User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1882 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 17, 2013
    9
    8.8 out of 10 (rounded off to 9).

    The sequel to the game that revolutionised much of the fps-multiplayer experience had a lot of hype to live up to, and many of the points, it did. The story continued much of the same cinematic drama from the first game, and made a lot of changes to the multiplayer. The multiplayer now has more perks, and more killstreaks to choose from, which is
    8.8 out of 10 (rounded off to 9).

    The sequel to the game that revolutionised much of the fps-multiplayer experience had a lot of hype to live up to, and many of the points, it did.

    The story continued much of the same cinematic drama from the first game, and made a lot of changes to the multiplayer. The multiplayer now has more perks, and more killstreaks to choose from, which is fun. I have found some balancing issues with the game, and so have others, with much complaining on the grenade-launchers and "akimbo" shotguns as secondary weapons, for example.

    This doesn't stop Modern Warfare 2 from being a great and over-all fun experience, which in many ways tops the original Modern Warfare game. So if that's what you're after, this game wont disappoint you.
    Expand
  2. JamesB.
    Apr 15, 2010
    9
    This is one of the greatest games of all time, but i can see where people are coming from when they give it a low score. Call of Duty has a history of amazing campaigns, but this one just short of what people want. What do i say? There wasn't a single part in the story where i sat there wishing it would just end, each part of it is fun and adds flavor to the game. That is an amazing This is one of the greatest games of all time, but i can see where people are coming from when they give it a low score. Call of Duty has a history of amazing campaigns, but this one just short of what people want. What do i say? There wasn't a single part in the story where i sat there wishing it would just end, each part of it is fun and adds flavor to the game. That is an amazing achievement for any game, but it is really short and dosnt explain the events that well. Voice acting is great, but if you could explain the story better i wouldnt have to wonder 'Why the hell am i doing this' so often. This dosnt cause a problem for me, and it all makes up in the multiplayer. What i like most about it is that accessibility of it. It finds me the game that i want fast and makes it more enjoyable to play. The graphics are the best in any game iv ever seen, they put all the love and care the make it absolutely amazing. Now, the reason its not a 10 in my opinion, the fact that it does get stale after so long. Sure, the maps are nice, but in multiplayer, the computer chosen maps sometimes ruin a few of the settings, such as quarry, its a good map with alot to do there, but they use it so many times it got stale for me. Sometimes by bad luck you play that same map two times in a row, and that sucks. Also, glitches, iv had a few times where my sever died on me, and i was forced out of my game when i was doing so good. Overall, i love the game, but it has a few technical difficulties, but it looks amazing and the diversity of the guns is enough for you to play it over and over again. Expand
  3. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    People should stop comparing this to other games, great campaign that tests you on veteran along with a superb online that also does the same. If you are looking for a fun campaign this game is for you.
  4. JonathonC
    Apr 1, 2010
    9
    an amazing campaign the guns are modern and feel realistic. its amazing theres a lot of detail put in to this games graphics. the story is a bit thin but dosent really cross your mind until the last three mission and the mission no Russian. MULTIPLAYER is absolouetly incredible so much depth and fun addicting action but this amazing online fun does come with a price CAMPERS totally ruin an amazing campaign the guns are modern and feel realistic. its amazing theres a lot of detail put in to this games graphics. the story is a bit thin but dosent really cross your mind until the last three mission and the mission no Russian. MULTIPLAYER is absolouetly incredible so much depth and fun addicting action but this amazing online fun does come with a price CAMPERS totally ruin the game for everyone a few mins in and a camper will have the veins blowing in your heads but worse of all he will proberbly have an ac-130 in the air. lag is another issue its constant i swear to you will find 1 in a hundred games where there wont be lag. Aside from the problems with the Multiplayer Modern Warfare 2 is golden and defineatly lives up to its name as one of the greatest shooters of all time. Expand
  5. StevenL
    Mar 1, 2010
    9
    If you're looking for the best online shooter of 2009 / 2010 then this is for you. The Single player story is indeed not as long as some people would have liked, but given that you have loads of missions in Spec Ops and the Multi Player aspect of MW2, then you have a blockbuster. Sure it looks kind of the same as COD 4, it's an inevitable comparison, however there are lots of If you're looking for the best online shooter of 2009 / 2010 then this is for you. The Single player story is indeed not as long as some people would have liked, but given that you have loads of missions in Spec Ops and the Multi Player aspect of MW2, then you have a blockbuster. Sure it looks kind of the same as COD 4, it's an inevitable comparison, however there are lots of tweaks. People complain about campers, it was my initial view too. However once you know where people camp and how to get around them, it's even more satisfying nailing them in the head. Add 5 friends in a good mood and you have an epic game on your hands. IW aren't the fastest to respond to bugs, but they are addressed where needed over time and with more maps on the way why wouldn't you be playing this? Sure the MP is different to COD 4, which is why a LOT of people aren't comfortable with MW2 immediately. Give it time and watch the dust grow on 4 on your shelf. Expand
  6. ChrisI
    Jan 24, 2010
    10
    How could it get anything less. Ive put over 150hrs into the game and still playing. That is a whole lot of game for $60.
  7. MiKE
    Dec 23, 2009
    9
    A soild 9 from me, I was very impressed with the graphics, gameplay and intense action! One of the BEST action shooters I played in a long time! I didnt play the multiplayer, so this review is only based on the single mode experience. I would of liked if the story would of been better told then just displaying the map and have over voice.
  8. blakel
    Apr 23, 2010
    10
    I love this game so bad but callof duty four is pretty fun they dont have that good of snipers in mw2 than mw1 i like m40a3 in cod mw1 just to tell you people ilove this game so go out and by this game i like do in glitches but if you people wnat to be my friend on ps3 my friend name is blakemotoracer please add me i you want to do glitches in private match once again i would lov to be I love this game so bad but callof duty four is pretty fun they dont have that good of snipers in mw2 than mw1 i like m40a3 in cod mw1 just to tell you people ilove this game so go out and by this game i like do in glitches but if you people wnat to be my friend on ps3 my friend name is blakemotoracer please add me i you want to do glitches in private match once again i would lov to be your friend so go buy this game for the ps3. snipers kick ass. Expand
  9. May 23, 2011
    10
    This game has a user score of 57 as opposed to a critic score of 94. This tells me that it's a high quality game, but people don't like it because they suck. Now whether or not you LIKE a game is subjective, and I'm sure that there are people who actually don't. However, the majority of negative reviews here are just people **** that they got killed in MP.
  10. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    This is the best FPS game I have ever played. Really good customization and the fun never ends with all the Map Packs. And thats it. All the Negatives are battlefield fans or noobs.
  11. JamesW
    Apr 25, 2010
    10
