User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 807 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    9
    I am a fan of Battlefield 3 and Gotham City imposterT.his is actually the great Call of Duty game. I played CoD 1 , Blops, and MW3. I love the map design in this game. I like the little tweak they made. I don't understand all the complaints. I actually feel like I am using my brain to play, unlike mw3.
  2. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    Campaign is solid. Zombies are as overrated as ever. But the multiplayer returns with an added zest. The graphics have been bumped up from Black ops 1 , which is lucky as they were a jerky mess before. The games fluidity now matches it's IW brother but has less game breaking killstreaks and weapons. The pick ten points system is a stroke of genius and the maps are much more ergonomic thanCampaign is solid. Zombies are as overrated as ever. But the multiplayer returns with an added zest. The graphics have been bumped up from Black ops 1 , which is lucky as they were a jerky mess before. The games fluidity now matches it's IW brother but has less game breaking killstreaks and weapons. The pick ten points system is a stroke of genius and the maps are much more ergonomic than Infinity wards ugly high walled prisons. I was an Infinity Ward fan right up until the release of mw3. I loved ( and still do ) COD 4 and MW2 , but the control has well and truly passed to Treyarch. Infinity Ward the ball is in your court. Try and match this! Expand
  3. Nov 22, 2012
    9
    I got mine on the day it came out. I knew going into it all I would be playing is the multiplayer as I don't like zombies or the story. The last call of duty story was lame and never made it past the first 2 hours. Same with this one was boring. I like playing Batman Arkum City and the story on this was does not even compare. However the multiplayer is fantastic. A lot of the same butI got mine on the day it came out. I knew going into it all I would be playing is the multiplayer as I don't like zombies or the story. The last call of duty story was lame and never made it past the first 2 hours. Same with this one was boring. I like playing Batman Arkum City and the story on this was does not even compare. However the multiplayer is fantastic. A lot of the same but different. Better guns, maps and equipment. I love playing the multiplayer with my friends. Expand
  4. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    PPl, please, COD is a multiplier francise, dont buy for campaign or zombies (though zombies is generally good). I played multiplayer last night until i was level 18. The gameplay is the same as MW2, MW3, and Black ops mixed in. Blops 1 was my favorite and this is a nice refresh. Overall its the same gameplay as usual. I dont understand why people want to fix something that isnt broken, ifPPl, please, COD is a multiplier francise, dont buy for campaign or zombies (though zombies is generally good). I played multiplayer last night until i was level 18. The gameplay is the same as MW2, MW3, and Black ops mixed in. Blops 1 was my favorite and this is a nice refresh. Overall its the same gameplay as usual. I dont understand why people want to fix something that isnt broken, if you want something different buy battlefield 3. I also didnt try nuketown 2025 yet, but Ill assume if its the same map as before, I will spend countless hours on nuketown with new killstreaks and better graphics and faster gameplay as compared to blops1. On to review points:

    Similar to other MWs/blops: Fast Gameplay, similar graphics to MW3 though slightly more blurry to me, great framerate, You have to earn tokens at each level to unlock new stuff and also have to acheive a level to unlock certain equipment

    Differences: . You can only carry 10 total items on you, including perks and attachments to weapons. This makes things more strategic, do you want light weight and hardline, or do you want a concussion grenade or two. I really enjoyed this as you need to plan for maps and gameplay style. Perks also dont seem to be as dominating (cant see how to get unlimited running or hardline pro). When getting points in mulitplayer for killstreak rewards you get 100 for each direct kill, 10 for each time your teamates kill a guy when you have an AUV up, 25/50 or others based on assits, and killstreak reward kills give you points but not always a lot. This makes it more challanging that MW3 and getting 4 kills, then a missle strike, then a couple more and a gunship, requires much more careful play to get as many kills as in blops1/MW3. In Blops 1 I rule with ak74, rapid fire, unlimited sprinting, and everything else doesnt matter. In Blops 2 things are a bit different as the perks and load out stops you from making an all around domination character. If you want all around great character you will lose your grenades and flashbangs to use more perks to "run and gun more".

