User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 979 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 82 out of 979
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DarylL.
    Nov 23, 2007
    9
    Well its just awesome really. This is without a doubt the best game out on the PS3 at the moment and it was well worth the wait. The whole CoD series have been great and with the fourth installment going 'modern' i am very relieved they haven't spoilt the game in anyway. The graphics, sound, story and gameplay are great but what impressed me the most personally was the AI. Well its just awesome really. This is without a doubt the best game out on the PS3 at the moment and it was well worth the wait. The whole CoD series have been great and with the fourth installment going 'modern' i am very relieved they haven't spoilt the game in anyway. The graphics, sound, story and gameplay are great but what impressed me the most personally was the AI. The AI is so good and aggresive you'll almost think your playing humans players. The only reason for me why it doesnt score the perfect 10 is because the single player campaign could have been longer. But at least they made up for it with a great and wide variety online mode. Expand
  2. DanC.
    Dec 21, 2007
    10
    Its a perfect war game and never gets dull unless youve played the presige mode more than 10 times.
  3. WilsonR.
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    It is the best shooting game ever! It is so much fun!
  4. ChrisR.
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    I am in love! It has such great gameplay! 60 fps with my HD TV! Oh, and it looks better than the one my friend has for 360. Glad they built each game from the ground up for each platform...PS3 rules them all
  5. DiegoF.
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    This game makes me feel like the PS3 was a great investment! The graphics are sick! Everyone with a PS3 GET THIS!
  6. JustinP.
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    I love this game yo! It exciting all the time..... and not boring. Thats the reason for a ten out ten. It looks very nice. Best looking console game yet. Halo looks stupid and lame compared to this. SINCE HALO 3 SUCKED! PS3 is awesome.
  7. ThomasD.
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    great game...thats all I have to say about that...haha
  8. PompusF.
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    Feels like the first time I'm ever playing a next gen game! It is better than all other game out now....including Halo.
  9. Sep 6, 2010
    10
    This highly addictive FPS has a fantastic single player campaign and a incredibly addictive multi-player keeping you glued to your gaming chairs for as long as you like. This game is well know for its single player and how great it is, so no surprises for me to give this game the full, 10/10.
  10. Sep 26, 2010
    10
    This game is awesome, its one of my favourites for this generation. I personally like its blend of realism, and arcade action. The campaign's mission structure is very varied and tense. It's short, yes, but i measure quality, not quantity. The online is very fun, and could keep you satisfied for a long time.
  11. Sep 20, 2010
    10
    This is without a doubt the greatest FPS ever. Halo 3 can't touch it. In terms of fantastic gameplay, and balance it is all there. The campaign is the most engrossing 7 hours of a multiplayer campaign game ever. Call of Duty 4 also has some of the best gametypes like Domination, Search and Destroy, ]sabotage, Ground war, Cage match, hardcore headquarters. The list goes on and on. The onlyThis is without a doubt the greatest FPS ever. Halo 3 can't touch it. In terms of fantastic gameplay, and balance it is all there. The campaign is the most engrossing 7 hours of a multiplayer campaign game ever. Call of Duty 4 also has some of the best gametypes like Domination, Search and Destroy, ]sabotage, Ground war, Cage match, hardcore headquarters. The list goes on and on. The only reason you can give under a 9 is because you suck at the game. It punishes the players in terms of spawn trapping in dom, and sabotage, and constantly watching your teammates in Search and HQ. However, if you're a debby downer, you can find small faults, but the gameplay completely obliterates any complaints. The graphics are fantastic for 2007, and humming at 60 frames per second allows you to whip around and move very fluidly. The guns are all fun to use, and its pretty easy to part up and own in public matches, not to mention it is probably the best competitive game ever. The ridiculously addictive upgrade system plus ten prestiging means you probably will spend about 15 days to fully rank and prestige up, and of course you don't have to prestige. Especially now that its 20 dollars its honestly the best value for a video game probably ever. Also this game does a good job of allowing new players to get into the fold, while still allowing good layers to dominate. Expand
  12. Oct 5, 2010
    9
    I'm not new to shooter games, when i played COD4 on my PS3, the single player was simply amazing, very addictive, and very modern and believable. The graphics are simply amazing, realistic, and the game is very fast paced action.There was an issue with the online multiplayer side, i had to disable my UPNP on my router and open ports in order to get the game to connect online, which wasI'm not new to shooter games, when i played COD4 on my PS3, the single player was simply amazing, very addictive, and very modern and believable. The graphics are simply amazing, realistic, and the game is very fast paced action.There was an issue with the online multiplayer side, i had to disable my UPNP on my router and open ports in order to get the game to connect online, which was the only reason the game got a 9. The game is kinda hard for someone new to 3rd person shooters, as you can die the moment you spawn after death, and the air strikes can be quite hard to deal with too. But i won't give the game a bad score due to player error, the only thing missing was the option to search for specific people like you can do on steam. Expand
  13. Nov 10, 2010
    10
    This is the best FPS ive played the SP is very good I liked the story alot just dissapointed about the ending, the graphics are awesome and the multiplayer is also extremely fun.
  14. Dec 26, 2010
    9
    This game was the most memorable FPS I ever played. I previously did not like COD series due to the linear nature of the game. If you played one level you had played them all, an endless wave of bad guys and eventually you kill enough and press forward you will pass the level. With COD4 the game play became more varied, there were quite a few "moments" in the game that just blew youThis game was the most memorable FPS I ever played. I previously did not like COD series due to the linear nature of the game. If you played one level you had played them all, an endless wave of bad guys and eventually you kill enough and press forward you will pass the level. With COD4 the game play became more varied, there were quite a few "moments" in the game that just blew you away, like nothing I'd ever experienced before. Still some much of the same from the series but the modern era and a few wow moments and the game became something special. Multiplayer was a game changer. The perk and leveling system was the greatest to date and had so much replay value I never took it out of my console until the sequel came out. I really had that much fun playing it!! I'd rate the game 94 out of 100 only deducting for the single player still being a somewhat linear progression, but the multiplayer was the best fun I'd had in some time. Expand
  15. Mar 24, 2011
    9
    This game is still extremely fun to play, even four years after its release. You can pick this up with Modern Warfare 2 in a combo pack for $44 which is a great deal for a lot of fun. I admit, most of the time I'm running around like a chicken with my head cut-off, and the story is somewhat confusing, but I'm having a lot of fun doing it.
  16. [Anonymous]
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    It is perfect and the best in the series yet!
  17. MattM.
    Dec 6, 2007
    10
