User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1008 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 15, 2011
    9
    Pure greatness at it's best but there are still lag and balancing problems and the story gets a bit bare but...no spoilers here great game but the minor flaws keep it form being a 9/10 game on a percent scale i would give it a 98%
  2. DeonM.
    Jun 25, 2008
    9
    The best First Person shooter ever- if you haven't played this game -get it and play it now- best physics, best graphics, realistic and just downright fun. Best enjoyed with a big ass screen and a few friends in multiplayer, cant wait for the sequel.....
  3. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    I'm laughing at the people who call this 'overrated'. Don't review a first person shooter game when you obviously don't how to rate anything. Call of Duty 4 is the best out of all the COD series, Black Ops, World at War, Modern Warfare 2 simply can't compare.
  4. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Out of all of the Modern shooters, Call of Duty 4 still stands as the strongest and most innovative of the bunch. The gameplay is streamlined, approachable, yet takes skill and patience to master. The storyline at the time of its release was great. There's not much to complain about this game except for the glitchers who have taken over in the last year.
  5. Dec 17, 2011
    9
    This and cod2 are the best cods i played.This game is overall amazing. Campiagn was pretty good and the mulitplayer was great. the only thing i hate about online is that i sometimes keep lagging. still it is a good game.
  6. Nov 11, 2011
    7
    Started following CoD since the first instalment and have spent many hours of my life cursing and ranting at my television screen, but have enjoyed doing so. I was really looking forward to MW3 until I saw that it looked pretty much exactly the same as MW2. Having played it, it plays more like CoD 4 than MW2 but it's the same game you know and love (or hate). It' not a bad game by anyStarted following CoD since the first instalment and have spent many hours of my life cursing and ranting at my television screen, but have enjoyed doing so. I was really looking forward to MW3 until I saw that it looked pretty much exactly the same as MW2. Having played it, it plays more like CoD 4 than MW2 but it's the same game you know and love (or hate). It' not a bad game by any means, it's multiplayer is quite solid, Im just disappointed that there hasn't been any genuine innovation. Having said that, I think this is the last game that IW/Treyarch will be able to make the same as it's predecessors and get away with. Expand
  7. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    Man, when this game came out I was in shock how good it was! I loved everything about it! Multiplayer was new and refreshing! Single player was great. One of the best shooters ever if you ask me. I owned it on all three platforms!
  8. Aug 9, 2012
    10
    This is the game were you feel yourself like a soldier and it involves you with it. I bought it and end it just after 3 days because one can go out after end...... one after another and then next .... Very good game.
  9. Mar 27, 2013
    9
    I'm changing my score my score from a 7 to a 9, now i've played this game for awhile and i decided it a great game. even tried the multiplayer. so heres my new review.

    Call of duty 4 i think is maybe slightly overated it should get just a 90, thats good enough to me. the thing i don't like is that the PS3 version has no vibration not sure why, but it doesn't. The campaign is mostly good
    I'm changing my score my score from a 7 to a 9, now i've played this game for awhile and i decided it a great game. even tried the multiplayer. so heres my new review.

    Call of duty 4 i think is maybe slightly overated it should get just a 90, thats good enough to me. the thing i don't like is that the PS3 version has no vibration not sure why, but it doesn't. The campaign is mostly good some parts might just keep you hooked, while some parts are a bit dull. The multiplayer is fun. it's not better than the multiplayer we see in call of duty games today, but the new multiplayer can get tiring sometimes, and you might be tempted to come play this classic again.
    Expand
  10. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    Call of Duty 4 is an epic adventure. The campaign is filled with action and a very memorable story. There was so much variety with each mission. The multiplayer was without a doubt the best online experience I have ever had. It was so simple just shoot people with guns and get killstreaks. But the simplistic style of Cod 4's multiplayer is where it shines. Call of Duty is getting moreCall of Duty 4 is an epic adventure. The campaign is filled with action and a very memorable story. There was so much variety with each mission. The multiplayer was without a doubt the best online experience I have ever had. It was so simple just shoot people with guns and get killstreaks. But the simplistic style of Cod 4's multiplayer is where it shines. Call of Duty is getting more worse when each game gets released. I hope one day Call of Duty goes back to this style of a game. 9/10. Expand
  11. May 31, 2013
    10
    This was the first time Iv'e a CoD game that isn't still in the WWII era and it's a great one so far! The graphics are superb, single-player story is good, and the MP is just flawless! This is the best CoD game ever created in years!