    What is wrong with some people. This is an epic game and is actually the best game I've ever played. I have not even played single player but what I have done with spec ops and multiplayer already makes this game a standout. I have played multiplayer for 6 days which is something like 200 hours and I still can't get enough of it. One day I play this game and the next day I feel What is wrong with some people. This is an epic game and is actually the best game I've ever played. I have not even played single player but what I have done with spec ops and multiplayer already makes this game a standout. I have played multiplayer for 6 days which is something like 200 hours and I still can't get enough of it. One day I play this game and the next day I feel like I am playing a totally different game. The multiplayer is perfect with the amazing level up system and clever perks. The weapons in this game at first seem to powerful but once you gain a little skill you will be the one ranking up the kills and suddenly being addicted to this game. The killstreaks are great because it is a challenge to get the powerful rewards and very easy to get the basic rewards like radars. The catch is that you are only allowed to select 3 killstreaks, so if you pick the three best rewards then it will be very hard to get up there, but if you chose the worst 3 awards then after you have gained all you will feel somewhat unrewarded. To those people bagging this game saying it us "unrealistic" are both ignorant and stupid. Firstly this game is mostly realistic except for a few perks as other people said like coomando which means from no matter how high you jump you can't die but the truth is do we buy games and think their good because they are realistic. NO. we buy games because they are fun. If you want a realistic game why don't you just live your own life. That's a game that is realistic. Well it's sort of a game. Anyway why buy a game for how realistic it is when you can buy a game that keeps things real but most importantly is fun. I rest my case.........I've always wanted to say that. Overall if you are looking for a great multiplayer experience that in my oppinion stands much higher than any other multiplayer game than click the exit button on your computer, click start then click shut down computer then slowly make your way to your wallet, grab out that extra $100 bucks and take a trip down to your local games store. Thanks to those people who have read this far and keep your eyes out for another review by James W. Expand
  12. Ikarus14
    Dec 20, 2009
    9
    I really don't understand what the complaints are about. This is simply one of the greatest games I have ever played and it never failed to amaze me with awe-inspiring graphics, thrilling set pieces and adictive multiplayer.
  13. bigdaddy
    Dec 26, 2009
    10
    The Graphics are amazing, the story is amazing, and even if your bored with the story there is an AMAZING multiplayer for you to enjoy. this game has a lot of replay value and will make you feel like your in the game. BUY THIS GAME.
  14. danm
    Dec 19, 2009
    9
    this is an overall great game they made plenty of improvemnets from MW1 although campaign couldve been longer the multiplayer is truly the highlight of this game a must buy
  15. [anonymous]
    Dec 22, 2009
    10
    The most comprehensive multiplayer FPS to date (so much equipment, great maps, great objectives). I love this game. After reading the negative reviews from other users, I can only say that these people must be 1) Not into FPS, 2) Not good at console FPS. or 3) stupid. You definitely have to be able to play at a certain level in multiplayer, or you will easily become frustrated.
  16. EvanS
    Dec 23, 2009
    10
    It takes a hell of a good game to get a 10 from me. Every game has flaws, but Modern Warfare has so few that it is easy to overlook them. Most of the problems are not actually with the game itself, but with the players online. The single player, while only a few hours long, has so many holy $#!T moments that there is never a dull moment. Online has been improved from COD4 in every way. It takes a hell of a good game to get a 10 from me. Every game has flaws, but Modern Warfare has so few that it is easy to overlook them. Most of the problems are not actually with the game itself, but with the players online. The single player, while only a few hours long, has so many holy $#!T moments that there is never a dull moment. Online has been improved from COD4 in every way. With customizable killstreaks, titles, host migration, and some amazing new maps, there isn't much more you could ask for. Expand
  17. JustinK
    Dec 27, 2009
    10
    This game is pretty good! Most people probably don't agree with this statement because they haven't played the other Cod's! Playing Cal of Duty 4: MW keeps you grasping the edge of your seat when playing MW2! It just keeps the excitement going, and going!
  18. Oct 2, 2010
    9
    Very good game. Campaign was pretty good, enjoyable specials ops but you can solo most of them. Multiplayer is good, except for some overpowered guns, dual wielding and perks BUT there are ways to counter these sort of problems as a silenced weapon to mention one. I suspect that the most people who gave this game a bad rating is getting whipped, go into a rage and turn the console off.Very good game. Campaign was pretty good, enjoyable specials ops but you can solo most of them. Multiplayer is good, except for some overpowered guns, dual wielding and perks BUT there are ways to counter these sort of problems as a silenced weapon to mention one. I suspect that the most people who gave this game a bad rating is getting whipped, go into a rage and turn the console off. Yes, multiplayer gets frustrating but once you know the maps, gun combinations, etc this game is very good. Recently new modes was introduced like Barebones Pro where killstreaks are disabled!! So if you have any complaints about overpowered killstreaks just jump into this mode. Expand
  19. Dec 28, 2010
    9
    This game is really great and there is no denying this. The campaign was solid, really exciting, adrenaline pumped, had a good plot, good scenes and cut scenes, and of course connectable bad ass characters. The sound is great and realistic, and the musical score really adds to make the scene. Specs mode is lots of fun, there are TONS of missions that will keep you busy for awhile which youThis game is really great and there is no denying this. The campaign was solid, really exciting, adrenaline pumped, had a good plot, good scenes and cut scenes, and of course connectable bad ass characters. The sound is great and realistic, and the musical score really adds to make the scene. Specs mode is lots of fun, there are TONS of missions that will keep you busy for awhile which you can do with your friends at different difficulties. All of them are unique in their own way and so much fun. Now lets get to the MP. It seems that now that it seems to be the "cool" thing to hate on mw2 ridiculously. I find this completely stupid and hypocritical. People the complain about the game continue to play it, which means IW must of done something right to make it that fun and addicting to make you continue playing. People don't give the game enough credit and fail to realize what it's done. It has awesome killstreaks, awesome tight guns, graphically beautiful and original maps. I have never had so much fun with an FPS before in my life. COD4 is more balanced, but as fun or as packed as MW2. Yes, the nuke boosting and noob tubes can sometimes be a nuisance but it's not the end of the world as hardcore gamers claim. It's liveable. I love using the AC130 and love going for the nuke as a challenge. And you know what? The flaws of the game make the game more interesting and provide for rants and a "booster justice" game mode. MW2 is by far a much better game than Black Ops. Anyone who says different, is obviously in denial and is a stupid hypocrite. Expand
  20. Dec 26, 2010
    9
    The sequel to COD4 I'd give 90 out of 100 compared to the 94 out of 100 I gave COD4. This game added a few "tweaks" to the multiplayer making it even more fun. After all, the perks and leveling is what makes the game addictive and the "options" you have for kill streak bonuses are even greater. But, the single player was hard to follow. It again had some great moments but I'm sure manyThe sequel to COD4 I'd give 90 out of 100 compared to the 94 out of 100 I gave COD4. This game added a few "tweaks" to the multiplayer making it even more fun. After all, the perks and leveling is what makes the game addictive and the "options" you have for kill streak bonuses are even greater. But, the single player was hard to follow. It again had some great moments but I'm sure many felt it was more of the same but with much less plot or any direction. While SP was fun I didn't really understand what the story was all about because it seemed to jump around a bit with very little tying it all together. So, even though this game was great and equally addictive as COD4 there are definitely some irritations such as the knuckleheads that run around with marathon, lightweight, and commando perks. Imagine some teenage punk running around twice the speed as humanly possible, unlimited sprint, stabbing you from clear across the room before you can even put a single round into him with a sub machine gun... not very realistic. If they took away just a couple of these annoying perks the game would be more fun and probably the only reason I can't give this game a 10.

