User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 875 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 77 out of 875

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 15, 2011
    9
    Pure greatness at it's best but there are still lag and balancing problems and the story gets a bit bare but...no spoilers here great game but the minor flaws keep it form being a 9/10 game on a percent scale i would give it a 98%
  2. DeonM.
    Jun 25, 2008
    9
    The best First Person shooter ever- if you haven't played this game -get it and play it now- best physics, best graphics, realistic and just downright fun. Best enjoyed with a big ass screen and a few friends in multiplayer, cant wait for the sequel.....
  3. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    Out of all of the Modern shooters, Call of Duty 4 still stands as the strongest and most innovative of the bunch. The gameplay is streamlined, approachable, yet takes skill and patience to master. The storyline at the time of its release was great. There's not much to complain about this game except for the glitchers who have taken over in the last year.
  4. Dec 17, 2011
    9
    This and cod2 are the best cods i played.This game is overall amazing. Campiagn was pretty good and the mulitplayer was great. the only thing i hate about online is that i sometimes keep lagging. still it is a good game.
  5. Nov 11, 2011
    7
    Started following CoD since the first instalment and have spent many hours of my life cursing and ranting at my television screen, but have enjoyed doing so. I was really looking forward to MW3 until I saw that it looked pretty much exactly the same as MW2. Having played it, it plays more like CoD 4 than MW2 but it's the same game you know and love (or hate). It' not a bad game by anyStarted following CoD since the first instalment and have spent many hours of my life cursing and ranting at my television screen, but have enjoyed doing so. I was really looking forward to MW3 until I saw that it looked pretty much exactly the same as MW2. Having played it, it plays more like CoD 4 than MW2 but it's the same game you know and love (or hate). It' not a bad game by any means, it's multiplayer is quite solid, Im just disappointed that there hasn't been any genuine innovation. Having said that, I think this is the last game that IW/Treyarch will be able to make the same as it's predecessors and get away with. Expand
  6. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    Man, when this game came out I was in shock how good it was! I loved everything about it! Multiplayer was new and refreshing! Single player was great. One of the best shooters ever if you ask me. I owned it on all three platforms!
  7. Aug 9, 2012
    10
    This is the game were you feel yourself like a soldier and it involves you with it. I bought it and end it just after 3 days because one can go out after end...... one after another and then next .... Very good game.
  8. Mar 27, 2013
    9
    I'm changing my score my score from a 7 to a 9, now i've played this game for awhile and i decided it a great game. even tried the multiplayer. so heres my new review.

    Call of duty 4 i think is maybe slightly overated it should get just a 90, thats good enough to me. the thing i don't like is that the PS3 version has no vibration not sure why, but it doesn't. The campaign is mostly good
    I'm changing my score my score from a 7 to a 9, now i've played this game for awhile and i decided it a great game. even tried the multiplayer. so heres my new review.

    Call of duty 4 i think is maybe slightly overated it should get just a 90, thats good enough to me. the thing i don't like is that the PS3 version has no vibration not sure why, but it doesn't. The campaign is mostly good some parts might just keep you hooked, while some parts are a bit dull. The multiplayer is fun. it's not better than the multiplayer we see in call of duty games today, but the new multiplayer can get tiring sometimes, and you might be tempted to come play this classic again.
    Expand
  9. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    Call of Duty 4 is an epic adventure. The campaign is filled with action and a very memorable story. There was so much variety with each mission. The multiplayer was without a doubt the best online experience I have ever had. It was so simple just shoot people with guns and get killstreaks. But the simplistic style of Cod 4's multiplayer is where it shines. Call of Duty is getting moreCall of Duty 4 is an epic adventure. The campaign is filled with action and a very memorable story. There was so much variety with each mission. The multiplayer was without a doubt the best online experience I have ever had. It was so simple just shoot people with guns and get killstreaks. But the simplistic style of Cod 4's multiplayer is where it shines. Call of Duty is getting more worse when each game gets released. I hope one day Call of Duty goes back to this style of a game. 9/10. Expand
  10. May 31, 2013
    10
    This was the first time Iv'e a CoD game that isn't still in the WWII era and it's a great one so far! The graphics are superb, single-player story is good, and the MP is just flawless! This is the best CoD game ever created in years!
  11. Jan 21, 2011
    10
    Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is quite a good game, it is a single player campaign but you can go online and join games with other people and play against them. The player goes through a lot of missions and there is quite a lot of killing involved in the game. You can unlock more levels but as you play your way through the game is gets harder and harder, also that you can unlock moreCall of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is quite a good game, it is a single player campaign but you can go online and join games with other people and play against them. The player goes through a lot of missions and there is quite a lot of killing involved in the game. You can unlock more levels but as you play your way through the game is gets harder and harder, also that you can unlock more weapons e.g. AK47, Rocket launcher, Sniper and many more. All the weapons have different types of use, for instant you can get the Rocket launcher in different types, heat seeker, target mover and a lot more. This game is quite addictive because the more you play the more you want to carry on, I think that this Modern Warfare 4 is better than all the other games, because one minuite your in a killing zone were your just about to loose your life and the next your in a battle field shooting somebody else. When you play on multiplayer you get a wide variety of weapons to choose from but if your playing on your own in campaign then you have to unlock the weapons one by one but its well worth the wait because then its fun killing your enemies. Overall I think that this game is good and most of the people that play this game will rate it ten out of ten. It will keep you busy for a long time! Expand
  12. kevinm
    Jan 1, 2010
    9
    campaign kicks ass but i can sit for hours and not play a game online your server sucks it never lets me play more then a few minutes and get kicked to the main menu . It pisses me off i spend 60 bucks to just wait and wait to get connected i like the game but it laggs alot online
  13. MW3
    Jan 18, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best games ever
    !!!!! Dont even bother to read the bad reviews because they're probably some battlefield fans .i just got this game like 4 days ago and i love the campaign so far