  12. Feb 3, 2014
    9
    Story: 8 out of 10
    Graphics: 10 out of 10
    Fun: 10 out of 10
    Controls: 9 out of 10
    Ease to Learn: 7 out of 10
    Length: 10 out of 10
    Re-play: 10 out of 10
    Value: 10 out of 10
  13. Jan 21, 2011
    10
    Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is quite a good game, it is a single player campaign but you can go online and join games with other people and play against them. The player goes through a lot of missions and there is quite a lot of killing involved in the game. You can unlock more levels but as you play your way through the game is gets harder and harder, also that you can unlock moreCall of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is quite a good game, it is a single player campaign but you can go online and join games with other people and play against them. The player goes through a lot of missions and there is quite a lot of killing involved in the game. You can unlock more levels but as you play your way through the game is gets harder and harder, also that you can unlock more weapons e.g. AK47, Rocket launcher, Sniper and many more. All the weapons have different types of use, for instant you can get the Rocket launcher in different types, heat seeker, target mover and a lot more. This game is quite addictive because the more you play the more you want to carry on, I think that this Modern Warfare 4 is better than all the other games, because one minuite your in a killing zone were your just about to loose your life and the next your in a battle field shooting somebody else. When you play on multiplayer you get a wide variety of weapons to choose from but if your playing on your own in campaign then you have to unlock the weapons one by one but its well worth the wait because then its fun killing your enemies. Overall I think that this game is good and most of the people that play this game will rate it ten out of ten. It will keep you busy for a long time! Expand
  14. kevinm
    Jan 1, 2010
    9
    campaign kicks ass but i can sit for hours and not play a game online your server sucks it never lets me play more then a few minutes and get kicked to the main menu . It pisses me off i spend 60 bucks to just wait and wait to get connected i like the game but it laggs alot online
  15. MW3
    Jan 18, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best games ever
    !!!!! Dont even bother to read the bad reviews because they're probably some battlefield fans .i just got this game like 4 days ago and i love the campaign so far
  16. JackT.
    Nov 26, 2008
    5
    Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is VERY, VERY linear and boring game. The campaign is BAD and very short. When you shoot people you don't have that great feel like in Resistance: FoM and Resistance 2. Only good part in this game is the graphics. Well, music is good, but there are only like 5 min of it... So overrated online mode, which is good, but absolutely not great. No variety at Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is VERY, VERY linear and boring game. The campaign is BAD and very short. When you shoot people you don't have that great feel like in Resistance: FoM and Resistance 2. Only good part in this game is the graphics. Well, music is good, but there are only like 5 min of it... So overrated online mode, which is good, but absolutely not great. No variety at all and the only good level in the whole game is All Ghilled Up well no, actually only 1/3 of it is good and the rest is terrible shooting... The story is awful and very unreal. I keep saying "Why did I waste my money fr this piece of crap!?". Expand
  17. YurMum
    Jun 2, 2009
    10
    This is, so far, one of the best game I have EVER played. This game has everything, humour, action, suspence, and sadness. (at the end) The multiplayer is so fun and I often find myself playing hours at a time. This game has everything I wanted and more. I HIGHLY recomend this game to anyone.
  18. RandalT.
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    Better than 360 version! Get this now.... so much joy in one single game! Much more fun than Halo, and I think resistance too. It has better graphics than anything I've ever seen. Buy this for PS3!
  19. ErnyF.
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    I love it. Good gameplay!