    I will be looking to Battlefield Bad Company 2 next to see what this is all about. It claims to be a more realistic MP experience and it might be a good change of pace for this genre. I will give my thoughts on that in a little bit after I've played it for a while.
    Expand
  21. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    cccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooolllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllcccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooolllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll ggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaammmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee Expand
  22. Jun 16, 2011
    10
    I think this is the best game in the world! I really like the single player and the spec ops are very funny.
  23. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    Really good game that sets the bar, graphically, for first person shooters. Alot of fun in the quick campaign. Spec ops is a blast. Mulitplayer is great, improves everything from the first entry in the series. The game feels like its following too closely in its predecessors footsteps and suffers slightly for it.
  24. Jul 30, 2013
    9
    Modern Warfare 2 is an improvement on Call of Duty 4. Campaign is short but compelling, Special Ops is a slick package of a variety of mini missions but it's the multiplayer that keeps you hooked on Call of Duty.

    It has a lot of depth, killstreaks allow you to do more than just shoot. It's very rewarding and awesome to use. In Call of Duty 4, you only had 3. In Modern Warfare 2, you can
    Modern Warfare 2 is an improvement on Call of Duty 4. Campaign is short but compelling, Special Ops is a slick package of a variety of mini missions but it's the multiplayer that keeps you hooked on Call of Duty.

    It has a lot of depth, killstreaks allow you to do more than just shoot. It's very rewarding and awesome to use. In Call of Duty 4, you only had 3. In Modern Warfare 2, you can only use three but you have 15 killstreaks to choose from.

    Modern Warfare 2 introduces several new features, not seen in Call of Duty, aside from new weapons, equipment and perks that upgrade to "pro versions" after meeting utilization requirements. If you're really good, you can get a nuke (25 killstreak) and the person who use it will win for the player, him or herself, or the team no matter who's winning.

    Host migration is a bit annoying, since the host likes to rage quit, but it lets you continue on with the game instead of going back to the lobby, where you would lose your victory points and extra exp if you were about to win.

    Third person is an option in selected game types and there are new game types as well as the return of Team Deathmatch, Search & Destroy etc. Trophies/achievements is very easy so this game is a good collection for you trophy/achievement whores as there are no multiplayer achievements, though you would need two players for some.

    Special Ops has a variety of mini missions from snowmobile race to eliminating enemies. Special Ops is great if you need a change from multiplayer. Graphics isn't the best but it runs consistently at 60 FPS on console. Consistent frame rate is required for competitive play rather than graphics that makes you go "wow" and there are loads of better looking games out there, such as Uncharted as well as Final Fantasy.

