User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 813 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 75 out of 813

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 21, 2011
    10
    Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is quite a good game, it is a single player campaign but you can go online and join games with other people and play against them. The player goes through a lot of missions and there is quite a lot of killing involved in the game. You can unlock more levels but as you play your way through the game is gets harder and harder, also that you can unlock more weapons e.g. AK47, Rocket launcher, Sniper and many more. All the weapons have different types of use, for instant you can get the Rocket launcher in different types, heat seeker, target mover and a lot more. This game is quite addictive because the more you play the more you want to carry on, I think that this Modern Warfare 4 is better than all the other games, because one minuite your in a killing zone were your just about to loose your life and the next your in a battle field shooting somebody else. When you play on multiplayer you get a wide variety of weapons to choose from but if your playing on your own in campaign then you have to unlock the weapons one by one but its well worth the wait because then its fun killing your enemies. Overall I think that this game is good and most of the people that play this game will rate it ten out of ten. It will keep you busy for a long time! Expand
  2. Dec 15, 2011
    9
    Pure greatness at it's best but there are still lag and balancing problems and the story gets a bit bare but...no spoilers here great game but the minor flaws keep it form being a 9/10 game on a percent scale i would give it a 98%
  3. MW3
    Jan 18, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best games ever
    !!!!! Dont even bother to read the bad reviews because they're probably some battlefield fans .i just got this game like 4 days ago and i love the campaign so far
  4. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Out of all of the Modern shooters, Call of Duty 4 still stands as the strongest and most innovative of the bunch. The gameplay is streamlined, approachable, yet takes skill and patience to master. The storyline at the time of its release was great. There's not much to complain about this game except for the glitchers who have taken over in the last year.
  5. Dec 17, 2011
    9
    This and cod2 are the best cods i played.This game is overall amazing. Campiagn was pretty good and the mulitplayer was great. the only thing i hate about online is that i sometimes keep lagging. still it is a good game.
  6. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    Man, when this game came out I was in shock how good it was! I loved everything about it! Multiplayer was new and refreshing! Single player was great. One of the best shooters ever if you ask me. I owned it on all three platforms!
  7. Jan 7, 2012
    9
    This is simply the cod game that revolutionised the series taking it from WWII to modern times. The multiplayer is fantastic and so is the campaign if the was any flaw, it woud be the lag.
  8. Aug 9, 2012
    10
    This is the game were you feel yourself like a soldier and it involves you with it. I bought it and end it just after 3 days because one can go out after end...... one after another and then next .... Very good game.
  9. Mar 27, 2013
    9
    I'm changing my score my score from a 7 to a 9, now i've played this game for awhile and i decided it a great game. even tried the multiplayer. so heres my new review.

    Call of duty 4 i think is maybe slightly overated it should get just a 90, thats good enough to me. the thing i don't like is that the PS3 version has no vibration not sure why, but it doesn't. The campaign is mostly good
    some parts might just keep you hooked, while some parts are a bit dull. The multiplayer is fun. it's not better than the multiplayer we see in call of duty games today, but the new multiplayer can get tiring sometimes, and you might be tempted to come play this classic again. Expand
  10. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    Call of Duty 4 is an epic adventure. The campaign is filled with action and a very memorable story. There was so much variety with each mission. The multiplayer was without a doubt the best online experience I have ever had. It was so simple just shoot people with guns and get killstreaks. But the simplistic style of Cod 4's multiplayer is where it shines. Call of Duty is getting more worse when each game gets released. I hope one day Call of Duty goes back to this style of a game. 9/10. Expand
  11. May 31, 2013
    10
    This was the first time Iv'e a CoD game that isn't still in the WWII era and it's a great one so far! The graphics are superb, single-player story is good, and the MP is just flawless! This is the best CoD game ever created in years!
  12. Oct 28, 2010
    9
    This game was brilliant and it was very addictive. The story was really enjoyable and well thought out and the multi player was unreal and it was probably the game i played the most during 2007-2008
  13. Sep 6, 2010
    10
    This highly addictive FPS has a fantastic single player campaign and a incredibly addictive multi-player keeping you glued to your gaming chairs for as long as you like. This game is well know for its single player and how great it is, so no surprises for me to give this game the full, 10/10.