  14. JackT.
    Nov 26, 2008
    5
    Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is VERY, VERY linear and boring game. The campaign is BAD and very short. When you shoot people you don't have that great feel like in Resistance: FoM and Resistance 2. Only good part in this game is the graphics. Well, music is good, but there are only like 5 min of it... So overrated online mode, which is good, but absolutely not great. No variety at Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is VERY, VERY linear and boring game. The campaign is BAD and very short. When you shoot people you don't have that great feel like in Resistance: FoM and Resistance 2. Only good part in this game is the graphics. Well, music is good, but there are only like 5 min of it... So overrated online mode, which is good, but absolutely not great. No variety at all and the only good level in the whole game is All Ghilled Up well no, actually only 1/3 of it is good and the rest is terrible shooting... The story is awful and very unreal. I keep saying "Why did I waste my money fr this piece of crap!?". Expand
  15. YurMum
    Jun 2, 2009
    10
    This is, so far, one of the best game I have EVER played. This game has everything, humour, action, suspence, and sadness. (at the end) The multiplayer is so fun and I often find myself playing hours at a time. This game has everything I wanted and more. I HIGHLY recomend this game to anyone.
  16. RandalT.
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    Better than 360 version! Get this now.... so much joy in one single game! Much more fun than Halo, and I think resistance too. It has better graphics than anything I've ever seen. Buy this for PS3!
  17. ErnyF.
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    I love it. Good gameplay!
  18. Dec 12, 2010
    8
    the last good COD game. the story mode is really fun but way to short easily beatin in 5 hours unless you are playing on vetren . i decent selection of wepons . some fun side missions where you get to man a turret in a plane. a decent story that kept me midely intrested . the online is the big piece of this game all be it its still your basic run and gun like a chicken with your head cutthe last good COD game. the story mode is really fun but way to short easily beatin in 5 hours unless you are playing on vetren . i decent selection of wepons . some fun side missions where you get to man a turret in a plane. a decent story that kept me midely intrested . the online is the big piece of this game all be it its still your basic run and gun like a chicken with your head cut off with no team work ever being used . the use of a mic is piontless unless you wana hear 13 year old morons shouting all kinds of racists and moronic things . still its one of the best set ups for this typ of game . id like to have seen more of a team base incentive put into this game and co-op would have been great but its still a fun game that keptt me intrested in the online for atleast 2 months before i got bored with it Expand
  19. Jan 7, 2012
    9
    This is simply the cod game that revolutionised the series taking it from WWII to modern times. The multiplayer is fantastic and so is the campaign if the was any flaw, it woud be the lag.
  20. TrentL.
    Jul 10, 2008
    5
    Overrated. That's the main word I can think of. Great graphics + decent story line should make for a good game but it's just not very connected. Multi-player is decent but it does not make up for the overall bad quality of the single player game. There is no crouching next to walls to look around the corner and the controls are just a little off. Overall, this game is just Overrated. That's the main word I can think of. Great graphics + decent story line should make for a good game but it's just not very connected. Multi-player is decent but it does not make up for the overall bad quality of the single player game. There is no crouching next to walls to look around the corner and the controls are just a little off. Overall, this game is just average for a first person shooter. I would not reccomend it if you are in to first person shooters. I would reccomend Rainbow Six: Las Vegas (one and two are both great) or Metal Gear Solid 4 (which is probably the best game availible for PS3 unless your one of those frooty b*stards who likes those stupid guitar hero games). Expand
  21. TrentS.
    May 7, 2008
    4
    Perhaps the most supremely overrated game of all time. Call of Duty 4 is as bland and tasteless as tofu and as scripted as WWE. The single player game has a few engaging moments but is ultimately so forced that smiles are few and far between. The multiplayer is strong but became annoying to me. Matches could be tedious and rarely called for interesting strategy or teamwork. The community Perhaps the most supremely overrated game of all time. Call of Duty 4 is as bland and tasteless as tofu and as scripted as WWE. The single player game has a few engaging moments but is ultimately so forced that smiles are few and far between. The multiplayer is strong but became annoying to me. Matches could be tedious and rarely called for interesting strategy or teamwork. The community is filled with 14 year old boys who care more about being dicks than winning matches. Screw this I will play Team Fortress on PC. Screw online multiplayer on consoles. Period. Expand
  22. ChrisS
    Oct 12, 2009
    5
    Great Multiplayer, occasionally good graphics, brilliant audio and nice weapons. Now for the bad points the story mode is repetitive, not enough features, story is predictable, and the characters are cliches. only play online
  23. AdrianT.
    Oct 11, 2008
    6
    This game is generic, in a nutshell.
