User Score
2.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 939 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    4
    Not worth it i mean this is mostly the same game since MW3 i just thought that it would be a change for the franchise but no luck. Multiplayer is O.K maps are changed a few tweaks thats it i am starting to wonder why does activision bother taking this much time to make the game just bring out a old game. Campaign is horrible story is unfocused characters are just nothing to me and no base to make this game and if you want to spend 60$ it should be on battlefield 4 or Assassins creed 4. For me Cod was dead after MW2 Expand
  2. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    This isn't your first game Activision, the lag online is terrible, you never learn. Nothing new brought to the table, generic campaign, terrible online gaming experience.
  3. Nov 5, 2013
    2
    This is basically just a rework of Modern Warfare 2 with a dog thrown in there. It's like they struggled to come up with anything new, then thought it would be a good idea to replace a controllable drown with controllable dog. That's all the dog essentially is, a drone with 4 feet that can detect things from the ground instead of from the air. They even go as far adding a REVERSE breach. It's like they sat down and thought "Hmmm, how can we refresh the slow mo breaches? I know! insteaad of a normal breach, we will have, and get this, are you ready for this? we will have a REVERSE breach!!! Genius!" Playing through is full of deja-vu, you feel like you have played every mission a million and one times over. There's a sneeky stealthy bit, a sniper bit, a bit where you try to escape while shooting from the back of a veichle etc etc etc, it's the same old thing. The graphics are also a step down from Black Ops 2. The multiplayer is the same as ever. I sat playing Modern Warfare 3 online over the weekend and, while playing COD Ghosts online i often forgot it was COD Ghosts, i thought i was playing Modern Warfare 3 still. It also feels odd without Captain Price and the SAS boys, i really miss them. When Ghosts was announced i got super excited thinking Ghost from the Modern Warfae would feauture in it, but sadly not. Instead they took the Ghosts theme, added a dog named Riley after Gaz and Ghost from the Modern Warfare series, reworked the story of Modern Warfare 2, then try to charge us £40 to £60 for it. Seriously, save your money. Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    They used the same engine from Modern Warfare 3, and when compared to Xbox 360 graphics, it looks like dirt. Nothing new added to the franchise.

    Singleplayer is short and really bad. It's also boring. Hey, atleast they added a dog. A reskinned and recoded dog from the other Call of Duties. For your information, that dog didn't brought anything new to the game.

    They copied pasted all
    the multiplayer stuff from Modern Warfare 3 and added little DLCs, and now they call that a new multiplayer experience. Multiplayer experience my a**.

    Don't buy this game. Buy Modern Warfare 3 if you really want to play a modern Call of Duty game. Hey, atleast it's cheaper! I give this game a 0/10, good job Activision.
    Expand
  5. Nov 5, 2013
    5
    As one of the more ambitious Call of Duty titles, I expected a lot from this. The trailers, the demo, they made up room for something really big, something that would keep this milked franchise up and about, but no. It failed. Miserably.

    Apparently, the only ace Call of Duty has against it's rival, Battlefield 4, is that it has a fairly decent campaign. It's fairly long, it has a
    handful of heartwrenching moments here and there, and the family dynamic is very present. The dog sections are also fun, obviously tearing someone's face apart has always been fun. Character development is also alright, I guess, and the voice actors are goddamn good. Stephen Lang, Brandon Routh, Kevin Gage, three very established Hollywood actors. They never failed for once. However, that doesn't really change the fact that the game lacks of innovation. That it's still the same rehashed game, with slightly improved graphics and, oh, a dog. The multiplayer is about the same, and the Levolution-like feature they decided to implement barely makes any difference. The size of the objects you could bring down in Battlefield 4 was huge, like skyscraper huge, while the only objects you can bring down in Call of Duty are a pile of logs, a lamp post, and a gas station.

    Overall, Call of Duty is a half-decent game. However, I still suggest you don't get it immediately and wait until the price drops. If you're a FPS fan, save your money for Shadow Fall which is coming recently.
    Expand
  6. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If you play any Call of Duty, you've played GHOSTS. Don't believe the marketing hype, this is the same product rebundled let it die and show investors we're not interested in being sold the same product year after year, the cash cow needs to starve. Expand
  7. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    Absolute garbage. The game had me wanting to shoot myself. It's been the same gimmicks since the first Modern Warfare came out and it looks like nothing is ever going to change that,
  8. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    Yet another Call of Duty, yet another zero. This is a series for braindead 13-years. Avoid at all costs this piece of garbage. Lalalalala-lalalala-lala-la
  9. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    Horrible, simply horrible, to much hype for this BO2 kicks this game's ass blindfolded
    Not worth the 60 bucks
    Don't buy this, go buy Batman Arkham Origins, BF4, AC4, GTA 5... there are many better games in the market right now and better to come
    Don't waste your money in this
  10. Nov 5, 2013
    2
    Surely the makers of this 10th instalment in the main series understand that everyone is becoming quite blasé about the franchise. This latest game does little to nothing in improving on the series and affirms Infinity Ward's seemingly apathetic attitude towards improving game quality. CoD: Ghosts offers yet another bland campaign coupled with a mindless multi-player that somehow manages to be even more basic. Little progress has been made in terms of graphics, furthermore. It seems that, for the sake of profit, re-skinning the same old things and releasing the game with a few trivial changes is really the tactic employed here. Where Treyarch fails in poor execution, Infinity Ward fails in lacking ambition... Expand
  11. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    badbadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadbadbad
  12. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    Yet another sloppy update to the already past its sell by date series. Everything about it is offensive to anyone with any taste.

    Basically, it's worse than Hitler.
  13. Nov 6, 2013
    4
    Infinity Ward is no doubt resting on past successes. Since COD4, Treyarch's Black Op's series is the only one where there has been any effort to add to the formula. VERY short campaign, ridiculous levels in space that'll have Neil Degrasse Tyson on a rant for weeks, and a story that could have been considerably more fleshed out. The story is admittedly better than MW2 and MW3, but those two were absolutely terrible. If you were only interested in multiplayer that's fine. There is really nothing new. They basically copy and pasted Black Ops 2's multiplayer and added a facelift. In fact, there are noticeable deletions like the mode I play: Ground War. No ground war. Only 12 players. Save your money. Just play Black Ops 2. Expand
  14. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    This game isnt a masterpiece but it doesnt deserve the criticism that it has at the moment and im going to rate each topic.

    Campaign: 1/10.The same bull crap again with a boring storyline and that can be beaten in 3 hours.

    Multiplayer: 6.5/10. I like the prestige system and that you earn squad points as you progress to unlock everything you want but the big downfall is that the maps
    are garbage with barely any dynamics and a realy big size.

    Squads and Extinction: 10/10.This is the only reason i ranked this game an 8/10 or else this game would be garbage. Squads is a new and innovating thing that allows you to create your own team and play against another player's team,play with your team against another team of bots and it also allows you to play survival mode with your team or with another 3 players and Extinction is an alien survival mode that i honestly think that its better than zombies because it is far more challenging than zombies and it is objective based and not just survive until forever.

