Call of Duty: Black Ops II PlayStation 3

Call of Duty: Black Ops II Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 936 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Call of Duty: Black Ops II thrusts players into a potential near future - a 21st Century Cold War in which technology and weapons have merged to create a new generation of warfare. Black Ops 2 introduces players to an insidious villain named Raul Menendez who hijacks the US militaryCall of Duty: Black Ops II thrusts players into a potential near future - a 21st Century Cold War in which technology and weapons have merged to create a new generation of warfare. Black Ops 2 introduces players to an insidious villain named Raul Menendez who hijacks the US military infrastructure to further his own agenda. Take control of the power of near-future technology and advanced robotics to pull the world back from the brink of annihilation. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Jan 3, 2013
    90
    While the campaign length is fairly standard of past iterations of the series, it's worth multiple playthroughs and the multiplayer offers endless hours of fun and enjoyment; whether it's slaying zombies or facing off against other players in a wide range of multiplayer modes with an endless number of loadout combinations.
  2. Nov 19, 2012
    90
    We're not sure if this is the best Call of Duty of this generation, but we're convinced Treyarch has produced the most complete one since the first Modern Warfare.
  3. Nov 27, 2012
    90
    Black Ops II isn't a revelation; what you'll play here is largely what you've played before. There's simply so much to play, though, that it's impossible to deny that Treyarch has finally given us a Call on par with the best of 'em.
  4. Nov 15, 2012
    80
    Black Ops 2's campaign is perhaps the weakest one since Modern Warfare came on the scene. However, the multiplayer accompanied by Zombies reinforces Black Ops 2 and turns this into one of the more desirable games.
  5. Play UK
    Jan 12, 2013
    80
    One of the most complete, albeit shaky, packages the series has ever seen. [Issue#226, p.68]
  6. Nov 16, 2012
    80
    Though zombies mode is stagnating and the novel new social features are a flop, the rest of Black Ops II is lively and entertaining, and it's great to see some shifting in the familiar structure.
  7. Nov 19, 2012
    70
    All in all, this is what a sequel should have been: a combination of the good from the old with a number of tweaks from the new.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    This game is actually amazing. Trust me when I say this isn't the same game and actually deserves the 10/10 I gave it. Seriously buy thisThis game is actually amazing. Trust me when I say this isn't the same game and actually deserves the 10/10 I gave it. Seriously buy this game. The campaign is amazing, the zombies is ridiculous and the multiplayer is the most balanced one yet. Expand
  2. Nov 2, 2013
    9
    Let me first say that I had no interest in Black Ops 2 initially. Like many, I thought I was done with the Call of Duty franchise as each yearLet me first say that I had no interest in Black Ops 2 initially. Like many, I thought I was done with the Call of Duty franchise as each year it became more of the same. However, I rented Black Ops 2 and that changed very quickly. The campaign is probably my third favorite (behind Modern Warfare and Black Ops). I did not think it was nearly as great as most say it is. I really don't mind since I play through the campaign once before I delve into the real purpose of the CoD games..the multiplayer. The multiplayer is far and away the best since Modern Warfare revolutionized it about five years ago. Since 2007, it is been more of the same with more tweaks here and there, but this game allows for alot of customization. Multiplayer has so many options to fit your play style especially with the Pick 10 style. I can go into a game with no grenades if I want and stock up on perks. Also, the emblem creator is better than ever with more slots and customization. It's a fun way to express yourself even if some user emblems are not exactly PG rated. While there are some technical issues and the game is not perfect, the game is the most fun I've had playing online to date. I've owned it for a few weeks and have already put in over 100 hours and I haven't felt even begun to get bored. Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2012
    9
    Call of Duty: Black Ops, possibly the best Treyarch Call of Duty has created a sequel. Is it good? Yes, the changes and gameplay are amazing.Call of Duty: Black Ops, possibly the best Treyarch Call of Duty has created a sequel. Is it good? Yes, the changes and gameplay are amazing. But what did I miss? Oh that's right, the idiotic trolls giving the game a 0. It's apparent at how many idiots there are, and possibly a good number of those who will vote my review down because I'm not playing their game, but enough about that. Black Ops 2 has a great campaign mode writen by David Goyer who helped write the Dark Knight. The storyline is clever although not the standout if the game. The game sees even brighter light with the Multiplayer. It's as good as it's ever been and added some new designs for good measure. The zombie mode, seemed like a flop due to the dissaperence of the original characters, but, zombies changed to much it makes it all worth it. Tranzit is the highlight of zombies, showing off the new made "Greenrun" and a whole new direction for Call of Duty. This is as good as the original Black Ops which I gave an 8/10. Well done, Treyarch. Expand
  4. Aug 16, 2013
    6
    This Game would get a 5 but I do quite like the Zombies gamemode, lore, setting, replay value and great to play with friends, even withThis Game would get a 5 but I do quite like the Zombies gamemode, lore, setting, replay value and great to play with friends, even with SplitScreen. There is some very serious issues with the Single Player mainly it just being there. If you are a making Multiplayer focused game focus on the Multiplayer player, just don't make a single player story. Single Player is not a requirement anymore in games. Multiplayer is the same same as all the other Call Of Duty games. Expand
  5. lox
    Apr 29, 2013
    4
    I haven't even finished the campaign for Black Ops 2 due to the fact that it is god awfully boring and the multiplayer is fun for a few daysI haven't even finished the campaign for Black Ops 2 due to the fact that it is god awfully boring and the multiplayer is fun for a few days but then it gets boring as hell as well. The hit detection is terrible, the spawn points aren't that great, and the maps are sub par, and full of head glitching and camping spots. In the end Black Ops 2 is fun for a little while but it gets boring and irritating very quickly. Expand
  6. Nov 15, 2012
    2
    One of the biggest draws for Black Ops 2, zombies, has been completely and utterly ruined. Tranzit is horrible... If you're only going toOne of the biggest draws for Black Ops 2, zombies, has been completely and utterly ruined. Tranzit is horrible... If you're only going to buy Black Ops 2 for zombies, then don't because you will be sorely disappointed. Expand
  7. Jan 16, 2016
    0
    The multiplayer is laggy, weapons are not equal, lots of hackers and glitches, game doesn't connect, it has a stupid waiting time in lobbyThe multiplayer is laggy, weapons are not equal, lots of hackers and glitches, game doesn't connect, it has a stupid waiting time in lobby because one person left during the countdown. Like in almost all CoDs your multiplayer character doesn't know how to do basic things like reload a gun while running. Also your teammates have almoust no difference compared to the enemies and accidentally shooting at your teammates is usual. For the campaing I would rather read kids comics for a more dramatic storyline. Expand

See all 299 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2012
    You might have to wait until next year to play GTA V or BioShock: Infinite, but there are still plenty of major games arriving over the next few months, including a new Assassin's Creed, the latest Call of Duty, and the beginning of a new Halo trilogy.