  24. StevoM.
    Jun 16, 2009
    3
    I TOTALLY AGREE WITH ANONYMOUS. "Wow, what an overrated game. Okay, let's establish this first, as itself COD4 isn't that bad, but once you see the hype and fanboyism over this game, it is terrible. Where to begin... First of all, I'm pretty sure I'm not the only one to notice how bad this graphics are. They are stale and almost last-gen. Second, I thought that I TOTALLY AGREE WITH ANONYMOUS. "Wow, what an overrated game. Okay, let's establish this first, as itself COD4 isn't that bad, but once you see the hype and fanboyism over this game, it is terrible. Where to begin... First of all, I'm pretty sure I'm not the only one to notice how bad this graphics are. They are stale and almost last-gen. Second, I thought that next-gen games were supposed to get past this respawning arcade shoot-em-up. I got to the point in the game where I stayed back and carefully picked out my enemies for about 30 min., working on clearing the area. Then I realized that they would never go away.When i realized the only way to advance was to sprint to different positions I lost all hope. Not to mention, for whatever reason... a lot of the time when i sprint I throw a grenade... even though im not hitting the left bumper. For some reason 1 out of 10 times when i try to sprint, when I'm done sprinting, i chuck a grenade for no reason. Okay, in some games (like MGS4), the respawning system is basically necessary, but in this game totally takes the fun out of FPS's. Thirdly, there are so many glitches, ie. weapons poking through walls, shooting through walls, etc. and unbalanced gameplay. Grenade fest break out regularly in the multiplayer, and for some reason, your opponents can chuck a grenade from impossibly far and just so happens to land right by your feet. More issues? No Campaign Co-Op, no multi-player achievements, no Rollover incentives, no character customization, part system sucks, no dedicated servers, host migration is lame, you spawn in the middle of firefights, can't see the part members on radar, and... THE STUPID INSTA-KILL KNIFE!!! Why is the knife so goddamn powerful! Ugh. Overall, this game is still sort of good, but once you see how overrated this game is, you have no generosity left. Please avoid this game." Expand
  25. TuukkaT.
    Feb 8, 2008
    4
    The first Call of Duty was O.K because you didn't fight alone but the gaming experience was going through a pipe, launching scripts and shooting targets. Now it's the same but not in WWII. I hated the Enemy O' Matic that created enemys untill you go over some point. Well, the graphics were good and sounds were lovely but the single player campaign was too scripted and easy. The first Call of Duty was O.K because you didn't fight alone but the gaming experience was going through a pipe, launching scripts and shooting targets. Now it's the same but not in WWII. I hated the Enemy O' Matic that created enemys untill you go over some point. Well, the graphics were good and sounds were lovely but the single player campaign was too scripted and easy. Only good thing on the game is the multiplayer. Expand
  26. SamD.
    Sep 12, 2008
    2
    Most overrated and overhyped game of the year. I give it a 2 just because of the shiny graphics and nice sound effects. The gameplay itself was boring and offered nothing more than other FPSs out there on the market. The SP was extremely linear and the storyline-crap (if there's any at all). MP consists of lots and lots of nade spam. Other than some customatisation options, it's Most overrated and overhyped game of the year. I give it a 2 just because of the shiny graphics and nice sound effects. The gameplay itself was boring and offered nothing more than other FPSs out there on the market. The SP was extremely linear and the storyline-crap (if there's any at all). MP consists of lots and lots of nade spam. Other than some customatisation options, it's a piece of crap too. Collapse
  27. FACT
    Nov 12, 2007
    0
    Pales in comparison to the Xbox 360 version with laggy online with constant dropouts. Barely anyone talks online on the PS3 while on the 360 you feel more connected to the community. Longer load times on this version along with worse lighting and textures really ruin the experience. Finally, the lack of achievements really take a lot of replay value away from the game. Also, the lack of Pales in comparison to the Xbox 360 version with laggy online with constant dropouts. Barely anyone talks online on the PS3 while on the 360 you feel more connected to the community. Longer load times on this version along with worse lighting and textures really ruin the experience. Finally, the lack of achievements really take a lot of replay value away from the game. Also, the lack of rumble makes the gameplay feel dull and less tense. Expand
  28. JasonLarge
    Nov 19, 2007
    0
    Okay I really give this game a 10 but seriously ps3 players stop rating the xbox version of games low becuase you are angry that xbox has better games and a better online mode. Now typically I mind my own business you have your games we have ours and sometimes we get joint games and that's fine but stick to your own reviews, stop hating on halo and other games becuase you have oneOkay I really give this game a 10 but seriously ps3 players stop rating the xbox version of games low becuase you are angry that xbox has better games and a better online mode. Now typically I mind my own business you have your games we have ours and sometimes we get joint games and that's fine but stick to your own reviews, stop hating on halo and other games becuase you have one legitament game to play online and and becuase you have lost most of your exclusive titles. Expand