    If you are a fan of co op and zombies than you will realy enjoy this game but if you prefer multiplayer than this game will be a big a disappointment.I hope you enjoyed my first review in this website and please forgive my bad grammar.
    Expand
  15. Nov 7, 2013
    0
    Jogo lixo que só trava, mapas para campers, gráfico horrível e pesado. Não pode ajustar o FOV e nem o ping. Trava até nos menus e meu PC top Core i7 4770k.
  16. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    I cant believe i just tried again cod and yes it is completely failed again. Really big disappointment in single story, no changes in multiplayer(mostly). Big shame to all cod series, every year infinity going down faster
  17. Nov 6, 2013
    1
    Activision clearly thinks their customers are fools who will buy the game regardless of what they do. A next gen game using an 11 year old modified quake engine. So much for all the "we are building a new engine". Adding some poor lighting effects (google ghosts two suns lighting) and upping polygon count doesn't equal a new engine. Then there is the issue of one of the final scene from MW2 being recycled into the start of ghosts. Been playing since cod2 and cod4 is still the best. Not because of nostalgia (as Vonderhaar has claimed) but because the server lag was way less notable to the point that skill actually played a part. Expand
  18. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    I found the multiplayer game to be unenjoyable, almost unplayable. I wouldn't say its a step backwards, but more like fall down a long flight of stairs. World at war was a better game than this. I played the game for over 2 hours. The UI is very bad, nothing is intuitive about the player setup (guns, perks, ect) and the gameplay UI is distracting. In domination, while you're capturing a flag the progress bar is in the center of the screen where your cross-hairs are, very poor design. I haven't played battlefield yet but I'll still to Black Ops 2 for now. Expand
  19. Nov 6, 2013
    2
    I've been a faithful COD fanboy until now. Maps are way TOO BIG! Only marathon will get you back into the fight long enough before the game time runs out. I've never played so many COD games where the time expires before the game objectives are completed. If I wanted large maps I would have gone with BF4. Also, the level-up experience based on squad points is frustrating to say the least. I found myself getting upset and bored accumulating just a few squad points each game only to find out that I still couldn't afford the outrageously priced perk, gun, attachments, kill-streak, additional weapon class, etc, that I was looking forward to. Among other frustrating details, all-in-all, this game might quickly be replaced by BF4. At least they have vehicles that get you back in the fight. Expand
  20. Nov 6, 2013
    1
    I enjoyed MW3, I loved Black ops 2, but I HATE ghosts. this is the game that has turned me off call of duty. The multiplayer is nothing short of atrocious. Huge, over the top complicated maps, poor graphics. 90% of the kills you get are by stumbling upon people and killing them from behind; and naturally most of your deaths and being killed from behind. Appalling game, I don't know if I'll get another COD game again because of how much this one stunk. Horrible. Expand
  21. Nov 5, 2013
    3
    Yeh...Call of Duty has never really changed from the casual, 1 shot kill game with higher auto aim feature than any shooter. This one has aliens and a dog? Some features that let you customize an soldier so for a millisecond that its alive you can go NICE! Its near unplayable on all platforms but Xbox. For a game which is just copy and paste, it truly is a failure of modern gaming to have something so buggy coming out. Graphic and gameplay are worse than black ops. Its not a next gen game, its a failure of the industry. Expand
  22. Nov 6, 2013
    1
    The Single player is garbage!! Ghost and MW2 ending is the EXACT SAME!! Infinity ward is so Lazy! The Multiplayer is just....OHHH Myy Gawwd. The Map designs are just terrible. WASTE OF $60! CoD Ghost is just MW3 DLC No Joke!!
  23. Nov 20, 2013
    1
    It technically is a video game, so it gets a 1. Besides that, the multiplayer is abysmal. It's either run, run, run, run, run, sniped. Or, spawn in someone's crosshairs. Unplayable dreck.
  24. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    Call of Duty:Ghosts is awesome more than any other Cod games for the simple reason that it is IMPROVED.
    Lagging is reduced so that is a big advantage for me, sniping is really improved, firing is improved, kill streaks, perks, equipments and attactments are added and the guns are awesome especially the USR, SC-2010, Honey Badger, VRX-160 and the Vector CRB.
    And the last thing is that it
    is very hard to level up, in an hour I levelled u only 2/3 levels, meanwhile on Mw3 in an hour straight playing I level up to level 30.
    I dont' see why many people hate it
    Expand
  25. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    Even more even more even more!Even more even more even more!Even more even more even more!Even more even more even more!Even more even more even more!Even more even more even more!Even more even more even more!Even more even more even more!
  26. Nov 5, 2013
    9
    This game is way better than any of the commenting trolls are giving it credit for. The problem is that the people who hate the game still buy each and every installment every single year. No kidding you're going to get sick of it. I did the same thing. Then I took a year off from it (Barely played MW3 and skipped BLOPSII altogether), and I think that Ghosts is the best CoD title since MW2.
  27. Nov 5, 2013
    5
    Why can't I learn my lesson? Every year its the same game, yet I never care until two months after I buy the game. I can't give this game any higher score than a 5. Graphically it's pretty much the same, same engine being used but with some better lighting effects. I started the single player and after 10 minutes I stopped and had enough, I didn't buy the game for its single player. Now for the online review. Not much lag, which is nice but connecting to rooms has been an issue, as always. The game has more customizations available but honestly I could care less. The online play is the same old fast shooter loaded full of pre-pubescence kids trying to my mother while dropping the N word every other sentence. Its annoying. This game deserves a 5/10. Same different year. Goodbye COD. Expand
  28. Nov 5, 2013
    7
    Call of Duty Ghosts still feels like the same game we've been playing for the past eight years. Meaning the core gamplay experience hasn't changed. The campaign felt well paced and far more emotional then previous titles. I hated the Black ops 2 campaign but felt right at home with Ghosts. Explosive massive large scale warfare and fantastic action. can't help but feel like iv been here before though. Yes it is becoming a little stale but at least its fun, which is what the fans want. Call of duty is like a packet of barque chips. They taste great for a while, then become a little tiring. Overall the I had fun with the 6-8 hour campaign. COD is meant for small doses of adrenaline filled fun. I mainly play with my buds on a Saturday night, screaming into the mics for a few hours and hooked up with bottles of Mountain Dew. Multilayer obviously hasn't changed except for the new dynamic maps, guns and new game modes. To be honest the maps don't even feel all that dynamic, a bus falls off a cliff...cool. The maps are far larger this time round which definitely keeps the game with slower paced matches but takes much longer to find enemies. The score streaks have also been balanced out. Now you won't be shot down by stealth choppers every 3 minutes. The Multilayer is greatly balanced out now and the new map designs are great. Infinity ward also added a new game mode called Extinction. Its like Zombies but with Aliens. You get the idea. Of course the current gen versions are showing some age compared to the much better looking next gen platforms. Whichever version you choose though, ghosts is still a fairly fun shooter. Expand
  29. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    Simply shocking. A total mess. Nothing new for 4-5 years and if anything has regressed. Battlefield 4 do cod game modes i.e team deathmatch and domination much much better and that's not even the real battlefield.
  30. Nov 6, 2013
    1
    I GONNA SPEAK ABOUT MULTIPLAYER: Fu**king game modes,fu**ing repawn and fu**ing maps! How can we play the competitive with this maps?!? How can we play online with all that bushes,houses and corners so ideal for campers? And also the 1vs1...this is a "one shot game": you can't never fail,you can't never save your ass...boring fights. They tried to copy some points of BF4,but this is only a VERY BIG EPIC FAIL. PATHETIC GAME! Expand
  31. Nov 8, 2013
    1
    Worse game ever pisses me off the maps suck all people do is hide theses maps are so Wack I'm moving to battlefield hope gameplay is better I swear I wasted my money on this stupid game never again done with call of duty
  32. Nov 9, 2013
    1
    call of duty is just falling apart each new game that they make makes me sader and sader and the fact that people expect more from this game each year is redundant. i gave it a one because i feel like the story was Meh but there was a tiny spec of effort in it because who gives a about compaign right? all they do is repackage multiplayer each year and thats it no one even plays it for the tory which is what call of duy was once about. this game is the final nail in call of dutys coffin Expand
  33. Nov 9, 2013
    2
    It is now apparent just how terrible Call of Duty has become. Everything, and I mean everything is so bad about this game, from the weapons to the maps to the absolutely awful deaths you will see every single game. This is easily the most frustrating multiplayer game I've ever played. It is sad and pathetic just how much the Call of Duty series caters to noobs. Anyone known as a 'rager' and anyone that finds no fun in crouching in a corner or sitting on a rooftop all game waiting for someone to run by needs to stay away from this piss poor abomination of a game. It is hard to believe that infinity ward, the developers of COD 4 and mw2, has just pushed out this horrible turd of a video game. I recommend this game to newcomers to the series, douchers that run in packs of 3 and campers. People with real talent, you have been forgotten. Expand
  34. Nov 14, 2013
    0
    Just another typical cod game.... Some simple boring singleplayer mode to have some excuse for a new installment, and the online mode is the same as always. They should just make an MMO and ditch the rest, but they won't cuz it kills the profit using another sh*t story as an excuse to launch a new game every year. Only reason to get this game is when you start feeling like the mw3 servers are dying out.... Expand
  35. Nov 5, 2013
    5
    The commercials for this game were way more exciting than the real thing. First, let me start off by saying that I did not get the opportunity to test the online multiplayer, I only experienced the offline multiplayer along with extinction and the campaign. I do realize most consumers purchase the series for the online and could not care less about the offline features, however, the online experience should not determine the fate of any game. If I could have just as much fun playing a 5 year old Call of Duty with my buddies online as I would this, then there isn't much new to compare.

