Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
2.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 988 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This new chapter in the Call of Duty franchise features a fresh dynamic where players are on the side of a crippled nation fighting not for freedom, or liberty, but simply to survive. 10 years after a devastating mass event, the nation's borders and the balance of global power have beenThis new chapter in the Call of Duty franchise features a fresh dynamic where players are on the side of a crippled nation fighting not for freedom, or liberty, but simply to survive. 10 years after a devastating mass event, the nation's borders and the balance of global power have been permanently redrawn. As what's left of the nation's Special Operations forces, a mysterious group known only as "Ghosts" leads the fight back against a newly emerged, technologically-superior global power. In Call of Duty: Ghosts you don't just create a class, you create a soldier. Choose the head, body type, head-gear and equipment, and you can even create a female soldier for the first time. With over 20,000 possible combinations, you can create the soldier you've always wanted. And each soldier you create will also have his or her own load outs. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    90
    Infinity Ward brings a different kind of game with Call of Duty: Ghosts than their usual CoD titles. They have an intriguing, story driven campaign that is accompanied by an incredibly fun (and deep) multiplayer experience.
  2. 80
    There is still a ton of depth for vets, with a new expanded perk system that lets you mix and match perks from all categories, tons of new game modes such as the fast-paced Cranked and Blitz, and the ability to build a near invincible squad and watch it climb the leaderboards without you even playing.
  3. Nov 14, 2013
    80
    After loving the campaign in Black Ops 2, the single player in Ghosts feels like a step back for the series. The campaign felt tiresome, familiar, predictable and linear. The multiplayer on the other hand, saves the day as the tweaks to the gameplay and the new games modes make this the best multiplayer COD experience to date.
  4. Nov 6, 2013
    70
    Ghosts will disappoint those only in it for the singleplayer, although – Extinction aside – the multiplayer feels like just more of the same. Those who play online will still get their money’s worth, but a proper evolution of the series’ mechanics is now desperately needed.
  5. Nov 5, 2013
    60
    It's still my favorite online multiplayer shooter. But the bells and whistles surrounding the game are muted and missing, leaving behind that same core without giving you enough new and exciting reasons to come back.
  6. Nov 12, 2013
    60
    It's a generally by-the-numbers excursion through big-budget wartime set pieces that, due to an unavoidable air of familiarity, wares out its welcome much quicker than it should.
  7. Nov 18, 2013
    60
    COD players, myself included, will still play Ghosts for the sake of having 20 or so new maps to play on over the course of the year, but in a franchise that’s the same year after year with slight changes, it’s reasonable to expect things to materially improve, not to take even a small step backwards.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 252
  1. Dec 10, 2013
    10
    Call of Duty:Ghosts is awesome more than any other Cod games for the simple reason that it is IMPROVED.
    Lagging is reduced so that is a big
    Call of Duty:Ghosts is awesome more than any other Cod games for the simple reason that it is IMPROVED.
    Lagging is reduced so that is a big advantage for me, sniping is really improved, firing is improved, kill streaks, perks, equipments and attactments are added and the guns are awesome especially the USR, SC-2010, Honey Badger, VRX-160 and the Vector CRB.
    And the last thing is that it is very hard to level up, in an hour I levelled u only 2/3 levels, meanwhile on Mw3 in an hour straight playing I level up to level 30.
    I dont' see why many people hate it
    Expand
  2. Nov 13, 2013
    8
    This is a pretty decent game, almost didnt buy it due to the negativity found on here, though after viewing the accounts linked to these 0/10This is a pretty decent game, almost didnt buy it due to the negativity found on here, though after viewing the accounts linked to these 0/10 reviews and seeing that they have only ever written afew reviews, all of which are just bashing call of duty games i realized it was just sad people hating on the franchise and probably creating multiple account to do so. really dont understand why people waste their time in this way, this game is definately no 2/10 much better than mw3, and i also prefer it to black ops 1+2. Expand
  3. Dec 28, 2013
    6
    Another year, another Call of Duty. Let's make this clear: Ghosts does NOT suck, yet it isn't the best CoD; not even close. The campaign wasAnother year, another Call of Duty. Let's make this clear: Ghosts does NOT suck, yet it isn't the best CoD; not even close. The campaign was just mindless fun, like the previous campaigns, yet I was disappointed overall, as the trailers had more emotion than the story itself. Characters could have been developed more. One reviewer said that this is the longest campaign in the series, yet it lasted for 5-hours, again like the previous games.

