Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 PlayStation 3

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2033 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JoseM
    Mar 24, 2010
    7
    I bought MW2 on release day and I enjoyed it much... in the beginning. After many hours of playing this is my honest review. Tech: Graphic engine is smooth with 60fps, but looks aged due to lack of HDR lighting and some awful pseudo-reflections. Sound FX are above average. Controls are nearly perfect. Net-code works well after several patches. Art: Music, although generic, is very good. I bought MW2 on release day and I enjoyed it much... in the beginning. After many hours of playing this is my honest review. Tech: Graphic engine is smooth with 60fps, but looks aged due to lack of HDR lighting and some awful pseudo-reflections. Sound FX are above average. Controls are nearly perfect. Net-code works well after several patches. Art: Music, although generic, is very good. Scenarios are beautiful and detailed, although they suffer due to engine's lack of contrast. Good smoke and debris effects. Poor rain effects. Some models, like cars', are pretty bad. Weapons models are very detailed. Animation is above average. Story writing is epic but not very inspired and lacks cohesion. Game Design: Player character moves insanely fast. Weapons have very little recoil. Bullets make severe damage, you can kill fast as well as die. Campaign: It is very short and linear, and the length is mainly due to the insane amount of enemies you will encounter. Sometimes you may even think there are infinite of them (like in favelas levels). There are some breathtaking levels, only stained by the "9999 enemies" design decision. The story lacks cohesion, which means you forget about the relations between chapters, and you won't care about the story until the end. Spec-Ops: They are a set of cooperative short missions, mainly based on moments from the campaign. They're hard but fun to play with a friend online or split-screen. Unfortunately, it feels half-cooked and leaves you wondering why they didn't implement a full cooperative campaign. Online Multiplayer: Here is where most of the people wanted to come. Multiplayer is incredibly deep, fast and addictive. MW2 has a good set of modes and maps and a HUGE set of perks, killstreaks, tags, etc. You will have much fun for the first 50 levels or so, which is not too bad. I said it is addictive but it is also becomes frustrating and eventually boring. This is because unbalanced weapons and perks, loads of campers, lack of team play, huge bullet damage, God-like ninja knifers, annoying overpowered choppers and bizarre speed of movement. In the end, it becomes "run in circles and knife anybody you come across", which is a pity after the great amount of (unbalanced) options devs made for the game. Ending comment: MW2 has great production values and tons of content, but in the end, is very arcade. It rewards reflexes over skill and it gives you much fun quickliy, until you burn it out and it quickly becomes boring. Rent it and get Bad Company 2 or MAG if you want long lasting fun and develop your skills rather than your time of reaction. 7/10 Expand
  2. Nov 2, 2010
    7
    Neither the masterpiece the media claims it to be, nor the horrible bland game the haters want you to think about it. It's simply a good game that happens to be overhyped. It's still an enjoyable game, just not earth-shattering.
  3. Nov 13, 2011
    7
    While it is pretty similar to the first modern warfare, it does have some exciting moments. The gameplay is the same as previous games in the series.
  4. Jan 2, 2014
    7
    This game carried on the legacy of the first and came with mixed results. Not much changed except for the tweaks that were troubling n the first. The campaign was fine for the start, but had an awful ending. Overall the plot just didn't fit together. The Multiplayer was carried in from the first with success and had the same result. Some additions were added, but some felt repetitive fromThis game carried on the legacy of the first and came with mixed results. Not much changed except for the tweaks that were troubling n the first. The campaign was fine for the start, but had an awful ending. Overall the plot just didn't fit together. The Multiplayer was carried in from the first with success and had the same result. Some additions were added, but some felt repetitive from the first. The new great thing about MW2 was it's Co-op Special Ops mode. With different objectives, it gave a change to the Modern Warfare feel, but doesn't mean it's as god as other Co-ops on the market. Overall MW2 just didn't bring back the greatness MW1 had, and for that reason it makes it feel like the game that slipped from awaiting glory. Expand
  5. Nov 12, 2010
    5
    If this game came out and no other games existed, then yes, this game would deserve a 10. Sadly, for IW, it wasn't. The plot-holed storyline made no sense. It also lacked the amount of suspense and awe that MW had. It is more of a shooter and less of a exciting COD title. The multiplayer is horribly unbalanced. The perks are shoddy at best. The reactions and physics are very unresponsive.If this game came out and no other games existed, then yes, this game would deserve a 10. Sadly, for IW, it wasn't. The plot-holed storyline made no sense. It also lacked the amount of suspense and awe that MW had. It is more of a shooter and less of a exciting COD title. The multiplayer is horribly unbalanced. The perks are shoddy at best. The reactions and physics are very unresponsive. You can knife someone from ten feet away but 4 buckshots from a 12 gauge won't bring you down? What? Despite the many flaws, I still had fun during sp. Expand
  6. TristanL
    Dec 17, 2009
    6
    Gameplay is superb. The single player campaign is decent enough (though a little out there). However this game completely comes crashing down with its online gameplay. VERY unbalanced. There are either very good players, or very poor. There is no in between. The streaks system that they implemented this time is ABSOLUTE OVERKILL. And the servers/matchmaking for this game are the worst Gameplay is superb. The single player campaign is decent enough (though a little out there). However this game completely comes crashing down with its online gameplay. VERY unbalanced. There are either very good players, or very poor. There is no in between. The streaks system that they implemented this time is ABSOLUTE OVERKILL. And the servers/matchmaking for this game are the worst that i have ever attempted to play with on XBL. Expand
  7. Apr 8, 2011
    6
    Ok, let's all be honest with ourselves for a moment: The SP story is B>A>D! Ridiculous, over the top, attempts at controversy abound! Ooooh, how badass! A scene where we mow down civilians... Don't even get me started about the "twist" ending! Utter garbage. The SP gameplay doesn't fare much better. What happened to the well crafted pacing of the first MW? A lot of the action is soOk, let's all be honest with ourselves for a moment: The SP story is B>A>D! Ridiculous, over the top, attempts at controversy abound! Ooooh, how badass! A scene where we mow down civilians... Don't even get me started about the "twist" ending! Utter garbage. The SP gameplay doesn't fare much better. What happened to the well crafted pacing of the first MW? A lot of the action is so overblown that you are usually left with absolutely NO CLUE as to what the hell is going on, let alone why. Same as the story. Wherein the last one jumping around to different locales suited the story... here it just leaves you shaking your head, wondering what the F is going on. VERY POOR. 3/10 for SP. Tops! MP is an entirely different animal, however, and saves the game from being the usual overhyped letdown. MP gets just about everything right. Most of the maps are well balanced. The mechanics solid. Matches are easy to get in and out of. Lag being the only considerable issue here. Why IW doesn't spring for dedicated servers is beyond me! It's not like they don't have the money. Mp gets 9/10. Update: MP was fantastic... right up until it got hacked beyond all recognition!!! Biggest security breach I have ever witnessed! I'm not sure if it's been fixed yet, as I haven't been back in awhile to check it out, but, seriously! Wow! Sadly, the hacking is creeping into Black Ops... Overall: 3/10 + 9/10 = 6/10 Expand
  8. Jul 2, 2012
    6
    This Game is an overrated pile of Junk. The only reason people play it is for the online. It is a pretty good game...... For a Casual Gamer. When i played it i was really happy with it for the First 5-6 Hours. But it's simply repetitive.
  9. JesseT
    Jan 26, 2010
    6
    so overhyped its not funny. short campaign, spec ops is fun for about 5 minutes, multiplayer - well that depends on how much you enjoy multiplayer: i dont much, and seeing as how most of the game is in the multiplayer, its quite disappointing. Brings absolutely nothing new to the table, just your standard FPS.
