing game. Graphics still hold up against today's games. This is an arcade type racing game, not a simulator, so if your looking for realistic racing then this is not the game for you. This game is not like past burnout games, there isn't a crash mode. However it is an excellent racing game with lots of races, 75 cars, boards to smash through, jump locations to jump, awesome crashes.

    Want realistic racing, or expect something like the older Burnout games then don't buy.
    If you want one of the best arcade racing games out there then this is a must buy.
    Expand
  10. Mar 16, 2017
    8
    Open world 60 fps racing was quite impressive those days, perfectly and fast working online too (few clicks, few seconds and connected with others). But i preferred older formula with single race tracks. Anyway it was final, not fantasy, title i series.
  11. May 20, 2014
    10
    here is a question can there be a better racing game then burnout paradise the answer so far no this is the best racing game ever made unless you like sims i still cant believe this game is six years old and still how well it hold up today its sad we wont see a follow up to this with criterion having like 10 people left thanks ea =(
  12. Dec 13, 2011
    8
    I bought this game in late 2010, over two years after its publish. Still, I was kinda blown away. You would first think that an open world driving game isn't the greatest idea because you have Grand Theft Auto already where you can besides driving do other things too. But Burnout Paradise does so well. Driving in this city is very joyful, aso the misty mountais you just want to drive thereI bought this game in late 2010, over two years after its publish. Still, I was kinda blown away. You would first think that an open world driving game isn't the greatest idea because you have Grand Theft Auto already where you can besides driving do other things too. But Burnout Paradise does so well. Driving in this city is very joyful, aso the misty mountais you just want to drive there with different cars, beat the challenges, find the hidden things etc. Also online up to 8 players is great fun. Free burnouting, challenges, races, road rages etc. That keeping in mind there are several minor errors, dozens even that you will notice and think: "that could be bettered in the game..". But really it doesn't matter, it keeps being fun. Almost countless hours of playing because of lot of content and great online gaming! Expand
  13. Dec 19, 2010
    8
    great racing game i liked the change in singleplayer and the fact that there's almost no loading times but I hate the multiplayer, you can't race with your friends on the same ps3 and the online is not very intuitive
  14. May 19, 2011
    8
    No storyline to speak of, but this open world racing game is very fun. The sense of speed is breathtaking, and the events (unless they go on for an ungodly amount of time) never really get old. The variety of cars is great, and each car actually feels different from the others. Highly recommend this.
  15. Apr 1, 2012
    9
    Burnout Paradise is a game I understand people disliking. It's not much of a game to hate for it doesn't have anything more than a share of minor problems: such as having to check the map on a constant basis to understand where you're going (which doesn't grow on you as being as horrible as it sounds), or that sometimes you have to drive quite a while to one of the very few "junkyards"Burnout Paradise is a game I understand people disliking. It's not much of a game to hate for it doesn't have anything more than a share of minor problems: such as having to check the map on a constant basis to understand where you're going (which doesn't grow on you as being as horrible as it sounds), or that sometimes you have to drive quite a while to one of the very few "junkyards" spread across the map in inconvenient places, or DJ atomica and his annoying radio graces. The making or breaking point of this game only comes down to how much you like it's monotonous gameplay of driving back and forth between a few game types. Beside the Road Rage challenges, nothing is too interesting: you can Race, you can go for a Stunt record, you can blah, you can blah, nothing too interesting. You unlock vehicles by doing these challenges and getting new licenses (which come from doing these challenges and have no real point). You will be driving from challenge to challenge in a damn well designed map that is anything but small. The majority of my fun found was in the mountainous area with less obstacles and plenty of room to test vehicle's handling and speed, though the whole city is bright and looks great. The graphics are great, and the sound is absolutely outstanding. Every vehicle's engine sounds unique and well realistic, and you'll find yourself drooling at the sound of the gear changes. All of the vehicles are well varied. You will be driving everything from A Team types vans, to F1 cars, and it takes quite the bit of time to unlock each vehicle from doing these challenges. So if you are one that enjoys the core gameplay and challenges, you will have a lot of grinding to do unlocking what you want. Though don't worry about the difficulty. The game constantly steps up the difficulty from challenge to challenge, and it does get quite difficult. The games presentation does well to constantly keep you in the action. The game takes place entirely within the world just like GTA. The games menus take place through a couple of different pause screens that make things quick and simple. Now that you have an idea of what you're doing, you probably want to know just how it feels. This is no driving sim like Gran Turismo. This is pure arcade fun. The slowest vehicle in this game goes at least 300 mph. All the vehilces handle insanely and are a lot of fun to drive. That's really what this game is all about: core gameplay, and that's really all that separates you liking or disliking it. The game runs smoothly and is slowed by very very few bugs, and the frame rate is absolutely outstanding. You can be driving 600 miles per hour and there is still absolutely no pop up. All of this you can also take online with not extra game modes, but a smooth experience absolutely no different than the single player. It's a lot of fun getting online with people and doing different challenges, and definitely steps up the game's replay value. Whether you like or dislike this game will be found in the first 10 minutes of gameplay. I rated this game a 9 out of 10 on the premise that I absolutely love these arcade racers, and there is no short of content on this game, though nothing is too interesting, it's a racer (you can't exactly take things to a whole new level). I would recommend this game to anyone into fast and unrealistic racing. You can't get any better than Burnout Paradise on the 7th generation of consoles when it comes to Arcade racing. Expand
