User Score
4.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 784 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    Call Of Duty Black Ops 2 is a game that I think you will enjoy on ps3 very much. Black Ops 2 has everything you need like...the campaign, Zombies, and the one and only "Multiplayer" (Which is the main event)

    So If I were you...GO BUY THE GAME!
  2. Dec 14, 2012
    10
    All you have to do is look at critic reviews to see how good this game is; 15 positive, 3 mixed & 0 negative.
    User reviews 208 negative, haterz gonna hate.
  3. Jan 16, 2013
    10
    i love it i am not big call of duty fan i prefer skyrim zombies game etc But i won this game i said try it out this was best game ever i like Multiplayer & zombie maps

    i love it if call of duty would turn around do whole call duty zombie i mean not just zombie maps i mean i mean like left 4 dead but better
  4. Dec 31, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I understand all the bad reviews for this game. The multiplayer mode is what people buy this game for, or the Zombies mode. But I think most people don't really understand this game, and therefore think of it as a bad game. The new class setup for Black Ops 2 is a massive improvement from earlier games. Instead of just being leveling up for the sake of leveling up, it actually feels like it does have a point, and the point is obvious. When you level up, you both unlock more weapons and you get tokens you can use to be able to use these weapons. because there are only 55 levels, and you earn one token per level, you will not unlock everything in the game, which is a great thing. The main complaint that many people have with this game is the difficulty. The hit box for this game might seem a bit small compared to other games, but there is a reason for it. Call Of Duty: Black Ops 2 is the most complex and advanced tactical game out there right now. Because of the way that the class setup is made, the room for improvement is big, and you have endless of possibilities when it comes to customization. Every player has a role in Black Ops 2, and you'd be a fool not to realize yours. With a wide range of Score Streaks that are stackable with each other, tactics is very important here. Example: If your team is mainly consisting of people reaching for the objective, you can make their life easier by taking out enemies from a distance using Sniper Rifles, if you are one of the charging people, you can use smoke bombs and thermal sight to see through the smoke to capture flags more easily. You can also make good use of the perk system and wildcards to make the perfect assassin. Because of the point system and the wildcards, you can choose to discard all your weapons, put your points into wildcards and receive twice as many perks. With several perks for advanced movement, and a knife you become a deadly opponent. What I am trying to say is that, the multiplayer in itself is worth the $100 it costs for this game in Norway, and that the Single-player and the Zombies mode makes it even more so. The Zombies mode is good as usual, but not as good as Black Ops'. The Zombie maps are interestingly designed, but feels empty and sometimes quite boring. The single-player is good. It's not as boring as Black Ops, but not as good as Modern Warfare 2. Don't expect a good story, but the weapons are cool. The theme for Black Ops 2 is the future, and that is very apparent in the weapons. Some are very futuristic both in looks and in how they work (like the Kap-40) while others look like normal ones. The game is not quite like Halo in terms of the futuristic looks, but it is noticeable in both the maps and weapons. Overall this is a must buy game for all fans of shooters and Sci-fi, as it provides many many hours of fun. Expand
  5. May 28, 2014
    10
    Fantastic campaign combined with endless hours of multiplayer enjoyment not to mention zombies give this game a definite 10. My favorite COD campaign, second favorite multiplayer (BO1 first).
  6. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Don't see why all the hate. If you haven't honestly played it, don't add a bad review to it. Love the new zombie mode and the new gameplay mechanics on multiplayer with the pick ten. Feel like it will be implemented soon in other FPS games.
  7. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    I see a 4.2 rating with 146 people saying its terrible, but me personally I really like it. I thought the new guns were pretty good and a hour in on campaign it's also really good, multiplayer and the new maps are also really cool but the zombie maps do suck and are small. And trust me it takes so much to please me I barley ever give a 10 rating, I buy just about every new release that's is suppose to be good and I was very disappointed with madden 13, NHL 13, resident evil 6 and even pretty disappointed with assassins creed 3 also because of the slow start so when I played BO 2 I was kinda like about time a good game came out this year, now maybe it's not wat ppl expected I don't know, I think cuz mw3 and blacks ops was so good they expected something amazing but overall I give it a 8-9 on the game itself not wat u expected. Buy some new releases there's been so many terrible games this year it's not funny, I actually feel ripped off after playing certain games there so terrible so when I play a game like this I'm very pleased. Btw I been a COD fan since day one Ive owned and played every COD game from ps1 to Ps3 and I'm not disappointed in BO2 at all I recommend it to any one Expand
