User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 784 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 8, 2012
    2
    I was expecting some improvement in the multiplayer. Nope. After playing Halo I, thought MW2's multiplayer was bad because of lag. Now I see that MW2 handles the best of the entire COD series. Treyarch/Black Ops has always been worse...from World at War, Black Ops and now Black Ops 2. They've done nothing to improve the way their system handles network lag and hit detection. The game is an exercise in frustration. Time to sell the game and buy a cinder block for me to beat my head against, I'll get a similar level of enjoyment and have $50. Expand
  2. Jul 15, 2013
    8
    Okay, here's yet another Call of Duty game. If you've played every CoD game from CoD4, you know what to expect. Only this time, the game is set mostly in the future.

    Let's look at the single-player campaign. To be honest, you have to give credit to Treyarch for trying something new with the campaign structure. What you do will affect what path you take and how the story turns out. It's
    nice to take a break away from the linear campaign structure, as what was done in the past. The story was quite ok.

    Zombie mode. They actually have done SOME improvements, but why do we need a storyline here?

    Multiplayer: Here is what people care about the most. I like the idea that you can prestige your weapons once you max out your level. Other than that, it's really the same Call of Duty multiplayer from the past games, except that it's in the future. It should be noted that there are parts of the singleplayer that is set in the 1980s. Why can't we have that in the multiplayer? You know a mode set in the future and a mode set in the past? That would be something.

    Overall: The only surprise you should expect from BO2 is the non-linear single-player structure. Multiplayer is quite the same. It's still fun, though. BO2 does NOT suck, but if you're expecting a totally revamped CoD, you'll be disappointed.

    P.S. Wake up, IW and Treyarch. This is the same engine used for five years. Give us a new engine already! Small lighting changes don't cut it.
    Expand
  3. Jan 29, 2013
    4
    BLACK OPS 2 ZOMBIES ONLY REVIEW. Having played World at War and Black Ops 1, I can say that the zombies mode in this game has definitely lost its touch. Sure, it's improved in the sense that there are now more modes: TranZit - where you travel between the different maps via a bus - and Grief - a competitive game mode where two teams compete for score, but still killing zombies. The maps aren't great either. Sure, they're designed around the TranZit mode but that is mainly, from my perspective, for little kids that want to over-complicate a simple mini-game. The classic style zombies is still present though. The three areas for the survival mode each have different resources. The first area, for example, just has a mystery box and 4 wall weapons, like the original Nacht der Untoten. It should also be noted that one can now change the starting round, whether there are dogs and whether it's headshots only, as well as the option to turn down the difficulty. Despite these additions, the actual fun has declined. You kill over 200 zombies before you even get to double figures on the round counter, yet there is little satisfaction. The weapons aren't satisfying to use due to the lack of recoil perhaps. Or maybe the zombies don't die as quickly. Whatever it is, something is definitely missing. In my opinion, Shi No Numa, Der Riese and Kino der Toten had the perfect balance between complexity of the map and complexity of progression. Everything was simple. You didn't have to go through a million different rituals and easter eggs just to upgrade a gun or even access the mystery box. Yet, they weren't too simple where there was no scope for strategy or variation. In Black Ops II, the problem is that it's gone too far yet again, just like the DLC maps for Black ops 1.
    //TLDR; if you're buying Black Ops 2 for the zombies, be aware that it's nowhere near as fun as World at War and the focus has been shifted away from zombies being a mini-game towards it being a more complete horde mode; which falls short of even Modern Warfare 3 or Gears of War 3's survival modes.