    For the offline features, three of my friends and I were immediately disappointed to find that offline co-op was limited to only two players. This came as a surprise, considering the four-person offline multiplayer and four-person zombies in 2012's Black Ops 2. Overall, the new class building system along with the create-a-character were nice additions, but it was a shame that four of us could not play at once. The inclusion of bots a la Black Ops were a nice addition, and the ability to have 12 total players was a nice improvement from the 10 total from Black Ops 2 offline. I just wish one more thing brought over from BO2 was the four person experience.

    Like every other Infinity Ward Call of Duty, the campaign is convoluted and linear, My friends and I only played for about 2 hours into it, occasionally switching off upon deaths, and we unanimously agreed that the story was just not all that interesting. Granted again, no one really buys the COD games for the story, it's just a shame that it could not build upon the additions from last year's game.

    Lastly, Extintion is perhaps the most ambitious (and 'new'!) feature in Call of Duty: Ghosts. However, if you're at all familiar with the 'Zombies' adventures from previous Treyarch titles, Extinction will not be nearly as fun or satisfying. The PS3 version feels gimped as a next-gen title, often looking muddier and chunkier than even Black Ops 2.

    Not once does this game exceed my expectations; the story is just as linear and confusing as ever, Extinction is a creative yet failed attempt at succeeding 'Zombies', the offline multiplayer experience is terribly limited by the ability to only play with two players although the new changes in the class system are really a nice touch, and lastly the overall graphics and feel of the PS3 version feel heavy and less-than-stellar. I give this game a 5/10.
    Expand
  36. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    The apparently new game engine is a massive joke it's updated from previous titles. I feel that current gen call of duty ghosts is so bad graphically. I truly think they did that on purpose so that would make the next gem version seem a whole lot better then it is. It's all smoke and mirrors here people. The fish AI doesn't even work like advertised. Lol
    But honestly they need to consider
    rebooting the franchise if not I wouldn't be surprised if call of duty goes under. Truly a garbage of a game. Expand
  37. Nov 6, 2013
    2
    i love being yelled at a bunch of rasist 12 year olds and buying the same game over with a 4 hour campaign. but in all fairness it has an ok pace to it.
  38. Nov 5, 2013
    0
    A pile of Same old game from like what, 2007? It looks like they recycled the engine from COD4, added a little tweaks here and there and called it a day. It's sad that some cretins still give into COD.

    Ghosts is just another ****ty carbon copy. The campaign is wank, the multiplayer is still the same with the same little children, and the mechanics are graphics are still the same ****.


    To sum it up: COD Ghosts is a disgrace to the video game world.
    Expand
  39. Nov 7, 2013
    1
    There is absolutely nothing new about this iteration in the series. The series has been regurgitating the same game every year, so it's no surprise. That said, what it does with the formula is not that bad. I believe it is a small amount stronger than its predecessor, but these feelings could easily be shot down if gun imbalance is truly found. Ghosts doesn't deserve a 1/10, but it certainly deserves a 2. Activision is a lame excuse for a game dev team. Expand
  40. Nov 7, 2013
    1
    With the same engine as the last 5 installments in the series this game also offers the same banal drivel you would come to expect from this set-piece driven eplodaganza. Gameplay shows no discernible difference from the previous game and the single player campaign can easily be completed within 5 hours. The multplayer is the same mindless face shooting that the series prides itself on.
  41. Nov 9, 2013
    4
    Ok, first off I am (or WAS) a COD fanboy. Bought every version since the great COD 4. Now the game started to get stale for me a couple of years back. I must be stupid because every year I fall for the marketing hype. I say I will never buy a COD game again unless they are different but strangely enough I end up buying it. Bought Ghosts about a week ago. I'm reviewing multiplayer here cause I couldn't even bring myself to play campaign and honestly who really buys COD for the campaign.

    I tried to give it a go, I really did. But when I still had the Hardened Version of Black Ops 2 sitting in my drawer I didn't see the point. Despite what they say, the game is the same. Graphics mechanics etc. Yes they have thrown in a dog but this should be DLC and not a $100 game.

    Now Im not going to scream DONT BUY THIS GAME!!! What you do with your money if your choice. Super mad COD fanboys and newcomers will probably still like the game and forgive its shortcomings, and think its great. However, those of you that have been playing COD since COD 4 will see this game for what it is, something that is just a rehash of last year, which was a rehash of the year before which was a rehash........
    Collapse
  42. Nov 12, 2013
    0
    I usually dont give a game 0's, but infinity ward always seems to mess up, treyarch needs to be only one doing this game. I shall name the title of my review "Why the F". Why the F did infinity ward take out the dolphin dive and implement a half ass knee slide which helps at nothing in MP? now I have to press O twice to dive intro prone while capturing a flag. Why the F are half my kills, and half my deaths coming after I spawn right behind an enemy or an enemy spawns behind me? Why the F did you guys make generally larger maps and not include ground war? Why the F is there no party games? Why the F do the playlist seems so much little compared to BOPS2? Why the F did I spawn directly behind the B flag in domination. Why the F are the perks so confusing compared to BOPS2? Why the F are there support and assualt killstreaks? Why the F do the assault rifle shoots and looks like SMGS? Why the F did the spy plane go? What the F is the point of complicating things with a sat com? Why the F do people camp so much in such large maps? Why the F does it seem like it takes more bullets to kill a dog than a human? Why the F do all the assault rifle seem to be no different than another in terms of recoil and damage? Why the F is the point of implmenting looking around the corner when NO one uses it. What the F is squad points, why cant i rank up and get new items? Why the F did you think customizing soldiers look option is better than improving gameplay? Why the F do I die so fast? This MP is garbage, of course I did'nt play the campaign, but who the F cares about a repititve fps MP based story mode. Expand
  43. Nov 8, 2013
    3
    Its been a while since i have felt the need to write a review, but after getting this at midnight launch i had to comment. This game has nothing promised. The dog stuff? utter rubbish really. The story? lucky if it lasts u 5 hrs. the multiplayer? hacked from the first minute.

    In particular as a multiplayer player first and foremost, I was very dissapointed. The maps are larger and multi
    leveled which is nice, but 6 on 6 feels empty and tends to involve a lot of camping. Its also ugly to look at, assuming its been lowered from next gen quality, BLOPS2 looks better.

    AND THE HACKERS! omg so many hackers, hacks were out before release, and i had 1 fair game in 10 for the first few days. Its common to complain about hackers who are just skilled, but when you see players getting ten kill streaks on the other team when they have at most 3 or 4 a person, its complete utter crap.

    This game is half baked, not even that, and the hacking community has ruined it for those who like to play it legit. Im back to playing BLOPS2 for now, and will probably trade this piece of in asap. Most dissapointing game since Company of Heroes 2
    Expand
  44. Nov 6, 2013
    9
    Good solid game to be honest, more of the same from the series...new maps, guns, etc. All new and fun to play with. Multiplayer seems, so far, as good as ever. Which is why we buy the game!?