  8. Nov 17, 2012
    10
    I give this game a flat ZERO because it does NOT work on PS3, actually the constant hard freezings may permanently damage your console.
  9. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Don't listen to the haters, this is definitely the best COD game. Treyarch has done an amazing job! Don't listen to the haters, give it a rent and try it out you'll love it!
  10. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    This game is actually amazing. Trust me when I say this isn't the same game and actually deserves the 10/10 I gave it. Seriously buy this game. The campaign is amazing, the zombies is ridiculous and the multiplayer is the most balanced one yet.
  11. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    This Game deserves a 9 over 10 but because of all the improper, false, unrealistic, nooby made reviews i hade to give it a 10 to boost the overall all score. Black ops 2 is by far the second best call of duty since Call of duty 4: modern warfare. Single player offers so much as well as the multiplayer. Zombie mode has modes in them which gives it a much more lasting appeal. The game gives so much variety and fun. I undoubtedly recommend this game to any True FPS Fan. This Game Is truly what the fans asked for and Treyarch has given it to us. I was always an infinity ward fan but since West and Zampella left Mw3 sucked and Mw2 was a nice arcade style shooter But To Date COD4 Is still and most probably be The best call of duty in the series (especially on pc cuz of the mods:P) Expand
  12. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    ГОСПОДИ 10 ИЗ 10 !!!!ГОСПОДИ 10 ИЗ 10 !!!!ГОСПОДИ 10 ИЗ 10 !!!!ГОСПОДИ 10 ИЗ 10 !!!!ГОСПОДИ 10 ИЗ 10 !!!!ГОСПОДИ 10 ИЗ 10 !!!!ГОСПОДИ 10 ИЗ 10 !!!!ГОСПОДИ 10 ИЗ 10 !!!!ГОСПОДИ 10 ИЗ 10 !!!!ГОСПОДИ 10 ИЗ 10 !!!!ГОСПОДИ 10 ИЗ 10 !!!!ГОСПОДИ 10 ИЗ 10 !!!!ГОСПОДИ 10 ИЗ 10 !!!!ГОСПОДИ 10 ИЗ 10 !!!!ГОСПОДИ 10 ИЗ 10 !!!!ГОСПОДИ 10 ИЗ 10 !!!!ГОСПОДИ 10 ИЗ 10 !!!!ГОСПОДИ 10 ИЗ 10 !!!!ГОСПОДИ 10 ИЗ 10 !!!!ГОСПОДИ 10 ИЗ 10 !!!!ГОСПОДИ 10 ИЗ 10 !!!!ГОСПОДИ 10 ИЗ 10 !!!!ГОСПОДИ 10 ИЗ 10 !!!!ГОСПОДИ 10 ИЗ 10 !!!!ГОСПОДИ 10 ИЗ 10 !!!!ГОСПОДИ 10 ИЗ 10 !!!!ГОСПОДИ 10 ИЗ 10 !!!!ГОСПОДИ 10 ИЗ 10 !!!!ГОСПОДИ 10 ИЗ 10 !!!!ГОСПОДИ 10 ИЗ 10 !!!!ГОСПОДИ 10 ИЗ 10 !!!!ГОСПОДИ 10 ИЗ 10 !!!!ГОСПОДИ 10 ИЗ 10 !!!!ГОСПОДИ 10 ИЗ 10 !!!!ГОСПОДИ 10 ИЗ 10 !!!!ГОСПОДИ 10 ИЗ 10 !!!!ГОСПОДИ 10 ИЗ 10 !!!! Expand
  13. Dec 1, 2012
    10
    This game is amazing. Full Stop. Not meaning to sound like a fan boy but its the best Call Of Duty yet. the people who are giving it bad reviews are those people who think its cool to dislike COD games. The zombies is as good or even better than Blops 1, and I've actually got into the multiplayer, something i haven't since MW2. Finally, the campaign ties all the loose ends of Black ops, and introduces the best villain in any game bar GLaDos from portal 2. All those people who hate COD games are just trying to be mainstream and they don't give the game a chance. Expand
  14. Dec 18, 2012
    10
    this game is very good and adictictive, people say the single player campaign is to short? well raise the difficulty. people say the multiplayer dosent reward players for their points? you don't get killstreaks anymore you get scorestreaks, completely different thing. People say everyone goes round noob tubing, well noobtubes take more than one grenade to kill now so these people obviuosly havent played black ops 2, i have not seen a player using a grenade launcher and im prestiege 2 lvl 43. the people that have rated this game are not critics, these people are complaining about graphics and how the game is the same. Most people on this don't like cod and never have, they all play different games which are rated worse than this game and complain about this game when there are loads of problems with their games. they say cods full of 12 year olds. its the same with most video games, children play video games hardly any adults play. im 17 and ive been playing video games ever since i got a gameboy over 10 years ago. adults that play video games are considered geeky, cod is the same every year but thats what cod fans want. just for the sake of it im going to tell people all the problems with the big video games titles. BATTLEFIELD 3: when you push the analogue to turn the game takes and second to turn e.g push the analogue to a side and your player wont turn immanently.halo 4 campaign to slow the enemies can have llifespans, and there is no scoring on campaign like the old ones, all they changed in halo 4 is the graphics (which are okay) and the enemies which look like th enemies from tron, halo has the same problems as cod and is just like the prev halo's. Expand
  15. Dec 30, 2012
    10
    Black Ops 2 has definitely improved a lot from previous versions in the past 2 or 3 years. The main thing that caught my attention was the outstanding Campaign mode, they really made the gameplay stand out by allowing the player to ride horses, control robots, even fly, and those are only a few of the cool gameplay features they added. My favourite part of the campaign is that they made it so your choices actually matter, there are multiple endings which will all depend on certain choices you make within the game. Black Ops 2 did a great job of adding realistic characters and making the player feel sympathetic or relatable to them. The storyline is well structured and allows you to play as various characters, some of which were NPCs.

