Call of Duty: Black Ops PlayStation 3

Call of Duty: Black Ops Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 58 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1102 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Treyarch is developing the next installment in the Call of Duty franchise, rumored to be set during the Cold War.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 58
  2. Negative: 0 out of 58
  1. Dec 10, 2010
    100
    Congrats Treyarch, you passed the test. Black Ops still has some technical flaws (some erratic scripts), but it doesn't lack ambition, variety, nor freshness. Its solo campaign boasts a good scenario, and its multiplayer is as comprehensive and solid as ever, while changing some basic systems for the better and introducing soon-to-be-cult new modes, as well as community features one could only find in the latest Halo iterations before. There may be ways to improve it yet again, but the 2010 CoD delivers on its promise - we can't say anymore that Treyarch's Call of Dutys don't measure up.
  2. Jan 12, 2011
    93
    After years following in Infinity Ward's footsteps, Treyarch has a chance to show its qualities, and it delivers. Black Ops has everything the community is looking for: a compelling, spectacular and interesting story mode and an impressive multiplayer will keep the players busy for a long time. Add a beautiful design and a great direction in the mix, and what you get is simply a masterpiece in the first person shooter genre.
  3. Dec 10, 2010
    90
    Black Ops doesn't quite live up to the hype in all aspects, but that's only because it was so ridiculously overhyped. It certainly lives up to the promise of a greatly improved and enhanced sequel to World at War.
  4. Dec 16, 2010
    90
    Call Of Duty: Black Ops features an exhilarating campaign mode, arguably the best in the whole series with a compelling narrative.
  5. Jan 16, 2011
    90
    There are more highlights in the first two missions of Black Ops, then in Medal of Honor. The requirements of Treyarch seemed to be better, than in the past few years. They made an interesting setting. In addition, there's a nice zombie mode and an overwhelming multiplayer. No doubt, this is Treyarchs best Call of Duty ever!
  6. Jan 4, 2011
    85
    Black Ops is another addition to the Call of Duty franchise but shows the same flaws as its predecessor. The multiplayer has improved, but a franchise of this stature should know how to get rid of the mistakes from the past.
  7. Edge Magazine
    Dec 23, 2010
    70
    It feels more like a yearly update than a sequel, a new campaign with old multiplayer. The game isn't distinct from its predecessors in any important way, and fatigue sets in quicker than before. [Jan 2011, p.94]