  10. Sep 2, 2010
    5
    The Campaign in this game is far, far worse than it's predecessor (not World at War, Modern Warfare 1) and the online action is unblanced, with overpowered guns, perks and killstreaks. Spec Ops is great fun with a mate, but alone or with a stranger online is a different story. Buy CoD4 instead.
  11. Nov 2, 2010
    5
    Modern Warfare 2 is probably the first direct sequel to any Call of Duty game in the series. The game it lays sequel to is the almighty Cod4 (AKA Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare.). Before that game the series was just another shooter to stack shelves with. The multiplayer is where people spend most of the time they have with their games on and this leads to a short campaign but a good oneModern Warfare 2 is probably the first direct sequel to any Call of Duty game in the series. The game it lays sequel to is the almighty Cod4 (AKA Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare.). Before that game the series was just another shooter to stack shelves with. The multiplayer is where people spend most of the time they have with their games on and this leads to a short campaign but a good one at that. The campaign delivers moments of intrigue and twist as it goes on. The game play features some unique battles to be remembered. It also features a sniper mission as does the original Modern Warfare because that's what everyone remembers from the original campaign. The graphics in the game are stunning and on par with the best in the industry today. The controls on the PS3 are OKAY and could use some improvement. This is where the review takes a dramatic turn. MULTIPLAYER. The dread of getting a game invite or even the seeing the multiplayer options is just about outrightly scary for many people. The number of people modding and cheating in this game is **** INSANE!!! Also getting screwed over is something everybody will have happen at least once a day in multiplayer. You can call in a bombing run for a consecutive number of kills and you better pray you don't die in it or it's possible that the enemy will receive at least 2 points off you because it's about 75% likely you'll die when you re spawn too. I suggest buying this game enjoying campaign until 100% completion (same goes for the special ops missions) and then selling it. That is all the game is worth playing for, Campaign and Spec-Ops. Expand
  12. Nov 14, 2011
    7
    Before I bought it I was so exited about MW2. Let me say that this game is fine. But! Kill streaks were over the top following by noob tubes and quickscopers. Which eventually killed the fun in online for me. Graphics look better compare to COD4MW. Story was going more crazy route which I personally didn't like. Overall it still good game just not as great as COD4MW!
  13. markit
    May 3, 2010
    6
    Now I'm a big fan of call of duty, and the graphics, characters and importantly gameplay in this game are top notch, great in fact. and although being highly addictive the multiplayer game has far too many flaws.....i'll mention a few........commando (wtf), boosters, tac insertion, heartbeat senser, noob tubes, akimbo, campers, painkiller, tacticul nuke, small maps.......overall Now I'm a big fan of call of duty, and the graphics, characters and importantly gameplay in this game are top notch, great in fact. and although being highly addictive the multiplayer game has far too many flaws.....i'll mention a few........commando (wtf), boosters, tac insertion, heartbeat senser, noob tubes, akimbo, campers, painkiller, tacticul nuke, small maps.......overall the worst call of duty around, if it had none of those mentioned above (theres probably more) then it'd be close to a ten. but there there and they are staying there, IW could have released a patch, but NO. Call of Duty: Black Ops will undoubtably be much better, they have the oppurtunity to fix mw2's flaws. Expand
  14. MaxB
    Dec 27, 2009
    5
    This game is a step down from the last MW. The single player campaign is fun but does not have a plot you can follow very well. It's also very short. The multiplayer has a decent number of maps but the same maps get picked for the server over and over again. Spec Ops is a nice addition but Nazi Zombies in WaW in a lot better.
  15. Aug 23, 2013
    6
    I know that you don't buy these games for the campaign. It's all about the multiplayer but Jesus Christ, the campaign is laughable and frustrating. If they at least put some effort into the story, I'd be ok, but it's just terrible. The multiplayer is virtually identical to every Call of Duty out there. It's fun but don't get ya a full hard-on.
  16. AlickC
    Apr 12, 2010
    5
    Okay, since many fanboys have dubbed the game "Zomg! Perfect!" while others claim it to be "An absolute joke!" Here is my honest, unbiased review. -Good points- The game is glamourous, with great graphics with an outstanding amount of detail. Single player, whilst short, has one or two good touches to it, but you can see that all the attenition has gone to the online multiplayer. It is Okay, since many fanboys have dubbed the game "Zomg! Perfect!" while others claim it to be "An absolute joke!" Here is my honest, unbiased review. -Good points- The game is glamourous, with great graphics with an outstanding amount of detail. Single player, whilst short, has one or two good touches to it, but you can see that all the attenition has gone to the online multiplayer. It is much more rewarding, with lots of new guns and perks. The gameplay is, in theory, good. But it is ruined by a number of things... -Bad Points- There are some weapons in the game which are vastly overpowered and an endless amount of things which gives players unfair advantages over new players. If the game is supposed to be "realistic" how can you run forever and take no damage when jumping off buildings? Online mainly consists of this: Camp, kill, win, boast. Ranking up seems more like a chore and Spec-ops has no replay value. There is nowhere near enough content to warrant the price tag on MW2. Expand
  17. Sep 1, 2010
    7
    The only reason this game got an 8 is because of the multiplayer and spec ops. The single player campaign is really bad. I dont understand why people say its good. If you want a good sFPS campaign, get Killzone 2 or something else. CoD never has good campaigns. The multiplayer as expected is addicting but very broken. constant lag, undedicated servers, glitches make this mpThe only reason this game got an 8 is because of the multiplayer and spec ops. The single player campaign is really bad. I dont understand why people say its good. If you want a good sFPS campaign, get Killzone 2 or something else. CoD never has good campaigns. The multiplayer as expected is addicting but very broken. constant lag, undedicated servers, glitches make this mp frustrating. When you get on smaller maps, ll players do is shoot grenade launchers everywhere so you cant even move. the game needs to be fixed but the developers got fired so there is no fix coming. Expand
  18. Aug 2, 2011
    7
    The Call of Duty creators must be criticized for having the greatest opportunity in the industry with unlimited resources to only coming up with something half good and not a masterpiece. Call of Duty MW2 has its production values, its popular, it has high quality models, shooting animations and sounds which do provides players some immediate satisfying gameplay (for a short time). But theThe Call of Duty creators must be criticized for having the greatest opportunity in the industry with unlimited resources to only coming up with something half good and not a masterpiece. Call of Duty MW2 has its production values, its popular, it has high quality models, shooting animations and sounds which do provides players some immediate satisfying gameplay (for a short time). But the overall 'game' of MW2 is a mixed bag and fails to be something really special, not just a 'fun' or 'popular' game. The single player story is a bad joke, the themes and meanings the story portrays are a contradictory muddled mess. The special Op missions do offer some well designed gameplay but why the story mode is not intertwined is confusing, I would have preferred the entire story dropped for more Special Ops. The multiplayer can be fun for short periods of time but does lack depth which is why it has not resonated as a competitive Esport title. I do recommend MW2 due its surface fun and value for money but it lacks to what should have been something much much more. Expand