    Dont get what all the hate is about to be honest. The only thing, if being really picky, could the graphics be a bit better?
  45. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    Disgusting! The new СOD even shooting made ​​terrible sense if strelaesh in sacks of potatoes. In no case do not buy it, or the gods of chaos will be punished you for such a coprophilia.
  46. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    Seriously Activision? Grow up. There is no way you can keep selling the same game over and over. You already milked this franchise enough. Now send it to the butcher.
  47. Nov 5, 2013
    6
    This year had alot of ups and downs. Call of duty ghosts are right in the middle of this. Call of duty has great multiplayer and classes, but the maps are way too big and the game itself is too complex for most of the gamers. We don't want a game where you've got to research to find a good class, it is all about the gameplay. Also, single player was a disappointment. The whole campaign lasts 5 hours (Which is longer than battlefield 4's single player, where that campaign lasted 4 hours)! Overall, Call of duty is not the best of the franchise, but is a enjoyable game. Expand
  48. Nov 17, 2013
    6
    Call of Duty: Ghosts was a huge disappointment. The multiplayer is the same with a few tweaks, the Squads mode is fun but it gets boring after a while. The campaign is okay, their are some good parts like when you play as the dog Ryley and the ending is great, but the rest of the game feels rushed and boring. The Extinction mode really surprised me, it is the best thing about this game, in my opinion it is better than the zombies mode in the Treyarch games. The thing that really bothered me about this game is that the graphics dont even look improved, even Black Ops 2 looks better than this game, it looks the same as Modern Warfare 3 and that game came out in 2011. I wouldint recommend buying this game at full price, but if you do buy it on the Playstation 4 or Xbox One. Overall Score 68/100 Expand
  49. Nov 6, 2013
    0
    Analizemos un momento....Pobre online mode no hay mejoras en los gráficos....no hay nada de innovación al respecto...el modo historia ya como muchos han comentado..es una porquería (demasiado predecible y monótono para mí al menos)... es prácticamente escribirle "Ghosts" en vez de "ModerWarfare 3" y lanzarlo como nuevo juego se esperaba mucho más de esta nueva entrega en sí no es sino más de lo mismo... ¿Un consejo?...NO LO COMPRES PD:Transale this text if you don't understand what i say... Expand
  50. Nov 5, 2013
    7
    I played this game in Local play in which i always do for every call of duty to check out guns and maps and stuff. The game isnt that bad i would say. I always loved the format that MW2 and MW3 had. Glad they changed from that BO2 garbage. But the Graphics are just bad man. But you have to realize the game was not meant to be released for PS3. And i still dont get why people would rate a cod game without them adding any patches yet. You duty players should know this by now Jesus.

    Didnt try the story yet but im not that big of a call of duty story fanatic. I just do them for the trophies and thats it.

    O yea and by the way......the scorestreaks look like they are going to be really OP. Hopefully its not as bad as I think they are going to be.
    Expand
  51. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    I'm basing this on the Multiplayer aspect as its all ive played.

    I'm really enjoying this, at first thought when I played my first game mode, I was hesitant and thought I had been ripped off, I found the first map bland, now after having it for a few days I love it. Below is list of Pros and Cons to MP.

    Pros: 1.Huge maps, with multi levels not just the standard BLOPS2 3 way
    entrances, but a multitude of entrances to choke zones.
    2 Knee slide is awesome, going from sprinting to crouched to prone is easy, also doing a kneeslide into a room turning around and getting a kill is satisfying.
    3. Soldier customisation.
    4. Blitz, fast paced high scoring
    5. Guns feel great, sound great
    6. Field orders, love them, adds more depth to an already deep game
    7. Huge amount of unlockables that will keep you going for ages.

    Cons.
    1. No connection status bar
    2. Havnt got used to contextual lean yet.
    3. Always getting shot in back (could be a pro as well due to variety of map passages)
    4. No Search and Destroy (although search and rescue is a good addition)

    Overall loving it, few very minor issues but all in all a great MP game.
    Expand
  52. Nov 20, 2013
    6
    Wont say its a great game... single player experience was disappointing.. feels like the old modern warfare or black ops... extinction was good idea but only 1 map... gets bored soon... multiplayer is ok... but the spawns need to be fixed... is too chaotic... i like the new reward system though...
  53. Nov 5, 2013
    8
    My review is currently based on only playing the online portion of the game. I will update after playing the single player campaign, which in my opinion, has to be better than Blops 2 which I never even finished.

    I played Squads and Multiplayer for a few hours this morning after the midnight release and really enjoyed my experience. Create a soldier and loadout screens are pretty deep
    customization of your character. The quasi pick 10 system carryover from Blops2 and strike packages from MW3 are both welcome additions to the game

    I was able to jump right in and get some kills and score streaks, which was a change for me from Blops 2 and MW3 where I was barely able to crack a 1.00 K/D and .75 for MW3 respectively. Additionally I like the maps this time around, they are bigger and not shoebox size like before. There are more open spaces for people who prefer to NOT run and gun everywhere with an SMG.

    Lastly I have played the Battlefield games and have always preferred CoD. Similar formula as before with some tweaks and changes I feel are for the better.
    Expand
  54. Nov 7, 2013
    0
    It's so hard to truly express my disappointment in this game, and the overwhelming failure of the development team in words. So why don't I start by blowing your mind with the game's features (or lack thereof):

    Playercards You might expect that Ghosts would contain a sleek and stylish new section for showing off your stats, or maybe the stats of your "soldiers" with it's new overly
    complicated class creation system. Maybe it would bring back all the favorite playercard features, such as the heat map, individual gun and equipment stats, or a breakdown of recent games, etc but no. What do you get? Nothing. No playercard. No stats page aside from leaderboards that have already been tanked by hackers. Yes, hackers. Hackers without playercards.

    Saved Replays You might expect that the standard of awesomeness CoD has set for being able to save your games as replays, edit them, change camera angles, plus the newly introduced live-streaming features and YouTube uploading would all be here. Maybe some more features such as cooperative replay navigation and editing when you're in a lobby with your friends? Yeah that would have been cool. But you don't get that. You get nothing. No saved replays. So, nothing. No bragging rights. No showing your friends that quad rocket kill or your 30-0 FFA match using only a knife. Nothing.

    Scorecard You know, the old thing where you press select and it brings up what's going on in the game (kills, deaths, assists, captures, etc) as well as your latency. It's where you get to mute people. Well they've managed to remove features from this series standard as well. The only plus is that you can have the scorecard in the upper right of the screen only having it slightly hinder your view while you play. But the price for that is (appearantly) a complete inability to mute individual players. The only options you have for muting must be made in the options menu during the game, and those selections include "Mute All", "Mute All Except Friends", and "Unmute All". It's a train-wreck. Oh, and also they don't want you seeing your latency/connection quality anymore either. So that's gone.

    So, moving on from that barrage of pathetic, confounding, absolutely inexcusable garbage that is all the features this game DOESN'T have, lets talk about other things. Like the maps.

    In the last few games, the fans of CoD have shown that is true that we love smaller maps. Once the games are in full swing, Nuketown and Terminal are really all anyone wants. Now I'm not saying that all maps should be that small, but in Ghosts, all maps are friggin' HUGE. All of them. And the spawns, are, terrible. You will be shot immediately. You will be shot by the person who just spawned on top of you. You will be killed by campers constantly, because the maps are too big. All of the things that plagued the early shooters of the gaming industry are back in full swing here, as if the developer literally decided to hit the reset you know what, I promised myself I wouldn't fall down the rabbit hole of speculation as to why this game is such filth, and I'm sticking to it. Moving on classes, perks, guns, etc....

    You know how in the last few games, you get some classes, then you get to unlock more, and weapons and perks basically unlock over time in combination with spending points/cash in some cases? Well, that's way too noobish for you now. In Ghosts (as one of the only things that was actually added to instead of taken from) you must traverse an oubliette of soldiers and sub-classes and sub-menus and operations that will leave you feeling like you just balanced a checkbook instead of set up a class. On an arguable upside, you basically get access to everything very early, but not really because you have to split your time between training different soldiers to unlock equipment for each. But I guess it's cool because you don't prestige anymore. Oh wait, you liked that. Oh well I was wrong, for all the over complicated confusion they added in this facet of the game, they actually managed to take from you here too.

