Burnout Paradise PlayStation 3

Burnout Paradise Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 425 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Burnout Paradise proves that crashing is awesome! Next generation technology has enabled an unprecedented level of crash deformation allowing you to experience the most explosive pile-ups in the series’ history. Now the development team can realize their original vision for the BurnoutBurnout Paradise proves that crashing is awesome! Next generation technology has enabled an unprecedented level of crash deformation allowing you to experience the most explosive pile-ups in the series’ history. Now the development team can realize their original vision for the Burnout franchise: an open world environment where you can do anything, anywhere, anytime. Feel the adrenaline course through your veins as you take to the road for the first time in Paradise City, where the action is all around you. Explore the city, discover events, and look for the best opportunities to crash, jump and pull signature takedowns. In Burnout Paradise you're given the keys to the city, but it's up to you to earn the keys to the meanest and most dangerous cars on the street, and earn your Burnout license. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. 100
    Give it a chance and you may find yourself having the most fun you've ever had in a virtual car. [Feb 2008, p.70]
  2. Other than the lack of waypoints and some AI-balancing complaints, there's not much to find fault with when it comes to Burnout Paradise.
  3. Paradise is a wonderful game: it's inventive, confident and brilliantly produced and just shows what's possible when developers make the PS3 the lead console. If you're even remotely into racing games, this is one you can't afford to miss out on.
  4. A truly superb racer; fast, vast and there's plenty to do under that super-slick surface. [Jan 2008, p.118]
  5. The way the vehicles crumple, windshields shatter, and pieces of debris go flying in every direction is second to none, making you appreciate each and every impact. The only quibbles we have with the presentation are the absence of a driver, and one of the most annoying announcers ever.
  6. These minor hitches notwithstanding, Burnout Paradise is an excellent, solid ride for both solo and online gamers, with superb control, high production values, complete freedom, and so much obsessive, secret-hunting, gotta-catch-‘em-all lasting gameplay incentive that it’s almost ridiculous.
  7. The question of how much an open city suits Burnout is soon replaced by how well Criterion makes the game work within one. And, thanks to a number of odd decisions on how players progress, the answer is: sloppily. [Feb 2008, p.114]

See all 55 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 127
  2. Negative: 26 out of 127
  1. MrX
    Jan 25, 2008
    10
    Stop whining about not being able to restart the race! Just start another one close by. The whole idea is to keep things different and fluid Stop whining about not being able to restart the race! Just start another one close by. The whole idea is to keep things different and fluid and learn the city. Just because you suck at the game and have to redo a race a thousand times doesnt mean the game is bad. The open city is awesome and really gives a sense of freedom. It also adds to the replay value because you can take a different route every time you do a race and find all the shortcuts. I thought Crash in the previous Burnouts was boring and overated, so I don't miss it here either. The graphics, responsiveness and sense of speed are amazing, and a definite improvement on previous versions. Brilliant. Expand
  2. DJATOMICA
    Apr 22, 2008
    10
    I don't know why you stupid idoits are hating about this game. YALL SUCK! but, to tell you this, the cars was a little I don't know why you stupid idoits are hating about this game. YALL SUCK! but, to tell you this, the cars was a little dissappointing,you can't restart, and the gates,smashes,and billboards are a waste of time and a pain. Burnout revenge or Burnout 3 should be on ps3 Expand
  3. OLMF
    Jan 31, 2008
    9
    This appears to be a love it or hate it game for most. Count me in the love it camp! I find it interesting that one of the negatives of most This appears to be a love it or hate it game for most. Count me in the love it camp! I find it interesting that one of the negatives of most game designs is that they are only minor updates to previous games and that nothing is really new to their current game, and yet when a developer does something completely new and takes their franchise to a new level (like Criterion has done here) people are complaining that they want the same old games that they had before! I would have loved to see weather changes, or day/night cycles to add to the experience. Maybe the next game will have those. Until then, I will be drving the streets of Paradise loving every second of it. Expand
  4. felipezuleta
    Feb 3, 2008
    8
    exelente
  5. Aug 21, 2010
    6
    this is a very great game for me is the best burnout ever best teckdown nice race this game is just awsome and li love the free mode in thethis is a very great game for me is the best burnout ever best teckdown nice race this game is just awsome and li love the free mode in the city is a very great idea Expand
  6. RandolphF.
    Feb 14, 2008
    5
    Good looking. The occasional race feels like classic Burnout. Everything else is broken. If you want to see open world racing done right, you Good looking. The occasional race feels like classic Burnout. Everything else is broken. If you want to see open world racing done right, you need to play Midnight Club 3. To see it done wrong, play this game. It just doesn't work. Criterion needs to learn that change for nothing more than the sake of it isn't a good way to make games. Highly suggest the superior Burnout Revenge on the 360. Expand
  7. js
    Jan 22, 2008
    0
    Yeah, might be worth something if it didnt constantly go to cutscene/wreck everytime i try to something cool. should be a mode to turn offYeah, might be worth something if it didnt constantly go to cutscene/wreck everytime i try to something cool. should be a mode to turn off wrecks. environment not so interactive to. should have been made for the pc so it could be modded like a real game (ut3). don't waste your money like me... Expand

See all 127 User Reviews