Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 PlayStation 3

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2105 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 26, 2011
    9
    Similar to the counter part ( Xbox 360 version) in every way. The graphics , even with Blue Ray integrated isn't much difference , nothing at all to be more specific. Gameplay is inverted if you have played the 360 version, for instance if you shot in the 360 version in the RT, therefore in the PS3 version you shoot in the R1. PS3 version got a taste of what or how good the multiplayerSimilar to the counter part ( Xbox 360 version) in every way. The graphics , even with Blue Ray integrated isn't much difference , nothing at all to be more specific. Gameplay is inverted if you have played the 360 version, for instance if you shot in the 360 version in the RT, therefore in the PS3 version you shoot in the R1. PS3 version got a taste of what or how good the multiplayer of MW2 , but the constant Hacker's, Bugs , glitches is a busy struggle for those that want a nice moment of entertainment . Either way, if you like shooters I recommend you to play Black Ops if you don't want multiplayer problems, absolutely . Don't get me wrong, Modern Warfare is still playable, the campaign is fantastic and the multiplayer plays nice, it's just that those problems deteriorate the enjoyment , if you insist , well then have luck, Even with the updates. Expand
  2. Jul 25, 2012
    8
    Whilst the story isn't as good as its predecessor, Modern Warfare 2 does build quite spectacularly on the multiplayer in the game, and adds the fun Special Ops game mode. However, Modern Warfare is going to need something to make it stand out from other shooters besides its reputation if it continues.
  3. May 24, 2011
    10
    Quite possibly the best game I have played in over 20 years of playing video games (definitely logged the most hours on this game by far). It boggles my mind to read so many negative reviews for this game. The campaign mode is amazing, and the multiplayer is extremely addicting. As with any game, there are some flaws (as noted in other reviews), but I'm pretty sure the perfect game has notQuite possibly the best game I have played in over 20 years of playing video games (definitely logged the most hours on this game by far). It boggles my mind to read so many negative reviews for this game. The campaign mode is amazing, and the multiplayer is extremely addicting. As with any game, there are some flaws (as noted in other reviews), but I'm pretty sure the perfect game has not been created yet. Can't wait for MW3. Expand
  4. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    This game was breathtaking. my first fps multiplayer experience was incredible. the graphics made me believe i was actually in the game. the campaign was awesome. the story did a horrible job of explaining itself, but each specific mission left me on the edge of my seat. it was short, but very good. the mp was great. there were quite a few bugs in the beginning, but they were fixedThis game was breathtaking. my first fps multiplayer experience was incredible. the graphics made me believe i was actually in the game. the campaign was awesome. the story did a horrible job of explaining itself, but each specific mission left me on the edge of my seat. it was short, but very good. the mp was great. there were quite a few bugs in the beginning, but they were fixed relatively quickly. i LOVED the title and emblem system. gave me a purpose to keep playing the game long after i had gotten to tenth prestige. most of the maps were great. they were a few that pised me off, but mostly they were great. there were problems with hackers and modders, but almost every game is going to have problems with that. i can see why people wouldn't like the game, but the pros GREATLY outweigh the cons. and please stop saying that BFBC2 is better. i played both, and enjoyed both. they are two separate entities. so please dont **** on our game and we wont **** on yours Expand
  5. Jun 5, 2011
    8
    Great game, that's all I can say. Not excellent, but great. Activision did a good job perfecting the previous gameplay mechanics from Cod 4, but I have to say that there wasn't much of a transition from Cod 4 to this one(excluding Cod 5). Starting with the single player, I had thoroughly enjoyed it, although didn't find it quite difficult, but the story, mechanics, graphics, and gameplayGreat game, that's all I can say. Not excellent, but great. Activision did a good job perfecting the previous gameplay mechanics from Cod 4, but I have to say that there wasn't much of a transition from Cod 4 to this one(excluding Cod 5). Starting with the single player, I had thoroughly enjoyed it, although didn't find it quite difficult, but the story, mechanics, graphics, and gameplay were awesome. The Spec Ops was my favourite part of the game, the numerous mini missions were quite intriguing as they progressively became more difficult. And finally, the multiplayer, although I have to admit that it was enjoyable, but there isn't much depth and it suffers through some equalization problems compared to Cod 4. Overall, it was a nice game, I do understand why all my classmates are addicted to it, and I admit that I was at a time addicted to it as well, but it isn't "The Game", so Cod heads out there need to get a grip, but nonetheless, a game worth playing! Expand
  6. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    This game may not be the best game ever, but it has a fun not too hard story mode and has great special ops and is really fun to play with friends and online
  7. Aug 26, 2011
    9
    a good game,not reaching the levels of the first MW, but seen in its own self, a satisfying experience. Wish Infinity Ward had done something different to attract more gamers.