    There are also more attachments to guns, and around 22 killstreaks, which are similar and new at the same time. I was using the quadracopter, which I liked, airstrikes are standard but you can choose 3 locations, and I also got a grenade laucher that I took out about 5 guys with, also unllike blops 1 when you die you can reuse your deployed killstreak reward (like the minigun in blops1 which you would lose if you died), I also got some guided drone, throw it in the air and when it finds someone its an instant kill.

    Mics for the guy you killed send you what they say when they die, hahaha, I was having fun last night at the people wondering how they died. Most people last night were levels 1-20, and one guy who was 37...no idea how that happened.

    Anyway all in all I rate it a 9 for not fixing something that isnt broken, while adding a few new features to an existing great game style.
    Expand
  5. Nov 15, 2012
    9
    Call of Duty: Black Ops, possibly the best Treyarch Call of Duty has created a sequel. Is it good? Yes, the changes and gameplay are amazing. But what did I miss? Oh that's right, the idiotic trolls giving the game a 0. It's apparent at how many idiots there are, and possibly a good number of those who will vote my review down because I'm not playing their game, but enough about that.Call of Duty: Black Ops, possibly the best Treyarch Call of Duty has created a sequel. Is it good? Yes, the changes and gameplay are amazing. But what did I miss? Oh that's right, the idiotic trolls giving the game a 0. It's apparent at how many idiots there are, and possibly a good number of those who will vote my review down because I'm not playing their game, but enough about that. Black Ops 2 has a great campaign mode writen by David Goyer who helped write the Dark Knight. The storyline is clever although not the standout if the game. The game sees even brighter light with the Multiplayer. It's as good as it's ever been and added some new designs for good measure. The zombie mode, seemed like a flop due to the dissaperence of the original characters, but, zombies changed to much it makes it all worth it. Tranzit is the highlight of zombies, showing off the new made "Greenrun" and a whole new direction for Call of Duty. This is as good as the original Black Ops which I gave an 8/10. Well done, Treyarch. Expand
  6. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    Done know why this always gets haters. Its a game that ALOT of people buy and enjoy. if you don't like it, don't buy it. I HATED MW# but this time Treyarch have done something innovative at least so its not the same ol same ol. Sound is great and there is enough variation to differ from MW3. Is it perfect? By no means, but its a good all round game and at least give high replay valueDone know why this always gets haters. Its a game that ALOT of people buy and enjoy. if you don't like it, don't buy it. I HATED MW# but this time Treyarch have done something innovative at least so its not the same ol same ol. Sound is great and there is enough variation to differ from MW3. Is it perfect? By no means, but its a good all round game and at least give high replay value unlike many other games out there. Expand
  7. Nov 15, 2012
    9
    Wasn't sure how Black Ops 2 was going to turn out and I almost had decided that I didn't want it. I ended up receiving it as a gift and was hesitant to distract myself from other games I had been playing and try it out. I sat down with it and was very impressed by the storyline, it's as intense and action-packed as Call of Duty games should be and it has ascended to a new peak inWasn't sure how Black Ops 2 was going to turn out and I almost had decided that I didn't want it. I ended up receiving it as a gift and was hesitant to distract myself from other games I had been playing and try it out. I sat down with it and was very impressed by the storyline, it's as intense and action-packed as Call of Duty games should be and it has ascended to a new peak in story-telling in CoD games with the multiple endings and decision making. There are some things I didn't like a lot, like the strikeforce missions. They were too difficult and I just ended up not playing any of them, but other than that I love the single player and plan to play it again to get the rest of the endings. I just barely scraped multiplayer this morning but it seems to be the same fast-paced frag fest that we all know and love from the CoD series, except with its own revamped spin on things. I love everything about Black Ops 2 so far, and I feel like it's the CoD game we deserved last year instead of Infinity Ward and Sledgehammer's failure. I am still extremely impressed at how Treyarch can continue to surprise and impress me while still using the same old engine they have been. I can't imagine them being able to do so for many more games, though. Anyway, I think Black Ops 2 is a fantastic game even if it's the same formula as it has been for the past few years. I recommend you pick it up if you liked Black Ops 1. Expand
  8. Nov 16, 2012
    9
    Black Ops II was something I was really looking forward to delve into and explore. From the videos I had been watching to make sure it wasnt the same old formula, I felt I had a pretty good idea of what to expect and a healthy amount of curiosity for what had been supposedly changed.