    The multiplayer took everything which was great from the previous instalments and put it into one game. I'm enjoying it so far, the only criticisms I have is that they didn't really mix up the game modes much, they added a few new ones but I'd have liked to have seen some more diversity in the way you play multiplayer. They did a great job of custom classes though.
    Collapse
  16. Jan 11, 2013
    10
    I loved call of duty black ops II. well, in general i like the call of duty franchise. But i will admit the multiplayer was disappointing. very good campaign. i give it a 10
  17. Jan 18, 2013
    10
    COD is GOD, this franchise is popular for a reason, the games are fast, well made and most of all FUN. Too many people buy a Call of Duty game expecting it to be more than it is and are ultimately disappointed as these reviews show. Personally I love it when a new one comes out, I don't care for multiplayer because of the morons you typically find in the playlists.. Oh the tedium of it all, but the single player campaign.. That is where it's at for me, yes.. They are often short however some people like myself like to play the entire story from beginning to end for instance when I bought BO2 I first played WAW, BO and then BO2 so the game had continuity and context, the experience was great even better is the element of choice that has been incorporated into the game. The strike force missions in particular are a lot of fun and allow the implementation of strategy, for without... You are boned. Those with less than average intelligence should just stick to multiplayer matches and gold plated guns and not attempt these missions at all, or you could write a half arsed review and post it here with the other haters, I give this game a 10. Expand
  18. Jan 22, 2013
    10
    Honestly I thought the idea of making Call of Duty in the future would be stupid, but I still gave it a chance. It was an amazing experience, the campaign was more than great, zombies new take was brilliant, and like always the multi-player section was phenomenal. Making your own ending to the main story line is big in video games now a days and that's what made Black Ops' campaign so fun. Tranzit the new zombie mode gets more exciting each time, with new weapons and multiple upgrades on guns it truly us revolutionary to zombies. Finally the multi-player is still amazing with new kill streaks and weapons it almost tops MW2's multi-player. All out it was just and amazing game and I can't wait for the first map pack to come out. I bought the season pass, it was worth it. Expand
  19. Feb 23, 2013
    10
    Let tthe haters hate, cause probably they are all noobs. I love this game, its addictive BUT quickscoping isnt as fun anymore. And host migrations damn it.
  20. Jul 9, 2013
    10
    In Modern Battlefield 4, 3 different exciting(not very) modes await.
    The campaign is full of lovable characters such as Dimitri Reznov and Nikolai Mason(this is confirmed)
    With a Linear story line is full of guns bullets and america what more could you ask for?(alot)
    The zombies mode breathes new fresh(dead) air into the gameplay. After playing the new Red Run Mode you play as Samuel
    Stoolhinger Bill Cosby Mitchell Musso and Vanessa Hudgens. After getting onto a train full of zombies you ride to the safety of perk machines and More. In the New Alcatraz of the dead game mode you play as Sally DeSuca, The Sneasel, Finnick Washington, And Billy Clem After ''completing'' daedulus you're trapped on the golden gate and can only kill yourself um....10/10 story.
    The Multiplayer re-defines the word fps. With a Galore of players sitting in corners with Machine guns fixed with a target finder to provide -100% recoil its a very balanced experience. With Snipers that run in your face to kill you with 1 bullet to people with shotguns sleeping in corners every match feels like a new start.
    Overall with A Great Linear Campaign 0/10
    Balanced Multiplayer 0/10
    And a Refined Zombies Mode 0/1000000