  8. Mar 21, 2014
    8
    Actually an 8.5. To me, this has the best online in the series, despite it being unbalanced. (The unbalance somehow make it awesome). The maps are also awesome. I don't why but for some reason, online feels better here than in MW3. As for single-player, the plot was just riddled with movie-references. It also suffers plot-holes. But to be honest, the US Ranger campaign is just amazing.Actually an 8.5. To me, this has the best online in the series, despite it being unbalanced. (The unbalance somehow make it awesome). The maps are also awesome. I don't why but for some reason, online feels better here than in MW3. As for single-player, the plot was just riddled with movie-references. It also suffers plot-holes. But to be honest, the US Ranger campaign is just amazing. Sure it's just another "Russians have invaded the US", but you feel like a real soldier, and that there's a reason to fight. There's an atmosphere of desperation, thanks to the soundtrack. If only the other half of the singleplayer was like this. Heck, I wish the present COD campaigns were like this! So I believe you ought to own this game. The singleplayer is great (at least the US campaign), and there's still people online. Expand
  9. Jul 8, 2011
    9
    This is my second cod game that ive played. I really enjoyed the single player campaign it was epic and a lot of fun. But too short. The spec ops is very fun after you've finished the campaign most missions are based on the campaign, you unlock more spec ops missions by earning stars. The Multiplayer is a fun but that fun can be taken away by: Shotguners, Greanade Launchers, RPG's. OverThis is my second cod game that ive played. I really enjoyed the single player campaign it was epic and a lot of fun. But too short. The spec ops is very fun after you've finished the campaign most missions are based on the campaign, you unlock more spec ops missions by earning stars. The Multiplayer is a fun but that fun can be taken away by: Shotguners, Greanade Launchers, RPG's. Over powered perks like commando. The killstreaks are way too over powered. Once you get a harrier you get 4 kills with it. That makes you move on to the chopper gunner. And that leads to a tactical nuke. These are bad parts about it. When you are doing very good and are on a roll it's highly addicting.Overall it's a great game. Expand
  10. Sep 15, 2011
    10
    For me, the best first-person shooter video game of the year (2009). I play some other Call of Duty titles, but this one was the best campaign ever made. The really good thing about MW2 is definitely de on line mode (the best that i ever play). I recommended.
  11. Aug 26, 2011
    9
    From Infinity Ward comes the much anticipated Modern Warfare 2. You are 4 characters in this game PFC Joseph Allen, Pvt Ramirez, Sgt Gary "Roach" Sanderson and Soap the main protaginast from MW1. My rant is the PC multiplayer it is only adhoc matches which is a total pain. But a bonus for the Console multiplayer is an offline profile I play alot of offline for practice and with fantasticFrom Infinity Ward comes the much anticipated Modern Warfare 2. You are 4 characters in this game PFC Joseph Allen, Pvt Ramirez, Sgt Gary "Roach" Sanderson and Soap the main protaginast from MW1. My rant is the PC multiplayer it is only adhoc matches which is a total pain. But a bonus for the Console multiplayer is an offline profile I play alot of offline for practice and with fantastic new maps and perks it is sort of great. The story is a bit all over the place until you get to the middle i loved the end. It is an auditory masterpiece from the heart pumping music to the guns i love it and it looks stunning in the top 5 FPS's ive ever played. Overall Modern Warfare 2 is the best COD game out i'll give it 9.5. The Review is on my blog at url http://maximalistgtg.blogspot.com/2011/08/call-of-duty-modern-warfare-2.html Expand
  12. Aug 17, 2011
    9
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2, is the sixth installment in the popular first person shooter series. And yes, it's the best one yet. The Campaign is amazing, and first follows PFC Joseph Allen, a newly recruited member of Task Force 141. Meanwhile, Allen is later killed at an airport in Moscow. He was taking place in an undercover mission, which he was forced to participate in a massacreCall of Duty: Modern Warfare 2, is the sixth installment in the popular first person shooter series. And yes, it's the best one yet. The Campaign is amazing, and first follows PFC Joseph Allen, a newly recruited member of Task Force 141. Meanwhile, Allen is later killed at an airport in Moscow. He was taking place in an undercover mission, which he was forced to participate in a massacre of civilians. After the massacre, Makarov kills Allen, sparking a war between the U.S.A and Russia. The Modern Warfare 2 Campaign is amazing, and full of action-packed missions, and does have some jaw-dropping and shocking moments. This Campaign is the best story line yet, and will be hard to beat in Modern Warfare 3. Modern Warfare 2 now features a Spec Ops mode, which allows you to play individual missions with friends or by yourself. I enjoyed most of these missions and some of them were quite the challenge. Especially when you're playing on Veteran difficulty. It increases the capabilities of the enemies. Spec Ops is a great game mode if you want more action after the Campaign mode. After completing a Spec Ops mission, you earn a different amount of stars, depending on the difficulty you played on. Stars will unlock more playable missions. And then there's Multiplayer. My favorite part of the game. Multiplayer is basically perfect, with plentiful weapons, highly detailed and fun maps, incredible objective and team based game modes, and of course, playing with friends. The customization in Multiplayer could of been better, like Black Ops with customizable emblems and face paint. Multiplayer allows you to reach level 70, so it will keep you busy unlocking weapons, attachments, titles, and emblems. Modern Warfare 2 is an enjoyable, near perfect shooter game and is the best game in the series yet. Any Call of Duty fan would love this game and I highly recommend purchasing the game if you want an amazing, fun, and realistic shooter game like this. Great graphics and amazing gameplay all wrap up into this incredible game. One of the best games I've ever played. Expand
  13. Oct 31, 2011
    10
    Let's put this in perspective. If you're one of those Halo or Killzone fanboys that gets mad when a Call of Duty game destroys one of your favorite games, don't even read this. However, if you're a regular person who enjoys fun and valuable experiences, MW2 is an excellent choice.