    So, bottom line: No replays, no playercard, no muting individual players, no prestiege, no fast paced maps, no fun, no explanation. Oh, and the best guns are the ones you're given by default. And most of the guns suck. So yeah, this game is just a tragic disappointment that leaves me wondering if it's not literally MEANT to burn you out completely on the series for some unknown reason. I'm lost, I just know that I've never wanted my money back more on a video game since I bought "Sewer Shark" for the Sega-CD. What a terrible crying shame. Hopefully people will get fired over the garbage that is CoD: Ghosts. If not, I feel for the industry. That is all.
    Expand
  55. Nov 7, 2013
    0
    YAWN!

    Same turd ever so slightly different toilet. Save yourself the money and just play black ops 2 again. You wouldn't notice the difference. Annoyed with myself that I got suckered into buying this again.
  56. Nov 7, 2013
    0
    Once again, we have a COD game that is the same of a previous installment. There is no improvement with the graphics at all. Producers brag about how fast the frames per second are, but what good is it when the results are terrible graphics. All the death animations are the same, but what's new. And of course, they have failed to integrate any sort of vehicle into the multiplayer without it requiring any kill streak. And what good are explosives if you can't do some real damage with them like blowing holes in walls or leveling buildings. This game is a waste of money. It lacks originality and can not compete with DICE's Frostbite 3. Battlefield 4 is the better buy. Expand
  57. Nov 7, 2013
    0
    This game was just awful I have put about two hours into this game and just could not bring myself around to playing it again but I reckon that the Call of Duty series died along time ago.
  58. Nov 9, 2013
    0
    I was a huge fan of the series and bought it for my kid and me who play on both ps3 and xbox, both versions were absolute trash, I was a fan sense call of duty 4 and this is a disgrace to the series.
  59. Nov 13, 2013
    8
    This is a pretty decent game, almost didnt buy it due to the negativity found on here, though after viewing the accounts linked to these 0/10 reviews and seeing that they have only ever written afew reviews, all of which are just bashing call of duty games i realized it was just sad people hating on the franchise and probably creating multiple account to do so. really dont understand why people waste their time in this way, this game is definately no 2/10 much better than mw3, and i also prefer it to black ops 1+2. Expand
  60. Dec 6, 2013
    4
    This is not a bad game, but it's not a great game. The GOOD -Multiplayer has the pick 10 system -Some new guns are really cool -Thermal is actually good -Sniping has been balanced for the good -Survival (not extinction) The BAD -Single player sucks (story sucks with a cliché ending) -Most maps are too big (but not all) -Extinction isn't that good -Squads -The squad point system is terrible. (I was level 17 before I unlocked "custom class 4")
    -Integrated silencers for some guns (others will say that it is cool)
    -Dated graphics
    Overall, not a great game. I prefer black ops 2. The best thing in this game to me is sniping is awesome. The worst is that the core gameplay has not been changed even a little bit since MW1. Oh and the graphics are starting to get dated. COD needs a new engine fast.
    Expand
  61. Nov 13, 2013
    10
    The best COD since MW1 2 Pos: - New Engine - Better balance of killstreaks (remove radar anti-radar) - Soldier mode - Alien Mode - Larger maps It is now again as MW1 2 You need finally recoil! (not as in BO2). - Clanwar mode (!) Neg: - New engine is still slightly buggy - Some maps are bit too big for 6v6 - Slight connection problems MW1 +2 fans finally get their successor Expand
  62. Nov 9, 2013
    5
    Another year, another Call of Duty. This time Infinity Ward is up to bat, and they take more than a few pages from the Treyarch handbook. A new four-player co-op mode with a crazy theme, a pick ten and currency system for multiplayer, and a campaign that has characters and a story that you can (mostly) follow. All of this sounds great, and this is truly the most ambitious Call of Duty to come from Infinity Ward, but somewhere along the way they botched everything making this the worst COD since Modern Warfare 2.

    The campaign just plain sucks. It's got a great story even if it can get a bit muddled at times, and the characters are fantastic. I truly came to care about Logan and Hesh and despised the main antagonist. However everything falls short from a gameplay perspective. Firefights are tedious, some sections just feel like they are on rails, and level design can be horrendous. All of this makes for a campaign that's just no fun to play, which is disappointing considering how good it all sounded when I heard about it. But no one buys COD for the campaign, they buy it for the multiplayer, which unfortunately fall short as well.

    It's clear that Infinity Ward did at least try to add some changes to the established multiplayer formula. They did it by borrowing the currency and pick 10 system from the two Black Ops games and adding their own twists. These additions don't save the game, but they end up being better than nothing. they also added larger maps, which somehow end up managing to be too large for their own good. Thanks to the increased size of the maps there are long stretches that you'll spend looking for someone to kill, rather than actually killing someone. It also makes death feel a little cheap when someone kills you not by skill, but simply because they were lucky enough to stumble up on you before you could stumble up on them. Some new modes are added but they end up being throwaway and you'll most likely stick with the regular established modes. All in all multiplayer still provides some minor thrills at times, but all these new changes end up hurting the experience rather than helping it.

    The games new attention on co-op modes is great, outside of the lame "Squads" mode that is really only worth playing if you're new to COD multiplayer. Where Infinity Ward manages to strike gold is with it's new "Extinction" mode. This new four-player cooperative mode takes notes from Treyarch's popular zombies mode and has you fighting waves of aliens while completing various objectives. It's the best part of the game and you can spend hours playing it with friends.

    In the end though one good mode can't save the overall package. It can be tedious to play at times, and the new changes can't shake the feeling of deja vu and end up hurting the overall experience. The campaign is dull and tedious. The multiplayer is is dated and the dog killstreak is overpowered. The cooperative mode is good but can't save the game. This is a huge disappointment and feels like a step back for a series that needs to move forward in order to keep fans. It really is the worst COD in years.
    Expand
  63. Nov 20, 2013
    6
    Uurgh! Another year, another COD game. There was a time when the release of a new COD game felt special and exciting but that time has long since passed. What you're getting here is the usual overly chaotic and short single player campaign complete with a constant bombardment of jingoistic nonsense and military jargon that attempts and fails to add meaning and gravitas to the reason you're murdering hundreds and hundreds of enemy soldiers. It's a decent FPS sure, as most of the COD series has been, but there just aren't enough new ideas to justify buying what is essentially the same game EVERY year.

    It's the same with annual sports games: if you feel like you're getting your money's worth here then go for it, though most people probably won't. If you're a die hard COD fan (of which the number of these is steadily and thankfully dwindling) you've probably already bought this. If it's been a few years since your last COD, and you feel like dipping back in, then this is as decent an entry in the series as you're likely to get, just don't expect to feel like you've missed much, because you haven't.

    As far as the multi-player goes, which to be fair is the main reason you should buy a COD game, I don't think it's ever felt as stale, with a notable lack of changes or new ideas, but again, you have no reason to be surprised or disappointed with what you're playing here. The user score for this particular entry is extremely low, and I feel this is as even the die hard fans are catching on that they're not really getting anything new anymore. I've tried to balance the score for this entry on its own individual merits and as part of an annual series. Yeah! AmErIcA! Everyone is our enemy! Whoo! Inside U.S. good! Outside BAAAAAD!
    Expand
  64. Dec 28, 2013
    6
    Another year, another Call of Duty. Let's make this clear: Ghosts does NOT suck, yet it isn't the best CoD; not even close. The campaign was just mindless fun, like the previous campaigns, yet I was disappointed overall, as the trailers had more emotion than the story itself. Characters could have been developed more. One reviewer said that this is the longest campaign in the series, yet it lasted for 5-hours, again like the previous games.

    Now onto the multiplayer, which everyone is mainly concerned about. Aside from customizing your own soldier, there is nothing really new. It's the same multiplayer. And what I hate is that everything is available for use, as long as your gather up enough points. What happened to this weapon being unlocked at this level, etc?

    Extinction mode is also fun, but it can't save the entire package.