  20. Dec 12, 2010
    8
    the last good COD game. the story mode is really fun but way to short easily beatin in 5 hours unless you are playing on vetren . i decent selection of wepons . some fun side missions where you get to man a turret in a plane. a decent story that kept me midely intrested . the online is the big piece of this game all be it its still your basic run and gun like a chicken with your head cutthe last good COD game. the story mode is really fun but way to short easily beatin in 5 hours unless you are playing on vetren . i decent selection of wepons . some fun side missions where you get to man a turret in a plane. a decent story that kept me midely intrested . the online is the big piece of this game all be it its still your basic run and gun like a chicken with your head cut off with no team work ever being used . the use of a mic is piontless unless you wana hear 13 year old morons shouting all kinds of racists and moronic things . still its one of the best set ups for this typ of game . id like to have seen more of a team base incentive put into this game and co-op would have been great but its still a fun game that keptt me intrested in the online for atleast 2 months before i got bored with it Expand
  21. Jan 7, 2012
    9
    This is simply the cod game that revolutionised the series taking it from WWII to modern times. The multiplayer is fantastic and so is the campaign if the was any flaw, it woud be the lag.
  22. TrentL.
    Jul 10, 2008
    5
    Overrated. That's the main word I can think of. Great graphics + decent story line should make for a good game but it's just not very connected. Multi-player is decent but it does not make up for the overall bad quality of the single player game. There is no crouching next to walls to look around the corner and the controls are just a little off. Overall, this game is just Overrated. That's the main word I can think of. Great graphics + decent story line should make for a good game but it's just not very connected. Multi-player is decent but it does not make up for the overall bad quality of the single player game. There is no crouching next to walls to look around the corner and the controls are just a little off. Overall, this game is just average for a first person shooter. I would not reccomend it if you are in to first person shooters. I would reccomend Rainbow Six: Las Vegas (one and two are both great) or Metal Gear Solid 4 (which is probably the best game availible for PS3 unless your one of those frooty b*stards who likes those stupid guitar hero games). Expand
  23. TrentS.
    May 7, 2008
    4
    Perhaps the most supremely overrated game of all time. Call of Duty 4 is as bland and tasteless as tofu and as scripted as WWE. The single player game has a few engaging moments but is ultimately so forced that smiles are few and far between. The multiplayer is strong but became annoying to me. Matches could be tedious and rarely called for interesting strategy or teamwork. The community Perhaps the most supremely overrated game of all time. Call of Duty 4 is as bland and tasteless as tofu and as scripted as WWE. The single player game has a few engaging moments but is ultimately so forced that smiles are few and far between. The multiplayer is strong but became annoying to me. Matches could be tedious and rarely called for interesting strategy or teamwork. The community is filled with 14 year old boys who care more about being dicks than winning matches. Screw this I will play Team Fortress on PC. Screw online multiplayer on consoles. Period. Expand
  24. ChrisS
    Oct 12, 2009
    5
    Great Multiplayer, occasionally good graphics, brilliant audio and nice weapons. Now for the bad points the story mode is repetitive, not enough features, story is predictable, and the characters are cliches. only play online
  25. Oct 28, 2010
    9
    This game was brilliant and it was very addictive. The story was really enjoyable and well thought out and the multi player was unreal and it was probably the game i played the most during 2007-2008
  26. AdrianT.
    Oct 11, 2008
    6
    This game is generic, in a nutshell.