  14. Nov 26, 2012
    9
    Visually stunning, great gameplay and all-roundly very good perfomance on Playstation 3 - this is one of the best games made on Playstation 3. It's fun (if you don't take it too seriously) and even if you're not a gamer who plays shooters - you still will spend a lot of time with this title online. Plus it has nice co-op content. Single-player is ok but this game is all about online fun.Visually stunning, great gameplay and all-roundly very good perfomance on Playstation 3 - this is one of the best games made on Playstation 3. It's fun (if you don't take it too seriously) and even if you're not a gamer who plays shooters - you still will spend a lot of time with this title online. Plus it has nice co-op content. Single-player is ok but this game is all about online fun. Many strategies, funny moments and tight clashes. It's a game of LUCK and SKILL which is the best combination to make most of players feel good. The only weak point is if you take it too seriously. For competetive hardcore players I admit this has things that will not appeal all the time. But a small amount of luck/random makes everything (wins etc.) much more enjoyable because everyone can win sometimes. Expand
  15. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    Para mi es un gran shooter, es divertido, y ahora que han conseguido que vaya estable, me encanta!!
    tiene sus defectos y podria mejorar, pero a mi me divierte!
  16. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    This game is so perfect, Gameplay, graphics, quick scopes with sniper, i love it so much, tactical nuke is the best thing i have ever seen. This game really rocks, best FPS ever made.
  17. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    This game was a masterpiece in 2009, and still is, also probably tis he last game of Infinity Ward's that was infused with hardwork. Enough said. R.I.P Call of Duty Franchise. May Activision find the guidence of the Gamer God or so, let that Publisher rot and fill bankruptcy never to hurt a video game again.
  18. Oct 3, 2012
    8
    Pues yo le doy un ocho. A mi parecer este juego fue el último que mereció la pena comprar de esta saga.
    Y aunque fuese totalmente continuista con respecto a lo visto en anteriores entregas y tuviese una campaña bastante mediocre, no se le puede negar que su multiplayer es excelente (al menos hasta que llegaron los hackers) y adictivo.
  19. Nov 19, 2011
    8
    So okay, it's repetitive, ugly and the server system is crap. But you'll forget the most once you start playing it. Singleplayer intense, but short. And online is as it should be!
  20. Nov 22, 2011
    9
    Call of duty MW2, a true successor of CoD 4 MW, return this time to the war as Soap and new allies, but look no further, the online multiplayer is amazing, new guns and sounds, and amazing new graphics, IW really nailed it this time and deserve a pat on the back
  21. Feb 26, 2012
    10
    It's official. Modern Warfare 2 is one of the best games of the century. I'll give it a definite 10 for it's amazing graphics, excellent plot, and astonishing multiplayer. If you don't have this, well , I feel bad for you because you're missing out on an extraordinary game.
  22. Jun 7, 2012
    9
    96/100
    I thought this game was amazing. This game did almost everything right. The game was fun and exciting, and the campaign was breath taking. Although, I said almost. The game was not well supported, and boosters were everywhere trying to get there little Nuke emblem and everyone was hacking to get 10th and all of the titles and emblems they could never have gotten legit. The
    96/100
    I thought this game was amazing. This game did almost everything right. The game was fun and exciting, and the campaign was breath taking. Although, I said almost. The game was not well supported, and boosters were everywhere trying to get there little Nuke emblem and everyone was hacking to get 10th and all of the titles and emblems they could never have gotten legit. The scoreboards where hacked to death and that became useless. The saving grace of the game was the amazing Campaign. The campaign was compelling and the most exciting campaign to finish in any Call Of Duty game.
    Expand
  23. Feb 1, 2012
    9
    Don't listen to all of these negative reviews, in my opinion this is the best COD game out there. The campaign was good but not great but the multiplayer makes up for it.