  19. philipc
    Jan 20, 2010
    7
    sp although the story was short and the start was slightly rushed they managed pull it back with several brilliant twist that kept me interested. game play was similar to the first modern warfare. spec-ops spec-ops was like little challenges that made a brilliant new addition to the game and ads more play time to the game. online as fun and enjoyable as ever. however although there has sp although the story was short and the start was slightly rushed they managed pull it back with several brilliant twist that kept me interested. game play was similar to the first modern warfare. spec-ops spec-ops was like little challenges that made a brilliant new addition to the game and ads more play time to the game. online as fun and enjoyable as ever. however although there has been upgrades to features and the addition of death streaks I do not see anything creatively new in this part of the game and I just hope they can come up with something new for there next game. Expand
  20. GáborN
    Jan 22, 2010
    5
    The single player campaging is god but short. the multi player it was fun, untill some hackars ruin. You can't play a match without you encounter some cheater. The Infinity ward nothing do aninthing. It's passed 2 moth. The IW is do only the money, and the dont do anithing for fee. Pathetic, it was my last call of duty game.... fuck activison
  21. AndyE
    Feb 28, 2010
    6
    Excellent single player but the multiplayer is the first one in my life... that makes me want to throw the disc and case into a snowdrift outside (Feb '10). Terribly imbalanced perks and weapons, very regularly there's a major glitch that, while not gamebreaking, is incredibly frustrating. While Infinity Ward is indeed patching the glitches, they're not doing it in a timely Excellent single player but the multiplayer is the first one in my life... that makes me want to throw the disc and case into a snowdrift outside (Feb '10). Terribly imbalanced perks and weapons, very regularly there's a major glitch that, while not gamebreaking, is incredibly frustrating. While Infinity Ward is indeed patching the glitches, they're not doing it in a timely manner and it feels like a mod for Call of Duty 4. I vastly preferred Call of Duty: World at War's broken multiplayer over Modern Warfare 2's and Call of Duty 4 had easily the best multiplayer out of those three games. Expand
  22. ChrisP
    Nov 11, 2009
    7
    Like many people, when I heard Infinity Ward was planning on making a sequel to Modern Warfare as the next installment in the series I got very excited. Unfortunately, my child-like excitement got the better of me and I spent the last year or so thinking this game would be the best game ever released. Infinity Ward has given us a very streamlined and much fancier version of CoD 4, but Like many people, when I heard Infinity Ward was planning on making a sequel to Modern Warfare as the next installment in the series I got very excited. Unfortunately, my child-like excitement got the better of me and I spent the last year or so thinking this game would be the best game ever released. Infinity Ward has given us a very streamlined and much fancier version of CoD 4, but nothing new in the singleplayer and an outrageous amount of accomplishments in the multiplayer. While I am aware that many game publications base the majority of their rating on the single player, I cannot understand this for a game with a 5-6 hour story that many users will play 20 times that online. That being said, I find that the singleplayer experience is almost identical to the first game (which I very much enjoyed despite it's brevity) with almost identical plot twists and wild stories. I was disappointed with the lack of originality but still pleased enough to continue the story. The multiplayer is a beast that is tough to capture with just one rating. While it is vastly expanded in terms of goals and objectives from the first installment, this can make it a bit too busy at times. One of the best parts of the first Modern Warfare was the balance that you felt between the weapons. While there were some weaker weapons, on the whole you didn't feel a serious imbalance. This is not the case in Modern Warfare 2. Many of the guns feel inaccurate or too weak without certain perks. The maps feel too cluttered and non-linear to be multiplayer maps (although this does make for a much more interested single-player experience). I personally play on PS3 and have found that once again, the game grinds to a halt online. The first installment had a handful of glitches that made online play frustrating at times but were usually patched quickly. So far, this game has already had massive flaws on the PSNetwork and it seems like Infinity Ward didn't even bother to test the game on our network. All in all, the multiplayer has been pretty fun, but nothing I would invest the kind of time in that I did with the series' previous installment. If you own a PS3 & an Xbox 360, I would strongly urge you to buy the Xbox version, as Infinity Ward seems to have FAR fewer issues with Xbox online. Further, at the game's release there were issues for PS3 trophies and partymaking that Xbox is not having. This game is worth the price of admission, but will fall far short of expectations and the longevity that the previous version had/enjoyed. Expand
  23. JakeL
    Jan 11, 2010
    5
    Well Modern Warfare 2 says it all, its exactly the same as CoD4 , with a few minor details changed...
  24. RobC
    Jan 18, 2010
    6
    This game is okay, I mean I really didn't like it that much at all in the beginning but when I played it a bit more it started getting a bit better, but only a BIT better. I never touched the campaign and spec ops mode, so cant comment on that. The online is mediocre at best. I agree with the reviewers that said it's hard to go on a big killstreak because there are so many This game is okay, I mean I really didn't like it that much at all in the beginning but when I played it a bit more it started getting a bit better, but only a BIT better. I never touched the campaign and spec ops mode, so cant comment on that. The online is mediocre at best. I agree with the reviewers that said it's hard to go on a big killstreak because there are so many campers, and it is, even though I am some what of a seasoned player. I do not criticize the servers much contrary to what some people on here think, only because I think the servers are better then they are on COD 4. I have a 5 bar connection about 95% of the time, but then again thats just me. It seems to me that IW just came up with a big list of what to put in in the multiplayer mode instead of actually making it balanced and appealing. The maps are also average at best, cod 4 maps are much better. I don't like how big the maps are on MW2 because I feel like they make the smg's such as the ump45 and mp5k useless. IDK about you but i love to run in and spray with an smg any day of the week. Final points: Pretty good game, worth buying I suppose, online can be frusterating at times but it just needs time getting used to, not very innovative/groundbreaking, not as fun to play as COD 4, graphics are solid and is probably the best feature of the game....One final note: I think that IW lost its momentum with this game, had they released this game one year after COD 4 (over WAW) i think mw2 would have been better, but instead they went back to ww2 and then went back to MW, I think that is the key in understanding why this game is the way it is. Expand
  25. NicholasH.
    Jan 28, 2010
    6
    The game is fun. Special Ops is an intense co-op mode that's really enjoyable with your friends. Multiplayer is exciting and fun at times, but can get VERY frustrating because there are lots of exploits and unbalanced weapons/perk setups. If Infinity Ward was faster at patching/fixing these problems the game would be top notch, but they haven't done much to the game since The game is fun. Special Ops is an intense co-op mode that's really enjoyable with your friends. Multiplayer is exciting and fun at times, but can get VERY frustrating because there are lots of exploits and unbalanced weapons/perk setups. If Infinity Ward was faster at patching/fixing these problems the game would be top notch, but they haven't done much to the game since it's release sadly. Expand