    Expand
  4. Dec 4, 2012
    3
    While no game deserves a 0 as a score this game definitely does not deserve a 10. Single player basically comes down to more of the same old formula Activision has forced these development companies to work with. The AI is laughable at best, but every one knows the Call of Duty franchise has never had the best coding for AI. The story line in general is 5 hours long and is really bland, unimaginative, and well, more of the same. They try to deviate from becoming a linear corridor shooter by supposedly providing player with options but they don't truly affects the game. The ending on the other hand might. Which is suppose to add re playability to the first person campaign, but there's really no reason to play over the same campaign for just a different ending. Multiplayer, this is the are where this game should shine but it seems the MP portion of this game feels a lot similar to that of MW3 and of course Black Ops. Small scaled maps with tons of areas to camp. Basically comes down to which ever team can camp the middle ground the best wins the game. The rest is just protecting the same corner through out the game with occasionally moving 3-6 feet away from your old camp spot to corner camp in a different spot. There are no need to watch your back as certain equipment and streaks do that for your. The game is slow paced and also suffers from the same old bad hit detection. While it does some what fix old issues like knifing people from miles away, it does at times glitch and can cause your character to launch at another player. Kill streaks seem re-hashed but with an added "futuristic" approach. There's always lag and horrible host selection, the spawn points are mediocre at best, but what can one expect from such small maps that are crammed with buildings to make them seem "big." The leveling system online has been set to keep players from playing. While it gives players who have been playing the game longest the upper hand with over powered weaponry and the best perks. The new set up is suppose to force players into playing the objective, that is not the case. The way the maps are set up actually encourage players to whore kill streaks and never actually go for any objective. Word of advice, try to level as fast as you can to get ghost perk, it's a uav whore type of game. Zombies: This is where this game shines. It's somewhat new but refreshing at the same time reminds me a bit of Left for Dead. Which is great fun to be honest. If this game was just a zombie installment I would definitely recommend this game. Other wise, save yourself some money and just rent this game or save up for MW5 or BLOPS 4; Skip a generation or two just like any one in their right mind would with Fifa games. Expand
  5. Nov 6, 2013
    7
    I like the near-futuristic approach to Call of Duty. The weapons are fun to use, and are slightly more varied than in previous installments. The muliplayer is exactly the same, otherwise. Same game modes, and pretty well the same maps. Spawns are slightly less bad than in previous games, and the maps remain small. The singleplayer is decent, with specific actions that result in different endings adding a minor difference to the Call of Duty formula. Zombies is back and is as boring as ever. The formula is getting extremely stale at this point. Since there are no other decent multiplayer games coming out for a while, guess were stuck with this one. Expand
  6. Nov 22, 2012
    1
    This game is meh. With the addition of an zombie campaign, it adds to a more in depth experience. But that is about it. Campaign is unbearably dumbed down. Multiplayer is just the normal stuff. What would have really made this game good is a new graphics engine. But i guess if people keep buying it, activision will keep spooning this crap into our mouths. Thanks for the better zombie mode. Maybe i won't trade this one in , in just 2 weeks like i did MW3. Expand
  7. Apr 5, 2014
    5
    Story: 7 out of 10 Graphics: 8 out of 10 Gameplay: 8 out of 10 Fun: 5 out of 10 Controls: 9 out of 10 Ease to Learn: 8 out of 10
    Length: 7 out of 10
    Re-play: 7.5 out of 10
    Audio: 8 out of 10
    Bugs/Glitches: not much
  8. Nov 2, 2013
    9
    Let me first say that I had no interest in Black Ops 2 initially. Like many, I thought I was done with the Call of Duty franchise as each year it became more of the same. However, I rented Black Ops 2 and that changed very quickly. The campaign is probably my third favorite (behind Modern Warfare and Black Ops). I did not think it was nearly as great as most say it is. I really don't mind since I play through the campaign once before I delve into the real purpose of the CoD games..the multiplayer. The multiplayer is far and away the best since Modern Warfare revolutionized it about five years ago. Since 2007, it is been more of the same with more tweaks here and there, but this game allows for alot of customization. Multiplayer has so many options to fit your play style especially with the Pick 10 style. I can go into a game with no grenades if I want and stock up on perks. Also, the emblem creator is better than ever with more slots and customization. It's a fun way to express yourself even if some user emblems are not exactly PG rated. While there are some technical issues and the game is not perfect, the game is the most fun I've had playing online to date. I've owned it for a few weeks and have already put in over 100 hours and I haven't felt even begun to get bored. Expand
  9. Dec 10, 2012
    3
    First CoD game i've ever played, it's really fun. awesome design and gunplay/modes. having lots of fun...unfortunately it only lasted for about a week. I started to understand the game more and more, and became more frustrated at how bad the latency is ruining this game for everyone. no killcam is ever accurate to what is actually done on my side of the screen. a PDW looks like it kills me in 2 bullets, but on their killcam they already pumped me with 4 bullets around a corner they were already around before it showed on my screen. there's so many youtube videos expressing this with video footage examples! it's infuriating that a game that emphasizes so much on multiplayer and that they can't even get the online portion correct. they implemented a patch (1.04) to fix weapon balances and such, but everyone still uses the SMG's because they dominate close range and mid-range and sometimes kill long range, where's the shotguns ranges? oh sure 1-5 feet but how can i be successful with so much latency problems? it's killing the game for me and i won't be returning to the game until it is fixed, and I may re-write a better review to what it actually deserves... Expand
  10. May 28, 2014
    10
    Fantastic campaign combined with endless hours of multiplayer enjoyment not to mention zombies give this game a definite 10. My favorite COD campaign, second favorite multiplayer (BO1 first).