  29. StevoM.
    Nov 9, 2009
    2
    I TOTALLY AGREE WITH ANONYMOUS. "Wow, what an overrated game. Okay, let's establish this first, as itself COD4 isn't that bad, but once you see the hype and fanboyism over this game, it is terrible. Where to begin... First of all, I'm pretty sure I'm not the only one to notice how bad this graphics are. They are stale and almost last-gen. Second, I thought that I TOTALLY AGREE WITH ANONYMOUS. "Wow, what an overrated game. Okay, let's establish this first, as itself COD4 isn't that bad, but once you see the hype and fanboyism over this game, it is terrible. Where to begin... First of all, I'm pretty sure I'm not the only one to notice how bad this graphics are. They are stale and almost last-gen. Second, I thought that next-gen games were supposed to get past this respawning arcade shoot-em-up. I got to the point in the game where I stayed back and carefully picked out my enemies for about 30 min., working on clearing the area. Then I realized that they would never go away.When i realized the only way to advance was to sprint to different positions I lost all hope. Not to mention, for whatever reason... a lot of the time when i sprint I throw a grenade... even though im not hitting the left bumper. For some reason 1 out of 10 times when i try to sprint, when I'm done sprinting, i chuck a grenade for no reason. Okay, in some games (like MGS4), the respawning system is basically necessary, but in this game totally takes the fun out of FPS's. Thirdly, there are so many glitches, ie. weapons poking through walls, shooting through walls, etc. and unbalanced gameplay. Grenade fest break out regularly in the multiplayer, and for some reason, your opponents can chuck a grenade from impossibly far and just so happens to land right by your feet. More issues? No Campaign Co-Op, no multi-player achievements, no Rollover incentives, no character customization, part system sucks, no dedicated servers, host migration is lame, you spawn in the middle of firefights, can't see the part members on radar, and... THE STUPID INSTA-KILL KNIFE!!! Why is the knife so goddamn powerful! Ugh. Overall, this game is still sort of good, but once you see how overrated this game is, you have no generosity left. Please avoid this game." Expand
  30. Oivind
    Sep 11, 2009
    0
    2 player split screen my ass. When playing split screen you can't play online, and there's no co-op. Useless. I want to play with my wife. There are so few games with interesting split screen modes, that I'm tempted to sell my PS3, and buy a dedicated blu-ray player, since the blu-ray player is, to me, almost the only useful thing about the PS3.
  31. D_Rekfazzle
    Nov 18, 2007
    0
    OMG!! the ps3 version sux so much that it hurts my eyes. The online is shitty and the xbox 360 owns it in every way possible. this is scum on the ps3 and if u want a truly enjoying experience than get it on the 360. The ps3 is a big black overpriced hunk of shit.
  32. karls
    Nov 13, 2009
    0
    what sham what sham they spend 2 years to make this game and they didn
  33. SidM.
    Feb 4, 2008
    10
    Me and my friends play the online part all the time, this game is awesome. You can shoot through walls (realistically of course) and everything. I haven't really been able to find any flaws except the servers suck, it kicks you offline a lot but im not sure if thats not just because I have a German internet connection. Either way it is a must buy game, I'm actually in the Army Me and my friends play the online part all the time, this game is awesome. You can shoot through walls (realistically of course) and everything. I haven't really been able to find any flaws except the servers suck, it kicks you offline a lot but im not sure if thats not just because I have a German internet connection. Either way it is a must buy game, I'm actually in the Army and the weapons like the M16 A-4 and the AK are very realistic. I would recommend to everyone. Expand
  34. Ostaf
    Oct 17, 2009
    7
    Honestly the only thing good about this game is the online. The single player is fun but offers little to no replay value and is EXTREMELY short. Graphics are amazing though and the online can be addicting with well over 100 hours logged in. Its only flaw is Internet....you must have it to have more then 3 hours of fun with this game.
  35. JonathanC.
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    OMG Perfect game! Campaign is very intense. Gameplay is tight and responsive. Graphics set a new high to me. Multiplayer is incredible! Lots of gameplay options, PERKS! Overall this is a perfect game! Great amount of detail and options.
  36. TomJ.
    Oct 10, 2008
    6
    I didn't like it, because it had no vehicles or Co-op.
  37. AdrienV.
    Jan 10, 2008
    9
    Have not seen a much better shooter. The online is incredible! And normaly i dont give a pickle about multiplayer. Singleplayer is also pretty cool. And we get free online, a good sharp port, and good looking box! Get this if you like realistic shooters, good AI, or British people.
  38. h0m0sapi3n
    Mar 10, 2008
    10
    absolutely.bloody.brilliant. Finest outing in the Call of Duty series with a compelling campaign (a touch short, but I'm revisiting it again and again) and a visceral feel that sets a good benchmark for future games in the series - Infinity Ward need to be the custodians of the franchise.
  39. Darius
    Jul 5, 2009
    9
    Anonymous is just an idiot, I don't care about his opinion, the issues he points out like shoot through walls, there is a perk called deep impact that allows you to shoot through a wall, which is entirely possible, you will always get glitches in a game, but to make out that there is a lot is just over exaggerating. I personally don't believe you can throw a grenade to far, in Anonymous is just an idiot, I don't care about his opinion, the issues he points out like shoot through walls, there is a perk called deep impact that allows you to shoot through a wall, which is entirely possible, you will always get glitches in a game, but to make out that there is a lot is just over exaggerating. I personally don't believe you can throw a grenade to far, in its scale I believe its possible in a realistic sense, the grenades don't home in on people, so this guy is obviously a noob and is to predictable hence why he probably dies a lot from random grenades, No campaign co op, I don't think it would have been as good as a single player experience if it was two players, I'm sure they would have to change a lot of things and it wouldn't give off the same atmosphere. Achievements fine there fun to some people, but that doesn't make the game play bad, however I do agree it would be cool, it would be cool to customize you're character but again not needed, there servers boot you or you're party in to a random game against opponents, slightly decreasing the gap you can mess with your stats. I think the single player was good, it was short but enthralling, at points it does keep the enemys coming, but I never felt in anyway they overdone it. It is a FPS after all. Multi player is addictive and fun and I tell you right now, despite what this guy claims, there still tonnes of people playing it, its one of the most played games on Xbox/PS3/PC. A thing to note is COD4 is made by Infinity ward, where as COD5 is made by Treyarch, COD6 (Now just called Modern Warfare 2) is being made by infinity ward again, this is because it takes them two years to make the game and they release it simultaneously,so that there is a call of duty each year. Also COD1 + COD2 is made by Infinity Ward and COD3 by Treyarch, I believe this is important for the review so people who have only played 5 know that the game is developed by a different team so they don't misjudge the game if they didn't rate it. Expand