  27. StevoM.
    Jun 16, 2009
    3
    I TOTALLY AGREE WITH ANONYMOUS. "Wow, what an overrated game. Okay, let's establish this first, as itself COD4 isn't that bad, but once you see the hype and fanboyism over this game, it is terrible. Where to begin... First of all, I'm pretty sure I'm not the only one to notice how bad this graphics are. They are stale and almost last-gen. Second, I thought that I TOTALLY AGREE WITH ANONYMOUS. "Wow, what an overrated game. Okay, let's establish this first, as itself COD4 isn't that bad, but once you see the hype and fanboyism over this game, it is terrible. Where to begin... First of all, I'm pretty sure I'm not the only one to notice how bad this graphics are. They are stale and almost last-gen. Second, I thought that next-gen games were supposed to get past this respawning arcade shoot-em-up. I got to the point in the game where I stayed back and carefully picked out my enemies for about 30 min., working on clearing the area. Then I realized that they would never go away.When i realized the only way to advance was to sprint to different positions I lost all hope. Not to mention, for whatever reason... a lot of the time when i sprint I throw a grenade... even though im not hitting the left bumper. For some reason 1 out of 10 times when i try to sprint, when I'm done sprinting, i chuck a grenade for no reason. Okay, in some games (like MGS4), the respawning system is basically necessary, but in this game totally takes the fun out of FPS's. Thirdly, there are so many glitches, ie. weapons poking through walls, shooting through walls, etc. and unbalanced gameplay. Grenade fest break out regularly in the multiplayer, and for some reason, your opponents can chuck a grenade from impossibly far and just so happens to land right by your feet. More issues? No Campaign Co-Op, no multi-player achievements, no Rollover incentives, no character customization, part system sucks, no dedicated servers, host migration is lame, you spawn in the middle of firefights, can't see the part members on radar, and... THE STUPID INSTA-KILL KNIFE!!! Why is the knife so goddamn powerful! Ugh. Overall, this game is still sort of good, but once you see how overrated this game is, you have no generosity left. Please avoid this game." Expand
  28. TuukkaT.
    Feb 8, 2008
    4
    The first Call of Duty was O.K because you didn't fight alone but the gaming experience was going through a pipe, launching scripts and shooting targets. Now it's the same but not in WWII. I hated the Enemy O' Matic that created enemys untill you go over some point. Well, the graphics were good and sounds were lovely but the single player campaign was too scripted and easy. The first Call of Duty was O.K because you didn't fight alone but the gaming experience was going through a pipe, launching scripts and shooting targets. Now it's the same but not in WWII. I hated the Enemy O' Matic that created enemys untill you go over some point. Well, the graphics were good and sounds were lovely but the single player campaign was too scripted and easy. Only good thing on the game is the multiplayer. Expand
  29. SamD.
    Sep 12, 2008
    2
    Most overrated and overhyped game of the year. I give it a 2 just because of the shiny graphics and nice sound effects. The gameplay itself was boring and offered nothing more than other FPSs out there on the market. The SP was extremely linear and the storyline-crap (if there's any at all). MP consists of lots and lots of nade spam. Other than some customatisation options, it's Most overrated and overhyped game of the year. I give it a 2 just because of the shiny graphics and nice sound effects. The gameplay itself was boring and offered nothing more than other FPSs out there on the market. The SP was extremely linear and the storyline-crap (if there's any at all). MP consists of lots and lots of nade spam. Other than some customatisation options, it's a piece of crap too. Expand
  30. FACT
    Nov 12, 2007
    0
    Pales in comparison to the Xbox 360 version with laggy online with constant dropouts. Barely anyone talks online on the PS3 while on the 360 you feel more connected to the community. Longer load times on this version along with worse lighting and textures really ruin the experience. Finally, the lack of achievements really take a lot of replay value away from the game. Also, the lack of Pales in comparison to the Xbox 360 version with laggy online with constant dropouts. Barely anyone talks online on the PS3 while on the 360 you feel more connected to the community. Longer load times on this version along with worse lighting and textures really ruin the experience. Finally, the lack of achievements really take a lot of replay value away from the game. Also, the lack of rumble makes the gameplay feel dull and less tense. Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 44
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 44
  3. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. 94
    Though the single-player lacks length, the multiplayer should keep you invested in COD4 for the long winter. This is a truly fantastic multiplayer offering that's as deep as any other online game available.
  2. 100
    One of the best military shooters to date, with enough realism to make you feel like you're right on the battlefield. The visuals look amazingly life-like, unmatched by other PlayStation 3 efforts. The gameplay feels familiar, and at the same time refreshing and exciting.
  3. 95
    With proven mechanics, brilliant visuals and sound, a satisfying campaign, and robust multiplayer, COD4 is one of the best FPS packages of the year -- no small feat, considering the competition.