User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 892 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 78 out of 892

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 11, 2011
    7
    Started following CoD since the first instalment and have spent many hours of my life cursing and ranting at my television screen, but have enjoyed doing so. I was really looking forward to MW3 until I saw that it looked pretty much exactly the same as MW2. Having played it, it plays more like CoD 4 than MW2 but it's the same game you know and love (or hate). It' not a bad game by anyStarted following CoD since the first instalment and have spent many hours of my life cursing and ranting at my television screen, but have enjoyed doing so. I was really looking forward to MW3 until I saw that it looked pretty much exactly the same as MW2. Having played it, it plays more like CoD 4 than MW2 but it's the same game you know and love (or hate). It' not a bad game by any means, it's multiplayer is quite solid, Im just disappointed that there hasn't been any genuine innovation. Having said that, I think this is the last game that IW/Treyarch will be able to make the same as it's predecessors and get away with. Expand
  2. JackT.
    Nov 26, 2008
    5
    Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is VERY, VERY linear and boring game. The campaign is BAD and very short. When you shoot people you don't have that great feel like in Resistance: FoM and Resistance 2. Only good part in this game is the graphics. Well, music is good, but there are only like 5 min of it... So overrated online mode, which is good, but absolutely not great. No variety at Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is VERY, VERY linear and boring game. The campaign is BAD and very short. When you shoot people you don't have that great feel like in Resistance: FoM and Resistance 2. Only good part in this game is the graphics. Well, music is good, but there are only like 5 min of it... So overrated online mode, which is good, but absolutely not great. No variety at all and the only good level in the whole game is All Ghilled Up well no, actually only 1/3 of it is good and the rest is terrible shooting... The story is awful and very unreal. I keep saying "Why did I waste my money fr this piece of crap!?". Expand
  3. TrentL.
    Jul 10, 2008
    5
    Overrated. That's the main word I can think of. Great graphics + decent story line should make for a good game but it's just not very connected. Multi-player is decent but it does not make up for the overall bad quality of the single player game. There is no crouching next to walls to look around the corner and the controls are just a little off. Overall, this game is just Overrated. That's the main word I can think of. Great graphics + decent story line should make for a good game but it's just not very connected. Multi-player is decent but it does not make up for the overall bad quality of the single player game. There is no crouching next to walls to look around the corner and the controls are just a little off. Overall, this game is just average for a first person shooter. I would not reccomend it if you are in to first person shooters. I would reccomend Rainbow Six: Las Vegas (one and two are both great) or Metal Gear Solid 4 (which is probably the best game availible for PS3 unless your one of those frooty b*stards who likes those stupid guitar hero games). Expand
  4. ChrisS
    Oct 12, 2009
    5
    Great Multiplayer, occasionally good graphics, brilliant audio and nice weapons. Now for the bad points the story mode is repetitive, not enough features, story is predictable, and the characters are cliches. only play online
  5. AdrianT.
    Oct 11, 2008
    6
    This game is generic, in a nutshell.
  6. Ostaf
    Oct 17, 2009
    7
    Honestly the only thing good about this game is the online. The single player is fun but offers little to no replay value and is EXTREMELY short. Graphics are amazing though and the online can be addicting with well over 100 hours logged in. Its only flaw is Internet....you must have it to have more then 3 hours of fun with this game.
  7. TomJ.
    Oct 10, 2008
    6
    I didn't like it, because it had no vehicles or Co-op.
  8. THETRUTH
    Nov 15, 2007
    5
    Everything is great about the game itself except when you play online ...There is alot of Slow downs and disconnecting and most of the people that have mics don't use it to play the game they like to broadcast there personal music which I find very annoying .Most of all you can only witness all this if you are able to log on I haven't been able to play that much .When I first Everything is great about the game itself except when you play online ...There is alot of Slow downs and disconnecting and most of the people that have mics don't use it to play the game they like to broadcast there personal music which I find very annoying .Most of all you can only witness all this if you are able to log on I haven't been able to play that much .When I first Bought the game I was unable to log on the whole weekend .So if this happens to you don't format your playstation 3 like I did it's not your system it's there server .Don't bother trying to contact them there customer service is terrible if you can get through because they only have a single teleophone line and you keep getting a busy signal .Good Luck ! Expand