  40. KevinC.
    Jul 6, 2009
    10
    Call of duty modern warfare is the best online game on the ps3.it also has a fun story mode.unlocking weapons to make classes with is great and the maps are incredible fun!its the only online ps3 game i played that allows cage matches which are very stealthy and has such a variety of brilliant guns.nothing quite gives you a thrill like getting a ten kill streak online in call of duty Call of duty modern warfare is the best online game on the ps3.it also has a fun story mode.unlocking weapons to make classes with is great and the maps are incredible fun!its the only online ps3 game i played that allows cage matches which are very stealthy and has such a variety of brilliant guns.nothing quite gives you a thrill like getting a ten kill streak online in call of duty 4.call of duty 5 is good but the older call of duty 4 is still best!.....oh yeah by the way street fighters 4 got the same score as call of duty 4 which i think is ridiculous!THANKS FOR READING!!!!! Expand
  41. StephanRdgh
    Nov 10, 2007
    10
    Great game. so realistic and fun. IT AMAZING!
  42. JanN.
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    I simply cant find anything negative about this game, except that the single player is a bit short, but the quality of the online and singleplayer is MASSIVE... One of the best games I have tried so far on the PS3, even beats my expectations! And that says alot... From stealthing with snipers, blasting away enemies with thermal vison from helicpoters, to boost your way throug some arab I simply cant find anything negative about this game, except that the single player is a bit short, but the quality of the online and singleplayer is MASSIVE... One of the best games I have tried so far on the PS3, even beats my expectations! And that says alot... From stealthing with snipers, blasting away enemies with thermal vison from helicpoters, to boost your way throug some arab shit ass tv station ;D ! lol, this isnt just great it is fun! Expand
  43. ChrisL.
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    Easily the best game on PS3. amazing story with constant twists and action. great online multiplayer and not a slowdown in sight. simply outstanding. if you don't own it buy it.
  44. MikeH.
    Dec 10, 2007
    9
    WOW. Cod4 really is a masterpiece in gaming. The single player is intense as anything and the replay value will have you keep coming back for more. The single player is about 4-5 hours, and i like short games, and this game reallly was short. Honestly if you dont have online id say rent this game, the only is Outstadningly amazing! Its soo addictive, and its also rather deep with the perk WOW. Cod4 really is a masterpiece in gaming. The single player is intense as anything and the replay value will have you keep coming back for more. The single player is about 4-5 hours, and i like short games, and this game reallly was short. Honestly if you dont have online id say rent this game, the only is Outstadningly amazing! Its soo addictive, and its also rather deep with the perk system. Graphically the games a stunner. I have hd 1080i and am in awe everytime i play!! Expand
  45. RichardG.
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    Best game ever i played! It was fabulous!
  46. PaulG.
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    Terrific ps3 game! Nothing bad to say about it!
  47. PabloS.
    Oct 24, 2007
    10
    I loved it more than any other game! So much action and war... amazing visuals!
  48. ramepage87gk
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    the most amazing game iv ever play i thought RFOM was great but this game is even better to the gameplay to the action to the shotting it overwelms any other game made and not to menchion the ghraphics are amazing this is an intant claasic to add to ps3 geatest hits it just does not get old this is a must have if you dont have it buy it its well worth your sevnty bucks.!!!!!!!!
  49. AndyR.
    Jan 2, 2008
    10
    Awesome game for single player, and even sweeter with your buddies online. This game is a "must" for Fps fans!
  50. SpartanC.
    Feb 14, 2008
    10
    This Game is awesome! The single player is brilliant to play through and the most realisitic and compelling shooter I've played in ages. The Multiplayer is 2nd to none.
  51. TomB.
    Feb 4, 2008
    10
    Seriously the best game to date....until Killzone 2 and MGS4 that is!
  52. Andrew
    Feb 5, 2008
    10
    Probably the best game I've played.... or maybe ever will play (hope not though).
  53. MatthewW.
    Feb 8, 2008
    10
    The best game I've ever played! I heard people say that you die to quick on COD4 and not on Halo 3. Well, I hate to tell you Halo fans, but in real life war, you don't have this protective shield to soak up some of the shots. You really do die with just a few bullets. That's what makes COD4 so GREAT! It's very realistic. It takes more strategy to stay alive instead of The best game I've ever played! I heard people say that you die to quick on COD4 and not on Halo 3. Well, I hate to tell you Halo fans, but in real life war, you don't have this protective shield to soak up some of the shots. You really do die with just a few bullets. That's what makes COD4 so GREAT! It's very realistic. It takes more strategy to stay alive instead of a protective shield. Multiplayer is just outstanding, also I just wish they made mod tools and patches for the console versions instead of just the PC version. I also wish that you had bigger arena's with more player capacities. Other than that, this game has the best graphics of any other FPS EVER!!! It's just plain genius. Expand
  54. LukeR.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    Love this game! Great Hollywood style single player with addictive multiplayer that keeps bringing you back night after night week after week month after month.