    This game is absolutely incredible. Before this COD 3 was my favorite PS3 game, but now this has taken over. In the reviews that I've read everyone is focusing on the non-multiplayer aspect of the game, which is ridiculous. I have not devoted more than 3 hours to the single player mode of COD 3 and 4 combined. The real fun and the real action is online. COD 4 offers the best online This game is absolutely incredible. Before this COD 3 was my favorite PS3 game, but now this has taken over. In the reviews that I've read everyone is focusing on the non-multiplayer aspect of the game, which is ridiculous. I have not devoted more than 3 hours to the single player mode of COD 3 and 4 combined. The real fun and the real action is online. COD 4 offers the best online FPS experience for the PS3. Expand
  18. JerryM.
    Oct 29, 2007
    10
    The graphics and gameplay is SICK! Must have!
  19. BobP.
    Oct 29, 2007
    10
    Best game bar none! I never had a slow point and multiplayer was the best ever on a system!
  20. MichaelG.
    Oct 16, 2008
    10
    There is something about this game that just makes you keep on playing for hours. When it comes to shooters, this is the best game out there. I first of all say it has the best graphics to date, and the guns are just so damn awesome. There isn't any 2 player co-op or 2 player split screen online, which is the only drawback to this spectacular game. The story mode, although short, is There is something about this game that just makes you keep on playing for hours. When it comes to shooters, this is the best game out there. I first of all say it has the best graphics to date, and the guns are just so damn awesome. There isn't any 2 player co-op or 2 player split screen online, which is the only drawback to this spectacular game. The story mode, although short, is extremely fun. The levels feel like you are watching a movie. I got shivers when I was playing the sniper level and the ship level. One other thing I didn't especially like was the fact that you couldn't choose your gun in the campaign mode. I got a little tired of using the M4 so I just swapped guns with a dead guy. The multiplayer is really where this game shines. The ranking system is so cool that it makes you want to play just to get your guy high in rank. The different modes are great as well. All in all, I would say any player would agree that this game was worth every penny. Expand
  21. WarrenC.
    Jan 21, 2008
    10
    It's the closest game to an action movie I've ever played! Simply epic!
  22. MasJ.
    Jan 24, 2008
    10
    It lives up to the hype. I just hope they keep the multiplayer servers online for a long time and add some new maps.
  23. OliverW.
    Jan 28, 2008
    10
    GOTY. Best shooter of all time, competetice multiplayer is fantastic, amazing graphics and sound, amd excellent AI. Campaign is a bit short but online makes up for it
  24. JoshuaM.
    Feb 21, 2008
    10
    Short but very sweet single player campaign. Amazing multiplayer that you can play for hours on end. Production values that are through the roof. 4 words...... I love this game!
  25. MitchW.
    Feb 24, 2008
    9
    Great shooter online group play can be hard to organize and some customizability of the characters would have been nice.
  26. JoelR.
    Apr 17, 2008
    10
    Best first person shooting game I have ever played I don't usually ever play or give first person shooting games a chance but.... I did and now I'm hooked.
  27. JoshuaB.
    Jul 12, 2008
    9
    Before I head on into this mini review I would like to say: I have not obliterated online mode. Reason 1: I got new games. Reason 2: Somestimes it felt like a chore, even though it was fun, it just wasn't right playing it that long. Reason 3: As soon as I completed story mode I started playing other games. O.k, now with the review. Graphics 9/10: Man, can the graphics on this game Before I head on into this mini review I would like to say: I have not obliterated online mode. Reason 1: I got new games. Reason 2: Somestimes it felt like a chore, even though it was fun, it just wasn't right playing it that long. Reason 3: As soon as I completed story mode I started playing other games. O.k, now with the review. Graphics 9/10: Man, can the graphics on this game own. It has a smooth framerate, good animations, and great lighting effects. The character models are good, to, and there is a nice attention to detail. Sound 9/10: The great music rises and lowers throughout the game, pointing out when it is shoot-outs. The sound fx are great to, making realistic noises. Gameplay 9/10: People complain that the game is to short. This doesn't mind me at all. If you ask me, the story is short but extremely sweet. The plot is great, and when you start playing, you realise how good the engine is. A.I's are not in the least way dumb. Whats that you say? Your winging about 'No vehicle bits'. Who cares. Who needs a army truck when you have cinematic gun fights right infront of you. Online is a blast, although hard, too. Overall 9/10: Possibly the most fun I've had on a shooter. Expand
  28. LebT.
    Jul 13, 2008
    9
    Most addictive FPS multi-player I've ever played. The campaign was nothing all that revolutionary besides the great graphics. Crawling through the grass in the ghillie suit all while remaining undetected by your buddies as you line up the perfect head shot has got to be the most gratifying feeling... especially when he yells "WTF dude where were you!?" NO MERCY B*TCHES!
  29. BrentH.
    Aug 13, 2008
    10
    CoD4 is a game with a lot of story. Your world will be rocked in 'Shock And Awe' and 'Aftermath' and you will be playing well into the night in online mode.
  30. HarryB.
    Aug 19, 2008
    9
    Story Mode is excellent and all but it fails to capture the imagination, due to it's tightly scripted events the game is almost dull after the first/second playthrough, with diminishing returns on surprise and awe. But really, aiming with controllers in this game is the best I've ever experienced, really essential for a FPS on console especially when it comes to multiplayer Story Mode is excellent and all but it fails to capture the imagination, due to it's tightly scripted events the game is almost dull after the first/second playthrough, with diminishing returns on surprise and awe. But really, aiming with controllers in this game is the best I've ever experienced, really essential for a FPS on console especially when it comes to multiplayer battles. Yes, multiplayer is where COD4 moves into excellence. Developing ranks and customized accounts makes you stick at it and each kill gives you that little satisfaction. Battles are fast and tactical considerations are essential when separating ok players from the really good ones. Expand
  31. JohnnyL.
    Jan 17, 2009
    9
    This game was FANTASTIC. Gameplay was quick, fast and intense. The campaign was well-crafted in terms of missions, difficulty, and other in-game obstacles you have to face. As I have never played a cod game before, this really grabbed my attention which is why I give it 9/10. The huge range of weapons was also a real highlight, and multiplayer is near perfect in every aspect, though some This game was FANTASTIC. Gameplay was quick, fast and intense. The campaign was well-crafted in terms of missions, difficulty, and other in-game obstacles you have to face. As I have never played a cod game before, this really grabbed my attention which is why I give it 9/10. The huge range of weapons was also a real highlight, and multiplayer is near perfect in every aspect, though some of the perks like "the last stand" really pisses me off (when you get shot by a supposedly dead opponent you'll see why). Expand
  32. ToddC
    May 24, 2009
    10