  9. ConanO.
    Nov 29, 2007
    7
    While Call of Duty 4 looks really good, the other gameplay aspects remain the same as in previous installments. The AI acts as stupidly as before, so no one moves unless you do something. You cannot trust your teammates to cover your flanks as often the enemy hits you from the side where the AI-team mate was supposed to be firing. You basically run in a pipe the whole game, but developers While Call of Duty 4 looks really good, the other gameplay aspects remain the same as in previous installments. The AI acts as stupidly as before, so no one moves unless you do something. You cannot trust your teammates to cover your flanks as often the enemy hits you from the side where the AI-team mate was supposed to be firing. You basically run in a pipe the whole game, but developers tried to hide it in gunsmoke, grenades and rocket launchers firing. There is no modern cover system implemented, which makes the combat feel a bit lacking, but it is not mandatory. It´s just that after R6:Vegas´s brilliant cover system, all other shooters feel a bit out dated. CoD 4 shines on some rare occasions, like the AC-130 scenario that actually feels like what the real thing is, the ability to shoot through some walls is a great addition. Unfortunately the single player is just not up to par feature wise and ends way too quickly. Multiplayer is the saviour of this title as the addictive rank system makes you want to play it a bit longer. Do not buy this game for the single player only. Rent it if you can at first, so you have a chance to make a proper decision. Expand
  10. JR
    Dec 3, 2007
    5
    Same old, same old. CoD 2 with modern weapons and shallow, CS-like multiplayer. Nuff said.
  11. JonathanR.
    Nov 13, 2007
    7
    Same old war game that's been out for years. It's beginning to get old, but this game still has some fun left in it.
  12. ConradS.
    Nov 22, 2007
    7
    What is so good about this game? Why did it receive such a high rating? While playing it there were moments when I felt really excited. But looking back it the game now after I have finished the short single player mode its just another FPS. Ask yourself honestly, what is "next - gen" about this game? I am a huge fan of PS3, but really cant anyone do any better? I used to own a xbox 360 What is so good about this game? Why did it receive such a high rating? While playing it there were moments when I felt really excited. But looking back it the game now after I have finished the short single player mode its just another FPS. Ask yourself honestly, what is "next - gen" about this game? I am a huge fan of PS3, but really cant anyone do any better? I used to own a xbox 360 and sold it when PS3 launched. So far there have been very few titles on either console that really impressed me. COD 4 didnt impress me either. Maybe my expectations are to high. I just think for all the money we spend (buying consoles, games and HDTV's) on this hobby we deserve better. I hope someone out there agrees with me. Expand
  13. AnonymousMC
    Dec 28, 2007
    7
    Amazingly overated, the single player is absolute trash on the later difficulty levels. Unless of course you like fighting off thousands of respawning enemy's. I will continue to play it and earn the 1000 Gamerscore, but at this point, I am frusterated and disapointed, if it weren't for the online, it would have been mid 5's
  14. AnonymousMC
    Sep 16, 2009
    7
    Well I do agree with Anonymous that this game is overrated, I don't think it deserves a 3. My experience with this game makes me give it a 7. It does have an amazing multiplayer, and sometimes it has good graphics, but that's all that's good about it. Single-Player is way too short, and the level design isn't great either. It was liking playing any other FPS, exceptWell I do agree with Anonymous that this game is overrated, I don't think it deserves a 3. My experience with this game makes me give it a 7. It does have an amazing multiplayer, and sometimes it has good graphics, but that's all that's good about it. Single-Player is way too short, and the level design isn't great either. It was liking playing any other FPS, except sometimes I was wowed by the gun graphics. That's a good point, while the game dosen't have exactly jaw-dropping graphics (sometimes the textures are so low res that you forget its a next-gen game), its gun graphics are top notch. The almost remind me of Killzone when I play them. Now, crappy Single-Player and inconsistent graphics aside, most of that can be slightly forgiven by its multiplayer.