    I Give it a 10/10 Because I'm Idiot
    Expand
  21. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    Call of duty gives what everyone expects. Fun, full of adrenaline filled action pack. These days games just fills the gametime by some meaningless or boring and repititive tasks like having to walk 1000 hours in tho another place, before anything happens. In coh black ops 2, these tedious and boring parts are removed and only good parts are left to the game. Also multiplayer is highly competetive and is fun as hell. Good thing compared to bf series is also that, it is not camping festival unlike bf. Expand
  22. Mar 9, 2014
    10
    Probably on of the best first person shooters out there. This game is ten-times better then Ghost and MW3. Treyarch is the dominating game developer..
  23. Apr 6, 2014
    10
    Easily my favorite Call of Duty game to date. Yes, even better than Modern Warfare, better than Black Ops 1, better than Ghosts. As hard as I try, I cannot think of anything that was done wrong with this game. Story was great. Music was great. Multiplayer was the most well balanced, fun, and addicting in the series. Zombies was meh, but that's just me. I've never been much into Zombies. Gameplay is solid as usual for the series. Expand
  24. Nov 27, 2012
    9
    I am a fan of Battlefield 3 and Gotham City imposterT.his is actually the great Call of Duty game. I played CoD 1 , Blops, and MW3. I love the map design in this game. I like the little tweak they made. I don't understand all the complaints. I actually feel like I am using my brain to play, unlike mw3.
  25. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    Campaign is solid. Zombies are as overrated as ever. But the multiplayer returns with an added zest. The graphics have been bumped up from Black ops 1 , which is lucky as they were a jerky mess before. The games fluidity now matches it's IW brother but has less game breaking killstreaks and weapons. The pick ten points system is a stroke of genius and the maps are much more ergonomic than Infinity wards ugly high walled prisons. I was an Infinity Ward fan right up until the release of mw3. I loved ( and still do ) COD 4 and MW2 , but the control has well and truly passed to Treyarch. Infinity Ward the ball is in your court. Try and match this! Expand
  26. Nov 22, 2012
    9
    I got mine on the day it came out. I knew going into it all I would be playing is the multiplayer as I don't like zombies or the story. The last call of duty story was lame and never made it past the first 2 hours. Same with this one was boring. I like playing Batman Arkum City and the story on this was does not even compare. However the multiplayer is fantastic. A lot of the same but different. Better guns, maps and equipment. I love playing the multiplayer with my friends. Expand
  27. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    PPl, please, COD is a multiplier francise, dont buy for campaign or zombies (though zombies is generally good). I played multiplayer last night until i was level 18. The gameplay is the same as MW2, MW3, and Black ops mixed in. Blops 1 was my favorite and this is a nice refresh. Overall its the same gameplay as usual. I dont understand why people want to fix something that isnt broken, if you want something different buy battlefield 3. I also didnt try nuketown 2025 yet, but Ill assume if its the same map as before, I will spend countless hours on nuketown with new killstreaks and better graphics and faster gameplay as compared to blops1. On to review points:

    Similar to other MWs/blops: Fast Gameplay, similar graphics to MW3 though slightly more blurry to me, great framerate, You have to earn tokens at each level to unlock new stuff and also have to acheive a level to unlock certain equipment

