Call of Duty: Black Ops II Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 951 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Call of Duty: Black Ops II thrusts players into a potential near future - a 21st Century Cold War in which technology and weapons have merged to create a new generation of warfare. Black Ops 2 introduces players to an insidious villain named Raul Menendez who hijacks the US militaryCall of Duty: Black Ops II thrusts players into a potential near future - a 21st Century Cold War in which technology and weapons have merged to create a new generation of warfare. Black Ops 2 introduces players to an insidious villain named Raul Menendez who hijacks the US military infrastructure to further his own agenda. Take control of the power of near-future technology and advanced robotics to pull the world back from the brink of annihilation. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Call of Duty Elite - Black Ops 2 Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Jan 3, 2013
    90
    While the campaign length is fairly standard of past iterations of the series, it's worth multiple playthroughs and the multiplayer offers endless hours of fun and enjoyment; whether it's slaying zombies or facing off against other players in a wide range of multiplayer modes with an endless number of loadout combinations.
  2. Nov 19, 2012
    90
    We're not sure if this is the best Call of Duty of this generation, but we're convinced Treyarch has produced the most complete one since the first Modern Warfare.
  3. Nov 27, 2012
    90
    Black Ops II isn't a revelation; what you'll play here is largely what you've played before. There's simply so much to play, though, that it's impossible to deny that Treyarch has finally given us a Call on par with the best of 'em.
  4. Nov 15, 2012
    80
    Black Ops 2's campaign is perhaps the weakest one since Modern Warfare came on the scene. However, the multiplayer accompanied by Zombies reinforces Black Ops 2 and turns this into one of the more desirable games.
  5. Play UK
    Jan 12, 2013
    80
    One of the most complete, albeit shaky, packages the series has ever seen. [Issue#226, p.68]
  6. Nov 16, 2012
    80
    Though zombies mode is stagnating and the novel new social features are a flop, the rest of Black Ops II is lively and entertaining, and it's great to see some shifting in the familiar structure.
  7. Nov 19, 2012
    70
    All in all, this is what a sequel should have been: a combination of the good from the old with a number of tweaks from the new.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    This game is actually amazing. Trust me when I say this isn't the same game and actually deserves the 10/10 I gave it. Seriously buy thisThis game is actually amazing. Trust me when I say this isn't the same game and actually deserves the 10/10 I gave it. Seriously buy this game. The campaign is amazing, the zombies is ridiculous and the multiplayer is the most balanced one yet. Expand
  2. Dec 30, 2014
    9
    The story line is jolly good. the Zombies are also quite good but become amazing once the DLCs are added but the multiplayer like all new CodThe story line is jolly good. the Zombies are also quite good but become amazing once the DLCs are added but the multiplayer like all new Cod games is trash. if you like the other COD zombies then this game is a must buy. Expand
  3. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    PPl, please, COD is a multiplier francise, dont buy for campaign or zombies (though zombies is generally good). I played multiplayer lastPPl, please, COD is a multiplier francise, dont buy for campaign or zombies (though zombies is generally good). I played multiplayer last night until i was level 18. The gameplay is the same as MW2, MW3, and Black ops mixed in. Blops 1 was my favorite and this is a nice refresh. Overall its the same gameplay as usual. I dont understand why people want to fix something that isnt broken, if you want something different buy battlefield 3. I also didnt try nuketown 2025 yet, but Ill assume if its the same map as before, I will spend countless hours on nuketown with new killstreaks and better graphics and faster gameplay as compared to blops1. On to review points:

    Similar to other MWs/blops: Fast Gameplay, similar graphics to MW3 though slightly more blurry to me, great framerate, You have to earn tokens at each level to unlock new stuff and also have to acheive a level to unlock certain equipment

    Differences: . You can only carry 10 total items on you, including perks and attachments to weapons. This makes things more strategic, do you want light weight and hardline, or do you want a concussion grenade or two. I really enjoyed this as you need to plan for maps and gameplay style. Perks also dont seem to be as dominating (cant see how to get unlimited running or hardline pro). When getting points in mulitplayer for killstreak rewards you get 100 for each direct kill, 10 for each time your teamates kill a guy when you have an AUV up, 25/50 or others based on assits, and killstreak reward kills give you points but not always a lot. This makes it more challanging that MW3 and getting 4 kills, then a missle strike, then a couple more and a gunship, requires much more careful play to get as many kills as in blops1/MW3. In Blops 1 I rule with ak74, rapid fire, unlimited sprinting, and everything else doesnt matter. In Blops 2 things are a bit different as the perks and load out stops you from making an all around domination character. If you want all around great character you will lose your grenades and flashbangs to use more perks to "run and gun more".