    Kevin C. is right (although, I know of some online games that could give COD4 a run for its money). You can play it for a long time and never get bored of it. At least that's what everyone tells me. I just get bored after playing 15 mins of the online. But hey, maybe you'll enjoy it.

    Overall. CoD4 is a good, but a overrated game. You should rent it first, and if you do like it, then buy it. I'm one of those that sold the game because it was just to bland to me.
    But the game did get the overall 3rd best game of 2007 award in the total GOTY awards. When all of its awards were added, it place 3rd place in 2007. That's a good accomplishment. Maybe you will like the game.
    Expand
  15. Oct 17, 2011
    7
    This was an ok shooter. The reason I really don't think this game is special is for me it seemed more like a demo than an actual game. Although the quality is high and the gameplay was decent I just never could get over the perception that each chapter of the game seemed to be nothing more than a tutorial training area for a particular weapon. Chapter one is an intro to teach you thisThis was an ok shooter. The reason I really don't think this game is special is for me it seemed more like a demo than an actual game. Although the quality is high and the gameplay was decent I just never could get over the perception that each chapter of the game seemed to be nothing more than a tutorial training area for a particular weapon. Chapter one is an intro to teach you this weapon. Chapter two is an intro to teach you the next weapon. Chapter 3 was an intro to.....I guess this is what really turned me off this game because it seemed like it was nothing more than a training ground for how to use your weapons before you go online. I can't complain about much more because the quality is high and I can understand some people loving this game but for me it was nothing more than a demo checklist. Expand
  16. Apr 3, 2012
    7
    Call Of Duty 4: Modern Warfare will go down in history for kick-starting an FPS revolution. Its hard to remember now that every man and his dog follows the COD template, but at the time the game's control system, responsiveness and general multiplayer set-up was actually pretty unique. It set a new standard for console shooters. That said, the MP suite has been improved upon in subsequentCall Of Duty 4: Modern Warfare will go down in history for kick-starting an FPS revolution. Its hard to remember now that every man and his dog follows the COD template, but at the time the game's control system, responsiveness and general multiplayer set-up was actually pretty unique. It set a new standard for console shooters. That said, the MP suite has been improved upon in subsequent COD games, so despite being revolutionary, COD4's multiplayer has now been rendered redundant. The single player campaign has some really serious issues, though. The most notable one being the infinite respawning enemies that only give up the ghost after you've reached a certain checkpoint. That type of gameplay was already antiquated by the time of Modern Warfare's release. Also, the story was just uninteresting overall. So... COD4: Modern Warfare, undoubtedly a classic but one that is already doomed to feel outdated and clunky by it's sequel's standards. Expand
  17. Dec 20, 2013
    6
    COD 4 is such an overrated game, the graphics are really good but the facial animations and explosions are outdated. The gameplay is fast and fluid. The multiplayer is still going strong and it is very fun, but the story mode is really boring, if it wasnt for the multiplayer and the gameplay being fun this game would have been a 5. Overall Score= 60/100
  18. Oct 6, 2014
    7
    Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare

    Game-Play:The game play is faster than the previous games because of the use of the modern weapons i really like it.

    Story:The story is good especially for an FPS but 6 hours at max.

    Graphics:Some improvements have been done but nothing special.

    Note:I also liked the online mode
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 44
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 44
  3. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. 94
    Though the single-player lacks length, the multiplayer should keep you invested in COD4 for the long winter. This is a truly fantastic multiplayer offering that's as deep as any other online game available.
  2. 100
    One of the best military shooters to date, with enough realism to make you feel like you're right on the battlefield. The visuals look amazingly life-like, unmatched by other PlayStation 3 efforts. The gameplay feels familiar, and at the same time refreshing and exciting.
  3. 95
    With proven mechanics, brilliant visuals and sound, a satisfying campaign, and robust multiplayer, COD4 is one of the best FPS packages of the year -- no small feat, considering the competition.