  16. Dec 12, 2016
    10
    My second favorite racing game of all-time ( Burnout 3 is the first one). This look incredible. The crash are so details and the cars feel very fast. I love how the world look and there alot of diversities in the environment. You've got your classics burnout modes, and they are still alot of fun to play. We've got bikes now! And they control great! The soundtrack is awesome too! TheMy second favorite racing game of all-time ( Burnout 3 is the first one). This look incredible. The crash are so details and the cars feel very fast. I love how the world look and there alot of diversities in the environment. You've got your classics burnout modes, and they are still alot of fun to play. We've got bikes now! And they control great! The soundtrack is awesome too! The multiplayer is fun and got his own challenges too! There is alot of stuffs to do, and none are boring, because they don't ask you to stop, you just need to smash stuffs and do big jumps! A must have for anyone! (PS: get the Big Surf Island pack with it, It's totally worth every penny!) Expand
  17. Sep 26, 2015
    9
    Brilliant game. Provided at least 75+ hours of entertainment and because challenges/events repeat getting harder as you progress there's always something to do. Crashing is fantastic, the slow motion as your car is mashed into tiny pieces is great. Road Rage events are really fun, the point being simply to smash your opponents off the road in different styles and watch them crash, onlineBrilliant game. Provided at least 75+ hours of entertainment and because challenges/events repeat getting harder as you progress there's always something to do. Crashing is fantastic, the slow motion as your car is mashed into tiny pieces is great. Road Rage events are really fun, the point being simply to smash your opponents off the road in different styles and watch them crash, online is still going strong 7 YEARS after release and is really well executed with a lot of options for what to do. Unfortunately it's not as good as Burnout games that have come before (I.e. Revenge and 3: Takedown) as it's missing the signature crash mode, although it has 'showtime' which can be activated at anytime and involves bouncing your car around causing damage, it's not quite the same. It's also missing the classic ability to blow up your car in events to cause collateral damage (Crashbreaker). Overall a really good game, just not quite as good as the legendary Burnout 3. Expand
  18. May 15, 2015
    9
    This game does everything right an arcade racer has to do. Insanely fun gameplay, a lot of races to do, a lot of different collectibles to get and a good amount of cars to collect. The map is quite big and has some cool stunt spots. This game is arcade racing on its best.
  19. Aug 1, 2012
    10
    Still (2012) think the best racing game ever released in this generation.
    Everything in this game is perfect, events, races, the city of the game is more fun to explore in a racing game, a must see!
  20. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    The best racing game ever! The graphics are great, the events are great, the freeburn is great, multiplayer is great, and the cars are great! I can play this game for hours without getting bored,and can easily lose track of time! Buy it now!
  21. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    Very good game, lots of exciting races and events. It has a 9 instead of 10 for repetitiveness. Online is really fun where you can race with other people, very intense.
  22. Oct 12, 2010
    9
    Pros: Great driving and stunt mechanics, game-modes, and online system/challenges/community. A large variety and amount of trophies and cars. A large, sprawling city featuring elements from London, New York, Tokyo, rural areas, and waterfronts to explore. Excellent DLC. Great graphics and sound effects. The soundtrack is good, although it could use a bit more variety. Excellent supportPros: Great driving and stunt mechanics, game-modes, and online system/challenges/community. A large variety and amount of trophies and cars. A large, sprawling city featuring elements from London, New York, Tokyo, rural areas, and waterfronts to explore. Excellent DLC. Great graphics and sound effects. The soundtrack is good, although it could use a bit more variety. Excellent support from the developer; many sales on DLC, a website online for tracking stats and completing the Paradise City map, custom music support, eye-toy integration, lots of added trophies, challenges, and excellent patches with new features such as motorcycles and day-and-night cycles. Cons: Races in offline can become repetitive and are often confusing due to the manner in which the game points you to the right direction. However, this ceases to be a problem when you gain more experience with the maps. Expand
  23. May 22, 2013
    9
    *The* best racing game you can get a hold of in PC, granted that neither Forza or Gran Turismo ever hitting Steam, amazingly well done roads,shortcuts, enjoyable cars the feel that high speed gives, crashing mechanics... the only downside for me was not so-challenging AI but that can be easily fixed with Multiplayer, although i myself could never experience it yet.