  14. Sep 26, 2010
    10
    This game is awesome, its one of my favourites for this generation. I personally like its blend of realism, and arcade action. The campaign's mission structure is very varied and tense. It's short, yes, but i measure quality, not quantity. The online is very fun, and could keep you satisfied for a long time.
  15. Sep 20, 2010
    10
    This is without a doubt the greatest FPS ever. Halo 3 can't touch it. In terms of fantastic gameplay, and balance it is all there. The campaign is the most engrossing 7 hours of a multiplayer campaign game ever. Call of Duty 4 also has some of the best gametypes like Domination, Search and Destroy, ]sabotage, Ground war, Cage match, hardcore headquarters. The list goes on and on. The only reason you can give under a 9 is because you suck at the game. It punishes the players in terms of spawn trapping in dom, and sabotage, and constantly watching your teammates in Search and HQ. However, if you're a debby downer, you can find small faults, but the gameplay completely obliterates any complaints. The graphics are fantastic for 2007, and humming at 60 frames per second allows you to whip around and move very fluidly. The guns are all fun to use, and its pretty easy to part up and own in public matches, not to mention it is probably the best competitive game ever. The ridiculously addictive upgrade system plus ten prestiging means you probably will spend about 15 days to fully rank and prestige up, and of course you don't have to prestige. Especially now that its 20 dollars its honestly the best value for a video game probably ever. Also this game does a good job of allowing new players to get into the fold, while still allowing good layers to dominate. Expand
  16. Oct 5, 2010
    9
    I'm not new to shooter games, when i played COD4 on my PS3, the single player was simply amazing, very addictive, and very modern and believable. The graphics are simply amazing, realistic, and the game is very fast paced action.There was an issue with the online multiplayer side, i had to disable my UPNP on my router and open ports in order to get the game to connect online, which was the only reason the game got a 9. The game is kinda hard for someone new to 3rd person shooters, as you can die the moment you spawn after death, and the air strikes can be quite hard to deal with too. But i won't give the game a bad score due to player error, the only thing missing was the option to search for specific people like you can do on steam. Expand
  17. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    This is the best FPS ive played the SP is very good I liked the story alot just dissapointed about the ending, the graphics are awesome and the multiplayer is also extremely fun.
  18. Dec 26, 2010
    9
    This game was the most memorable FPS I ever played. I previously did not like COD series due to the linear nature of the game. If you played one level you had played them all, an endless wave of bad guys and eventually you kill enough and press forward you will pass the level. With COD4 the game play became more varied, there were quite a few "moments" in the game that just blew you away, like nothing I'd ever experienced before. Still some much of the same from the series but the modern era and a few wow moments and the game became something special. Multiplayer was a game changer. The perk and leveling system was the greatest to date and had so much replay value I never took it out of my console until the sequel came out. I really had that much fun playing it!! I'd rate the game 94 out of 100 only deducting for the single player still being a somewhat linear progression, but the multiplayer was the best fun I'd had in some time. Expand
  19. Apr 6, 2011
    9
    The only real problem with Call of Duty 4 is that its singleplayer campaign is quite short. However, because of its powerful story, amazing presentation, smooth mechanics, and addicting multiplayer, Call of Duty 4 Modern Warfare is one of the best shooters around, and is definitely worth playing.
  20. Mar 24, 2011
    9
    This game is still extremely fun to play, even four years after its release. You can pick this up with Modern Warfare 2 in a combo pack for $44 which is a great deal for a lot of fun. I admit, most of the time I'm running around like a chicken with my head cut-off, and the story is somewhat confusing, but I'm having a lot of fun doing it.
  21. Apr 17, 2011
    9
    This is the first FPS game that started my online shooter addiction. It's fantastic and still holds up over the years. Highly recommended for anyone that loves war games and first person shooter games.