  26. JulianG.
    Jan 30, 2010
    6
    The most ridiculously hyped, over rated FPS to date. There is nothing here that has changed from COD4, save for the insanely hard spec ops. Otherwise, same five hour story which is incredibly confusing and very hard, especially without a cover system, the multiplayer is unbalanced, the killstreaks ruin everything, campers and cheaters run rampant, the unfair advantage over everything and The most ridiculously hyped, over rated FPS to date. There is nothing here that has changed from COD4, save for the insanely hard spec ops. Otherwise, same five hour story which is incredibly confusing and very hard, especially without a cover system, the multiplayer is unbalanced, the killstreaks ruin everything, campers and cheaters run rampant, the unfair advantage over everything and the fact that it takes reaction instead of actual skill in order to kill someone. We've seen all the online modes before, and if it wasnt for 3rd person mode, this game would have been an utter fail of a score of four. The graphics look good from afar, but up close they're pretty crappy. The gameplay is very repetitive theres no variation save for some five second turret sections. Overall, its COD4.5. Expand
  27. Elwenil
    Nov 10, 2009
    7
    Overall this game feels more like it should have been a $39 expansion to CoD4 rather than a full $60 game. It is certainly not up to the standard of the current generation of AA titles, in my opinion. The singleplayer is very short and the plot is more than a little ridiculous and completely illogical. The story is wandering and feels incomplete with very little to "fill it out". The Overall this game feels more like it should have been a $39 expansion to CoD4 rather than a full $60 game. It is certainly not up to the standard of the current generation of AA titles, in my opinion. The singleplayer is very short and the plot is more than a little ridiculous and completely illogical. The story is wandering and feels incomplete with very little to "fill it out". The multiplayer is as expected by anyone who played CoD4. Not much has changed overall in this game from the earlier title and I really feel that Infinity Ward could have done better. I don't feel disappointed that I bought the game, but I do feel disappointed that I paid $60 for what is basically an expansion. Expand
  28. JimH
    Dec 25, 2009
    5
    Critics have really overhyphed Modern Wafare 2. It may be a sequel to one of the best games of this generation, but it is flawed in many different aspects. For starts, the single player campaign, apart from a few instances, is apalling and will only last just after four hours. The online is just as you would expect, but it's an aging formula, with the lobbies now ridden with infants, Critics have really overhyphed Modern Wafare 2. It may be a sequel to one of the best games of this generation, but it is flawed in many different aspects. For starts, the single player campaign, apart from a few instances, is apalling and will only last just after four hours. The online is just as you would expect, but it's an aging formula, with the lobbies now ridden with infants, draining the fun and community from Call of Duty. Graphically, the game is garish, especially compared to shooters such as Killzone 2. If you're a COD fan, you will have already made the purchase, but to other gamers, save yourself and settle for another game. Expand
  29. Mark
    Dec 29, 2009
    6
    This is coming from a hardcore fan of COD4, which I played just about every day online for over a year. This game seemed great at first yet quickly became the most annoying, frustrating and pointless game there is. I played the campaign first which is enjoyable and well made, although the story is very poor and its very short that you could not buy this game for the single player alone. This is coming from a hardcore fan of COD4, which I played just about every day online for over a year. This game seemed great at first yet quickly became the most annoying, frustrating and pointless game there is. I played the campaign first which is enjoyable and well made, although the story is very poor and its very short that you could not buy this game for the single player alone. While enjoyable I felt COD4 campaign was better with the excellent sniper mission. I also think COD4 graphics were realistic and MW2 graphics are kind of arcade like and not that great tbh. So single player is fairly good overall. I think the multiplayer is horrible. I loved COD4 online, it had great maps and the perfect balanced gameplay. It could be frustrating but compared to this you realise how perfect it was. MW2 is simply a camping noob friendly game. Im not saying this because I suck, I got my kd to 1.70 by camping - its the only way to play this game. So while I got good it was no fun at all. On COD4 you could do well bursting in with the MP5, being a Sniper, picking off those snipers with the M16. It was well balanced. MW2 has no balance to it, the assault rifles are the best by far. The streaks are annoying, the maps suck and every one is camping. Like I said this game is for noobs and its totally lost the realism and enjoyment of COD4. Luckily I managed to get this for £26 so after finishing the campaign and playing online a while I sold it on. It really is the most frustrating, annoying game in existence. Its enough to put you off online games for ever. This game is nothing on COD4, if you were a hardcore fan of COD4 then I am sure many people will agree. They have probably appealed to the wider audience making the game more arcade like but its isolated the hardcore COD4 fans who wanted realism. Expand
  30. ChaseL
    Jan 11, 2010
    7
    First off, i am a massive cod4 fan. when i got this i was pumped, which lasted 4 hours then that was gone. part 2, spec ops, fun, but not a $70 quality fun. Finally everyones new drug the multiplayer, very fun but it doesnt make a game, neither do graphics infinity ward made a lot of mistakes but overall a good game to get if you got $70, but most of us dont.
  31. MikeD.
    Jan 27, 2010
    6
    This game is disappointing, I have tried to defend it time and time again thinking i was at fault, maybe it was just me who just couldnt find the right spots or have perfect accuracy or get out of the way in time. Then i tarted noticing my clan of about 100 people has the same problems as me. Strategy in this game is out the window for camping. Try playing a GB match and that is all you This game is disappointing, I have tried to defend it time and time again thinking i was at fault, maybe it was just me who just couldnt find the right spots or have perfect accuracy or get out of the way in time. Then i tarted noticing my clan of about 100 people has the same problems as me. Strategy in this game is out the window for camping. Try playing a GB match and that is all you see. It seems that they took everything i loved about CoD4 stripped it and left in the over powered stuff hell they even once again had the P90 and M16, although there are even MORE oped guns in this game that made me forget about my hate for those guns. Levels do not have the same charm as CoD4 and seem extremely unbalanced causing me a headache to come up with strats for them. the spawn system is broken, the matchmaking is broken, it seemed to me that there was little to n o glitched in CoD4, but its the opposite in MW2. WaW is better then this and for some reason i miss it, can Treyarch do a better job at making a CoD then IW? Seems to be so for me since i have concluded that IW has sold out and now just cares about money and not trying to please there loyal fan base. I think we can all agree that CoD4 will be missed and i wish i didnt sell it to get this game. Expand
  32. PaulM
    Feb 23, 2010
    7
    Cash in. Same old , same old. Uninspiring story which fails to immerse you in the action, more like a James Bond game than a war game. Poor multi player suffers due to lack of beta testing. Amazing amount of glitches and generally poor programming. Laughable spawning, poor matchmaking and noticeable shot lag, coupled with poorly balanced weaponry and no encouragement to work as a team Cash in. Same old , same old. Uninspiring story which fails to immerse you in the action, more like a James Bond game than a war game. Poor multi player suffers due to lack of beta testing. Amazing amount of glitches and generally poor programming. Laughable spawning, poor matchmaking and noticeable shot lag, coupled with poorly balanced weaponry and no encouragement to work as a team meaning every game type is a free for all, making it more annoying than fun. Overall this was about sales and appealing to the masses and has been done better elsewhere , primarily in Infinity wards last effort. Expand
  33. AnthonyD.
    Apr 17, 2010
    5
    This game was very overrated and "over-hyped" and I was very disappointed with the campaign with my friends jumping off the walls about the game. I did feel immersed in the campaign just felt like a lot of running around aimlessly and not even having to aim with the no-skill scoping. But in saying I didn't feel very immersed I haven't played the original modern warfare. The This game was very overrated and "over-hyped" and I was very disappointed with the campaign with my friends jumping off the walls about the game. I did feel immersed in the campaign just felt like a lot of running around aimlessly and not even having to aim with the no-skill scoping. But in saying I didn't feel very immersed I haven't played the original modern warfare. The multiplayer is the most annoying thing in the world at first with the campers and all. But After ranking up a few times, unlocking new guns and perks and playing for a few hours, it became sort of addictive until you got some no life 10X prestige coming along with his guns'n'stuff gunning the shit out of you and all your team with his ac-130 gunship every 3 secs. Spec Ops did give it more replayability but some of the "fun" parts required two players. All this makes my friends like idiots (no offense) by ranting on about it. Back to the campaign I lost track of what was happening sometimes due to the constant swtiching of characters. The story didn't mean f*** all to me because I didn't play the first and they required people to have played it to understand the story which I found slack, They could have given us something to pick up the story, not that hard. The graphics could do with a bit of an improvment but they are still pretty good. CodMw2 has its moments of awesomeness (e.g. abseiling down above enemies and stealthily knifing them) but is over-rated and disappoints better maps woulb be nice and map selection in multiplayer. Just rent it buy something else. Expand