  11. Dec 29, 2012
    2
    It's a Treyarch game so I kind of know what to expect. No subtlety whatsoever, just bigger guns and more enemies to shoot. You end up not caring about the single player mission because you haven't a clue most of the time where you're being shot from. The story isn't ever that interesting tbh, just the normal bad guy blah blah blah. Accuracy is not there, you unload a load bullets to find you're not even taking anyone down. The multiplayer isn't much better. As already been said you can unload an entire clip into someone to find they turn around and just blast you, with a pistol, with 2 bullets. The lobby system when trying to join people is horrendous. It says you can join only to be told its either full or an error for 90% of the time. When you do get a party together it's pot luck if they all make it into a game or not. Until they balance the weapons and sort the lobby system out then its flawed in a massive way. But then again I shouldn't have expected more from Treyarch. Infinity ward games have class, subtlety and a mission you get genuinely engrossed in. This has none of that. Period. Expand
  12. Jan 14, 2013
    6
    Wow! Amazing story! I didn't buy Black Ops 2 for the story though! I bought it for Zombies! I was and still am totally let down by the 3 maps the game came with I just hope dlc saves this poor game! Wow what a let down! Make a Mars map and save this poor game!
  13. Jun 19, 2013
    4
    Graphics amazing, but this just isn't my type of game. Hard to see who the enemy is, very chaotic while in play, no story in single play mode. Very hard for a person to me to get into. I may be minority, but just not my type of game
  14. Jan 9, 2013
    2
    200 bland minigames tied together with good graphics and an incomprehensible plot. Enemy (and friendly) AI is the worst I can remember since... hmmm... nope, worst I can remember.

    ... to be fair, the number 200 was pulled out of a hat. I only got through maybe 30 of em before calling it a duty.
  15. Nov 25, 2012
    2
    This game just plain sucks... Has a bunch of freezing problems and people of course yelling at each other every game I go into or else it would be a background mic. I first played the campaign I thought that was ok but when I was almost done with the campaign my screen just turned black so guess what I had to do...RESTART MY PS3. So I booted it back up and I HAD TO RESTART THE WHOLE MISSION AGAIN!!!!!! The multiplayer of course has a bunch of kids, people yelling at each other or background mics for everygame I go into. Multiplayer gameplay is really the same I had a bunch of freezing problems at the loading screen so more restarting the PS3.....Multiplayer just plain sucks now. The multiplayer also has a bunch of lag compensation so i would put it on best. You would still find it on best connection...Zombies is terrible it has more freezing problems then the multiplayer. But the zombies is ok so thats why I gave my score a 2 for good campaign and zombies gameplay. This series needs to die so bad. COD 4 is still the best with good campaign and multiplayer and never wants me to rage on that game. Treyarch you failed on a very popular game series. Expand
  16. Jan 6, 2013
    2
    I'm going to be honest, do not buy this game unless you pay £10, its good for a tenner but other than that it
  17. Dec 29, 2013
    6
    There is a lot of haters out there and to be honest I am half a hater myself, for how bad the graphics are when compared to games by EA, SCE etc., for how they never have any innovation on anything, but there is no deny that CoD is a pretty solid franchise. It might be repetitive, but it is always functional and definitely playable.
    bo2 is a mediocre shooter, but it definitely isnt a 0
    out of 10. It did earn infinity ward more than it deserves, but cmon we cant expect them to come out and be like "we know our game sucks so we are asking our fans to please stop buying them" right? So let's just give them a break and hope CoD gets better in the future. Expand
  18. Nov 24, 2012
    6
    Repetitive, unimaginative and above all conservative. Treyarch has done little to change or at least refresh the very core of COD franchise depending too much upon the appealing and fun multiplayer set since Modern Warfare. The campaign isn't something that has much space for improvement since it's a stereotypical FPS but in the end everything in the game is quite underwhelming not only the (expected) campaign mode. Few things have had a significant change and above all the parts where changes have come it's a mess. No innovations or new improved situation within the game just added "cool stuff". Black Ops 2 is a game that CAN be fun and the multiplayer is good enough but generally everything in it shows the huge fall of the COD franchise. My personal complaint is the atmosphere and the options available. The atmosphere feels nothing like warfare and I find myself wondering if it's some kind of paintball with real guns rather than a REAL war. As for the options there are many but lacking any real essence. No true influential option exists really. Expand
  19. Nov 10, 2013
    9
    The low user score is unfair but who can stop the fanboys... Another successful installment of the CoD series with a few welcome tweaks.