  24. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    The Best CoD Game and nothing can beat it because of the Intervention and beating Mw3 and CoD4. I would definantly the best game in the whole franchise. The campaign is awesome even though they kill ghost and they put spec ops mode which put a sparkle to this game. The multiplayer was the best in this game and had the best perks, guns, and attachments. 10 out of 10 in my opinion of thisThe Best CoD Game and nothing can beat it because of the Intervention and beating Mw3 and CoD4. I would definantly the best game in the whole franchise. The campaign is awesome even though they kill ghost and they put spec ops mode which put a sparkle to this game. The multiplayer was the best in this game and had the best perks, guns, and attachments. 10 out of 10 in my opinion of this great awesome game in the series with the best System IW. Expand
  25. May 14, 2012
    9
    Does MW2 deserves the "Game of The Year" (2009) award? Not really, but It is and was a strong nominee. Gameplay is extremely fun, but the graphics didn't impress me at all. Still it delivers a great single/multi player experience. (9.3)
  26. Jun 2, 2012
    9
    Everytime i want to play a ego i always grab the good old MW2 Box. Maybe only for 2 or 3 Mission, but it has some kind of magic at playing it. Very good balance in the different mission, also the characters are guys i want in my team. Technically it is not perfect i agree, but as i said the balance is really well done. You get a 9!
  27. Aug 14, 2012
    9
    The great campaign and the excellent multiplayer, let's not forget, the incredible spec ops make this game a masterpiece. Not only that, but even the sharp controls are a big positive. But, what are the problems? Short campaign and dull graphics. Despite from those problems, MW2 stays fresh and awesome. 93 out of 100
  28. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    9-Presentation; The characters and dialogue are well built and the menu's are laid out well.
    10-Graphics; The visuals are just insane. Period.
    10-Sound; Authentic sound effects, amazing voice acting, and thrilling music.
    10-Gameplay; Excellent levels, controls, mechanics, and AI
    10-Lasting appeal; 6 hour campaign with spec ops and infinite replay value in multiplayer
    Overall-10/10
  29. Aug 26, 2012
    10
    Perfect game! in Multiplayer you can use your favorite attachments and in single player you have an perfect experience with awesome graphics and weapons.
  30. Sep 17, 2012
    9
    Really addicting COD. I own this game on both 360 and PS3 and they both are flawless. The Story, Graphics, Controls are all smooth. The Spec Ops missions are a little fun to do after a while. The MP can get frustrating at times but still highly addictive
  31. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    Its a simple fact, Tactical Nukes rock! This game rocks! I would highly recommend that you get a nuke as your first killstreak because they are so fun!
  32. Oct 13, 2012
    9
    Yes it's a worn out formula, Yes it's the same thing over and over again. But it's an excellent formula and unbeatable in terms of multiplayer so... Why the negative feedback? Can't understand it...
  33. May 8, 2013
    10
    5.9 are you kidding, dont listen at all to that score this is one of the best most comprehensive online, spec ops and single player. Much better than 3 way better than black ops. This game is turly great.
  34. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    This was the game that signalled the downfall of CoD; it over-complicated things and added too much unnecessary crap to the game that introduced the rage-inducing aspect of Call of Duty. What I'm talking about is the customizable killstreaks, of which many were too powerful, and features such as Commando and the overpowered grenade launcher setups when used with One Man Army and DangerThis was the game that signalled the downfall of CoD; it over-complicated things and added too much unnecessary crap to the game that introduced the rage-inducing aspect of Call of Duty. What I'm talking about is the customizable killstreaks, of which many were too powerful, and features such as Commando and the overpowered grenade launcher setups when used with One Man Army and Danger Close. While the game can really make you rage like no other, this was still a highly addictive multiplayer that kept me engrossed and hooked into for more than a full year. Even though it signalled the downfall of CoD, it was still a great game in itself. Expand
  35. Nov 10, 2012
    9
    Perhaps the most perfect call of duty in history. The campaign mode was amazing (perhaps, modern warfare 3 was better), but the thing that make the difference between this game and the others Modern warfare is the online mode. The sniper, the hours you can spend playing without getting bored. This game continues the great way wich modern warfare 1 started, and turn it better. This game isPerhaps the most perfect call of duty in history. The campaign mode was amazing (perhaps, modern warfare 3 was better), but the thing that make the difference between this game and the others Modern warfare is the online mode. The sniper, the hours you can spend playing without getting bored. This game continues the great way wich modern warfare 1 started, and turn it better. This game is the reason why call of duty becomes the bestseller game during 3 years.

    The best: Multiplayer, one of the best multiplayers in shooter history. Awesome graphics, weapons variety. Good campaign and good special ops mode.
    The worst: Now, the hackers. The Nuke in multiplayer. Some bugs.
    Expand
  36. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    For me Call of duty had never been about the online multiplayers as i seen many battlefield fans just putting crap on it. but sure the game is hardly refreshed it does bring a much better story line. The story line really gets you in as you want to finish it. Playing split screen was the obvious reason i at time prefer cod over other shooters.