    In the end, Ghosts is not bad, but not good. And it certainly isn't worth $60. I only got it because my bro got it for Christmas. If he didn't want it, I wouldn't have got it either. Wait for the price drop.
    Expand
  65. Nov 6, 2013
    9
    The Call of Duty franchise has been amazingly successful because they've discovered and created a formula that works unlike any other 1st person shooter.. Which is precisely why I continue to buy every instalment. I know that I'm getting a polished, fluid shooter with an amazing replay value. Such is the case with 'Ghosts'. Once again Activision has managed to improve upon the campaign, multiplayer and survival mode to add more to the familiar COD experience. I'm thrilled that it hasn't been completely revamped and hope that the future titles are 'COD familiar". A great game!! If you're remotely a fan, go out and buy it today. Expand
  66. Jan 14, 2014
    5
    Mediocrity at its finest. The yearly rehash of Call of Duty 4 has diluted to an uninspired campaign and a lifeless multiplayer.

    On the good side, the weapons and perks are more balanced (except explosives, which are useless with the exception of IDEs), the maps allow for different types of gameplay, sound is really good. The new Extinction mode is promising and fun.

    On the bad side,
    killstreaks are mostly ground-based and way less fun. Fun game modes from past Call of Duties are gone (i.e.: Chaos Mode from MW3). An overall feel that the franchise has been drained of all its joy. Expand
  67. Dec 8, 2013
    0
    Ive loved every cod, but this is just Not worth the cd its printed on. Too bad! If your unfamiliar with cod then this is not the entry to start. Get black ops 2 instead, you'll have a lot more fun.
  68. Dec 7, 2013
    0
    I am a Call of Duty fan...every year...except this year. This is a cheap, thrown-together-real-quick excuse for a game is beyond disappointing. This was the year Call of Duty could have become special. Not only did Ghosts take a step back in the Call of Duty franchise, they started walking backwards. The graphics are not the best, but those are the last thing I would complain about. The little things in COD are what make Call of Duty refreshing every year. Those little things are what made Ghosts bad. It is difficult to mute players, new leaning & sliding mechanics are terrible, and the maps are a disgrace. Other than the multiplayer, I did enjoy the campaign. The safeguard mode and extinction are hollow modes, but still somewhat entertaining. As for me, I will sell this one and hope next year is a more rewarding year for Call of Duty fans. Expand
  69. Feb 14, 2014
    0
    I've been in Video Gaming since the late 1980's and on online gaming since 1997, with average of 4+ hours daily online gaming, technically speaking i have spent playing online gaming much more than the life of many online players nowadays.

    Why i said that is to inform that i have seen almost all kind of online and offline gaming ever been created on all platforms, and i never and i mean
    never seen a game goes bad like Ghost.

    I'm totally honest when i say, because of this game i have changed my hobby to another field and i quit gaming, as i never seen any game more disturbing and failing like this game.

    Technically it is much better than all COD games, however practically it is score Big Zero with me.

    I can say why, however i will be wasting my precious time on this game, i don't know if they should call it a game.

    I don't know who design it, however these guys should be sacked and i mean it badly.

    The only one who seem to like it is the critics, i just wonder why don't they create games for critics and other games for the rest of us... :-)

    Fail bad...
    Expand
  70. Nov 17, 2013
    4
    Hello and welcome to Recycled Random Death Simulator 2013. The single player and multiplayer in this game are two completely different kettle's of fish so I will do a brief mini review of both.

    Campaign mode
    It was a good idea to make video games like brain dead Hollywood action blockbuster movies wasn't it. And what is the best way to enjoy an action movie? For me it's watching the
    same section of movie over and over again because the lead protagonist keeps dying until I go mental and start smashing my house up. Veteran mode (hardest difficulty) exposes CoD's single player for the semi interactive cinematic that it is. No skill, no challenge no depths, no room for exploration or experimentation just do what your told when your told or die. Walk a few steps in the wrong direction ...die. Shoot someone you weren't supposed to ...die. Stick your head out of cover in the wrong place ...die.

    Boring incoherent story and bland generic characters. Every level is a remix from a previous CoD game. No British characters, just all American because that's what sells. 1/10

    Online mutiplayer
    Well basically it's more of the same. Some interesting new game modes like Crank and Infected which are quite good. Squads and Extinction see you team up with other players to fight AI enemies. The AI is impressive but it's not the same as fighting other human players, thankfully though you can easily ignore these new modes and just focus on the main multiplayer which as usual has plenty of weapons and perks to unlock by leveling up. The maps are decent but there aren't many of them, of course that's because Activision want to charge you for more maps later on with all the usual overpriced DLC. 7/10

    Overall package
    Ghosts see's a little improvement in terms of graphics and presentation but it's so slight most probably wouldn't even notice. It's also probably the best multiplayer the series has ever had but again it's such small improvements it's basically irrelevant. If you've played any CoD since 4 then your not getting much different here. Sadly Special Ops which they ruined in MW3 with a pointless leveling up system has now been done away with completely.

    In the end it comes down to how tired you are of the same but good multiplayer. With this being the seventh game in as many years it's unlikely most will find this to be a worthwhile or enriching experience. 4/10
    Expand
  71. Dec 26, 2013
    2
    Dogs. Everyone who has played this game knows that the dogs are overpowered as Only a five killstreak. A retarded bat could play this and get the dogs. That is all I have to say.
  72. Nov 8, 2013
    0
    same copy paste garbage every year, hope in the god lord people will stop buying this crap, the cod cycle is resumed as this: they copy, and they paste everything from the previously versions with a "new skin", every new year they do this, and so... hell yeah.. people buy like a zombie.
  73. Nov 7, 2013
    3
    Easily the worst in the series. The graphics are worst than Black Ops 2's and the campaign mode is bad in just about every single way. The mutiplayer is already hacked (really Infinity Ward? Maybe next time you should actually try making a new game like Treyarch instead of just rehashing half of the last Modern Warfare) and there's nothing new here. Even their pathetic attempt at competing with Battlefield's level changing mechanic is horribly implemented to the point where it almost never happened and when it did it was just a gas station exploding or a gate closing or something stupid. I'm still in disbelief about how bad this one is. Expand
  74. Nov 7, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Okay, here we are! New Call of Duty game! This message contains spoilers, so be careful.
    For me, "COD: Ghosts" is TOTAL FAILURE.
    All this months, Activision make a decision, that new CoD will be revolutionally for it's series. From all trailers and etc. we thought that it was true. But, then release date comes, we all see that it all was wrong.
    Okay okay, graphics become better, for first time since MW1. "Very big" progress. "New engine we have!" Activision says. Really? I don't see something new: same sounds of bullets, some gameplay.
    Single player story for me is in just one word- WTF?!
    Some badasses destroy USA using space sh*t. Okay, okay, okay. It looks epic- apocalypse, and again in USA.
    10 years later, and people still have good life with army. WAT?! After massive apocalypse USA still has army with vehicles? Are you kidding me? And a storyline of 2 bros... argh, it's so typical. Storyline looks very bad and illogically.
    But the laughest think to me- is dog. Activision make a lot of advertisements, Internet make a lot of memes. Activision make development diary. And it's all for JUST 2 MISSIONS? WHAT? All this days Activision says that dog is "SUPER TROUPER". But only in f*cking 2 missions.
    Multiplayer remains at it's level. And now MP becomes boring: same f*cking thing all years.
    Activision needed to stop producing CoD series or change everything in game if they wanted to return respect.
    6/10
    Expand
  75. Nov 23, 2013
    0
    Seriously? Are you guys jealous of the Call of Duty franchise success? Because the Call of Duty series is factually the best game series ever! Its innovation has been imitated by ripoffs like battlefield but they have sorely failed. Call of Duty has saved the video game industry with its billion dollar sales. The truly amazing single player and multi-player modes are unmatched. Now stop hating on what you don't understand! Expand
  76. Nov 7, 2013
    0
    This game is the same old piece of crap game If you played any ps3 or xbox360 cod games, you have played this one. If you buy this you bought them all. Stale boring story with multiplayer to match (if you thought the multiplayer for any cod game was fun, you will like this I guess) Dont get it.
  77. Jan 31, 2014
    0
    Look at the User Score. Thats what counts. You see it? Its as dark as the blood gets from the blood you spilled from your opponents in this game... Just don't get it. Look at other reviews. You'll understand. $60 isn't a right price. People who play this are children. Wait... Why am I in this section if I'm a PC Gamer?!?! Well heck with it I made it this far. Black Ops 2+Dog=Ghosts
  78. Dec 26, 2013
    7
    Being a fan of Call of Duty myself, I had started playing around the time of Black Ops 2. However, I started with World at War and have been making my way up. After the great improvement in multiplayer from Black Ops 2, I was expecting Ghosts to bring great improvements to the series. However upon playing the multiplayer, I was torn between sides. Although I did appreciate the ability to customize the characters, many things were odd to me. The largest sources being the small amount of killstreaks and the miniscule 6 man teams I did not realize until now how odd a match can feel with a few players. There were some things that I enjoyed though. I found the graphics to be a great improvement over Black Ops 2, and I did enjoy the much smoother player movements with the slide and easy lean out of cover. I played Battlefield 4 before this and I am glad to find a much easier leaning mechanic. I also found the campaign to be enjoyable up until the end. Warning the ending is open and most likely means there will be a Ghosts 2, and hopefully they improve these mistakes. I also have noticed a few bugs such a a friendly freezing in place with his arms stuck out like a hidden in Garry's Mod Prop Hunt, however it fixed itself quickly. Simply put.