    The game was always going to be a polished form of the previous iteration from a run and gun standpoint,
    Black Ops II was something I was really looking forward to delve into and explore. From the videos I had been watching to make sure it wasnt the same old formula, I felt I had a pretty good idea of what to expect and a healthy amount of curiosity for what had been supposedly changed.

    The game was always going to be a polished form of the previous iteration from a run and gun standpoint, bnut where Black Ops seperates itself from it's predecessors is in its sci-fi interpretaion of Military technology. Some of the most fun I have had with a Call of duty game to date and it makes me wonder why they hadn't thought of this before. The gunplay was never the complaint from me as far as Call of Duty goes, but rather the unimaginative level design and variety from a publisher who had the resources (and now more than ever before) to revolutionise gaming each consecutive year. And while I wont call Black Ops II a Revolution, it is undoubtedly in the right direction. Great work Treyarch
    Expand
  9. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    Call Of Duty Black Ops 2 is a game that I think you will enjoy on ps3 very much. Black Ops 2 has everything you need like...the campaign, Zombies, and the one and only "Multiplayer" (Which is the main event)

    So If I were you...GO BUY THE GAME!
  10. Dec 14, 2012
    10
    All you have to do is look at critic reviews to see how good this game is; 15 positive, 3 mixed & 0 negative.
    User reviews 208 negative, haterz gonna hate.
  11. Jan 4, 2013
    9
    I guess it's cool to hate Black Ops II. Because even though a zillion people bought it and LOVE it, there are still a ton of people who like to troll review sites and forums to talk about how awful it is. All of the troll posts look copy-and-paste jobs from the same silly handbook. "The lag is so bad!" "Too many campers!" "Terrible spawns!" Blah, blah, blah. My guess is that most ofI guess it's cool to hate Black Ops II. Because even though a zillion people bought it and LOVE it, there are still a ton of people who like to troll review sites and forums to talk about how awful it is. All of the troll posts look copy-and-paste jobs from the same silly handbook. "The lag is so bad!" "Too many campers!" "Terrible spawns!" Blah, blah, blah. My guess is that most of the complainers are n00bs who tried to play and went 3-20 then gave up. The rest are professional trolls who don't actually own the game but just love to troll. Whatever. Very good game, glad I bought it. Disregard these knuckleheads. Expand
  12. Nov 14, 2012
    9
    I have to give Treyarch HUGE props for this game. They improved everything about the first one and created one of the best FPS experiences ever! The multiplayer is simply incredible, it runs at a smooth 60fps and looks great. Even on opening day and night I really didn't even have problems with the game servers. People would drop out of the party sometimes, but to be expected. The perksI have to give Treyarch HUGE props for this game. They improved everything about the first one and created one of the best FPS experiences ever! The multiplayer is simply incredible, it runs at a smooth 60fps and looks great. Even on opening day and night I really didn't even have problems with the game servers. People would drop out of the party sometimes, but to be expected. The perks and leaving system have been overhauled and I love that they switched the KILLstreaks to SCOREstreaks now, it gives you credit for doing other things in objective based games other than killing people. It should have been done long ago. I really think that Treyarch has surpassed Infinity Ward now in the COD series. I will never go back. Expand
  13. Nov 16, 2012
    9
    In my opinion (duh seeing as this is a review), most folks who get online to write a review of something usually don't do it unless they feel compelled to do it out of anger. They're so angry about their experience that they feel the need to vent by writing a scathing review as a form of catharsis. Critics are paid to review games. They don't get the luxury of writing a review only whenIn my opinion (duh seeing as this is a review), most folks who get online to write a review of something usually don't do it unless they feel compelled to do it out of anger. They're so angry about their experience that they feel the need to vent by writing a scathing review as a form of catharsis. Critics are paid to review games. They don't get the luxury of writing a review only when they feel cheated. If they all had a positive experience, the consensus is mostly positive. that's just how it goes. When it comes to a game like Call of Duty: Black Ops 2, gamer opinions cannot be more polarized.