  37. Nov 23, 2012
    10
    This game will forever be the pinnacle of the CoD franchise (including the original Modern Warfare). I love this game and played it far beyond it's release date. The only reason that most of us don't play it anymore is because of the hackers that UAV themselves into an orgasm. A sad end to a great game.
  38. Dec 18, 2012
    8
    The game doesn't have the best story, but it does have the best characters not like Battlefield Bad Company where the characters look like cartoons, excellent voice acting, great music, good graphics, average arsenal, controls that are very tight, very nice fighting scenarios and epic moments. This game may not be the best of its kind but it certainly doesn't deserve a score under 6. TheThe game doesn't have the best story, but it does have the best characters not like Battlefield Bad Company where the characters look like cartoons, excellent voice acting, great music, good graphics, average arsenal, controls that are very tight, very nice fighting scenarios and epic moments. This game may not be the best of its kind but it certainly doesn't deserve a score under 6. The game manages to deliver a very fun FPS game. One of the things that did turn me off was the fact that again the game is too linear, there's not much space for any tactical approach really. And the only thing that makes this tittle an M rating game is the killings because there's not too much blood either, to me should a T rating. Expand
  39. Jun 19, 2014
    9
    Modern Warfare 2 is a great game with a fun multiplayer and a great campaign. Yes, the multiplayer is broken with the noobtubes, OP killstreaks and the aim assist snipers but that doesn't prevent it from being loads of fun.The campaign continues the story of the previous installment Cod4:MW so it will not disappoint.The characters are still great, the storyline is great and the gameplay isModern Warfare 2 is a great game with a fun multiplayer and a great campaign. Yes, the multiplayer is broken with the noobtubes, OP killstreaks and the aim assist snipers but that doesn't prevent it from being loads of fun.The campaign continues the story of the previous installment Cod4:MW so it will not disappoint.The characters are still great, the storyline is great and the gameplay is just borderline addicting.If you are a fps gamer, forget all the ignorant idiots that rank this an 0 and buy this game. Expand
  40. Mar 10, 2013
    8
    I joined the COD universe with this game and I won't regret it in a million years. Fast, brutal, fascinating! One of the Bests of the Offensive FPS games. Length of the story is sufficiently short, spec ops missions are well built, the grounds are varied, anyone can find his/her favourite weapon, and the Multiplayer will attract you back Time-toTime. I know, it's almost the same game asI joined the COD universe with this game and I won't regret it in a million years. Fast, brutal, fascinating! One of the Bests of the Offensive FPS games. Length of the story is sufficiently short, spec ops missions are well built, the grounds are varied, anyone can find his/her favourite weapon, and the Multiplayer will attract you back Time-toTime. I know, it's almost the same game as the other Cods from before, but for a newbie like me it is a good start and in total it IS a good game. Expand
  41. Jun 20, 2013
    9
    This is a great game!! The campaign has a great story and an amazing cinematic presentation that I absolutely love to see in games because i think it makes the experience more like a movie! Aside from that it has a series of co-op special ops missions that are great fun to be had with a buddy! Last but certainly not least the multiplayer for this game is ridiculous, addicting and crazyThis is a great game!! The campaign has a great story and an amazing cinematic presentation that I absolutely love to see in games because i think it makes the experience more like a movie! Aside from that it has a series of co-op special ops missions that are great fun to be had with a buddy! Last but certainly not least the multiplayer for this game is ridiculous, addicting and crazy fun! I still enjoy playing this game to this day! Expand
  42. May 10, 2013
    9
    of all the call of duty games that ive played this games beats all (including both black ops games, modern warfare 3, world at war, and cod 4). this game is a MUST buy for call of duty fans. I give this game a 9 because of how the PSN servers are and have been down for about 1 and a half years. Otherwise this is my fav game of all time
  43. May 19, 2013
    10
    Probably the best COD game I have played. It has a good campaign but its too short. Spec Ops is a good addition to the COD series. For the multiplayer, it has the best pacing, best guns, and best killstreaks
  44. Jul 29, 2013
    8
    modern warfare is the best serie of call of duty and this opus is the best of call of .
    the gameplay is very well
    and the multiplayer is fantastic
    a very good game
  45. Jun 21, 2013
    8
    This game is, despite what people often say, a good game. It's always been a good game and, at first at least it showed the very best of Call of Duty. What broke the fun of this games multiplayer was the community. Yer maybe IW could have foreseen the problems that would come up but it is just people using boring and irritating tactics to ruin games that screwed up the fun.
  46. Sep 21, 2013
    10
    Great game. Loved the storyline, and multiplayer was awesome. Always fun to play, with or without friends. It's a shame that hackers took over and ruined it.
  47. Nov 18, 2013
    10
    This game is utter garbage, don't buy this, the game sucks as hell, that being sayd, so for that reason i must give this game a 10, did i already say i was paid by microsoft, no, then i say it now
  48. Nov 26, 2013
    9
    Modern warfare 2. This game is getting a straight…. 9! Very UPDATED since COD4( the best call of duty in my opinion).