  34. jasonw
    Nov 12, 2009
    6
    And that's after getting it for £26. Best comment I read about this that sums the game up is "Michael Bay". Its a dumb shooter. Really dumb. On the PS3 It feels and looks dated (if you've played something like crysis or unreal3 that is). It offers nothing new to the FPS genre and BARELY does what's been seen a hundred times before that well. Its more of aAnd that's after getting it for £26. Best comment I read about this that sums the game up is "Michael Bay". Its a dumb shooter. Really dumb. On the PS3 It feels and looks dated (if you've played something like crysis or unreal3 that is). It offers nothing new to the FPS genre and BARELY does what's been seen a hundred times before that well. Its more of a shooting gallery than a depiction modern warfare. None of what makes modern warfare a good subject for a game is in this. Its just another dumb Hollywood blockbuster. It IS overhyped. It deserves almost none of the praise that's been lavished on it. Combat is ugly. There's no grace, no adrenalin rush. No thrill of combat. No inching forward behind cover during street fire fights. Just chaos and dying all the time. Level design is a mess and suffers from not being linear enough. The flitting about all over the world as different characters kills, almost completely, any immersion that might have been present . AI is obviously bad because half the time enemies stand up and invite to be shot. And in the snowbound level 2 it avoids buddy-AI altogether by lamely having you walk into the enemy camp alone while your "buddy" takes pot shots from afar. There are far better depictions of modern warfare than the COD series (in any guise). Stealth is poorly implemented with an Aliens-style motion sensor and a lot of snow. Amateurish at best. No squad buddies? No camaraderie? No TEAMWORK. No quiet spots where characters could have been developed. Just bang bang bang, everyone for themselves. CODMW2 is a prime example why designers need to chuck ideas about "fun" and "imitating Hollywood" into the bin and pick up "entertaining" and "engaging" as their watchwords. They need stop pandering to juvenile idiots and start making games for adults. An airport massacre with no build-up whatsoever doesn't make the game "adult", it just makes it crass. Stop thinking every moment has to be in your face and that all that matters is shooting stuff, even in war. So why did I buy it? I ask myself. I think I woke up feeling dumber than usual on Tuesday. This is a pinnacle of money-making, not gaming. Expand
  35. GeoffT
    Nov 13, 2009
    7
    Impressive visuals but dated game play with no cover system and no ability to go prone and no way to interact with or control your AI team mates. Essentially this is a rail shooter where you are led to a confined area for a firefight. It is tense and visceral to be sure, but make no mistake, it is just a shooting gallery. Rainbow Six Vegas is more realistic as an example, with strategy Impressive visuals but dated game play with no cover system and no ability to go prone and no way to interact with or control your AI team mates. Essentially this is a rail shooter where you are led to a confined area for a firefight. It is tense and visceral to be sure, but make no mistake, it is just a shooting gallery. Rainbow Six Vegas is more realistic as an example, with strategy elements, a cover system and more realistic weapons in terms of sound effects and the damage that they do. Firing a shotgun in Rainbow Six is a violent experience. In this game it is like shooting a ping pong ball out of a cardboard tube. This game also tends to be too over the top, with enemies sometimes flying around like weightless rag dolls when they are shot. The single player campaign is very, very brief (I can't stress that enough), very easy and represents a poor value. The snowmobile level is particularly childish and ridiculous with the vehicles traveling at what would be in real life hundreds of miles an hour. Yes there is multiplayer, but in many ways SOCOM Confrontation does it better with more ways to control your character and larger, more open maps. Take away the upgraded visuals and this Call of Duty is the same as the previous game. Its wide appeal is probably due to it's simplicity, but you will want to rent it first as it is a disappointing buy. Expand
  36. PatrickC
    Nov 15, 2009
    6
    Mediocre. The single player game is short, but Modern Warfare 1's wasn't very long either. The difference was that Modern Warfare 1 was engaging in a way that the sequel is not. The story line is incoherent. Oh, spoiler alert. Read on if you enjoy laughter. Having played it to completion, I still don't know what half of the game was supposed to be about. The terrorist from Mediocre. The single player game is short, but Modern Warfare 1's wasn't very long either. The difference was that Modern Warfare 1 was engaging in a way that the sequel is not. The story line is incoherent. Oh, spoiler alert. Read on if you enjoy laughter. Having played it to completion, I still don't know what half of the game was supposed to be about. The terrorist from the first game is now revered like a god (huh?) and now all the Russians hate Americans, so another terrorist comes along and does some terrorizing. You go in as an undercover operative (okay) and, instead of shooting the guy in the head, you slaughter civilians (do what?!?). You get shot and killed by terrorist man. So now the Russians clamor for war with the U.S. and they invade. There is even a nuke. (Getting dumber by the sentence, isn't it?) Then there is some rescue thing on the other side of the planet. Betrayal! Why? No clue. I saw something about Shadow Company or something. Maybe that's it. I don't know. Then you go after the betrayer guy. He was going to conquer the world or invent a better mouse trap or something. So he had to be stopped. Apparently. The game plays much like its predecessor except that this time it is not much fun. There will be levels when you will die after playing for seconds. This will happen repeatedly. Over and over. Redundantly. Interminably. Did I mention having to repeat the same bit over and over again? I did? Because you really will have to replay the same bits countless times. I mean it. Really. (Notice how utterly repetitive this paragraph this? The game is just like that.) There is even one part which the game itself makes you play over again; the second time through is after a lengthy cutscene, then you play for 10 seconds, then it loads another cutscene. That is not even an attempt at humor. It actually does this. Graphics are good. Yadda, yadda, yadda. Nothing special. Expand
  37. DanB
    Nov 28, 2009
    7
    I have the PS3 version. Overall this is a solid game, but as a few others have said it does feel like more of an expansion of COD4. I'm a big fan of the first game as it offered so much in terms of new gameplay and story, as well as and addictive multiplayer! By the time I finished the Single Player campaign (around 5 hours) I felt a little disappointed. The story was rubbish, and as I have the PS3 version. Overall this is a solid game, but as a few others have said it does feel like more of an expansion of COD4. I'm a big fan of the first game as it offered so much in terms of new gameplay and story, as well as and addictive multiplayer! By the time I finished the Single Player campaign (around 5 hours) I felt a little disappointed. The story was rubbish, and as I am not american *spoilers* shooting my way though suburban america and the White House just felt, well dumb. And the Airport scene just felt out of place. It also lacked any truly memorable moments. COD4 had some truely memorable moments; flying around in the AC130, the sniper mission in Chernobyl offered something unique, new, fun and memorable. However there is nothing that rivals these in MW2 (except for the infamous airport mission). And the story, well that's a bit of a mess. What I found annoying is that important parts of the story are being told in game, yet there is no option to change the in game speech volume so you can miss important information if there is stuff exploding, gunfire and music also playing at the same time. The multiplayer is the true heart of MW2. There are some need new addition here including new perks, guns, customizations and more! Pretty much the same as MW1 but with a few new bells and whistles. However MP also has it's issues, the teams can be unbalanced at times; eg the other night it played TDM and on my team were players ranked level 20's-30's, yet on the other team it was all level 40+. However it is still early days and I'm sure these issues will be sorted by the way of future patches etc. The graphics are solid, and an improvement over COD4, and run smoothly at 1080p! I have no complaints for the sound, apart from what i mentioned above. Overall a fun game, but not enough of a leap over the original, and so feel's somewhat disappointing, epically as Activision is putting a higher than normal price tag on it. A short messy story tries to tug at the heart strings of Americans, however as I am not American it didn't really work for me and came off as a cheesy B-grade movie script. The multiplayer is still alot of fun and you can still invest a huge amount of time in it, but again isn't the leap forward COd4 was. Expand