    Amazing game! Though the other CoD series were great, this managed to go beyond than what I expected Activision to make. The single player had great graphics and awesome action! It had pretty intense shooting with a diverse amount of weapons and mods that created a new experience of fps gaming. Expect some good adrenaline rush from it! For the multiplayer, it has customizable weapons for Amazing game! Though the other CoD series were great, this managed to go beyond than what I expected Activision to make. The single player had great graphics and awesome action! It had pretty intense shooting with a diverse amount of weapons and mods that created a new experience of fps gaming. Expect some good adrenaline rush from it! For the multiplayer, it has customizable weapons for you to choose that can be acquired by leveling up based on experience points gained. There are many weapons to try under different categories (sniper, assault rifle, machine gun, etc.) with some attachments from red dot sight to grenade launcher to silencers. Not only that, weapons can have skins, varying from woodland color scheme to blue tiger stripes! Number of players per server varies, so you may choose for low or high amount of intensity. There are some modded servers, but not as big nor as many as CoD1 and CoD:UO. Each player can have 3 perks that may give some special abilities or items, such as C4 charges, claymores, extra health, longer breaths for steady sniper shots, and longer sprinting time. Overall, it is the best FPS game I've ever played that will last hours and hours of fun if you choose to play multiplayer! I'm not surprised why CoD4 has become to be the top most played FPS pc, xbox, and ps3 game with an impressive high score. Awesome game! Expand
  33. TrentonQ.
    Nov 13, 2007
    9
    Fantastic game, that is almost nearly perfect. At times, the single player mode can be frustrating as some goals are poorly explained, but the overall thought, effort and detail that were input into this game are fantastic. On the plus side, the graphics are incredible, but the lighting could use some more polish. The single player mode is enthralling and action packed, but is over far Fantastic game, that is almost nearly perfect. At times, the single player mode can be frustrating as some goals are poorly explained, but the overall thought, effort and detail that were input into this game are fantastic. On the plus side, the graphics are incredible, but the lighting could use some more polish. The single player mode is enthralling and action packed, but is over far too soon. Just a little more polish and a bit more expansion would make this game a perfect 10, but it's still one of the most solid shooters on the market. Expand
  34. El_CHUYJ
    Nov 14, 2007
    8
    The game is fantastic! but it will not last you a week (even if you don't play every day) this game is great but too too short. Thanks for online gaming.
  35. JohnM.
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    How anyone could give this game a score lower than 9 is beyond me. This game has the most realistic graphics ever. I think this game is a classic that is destined for greatness. The guy that gave it a 0 is nothing but a 360 fanboy and a PS3 hater. In my opinion (i own both consoles) this is the first multiplatform game that looks better on the PS3 than the 360. You cant lose with this title.
  36. anonymous
    Dec 14, 2007
    10
    Best game I have ever played. The story may be short but incredibly fun. Online is the best. There's nothing better than annoying the hell out of someone halfway across the world after knifing them in the back. Don't listen fact's comment, he's just another 360 fanboy.
  37. AaronW.
    Dec 15, 2007
    9
    I think this game is amazing, its single player is lacking in length but it has a definete double playthorugh value. But the online is awsome. Its not too complicated so it intreges u to play it.
  38. JasonW.
    Dec 17, 2007
    10
    easily one of the best fps ever. i play the game on a regular 19" tv, and is easily one of the most realistic games i have ever seen. buy this game!!!
  39. Apr 6, 2011
    9
    The only real problem with Call of Duty 4 is that its singleplayer campaign is quite short. However, because of its powerful story, amazing presentation, smooth mechanics, and addicting multiplayer, Call of Duty 4 Modern Warfare is one of the best shooters around, and is definitely worth playing.
  40. Apr 17, 2011
    9
    This is the first FPS game that started my online shooter addiction. It's fantastic and still holds up over the years. Highly recommended for anyone that loves war games and first person shooter games.
  41. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    I'm laughing at the people who call this 'overrated'. Don't review a first person shooter game when you obviously don't how to rate anything. Call of Duty 4 is the best out of all the COD series, Black Ops, World at War, Modern Warfare 2 simply can't compare.
  42. Aug 26, 2011
    10
    its much better than mw2. more stable matchmaking,gr8 storyline,which helps you to connect with the characters,very addictive multiplayer,gr8 graphics for a game released in '07 and mega longevity. i have spent over 65 hours in multiplayer.. definite buy..
  43. Feb 16, 2013
    9
    The latest Call of Duty games like Modern Warfare 3 and Black Ops 2 are great, but Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare must be recognized as superb. This one really gets into the grittiness of war. The story is very engaging and emotional. I feel as though the stories in MW3 and BO2 are not as good (not that they are bad). And this is the Call of Duty that set the multiplayer foundation of theThe latest Call of Duty games like Modern Warfare 3 and Black Ops 2 are great, but Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare must be recognized as superb. This one really gets into the grittiness of war. The story is very engaging and emotional. I feel as though the stories in MW3 and BO2 are not as good (not that they are bad). And this is the Call of Duty that set the multiplayer foundation of the present Call of Duty games. For that it must not be forgotten. Interestingly, people still play this online. This game is cheap so all by means, go get it. Expand
  44. Jul 18, 2011
    8
    It may be overrated, but that doesn't necessarily mean it's a bad game. The graphics aren't bad, but they aren't great either. The guns feel maybe a bit lightweight but not underpowered and the story, compared to Modern Warfare 2's horrific mess of a narrative is at least sensible and cohesive. Overall it may not be the greatest game of all time but it is fun and definitely better thanIt may be overrated, but that doesn't necessarily mean it's a bad game. The graphics aren't bad, but they aren't great either. The guns feel maybe a bit lightweight but not underpowered and the story, compared to Modern Warfare 2's horrific mess of a narrative is at least sensible and cohesive. Overall it may not be the greatest game of all time but it is fun and definitely better than both MW2 and Black Ops. Expand
  45. Jul 23, 2011
    9
    This game is awesome from the epic story to the addictive mutiplayer. It looks fantastic even now sounds like they actually recorded war and provides me with joy every time I play. It has the best FPS level ever and the hardest. The mutiplayer is fantastic from maps to perks to guns and thats what I found great about the game you fight what a war would be like today not in the 1940's. I loved it
  46. May 22, 2012
    9
    When this game originally came out, it blew my mind. The story and graphics were superb and engaging (especially the "one shot one kill" campaign level). The multiplayer doesn't need to be elaborated on. It was revolutionary, and now you see practically every shooter using some form of version of it's multiplayer custom class layout
  47. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    This game was amazing when I first bought it, got through the intense campaign and proceeded to the muliplayer. This game made me an online gamer. I was playing halo 3 at the time i bought this, and never looked back.
  48. Mar 3, 2012
    10
    Definitely the GREATEST game of all-time. This masterpiece by inifity ward completely revoutionized the online gaming experience while providing one of the best single player campaigns ever. Gameinformer said in their review that cod4 is "One of the absolute best games to grace any platform to date." Some of the best missions were included in this game including All Ghilled Up, theDefinitely the GREATEST game of all-time. This masterpiece by inifity ward completely revoutionized the online gaming experience while providing one of the best single player campaigns ever. Gameinformer said in their review that cod4 is "One of the absolute best games to grace any platform to date." Some of the best missions were included in this game including All Ghilled Up, the greatest sniping mission ever and the greatest mission ever. Playing as the legendly character Captain price under the command of Captian McMillan (actually based on a solider who fought during WWII) and your job is to assassinate somebody. Some other cool missions include 'Death from above' , 'Mile high Club' and 'Sins of our fathers'. That was just the campaign, now the online is what really attracted ALOT of people to the game. The revolutionary online experience included the never before seen kill streak and ranking up system. Along with attactments and camos to your guns and a create a class opionon, people were intstantly amazed at the experience. Expand