    People like to annoy you online, doesn't make the game itself bad. If you run into some annoying c**t, just mute him. Simple! People b***hing about trickshotters. So what? They get killed more than they kill anyway. Again, doesn't make the game bad. It's how the player chooses to play. Killstreaks isn't consistent but it's how the franchise evolves. It's one of the best shooters out today so if you haven't played it, you're missing out.
    Expand
  25. michaelk
    Jan 8, 2010
    10
    i really struggle to understand all the negative feedback this game is getting its easily one of the best games i've ever played yes the story makes little sense but this doesn't detract from the fun of shooting my way through so many fantasticly built levels, spec-ops is amazing fun even more so when played with a friend and the multiplayer is so good i probably will still be i really struggle to understand all the negative feedback this game is getting its easily one of the best games i've ever played yes the story makes little sense but this doesn't detract from the fun of shooting my way through so many fantasticly built levels, spec-ops is amazing fun even more so when played with a friend and the multiplayer is so good i probably will still be playing it in 2 years when the sequel comes out Expand
  26. EricD
    Dec 12, 2009
    9
    i'm amazed at the blatant attempt by the users to bring down the score of this game. I mean really....you're going to rate it zero based off the notion that you're pissed that you can't kick another player from the game? the user scores being lowered like this is an obvious outright manipulation of the true value assessment of this game. get a life. - this game is i'm amazed at the blatant attempt by the users to bring down the score of this game. I mean really....you're going to rate it zero based off the notion that you're pissed that you can't kick another player from the game? the user scores being lowered like this is an obvious outright manipulation of the true value assessment of this game. get a life. - this game is great, -maps are more complex, the weapons perks are more rewarding, there are a multitude of different options to customize, -gameplay is solid as always, - if there are any problems, it's nothing that can't be reconciled with a good patch. -- 2 thumbs way up. Expand
  27. BrentA
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    Simply put this game is incredible. You people out there that rate this a 1-6 are morons who haven't actually played the game.
  28. RichardM
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    Not as groundbreaking as cod4. But underneath its new slick, perhaps camper ridden exterior lies a game of depth and versaitility. Okay the one player a spec ops are decent. But its the multiplayer that sets it aside from games like killzone and even its predecessor. It has a plethora of game modes, guns, equipment and perks. The scope ( pardon the pun) for improving and developing your Not as groundbreaking as cod4. But underneath its new slick, perhaps camper ridden exterior lies a game of depth and versaitility. Okay the one player a spec ops are decent. But its the multiplayer that sets it aside from games like killzone and even its predecessor. It has a plethora of game modes, guns, equipment and perks. The scope ( pardon the pun) for improving and developing your own skills and styles in the game are endless. This game is a joy to behold and will keep even the most casual of gamers hooked online for many many months, and in my case years. Expand
  29. JamesA
    Jan 12, 2010
    9
    This is one of the best PS3 games I've been on, better than CoD4 for sure but I agree with most of the other reviews, there are way too many campers.
  30. JerryG
    Jan 23, 2010
    9
    For the most part I enjoy a game for the fun factor and don't get into all the complicated crap a lot of people say on here. This game this game is fun and after a few months is still fun. After spending a year in Iraq that is all I am looking for......fun!
  31. JosephK
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    Its absolutly ridiculous the internet backlash this game is gettn, sure it got a ton of hype and fer some sad reason people feel like its cool to go against the hype(its clear that some people just dont like the game who give it 6's and 7's. thats fine )Everything has been ramped up from the original, the graphics are some of the best on ps3, definetly better than cod4's Its absolutly ridiculous the internet backlash this game is gettn, sure it got a ton of hype and fer some sad reason people feel like its cool to go against the hype(its clear that some people just dont like the game who give it 6's and 7's. thats fine )Everything has been ramped up from the original, the graphics are some of the best on ps3, definetly better than cod4's and although the story is very short and not as cohesive as cod4's it really is a thrillride where amazingly every single mission is a joy to play through so overall short but very sweet. Spec ops is pretty damn fun with a mate and they have definetly made some changes to the multiplayer but overall im still as hooked on it as i was on cod4's. Sure sometimes i feel like throwing the game out the window with the lag and campers but the highs far outweigh the lows. look its obvious this is one of the best games ever made and I respect people who think this just isnt their thing, but I feel sorry for all the biased sad people who give this a 0 or a 2 cus they're missing out on a real gem. Expand
  32. SachinT
    Jan 4, 2010
    10
    Why the hell r people givin this game such low scores? n sayin that nothin has been improved?! The single player while short, offers alot more cinematic moments, the music is epic, gameplay is again very sharp , the spec ops mode is a nice add, even the visuals on multiplayer llook superior to cod4's sp visuals. The multiplayer is the best online xperience you can ever have in a Why the hell r people givin this game such low scores? n sayin that nothin has been improved?! The single player while short, offers alot more cinematic moments, the music is epic, gameplay is again very sharp , the spec ops mode is a nice add, even the visuals on multiplayer llook superior to cod4's sp visuals. The multiplayer is the best online xperience you can ever have in a game! Tonnes of new attachments, perks, n kill streak rewards r included. So bascally IW improved on every aspect of the 1st MW. This game is the GOTY for sure!! So if you're planning on buyin this game n r a bit skeptical after reading these negative comments, ignore!! because these people either suck at it or are bitcin about the lack of dedicated servers for pc. Just buy the game n enjoy!! Expand
  33. CodyB
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Lives up to the hype. One of the best games this generation among the original Call of Duty 4, Metal Gear Solid 4, Left 4 Dead, & Uncharted 2.
  34. HansS
    Jan 12, 2010
    10
    the Best game Ever Good Story unbeatable multiplayer good gameplay this is killing me
  35. RichardM
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    Not as groundbreaking as cod4. But underneath its new slick, perhaps camper ridden exterior lies a game of depth and versaitility. Okay the one player a spec ops are decent. But its the multiplayer that sets it aside from games like killzone and even its predecessor. It has a plethora of game modes, guns, equipment and perks. The scope ( pardon the pun) for improving and developing your Not as groundbreaking as cod4. But underneath its new slick, perhaps camper ridden exterior lies a game of depth and versaitility. Okay the one player a spec ops are decent. But its the multiplayer that sets it aside from games like killzone and even its predecessor. It has a plethora of game modes, guns, equipment and perks. The scope ( pardon the pun) for improving and developing your own skills and styles in the game are endless. This game is a joy to behold and will keep even the most casual of gamers hooked online for many many months, and in my case years. Expand
  36. jt
    Jan 27, 2010
    9
    hahaha i love all the bad reviews for this game. I hate the way the critcs give this such high remarks feels like the critics are in infinity ward/activisions purse. This game is good, a 9 out of 10. the first game was better. This game is all non stop crazy fast pace scared to reload action, But does that warrant a great game?? No it does not, a balanced blend of stealth action and fast hahaha i love all the bad reviews for this game. I hate the way the critcs give this such high remarks feels like the critics are in infinity ward/activisions purse. This game is good, a 9 out of 10. the first game was better. This game is all non stop crazy fast pace scared to reload action, But does that warrant a great game?? No it does not, a balanced blend of stealth action and fast paced action makes a balanced game like the 1st game great. Should not get all these great scores just because online is fun. 50% online and 50% single player equals true score Expand
  37. NikkoC
    Jan 4, 2010
    10
    Awesome. Servers fixed (no preference for territories which SHOULDNT get them)... albeit that the online racism and ignorance of the american players has been replaced by the same from the aussies. I am amazed at how lame and inbred so many of them are - seriously. The Losers. Here is a classic e.g. "Oh duuude, I don't speak Scottish duuude" LOL. Nice one yank, firstly the scottish Awesome. Servers fixed (no preference for territories which SHOULDNT get them)... albeit that the online racism and ignorance of the american players has been replaced by the same from the aussies. I am amazed at how lame and inbred so many of them are - seriously. The Losers. Here is a classic e.g. "Oh duuude, I don't speak Scottish duuude" LOL. Nice one yank, firstly the scottish are a people, they speak ENGLISH. Secondly I am a kiwi, so I'm only half a world away you LOSERS. Aside from he low IQ and "run n gun" or you are a cheat attitude of gamist, retarded morons who don't know a thing about WAR... where death is permanent - This game mimics war, so 'camping' cleverly etc IS the proper way U play you complete wastes of server and physical space. From the graphics, to the sound, to the many little touches and adrenalin-soaked moments, and even despite the online MORONS in abundance, this is one of the ALL-TIME greats. And run n gunners.... I LOVE U GUYS!! I put bullets in your f****** head. 8-) Expand