    Pros: Very interesting killstreaks, fun to play overall, doesn't get boring, good fallback game, private match lobbies can be fun when you are trolling random people or just hanging with your buds. Good map layouts, good graphics, good multiplayer, not too much lag( ill
    Modern warfare 2. This game is getting a straight…. 9! Very UPDATED since COD4( the best call of duty in my opinion).
    Pros: Very interesting killstreaks, fun to play overall, doesn't get boring, good fallback game, private match lobbies can be fun when you are trolling random people or just hanging with your buds. Good map layouts, good graphics, good multiplayer, not too much lag( ill discuss in cons), good maps in general, cool killstreaks(ill discuss in cons), and overall a pretty positive online and single player.
    Cons: Some killstreaks are overpowered(Chopper gunner) once, you get one, you have a nuke. lag is really bad at times but not noticeable at times, it depends on your host. Overpowered weapons such as the majority of the submachine guns, Which putting a silencer on it makes it god mod, puts the online newbies at a risk of raging. Hell I even rage sometimes but games like this starting out really give you thick skin, so your able to withstand future Again the hackers in this game.. ruin the fun of it all. frame lag and all that gets a little crazy when a lot is going on but whatever. I am hungry, thats all i can think off of the top of my head, ill come back with more inspiration later.
    Expand
  49. Dec 31, 2013
    10
    The campaign in my opinion is not the greatest but the multiplayer is just phenomenal.One of the best games I've ever played.The guns are almost equally balanced (except the ACR maybe) and the maps are great.Infinity Ward did a freaking good job
  50. Jan 25, 2016
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. To say that this game is good is a huge understatement this is without a doubt one of the most enjoyable games that I have ever played. The fourth mission of the game No Russian his highly controversial a terrorist attack at an airport a mission you can skip but one of the most simple missions on the game. There will be people who will enjoy Shepherd's death at the end of the game but hating the main antagonist means the game has been done well. In a recap a truly phenomenal game. Expand
  51. Sep 27, 2014
    10
    A día de hoy para mi es el mejor COD. Tiene la campaña que mas me gusta de la saga, breve como de costumbre pero muy muy intensa, un modo coop. con misiones correcto y un multijugador genial. Si no fuera por los hackers que hay hoy en día lo jugaría con mas regularidad, pero aun así no puedes poner una nota baja por eso, el juego en sí es muy bueno.Un shooter adictivo como pocos.
  52. Sep 7, 2014
    8
    this game is a treasure which belongs in the hall of FPS for sure. This is a good fairly fast paced game with fair customizations. COD is known for their multiplayer but the campaign is a great play to.
  53. Aug 9, 2014
    9
    "Modern Warfare 2" is a thoroughly compelling sequel to "Modern Warfare". It boasts a thrilling plot, very likable characters, and an excellent Multiplayer experience. Five years after its' release, "Modern Warfare 2" is still as fun and refreshing as when it came out.
  54. Sep 30, 2014
    9
    Another tremendous excursion and a worthwhile sequel to the first Modern Warfare. Sure, there are recycled sections and there is nothing ground breaking like the first, but it's a must-have for FPS & CoD fans.
  55. Dec 17, 2014
    9
    MW2 is my favorite out of the six Call of Duty versions I own; I've been following this franchise since 2007 when MW1 was released. This sixth version of the series didn't miss it's target in any areas as a FPS game is concerned. The epic gameplay runs strong throughout the storyline, spec-ops is challenging and its in-depth multiplayer mode is what made it the best CoD in my opinionMW2 is my favorite out of the six Call of Duty versions I own; I've been following this franchise since 2007 when MW1 was released. This sixth version of the series didn't miss it's target in any areas as a FPS game is concerned. The epic gameplay runs strong throughout the storyline, spec-ops is challenging and its in-depth multiplayer mode is what made it the best CoD in my opinion despite the hackers ruining stats and cheating to this day. If it weren't for the cheaters I wouldn't have any problems giving it a perfect score of 10. Otherwise, there's a reason it earned Game of the Year in 2009. Expand
  56. Jan 2, 2015
    10
    Great game. Great weapons. Great maps. Good perks. Plenty to unlock. This game is extremely addicting. Maps like terminal are a joy to play in. There's akimbos which is good. The game is balanced.
  57. Jan 26, 2015
    9
    Graphics:9/10
    Storyline:9/10
    Online Mode:8/10

    Modern Warfare series have one of the best Call of Duty games storyline combined with funny coop missions and a good multiplayer.
  58. Jul 3, 2015
    8
    Modern Warfare 2's campaign is as good as COD4's, maybe even better. The multiplayer is pretty bad for public matches, but as an eSports game, the MP is amazing.