  49. May 25, 2012
    8
    This was my last COD game i truly loved. Coming from someone who loved and played COD 1 - 3, COD 4 was a revolution from ww2 settings. I loved the single player and the Multi player in this game. It was original, it was beautiful until they ruined it by making mw2. The multiplayer had given me memories that i could just laugh and smile. Now i look on other COD games in disgrace,they haveThis was my last COD game i truly loved. Coming from someone who loved and played COD 1 - 3, COD 4 was a revolution from ww2 settings. I loved the single player and the Multi player in this game. It was original, it was beautiful until they ruined it by making mw2. The multiplayer had given me memories that i could just laugh and smile. Now i look on other COD games in disgrace,they have really messed up. Expand
  50. Jul 21, 2012
    9
    The single-player campaign is average for a shooter but the online multiplayer mode is the best there ever was. Whether it was the standard of opposition or the fact that nearly every gamer in the world was playing, this game will forever stand in history as the first great online, multiplayer game of the new generation consoles.
  51. Aug 13, 2012
    9
    Call of Duty 4 is the best COD game. It haves a great multiplayer and a fantastic single player. Believe me, you will be playing this game for years. The story mode is short, but this game may have the best story mode for shooters. Is a must have for all gamers. 96 out of 100
  52. Mar 24, 2013
    8
    8-Presentation; The story is well written, and the menu's are well laid out.
    8-Graphics; Looks great, but not revolutionary
    9-Sound; The guns, music, and voice acting are amazing. 9-Game play; The levels are well designed, the ai is great, and the mechanics and controls are excellent. 8-Lasting appeal; Single player is short, but plenty of unlockables and multiplayer make up for that
    8-Presentation; The story is well written, and the menu's are well laid out.
    8-Graphics; Looks great, but not revolutionary
    9-Sound; The guns, music, and voice acting are amazing.
    9-Game play; The levels are well designed, the ai is great, and the mechanics and controls are excellent.
    8-Lasting appeal; Single player is short, but plenty of unlockables and multiplayer make up for that deficit.
    Overall-8.5/10
    Expand
  53. Sep 17, 2012
    10
    The story is the best in the series and that also goes for MP. This game defined what COD could do and for the next generation of gaming we need a remake for this game. I love this game so much I own it on both 360 and PS3.
  54. Oct 29, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I think it's the best Call of Duty i have ever played on my whole life World At War was the same as Call of Duty 4 - Modern Warfare 2 was a fail game and Black Ops was not so fail.I think Call of Duty 4 is the best from every cod i have ever played in my life Expand
  55. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    This was an amazing game. It's a shame things went downhill after MW2 when they started adding unnecessary crap that over-complicated the game and made it really rage-inducing. The simplicity of this game is really what makes it phenomenal. It is almost entirely free of bull$hit. The only thing about this game that pisses me off, other than the technical issues, is Martyrdom. But otherThis was an amazing game. It's a shame things went downhill after MW2 when they started adding unnecessary crap that over-complicated the game and made it really rage-inducing. The simplicity of this game is really what makes it phenomenal. It is almost entirely free of bull$hit. The only thing about this game that pisses me off, other than the technical issues, is Martyrdom. But other than that, it is close to flawless. The maps are great, the gameplay is nice and fast-paced, the weapon balance is as close to perfection as any CoD game has ever been, and it is just overall a joy to play. Second to World at War as my favourite Call of Duty game. Expand
  56. Dec 23, 2012
    9
    Honestly out of all the games in this series this game did everything right. The multiplayer and singleplayer are both fun and engaging not too gimmicky and easy to get into. This games multiplayer alone is my favorite in the series it's simple the basic objective is to win the focus is less on killstreaks cause their are only about 3 and at the time it was a new concept and so it wasn'tHonestly out of all the games in this series this game did everything right. The multiplayer and singleplayer are both fun and engaging not too gimmicky and easy to get into. This games multiplayer alone is my favorite in the series it's simple the basic objective is to win the focus is less on killstreaks cause their are only about 3 and at the time it was a new concept and so it wasn't overdone the focus was more gun on gun gameplay which is awesome. Weapon balance in multiplayer is also good gun choice comes down to what you like and whatever your good with as opposed to future games in the series that have a select few weapons that are clearly better than the others. Overall to me this game is amazing and worth the single player campaign alone which by it self is very engrossing and engaging you feel like your role is important and it's not overly cinematic so yeah if your interested check it out! Expand
  57. Aug 23, 2014
    8
    Quite Overrated but still a great game, COD4 manages to have a solid campaign and a revolutionary multiplayer that is so much fun to play. Near flawless game with the exception of a few multiplayer maps and perks.
  58. Jan 12, 2013
    9
    Basing this review on how CoD 4 matured, I have to say that it is unlike any other CoD. This CoD has the most replay-ability when it comes to playing WELL (not having fun). The sublime quality of the Campaign and Multiplayer in this particular game just about make up for there not really being much to do. It is quite a feat that CoD 4 remains such a positive CoD baring in mind the baseBasing this review on how CoD 4 matured, I have to say that it is unlike any other CoD. This CoD has the most replay-ability when it comes to playing WELL (not having fun). The sublime quality of the Campaign and Multiplayer in this particular game just about make up for there not really being much to do. It is quite a feat that CoD 4 remains such a positive CoD baring in mind the base game only has the following: -21 Campaign missions; squeezing out as much fun as you can isn't too hard. I usually reminisce at the very environments Infinity Ward depicted. Specifically, the Chernobyl area. The stealth missions are a masterpiece (WHY ARE THEY BARELY SEEN IN MODERN FPS CAMPAIGNS THESE DAYS?#. Expand
  59. Jul 10, 2014
    9
    Story:
    Modern Warfare puts you as "Soap" from the SAS and Paul Jackson from the marines with the goal of stopping a civil war that imploded in Russia. Although the story is weak compared to today's standard, back when this game came out in 2007, its story was groundbreaking mostly due to how it was one of the first modern military shooters to come out. Because of how most of shooters that
    Story:
    Modern Warfare puts you as "Soap" from the SAS and Paul Jackson from the marines with the goal of stopping a civil war that imploded in Russia. Although the story is weak compared to today's standard, back when this game came out in 2007, its story was groundbreaking mostly due to how it was one of the first modern military shooters to come out. Because of how most of shooters that were released before COD4 were WW2 shooters, COD4 was groundbraking in story, gameplay, and multiplayer because of its modern setting. Some of the side characters are good and have some good radio-chatter, the antagonist (although cliched) has a good backstory (which also leads to one of Call of Duty's best missions ever), and both playable protagonist are mute (Perfect :D). Even though no one talks about COD4's story today, you still have to give IW props for thinking outside the box with storytelling back when this came out. 8/10