  24. Aug 22, 2013
    8
    Burnout Paradise is a fun but flawed sandbox racer. The game focuses on the gameplay and does not have any story to speak of, because of this the graphics and gameplay are fantastic. The graphics look very sharp and realistic. When you are speeding past the scenery at a high speed, it looks beautiful. However, the gameplay is the real star of the show. Burnout Paradise allows you toBurnout Paradise is a fun but flawed sandbox racer. The game focuses on the gameplay and does not have any story to speak of, because of this the graphics and gameplay are fantastic. The graphics look very sharp and realistic. When you are speeding past the scenery at a high speed, it looks beautiful. However, the gameplay is the real star of the show. Burnout Paradise allows you to explore it's sandbox world looking for events. These events include races, road rages, stunt runs, and marked man. Each of these are fun if you spread them out amongst each other. However, if you do keep doing the same type of event over and over again, the game becomes very repetitive quickly. Even if you spread them out, the game will eventually become repetitive. For example, you will realize that in the races, you are doing the same routes again and again with a few different turns. The repetitiveness of the game comes from the fact that while the world is beautiful, it is tiny. It doesn't take long to see everything the game has to offer. The only other problem with the game is it's difficulty curve. The game is easy for the most part, but there are random difficulty spikes throughout the game. However, it is easy to adjust to the spikes due to the car selection. If the current car that you have does not work well for the event you are currently trying to complete, then change to a newer car. This does mean that the car selection is unbalanced but this actually works in the games favor. Overall, Burnout Paradise is fun game that anyone can enjoy, it just has a few flaws. Expand
  25. Oct 17, 2010
    10
    Great game. Great cars. Great crashes. Burnout paradise is a very good game as it has a very good sense of speed in it and anyone can enjoy it even if they're not into cars. I think that everything in the game feels very rewarding and everything is fun to do.
  26. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    J'ai jamais vu un jeu de voitures aussi travaillé sur les crashs.
    Le monde ouvert regorge de défis en tout genre, les voitures sont nombreuses avec plusieurs types.
    Encore aujourd'hui Criterion fait fort.
    Continuez les gars !!!
  27. Mar 24, 2011
    10
    This game is simply the best racing game on PS3. Still fresh after 3 years. Open world, LOTS of stuff to do, great graphics, stunning crashes and multiplayer. Pure entertainment.
  28. Apr 22, 2011
    10
    Being the 5th title in the 'Burnout' franchise you would expect ideas to be running thin and a lot of familiar ground. What you wouldn't expect is an open world where you can quite literally own the road. Welcome to Paradise. As soon as the classic 'Paradise City' kicks in you get an understanding of where this game is coming from, Loud songs and even louder vehicles! If you are lookingBeing the 5th title in the 'Burnout' franchise you would expect ideas to be running thin and a lot of familiar ground. What you wouldn't expect is an open world where you can quite literally own the road. Welcome to Paradise. As soon as the classic 'Paradise City' kicks in you get an understanding of where this game is coming from, Loud songs and even louder vehicles! If you are looking for a quiet country drive you are in the wrong town.

    So once you have fired up your first motor and won your first race you realize the true scale of Paradise City, with a diverse range of environments and a plethora of stunning vistas, becomes apparent.
    Game types range from Racing to Marked man events. There are also online races and variants on game modes like Cops 'n' Robbers (DLC) I don't want to dissect this game and tell you everything about it. I just want you to understand this is like getting your first car and working your way up to your new sports car. It is a journey one I haven't forgotten and one I still want to go back to. For me this is the definitive racing game on (PS3! or 360 or PC for that matter)
    Expand
  29. Nov 11, 2016
    9
    great game, but strangely my favorite part is the bike dlc, it is almost perfect ! Great sense of speed, best mix between arcade and simulation. No one will get close to,this ever !
  30. ChrisL.
    Jan 26, 2008
    9
    An overall great game, progress is fast and as soon as you adapt to the find your own route and not being able to restart (If you have to restart too often, your the sucky one not the game.) The offline mode is very easy and only used for getting new cars to use in the online mode which is far better than any other online mode in whatever game i have ever played. You have the freedom of a An overall great game, progress is fast and as soon as you adapt to the find your own route and not being able to restart (If you have to restart too often, your the sucky one not the game.) The offline mode is very easy and only used for getting new cars to use in the online mode which is far better than any other online mode in whatever game i have ever played. You have the freedom of a MMO but with racing insted of monsters. Its practically the MMO of racing when you go online. The car system is great and the different ways to get cars makes it more interesting, you don't drive from race to race just to race, you do it so you can get a new car on the way, as they drive around in the city and you simply have to take them down and they will be at your Junkyard. Its new, its great and probably a contender for racing game of the year, and its only January :) Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    90
    Scarily deep. It demands you play it: there's so much to find it's incredible. [Jan 2008, p.88]
  2. 100
    Give it a chance and you may find yourself having the most fun you've ever had in a virtual car. [Feb 2008, p.70]
  3. Official Playstation 2 Magazine UK
    90
    A truly superb racer; fast, vast and there's plenty to do under that super-slick surface. [Jan 2008, p.118]