See all 58 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    Awesome game! I don't understand all the haters? The graphics and voice acting is amazing. I loved the story, yes it's a little differentAwesome game! I don't understand all the haters? The graphics and voice acting is amazing. I loved the story, yes it's a little different but entertaining and well done. The multi-player credit system is brilliant and the customization options are incredible. I'm not even talking about the Zombie mode which is super. Wonderful game if you're a COD or shooter fan. Expand
  2. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    I now have gotten around to my feelings on this game, after a year and a third of playing it. At first, I thought this game was crap, with aI now have gotten around to my feelings on this game, after a year and a third of playing it. At first, I thought this game was crap, with a very inconsistent hitmark system and very ridiculous kills. Now, however, after playing MW3, I think that both myself and a lot of other players are Back In Black. The is confusing at first, as it is a series of flashbacks. After playing it a few times, though, I get the gist of it, although it still sucks. Zombies is not my cup of tea unless I'm with friends, as it requires a lot of communication and understanding of how to survive in the maps to actually get far and have fun, until you eventually start just talking 'bout random stuff because you're just hoarding zombies until they overwhelm you. However, Treyarch took the biggest risk in Multiplayer, with a complete overhaul of the overall system. You can buy all perks after level 4, using money you get as a tenth of your xp each game. You also use this money to buy guns you have unlocked, and like perks, all equipment, lethals, and tacticals are unlocked once you create a class. The maps give you more variety than MW2 or MW3, with an Array of different maps that have been tailored to one gun type or another. The killstreaks are much harder to get, which I love, so that you're not bombed by YET ANOTHER PREDATOR! The guns also take ever so slightly longer to kill with than the other games, which increases you're chances of living. Also, the perks are much more balanced, and Tomahawks are amazing. Overall, a great game for the money. Expand
  3. Aug 31, 2016
    9
    Best Call of Duty Black Ops Game and one of the best Call of Duty Game. Normal Graphics for 2010, awesome 2 Players Mode, VS Zombie, not badBest Call of Duty Black Ops Game and one of the best Call of Duty Game. Normal Graphics for 2010, awesome 2 Players Mode, VS Zombie, not bad storyline and interesting gameplay. Very Awesome Game, Good, Very good for Call of Duty. Expand
  4. Dec 25, 2010
    7
    A game just like the others. Not a great improvement just the same sort of repetitve gameplay. Theater was a much needed improvement. TheA game just like the others. Not a great improvement just the same sort of repetitve gameplay. Theater was a much needed improvement. The money system was cool too. Although a lot of multiplayer mess-ups (especially PS3). Some much needed updates hopefully are in line. All in all same game but still fun. Expand
  5. Nov 19, 2013
    6
    La verdad un juego bastante decepcionante y que deja muchísimo que desear, la saga esta claramente sobre explotada, año tras año el mismoLa verdad un juego bastante decepcionante y que deja muchísimo que desear, la saga esta claramente sobre explotada, año tras año el mismo juego, con la misma mecánica y todo igual, solo cambia un poco los escenarios y eso y ya esta, no merece la pena gastarte 75 euros por un juego sobre explotado si ya tienes el del año anterior, compralo cuando baje a 20 euros...porque si no seria tirar el dinero. Expand
  6. Nov 12, 2010
    4
    ** -- >>> I wanted to clarify to people that take issue with others saying that the reviews are bribed / paid off, that the claims of bribed** -- >>> I wanted to clarify to people that take issue with others saying that the reviews are bribed / paid off, that the claims of bribed scores are CORRECT, and it isn't just ActiVision who do this.
    Review sites make revenue by having people visit their site, and if other sites are putting up the first reviews of the latest hot game, people will go to them instead. Game publishers buy off high review scores by telling sites that they will receive an advanced copy of their game for review ahead of the retail release date ONLY IF the game receives a score of >80, or >90. They won't make this condition to all review sites, but they will to the popular ones, whose reviews will affect opinions the most.

    The incentives given for high scores also go beyond that. If a review site gives a score the publisher doesn't like, they won't receive an advance copy for future titles, putting that review site at a disadvantage to other sites that can review the game ahead of them - and when a site is blacklisted by a large publisher like ActiVision, that can mean a LOT of titles that will be missed. Call of Duty is ActiVision's biggest title, you can be damn that sure they've put more score manipulating muscle into this release than any other release has seen before it. This score manipulation regularly taints big-name games, and you should know to not trust review sites all that much, because their noses are often firmly up the arses of the companies whose games they depend on being able to review early to generate their site traffic for revenue. User feedback has become far more valuable that site reviews. However, a lot of simple users out there who don't have much game experience will assume that the game they're playing that got fifteen 100/100 scores is truly the best, and those don't-know-better easily manipulable people are the ones the score-doctoring tactics aim to influence.

    Metacritic, itself, has been lobbied by publishers to remove various negative scores from its site, to make games look like they were received better than they were. As far as I know, Metacritic has rebuffed all such lobbying.

    Now my review:
    I've played only the sp so far, and it's typical CoD boredom, for me. I hardly feel like I'm playing, and what I'm watching isn't very exciting, either. The graphics are bad, but hey, it's designed for ancient console hardware, and not contemporary PC hardware, so it's not very surprising. Frankly, I loathe the cheesy cliche Vietnam characters and lines, which now (if not already ages ago) seem like a bad parody of a bad parody. I have some un-ignorable performance issues, the same ones which many others are also experiencing, detailed on various forums (Steam forums, ActiVision forums, & others), despite having a robust PC. This game will satisfy the kiddies, who are wowed more by the constant scripted business of this rail-shooter than by involved and in-depth gameplay.
    Expand
  7. Jan 16, 2011
    0
    COD: Black Ops is one of the worst shooter games that I've played in a long time. The campaign was to short and the online experience isCOD: Black Ops is one of the worst shooter games that I've played in a long time. The campaign was to short and the online experience is horrible. It can take me up to 30 minutes to join a game. Battlefield Bad Company 2 just blows COD out of the water. The maps, guns, and realism in Battlefield Bad Company 2 is just phenomenal. While Cod is just pathetic. Expand

See all 390 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.