Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 820 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Call of Duty: Black Ops II thrusts players into a potential near future - a 21st Century Cold War in which technology and weapons have merged to create a new generation of warfare. Black Ops 2 introduces players to an insidious villain named Raul Menendez who hijacks the US militaryCall of Duty: Black Ops II thrusts players into a potential near future - a 21st Century Cold War in which technology and weapons have merged to create a new generation of warfare. Black Ops 2 introduces players to an insidious villain named Raul Menendez who hijacks the US military infrastructure to further his own agenda. Take control of the power of near-future technology and advanced robotics to pull the world back from the brink of annihilation. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Jan 3, 2013
    90
    While the campaign length is fairly standard of past iterations of the series, it's worth multiple playthroughs and the multiplayer offers endless hours of fun and enjoyment; whether it's slaying zombies or facing off against other players in a wide range of multiplayer modes with an endless number of loadout combinations.
  2. Nov 19, 2012
    90
    We're not sure if this is the best Call of Duty of this generation, but we're convinced Treyarch has produced the most complete one since the first Modern Warfare.
  3. Nov 27, 2012
    90
    Black Ops II isn't a revelation; what you'll play here is largely what you've played before. There's simply so much to play, though, that it's impossible to deny that Treyarch has finally given us a Call on par with the best of 'em.
  4. Nov 15, 2012
    80
    Black Ops 2's campaign is perhaps the weakest one since Modern Warfare came on the scene. However, the multiplayer accompanied by Zombies reinforces Black Ops 2 and turns this into one of the more desirable games.
  5. Jan 12, 2013
    80
    One of the most complete, albeit shaky, packages the series has ever seen. [Issue#226, p.68]
  6. Nov 16, 2012
    80
    Though zombies mode is stagnating and the novel new social features are a flop, the rest of Black Ops II is lively and entertaining, and it's great to see some shifting in the familiar structure.
  7. Nov 19, 2012
    70
    All in all, this is what a sequel should have been: a combination of the good from the old with a number of tweaks from the new.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    This game is actually amazing. Trust me when I say this isn't the same game and actually deserves the 10/10 I gave it. Seriously buy thisThis game is actually amazing. Trust me when I say this isn't the same game and actually deserves the 10/10 I gave it. Seriously buy this game. The campaign is amazing, the zombies is ridiculous and the multiplayer is the most balanced one yet. Collapse
  2. Aug 2, 2013
    9
    Call of Duty: Black Ops II 9/10.......................................................................................................................
  3. Nov 14, 2012
    9
    I have to give Treyarch HUGE props for this game. They improved everything about the first one and created one of the best FPS experiencesI have to give Treyarch HUGE props for this game. They improved everything about the first one and created one of the best FPS experiences ever! The multiplayer is simply incredible, it runs at a smooth 60fps and looks great. Even on opening day and night I really didn't even have problems with the game servers. People would drop out of the party sometimes, but to be expected. The perks and leaving system have been overhauled and I love that they switched the KILLstreaks to SCOREstreaks now, it gives you credit for doing other things in objective based games other than killing people. It should have been done long ago. I really think that Treyarch has surpassed Infinity Ward now in the COD series. I will never go back. Expand
  4. Jan 14, 2013
    6
    Wow! Amazing story! I didn't buy Black Ops 2 for the story though! I bought it for Zombies! I was and still am totally let down by the 3 mapsWow! Amazing story! I didn't buy Black Ops 2 for the story though! I bought it for Zombies! I was and still am totally let down by the 3 maps the game came with I just hope dlc saves this poor game! Wow what a let down! Make a Mars map and save this poor game! Expand
  5. Jun 19, 2013
    4
    Graphics amazing, but this just isn't my type of game. Hard to see who the enemy is, very chaotic while in play, no story in single playGraphics amazing, but this just isn't my type of game. Hard to see who the enemy is, very chaotic while in play, no story in single play mode. Very hard for a person to me to get into. I may be minority, but just not my type of game Expand
  6. Jan 2, 2013
    2
    at first i gave this game a 5/ 10 but now it's a 2/10, the campaign is short and dissapointing, you can finish it in a day, the graphics areat first i gave this game a 5/ 10 but now it's a 2/10, the campaign is short and dissapointing, you can finish it in a day, the graphics are practically the same with some minor changes, if you see a comparative video oin youtube about mw3 and bo2 you will not notice the difference, the zombies was 1000000 better in bo1, it was funnier and way more hardcore, tranzit is good, but grief and survival were pretty dissapointing, especially because the maps are so small, the multiplayer is so damn unbalanced, lag compensation will make 60% of the bullets you thought you hit to not hit and it just favors players with smg's and shotguns, it is also a camper paradise, the spawn system is crap too, most of the time you will spawn directly into bullets, the maps are so stupid too, they are as small as treyarch's brain, please save your money and don't buy this piece of **** game Expand
  7. Jul 28, 2013
    0
    It's the exact same as last year and as usual somehow took two years to market and another year to make work correctly.
    Now to be honest it's
    It's the exact same as last year and as usual somehow took two years to market and another year to make work correctly.
    Now to be honest it's true, same thing since Call of Duty: Modern Warfare, same engine, several powerful guns, several useless guns, and the rest are just there. The story as normal is pointless to play unless if you want to perfect the game, at least this year you can influece said story and have a slightly different ending. Side-quest mode (AKA Zombies) is the same thing from Black Ops 1, only this time you can build stuff and that the characters are new, yet this time forgetable. I can say though that I enjoyed Mob of the Dead, finally providing a challenge to survive. Finally the thing that makes all of the cal of duty fans go crazy, the broken and useless multiplayer. I'm actually pretty good at it (2.27 Kills to Death Ratio and a 1.21 Win to Loss Ratio) and I still do not enjoy myself when I play it, it's a torture to play even when you are good, somehow though this game keeps a massive fan boy following. I've played both the console and PC editions and none of them are any different, and that's to be expected since Activision is too busy eiter working on another series of pointless and bad cash ins, or the next Call of Duty. My personal opinion, if you want a Call of Duty game, buy Call of Duty: Modern Warfare and Call of Duty: World at War, together thay are half the price of Black Ops 2 and are both exceedingly better than this years rehash. And a Fun Fact, the graphics are actually worse than World at War somehow, go figure.
    Expand

See all 280 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2012
    You might have to wait until next year to play GTA V or BioShock: Infinite, but there are still plenty of major games arriving over the next few months, including a new Assassin's Creed, the latest Call of Duty, and the beginning of a new Halo trilogy.