    As a gamer, I can't make myself hate this game no matter how much the Internet tells me to hate it. I enjoy thought-provoking and story-driven games as much as the next person, but Call of Duty has always held a soft spot in my heart. i went to college and my best buddies went to other schools, but Call of Duty has always been there allowing us to hang out on the couch together via headset. To be honest, I bought the game mostly for the zombie mode. That has always been our bread and butter when we played online together, and Treyarch really improved on it with this iteration. It mixes it up with "Tranzit" and "Grief" by making it more open and adding in team-based competition while still retaining the parts that made it so fun to play with the classic "Survival" mode. We always joked around about our zombie strategies if the apocalypse ever happened and Black Ops 2 lets us put our strategies into practice. The single player campaign is also fun to play. The story in the Black Ops series has always been more interesting to me than the Modern Warfare series. Menendez, the primary antagonist, is probably one of the most layered villains of the series because you often empathize with him and hate him at the same time. The voice acting is great and the sound in general has improved since the last game and is almost on par with Battlefield in sound design. The graphics are pretty much the same as it's always been, which is fine. If it's not broken, don't fix it. However, if you have a 3D TV, I highly recommend playing it in 3D. It's a blast. The only problem I have with the campaign is the inclusion of the new "strike force" missions. Alternating between top-down RTS views and traditional first-person, it's drastically different than anything Call of Duty has done before. However, it's a bit spotty and your A.I. brethren aren't the sharpest knives in the drawer. I found myself just running around killing everyone on my own instead of relying on my compatriots to do it. I appreciate Treyarch for wanting to try something new, but I don't think it was really necessary. Sure it helps influence the outcome of the story, but I felt it could have been handled better. This brings me to the multiplayer. I've never been a savant when it comes to playing online. I've always found it difficult to jump in and play with people who live and breathe Call of Duty. One of the cool features in Black Ops 2 is the "Combat Training" mode that allows you to play with players of equal skill and a few bots thrown in. It's a great way to get new players acclimated to the game and gives people who have played before a chance to brush up when they start back up again. You level up and gain XP, but it doesn't start counting against your combat record until after level 10. So, don't be afraid of dying because it's going to happen. The new "pick 10" approach to customization is refreshing as well. It allows you to really add what you want from the get-go giving you the freedom to really tailor your play style the way you like. Kill streaks have been replaced by score streaks, which gives you the opportunity to apply things like assists and captures to your streak rather than just kills. So, if you're more of a kamikaze fighter and enjoy sacrificing you life for the good of the team, you won't be forgotten with the new score streaks. The multiplayer is like gambling, if you go into it expecting to win, you're not going be able to enjoy the game and have a good time. Rather than getting on here to rant about Call of Duty, I decided to tell you about how fun it can be. If you don't like it, don't buy it. There are more things in life that are more deserving of your fiery rage. But if you're like me and enjoy video games for what they are, you'll have a lot of fun with Black Ops 2. It's not all just unsupervised 9-year-olds hurling racial slurs into your ear.
    Expand
  14. Jan 16, 2013
    10
    i love it i am not big call of duty fan i prefer skyrim zombies game etc But i won this game i said try it out this was best game ever i like Multiplayer & zombie maps

    i love it if call of duty would turn around do whole call duty zombie i mean not just zombie maps i mean i mean like left 4 dead but better
  15. Nov 2, 2013
    9
    Let me first say that I had no interest in Black Ops 2 initially. Like many, I thought I was done with the Call of Duty franchise as each year it became more of the same. However, I rented Black Ops 2 and that changed very quickly. The campaign is probably my third favorite (behind Modern Warfare and Black Ops). I did not think it was nearly as great as most say it is. I really don't mindLet me first say that I had no interest in Black Ops 2 initially. Like many, I thought I was done with the Call of Duty franchise as each year it became more of the same. However, I rented Black Ops 2 and that changed very quickly. The campaign is probably my third favorite (behind Modern Warfare and Black Ops). I did not think it was nearly as great as most say it is. I really don't mind since I play through the campaign once before I delve into the real purpose of the CoD games..the multiplayer. The multiplayer is far and away the best since Modern Warfare revolutionized it about five years ago. Since 2007, it is been more of the same with more tweaks here and there, but this game allows for alot of customization. Multiplayer has so many options to fit your play style especially with the Pick 10 style. I can go into a game with no grenades if I want and stock up on perks. Also, the emblem creator is better than ever with more slots and customization. It's a fun way to express yourself even if some user emblems are not exactly PG rated. While there are some technical issues and the game is not perfect, the game is the most fun I've had playing online to date. I've owned it for a few weeks and have already put in over 100 hours and I haven't felt even begun to get bored. Expand
  16. May 28, 2014
    10
    Fantastic campaign combined with endless hours of multiplayer enjoyment not to mention zombies give this game a definite 10. My favorite COD campaign, second favorite multiplayer (BO1 first).
