Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 58 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 928 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Treyarch is developing the next installment in the Call of Duty franchise, rumored to be set during the Cold War.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 58
  2. Negative: 0 out of 58
  1. Dec 10, 2010
    100
    Congrats Treyarch, you passed the test. Black Ops still has some technical flaws (some erratic scripts), but it doesn't lack ambition, variety, nor freshness. Its solo campaign boasts a good scenario, and its multiplayer is as comprehensive and solid as ever, while changing some basic systems for the better and introducing soon-to-be-cult new modes, as well as community features one could only find in the latest Halo iterations before. There may be ways to improve it yet again, but the 2010 CoD delivers on its promise - we can't say anymore that Treyarch's Call of Dutys don't measure up.
  2. Jan 12, 2011
    93
    After years following in Infinity Ward's footsteps, Treyarch has a chance to show its qualities, and it delivers. Black Ops has everything the community is looking for: a compelling, spectacular and interesting story mode and an impressive multiplayer will keep the players busy for a long time. Add a beautiful design and a great direction in the mix, and what you get is simply a masterpiece in the first person shooter genre.
  3. Dec 10, 2010
    90
    Black Ops doesn't quite live up to the hype in all aspects, but that's only because it was so ridiculously overhyped. It certainly lives up to the promise of a greatly improved and enhanced sequel to World at War.
  4. Dec 16, 2010
    90
    As if you ever doubted it, Call of Duty is still the best military shooter out there and by quite some margin. It seems its competitors can only watch from a distance and take notes as this juggernaut of FPS gaming ploughs a wide path towards the genre's future.
  5. Jan 16, 2011
    90
    There are more highlights in the first two missions of Black Ops, then in Medal of Honor. The requirements of Treyarch seemed to be better, than in the past few years. They made an interesting setting. In addition, there's a nice zombie mode and an overwhelming multiplayer. No doubt, this is Treyarchs best Call of Duty ever!
  6. Jan 4, 2011
    85
    Black Ops is another addition to the Call of Duty franchise but shows the same flaws as its predecessor. The multiplayer has improved, but a franchise of this stature should know how to get rid of the mistakes from the past.
  7. Dec 23, 2010
    70
    It feels more like a yearly update than a sequel, a new campaign with old multiplayer. The game isn't distinct from its predecessors in any important way, and fatigue sets in quicker than before. [Jan 2011, p.94]

See all 58 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Dec 6, 2010
    10
    Black Ops is cool. It's cool to own it. It's a COD game. It's good. Nuff said. Treyarch did well his time. It has awesome theater mode, better online multiplayer, better everything. Expand
  2. Dec 26, 2011
    10
    black ops is teryachs best cod yet it destroys world at war and it beats mw2 mainly due to mw2s sorry campaign its not bad but compared to the other cods poor. anyway black ops has a fantastic campaign and zombie mode is brilliant online its about even with mw2 but brilliant grahics action and a new different great protoganist i cant wait for black ops 2 in 2012 Expand
  3. Nov 29, 2010
    9
    Black ops is good solid fun and has lots of good content, so I fail to see why so many negative scores. There are loads of modes and goodies, better multiplayer than a lot of games out today and has the best CoD campaign in possibly the last 3 or 4 CoD games. I give this high marks for the sheer improvement on single player (which has been going by the wayside in this series) and for keeping multiplayer crisp. Plus, zombies! Everybody loves zombies. Expand
  4. Dec 13, 2010
    7
    After playing this game since release, I know feel I am ready to voice my opinions on this release. As is my standard way with any COD release, I play the campaign first just to get it out of the way. This is not why we buy this series its the online we want. However the offline campaign tends to give you an general overview of the production. The first thing that struck me was the drop in graphical quality from MW2, which I finally put down to a poor selection for the colour palette used in the majority of stages. The campaign for me dragged in the first half and just took to long for what play and content there was, the final half was completed easily in an hour which gave the feeling of the final production being rushed. But any Call Of Duty game will always be judged on its online game play. First impressions were good, but it soon starts to feel like MW2 with new maps and the levels with the still very poor colours are still there which lets it down. A good feature is that you can vote to replay or play the next map or random selection, this has meant I have been able to avoid the levels which are graphical unimpressive. The major down side of the online, connection problems, host problems, servers not being available or going down which is extremely annoying when you want to get a good evening of gaming in. Now, for the what I think is the pure genius revolution of this game over MW2 - Combat Training. This option is absolutely fantastic and redeems this game! Server problems, host problems, connection issues when playing online? No problem, fire up Combat Training and play bots on your favourite map. I actually enjoy this more than real online play, its so satisfying and more addictive than the real thing. To sum up, its overall a good game let down by a rushed and confusing campaign mode, and poor hosting online. Combat Training saves the day but once I reach the top rank once I will have had enough. I will then be back to Medal of Honor and COD4, with a cheeky visit for Combat Training every now and again. Expand
  5. Aug 25, 2011
    6
    I played the story mode for like 20 minutes before I couldn't take its terribleness anymore. Multiplayer mode is pretty fun though. Same with Zombies.
  6. Nov 24, 2010
    4
    Hi, why the people choose 5.7 to be the mark. This game is so good! The Single player, the multiplayer, zombies! The game is so amazing!! The Platinum trophy is other challenge. Good graphics, good story, Amazing Multiplayer. I like Wager Matches!!!! Expand
  7. Jan 16, 2011
    0
    COD: Black Ops is one of the worst shooter games that I've played in a long time. The campaign was to short and the online experience is horrible. It can take me up to 30 minutes to join a game. Battlefield Bad Company 2 just blows COD out of the water. The maps, guns, and realism in Battlefield Bad Company 2 is just phenomenal. While Cod is just pathetic. Expand

See all 371 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.