    Gameplay:
    A lot of the common CoD SP cliches started here. Some include: Dumb A.I., Michael Bay set-pieces, easy-to-use guns with no recoil in them, a few stealth segments sprinkled here and there, a vehicle mission, slow-mo sections, and sniping. The 1 thing this CoD had that no other CoD has to this day are cheats. You unlock cheats by collecting intel, and this was the only time I wanted to collect cheats outside of trophies collecting (please bring them back). Just like with the story, even though these features are cliche now, back in 07 these were innovating. So give IW credit for creating these before they became cliched. 8/10

    Graphics:
    Because of its 07 release, and because of how the previous CoDs looked, CoD 4's graphics were innovating back then. Even to this day, these graphics don't look bad on PC. 7/10

    Sound:
    Just like in graphics, the sounds of gun shots, vehicles, radio chatter, and explosives were new back in 07, so at least appreciate that. 7/10

    Multiplayer:
    This was by far the biggest change to happen in CoD4 due to how much they added. This was the 1st CoD to add create-a-class, perks, (pre-set) killstreaks, mini-map, camos, challenges, prestige mode, and attachments. Another big thing was how balanced the guns were back then (except martydom and last stand :( ). I find it hilarious how CoD4 has more balance then some of the newer CoDs. The only bad thing about the multiplayer is how it's filled with hackers, glitches, exploits, and that it's been abandoned. Good luck getting into a good match since most of the time, there will be a hacker there. It's sad to see such a classic multiplayer like this get ruined by the community. R.I.P. CoD 4 multiplayer. (07 rating: 10/10). Current Rating: 4/10