  55. JamesK.
    Apr 9, 2008
    10
    Awesome online gaming cant stop playing if I ever get bored of that I could actually spend time playing the offline game.
  56. RyanK.
    Jul 7, 2008
    10
    This is a very good game online and offline the offline mode was exciting and if you played it you cannot tell me different. Online mode is very fun it takes a little bit to figure out the maps but once u get into the game you become addicted...anyone who voted less than a 10 can just go and play heroin hero haha.
  57. stuart
    Aug 10, 2008
    9
    Best fps of the generation. Single player missions are well balanced and keep things fresh. The online multiplayer is where cod really earns its kudos though.
  58. BenD.
    Aug 20, 2008
    10
    dis is by far the best game online, i luv it i currently hav completed the game, and i am online mode, it is the best game of the centuary
  59. cesco
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    COD 4 is one of the best games i have ever played. Anonymous is an idiot. I still play it whenever i get a chance to, and its still as addicting now as it was when i got it 2 years ago. i highly recommend getting this game - you wont be disappointed.. unless you're a n00b like Anonymous.
  60. JonH
    Apr 12, 2009
    10
    This game is great and your an idiot if you like fps and choose not to buy it. It has a storyline that is fun both the first and second time and online play just makes it even better. None of the guns feel overpowered or unrealistic and there are many to choose from. You will love this game from start to finish.
  61. AlexC
    Jul 21, 2009
    9
    I don't know who anonymous is (obviously), but he's way out of line. 3 out of 10 for one of the best FPS games ever made? Wow.... the only thing I agree about is the respawning, but deal with it. It's a small price to pay for an amazing game.
  62. JohnG.
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    I played both Ps3 and 360. Ps3 is much better. No kids swearing and making racists comments on the mics. Th eone good thing about ps3s cost is it keeps away the trash to an extent. Graphics and lighting are superior on Ps3. 360s controls are a lot looser and rumble affects your aim to such an extent that it makes multiplayer difficult.
  63. AlistairT.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    I have both a 360 Elite and PS3 and yes, there are a few differences in texture and lighting quality....but it works both ways. It seems to depend on what level you're on as some look better on 360, some on PS3. As for online, both are taking an age to get a game connection, but I've suffered no dropout at all on the PS3 and there is no lag, and I have an archaic 512k I have both a 360 Elite and PS3 and yes, there are a few differences in texture and lighting quality....but it works both ways. It seems to depend on what level you're on as some look better on 360, some on PS3. As for online, both are taking an age to get a game connection, but I've suffered no dropout at all on the PS3 and there is no lag, and I have an archaic 512k connection! The 360 Live system is currently an absolute mess though. Microsoft's last update has made it unplayable right now. Expand
  64. VilleH.
    Nov 14, 2007
    9
    I haven't tried the multiplayer yet. The single player campaign is the most utterly cool to have ever been featured in a FPS-game. The cinematic elements, the intenseness of missions, the plot, the special breaks from the game itself. The only thing keeping this game away from a full 10 is the shortness of the campaign. Hopefully we'll be seeing mission packs.
  65. THETRUTH
    Nov 15, 2007
    5
    Everything is great about the game itself except when you play online ...There is alot of Slow downs and disconnecting and most of the people that have mics don't use it to play the game they like to broadcast there personal music which I find very annoying .Most of all you can only witness all this if you are able to log on I haven't been able to play that much .When I first Everything is great about the game itself except when you play online ...There is alot of Slow downs and disconnecting and most of the people that have mics don't use it to play the game they like to broadcast there personal music which I find very annoying .Most of all you can only witness all this if you are able to log on I haven't been able to play that much .When I first Bought the game I was unable to log on the whole weekend .So if this happens to you don't format your playstation 3 like I did it's not your system it's there server .Don't bother trying to contact them there customer service is terrible if you can get through because they only have a single teleophone line and you keep getting a busy signal .Good Luck ! Expand
  66. ConanO.
    Nov 29, 2007
    7
    While Call of Duty 4 looks really good, the other gameplay aspects remain the same as in previous installments. The AI acts as stupidly as before, so no one moves unless you do something. You cannot trust your teammates to cover your flanks as often the enemy hits you from the side where the AI-team mate was supposed to be firing. You basically run in a pipe the whole game, but developers While Call of Duty 4 looks really good, the other gameplay aspects remain the same as in previous installments. The AI acts as stupidly as before, so no one moves unless you do something. You cannot trust your teammates to cover your flanks as often the enemy hits you from the side where the AI-team mate was supposed to be firing. You basically run in a pipe the whole game, but developers tried to hide it in gunsmoke, grenades and rocket launchers firing. There is no modern cover system implemented, which makes the combat feel a bit lacking, but it is not mandatory. It´s just that after R6:Vegas´s brilliant cover system, all other shooters feel a bit out dated. CoD 4 shines on some rare occasions, like the AC-130 scenario that actually feels like what the real thing is, the ability to shoot through some walls is a great addition. Unfortunately the single player is just not up to par feature wise and ends way too quickly. Multiplayer is the saviour of this title as the addictive rank system makes you want to play it a bit longer. Do not buy this game for the single player only. Rent it if you can at first, so you have a chance to make a proper decision. Expand
  67. GaryS.
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    Game of the Year 07!