  17. Nov 17, 2012
    9
    Well done Treyarch for serving this years dish on a silver platter. Campaign is solid and gives you a reason to play it more than once, multiplayer is better than ever, giving you more choices, from equipment to perks and introducing the new wild cards, and the zombie survival making a stunning return ready to place you back to the edge of your seat. Keep at it and can't wait for more DLCWell done Treyarch for serving this years dish on a silver platter. Campaign is solid and gives you a reason to play it more than once, multiplayer is better than ever, giving you more choices, from equipment to perks and introducing the new wild cards, and the zombie survival making a stunning return ready to place you back to the edge of your seat. Keep at it and can't wait for more DLC maps for both zombies and multiplayer.
    P.S. Go home trolls. You are drunk.
    Expand
  18. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    The way you're supposed to rate a game is how much fun you have playing it, and this is still fun. I'll be the first to admit that the franchise is showing its age but that's the only huge bad thing about this game. The campaign is the same style and pacing, with twists and turns, almost like a highlight reel. If you loved or hated it before, your opinion probably isn't going to change.The way you're supposed to rate a game is how much fun you have playing it, and this is still fun. I'll be the first to admit that the franchise is showing its age but that's the only huge bad thing about this game. The campaign is the same style and pacing, with twists and turns, almost like a highlight reel. If you loved or hated it before, your opinion probably isn't going to change. The multiplayer is as good as it has been since the original Modern Warfare. The zombies, though a little overwhelming at first, is a huge step and will be for a lot of people the most appealing thing about this game. I expected the User Rating of BLOPS2 to be less than 5 because of all these trolls, but this is ridiculous. People say if you like COD then you must be on the bandwagon. Well, you trolls have your own bandwagon. Sure, we've seen some of this before, but you need to rate a game based on the fun you have playing it, and this game gets a solid 9. Expand
  19. Feb 14, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When I first got black ops 2, I wasn't sure what to expect, for black ops was in my opinion the most entertaining COD not particulary with the campaign, but with the multiplayer, I thought treyarch did a wonderful job in that aspect. However, after reading these reviews I was expecting a horrible game that wasted all the money spent on it. Ill start off with the multiplayer, and yes like all other call of duty's, it was great and easy to use, especially with the new addition of pick 10. I admit it was frustrating in the beginning as I was unsure of what guns to use and how to create the perfect class, but that soon changed. Too add to that, the addition of league play is super fun as well as the other small things such as providing cooler clan tags which are fun and challenging to unlock. And the future weapons are amazing as they are not sci-fi crazy futuristic, but futuristic enough to believe that they could possibly be created in the near future. All that aside I give the multiplayer an 8/10. Now onto the campaign. It was amazing and that's all there is to it, from the slow motion action scenes in night clubs whilst dubstep/electronin music blares in the background to playing as the bad guy (menendez) running through a town ferociously killing everybody with a machete to protect his sister! Plus who would of thought Alex Mason would of died the way he did!! Again I admit, that the campaign does have its weak points in that the beginning was slow and almost painful to get through, yet I feel it was necccasary to propel the story!! Plus the addition of choice on who you kill or whether you kill or injure a character is fantastic!! It was action packed, with a compelling story that made me sad to finish in the end, yet it was beautiful, thus in the end ill give it a 9/10. Lastly there is zombies, and although I cant say much on this as I have never played it as much, I can say that so far it is interesting and again a fun new take on the game type, but ill get back to it once I play it more! So in the end although it does have its lows, I feel that this game is amazing, and possibly one of the best call of duty's made!! I recommend you buy it and enjoy! Expand
  20. Dec 22, 2012
    9
    I've only played a little bit of this game, but it's fantastic. Multiplayer is fun, as is zombies. I'm not into games like this for the campaign, so if there's any criticisms there, I can't really comment, but both zombies and multiplayer make this game worth it.