    (Played this in 2010, just now writing the review)
  59. Feb 23, 2015
    10
    In my opinion, the last GREAT Call of Duty game. Campaign was on the short side but it was still good. But Multiplayer is still hell of fun, I still pick up this game from time to time. Spec Ops missions are fun but I highly recommend doing it with a friend.
  60. Mar 6, 2015
    10
    thought it was cool the way the story up so good that the game in Russian thought too violent polemical this map huh spec ops cool was good to play with friends and my father the best multiplayer yet
  61. Nov 19, 2015
    10
    This series was excellent and well done. The first was great, and 2 surpassed it. They added new content and challenges that kept me trying to perfect the same missions I have played over and over again for over 2 years. I would buy this game again, if I only had a second system to play it on (it is that good).
  62. Sep 2, 2015
    8
    after 5 years this game is still blows my mind. mw2 is fantasic, amazing cod ever made! sure mulitplayer is now broken because of one man army noob tubes. scavger makes more noob tubes, hackers and modders to danger close to commando. i hope infinty ward remaster this game for next gen consles! if not iw is dead to me.
  63. Jan 6, 2016
    10
    Modern Warfare 2 is not only the greatest Call of Duty game ever made, it is the best first person shooter in history. Modern Warfare 2 takes the positives from the hugely successful COD 4, and enhances them whilst adding brilliant innovations. Whilst the campaign is jaw dropping and one of the best in the COD franchise, it is the online multiplayer side of the game that it excels at.Modern Warfare 2 is not only the greatest Call of Duty game ever made, it is the best first person shooter in history. Modern Warfare 2 takes the positives from the hugely successful COD 4, and enhances them whilst adding brilliant innovations. Whilst the campaign is jaw dropping and one of the best in the COD franchise, it is the online multiplayer side of the game that it excels at. Vibrant maps, awesome weapons to unlock, and gameplay that allowed for various styles of plays to work successfully, ensure that MW2 was one of the best online games ever made. It is truly this game that made Call of Duty the biggest gaming franchise ever made. Expand
  64. Nov 10, 2016
    10
    Absolutely unbelievable that some of you dumbasses cant tell a bad game from a good one. This was one of the best shooters if not THE BEST shooter ever f*cking made. It was incredibly balanced for people of any play type, sure it had its issues of one man army abusing and noob tube spamming but that really wasnt a huge issue .. at least for me it wasnt lol. It seems like the people whoAbsolutely unbelievable that some of you dumbasses cant tell a bad game from a good one. This was one of the best shooters if not THE BEST shooter ever f*cking made. It was incredibly balanced for people of any play type, sure it had its issues of one man army abusing and noob tube spamming but that really wasnt a huge issue .. at least for me it wasnt lol. It seems like the people who review the game low just purely sucked ass at it and i mean MAJOR ass. The game didnt require a lot of skill to play but for the most part people were just horrible at it idk why yet they love the newer garbage COD's and even plagued the remastered COD4 with their inability to use skill such as camping 24/7 and preaiming around every corner. This game and Black Ops 1 were the last COD's to have people actually run around and use tactics rather than everyone playing the same. MW2 was just so addicting to a T, extremely fun to play, and had a great story, maps, gameplay, and SO much more. 10/10 every other opinion is invalid at this point. Hopefully in the remaster you skilless hacks wont ruin another classic like you did to COD4 Remastered. Expand
  65. Oct 12, 2015
    10
    This game is just perfect, good gameplay, "good"story, excellent multiplayer, violence,blood and the the best thing is tha tif you finish the story mode, you can do a lot of things, like finish the "special ops" and get all the levels in the multiplayer mode.
  66. Nov 11, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Yet another classic masterpiece of first person shooters and one to be remembered forever. Modern Warfare 2 follows from the events of Modern Warfare 1 which puts you back on the American and British side to fight the second Soviet Russia and the main villain Vladimir Makarov, only then to be thrown into the enemy frontline seeing armies rise and cities fall. The campaign once again nails the balance of brilliant story telling and amazing gameplay, making us fall for our brothers in arms and save our dying world at the same time. Definitely one better than its big brother Call of Duty 4 and forever shall this remain in the gaming heart. Expand
  67. Dec 11, 2015
    8
    The definitive COD experience and the best in the series. The story still doesn't make a whole lot of sense and the graphics haven't been improved a lot, but you can tell a lot of work went into making this game. The campaign is a lot of fun and the level and weapons design kick ass. Much better than that black ops crap. Also the most challenging cod to complete on a harder difficultyThe definitive COD experience and the best in the series. The story still doesn't make a whole lot of sense and the graphics haven't been improved a lot, but you can tell a lot of work went into making this game. The campaign is a lot of fun and the level and weapons design kick ass. Much better than that black ops crap. Also the most challenging cod to complete on a harder difficulty setting so be warned! Expand
  68. Apr 16, 2016
    9
    Graphic: 8/10
    Sound: 9/10
    + exciting story, great multiplayer, co-op special missions, smooth animation (60fps), huge weapon arsenal - sometimes blurry textures, quick scope with sniper is too strong (multiplayer) Conclusion: After MW brought the FPS genre to a new level of fast paced game play, the next episode has to climb a big number, and with MW2 the franchise does it. The
    Graphic: 8/10
    Sound: 9/10

    + exciting story, great multiplayer, co-op special missions, smooth animation (60fps), huge weapon arsenal

    - sometimes blurry textures, quick scope with sniper is too strong (multiplayer)

    Conclusion: After MW brought the FPS genre to a new level of fast paced game play, the next episode has to climb a big number, and with MW2 the franchise does it. The story plot is good, it´s the same quality like in MW, after 6-10 h you´ll see the credits and after this, they are tons of options to enjoy MW2. Like the spec ops co-op missions, or the massive multiplayer (with very good maps), in which you have to invest several hundred hours to reach prestige 10. They are more than fifteen online modes, and specifically with a 6 gamer friendliest lobby, modes like s&d or hq is pure fun.