  38. ReneN
    Feb 15, 2010
    9
    I am very tired of seeing all of the reviews that either say this game was made out of gold or that it was made from hell. This game is a collaboration of both and I will tell you why. First the good: There is a large selection of guns going from the P90 of COD4 to the ACR assault rifle used by many people in the online multiplayer. The maps are phenomenal including Terminal and my I am very tired of seeing all of the reviews that either say this game was made out of gold or that it was made from hell. This game is a collaboration of both and I will tell you why. First the good: There is a large selection of guns going from the P90 of COD4 to the ACR assault rifle used by many people in the online multiplayer. The maps are phenomenal including Terminal and my personal favorite Sub Base. The online play is never stale and always leaves a fresh taste in your mouth.This a much better multiplayer than COD4 in my opinion. Now I will talk about the bad: First of all when you get a big map such as Karachi and Estate you will have what are known as campers who have enough time to just sit in one spot the entire time and sometimes will ruin the fun for other people. Then there are problems with spawning where you can spawn behind a person and get a kill or you can spawn in front of a person and be killed. The biggest problem in the entire game though is the lag which ranges from about 100 different problems but I will only talk about 2 more common problems. The problems can be that you have a person directly in front of you and he doesn't know and he somehow disappears from your line of sight. But the worst problem of all is the close combat where you can have a lag spike where it can either show you firing at a person but they manage to kill you and when the kill camera ( which shows it from the killers point if view) it can show that you didn't even hoot a single bullet or you can try to knife and it doesn't come out. So overall this game is very fun and will satisfy you with the online multiplayer for months until the next very anticipated game comes out but out of everything the game is a wonderful experience and will be played for a long time which reminds me that I need to play this game right now. Good bye! Expand
  39. GregM
    Feb 17, 2010
    9
    Decent multiplayer, decent co-op, insane multiplayer. This game hasn't been faring too well when you look at the user scores and I think that's got to do with the fact that a lot of ppeople who use meta-critic are fairly hardcore gamers, yet all my mates are fairly casual and they love it. If you want deep online gameplay try something else this is pure run and gun action at its best.
  40. TomL
    Feb 18, 2010
    9
    The graphics are stellar, the plot is engaging. Spec-Ops adds instant fun by dropping you directly into the action. The multiplayer experience, however, depends on patience. When you first start, you will be undoubtedly hammered and destroyed. It will take many weeks to discover tactics and combination of perks to overcome the enemy. I think the reason most people gave the game bad The graphics are stellar, the plot is engaging. Spec-Ops adds instant fun by dropping you directly into the action. The multiplayer experience, however, depends on patience. When you first start, you will be undoubtedly hammered and destroyed. It will take many weeks to discover tactics and combination of perks to overcome the enemy. I think the reason most people gave the game bad reviews is because they haven't been very patient with the game and rage-quitted like newbies. The reason it isnt 10 is because of the ridiculous hype. It would never of lived up to the expectations, which deflated many players just a bit. Expand
  41. markn
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    amazing! I wish all those PC whiners would shut up about their dedicated servers. If I hear one more loser mention that IW is "forgetting their roots" or that IW owes everything to PC gamers I'm going to vomit. All the PC copies of previous versions were pirated anyways so IW's not losing any money by doing this, AND they are right - playing online PC sucked because half the amazing! I wish all those PC whiners would shut up about their dedicated servers. If I hear one more loser mention that IW is "forgetting their roots" or that IW owes everything to PC gamers I'm going to vomit. All the PC copies of previous versions were pirated anyways so IW's not losing any money by doing this, AND they are right - playing online PC sucked because half the gamers their using hacks and crap anyways. Bottom line: this game rocks and PC owners are babies. Want some cheese with that whine? Expand
  42. HannesN
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Why does this game have such a bad mark on user score? i bet its all those ppl saying like how much hype this game is getting that give it low points, they should first play the game online, and then they'll understand!
  43. moto
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Considering it has the same gameplay, the PS3 version offers the best online side of it for the simple reason that all the screaming kids are on xbox live and the PC version has been bitch slapped to only play on official servers with a reduced player count.
  44. ChrisA
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    This is a refined version of the first Modern Warfare, thats by no means meant to be a critical statement. Its FPS par excellence! Lots of depth and very rewarding if you learn how to play it properly. Infinity Ward releases are the only ones you should consider in the COD franchise and this is the evidence! My only criticism is that with all the money raked in from Modern Warfare 2 This is a refined version of the first Modern Warfare, thats by no means meant to be a critical statement. Its FPS par excellence! Lots of depth and very rewarding if you learn how to play it properly. Infinity Ward releases are the only ones you should consider in the COD franchise and this is the evidence! My only criticism is that with all the money raked in from Modern Warfare 2 setting up servers for centrally hosting multiplayer games should have been a priority, instead Activision decided that profit should come before quality of the online experience, but in fairness I have very few complaints about the reliability of the multiplayer games, and considering that this will be its busiest period, then things can only get better. Expand
  45. RajivM
    Dec 6, 2009
    9
    The massive hype up to this game and it is here at last! You get immersed into the campaign which is a gripping storyline. There is also special ops so you can play parts of missions with your mates which is always a laugh! Online can be frustrating connecting to a game but once your playing it is a load of fun killing other people. The only reason it dropped a perfect ten is due to the The massive hype up to this game and it is here at last! You get immersed into the campaign which is a gripping storyline. There is also special ops so you can play parts of missions with your mates which is always a laugh! Online can be frustrating connecting to a game but once your playing it is a load of fun killing other people. The only reason it dropped a perfect ten is due to the problems online and the fact that the maps aren't as good as Call of Duty 4. I know people are complaining that it's too similar to COD4 but it is 'Modern Warfare 2' aka. the sequel to COD4 so it's supposed to be similar. And as for missing speech out during the game, this is a good thing as it is as if you are actually in war as explosions and gunfire are going off everywhere and your trying to listen to your superior. Well worth getting and a brilliant war game. Expand
  46. anonymous
    Dec 7, 2009
    9
    Awesome Game. All these noob users who give a low rating should be shot on sight. Hold O to go prone. Learn to play the game and then you'll love it.
  47. AlexC
    Jan 16, 2010
    10
    This game has a great varaity of levels including an oil rig Afgan etc. The multiplayer is amazing as you unlock guns,titles,emblems,kill streak rewards and camo for your gun. The new spec ops is a good idea seeing as you can play online or single player!
  48. ShaneD
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    I dont understand people who give this game low ratings. Its a imporoved versoin of the series and honestly the funnest game out right now. The multiplayer actoin is better then call of duty 4. I dont think anyone can find something that needs to be improved on.
  49. AdamJ
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    Wow! If I have to stumble through one more poorly spelled rant that nails simple grammar to a cross about what a "bad" game this is, I'm going to go nuts. People complain about the number of people allowed in multiplayer matches. You can have 512 and 1024 people matches and it could still be a mess if it's not balanced correctly. MW2 multiplayer has a brilliant balance and the Wow! If I have to stumble through one more poorly spelled rant that nails simple grammar to a cross about what a "bad" game this is, I'm going to go nuts. People complain about the number of people allowed in multiplayer matches. You can have 512 and 1024 people matches and it could still be a mess if it's not balanced correctly. MW2 multiplayer has a brilliant balance and the number of people playing is more than enough to keep battle chaotic, fast and fun. The single player is short, but it is a very well-conceived single player. The airport scene will be talked about and debated for a while to come and experiencing that was unlike anything I have experienced in 20 years of dedicated gaming. Sure, they don't tell the most realistic story ever, but it is entertaining. That's what interactive entertainment is all about, right? And what is with the knock of saying, "this is just like Call of Duty 4.5" and then giving a review score of zero? COD4 was a brilliant game that won multiple game of the year awards. If a game builds on that and you say so in your review, how can you give it a zero? Sheesh. Truth is, this game is a 9. Giving a 10 to try to balance out the ridiculous scores. The campaign could have been longer, but everything else is well done. Enough tweeks were made to multiplayer to make it interesting all over again and the game is very...very pretty. While Uncharted 2 is still better, don't miss out on this! It's one of the year's best games. Expand