    Verdict:
    Back in 2007, this CoD was ground-breaking. They added so many new features and mechanics that it's disappointing to see how far it dropped. If this were 2007, I'd recommend you buy this game ASAP, But now, just rent it. I'm still gonna give this game it's 2007 rating, but I'm not saying buy it now. The game's dead.
    Expand
  60. Feb 18, 2013
    10
    I'm going to be straight to the point here. I thought I was going to hate this game because I used to see COD as an overrated overhyped series that was no good and boring. How wrong I was. I remember first playind COD4: MW. I had just come home from school and my dad had recieved a package from ebay and he showed me it was a copy of the game of the year edition and I wondered as I knew heI'm going to be straight to the point here. I thought I was going to hate this game because I used to see COD as an overrated overhyped series that was no good and boring. How wrong I was. I remember first playind COD4: MW. I had just come home from school and my dad had recieved a package from ebay and he showed me it was a copy of the game of the year edition and I wondered as I knew he already had a copy of this game and he said that it didnt work and said I could try it. Well, I'd just finished playing Assassin's Creed 1 and thought, what the Hell? So I stuck it in expecting it to not work, but it did, turns out there was a small loading error in my dad's ps3, but back to me. The opening cutscene came and I shouted OMG! Then I started to play the game. THe gameplay was perfect and accurate, the story was perfect, the graphics were godsent and the multiplayer was amazing. This is my second favourite game on the ps3 and probably in general. The only thing that lets it down is the story is too short and if it would of been longer by about 4 hours and the server wouldn't crash as often, I would of give it a 100. But I would give Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare a 96. Expand
  61. ERB
    Dec 23, 2013
    10
    This is the BEST game on the PS3.Call Of Duty 4:Modern Warfare is a great game with It's awesome multiplayer and even the single player.This game's single player campaign is fun and enjoyable.The multiplayer is the best part in the game.You can play multiplayer activities like free for all and even team deathmatch.This game is both awesome in the single player campaign and multiplayerThis is the BEST game on the PS3.Call Of Duty 4:Modern Warfare is a great game with It's awesome multiplayer and even the single player.This game's single player campaign is fun and enjoyable.The multiplayer is the best part in the game.You can play multiplayer activities like free for all and even team deathmatch.This game is both awesome in the single player campaign and multiplayer gameplay.That is why you should buy this game.This game is awesome and it is highly recommended for you to play this game and try it out!It is fun. Expand
  62. Oct 9, 2013
    8
    A quality game in the long series, CoD 4 delivers well on a notably interesting campaign that actually makes sense, as well as a very solid multi-player.
  63. Sep 28, 2013
    9
    EN: Outstanding campaign, plenty of variety and chaotic combats make of COD 4: Modern Warfare the best game of the series.
    PT-BR: Campanha excelente, muita variedade e combates caóticos fazem de COD 4: Modern Warfare o melhor jogo da série.
  64. Jul 24, 2013
    10
    LOVE LOVE LOVE that this is single player friendly. I never felt bored or like i was missing out on a vital part of the game by not playing the online story. I purchased a replica gun from the game that is an airsoft gun and i use it when i go airsofting! I got it here: http://www.airsplat.com/call-of-duty-4.htm
  65. Sep 16, 2013
    10
    How on Earth do people give this mixed reviews? This is a fantastic game, the campaign and multiplayer are both outstanding. There's simply no other game that matches Cod4
  66. Nov 7, 2014
    9
    Jump starting the Call of Duty phenomenon, "Modern Warfare" is one of the best modern shooters to be found, even 7 years after its release. Single player contains a very interesting plot, multiple locations and a wide array of mission variety. Packaged with a robust multiplayer that forces you to stay up past midnight with its addictive scoring system and class customization, this is oneJump starting the Call of Duty phenomenon, "Modern Warfare" is one of the best modern shooters to be found, even 7 years after its release. Single player contains a very interesting plot, multiple locations and a wide array of mission variety. Packaged with a robust multiplayer that forces you to stay up past midnight with its addictive scoring system and class customization, this is one of the most solid shooter out there.