  38. W.
    Nov 30, 2009
    6
    I have played the COD series since the pc releases and I have purchased the latest 2 titles on XBOX 360. I admit, I did find some enjoyment with the mw1, but I really hoped the second chapter would break away from all the faults of the first chapter, but the game AI still behaves the same way the original AI back to the original COD. Maybe I am too critical, but beyond the changes in time I have played the COD series since the pc releases and I have purchased the latest 2 titles on XBOX 360. I admit, I did find some enjoyment with the mw1, but I really hoped the second chapter would break away from all the faults of the first chapter, but the game AI still behaves the same way the original AI back to the original COD. Maybe I am too critical, but beyond the changes in time and atmosphere the game play I am left with is, "been there, done that". AND what is with the, "bubbles" on the screen when I get shot? Did the enemy shoot me in the face on every shot? I realize we are not looking for realism here, but the, "bubbles" are just STUPID! I find myself waiting for the enemy to walk up and blow more bubbles.....sigh. Expand
  39. pixel_geist
    Dec 3, 2009
    6
    The MP side has a few issues like the lack of dedicated player-made servers, no freedom in the choice of maps, poor team balancing, ping and latency issues between xbox and PS3 consoles, w/ xbox getting a 30 ms ping over the PS3, which gets a slower 100ms ping, not enough visual customizations, no options for female characters. I found the spec- ops mode enjoyable, as well as the story The MP side has a few issues like the lack of dedicated player-made servers, no freedom in the choice of maps, poor team balancing, ping and latency issues between xbox and PS3 consoles, w/ xbox getting a 30 ms ping over the PS3, which gets a slower 100ms ping, not enough visual customizations, no options for female characters. I found the spec- ops mode enjoyable, as well as the story mode, although a solid game, I just don't think it stands out from the crowd, and the overall gameplay shars too many similarities w/ other titles. Expand
  40. BrentonM
    Dec 3, 2009
    6
    This game is way overrated. The single player is worth playing however I wish I would of rented it rather than buy the PS3 version. The mult-player has the worst community I have yet to see in a mmo of any kind. If I wanted to hear kids yell at each other and drop F-bombs and racial slurs every 15 mins I would be a school teacher. The mult-player also promotes the use of unfare teams with This game is way overrated. The single player is worth playing however I wish I would of rented it rather than buy the PS3 version. The mult-player has the worst community I have yet to see in a mmo of any kind. If I wanted to hear kids yell at each other and drop F-bombs and racial slurs every 15 mins I would be a school teacher. The mult-player also promotes the use of unfare teams with only 1 death match game mode avaliable where you may not find yourself with a group of average players vs. a full clan of vets. This happens to me at least 25% of the games I join. Modern Warfare2 promotes camping, and occasionally one person that has more xp with the maps will hide to get 25 kills and the nuke killstreak reward to end your game with a loss. If he has his clan covering him the odds of this are more likely. After you enter prestige mode the game just becomes a grind. I have been playing for about 3 weeks now and I am ready to move on to something more fun b4 the PS Network tries to get me to pay $10 for add-on content. Expand
  41. RossC
    Dec 5, 2009
    6
    Poor graphics, a cloned multiplayer and a short single player lead to the game delivering far short of the hype. To be honest i wouldn't have bought it unless i got it for an almost half price and was glad i didnt pay full price as it was completely overhyped. I feel like it is a half game with infinity ward ready to milk its customers with 10 map packs at £10 each, map Poor graphics, a cloned multiplayer and a short single player lead to the game delivering far short of the hype. To be honest i wouldn't have bought it unless i got it for an almost half price and was glad i didnt pay full price as it was completely overhyped. I feel like it is a half game with infinity ward ready to milk its customers with 10 map packs at £10 each, map packs which they have already designed and have ready but did not include in the game from the start which annoys me a great deal. Overall falls short of epectations. Expand
  42. Cookiemonter
    Dec 8, 2009
    7
    granted the graphics and game play are better (as they should as time goes on) there wasnt enough new stuff in the game to make it better than cod4. Also as a pc player, i think they should have geared it toward pc not the other game systems. There is quite a few things i miss like the dedicated servers and 0 gravity. However, the prestige and class system has much improved. Overall its granted the graphics and game play are better (as they should as time goes on) there wasnt enough new stuff in the game to make it better than cod4. Also as a pc player, i think they should have geared it toward pc not the other game systems. There is quite a few things i miss like the dedicated servers and 0 gravity. However, the prestige and class system has much improved. Overall its worth while to get and fun to play but i probably will be going back to cod4 every once and a while Expand
  43. Maxxyw
    Dec 9, 2009
    7
    Quite honestly, this game is very impressive (I could play spec ops all day), until you get to the live, which is, surprisingly, kinda boring. Since this is a live-centered game, I didn't give it an exceptionally high rating because I think the live system could be way better. It's really kind of sad that the live on COD5 is better...more fun, anyway. In MW2, the maps are so Quite honestly, this game is very impressive (I could play spec ops all day), until you get to the live, which is, surprisingly, kinda boring. Since this is a live-centered game, I didn't give it an exceptionally high rating because I think the live system could be way better. It's really kind of sad that the live on COD5 is better...more fun, anyway. In MW2, the maps are so damn huge and so many ppl camp I can go an entire match with about 2 kills and 1 or 2 deaths. Once, I decided to play AFK for a match and I didn't even die. It's just not as hectic as it should be. In general, the entire system is just too uneven. Camping in a building and gunning down the idiots who keep walking by you is totally unsatisfying. I'm only satisfied with a game that rewards you for being good, and MW2 just rewards the addicts who play all the time and are not necessarily even that good. Eventually I just got bored and frustrated and decided to play Halo and Gears instead Expand
  44. PaulK
    Nov 11, 2009
    7
    Expectations were high, and probably therefor I expected to be disapionted. Now I wasn't that disapointed but clearly this is not the game I guess players would have hoped for. The campaign is intense and I acctually like story. It has this cheesy 1980's "the world at war on the brink of armageddon" scenery completed with heroes, villains, backstabbers and people you just Expectations were high, and probably therefor I expected to be disapionted. Now I wasn't that disapointed but clearly this is not the game I guess players would have hoped for. The campaign is intense and I acctually like story. It has this cheesy 1980's "the world at war on the brink of armageddon" scenery completed with heroes, villains, backstabbers and people you just can't say what side they're on. You just have to roll with it. And just like those old movies you just have to know how it ends. The lasting appeal of the story won't stay with you forever, but on the other hand you don't mind watching it again. The same goes for MW2. However the campaign is extremely short even for being in the Call of Duty series which are pretty known for short games. Expect between 6-9 hours on the harder difficulties. Then it doesn't matter that the multiplayer and special ops are good additions, those are simply somewhat mods added to give that litte extra to the game (watch and learn how Naught Dog did it with Uncharted 2). The main part of the game is still the campaign. Here I'm sorry to say IW barely makes it. The saviour is the great weapons arsenal and some of the locations. However the graphics at some points are below average and are easily exceeded by segments in MW1. It becomes more and more clear that the MW series is more about making money than a great game. The power of Modern Warfare isn't really here. What could have been one of the greatest games ever turned out to be just a good game. There's really not much new here. Sure there are multiple ways you can customize your character and about a million different tasks for each weapon in multiplayer. Translation read: you can now personalize your own avatar and collect points. So does a Tetris key chain that allows you to switch shells. Instead of developing the game they promised (instead of delivering this "prolouge"), IW and Activision focused on pointless gadgets such as the "Modern Warfare 2" hand controll or the "Prestige" edition which gives you a pair of toy goggles. And doesn't look better when the multiplayer breaks down for PS3 owners the day after realease, assumably because they failed to make the trophy system work from the beginning. It should not be possible on this level. Especially not when Activision it one of the largest advocates for the use of "AAA" in titles which in the end means "we're going to charge you extra for this game". Although their version is that AAA garantuees it's a big game which has needed a lot of resources but in return players can expect a little extra. Modern Warfare 2 claims to be a AAA title. It is not. It's still pretty good though. Expand
  45. NickG
    Nov 14, 2009
    7
    The multiplayer is the best part of the game but the levels are HUGE compared to the cramped style of MW1 that some people loved. Depends on what type of maps you like. On some maps you don't even want to go out of a specific house because you know you are just going to get snipered from across the map. Also the matchmaking servers function sometimes lead you to an American hosted The multiplayer is the best part of the game but the levels are HUGE compared to the cramped style of MW1 that some people loved. Depends on what type of maps you like. On some maps you don't even want to go out of a specific house because you know you are just going to get snipered from across the map. Also the matchmaking servers function sometimes lead you to an American hosted server (i'm Aussie) and it kind of annoys me. The singleplayer story isn't really a story, just a bunch of action sequences coming at you too fast to even register. One day you're in Brazil or Russia then suddenly you're in suburbia in US fighting against god knows which faction. The blood spatter on the screen is a little overdone and with all the action going around you would be suprised how many times you need to hide behind a wall and slowly pick off enemies individually. Sometimes mid mission, the screen will go black and cut to 10 minutes ahead skipping out on what could have been some pretty cool detailed sequences like seeing a guy get tied to a chair instead of capturing him then skipping 10 minutes ahead to when don't get to see him get tortured. It is also wayyyyy tooo action packed, there is no rest time like a sniper mission similar to in the first game. Infinity Ward didn't do a good job at linking stories and making the player understand what is going on. The graphics of the game are pretty much the same as the first except the level of detail has just been enhanced. The entire game is pretty much an expansion of the first because you only get 5 hours out of singleplayer and multiplayer is just 15 maps and extra perks and guns. Not saying its a bad thing or game because i think it is pretty fun but such short singleplayer time should not be worth AU$120. Lucky my bro paid for it because i think i would have left my purchase for Assassin's Creed 2 tomorrow or Uncharted 2 until Battlefield Bad Company 2 comes out in March which will definately blow this game out of the water. I gave it a 7 because i think that is what it truly deserved and had all this over-hype not happened then this game would have probably only got a 7, it should definately not be in the top 5 games of all time on ps3 thats for sure, because it hasn't revolutionised the genre. Everything seen in the game has already been done before in every other FPS so some critics giving the game a 10 means they are giving it a perfect score making the game perfect and better than any other game which is definately not true. I would say rent it and if you like it make a purchase otherwise you could be wasting your money on something this is not a superior as some of the games coming out. Expand
  46. Oct 17, 2012
    7
    While this is a fun game to play with friends, there are some things in this game that will surely disturb many non-hardcore gamers, like the "No Russian" mission.