    There are also more attachments to guns, and around 22 killstreaks, which are similar and new at the same time. I was using the quadracopter, which I liked, airstrikes are standard but you can choose 3 locations, and I also got a grenade laucher that I took out about 5 guys with, also unllike blops 1 when you die you can reuse your deployed killstreak reward (like the minigun in blops1 which you would lose if you died), I also got some guided drone, throw it in the air and when it finds someone its an instant kill.

    Mics for the guy you killed send you what they say when they die, hahaha, I was having fun last night at the people wondering how they died. Most people last night were levels 1-20, and one guy who was 37...no idea how that happened.

    Anyway all in all I rate it a 9 for not fixing something that isnt broken, while adding a few new features to an existing great game style.
    Expand
  4. Jun 15, 2014
    6
    The first Call of Duty game I've ever owned and put time and effort into. While it's not exactly a bad game, Black Ops II suffers fromThe first Call of Duty game I've ever owned and put time and effort into. While it's not exactly a bad game, Black Ops II suffers from focusing too much on online play. The offline play is fine if you're happy with mediocre A.I., which isn't that big of a deal considering many games of this genre refuse to use A.I. bots in order to put a heavier focus involving online play. The single-player campaign is awful...and this is why almost nobody plays the campaigns of this franchise. Lack of story, good narrative, variety in the levels, or even good level design within the campaign means there's no real reason to bother with it, especially considering the short length which can last only two hours if you happen to be good. If you enjoy quick thrills and competitive play, then this game will suit your needs. Expand
  5. Jan 16, 2014
    4
    This franchise has gone pretty stale. The story mode is unengaging and the graphics are not extraordinary. Zombie mode is just alright. TheThis franchise has gone pretty stale. The story mode is unengaging and the graphics are not extraordinary. Zombie mode is just alright. The multiplayer is this game's only slight redemption, however it doesn't really offer anything different from previous COD releases. There are much better FPS games on the market. If you are a person that doesn't expect the least bit of depth in your games, are satisfied with "just another COD", and want a mildly entertaining run-and-gun multiplayer experience... you might like this. I however do not. Expand
  6. Nov 13, 2012
    2
    this game is not fun. i personally don't care i am not buying any more call of duty games. this is the final straw MW3 then this. this isthis game is not fun. i personally don't care i am not buying any more call of duty games. this is the final straw MW3 then this. this is absolute horse crap. the graphics are so bad that i feel like it is the same as the original modern warfare. i loved the original black ops too. the gameplay is about as bad as MW3's with no good new features. and the multiplayer is buggy laggy and just impossible to deal with. being randomly disconnected is a pain. then if you try and play in a group it doesn't work because you can't join lobbies for some reason. i don't think this game should have the privilege of being released. it's not fun to play and is just plain bad. im going to return this tomorrow. this is where i draw the line. Expand
  7. Jan 16, 2016
    0
    The multiplayer is laggy, weapons are not equal, lots of hackers and glitches, game doesn't connect, it has a stupid waiting time in lobbyThe multiplayer is laggy, weapons are not equal, lots of hackers and glitches, game doesn't connect, it has a stupid waiting time in lobby because one person left during the countdown. Like in almost all CoDs your multiplayer character doesn't know how to do basic things like reload a gun while running. Also your teammates have almoust no difference compared to the enemies and accidentally shooting at your teammates is usual. For the campaing I would rather read kids comics for a more dramatic storyline. Expand

See all 303 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2012
    You might have to wait until next year to play GTA V or BioShock: Infinite, but there are still plenty of major games arriving over the next few months, including a new Assassin's Creed, the latest Call of Duty, and the beginning of a new Halo trilogy.