    Full the full review, check out "BathroomGamers" on YouTube :)
    Expand
  67. Apr 11, 2016
    10
    Pure greatness at it's best but there are still lag and balancing problems and the story gets a bit bare but...no spoilers here great game but the minor flaws keep it form being a 9/10 game on a percent scale i would give it a 98%
  68. Nov 5, 2013
    9
    Addicting Multiplayer, Epic Campaign, whats better? This game has wasted so many hours of my life. But they were well spent. Everything is balanced, maps are perfect. Best Call of Duty.
  69. Feb 3, 2014
    9
    Story: 8 out of 10
    Graphics: 10 out of 10
    Fun: 10 out of 10
    Controls: 9 out of 10
    Ease to Learn: 7 out of 10
    Length: 10 out of 10
    Re-play: 10 out of 10
    Value: 10 out of 10
  70. Nov 26, 2013
    8
    Call of Duty 4. In the old days this game was a legend, it still is, the graphics were superb, the fun was amazing, the gun choices were outstanding, the streaks were something new, and the ability to meet people would shared the same interests as you did at that time made the game pretty fun. That was then, now we got, hacking lobbies, some sort of zombies mode type deal, and pretty muchCall of Duty 4. In the old days this game was a legend, it still is, the graphics were superb, the fun was amazing, the gun choices were outstanding, the streaks were something new, and the ability to meet people would shared the same interests as you did at that time made the game pretty fun. That was then, now we got, hacking lobbies, some sort of zombies mode type deal, and pretty much the updated era of gaming has taken over this game in its entirety. Oh wait I never mentioned cage match boosting earlier when I was talking about why this game was great, add that to the list. I gave this game a solid 8, because there was no 8.5, because it just is, really its not perfect nowadays and it wasn't at the time but no game really, IS TRULY perfect. Another reason why is because of delayed hit markers, no host migration, and the ability to be struck down by any with a hacking mod, if you were to go play the game right now. The maps could have been bigger, and just conclusively the mics could have worked way better. I mean the mic system in COD4 had extreme lag and sometimes you couldn't even get out what you wanted to say without giving the mic a good blow to initiate the symbol on the screen( this could have just been me ,I don't know). Anyway, yeah great game, some really good stuff and some really okay stuff, but overall its safe to say this game was the best thing I have put in my disc drive around 2007, it changed my gaming experience forever. Expand
  71. Apr 12, 2016
    8
    El shooter que dejó marcado el camino a seguir a los FPS de hoy en día. Call of Duty 4 hoy en día posee uno de los multiplayers más adictivos y divertidos de todos los FPS con un sistema sencillo de rachas, ventajas,... nos presentó un multiplayer muy satisfactorio y con una gran cantidad de modos de juego que nos sigue encantando hoy en día después de 9 años.
  72. Mar 13, 2014
    8
    COD 4 is a pretty good game for shooters that is. One the first big shooters to come out for PS3. The graphics this day are still decent and game plays well. I enjoyed the story and extra missions you could do as a challenge. The best part of this game hands down is the online. Great matchmaking and online maps and a great and long leveling up system that make you want to continue playing.
  73. Jan 9, 2015
    10
    This, is without a single doubt, the greatest FPS, CoD and PS3 game ever made.

    Pros: The gameplay is stunning, the controls are extremely responsive and I never felt frustrated with them at any time. The Single Player campaign is, to put it bluntly, epic. The story was very interesting, the characters were memorable and there were some awesome sequences that I will remember forever.
    This, is without a single doubt, the greatest FPS, CoD and PS3 game ever made.

    Pros:
    The gameplay is stunning, the controls are extremely responsive and I never felt frustrated with them at any time.
    The Single Player campaign is, to put it bluntly, epic. The story was very interesting, the characters were memorable and there were some awesome sequences that I will remember forever.
    The Multiplayer, even now, is spectacular and is definitely the best half of the game. There are so many game modes to choose from and so many people to play with. This game will be 8 years old this year and it is still not old!

    Cons (Very Minor):
    As the game came out in 2007, the graphics don't exactly look stunning today, the game does look dated on PS3. I am sure this is the same case with the 360 and PC versions.

    Overall, this is the best game I have played on the PS3 and if you have or if you are going to get a PS3 or 360, definitely give this game a go!

    10/10 (Because who cares about graphics? (Everyone))
    Expand
  74. Mar 30, 2014
    10
    The best game in the the entire "Call of Duty" franchise. It's all down hill from here. Perfect simple gameplay, solid graphics, incredible multiplayer.
  75. May 3, 2014
    8
    Visually perfect for his time and perfect controls this call of duty is one of the best.The campaign is just awesome.The bad thing about this one is the multiplayer mode.
  76. Sep 7, 2014
    9
    The best of the best Modern warfare is the monument of FPS. This game contains reason for me and gamers everywhere to exist. One of the best FPS i've played in a LONG time and it's defiantly here to stay.

    also:
    -good graphics
    -great campaign
    -great multiplayer
    -could use a little more dynamic features
    overal an amazing slightly old FPS 9/10
  77. Oct 12, 2014
    10
    I like this game so much and i rated this game 9.9/10.This game is amazing to play at home.i like the graphics,campaign,challenges,multiplayer and the weapons.

    i played this game on 2009 and it was so much fun to play this game.
  78. Nov 3, 2014
    9
    I personally put this somewhere in my top ten favorite games ever. The campaign, although it has a main villain, manages to focus just enough on the actual war going on to where it feels like a plausible story, something the sequels, and other future Call of Duty games in general, (The exception being Black Ops 2) fail to do. However, the multiplayer for this game is what gave the seriesI personally put this somewhere in my top ten favorite games ever. The campaign, although it has a main villain, manages to focus just enough on the actual war going on to where it feels like a plausible story, something the sequels, and other future Call of Duty games in general, (The exception being Black Ops 2) fail to do. However, the multiplayer for this game is what gave the series its fame. And boy, does it show. This is still one of the more fun Call of Duty multiplayers (is that even a word?) to play. Every weapon is perfectly balanced, aiming and shooting feels satisfying, and sniping is, simply put, perfect. If you are one of those people who jump on the CoD hate bandwagon, or one of those ignorant people who think all Call of Duties are crap without having played all of them, I strongly recommend you go and play this game. It may just change your opinion on the series.