    STORY AND CHARACTERS: The Black Ops series started with a great story with the set in the cold war era. This one continues with the same story travelling between that era and the near plausible future. Well thought and well delivered. As for the
    characters they are well built and you can relate to their story. Menendez steals the show.
    PRESENTATION: As good as ever. In a time when the next gen consoles dominate the conversations BO2 still manages to deliver great quality graphics even with an aging engine. Whatever that means.
    GAMEPLAY: Not many innovations here but why mess in a winning formula right? Exception made to the strike force missions. Did not liked them and feel a bit off in the campaign.
    PROGRESSION: Treyarch tweaked the progression system on the online experience to a new level with the pick 10 system and the weapons prestige. Very good idea if you ask me.
    ONLINE: Picking up with the above mentioned the MP is even better with the referred pick 10 and weapon prestige which delivers a very well balanced and engaging online experience.
    The CoD series still delivers the best FPS game around. No doubt about that.
    Expand
  20. Aug 2, 2013
    9
    Call of Duty: Black Ops II 9/10.......................................................................................................................
  21. Nov 24, 2012
    6
    How should I put this, Black Ops II is a true sequel to the original but changes what we know and love about the franchise. The campaign has been overhauled, zombies is still zombies and the multiplayer brings some new initiatives that were greatly needed. Its just that overall, Black Ops II does not deliver.
  22. Nov 29, 2012
    6
    Game is same as black opps 1, NO MAJOR CHANGES, i think the only thing that makes me ok with it, is the zombie play, other than that its a waste of a disc and your better off with black opps 1
  23. Nov 30, 2012
    2
    WARNING! SAME OLE GARBAGE! I bought black ops 2 hardened edition, damn did I waste my money. Returned within a week and picked up Far Cry 3 which is exceptionally AMAZING!!! Yes there are new weapons, so what? that doesn't make up for the lack of creativity. Most of the time, it felt like the game was playing itself. It's ok when CoD uses quicktime events but Medal of Honor can't. Clearly the reviews were biased toward CoD. The graphics on zombies for PS3, are terrible! to say the least. The campaign looks better, the story is interesting but the game play has no imagination. It linear in every way possible. You'll have options in 2 to 3 missions but the rest just plays out how the developer planned it. Expand
  24. Dec 13, 2012
    1
    Honestly the last call of duty MW3 was pulled down the graphic quality and the new that has come to me the only thing that has been gained in sales zombie mode because the single player is very short and the multiplayer is the same **** always
  25. Dec 25, 2012
    1
    If I reviewed this game alot earlier when I got it the score will be alot higher. Sadly the game dispointed me completely. How does a game like this get released for PS3 when all it does for me is freeze up my system at the loading movies everytime making me have to hard reset my PS3. I'm guess I count myself lucky that it haven't killed my Slim PS3 yet. From what I was able to play of it before all these problems came up I loved expect MP cause of the lag from heck. Story was somewhat believable with everything that was going on it. Little hard to follow if you don't under politics or anything like that. Love the zombie mode huge maps, greif everything. But stay the hell away cause they is a good chance if you play this your PS3 will do nothing but freeze and crash damaging it. Even if you baby your system like I do. I'm out 110 dollars for this crap. I loved MW2, Loved black ops 1, Hate MW3 to death, and this I can't even form a words for how mess up this is. Are they going to refund my money to me if I demand it doubtful ? Best thing for ppl to do is to stop buying these games all togather. Let Activison die. Expand
  26. Dec 26, 2012
    3
    I bought this game after some work friends I was playing multiplayer with decided they´d jump into the next COD title. To put it clearly: This game is as bad as it gets. The single player campaign is awful, with an graphics engine as old as time itself, an even more stupid AI (I started the game in Hardened and could dance around the scenario before someone cared to shoot at me) and stupid objectives, that basically were WAY too easy to complete even in Hardened. I couldnt play it for longer than 15 minutes. The multiplayer part of the game is a little better, with a system that "kind of" works, but it is even more based on player reflexes than the previous COD titles. Not to mention the deaths coming from nowhere, thanks some issues still present on the game. The multiplayer part is a solid 5, and the single player a solid zero, hence my score of 3. Expand
  27. Dec 27, 2012
    5
    The Single player is decent with the storyline decisions and the zombie mode is still fun but the worst feature in black ops 2 is just plain boring and repetitive. All the gun attachments are the same and the pick 10 system doesn't change much. The maps are boring and the scorestreaks I find are still overpowered. I do not like how Call of duty is an annual release.