  50. HannesN
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    Why does this game have such a bad mark on user score? i bet its all those ppl saying like how much hype this game is getting that give it low points, they should first play the game online, and then they'll understand!
  51. AndrejM
    Nov 13, 2009
    10
    No custom maps No mods No tweaking No dedicated servers No playing higher then 9v9 Higher pings Harsh DRM(Steam) No community Shorter single player from CoD4 No competitive play Forced hosting $10 extra price Don't even waste your time, critic reviews are paid.
  52. StephenW
    Dec 14, 2009
    10
    There is nothing wrong with this game. It plays exactly like the first but it's better overall in quality. You have no reason for not having this game collect dust with the rest of your PS3 games.
  53. JP
    Dec 15, 2009
    10
    This game is awesome. graphics are super, the online multiplayer is really fun and the campaign is great even though its a little short i still love this game. this game is a must buy!! definetly in my top 5 also!!!!
  54. yesaig
    Dec 22, 2009
    10
    this game is awesome infinityward pulled a 10 the graphic with this game sound effect, history is something shorter than the previous one but certainly worth buying
  55. OskarK
    Dec 28, 2009
    10
    The Campaign is very intense and action packed, the Spec Ops is surprisingly varied and challenging, and the Multiplayer is just divine! I find MW2 the best game since GTA 4.
  56. fabp
    Dec 4, 2009
    10
    this truly is the best game in the history of gaming not for the only line play, and not for the the fact that they made this one more fair compaired to mw1. the reson why this game is so good is because of the story line no matter where you are from you need to respect the courage of the creators who made an invation of the states a mission in the game. no matter where you are from this truly is the best game in the history of gaming not for the only line play, and not for the the fact that they made this one more fair compaired to mw1. the reson why this game is so good is because of the story line no matter where you are from you need to respect the courage of the creators who made an invation of the states a mission in the game. no matter where you are from people see the u.s.a as an invinsable force and this game really did humble the U.S. Also i find this to be a history lesson because this situation really shows the stress between the former U.S.S.R. and the U.S. during the cold war this very well could have happened, or worst then. they had computors calculating then what the casualties would be, what the fallout would be, how long humanity would be forced underground because radiation. this game truly is the game to end all games. Once agin it seems the COD serise has produced an even greater game that forces us to think and reflect on what we would do. Expand
  57. KyleJ
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    Don't believe the haters. They just can't accept the fact that Infinity Ward has released another amazing game. Sure, the story mode can be 3 hours long if you play it on easy and skip all the between mission scenes, but if you play it on a higher difficulty you'll not only have more fun, but the missions will feel more satisfying. This game could not have been an expansion Don't believe the haters. They just can't accept the fact that Infinity Ward has released another amazing game. Sure, the story mode can be 3 hours long if you play it on easy and skip all the between mission scenes, but if you play it on a higher difficulty you'll not only have more fun, but the missions will feel more satisfying. This game could not have been an expansion and those who say so obviously have not played it. There is so much to do in this game that you will probably have to lock yourself in the basement for a year (I exaggerate, but you get the point). The single player ends, then you can go into SpecOps mode and play the missions from the story again, and also some bonus missions (the best from COD4 and some between the story ones that you don't play in the story). SpecOps can be played in single player, split screen or online mode. The higher the difficulty setting, the more stars you are awarded for trophies. The multiplayer is amazing. There are awards for almost anything you do. You can upgrade your perks, weapons and weapon add-ons (ie silencers, thermal scope, acog scope, holographic scope, red dot sight, etc) by using them and completing certain tasks like getting X amount of kills while using it. You also can unlock different badges while you rank up and choose what you want your tag to look like, with a background and icon on the side. This isn't required of course, but it sets you apart from others because you can show off the tags you've unlocked. The kill streaks are now customizable. You can choose up to 3 kill streak perks that you can use. Everything from manning an AC-130, launching a predator missile, calling in ammo crates and support and even launching an endgame tactical nuke. The maps are amazing as well. They really have something for everyone in them. If you like to snipe, most maps are big enough for that. If you like to run and gun, they are set up for you too. I've never seen a game that put so much into it so that we as gamers could enjoy it. Do not let ignorant comments fool you, they just want to be different (even at the cost of demonstrating blatant ignorance and using logical fallacies; their opinions make no sense). They also want to be noticed, this is called ADD. This is the biggest selling entertainment piece ever. Don't believe me? Look up the statistics for Modern Warfare 2's first day. This game is epic. Expand
  58. ScottJ
    Dec 11, 2009
    9
    Good game. Don't listen to the bad reviews. If you like call of duty(any of them) then this is for you. If you want a game that will last you for over a year with no monthly fee then buy this game. I won't get into why the game is good but I will state why I did not give the game a perfect score...this game is too short for a purchase for single player. Buy this if you want to Good game. Don't listen to the bad reviews. If you like call of duty(any of them) then this is for you. If you want a game that will last you for over a year with no monthly fee then buy this game. I won't get into why the game is good but I will state why I did not give the game a perfect score...this game is too short for a purchase for single player. Buy this if you want to play the single player and then have fun with friends or strangers online. Expand
  59. nickh
    Dec 14, 2009
    10
    It is the best game ever! if you like the call of duty series don't listen to the ones who give bad reviews. and admit it people the singleplayer story may be short but it is worth playing especially the multiplayer online!.
  60. aeron6tdl
    Dec 24, 2009
    9
    ''outrages'' is the first word that pops into my head when i play mw2. whats not to like awsome graphics killer game play and a whole bunch of awsome stuff,i give a...a 9
  61. BopGun
    Dec 26, 2009
    9
    This game is fantastic. For starters, the campaign is short but exciting and without filler. The new Spec ops co-op mode supports online or offline splitscreen play, but uses the same crappy split screen layout as codWAW. Its stil a blast. The multiplayer has been getting a lot of poor user reviews. Youve got to recognize that this IS a different game. Its a sequel and they made some This game is fantastic. For starters, the campaign is short but exciting and without filler. The new Spec ops co-op mode supports online or offline splitscreen play, but uses the same crappy split screen layout as codWAW. Its stil a blast. The multiplayer has been getting a lot of poor user reviews. Youve got to recognize that this IS a different game. Its a sequel and they made some changes that take a little getting used to. i initially didnt care for it but have grown to appreciate the pace of it. The multiplayer has made HUGE leaps forward in all areas and it kicks ass. and i was a huge cod4 fan. buy this game Expand
  62. Mike
    Dec 28, 2009
    9
    Great game. It was my first Call of Duty on the PS3 & it won't be the last. First player storyline was fantastic. The Special Ops feature which I'm currently on now is tough as nails but they've made it very addicting. The challenge it presents isn't impossible. I am not a serious gamer but it certainly brings back the charisma I had for gaming that I had with the SNES. lol
  63. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    The single player may be way too short, the spec ops may be a bit tiring and seem pointless. But the multi-player always brings me back for more. This game is responsible for dragging me away from other great games, however i must say, red dead redemption broke that trend. Anyway, an excellent game and a must-have for all console games. There are many haters out there, but how can youThe single player may be way too short, the spec ops may be a bit tiring and seem pointless. But the multi-player always brings me back for more. This game is responsible for dragging me away from other great games, however i must say, red dead redemption broke that trend. Anyway, an excellent game and a must-have for all console games. There are many haters out there, but how can you complain, never before has a multi-player experience been so immersive. I'm not a fan boy, i play many games, but this game just stands out on the FPS market. Expand
  64. Aug 17, 2010
    10
    I know there are a lot of haters out there(I don't know why) but this is a great game. Trust the real game review sites, not a Battlefield bad company fanboy posting here. Amazing graphics, decent storyline, great sound, amazing co-op, and one of the best multiplayers. A must-have game!
  65. Aug 18, 2010
    9