  68. JoseF.
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    WOW! You have to go out and buy this game!! Intense action all the way with an incredible multiplayer and the best graphics I've seen in a console! If you have a PS3, this is the game to get!
  69. HughH.
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    Not too many games get a 10 from me, but to quite simply put it, COD4 is a masterpiece. The amount of detail and polish is just ridiculous. Shoot enemies in the legs while running and they topple over, shoot an enemy in the head when wearing a helmet, knocks it off before he goes falling, not tumbling or spinning but simply just fall over. When you get shot, you can almost feel it. When Not too many games get a 10 from me, but to quite simply put it, COD4 is a masterpiece. The amount of detail and polish is just ridiculous. Shoot enemies in the legs while running and they topple over, shoot an enemy in the head when wearing a helmet, knocks it off before he goes falling, not tumbling or spinning but simply just fall over. When you get shot, you can almost feel it. When you reload the 249SaW, you see the latch pop open like it does in real life. When you swing a knife, your whole body twists. I could go on and on about this game being in the military myself, but playing this game shows you exactly what being in the military in a time of war means....no other game has come close to that. Expand
  70. SimonG.
    Nov 9, 2007
    10
    Well well well, what can i say that everyone hasnt said already.. this game is just an aboslute must if you have a ps3.. believe me if you dont buy this game you might as well sell your computer, because this is by far the best game and shooter available today.. from the maps to the gameplay and then to your perks you unlock are just awesome, to name a couple , last stand where you pull Well well well, what can i say that everyone hasnt said already.. this game is just an aboslute must if you have a ps3.. believe me if you dont buy this game you might as well sell your computer, because this is by far the best game and shooter available today.. from the maps to the gameplay and then to your perks you unlock are just awesome, to name a couple , last stand where you pull out your pistol as your dying and then to martydom where you drop a grenade when you die.. the amount of kills you get with these two alone are great so its worth buliding your points up for these alone, and also you have to rank up to open certain game modes which is a nice touch as well.. just do me a favor and stop reading this and go and buy this game NOW.. infinity ward i would just like to say from me and many others thank you so much for the greatest game ever.. 10/10 Expand
  71. ChaseC.
    Dec 20, 2007
    10
    Great game, great graphics, amazing control of things like guns where you unlock them with levels, i love it, they did a good job making it.
  72. RandyS.
    Dec 26, 2007
    10
    This game on PS3 was a 9, until they updated the multiplayer. Now the games a ten. It exactly like war, at least what I hear from some people, I know to have gone to the middle east.
  73. TooSexy
    Dec 28, 2007
    10
    Best FPS I have ever played. Some of the reviews have talked about the server being poor, but they have fixed the problems and it runs great now.
  74. TeddyF.
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    It is the best ps3 game to date... I think. It has awesome online, and better graphics than the 360 version! IT IS SICK!
  75. AllyR.
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    Coming from a girl! It is so awesome and feels so real 10/10! COD4 rocks!
  76. ThiagoS.
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    I enjoyed it so much... it is better than the 360 version! I thought had amazing look and gameplays! It felt so real and felt like it was made exclusively for the PS3s!
  77. StefanJ.
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    Feel very nice to me. I loved it and felt like I was in the war. PS3 version is also better I heard, on many game sites...in terms of graphics.
  78. TomH.
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    So many ps3 owners are buying this because their are not many good games out at the moment....making this like resistance, with so many people playing online! I love it! It is the best looking game I have ever played, besides Crysis. PS3 rules! This game is sick! 10/10!
  79. MichaelD.
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    Triple AAA PS3 title.
  80. WilliamY.
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    It is so good. I love games like this! MODERN! Great fun.
  81. JohnL.
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    It is great! I am loving the graphics and gameplay!
  82. JR
    Dec 3, 2007
    5
    Same old, same old. CoD 2 with modern weapons and shallow, CS-like multiplayer. Nuff said.
  83. JamieR.
    Jan 21, 2008
    10
    Best FPS experience i have ever had. Grpping and intense single player campain (if a little short) and also amazing online too. The graphics are superb for a shotter - it's so cinematic. If you only buy one shooter for your ps3 then this has to be it.
  84. JordanF
    Dec 17, 2008
    10
    The Best FPS on any platform! Period! This is a thinking mans Halo! The story is terrific, reports of it being unrealistic are unfounded, immersive from the get go! It has so many standout levels it
  85. SimonT.
    Dec 5, 2008
    8
    The good points of Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is that it offers a good gaming experience and polished graphics. However, the storyline lacks any depth and length and the online multiplayer server disconnects frequently hindering your online experience (it is enjoyable when it works!). A co-op mode, in which you play with a friend, would be a improvement both online and offline. The good points of Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is that it offers a good gaming experience and polished graphics. However, the storyline lacks any depth and length and the online multiplayer server disconnects frequently hindering your online experience (it is enjoyable when it works!). A co-op mode, in which you play with a friend, would be a improvement both online and offline. Overall, it is brilliant, setting the bench-mark for FPS. Room for improvements though! 8 out of 10. Expand
  86. Spyroth
    Jan 27, 2008
    10
    Man this game is too good. ive never played a game so well made. the campaign moded is fun but short, but the online will keep u playing for hours and hours. there is so much fun to be had here- this is a must own.
