User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 892 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 78 out of 892

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TrentS.
    May 7, 2008
    4
    Perhaps the most supremely overrated game of all time. Call of Duty 4 is as bland and tasteless as tofu and as scripted as WWE. The single player game has a few engaging moments but is ultimately so forced that smiles are few and far between. The multiplayer is strong but became annoying to me. Matches could be tedious and rarely called for interesting strategy or teamwork. The community Perhaps the most supremely overrated game of all time. Call of Duty 4 is as bland and tasteless as tofu and as scripted as WWE. The single player game has a few engaging moments but is ultimately so forced that smiles are few and far between. The multiplayer is strong but became annoying to me. Matches could be tedious and rarely called for interesting strategy or teamwork. The community is filled with 14 year old boys who care more about being dicks than winning matches. Screw this I will play Team Fortress on PC. Screw online multiplayer on consoles. Period. Expand
  2. StevoM.
    Jun 16, 2009
    3
    I TOTALLY AGREE WITH ANONYMOUS. "Wow, what an overrated game. Okay, let's establish this first, as itself COD4 isn't that bad, but once you see the hype and fanboyism over this game, it is terrible. Where to begin... First of all, I'm pretty sure I'm not the only one to notice how bad this graphics are. They are stale and almost last-gen. Second, I thought that I TOTALLY AGREE WITH ANONYMOUS. "Wow, what an overrated game. Okay, let's establish this first, as itself COD4 isn't that bad, but once you see the hype and fanboyism over this game, it is terrible. Where to begin... First of all, I'm pretty sure I'm not the only one to notice how bad this graphics are. They are stale and almost last-gen. Second, I thought that next-gen games were supposed to get past this respawning arcade shoot-em-up. I got to the point in the game where I stayed back and carefully picked out my enemies for about 30 min., working on clearing the area. Then I realized that they would never go away.When i realized the only way to advance was to sprint to different positions I lost all hope. Not to mention, for whatever reason... a lot of the time when i sprint I throw a grenade... even though im not hitting the left bumper. For some reason 1 out of 10 times when i try to sprint, when I'm done sprinting, i chuck a grenade for no reason. Okay, in some games (like MGS4), the respawning system is basically necessary, but in this game totally takes the fun out of FPS's. Thirdly, there are so many glitches, ie. weapons poking through walls, shooting through walls, etc. and unbalanced gameplay. Grenade fest break out regularly in the multiplayer, and for some reason, your opponents can chuck a grenade from impossibly far and just so happens to land right by your feet. More issues? No Campaign Co-Op, no multi-player achievements, no Rollover incentives, no character customization, part system sucks, no dedicated servers, host migration is lame, you spawn in the middle of firefights, can't see the part members on radar, and... THE STUPID INSTA-KILL KNIFE!!! Why is the knife so goddamn powerful! Ugh. Overall, this game is still sort of good, but once you see how overrated this game is, you have no generosity left. Please avoid this game." Expand
  3. TuukkaT.
    Feb 8, 2008
    4
    The first Call of Duty was O.K because you didn't fight alone but the gaming experience was going through a pipe, launching scripts and shooting targets. Now it's the same but not in WWII. I hated the Enemy O' Matic that created enemys untill you go over some point. Well, the graphics were good and sounds were lovely but the single player campaign was too scripted and easy. The first Call of Duty was O.K because you didn't fight alone but the gaming experience was going through a pipe, launching scripts and shooting targets. Now it's the same but not in WWII. I hated the Enemy O' Matic that created enemys untill you go over some point. Well, the graphics were good and sounds were lovely but the single player campaign was too scripted and easy. Only good thing on the game is the multiplayer. Expand
  4. SamD.
    Sep 12, 2008
    2
    Most overrated and overhyped game of the year. I give it a 2 just because of the shiny graphics and nice sound effects. The gameplay itself was boring and offered nothing more than other FPSs out there on the market. The SP was extremely linear and the storyline-crap (if there's any at all). MP consists of lots and lots of nade spam. Other than some customatisation options, it's Most overrated and overhyped game of the year. I give it a 2 just because of the shiny graphics and nice sound effects. The gameplay itself was boring and offered nothing more than other FPSs out there on the market. The SP was extremely linear and the storyline-crap (if there's any at all). MP consists of lots and lots of nade spam. Other than some customatisation options, it's a piece of crap too. Expand
  5. FACT
    Nov 12, 2007
    0
    Pales in comparison to the Xbox 360 version with laggy online with constant dropouts. Barely anyone talks online on the PS3 while on the 360 you feel more connected to the community. Longer load times on this version along with worse lighting and textures really ruin the experience. Finally, the lack of achievements really take a lot of replay value away from the game. Also, the lack of Pales in comparison to the Xbox 360 version with laggy online with constant dropouts. Barely anyone talks online on the PS3 while on the 360 you feel more connected to the community. Longer load times on this version along with worse lighting and textures really ruin the experience. Finally, the lack of achievements really take a lot of replay value away from the game. Also, the lack of rumble makes the gameplay feel dull and less tense. Expand
  6. JasonLarge
    Nov 19, 2007
    0
    Okay I really give this game a 10 but seriously ps3 players stop rating the xbox version of games low becuase you are angry that xbox has better games and a better online mode. Now typically I mind my own business you have your games we have ours and sometimes we get joint games and that's fine but stick to your own reviews, stop hating on halo and other games becuase you have oneOkay I really give this game a 10 but seriously ps3 players stop rating the xbox version of games low becuase you are angry that xbox has better games and a better online mode. Now typically I mind my own business you have your games we have ours and sometimes we get joint games and that's fine but stick to your own reviews, stop hating on halo and other games becuase you have one legitament game to play online and and becuase you have lost most of your exclusive titles. Expand