  28. Dec 27, 2012
    6
    Black ops 2 did what it did to make me enjoy it, but the freezing in zombies just turns me off from it. The game was probably rushed (just like all games now). Some the maps in multiplayer (nuketown 2025 for one) allow people to go prone in spawn and kill you from a distance because you cant see them because of the map layout. I wished that treyarch fixed their game because it unbearable to play on PS3 and just turns me off when im trying to play zombies. The lag in multiplayer doesnt help either, I never had lag in black ops before but this game im shooting their head and no hit makers. it could be lag or either the reticule is off on the gun but it does not please me. I just cant enjoy the game for the state it is in. It allows for no fun and im forced to play a different game after the games freeze because it is irritating. No game should have game breaking bugs when it is released Expand
  29. Mar 5, 2013
    4
    Wow, I love MW2 and 3, never played MW1 or BO1, and this game is the suck. The maps never open up, they could have called this Corridor Shooter if the name wasn't already taken. Every map is 3 to 5 paths by 3 crosspaths with a round about in the middle. When it does open up they just pile up stuff to make it tighter and there are lots of dead zones on the maps you could go to and never see another player. If you don't get what I'm trying to convey it is this, there is no flow or joy to be had with these maps, only shooting someone that walks in front of you. MW3 maps seem brilliant in comparison, not counting the DC. Even the least liked map Downturn, would seem like an upgrade to this game. You also get to play every half decent map in BO2 twice in a row since the alternatives are garbage in comparison, so you are nonstop playing standoff, the one with the fountain, the boat and carrier. The weapons and mods are crap, no long range high damage pistols like the magnum, instead you get a short range shotgun pistol!?! The flash and concussion grenades are useless, they feel like the original Call of Duty. No portable radar just some lame radar grenades that don't do squat and last 10 seconds. All the good skills are in the third skill slot, so you have to waste your perk on it to have the necessary skills to dominate. The target finder ruins your skills in other games. The killstreaks are impossible to use unless you are amazing, even to use something like a UAV. It is hard to have a purpose in the game such as Assault, Recon, Defense, Sniper etc... Everybody is just a run and gunner.

    The Zombie game is incredibly stupid, this is a full game yet feels like a first person top down gun game you would download on your phone, minus the fun. The single player game is what all these games are 2 good moments surrounded by linear combat.

    All in all a complete disappointment for a modern FPS.
    Expand
  30. Jan 13, 2013
    6
    Looking on this, the game got awful reviews. I am very frustrated with how Treyarch told people that whoever preordered the hardened edition to Black Ops II got the exclusive Nuketown zombie map ONLY. The week the game comes out, they tell the community that the "exclusive only" Nuketown zombie map will be released on an upcoming add-on to the game. I spent an extra twenty dollars on the game and I was angry. Especially when the game was already sixty dollars, and I spent the extra twenty when I could have just spent the sixty on the preorder of the game, and separately bought the Nuketown zombie map. Treyarch will never get my preorder money again. So anyway, how about I start off with the campaign? The campaign was incredible. I had a lot of fun deciding what I wanted to do. I loved how Treyarch gave you the choice of what you wanted to do, it made the game more interesting and more suspenseful on what was going to happen throughout the turn outs of the game. It had a ton of twists to it as well, one hit me when I wasn't expecting it. Now, the games multiplayer is also absolutely incredible. After playing it for hours and hours on end, I've managed to have a lot of fun. The connection though is why it's losing part of my score here. Call of Duty has always been known for it's bad multiplayer connection, it's "no-life" players, and it's cheap "campers". The multiplayer in Black Ops II in my mind is fun, and unless the connection continues to get worse, I will continue to think that way. Now onto the upset, zombie mode. Sure, TranZit is fun and all, but the zombies is just a disgrace. I am very disappointed to see how small the maps are in survival. Black Ops I had better zombie maps, wide-open, much bigger, much more room to have fun. The game deserves a six because of the disappointments I had with Treyarch, the connection, and the zombie game mode map size. Expand
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Jan 12, 2013
    80
    One of the most complete, albeit shaky, packages the series has ever seen. [Issue#226, p.68]
  2. Jan 3, 2013
    90
    While the campaign length is fairly standard of past iterations of the series, it's worth multiple playthroughs and the multiplayer offers endless hours of fun and enjoyment; whether it's slaying zombies or facing off against other players in a wide range of multiplayer modes with an endless number of loadout combinations.
  3. Dec 23, 2012
    78
    Worth checking out for online and the sci-fi novelty value alone. [Jan 2013, p.95]