  21. Nov 14, 2012
    9
    I gave this game a 9 because too many are bashing this game. I mean really what did you expect a next gen game that's not even possible until the new consoles arrive and even then it will have to be tweaked before we have a game that runs as smooth as COD titles. They are similar but I have played only multiplayer and I believe it is the best and most balanced online experience I've hadI gave this game a 9 because too many are bashing this game. I mean really what did you expect a next gen game that's not even possible until the new consoles arrive and even then it will have to be tweaked before we have a game that runs as smooth as COD titles. They are similar but I have played only multiplayer and I believe it is the best and most balanced online experience I've had with any COD lightyears beyond MW3 which I liked as well. If you hate COD why do you buy it every year? I'm a BF fan as well but I don't get bored as quick with CoD. They are different games all together with a unique feel to each. I believe CoD games are either loved or hated but it is still good. Stop buying it but I really want all you noobs to keep getting it so I can shred you guys up and help my stats. I don't care about team play if no one else does because I mute all anyways. Campaign I'm sure sucks and I'll just play for the trophies. The zombies I really never got into even on the first game I'll give it a try but I don't think it will draw me in too much. One last thing that I do like about Cod is they don't charge you for a ten dollars just to play online like most games these days and that matters to me because I have two PS3s and I hate to always have to pay for a pass for my son. So get and just have fun or sell it and don't buy the products anymore. It is obviously a great franchise just look at the sales and the need for some to hate it. I love it gets a 9 from me just for the multiplayer. JUST HAVE FUN!! Hit me up my username on here is the same as my PSN ID Expand
  22. Nov 14, 2012
    9
    3...2...1... and breathe............ so many angry negative people on here ! Let's be honest, Call of Duty is what it is. You know what you're going to get on release day. A different story, slightly improved graphics, tweaked MP. I personally got tired of COD etc.. a couple of years ago after hammering it day in day out. I had a break and now im back and you know what... i'm happy it3...2...1... and breathe............ so many angry negative people on here ! Let's be honest, Call of Duty is what it is. You know what you're going to get on release day. A different story, slightly improved graphics, tweaked MP. I personally got tired of COD etc.. a couple of years ago after hammering it day in day out. I had a break and now im back and you know what... i'm happy it hasn't changed too much. It is the best (I also like BF equally I might add) beyond all recognition but it has changed enough to make it feel fresh for me. I think a 9 is fully justified. It is the best in it's field in my opinion, as is Fifa, Dishonoured, Uncharted 3 etc... It feels like a premium title, it plays like one. If you give this game lower than a 7 then it is not honest opinion, it is to try and make a statement. Grow up... get a life. Why do you care if it sells well or not? Ridiculous. The game currently sits at a user score of 3.9 on this site which is quite frankly, a joke. Bet you all still bought it though right ?? ha ha Expand
  23. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Don't see why all the hate. If you haven't honestly played it, don't add a bad review to it. Love the new zombie mode and the new gameplay mechanics on multiplayer with the pick ten. Feel like it will be implemented soon in other FPS games.