    After Modern Warfare awesome release, this game is the best! The graphics are excellent, the story is great, and the weapons are cool! But, after playing the missions over and over again..it kinda gets boring. But when you play online, it is entertaining!!! But I liked the game alot!
  66. Oct 28, 2010
    9
    i am a call of duty fan and i have played most of the call of duty games and i think this was a very good game. The campaign was very enjoyable and spec ops is good as well its good teamwork builder. The multi player is very good i admit its full of campers and noob tubers but i cant in good conscience blame the game for that its not infinity ward fault for that its the noobs playing buti am a call of duty fan and i have played most of the call of duty games and i think this was a very good game. The campaign was very enjoyable and spec ops is good as well its good teamwork builder. The multi player is very good i admit its full of campers and noob tubers but i cant in good conscience blame the game for that its not infinity ward fault for that its the noobs playing but the game itself is very well made Expand
  67. Aug 26, 2010
    9
    If you dont have online capabilities do not buy this game. The single player mode is average at best. Split screen is annoying when playing two player. That being said, this game has a very good online multiplayer mode. I spent days playing with friends on this game. Its the best online first person shooter out there with so many different ways of killing your opponent with a vast arrayIf you dont have online capabilities do not buy this game. The single player mode is average at best. Split screen is annoying when playing two player. That being said, this game has a very good online multiplayer mode. I spent days playing with friends on this game. Its the best online first person shooter out there with so many different ways of killing your opponent with a vast array of weapons. One thing that is a bit annoying is that other than team death match and free for all the other modes seem a bit stupid, i mean who wants to capture a flag? this isnt paintballing its supposed to be modern warfare.
    Overall a 9 based on online play.
    Expand
  68. Aug 25, 2010
    9
    How much hate from Battlefield fans is this game getting? A lot. Many people who hate this game say they played the single player in something ridiculous like 3 hours. Simply, they didn't 'play' the game, they rushed through it on recruit deliberately trying to beat the game as quickly as possible so they could boast about how short it is. It isn't 3 hours long. It's probably around 6 or 8How much hate from Battlefield fans is this game getting? A lot. Many people who hate this game say they played the single player in something ridiculous like 3 hours. Simply, they didn't 'play' the game, they rushed through it on recruit deliberately trying to beat the game as quickly as possible so they could boast about how short it is. It isn't 3 hours long. It's probably around 6 or 8 hours long which isn't massive but the set piece moments are so epic they more than make up for it's length. Any longer and they game would feel 'too long' and ruin the single player campaign's 'perfection'. The multiplayer has been getting the most hate, with reviews on Metacritic as lazy as: Commando, Danger Close, One Man Army, unbalanced lag fest. I can't honestly understand the hate behind this game. Sure, it has it's flaws, but at the right moments it's satisfying and fun. The biggest complaint about the multiplayer for me, is probably the grenade launcher. Aside from that it's outright the best multiplayer experience of 2009. The graphics are fantastic, with just a few poor textures de voiding it of perfection. Special Ops is a little boring and uninspired when paired with Nazi Zombies but serves as a decent extension for those bored with the multiplayer. The bottom line is that the single player is very nearly perfect and the multiplayer will last you for many months if you can put up with dying once in a while. Expand
  69. Oct 15, 2010
    10
    Call of duty Modern Warfare 2 is a really good shooter which has really good online as well. The missions are action packed with lots of action in each of the missions, it has lots of guns you can use in them with RPGâ
  70. Oct 15, 2010
    10
    Call Of Duty : modern warfare 2, Is without a doubt the best shooting game out. the graphics are wonderful, The game play is awesome!, Playing multi-player online with friends is so fun that you could play it 4 hours non stop, also you never get bored with the game even after playing it 6 hours!. The only problem with the game is the story-mode is a little too short as you could completeCall Of Duty : modern warfare 2, Is without a doubt the best shooting game out. the graphics are wonderful, The game play is awesome!, Playing multi-player online with friends is so fun that you could play it 4 hours non stop, also you never get bored with the game even after playing it 6 hours!. The only problem with the game is the story-mode is a little too short as you could complete it within 6 hours. Overall the story mode is like watching a movie,The Scenes are very intense. At the end of the day i recommend this game to everyone even if you don't play console games you just have to play this game, it is well worth the money!.It is one of the most expensive games out at £55.00 but it is worth it!. The story mode is quiet complicated as you start of as a soldier in Afghanistan fighting the terrorists, The player assumes the role of various characters during the single-player campaign, changing perspectives throughout the progression of the story.
    Each mission features a series of objectives that are displayed on the head up display, which marks the direction and distance towards and from such objectives. Damage to the player is shown by blood shown on the screen. The player's health regenerates as time passes. Tasks vary in their requirements, having the player arrive at a particular checkpoint, eliminate enemies in a specified location, stand their ground to defend an objective, or plant explosive charges on an enemy installation. The player is accompanied by friendly troops who cannot be issued orders. Laptop computers that contain enemy intelligence appear throughout the campaign and may be collected. The Plot is quiet engaging, the Ultranationalists seize control of Russia and declare Imran Zakhaev a hero and martyr, erecting a statue of him in the heart of Red Square. Meanwhile, Vladimir Makarov, one of Zakhaev's former lieutenants, begins a campaign against Europe by committing acts of terrorism over the course of five years.
    Expand
  71. Oct 15, 2010
    10
    Modern ware 2 is a excellent game with epic shooting and epic bombings the whole sounds feel like your in the movie the single player mode is quite good with first hand shooting this game is very good but there is certain things I donâ
  72. Nov 1, 2010
    9
    A solid single player which was actually challenging on normal mode for a change, but the multi-player, as always is what i bought this for and it didn't disappoint, although it is still very laggy at times, and lots of games still end early even though though a new host is meant to be found, but seldom happens efficiently.
  73. Oct 23, 2010
    9
    From start to finish, this is the game all shooters should be compared to. The visuals are epic, the campaign is deep, cool and entertaining and the multiplayer is a breath of fresh air from those horrible clunky 3rd person shooters! In fact the only reason this game doesn't deserve a 10 is there's a balance problem. Noob tubes can be annoying and campers are just a huge pain in the ass.From start to finish, this is the game all shooters should be compared to. The visuals are epic, the campaign is deep, cool and entertaining and the multiplayer is a breath of fresh air from those horrible clunky 3rd person shooters! In fact the only reason this game doesn't deserve a 10 is there's a balance problem. Noob tubes can be annoying and campers are just a huge pain in the ass. I'm not a guy that hates a game for small flaws but these definitely count into the final score. People should really see past the fact that yes there's an extremely irritating grenade launcher and heartbeat sensor but if they took that out people would find another way to be **** noobs. IW did a class job on this game and it should be remembered for a long time to come. Expand
  74. Jun 6, 2011
    10
    Single player is pretty solid. But lets be fair it's about multiplayer . Akelz7 made a very good point. People who are rubbish at this game & get owned say it's poor because they are no good. Put in a lot of time in this game. Experience the perks. The weapons , the attachments and the levels and you will appreciate it in a whole new way. This game is faaaar from perfect however.Single player is pretty solid. But lets be fair it's about multiplayer . Akelz7 made a very good point. People who are rubbish at this game & get owned say it's poor because they are no good. Put in a lot of time in this game. Experience the perks. The weapons , the attachments and the levels and you will appreciate it in a whole new way. This game is faaaar from perfect however. Overpowered air support. Stupidly powerful secondaries ( shotguns as secondaries come on!) . The guns also lack recoil and sway meaning they have a point and click feel and don't come close to a realistic feel. Taking into consideration all the previous points mentioned and the constant anger pointed at tubers and commando users and blah blah blah. It is still the best game on the market for people who want frantic, fun and action packed first person shooting. The only problem with enjoying this game online is that you HAVE to put in the time to be good at it FACT. Overall 2.5 years after it's release.6 months after Black ops and a few months after Killzone 3's release ( also a good game) it is still the best FPS out there by a long stretch. Expand
  75. Nov 21, 2010
    9
    COD4:MW2 - Continues where it's older brother left off. It has to be said it isn't the strongest single player game ever released and most people probably don't even bother with that aspect of the game. Sure the graphics are good and there are some fun and memorable bit's but it is all very liner and so hectic that you have a job to know what's going on.