  22. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    I'm laughing at the people who call this 'overrated'. Don't review a first person shooter game when you obviously don't how to rate anything. Call of Duty 4 is the best out of all the COD series, Black Ops, World at War, Modern Warfare 2 simply can't compare.
  23. Aug 26, 2011
    10
    its much better than mw2. more stable matchmaking,gr8 storyline,which helps you to connect with the characters,very addictive multiplayer,gr8 graphics for a game released in '07 and mega longevity. i have spent over 65 hours in multiplayer.. definite buy..
  24. Feb 16, 2013
    9
    The latest Call of Duty games like Modern Warfare 3 and Black Ops 2 are great, but Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare must be recognized as superb. This one really gets into the grittiness of war. The story is very engaging and emotional. I feel as though the stories in MW3 and BO2 are not as good (not that they are bad). And this is the Call of Duty that set the multiplayer foundation of the present Call of Duty games. For that it must not be forgotten. Interestingly, people still play this online. This game is cheap so all by means, go get it. Expand
  25. Jul 23, 2011
    9
    This game is awesome from the epic story to the addictive mutiplayer. It looks fantastic even now sounds like they actually recorded war and provides me with joy every time I play. It has the best FPS level ever and the hardest. The mutiplayer is fantastic from maps to perks to guns and thats what I found great about the game you fight what a war would be like today not in the 1940's. I loved it
  26. May 22, 2012
    9
    When this game originally came out, it blew my mind. The story and graphics were superb and engaging (especially the "one shot one kill" campaign level). The multiplayer doesn't need to be elaborated on. It was revolutionary, and now you see practically every shooter using some form of version of it's multiplayer custom class layout
  27. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    This game was amazing when I first bought it, got through the intense campaign and proceeded to the muliplayer. This game made me an online gamer. I was playing halo 3 at the time i bought this, and never looked back.
  28. Mar 3, 2012
    10
    Definitely the GREATEST game of all-time. This masterpiece by inifity ward completely revoutionized the online gaming experience while providing one of the best single player campaigns ever. Gameinformer said in their review that cod4 is "One of the absolute best games to grace any platform to date." Some of the best missions were included in this game including All Ghilled Up, the greatest sniping mission ever and the greatest mission ever. Playing as the legendly character Captain price under the command of Captian McMillan (actually based on a solider who fought during WWII) and your job is to assassinate somebody. Some other cool missions include 'Death from above' , 'Mile high Club' and 'Sins of our fathers'. That was just the campaign, now the online is what really attracted ALOT of people to the game. The revolutionary online experience included the never before seen kill streak and ranking up system. Along with attactments and camos to your guns and a create a class opionon, people were intstantly amazed at the experience. Expand
  29. Jul 21, 2012
    9
    The single-player campaign is average for a shooter but the online multiplayer mode is the best there ever was. Whether it was the standard of opposition or the fact that nearly every gamer in the world was playing, this game will forever stand in history as the first great online, multiplayer game of the new generation consoles.
  30. Aug 13, 2012
    9
    Call of Duty 4 is the best COD game. It haves a great multiplayer and a fantastic single player. Believe me, you will be playing this game for years. The story mode is short, but this game may have the best story mode for shooters. Is a must have for all gamers. 96 out of 100
  31. Sep 17, 2012
    10
    The story is the best in the series and that also goes for MP. This game defined what COD could do and for the next generation of gaming we need a remake for this game. I love this game so much I own it on both 360 and PS3.