    Aside from that, MW2 is good fun, just not great. It's the perfect game to play with friends, but you might as well play another game if you're on your own, like Bioshock.
  47. Nov 3, 2010
    7
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 is an OK first person shooter but doesn't live up to the hype and is in my own opinion, an over rated shooter. I've played more enjoyable shooters on the PlayStation 2 for crying out loud. I didn't care for the story in the single player campaign and the campaign its self is short which is disapointing. In fact, I prefered Call of Duty 4's campaign mode toCall of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 is an OK first person shooter but doesn't live up to the hype and is in my own opinion, an over rated shooter. I've played more enjoyable shooters on the PlayStation 2 for crying out loud. I didn't care for the story in the single player campaign and the campaign its self is short which is disapointing. In fact, I prefered Call of Duty 4's campaign mode to this one. There isn't really a lot new in terms of content and considering that when sold as new, the game costs 45 pounds which sounds like a rip off to me; the game feels like an expansion pack rather than a full sequel. However, the single player does throw some great set pieces at you and some of the vehicle sections are great like the Snowmobile chase. The graphics may not be a huge step from Call of Duty 4 but there are some great lighting effects and the environments (especially the snow environments) are nicely detailed. The games does throw you into some intense battles with the enemy and provides a decent challenge. The games audio is also good for the composed music, the dialog and the weapons. It makes you feel like your in an intense battlefield. The weapons that you use in the campaign are good with a nice selection of SMG's, Assault Rifles, Shotguns and Sniper Rifles which all look greatl.The multiplayer is ok and there is deep; there are perks, callsigns and loads of weapon upgrades to unlock like ACOG sights, Heartbeat sensors and FMJ bullets but the Killstreak rewards ruin the experience. Basically, its a reward system that rewards camping and punishes people who just want to play the game. The killstreak reward "AC-130" is just freaking hair tearing annoying and even more annoying is the 25 Killstreak reward "Tactical Nuke" which just ends the match; I just quit the game if it happens. It's so frustrating when you just want to shoot people and then get owned by a Pave-Low time and time again. The maps are ok to play on but I really can't see the point people leveling up to Level 70 because its boring and I got bored of the game when I reached level 50; all you do is unlock different call signs and perks. All you do is the same thing over and over again. The shotguns are over powering as well and I really don't care for the Killcam every time you die; I don't want to be shown how I died, I just want to respawn and get back into the match without having to repeatedly press Square to respawn. Oh yes, the spawning system is broken: Couldn't the game offer some temporally invincibility for you when you resprawn (The deathstreak Painkiller doesn't help at all) because it's so annoying having to respawn in an open space and then get owned by a Harrier shortly after! (On the map Rust, It's pretty much impossible to respawn and not have someones gun butt right up your backside). Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 is an OK shooter but you can do a lot better than this game. The single player may provide a few thrills with some intense battles to shoot through with some mindblowing set pieces but Multiplayer is this games main strength which sadly is too flawed to enjoy that much with Killstreaks and campers. Expand
  48. Feb 19, 2011
    7
    Ok game but the online have all hacker, but the singer player good
  49. Oct 10, 2010
    6
    An over-hyped game with the worst single player campaign I've ever played. Spec ops is way too hardcore to play it on your own and the tweeks that are implemented in the multiplayer make it too unbalanced. Graphics are good, and so is the basic gameplay. This game just doesn't feel fresh.
  50. Aug 4, 2011
    5
    The story was quite enjoyable but it was hard to know what was going on and why stuff happened, Spec Ops is really fun especially with a friend. Now the mulitplayer, seeing as the multiplayer is the biggest part of this game it accounts for most of the score which you can see is very low. It is really unbalanced, you have the people camping to get the killstreaks and the weapons, well theThe story was quite enjoyable but it was hard to know what was going on and why stuff happened, Spec Ops is really fun especially with a friend. Now the mulitplayer, seeing as the multiplayer is the biggest part of this game it accounts for most of the score which you can see is very low. It is really unbalanced, you have the people camping to get the killstreaks and the weapons, well the weapons are totally overpowered and then you get the perk "stopping power" to make it even more powerful and then you have the hackers and glitchers. If IW released a multiplayer beta some of these problems might not exist but they don't care Expand
  51. Aug 24, 2011
    6
    This is a average call of duty game it has a weak campaign but it has one of the best multi-player of the entire call of duty series so i'd give it a 6 out of 6
  52. Oct 23, 2011
    5
    Modern Warfare 2 was a bit of a disappointment to me because i felt is almost exactly like call of duty 4 concerning multiplayer. on the other hand the campaign was interesting but the only problem was that it was too short.
  53. Dec 15, 2011
    7
    I was going to give this a 6 out of 10 so i give this a 7 out of 10. The graphic in this game were OK. Campaign was good, and multplayer was addictively cool. This is overall a good game.
  54. Nov 14, 2011
    6
    It's an okay game. I was one of the probably "only" in the world who got this 1 year late, and therefore i didn't get a chance to get good at the game. Also it seems almost impossible for me to find anyone in the game. None or the less, it seems to be a good game if you can actually play it properly >_
  55. Dec 15, 2011
    6
    I really sometimes have a lot of problems with this title. The lag sometimes gets insane the hacking is beyond repair and the killstreaks are just plain dumb. I do like to comeback to it and enjoy it like recently but i know in a couple weeks...no a couple of days ill be screamin at it again
  56. Nov 24, 2012
    5
    A shoddy story where every section is just the same old enemy waiting to be shot, along with his friends. Multiplayer is supposedly "amazing", but a game swarmed with children aged 10-15 with the odd adult is just annoying. If I couldn't hear them it would be fine, but the little **** don't know how to mute their mikes. So each time a new one joins I have to go out my way to mute them. TheA shoddy story where every section is just the same old enemy waiting to be shot, along with his friends. Multiplayer is supposedly "amazing", but a game swarmed with children aged 10-15 with the odd adult is just annoying. If I couldn't hear them it would be fine, but the little **** don't know how to mute their mikes. So each time a new one joins I have to go out my way to mute them. The only above average section here is the spec-ops. Enough said. Expand
  57. Nov 23, 2012
    6
    The campaign wasn't so bad: even if it was linear and a bit cheesy, it still had intense moments. For the multiplayer, the gameplay is really addictive and just simple enough. The graphics are ok but the real downside of this game is the community: campers, hackers, whiners, 8 y/o, tubers. You name it.