  24. Feb 8, 2013
    9
    Bo2 is pretty good but isn't as good as BO1 I find that some weapons are off balenced but its all good. Its a really fun game you should buy it
  25. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    I see a 4.2 rating with 146 people saying its terrible, but me personally I really like it. I thought the new guns were pretty good and a hour in on campaign it's also really good, multiplayer and the new maps are also really cool but the zombie maps do suck and are small. And trust me it takes so much to please me I barley ever give a 10 rating, I buy just about every new release that'sI see a 4.2 rating with 146 people saying its terrible, but me personally I really like it. I thought the new guns were pretty good and a hour in on campaign it's also really good, multiplayer and the new maps are also really cool but the zombie maps do suck and are small. And trust me it takes so much to please me I barley ever give a 10 rating, I buy just about every new release that's is suppose to be good and I was very disappointed with madden 13, NHL 13, resident evil 6 and even pretty disappointed with assassins creed 3 also because of the slow start so when I played BO 2 I was kinda like about time a good game came out this year, now maybe it's not wat ppl expected I don't know, I think cuz mw3 and blacks ops was so good they expected something amazing but overall I give it a 8-9 on the game itself not wat u expected. Buy some new releases there's been so many terrible games this year it's not funny, I actually feel ripped off after playing certain games there so terrible so when I play a game like this I'm very pleased. Btw I been a COD fan since day one Ive owned and played every COD game from ps1 to Ps3 and I'm not disappointed in BO2 at all I recommend it to any one Expand
  26. Nov 10, 2013
    9
    The low user score is unfair but who can stop the fanboys... Another successful installment of the CoD series with a few welcome tweaks.
    STORY AND CHARACTERS: The Black Ops series started with a great story with the set in the cold war era. This one continues with the same story travelling between that era and the near plausible future. Well thought and well delivered. As for the
    The low user score is unfair but who can stop the fanboys... Another successful installment of the CoD series with a few welcome tweaks.
    STORY AND CHARACTERS: The Black Ops series started with a great story with the set in the cold war era. This one continues with the same story travelling between that era and the near plausible future. Well thought and well delivered. As for the characters they are well built and you can relate to their story. Menendez steals the show.
    PRESENTATION: As good as ever. In a time when the next gen consoles dominate the conversations BO2 still manages to deliver great quality graphics even with an aging engine. Whatever that means.
    GAMEPLAY: Not many innovations here but why mess in a winning formula right? Exception made to the strike force missions. Did not liked them and feel a bit off in the campaign.
    PROGRESSION: Treyarch tweaked the progression system on the online experience to a new level with the pick 10 system and the weapons prestige. Very good idea if you ask me.
    ONLINE: Picking up with the above mentioned the MP is even better with the referred pick 10 and weapon prestige which delivers a very well balanced and engaging online experience.
    The CoD series still delivers the best FPS game around. No doubt about that.
    Expand
  27. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    I give this game a flat ZERO because it does NOT work on PS3, actually the constant hard freezings may permanently damage your console.
  28. Nov 14, 2012
    9
    Tbh, Activision and Treyarch won't care about all the people putting 0/10 on their ratings, they'll be happy that game critics, who aren't just trolling and make the user score as low as possible, like this game. Either way, I will be playing many hours on this game, as will a lot of the people who have put 0/10 on their review, I can guarantee it . This for me is an upgraded, enjoyableTbh, Activision and Treyarch won't care about all the people putting 0/10 on their ratings, they'll be happy that game critics, who aren't just trolling and make the user score as low as possible, like this game. Either way, I will be playing many hours on this game, as will a lot of the people who have put 0/10 on their review, I can guarantee it . This for me is an upgraded, enjoyable futuristic cod with brand new maps, guns and an awesome layout which, unlike what many people are saying, took a lot of effort in to make. Zombies is also sweet, great to see it back, with upgrades! Awesome. Expand
  29. Nov 17, 2012
    9
    Only problem is that the graphics are bad in the PS3 version, no anti-aliasing, little blurry. But the game is cool, best COD. I like the new weapons and the new style.
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Jan 12, 2013
    80
    One of the most complete, albeit shaky, packages the series has ever seen. [Issue#226, p.68]
  2. Jan 3, 2013
    90
    While the campaign length is fairly standard of past iterations of the series, it's worth multiple playthroughs and the multiplayer offers endless hours of fun and enjoyment; whether it's slaying zombies or facing off against other players in a wide range of multiplayer modes with an endless number of loadout combinations.
  3. Dec 23, 2012
    78
    Worth checking out for online and the sci-fi novelty value alone. [Jan 2013, p.95]