  32. Oct 29, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I think it's the best Call of Duty i have ever played on my whole life World At War was the same as Call of Duty 4 - Modern Warfare 2 was a fail game and Black Ops was not so fail.I think Call of Duty 4 is the best from every cod i have ever played in my life Expand
  33. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    This was an amazing game. It's a shame things went downhill after MW2 when they started adding unnecessary crap that over-complicated the game and made it really rage-inducing. The simplicity of this game is really what makes it phenomenal. It is almost entirely free of bull$hit. The only thing about this game that pisses me off, other than the technical issues, is Martyrdom. But other than that, it is close to flawless. The maps are great, the gameplay is nice and fast-paced, the weapon balance is as close to perfection as any CoD game has ever been, and it is just overall a joy to play. Second to World at War as my favourite Call of Duty game. Expand
  34. Dec 23, 2012
    9
    Honestly out of all the games in this series this game did everything right. The multiplayer and singleplayer are both fun and engaging not too gimmicky and easy to get into. This games multiplayer alone is my favorite in the series it's simple the basic objective is to win the focus is less on killstreaks cause their are only about 3 and at the time it was a new concept and so it wasn't overdone the focus was more gun on gun gameplay which is awesome. Weapon balance in multiplayer is also good gun choice comes down to what you like and whatever your good with as opposed to future games in the series that have a select few weapons that are clearly better than the others. Overall to me this game is amazing and worth the single player campaign alone which by it self is very engrossing and engaging you feel like your role is important and it's not overly cinematic so yeah if your interested check it out! Expand
  35. Jan 12, 2013
    9
    Basing this review on how CoD 4 matured, I have to say that it is unlike any other CoD. This CoD has the most replay-ability when it comes to playing WELL (not having fun). The sublime quality of the Campaign and Multiplayer in this particular game just about make up for there not really being much to do. It is quite a feat that CoD 4 remains such a positive CoD baring in mind the base game only has the following: -21 Campaign missions; squeezing out as much fun as you can isn't too hard. I usually reminisce at the very environments Infinity Ward depicted. Specifically, the Chernobyl area. The stealth missions are a masterpiece (WHY ARE THEY BARELY SEEN IN MODERN FPS CAMPAIGNS THESE DAYS?#. Expand
  36. Jul 10, 2014
    9
    Story:
    Modern Warfare puts you as "Soap" from the SAS and Paul Jackson from the marines with the goal of stopping a civil war that imploded in Russia. Although the story is weak compared to today's standard, back when this game came out in 2007, its story was groundbreaking mostly due to how it was one of the first modern military shooters to come out. Because of how most of shooters that
    were released before COD4 were WW2 shooters, COD4 was groundbraking in story, gameplay, and multiplayer because of its modern setting. Some of the side characters are good and have some good radio-chatter, the antagonist (although cliched) has a good backstory (which also leads to one of Call of Duty's best missions ever), and both playable protagonist are mute (Perfect :D). Even though no one talks about COD4's story today, you still have to give IW props for thinking outside the box with storytelling back when this came out. 8/10

    Gameplay:
    A lot of the common CoD SP cliches started here. Some include: Dumb A.I., Michael Bay set-pieces, easy-to-use guns with no recoil in them, a few stealth segments sprinkled here and there, a vehicle mission, slow-mo sections, and sniping. The 1 thing this CoD had that no other CoD has to this day are cheats. You unlock cheats by collecting intel, and this was the only time I wanted to collect cheats outside of trophies collecting (please bring them back). Just like with the story, even though these features are cliche now, back in 07 these were innovating. So give IW credit for creating these before they became cliched. 8/10

    Graphics:
    Because of its 07 release, and because of how the previous CoDs looked, CoD 4's graphics were innovating back then. Even to this day, these graphics don't look bad on PC. 7/10

    Sound:
    Just like in graphics, the sounds of gun shots, vehicles, radio chatter, and explosives were new back in 07, so at least appreciate that. 7/10

    Multiplayer:
    This was by far the biggest change to happen in CoD4 due to how much they added. This was the 1st CoD to add create-a-class, perks, (pre-set) killstreaks, mini-map, camos, challenges, prestige mode, and attachments. Another big thing was how balanced the guns were back then (except martydom and last stand :( ). I find it hilarious how CoD4 has more balance then some of the newer CoDs. The only bad thing about the multiplayer is how it's filled with hackers, glitches, exploits, and that it's been abandoned. Good luck getting into a good match since most of the time, there will be a hacker there. It's sad to see such a classic multiplayer like this get ruined by the community. R.I.P. CoD 4 multiplayer. (07 rating: 10/10). Current Rating: 4/10

    Verdict:
    Back in 2007, this CoD was ground-breaking. They added so many new features and mechanics that it's disappointing to see how far it dropped. If this were 2007, I'd recommend you buy this game ASAP, But now, just rent it. I'm still gonna give this game it's 2007 rating, but I'm not saying buy it now. The game's dead.