  87. Carlos
    Jan 29, 2008
    9
    This game is a game of the year contender. The single player is quick paced and intense but on the easy settings can beat in one day. I know I beat it in the first day. The multiplayer is superbly made. The perks system the game uses is fantastic. The perks are the best part and create a class to your specs. Buy it now.
  88. DanishA.
    Feb 10, 2008
    10
    I would simply bow to this game by the gameplay and the awesome and simply great graphics. No one should hate this game because this game is really great and i would never get tired of playing this awesome and great game.
  89. WendellA.
    Feb 15, 2008
    10
    why is the tress and grass not moving, though it was next gen.....nahhh. This game is perfect nonetheless.search and destroy xbox fanboys baby.
  90. TylerF.
    Feb 5, 2008
    9
    Really fantastic game. Takes a couple hours to really get into it and get the hang of the controls and features unique to this game, but once you do, you'll be hooked. I thought I was over FPS games since Halo 2 on my old Xbox until I got a PS3 and this game for it. The single player has been enjoyable so far, as I'm only about 1/3 of the way through. But at that point, Really fantastic game. Takes a couple hours to really get into it and get the hang of the controls and features unique to this game, but once you do, you'll be hooked. I thought I was over FPS games since Halo 2 on my old Xbox until I got a PS3 and this game for it. The single player has been enjoyable so far, as I'm only about 1/3 of the way through. But at that point, that's when you'll get the hang of killing the AI...and you'll step into the realm of multiplayer. I cannot stress how fantastic the multiplayer in this game is. Sure, I died a lot at the beginning as it is very, very fast paced. But once you start to learn the maps and get together strategies that work for this game, you'll realize the full potential. It is purely amazing. The XP points you earn as you get kills and wins and complete challenges REALLY keep you going, as you unlock better weapons and special abilities that give you significant advantages over your online opponents (which in part explains why multiplayer newcomers die so fast). There is a huge online community. This game was done with expertise - it's just right...having built on and vastly improved upon the previous games in the COD series and FPS genre. And of course to top it all off, the graphics are wonderful and the audio is very realistic and positional...especially on my brand new Sony 46" 1080p HDTV and 7.1 surround sound system! Expand
  91. YoucefC.
    Mar 16, 2008
    10
    Speechless. Online and Offline are just outstanding. I find it all around amazing and the best game I ever played and owned. A must have.
  92. JohnS.
    Mar 19, 2008
    10
    This is a game that will blow you away, and is still worth it even without multiplayer, because the well woven story will keep you coming again and again. The multiplayer, simply put, is the best online game I have ever played in my life. At $60 this game is a steal.
  93. RobT.
    Mar 8, 2008
    10
    Call of Duty 4 is a game that i find unbelievable good at all points, the single player story line is immersive and fulfilling in comparison to some games in which you play for the joy of shooting, infinity ward does not stop there but continues with its high quality into multiplayer where there is always someone online and always well tanked matches. This game is in a league of its own. 11/10!
  94. F-TangInc
    Apr 20, 2008
    10
    This is the single greatest shooting game I've ever played, and I've played HALO so I can compare. The campaign is epic and the online is epic-er! Its just so insanely fun. And it has to have some of the best graphics I've ever seen. This game makes me glad I got the PS3 and not the XBox.
  95. PicklebeeN.
    Apr 6, 2008
    10
    Definitely the best FPS I've ever played. the vs. mode is when it really shines for me. nothing is quite like having a gunfight with your best buds at an all night sleepover that's fueled by soda and donuts. A MUST buy for FPS fans. if you're looking for a great CO-OP shooter though, check out Rainbow Six Vegas 2.
  96. r4pt0rDeinonychus
    May 17, 2008
    10
    The Call of Duty series is what got me into shooters in the first place, and this is the best installment yet! I have been in clans for United Offensive and CoD2, and I plan on joining a CoD4 clan soon. Thanks Infinity Ward! You guys pwn! This is most definitely the best shooter ever, it is even better than TF2!
  97. JackH
    Jul 15, 2008
    10
    honestly the best controlling console FPS I've ever played. that aside, this game also manages to have the best FPS story I've every played as well. Graphics are great. music is great. if you don't own this, buy it. I used to think the only shooters worth buying were on PC, this was the first console shooter to feel so second nature - dual analog and everything.
  98. KevinJ.
    Jul 20, 2008
    10
    This game rocks because u feel the action and has a lot of guns.
  99. DavidB.
    Jul 31, 2008
    10
    Top class shooting game. Movement is smooth and the shooting is beautiful the only fps which is better is Battlefield Bad Company.
  100. JonathanL.
    Jul 7, 2008
    9
    One of the best shooters to date. A stellar but short single-player introduces you to this epic title. Multi-player holds variety with numerous maps, a large arsenal of weaponry, rewards for doing well and a great ranking ladder. This is one title which should be a crime to miss.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 44
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 44
  3. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. 94
    Though the single-player lacks length, the multiplayer should keep you invested in COD4 for the long winter. This is a truly fantastic multiplayer offering that's as deep as any other online game available.
  2. 100
    One of the best military shooters to date, with enough realism to make you feel like you're right on the battlefield. The visuals look amazingly life-like, unmatched by other PlayStation 3 efforts. The gameplay feels familiar, and at the same time refreshing and exciting.
  3. 95
    With proven mechanics, brilliant visuals and sound, a satisfying campaign, and robust multiplayer, COD4 is one of the best FPS packages of the year -- no small feat, considering the competition.