    The site won't allow me to rate it like this, but I give it a 9.7/10
    Expand
  79. Sep 23, 2014
    10
    Arguably the game which defined a generation. A compelling single player campaign, including one of the best FPS missions created in 'All Ghillied Up', gears you up for one of the best online experiences ever had. Tremendous maps and more about gunplay than killstreak gimmicks demonstrated why this launched Call of Duty into a world phenomenon.
  80. Oct 25, 2014
    9
    This game is truly awesome. The game is made very nicely and I love it.It is very good for 2007. It has a very good story mode. But its multiplayer gaming is not so good.This is the best story mode so far after batman Arkham City and Watch dogs.
  81. Jul 3, 2015
    10
    COD4 is still the best COD made. It has the best campaign along with MW2. The multiplayer is amazing. MP is great for public matches as well as an eSports game.

    (I got this game in 2009, I'm just now writing the review)
  82. Feb 23, 2015
    8
    There are a lot of campaign missions on this that I remember like "All Ghillied Up" which I freaking loved. This is the first Call of Duty that really started it all.
  83. Nov 20, 2015
    9
    Still to this day, no other Call of Duty has come close to this one. Best story and best multiplayer. Gee, can you believe it has been 8 years already?
  84. May 7, 2016
    8
    Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is a first-person shooter video game developed by Infinity Ward and published by Activision.

    + Good Campaing
    + Excellent Multiplayer
  85. Mar 24, 2015
    8
    With the gaming world now enjoying gritty shooters and murdering sprees as opposed to games that may look kiddy but play amazingly, it's only natural that I step into the Call of Duty series. I'm starting with this one but I may go back to the old ones. I'll admit that the game exceeded my expectations with its in-depth story mode and engaging multiplayer. There's a lot to do here (whichWith the gaming world now enjoying gritty shooters and murdering sprees as opposed to games that may look kiddy but play amazingly, it's only natural that I step into the Call of Duty series. I'm starting with this one but I may go back to the old ones. I'll admit that the game exceeded my expectations with its in-depth story mode and engaging multiplayer. There's a lot to do here (which is never a complaint for me) and I do enjoy the war-like atmosphere. Nothing spectacular but it's a fine game. Expand
  86. Jan 6, 2016
    9
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare changed the spectrum of first person shooters for almost a decade. A gripping story mode, which ran almost as one of the best action films to date, was challenging and had you on side with Soap and Captain Price from the very off. It's innovations on the multiplayer half of the game is what truly put it on the map however. With great maps to play on, an awesomeCall of Duty: Modern Warfare changed the spectrum of first person shooters for almost a decade. A gripping story mode, which ran almost as one of the best action films to date, was challenging and had you on side with Soap and Captain Price from the very off. It's innovations on the multiplayer half of the game is what truly put it on the map however. With great maps to play on, an awesome range of weapons to use, and mostly balanced gameplay, this game would serve as the first real first person shooter. Expand
  87. Oct 13, 2015
    10
    Ok the game's graphics are kind of bad but it was released in 2007 so I didn't expect better graphics.It is the Call Of Duty with the strongest story.The characters make you feel things about them.My favorite characters are Soap and Prce which are the most bad ass videogame characters . I reccomend to anyone who is new to FPSs
  88. Sep 18, 2015
    10
    If you had any skill in the FPS arena, this is the game that changed it all. Nothing quite as polished has been seen since, but our skills have grown and we have grown tired of the repetitive iterations. I learned to hate the cheaters, learned to maneuver the 3d landscape in first person, and for the first time understood the power of the keyboard and mouse.
  89. Nov 11, 2015
    9
    It has a perfect balance between intense gameplay and a well written story. It has its flaws but great moments make up for it that will last in our memories forever, which makes this one of the greatest first person shooters in gaming history.
  90. Apr 9, 2016
    10
    A game that changed gaming for the better great Graphics for 2007 great story and a brilliant multiplayer. I would say the game is good and would be a good starter Call of Duty for a kid not being as violent as the sequels. Overall Call of Duty 4 Modern Warfare is good in all aspects and should be played by very one a true classic and very realistic and original. 100/100
  91. Aug 16, 2016
    8
    Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is a first-person shooter video game developed by Infinity Ward and published by Activision.

    + Good Campaing
    + Excellent Multiplayer
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 44
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 44
  3. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. 94
    Though the single-player lacks length, the multiplayer should keep you invested in COD4 for the long winter. This is a truly fantastic multiplayer offering that's as deep as any other online game available.
  2. 100
    One of the best military shooters to date, with enough realism to make you feel like you're right on the battlefield. The visuals look amazingly life-like, unmatched by other PlayStation 3 efforts. The gameplay feels familiar, and at the same time refreshing and exciting.
  3. 95
    With proven mechanics, brilliant visuals and sound, a satisfying campaign, and robust multiplayer, COD4 is one of the best FPS packages of the year -- no small feat, considering the competition.