    Story: 7
    Presentation: 8
    Multiplayer: 5
    Co-op: 7
    Weapons: 8
    Total: 7
    Expand
  79. Nov 10, 2013
    4
    from a disappointing single player, to completely unbalanced multiplayer, to the barely passable extinction mode, in which you fight aliens while trying to destroy hives the newest call of duty is utterly inferior to black ops 2.
  80. Nov 8, 2013
    3
    As a long time Call of Duty player, I am disappointed in this release. Despite being marketed for next gen systems, there is little that has actually been improved. Black Ops II remains my favorite in the series, and I'm more likely to purchase Treyarch Call of Duty games from this point on, versus Infinity Ward.
  81. Nov 24, 2013
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Unlike most of the critics and users on this page, will not judge the game by the multi-player (mainly because it was bad to begin with), so instead I will judge the game by it's single-player as that is all Call Of Duty has left.

    So when I heard that the campaign will follow the USA fighting a stronger faction that has weakened them, I said sarcastically "This shall be good." But when I played the campaign, I learnt that this story is inconsistent in many ways:

    1) The USA are fighting the whole of South America in this game, because as we all know, COD is about white, burly dudes being the superior race as they fight against anything that isn't white or American.

    2) The South Americans are not technically stronger in this game, because they had to steal the American's Orbital satellite laser to weaken them. They also had to convince one of the Ghost Soldiers to switch sides before they had any advantage against the Ghosts in the campaign.

    3) How can the US still be weak in the game, when the entire campaign I was using heavy weaponry and tanks?

    4) The dog that was highly advertised in the trailers and promotional art was suppose to be the selling point, but instead was only used in two mission, and when the dog got shot at one point, everyone threw a fuss about it, meanwhile, any human soldiers that were shot or killed, non of them gave a about it.

    5) As established earlier, COD is for white, paranoid idiots that like shooting anything that was not white and/or American, but in the past, at least to stick with ACTUAL enemies of the US, so trying to pin another continent as the enemy in this game seem highly hypocritical and misinforming. I'm willing to bet that somewhere in the world, there is one person who thinks the South American are the bad guys.

    So COD: Ghosts is a highly inconsistent and terribly written game. I felt like I was wasting my time judging it by the campaign, because after COD 4, the COD campaigns have been getting worse, So I will end this review by judging it by the gameplay:

    It's messy and boring, give it a miss...

    ...Wow that could of done...
    Expand
  82. Feb 2, 2014
    5
    Ghost is Call of Duty's last leg. The campaign is very good and well executed. However, the multiplayer gets boring after a while and is nothing special. Any other game mode I didn't mention is also bad, starting with the fact that I can't even remember what it is called. Bad sign.
  83. Nov 9, 2013
    4
    I can't see anything innovated or improved here. Ghosts is a disgustingly bad game, with a familiar and unchanged gameplay. The multiplayer feels the same as MW3's one, with horrible graphics (especially in co-op: it's a pain to play co-op in this mess). I mean, what do Activition want to add? Some very minor additions such as sliding, new maps and killstreaks? The whole "destructibility" is pointless and is just there to say that it's a next-gen game. I can't even call it "destructibility, because it does nothing to the map, unlike Battlefield 4. The Extinction is just a copy of Left 4 Dead, without having original ideas. And last, but not least, the singleplayer is awful. I'm officially done with COD. (Final Score: 4.27) Expand
  84. Jan 24, 2014
    0
    Played , COD 1 , 2 , 3 , 4, MW2 , BO1 ... and let me tell you COD stopped after COD4 i can't believe how they are out ideas and inspiration to make a new game , ive started ghost for 5min then stopped to save same Minutes of my life time . RIP COD
  85. Nov 11, 2013
    0
    gavno polnoe ne igrayte v etu huitu gavno polnoe ne igrayte v etu huitu gavno polnoe ne igrayte v etu huitu gavno polnoe ne igrayte v etu huitu gavno polnoe ne igrayte v etu huitu gavno polnoe ne igrayte v etu huitu gavno polnoe ne igrayte v etu huitu gavno polnoe ne igrayte v etu huitu gavno polnoe ne igrayte v etu huitu gavno polnoe ne igrayte v etu huitu gavno polnoe ne igrayte v etu huitu gavno polnoe ne igrayte v etu huitu gavno polnoe ne igrayte v etu huitu gavno polnoe ne igrayte v etu huitu gavno polnoe ne igrayte v etu huitu Expand
  86. Nov 5, 2013
    7
    I enjoyed the new coop ideas. Squad mode was a nice addition and it brought me back to the days of playing Call of Duty 2 against all my buddies split screen (before you could sprint!). I can understand why they didn't change many of the ideas from the previous MW titles. It's a franchise that has made billions of dollars so far, so why risk changing the formula? I get that it is intended for PS4 and Xbox One but I still would have liked to see some graphics updates for the PS3 side of the house. I enjoyed the title, but like so many others have said, nothing new here. Expand
  87. Nov 5, 2013
    9
    For everyone who didn't like call of duty ghost Stop playing every single call of duty that comes out" Your going to get bored of it. They can't really change it all that much. I have like 20 FPS with death match and team based game play so call of duty ghost for me is a 1 in my collection. Hint here is get more variety in your fps collection, not just call of duty lol. I like the squads mode it really helped to give call of duty some depth. I also like the big maps now you don't die as soon as you hop into a game. I really like that you can play squads mode with just bots and earn xp, level up and even unlock guns and equipment. I think this was a great way to get people who don't really like online play to get to experience the excitement of online play. I also like the new extinction mode I was getting tired of zombies. One of my favorite and must have (meaning if they didn't have it I wouldn't have even bought it) was local play with 11 bots I really enjoyed this. Because honestly when the online community goes away in like 2 years there will still be replay value just like all my 20 other fps games. And just another note adding squads mode to local play was awesome too. For all of you who don't like the graphics. Don't play games for graphics watch movies instead games are about having fun. The graphics as always surpass games before it and stand up to the games that are coming out now They even made a PS4 version with better graphics so get over it. COD ghost gets a 9 for me would have given it a 10 if you could have the option too level up earn xp and unlock guns and equipment in local play too because we all wont have internet forever. Expand
  88. Nov 7, 2013
    3
    multiplayer maps are a camp fest BIG let down and sniping is to easy after all the good, sound hit detection ,customization of your squad. i hope this is fixed soon or im camping lol
  89. Nov 7, 2013
    6
    What I Found which DISAPPOINTED me GREATLY: - Very boring maps - Map sizes are WAY to big for a mere 6v6 - ONLY 6v6 no more 9v9 - CRAP graphics - BORING killstreaks SOME ARE TOTALLY USELESS for example HELO sniper STAY AWAY GUYS!!) - boring weapons + Side: - Fun new game modes, Crank most fun to play IMO - Mounting over walls system - Squad mode is fun - Allows those who don't feel like playing competitive to play squad mode for a more relaxed game
    - Good AI system

    Extras
    - Customization was disappointing IMO, needed more faces imo
    - CAMPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP GALOOORE you will BARELY find an actual good player who runs around the map
    - Laggy Just for me i think. .
    - The new lean system seem useless to me, used it once every 10 games and slide system is also useless. Only found myself using it to race my teammate to capture a point at the start of domination and in blitz mode to enter the portal thiny
    - Extinction was disappointing IMO
    - GUYS BEFORE YOU BUY ATTACHMENTS OR STREAKS TRY IT IN PRIVATE MODE FIRST BECAUSE EARNING SQUAD POINTS TAKES AWHILE AND STARTS TO FEEL LIKE A GRIND
    Expand
  90. Nov 7, 2013
    0
    Cod ghosts is the worst game ever, too many gay quickscope kids that think that they are the best ever at cod.
    dont buy this peice of crap game!!