    Expand
  37. Feb 18, 2013
    10
    I'm going to be straight to the point here. I thought I was going to hate this game because I used to see COD as an overrated overhyped series that was no good and boring. How wrong I was. I remember first playind COD4: MW. I had just come home from school and my dad had recieved a package from ebay and he showed me it was a copy of the game of the year edition and I wondered as I knew he already had a copy of this game and he said that it didnt work and said I could try it. Well, I'd just finished playing Assassin's Creed 1 and thought, what the Hell? So I stuck it in expecting it to not work, but it did, turns out there was a small loading error in my dad's ps3, but back to me. The opening cutscene came and I shouted OMG! Then I started to play the game. THe gameplay was perfect and accurate, the story was perfect, the graphics were godsent and the multiplayer was amazing. This is my second favourite game on the ps3 and probably in general. The only thing that lets it down is the story is too short and if it would of been longer by about 4 hours and the server wouldn't crash as often, I would of give it a 100. But I would give Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare a 96. Expand
  38. ERB
    Dec 23, 2013
    10
    This is the BEST game on the PS3.Call Of Duty 4:Modern Warfare is a great game with It's awesome multiplayer and even the single player.This game's single player campaign is fun and enjoyable.The multiplayer is the best part in the game.You can play multiplayer activities like free for all and even team deathmatch.This game is both awesome in the single player campaign and multiplayer gameplay.That is why you should buy this game.This game is awesome and it is highly recommended for you to play this game and try it out!It is fun. Expand
  39. Sep 28, 2013
    9
    EN: Outstanding campaign, plenty of variety and chaotic combats make of COD 4: Modern Warfare the best game of the series.
    PT-BR: Campanha excelente, muita variedade e combates caóticos fazem de COD 4: Modern Warfare o melhor jogo da série.
  40. Jul 24, 2013
    10
    LOVE LOVE LOVE that this is single player friendly. I never felt bored or like i was missing out on a vital part of the game by not playing the online story. I purchased a replica gun from the game that is an airsoft gun and i use it when i go airsofting! I got it here: http://www.airsplat.com/call-of-duty-4.htm
  41. Sep 16, 2013
    10
    How on Earth do people give this mixed reviews? This is a fantastic game, the campaign and multiplayer are both outstanding. There's simply no other game that matches Cod4
  42. Nov 5, 2013
    9
    Addicting Multiplayer, Epic Campaign, whats better? This game has wasted so many hours of my life. But they were well spent. Everything is balanced, maps are perfect. Best Call of Duty.
  43. Feb 3, 2014
    9
    Story: 8 out of 10
    Graphics: 10 out of 10
    Fun: 10 out of 10
    Controls: 9 out of 10
    Ease to Learn: 7 out of 10
    Length: 10 out of 10
    Re-play: 10 out of 10
    Value: 10 out of 10
  44. Mar 30, 2014
    10
    The best game in the the entire "Call of Duty" franchise. It's all down hill from here. Perfect simple gameplay, solid graphics, incredible multiplayer.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 44
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 44
  3. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. 94
    Though the single-player lacks length, the multiplayer should keep you invested in COD4 for the long winter. This is a truly fantastic multiplayer offering that's as deep as any other online game available.
  2. 100
    One of the best military shooters to date, with enough realism to make you feel like you're right on the battlefield. The visuals look amazingly life-like, unmatched by other PlayStation 3 efforts. The gameplay feels familiar, and at the same time refreshing and exciting.
  3. 95
    With proven mechanics, brilliant visuals and sound, a satisfying campaign, and robust multiplayer, COD4 is one of the best FPS packages of the year -- no small feat, considering the competition.