  7. StevoM.
    Nov 9, 2009
    2
    I TOTALLY AGREE WITH ANONYMOUS. "Wow, what an overrated game. Okay, let's establish this first, as itself COD4 isn't that bad, but once you see the hype and fanboyism over this game, it is terrible. Where to begin... First of all, I'm pretty sure I'm not the only one to notice how bad this graphics are. They are stale and almost last-gen. Second, I thought that I TOTALLY AGREE WITH ANONYMOUS. "Wow, what an overrated game. Okay, let's establish this first, as itself COD4 isn't that bad, but once you see the hype and fanboyism over this game, it is terrible. Where to begin... First of all, I'm pretty sure I'm not the only one to notice how bad this graphics are. They are stale and almost last-gen. Second, I thought that next-gen games were supposed to get past this respawning arcade shoot-em-up. I got to the point in the game where I stayed back and carefully picked out my enemies for about 30 min., working on clearing the area. Then I realized that they would never go away.When i realized the only way to advance was to sprint to different positions I lost all hope. Not to mention, for whatever reason... a lot of the time when i sprint I throw a grenade... even though im not hitting the left bumper. For some reason 1 out of 10 times when i try to sprint, when I'm done sprinting, i chuck a grenade for no reason. Okay, in some games (like MGS4), the respawning system is basically necessary, but in this game totally takes the fun out of FPS's. Thirdly, there are so many glitches, ie. weapons poking through walls, shooting through walls, etc. and unbalanced gameplay. Grenade fest break out regularly in the multiplayer, and for some reason, your opponents can chuck a grenade from impossibly far and just so happens to land right by your feet. More issues? No Campaign Co-Op, no multi-player achievements, no Rollover incentives, no character customization, part system sucks, no dedicated servers, host migration is lame, you spawn in the middle of firefights, can't see the part members on radar, and... THE STUPID INSTA-KILL KNIFE!!! Why is the knife so goddamn powerful! Ugh. Overall, this game is still sort of good, but once you see how overrated this game is, you have no generosity left. Please avoid this game." Expand
  8. Oivind
    Sep 11, 2009
    0
    2 player split screen my ass. When playing split screen you can't play online, and there's no co-op. Useless. I want to play with my wife. There are so few games with interesting split screen modes, that I'm tempted to sell my PS3, and buy a dedicated blu-ray player, since the blu-ray player is, to me, almost the only useful thing about the PS3.
  9. D_Rekfazzle
    Nov 18, 2007
    0
    OMG!! the ps3 version sux so much that it hurts my eyes. The online is shitty and the xbox 360 owns it in every way possible. this is scum on the ps3 and if u want a truly enjoying experience than get it on the 360. The ps3 is a big black overpriced hunk of shit.
  10. karls
    Nov 13, 2009
    0
    what sham what sham they spend 2 years to make this game and they didn
  11. Dec 1, 2010
    0
    I was terribly disappointed with this game. I heard how "Great" it was from mky friends so I had a massively high expectations of it. The single player is full of hollywood moments and is totally unbelievable. The part where all the Americans were killed by nuclear weapons was trash except for the graphics and felt over scripted and to me a waste of time. The single player has way to manyI was terribly disappointed with this game. I heard how "Great" it was from mky friends so I had a massively high expectations of it. The single player is full of hollywood moments and is totally unbelievable. The part where all the Americans were killed by nuclear weapons was trash except for the graphics and felt over scripted and to me a waste of time. The single player has way to many glitches on the PS3 at least. At least once a guy saw me walked right over to me and then walked away as if nothing happened. Another problem is the near freeze of the game when you melee which is quite annoying. The weapons all do about the same damage except for sniper rifles and shotguns of which the shotguns are overpowered and over ranged. There are way to many hackers and cheaters on the multiplayer and the single player is way to short. Trust me skip this and get World at War instead. You will not be sorry. Expand
  12. Mar 24, 2012
    1
    Can't stand this game. Can't stand the Modern Warfare series. The Modern Warfare series is why I have hated Call of Duty for years(with the exception of World At War)
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 44
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 44
  3. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. 94
    Though the single-player lacks length, the multiplayer should keep you invested in COD4 for the long winter. This is a truly fantastic multiplayer offering that's as deep as any other online game available.
  2. 100
    One of the best military shooters to date, with enough realism to make you feel like you're right on the battlefield. The visuals look amazingly life-like, unmatched by other PlayStation 3 efforts. The gameplay feels familiar, and at the same time refreshing and exciting.
  3. 95
    With proven mechanics, brilliant visuals and sound, a satisfying campaign, and robust multiplayer, COD4 is one of the best FPS packages of the year -- no small feat, considering the competition.