    Now onto the multiplayer, which everyone is mainly concerned about. Aside from customizing your own soldier, there is nothing really new. It's the same multiplayer. And what I hate is that everything is available for use, as long as your gather up enough points. What happened to this weapon being unlocked at this level, etc?

    Extinction mode is also fun, but it can't save the entire package.

    In the end, Ghosts is not bad, but not good. And it certainly isn't worth $60. I only got it because my bro got it for Christmas. If he didn't want it, I wouldn't have got it either. Wait for the price drop.
    Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2013
    3
    Yeh...Call of Duty has never really changed from the casual, 1 shot kill game with higher auto aim feature than any shooter. This one hasYeh...Call of Duty has never really changed from the casual, 1 shot kill game with higher auto aim feature than any shooter. This one has aliens and a dog? Some features that let you customize an soldier so for a millisecond that its alive you can go NICE! Its near unplayable on all platforms but Xbox. For a game which is just copy and paste, it truly is a failure of modern gaming to have something so buggy coming out. Graphic and gameplay are worse than black ops. Its not a next gen game, its a failure of the industry. Expand
  5. Jan 1, 2014
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Another anticlimax from Activision. GHOSTS is a massive step back from the days of MW1 and MW2. How can a game franchise get WORSE over time isn't it supposed to improve?

    Bog standard campaign mode as usual just a change of character names and voice actors. There are one or two cool 'moments' in the campaign but overall it's just fighting against another dictator/terrorist kingpin for the sake of humanity. (YAWN). Nothing new it's the same old.

    Online mode is really where it disappoints (which is what everyone plays CoD for)
    Firstly the maps are HUGE and unplayable. A player will run around for minutes at a time searching for an enemy, leading to boring low scoring rounds. Killstreak rewards are the worst I have ever seen, a 'guard' dog that is more interested in playing fetch than protecting you. Air support is limited and weak. Juggernaut is back (oh no) a player kills 10 people in a row and is rewarded by having his/her gun taken away!? Great idea. Where are the pavelow's, harriers and carpet bombs Infinity Ward?

    After 10 years a CoD player, CoD is no longer fun. Simple as that. A solid 2 out of 10 well done. Maybe stop rushing new titles out every 12 months for a quick payday will help! So disappointing as MW1 and 2 were world beaters!
    Expand
  6. Nov 14, 2013
    1
    Just like MW3 and Black Ops 2, this game is pretty much a DLC, ever since MW2 was released there's been no technical innovation in thisJust like MW3 and Black Ops 2, this game is pretty much a DLC, ever since MW2 was released there's been no technical innovation in this franchise which should've died with Black Ops; You hear many fanboys who'd disagree with me and say 'There's new guns', that makes a difference how? To be honest, the FPS genre is slowly dying, the only games that are keeping it alive are Battlefield, and the soon to be TITANFALL.

    The only things that are running for the game is the multiplayer and this new version of zombies, except it's not zombies it's aliens... I'm sorry but this franchise doesn't deserve the hype it gets.
    Expand
  7. Mar 13, 2014
    0
    Call of Duty: Ghosts is a game infamous for ripping off it's own franchise. While playing this game, I can't help but feel that it should'veCall of Duty: Ghosts is a game infamous for ripping off it's own franchise. While playing this game, I can't help but feel that it should've been DLC. Instead, it's a $60 retail game with horrible online experience. Lag and a squeaky community kills this game, and the maps are way too vast for an 6v6 game. Reminds me of New Pork City in SSBB, it's that bad. It copies from MW2 and MW3 shamelessly, and dares to be called a new game, when in reality, it's what you played 5 years but with a dog. And the dog sucks dooky on a stick. Perfect. In fact, I bought this game because I love buying the same crappy game over and over again, because I love unbalanced gameplay and because I'm a CoD fanboy who's IQ ranges in the 80's. I love it, just my type. A nice 0/10. Expand

See all 252 User Reviews