  58. Mar 15, 2013
    5
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 is pretty average across the board, It's single player campaign is decent and action packed but it's way too short and it's story is not very interesting at all. Obviously multiplayer is what the Call of Duty series it known for, but unfortunately Modern Warfare 2 is just as much a mixed bag here as well, the guns in the game control well but are not veryCall of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 is pretty average across the board, It's single player campaign is decent and action packed but it's way too short and it's story is not very interesting at all. Obviously multiplayer is what the Call of Duty series it known for, but unfortunately Modern Warfare 2 is just as much a mixed bag here as well, the guns in the game control well but are not very balanced and the kill streaks are what kill the game with people just destroying with some of the later kill streaks which makes the game not fun and all you end up doing is sitting in a building waiting for the kill streaks to end. There are better multiplayer shooters out there, save your money and get a shooter that is more balanced, If you really want a Call of Duty game then there are also betters ones out there. Expand
  59. May 25, 2013
    7
    MW2 has several issues, but can be ignorable once you see the good in this title. First off, the single-player campaign is fun, yet short, even on hardened difficulty. The MP has small problems, but won't bother you. The weapons can be unbalanced, with some weapons being over-powered and some under, but the MP is very exciting, especially the new Spec Ops mode.
    However, I recommend you
    MW2 has several issues, but can be ignorable once you see the good in this title. First off, the single-player campaign is fun, yet short, even on hardened difficulty. The MP has small problems, but won't bother you. The weapons can be unbalanced, with some weapons being over-powered and some under, but the MP is very exciting, especially the new Spec Ops mode.
    However, I recommend you rent the title first before you purchase it.
    Expand
  60. Oct 6, 2013
    6
    I'm not sure why critics think so highly of this game. While it is very solid compared to other games in the series, there are still glaring problems that hinder its potential. The on-line play, while still one of the best in the series, is impeded with balance issues and mediocre matchmaking, while the campaign is overly ambitious and filled with plot-holes. All in all, as far as Call ofI'm not sure why critics think so highly of this game. While it is very solid compared to other games in the series, there are still glaring problems that hinder its potential. The on-line play, while still one of the best in the series, is impeded with balance issues and mediocre matchmaking, while the campaign is overly ambitious and filled with plot-holes. All in all, as far as Call of Duty goes, MW2 is one of the best instalments. Expand
  61. Sep 27, 2013
    5
    My brother told me to buy this game, he said it was amazing. Boy was he wrong, this games story mode made no sense to me, it was really boring and it seemed like explosions would happen just so you can see how good the graphics are. The spec ops mode was really boring and uninspired. The only use i have for this game is to play split screen with my nephew. Overall this game is trash and isMy brother told me to buy this game, he said it was amazing. Boy was he wrong, this games story mode made no sense to me, it was really boring and it seemed like explosions would happen just so you can see how good the graphics are. The spec ops mode was really boring and uninspired. The only use i have for this game is to play split screen with my nephew. Overall this game is trash and is probably the worst Call of Duty. Expand
  62. Apr 11, 2016
    7
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 is a pretty good game that was unfortunately stuck in the role of the bastard stepchild. It fell prey to the pitfalls of most sequels: most notably that developers simply tried too hard to top the original. That was a mountain to climb, Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is deserving of its unofficial title of the best shooter this generation. As a resul
  63. Oct 13, 2013
    5
    Seriously when i look up MW2 it has such ravishing reviews and such praise and is rated one of the top 25 Games of all time?! The game is way over-hyped just like most Call Of Duty games. This is a very basic FPS With little to no variety in missions it comes back ever time to either Protect this thing, Run down this corridor and Shoot all the baddies before taking cover then repeat thatSeriously when i look up MW2 it has such ravishing reviews and such praise and is rated one of the top 25 Games of all time?! The game is way over-hyped just like most Call Of Duty games. This is a very basic FPS With little to no variety in missions it comes back ever time to either Protect this thing, Run down this corridor and Shoot all the baddies before taking cover then repeat that for another 30 times in the same sequence. MW2 is an over hyped Game Not saying its horrible like *cough* Cough* Ride to hell: retribution *Cough* but It is way to over hyped for such a linear game and i clocked in at around 6-7 hours on my run of the Campaign. Expand
  64. Jul 6, 2014
    6
    Da **** Activision has been doing the same thing with every call of duty kill endless bad guys nearly die at the end how did this game get soo good reviews did Activision bribe critics the campaign is boring kill endless bad guys like i said and stop makarov but the multiplayer saves this game from total waste of money its fast paced and very fun (at the beginning) after a while when youDa **** Activision has been doing the same thing with every call of duty kill endless bad guys nearly die at the end how did this game get soo good reviews did Activision bribe critics the campaign is boring kill endless bad guys like i said and stop makarov but the multiplayer saves this game from total waste of money its fast paced and very fun (at the beginning) after a while when you unlocked everything its very very boring overall don't hope for a good singleplayer game if you are looking for a good multiplayer to hold you over until the division or rainbow six siege then buy this game from amazon Expand
  65. May 7, 2016
    6
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 is a first-person shooter video game developed by Infinity Ward and published by Activision.

    + Good Campaign
    + Excellent Multiplayer
  66. Jul 27, 2015
    6
    The campaign was amazing and a much needed sequel to the CoD 4 campaign. However multiplayer has turned to crap lately. People abuse the Grenade Launchers FAR too much to even make the game enjoyable anymore online. The co-op mode is fun when playing with other people, and will give you a good chunk of enjoyment. The multiplayer is such a large factor in CoD, and the fact that it isThe campaign was amazing and a much needed sequel to the CoD 4 campaign. However multiplayer has turned to crap lately. People abuse the Grenade Launchers FAR too much to even make the game enjoyable anymore online. The co-op mode is fun when playing with other people, and will give you a good chunk of enjoyment. The multiplayer is such a large factor in CoD, and the fact that it is unplayable now is exactly why this score is so low. If it was playable, it would be a 9. Expand
  67. Jun 10, 2016
    7
    Had this game been patched/supported by Activision and Infinity Wards post-launch this game could've been easily a 9. While they did patch some things like the Javelin glitch and Akimbo 1889s they still left the glaring issue of infinite danger-close grenade launchers unattended amongst other things, which for such a huge (if not THE hugest) AAA shooter is inexcusable. On theHad this game been patched/supported by Activision and Infinity Wards post-launch this game could've been easily a 9. While they did patch some things like the Javelin glitch and Akimbo 1889s they still left the glaring issue of infinite danger-close grenade launchers unattended amongst other things, which for such a huge (if not THE hugest) AAA shooter is inexcusable. On the single-player side of things, the plot makes almost zero sense.

    On a positive note the game looks fantastic for a 60fps game, and in my opinion the best looking Call of Duty until Advanced Warfare came out (yes I believe it looks better than Ghosts on PS4). The soundtrack by Hans Zimmer and Lorne Balfe is excellent too. While the campaign story is full of plot-holes the missions themselves are fun to play, as is the Spec Ops mode. And despite the multilplayer being horribly unbalanced, it is very satisfying and addicting when things go your way.
    Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 67
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 67
  3. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. 100
    Modern Warfare 2 crosses into the must-have category of video games effortlessly. It offers an unmatched shooter experience, a compelling story mode, a slick package of mini missions and a multiplayer which is pretty much unparalleled in depth.
  2. 100
    Modern Warfare 2 offers epic gameplay, a stunning Spec-Ops mode and a huge amount of adrenaline.
  3. Despite certain controversial elements, this game is an FPS fan’s dream. Game of the Year? Hell, yeah!