    Buy BF4 if you want a good game, as when they fix the crashing, it will blow COD out of the water
  91. Nov 7, 2013
    0
    Nothing new here. The same campaign that I played for the past I don't know how many COD games. The "UGLIEST" graphics on the ps3 for a AAA shooter. The multiplayer maps are designed in homage for the dedicated campers of the series. I have faithfully bought every COD game for the past 4 years. I even attended the midnight launch events a couple of times. Sad to say but this one im not getting. Very poorly made game. For those on the fence about this, get the game from redbox and try it out first. I just don't fancy myself spending 60 dollars on Black ops 3. Expand
  92. Nov 7, 2013
    0
    i am lesdexic and i cant see anything the menus have all these pictures and all i see is the firefox logo and the google chrome incog guy i mean what do they think they're doing i cant even navigate because im so stupid you have to realize that autistic retards play this game only and im no exception and you should really dumb things down for us retards pls GET FLIM FLAMED
  93. Nov 7, 2013
    7
    Ghost is definitely a low point in the Call of Duty series. The gameplay has been slowed down tremendously die to the bigger maps. The maps are designed well, they just are to big for the amount of players on the field. The weapons feel decent and the controls are the same but it just doesn't have the COD fast paced gameplay that the series is known for. Overall I give it a 7.
  94. Nov 8, 2013
    0
    they really took away the natural call of duty feel this time around, i love the new animations, and the graphical detail, makes it feel very fluent, but i can rant about the things i don't like for hours, maps are WAY to big for 6 v 6, its literally retarded, they need to add health, you don't even have time to react to people shooting at you often, the spawns are a fail, constantly getting shot from behind. There is NO competitive aspect to this game whats so ever, and they took a lot of in my opinion mandatory game modes out. (S&D, CTF, and a few more)

    AND the story mode lasts about 4-6 hours.

    MY VERDICT: this game was a waste of money, and i sincerely hope for the future of call of duty, they make some massive changes to there game.
    Expand
  95. Nov 8, 2013
    0
    Uma merda... completamente lixo, varias cenas recicladas, sem contar que pede 6Gb de memoria RAM para praticamente nada. Não vale a pena comprar esse jogo, pois não condiz com o que esperávamos num game de guerra em primeira pessoa. Re comendo quem joga Battlefield continuar jogando e não perder tempo com esse fracasso. O Score diz por si só, qualquer leigo ao ver essa pontuação saberá que o jogo não tem uma boa qualidade. Resumindo, a franquia foi boa até Call of Duty 4, depois disso veio caindo a qualidade. Expand
  96. Nov 8, 2013
    0
    Jogo lixo, graficos de merda e uma das piores campanhas de cod q ja vi. Activison como sempre mercenaria e ja que tem muito ot@rio q compra essa merd@ eles continuam com a porc@ria de engine reciclada. BF owned geral!
  97. Nov 9, 2013
    0
    this is simple TERRIBLE, this is only 1 remasterized graphics, bad inmersion, i played for 2 hours and i finished bored of play this, this is my worst buy of the year, sorry for the buyers but this is the sad reality
  98. Nov 9, 2013
    0
    Hasn't been a "decent" COD since WaW.. awful. multiplayer and who honestly cares about single player? I know I don't if you buy this piece of you'll be dissapointed
  99. Nov 9, 2013
    5
    Campaign- Generic Story, Terrible voice acting, Awful dialogue and took me 4 hours to beat. Squads- Nothing innovative here, it's essentially combat training with smarter AI. Extinction- Actually had fun for a while but it got old fast. It's no zombies. Multiplayer- Easily the worst in the series. The map design in this game is awful but don't get me wrong, there are some maps I like. You have no time to react when shot, you die VERY quickly. S&D, CTF and Hardpoint are gone for whatever reason and those were the only game modes I found enjoyable.

    Infinity Ward doesn't care about their fans, that's why they release the same game over and over. I'll stick with the Treyarch CoDs', they actually innovate and try new things.
    Expand
  100. Nov 9, 2013
    0
    Call of Duty: Ghosts is a hilarious comedy video game.

    What Activation have done this time around is taken the original Modern Warfare and tinkered with it a little (as per usual), wonderful. BUT, on top of that beautiful masterpiece, this time they have also included a fabulous dog called Riley into the campaign. Unfortunately Riley is quite a heavy eater, allegedly consuming an extra
    32GB of your precious hard drive space and a beefy 5.5GB of extra RAM over Call of Duty 4.

    As per all recent games in the franchise the campaign is action packed, totally over the top and making no sense what so ever, just run and shoot and you will do fine... That being said I did somewhat enjoy the campaign. Unfortunately after those short six hours of fun that's where things stop being slightly entertaining. Multiplayer is the exact same as usual, an absolute hell-hole.

    Now the one good thing about this game is that it keeps all the immature teeny boppers away from other games, kudos Activision.

    I think I will purchase an extra copy of Battlefield 4 just to do some justice to this terrible game.

    Recommended hardware specifications according to Steam:
    Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare 8 GB HD space, 512MB RAM.
    Call of Duty: Ghosts 40 GB HD space, 6 GB RAM.
    Expand
  101. Nov 9, 2013
    0
    Ok, first off I am (or WAS) a COD fanboy. Bought every version since the great COD 4. Now the game started to get stale for me a couple of years back. I must be stupid because every year I fall for the marketing hype. I say I will never buy a COD game again unless they are different but strangely enough I end up buying it. Bought Ghosts about a week ago. I'm reviewing multiplayer here cause I couldn't even bring myself to play campaign and honestly who really buys COD for the campaign.

    I tried to give it a go, I really did. But when I still had the Hardened Version of Black Ops 2 sitting in my drawer I didn't see the point. Despite what they say, the game is the same. Graphics mechanics etc. Yes they have thrown in a dog but this should be DLC and not a $100 game.

    Now Im not going to scream DONT BUY THIS GAME!!! What you do with your money if your choice. Super mad COD fanboys and newcomers will probably still like the game and forgive its shortcomings, and think its great. However, those of you that have been playing COD since COD 4 will see this game for what it is, something that is just a rehash of last year, which was a rehash of the year before which was a rehash........
    Collapse
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Nov 18, 2013
    60
    COD players, myself included, will still play Ghosts for the sake of having 20 or so new maps to play on over the course of the year, but in a franchise that’s the same year after year with slight changes, it’s reasonable to expect things to materially improve, not to take even a small step backwards.
  2. Nov 14, 2013
    80
    After loving the campaign in Black Ops 2, the single player in Ghosts feels like a step back for the series. The campaign felt tiresome, familiar, predictable and linear. The multiplayer on the other hand, saves the day as the tweaks to the gameplay and the new games modes make this the best multiplayer COD experience to date.
  3. Nov 12, 2013
    60
    It's a generally by-the-numbers excursion through big-budget wartime set pieces that, due to an unavoidable air of familiarity, wares out its welcome much quicker than it should.