    Differences: . You can only carry 10 total items on you, including perks and attachments to weapons. This makes things more strategic, do you want light weight and hardline, or do you want a concussion grenade or two. I really enjoyed this as you need to plan for maps and gameplay style. Perks also dont seem to be as dominating (cant see how to get unlimited running or hardline pro). When getting points in mulitplayer for killstreak rewards you get 100 for each direct kill, 10 for each time your teamates kill a guy when you have an AUV up, 25/50 or others based on assits, and killstreak reward kills give you points but not always a lot. This makes it more challanging that MW3 and getting 4 kills, then a missle strike, then a couple more and a gunship, requires much more careful play to get as many kills as in blops1/MW3. In Blops 1 I rule with ak74, rapid fire, unlimited sprinting, and everything else doesnt matter. In Blops 2 things are a bit different as the perks and load out stops you from making an all around domination character. If you want all around great character you will lose your grenades and flashbangs to use more perks to "run and gun more".

    There are also more attachments to guns, and around 22 killstreaks, which are similar and new at the same time. I was using the quadracopter, which I liked, airstrikes are standard but you can choose 3 locations, and I also got a grenade laucher that I took out about 5 guys with, also unllike blops 1 when you die you can reuse your deployed killstreak reward (like the minigun in blops1 which you would lose if you died), I also got some guided drone, throw it in the air and when it finds someone its an instant kill.

    Mics for the guy you killed send you what they say when they die, hahaha, I was having fun last night at the people wondering how they died. Most people last night were levels 1-20, and one guy who was 37...no idea how that happened.

    Anyway all in all I rate it a 9 for not fixing something that isnt broken, while adding a few new features to an existing great game style.
    Expand
  28. Nov 15, 2012
    9
    Call of Duty: Black Ops, possibly the best Treyarch Call of Duty has created a sequel. Is it good? Yes, the changes and gameplay are amazing. But what did I miss? Oh that's right, the idiotic trolls giving the game a 0. It's apparent at how many idiots there are, and possibly a good number of those who will vote my review down because I'm not playing their game, but enough about that. Black Ops 2 has a great campaign mode writen by David Goyer who helped write the Dark Knight. The storyline is clever although not the standout if the game. The game sees even brighter light with the Multiplayer. It's as good as it's ever been and added some new designs for good measure. The zombie mode, seemed like a flop due to the dissaperence of the original characters, but, zombies changed to much it makes it all worth it. Tranzit is the highlight of zombies, showing off the new made "Greenrun" and a whole new direction for Call of Duty. This is as good as the original Black Ops which I gave an 8/10. Well done, Treyarch. Expand
  29. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    Done know why this always gets haters. Its a game that ALOT of people buy and enjoy. if you don't like it, don't buy it. I HATED MW# but this time Treyarch have done something innovative at least so its not the same ol same ol. Sound is great and there is enough variation to differ from MW3. Is it perfect? By no means, but its a good all round game and at least give high replay value unlike many other games out there. Expand
  30. Dec 30, 2012
    0
    Black Ops 2 has definitely improved a lot from previous versions in the past 2 or 3 years. The main thing that caught my attention was the outstanding Campaign mode, they really made the gameplay stand out by allowing the player to ride horses, control robots, even fly, and those are only a few of the cool gameplay features they added. My favourite part of the campaign is that they made it so your choices actually matter, there are multiple endings which will all depend on certain choices you make within the game. Black Ops 2 did a great job of adding realistic characters and making the player feel sympathetic or relatable to them. The storyline is well structured and allows you to play as various characters, some of which were NPCs.

    The multiplayer took everything which was great from the previous instalments and put it into one game. I'm enjoying it so far, the only criticisms I have is that they didn't really mix up the game modes much, they added a few new ones but I'd have liked to have seen some more diversity in the way you play multiplayer. They did a great job of custom classes though.
    Collapse
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Jan 12, 2013
    80
    One of the most complete, albeit shaky, packages the series has ever seen. [Issue#226, p.68]
  2. Jan 3, 2013
    90
    While the campaign length is fairly standard of past iterations of the series, it's worth multiple playthroughs and the multiplayer offers endless hours of fun and enjoyment; whether it's slaying zombies or facing off against other players in a wide range of multiplayer modes with an endless number of loadout combinations.
  3. Dec 23, 2012
    78
    Worth checking out for online and the sci-fi novelty value alone. [Jan 2013, p.95]