    Expand
  69. Jun 25, 2016
    9
    This game was awesome. Yes there were many parts especially in the multiplayer that made me want to pull my hair out but it had a lot of positives. It had a very memorable campaign mode. It also had a very high adrenaline multiplayer mode stacked with competitive players ready to gun each other down either tactically or ruthlessly. The new perks and kill streaks without a doubt added toThis game was awesome. Yes there were many parts especially in the multiplayer that made me want to pull my hair out but it had a lot of positives. It had a very memorable campaign mode. It also had a very high adrenaline multiplayer mode stacked with competitive players ready to gun each other down either tactically or ruthlessly. The new perks and kill streaks without a doubt added to this experience. Spec-Ops was pretty fun too. It was also an incredibly addictive game as a whole. Spent months on this game alone.

    Whether you like it or not, this title was and still is globally recognised for its impact on the FPS gaming industry. Perhaps not a revolutionary game, but as much as I wanted to break my TV screen with my controller, I cannot deny that I had so much fun with it. A fantastic game with some small, deeply frustrating segments.
    Expand
  70. Feb 14, 2016
    9
    Modern Warfare 2 is definitely one of the best CoD out there, it offers one of the best campaigns in the series with very likeable characters from CoD4 and new ones that you're going to love along with the story that's a lot of fun in multiple parts of the world.

    The multiplayer is great and very addictive, and sure as all multiplayer games it'll have it's problems with annoying players
    Modern Warfare 2 is definitely one of the best CoD out there, it offers one of the best campaigns in the series with very likeable characters from CoD4 and new ones that you're going to love along with the story that's a lot of fun in multiple parts of the world.

    The multiplayer is great and very addictive, and sure as all multiplayer games it'll have it's problems with annoying players and all, but truly, you can't avoid any of that to happen. Still there are some unbalanced weapons or attachments (noob tube) and even scorestreaks (tactical nuke) that can be rather annoying to some players and lower the gaming experience.

    The new feature that was Spec Ops was fenomenal; a lot of fun for challenging missions, and even more if you play with a friend.

    All in all, one of the best FPS out there and nowadays worth buying as it's way more cheaper and can still be enjoyable, even more than the newer CoDs.
    Expand
  71. Jul 4, 2016
    8
    Excelente titulo da franquia,apesar de não nada de inovador,esse COD conseguiu fazer algo difícil...o simples ficar divertido...e o modo online é bem atraente.
  72. Nov 30, 2016
    8
    una buena campaña, con algunas de las mejores misiones de la historia de los FPS, y otras misiones menos inspiradas para llevar una historia que no está del todo bien contada y estructurada

    un modo cooperativo de lo mejor de la generación, especialmente las misiones inspiradas en el primer Modern Warfare

    y un modo online que se empezó a romper con tantas rachas y ventajas
  73. Mar 25, 2017
    10
    Even people who are not fan of call of duty love modern warfare 2. in my opinion modern warfare 2 is the second best first person shooter of all time. The game looks great, the campaign is the best in the series, the soundtrack is amazing, the controls are prefect and the multiplayer is so much fun playing.
  74. Mar 25, 2017
    10
    0
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 ImageMy favorite cod game ever a game like Modern warfare 2 it's just too good the campaign where it follows up after MW and that the WW3 have started the missions was great the multiplayer too ,nothing to complain about to
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 67
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 67
  3. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. 100
    Modern Warfare 2 crosses into the must-have category of video games effortlessly. It offers an unmatched shooter experience, a compelling story mode, a slick package of mini missions and a multiplayer which is pretty much unparalleled in depth.
  2. 100
    Modern Warfare 2 offers epic gameplay, a stunning Spec-Ops mode and a huge amount of adrenaline.
  3. Despite certain controversial elements, this game is an FPS fan’s dream. Game of the Year? Hell, yeah!