    The big thing about the COD series
    COD4:MW2 - Continues where it's older brother left off. It has to be said it isn't the strongest single player game ever released and most people probably don't even bother with that aspect of the game. Sure the graphics are good and there are some fun and memorable bit's but it is all very liner and so hectic that you have a job to know what's going on.

    The big thing about the COD series is it was one of the first console multi player first person shooters to be played online, COD and Medal of Honour have been played by PC gamers for years and years, but the console and COD bought it to the masses, there are quite a few people I know who own a PS3 and only have 2 games, COD MW1 & MW2, that is how cult this game has become.

    Nothing comes close to the experience you get from playing COD online and any other FPS games now really do get labelled as imitiations as COD were one of the first. The key here is the addictive way you are rewarded, by earning XP the online mode is more like an offline platform games, it hooks you in with the promise of shiny new guns or perks. A bit like the trophy system on the PS3 you are compelled to go back for more.

    You can pick it up and play it for 5mins, 10mins or 3 hours and have some fun, most other games require a lot more attention and concentration.

    Sure it's not realistic and can be frustrating at times, there are a few glitches in the game and people hacking their online scores to be top, but I've got hours and hours of fun out of it and I don't regret it.
    Expand
  76. Feb 10, 2011
    10
    best call of duty, only people that dont like this game are people who are bad at it and dont like getting nube tubed. All the noobs complaining about this game is what brought black ops which is definitely the worst cod.
  77. Jul 31, 2011
    9
    I really don't know why everybody is **** about this game, the story is good, good graphics, decent game play, amazing multiplayer (and no I am not a Cod bum, I am not even that good). Sure not much has changed but why mess with a good formula.
  78. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    Stunning. Could'nt lay down the controller in campaign mode. Getting into multiplayer as well, at first ridiculously tough, but now moving up in rank fast. Co-op special ops are fun too. Full-on, this game.
  79. May 10, 2011
    9
    Following the groundbreaking and game changing Modern Warfare was never going to be an easy task. And whilst their are those who have slated and wrote this game off, I certainly don't fall into that category. Modern Warfare 2 is simply an amazing game. It doesn't have the effect that the original had on me but it was never going to instead its the all round improvement that makes youFollowing the groundbreaking and game changing Modern Warfare was never going to be an easy task. And whilst their are those who have slated and wrote this game off, I certainly don't fall into that category. Modern Warfare 2 is simply an amazing game. It doesn't have the effect that the original had on me but it was never going to instead its the all round improvement that makes you appreciate MW2 all the more. Just like the first game, single player mode is far too short. Thats the only disappointing aspect of the game you can complete it in under 5-6 hours. However the 5-6 hours are awesome. Again you play as 2 characters this time the your aim is to stop ultranationalist Vladimir Makarov who was a follower of MW villain Imran Zakhaev. The story takes you all over the globe from Rio to Afghanistan however it is a bit farfetched and at times you wonder what is going on but it is a game afterall. And the gameplay more than makes up for it. It uses the same engine from the first game, if something ain't broke why fix it? But somehow it seems better if thats possible! Also, the settings really do help with each level some of the graphics/visuals within each environment are gorgeous and only add to the experience. There's a big improvement in that department from the original, because as ive said visually MW2 is fantastic. The clincher for MW2 that makes it in a class of its own is Online/Multiplayer. Despite how short single player mode is Multiplayer more than makes up for it. You will find yourself engrossed online for hours on end, its terribly addictive. The levels give you a decent variety but aren't anywhere near as big as Battlefield. With multiple options on offer you can't go wrong online and you will always find yourself coming back for more! Then there is the new Spec-Ops which only adds to your experience and is an awesome addition to CoD letting you play alone or co-op with a friend you sample all the locations of the campaign but with different objectives and rewards which are divided into five different group mission, you can't go wrong with this and is a geat alternative if you get somehow manage to get bored online. As an all round package MW2 is dynamite. Single player will leave you both enthralled and frustarted by its shortness however is made up with the variety of options made available including the new Spec-Ops as well as the even dependable online, MW2 oncemore raises the bar and delivers another stellar performance and establishes itself as the number one game franchise. Expand
  80. Mar 30, 2011
    10
    Best Call of duty game in my veiw. Gripping Campaign, Brilliant multiplayer and i cant stop playing even though its 2011. the graphics are even better than black ops still 2 years ahead of MW2 i prefer it and many people i know do aswell.
  81. Jul 26, 2011
    9
    Similar to the counter part ( Xbox 360 version) in every way. The graphics , even with Blue Ray integrated isn't much difference , nothing at all to be more specific. Gameplay is inverted if you have played the 360 version, for instance if you shot in the 360 version in the RT, therefore in the PS3 version you shoot in the R1. PS3 version got a taste of what or how good the multiplayerSimilar to the counter part ( Xbox 360 version) in every way. The graphics , even with Blue Ray integrated isn't much difference , nothing at all to be more specific. Gameplay is inverted if you have played the 360 version, for instance if you shot in the 360 version in the RT, therefore in the PS3 version you shoot in the R1. PS3 version got a taste of what or how good the multiplayer of MW2 , but the constant Hacker's, Bugs , glitches is a busy struggle for those that want a nice moment of entertainment . Either way, if you like shooters I recommend you to play Black Ops if you don't want multiplayer problems, absolutely . Don't get me wrong, Modern Warfare is still playable, the campaign is fantastic and the multiplayer plays nice, it's just that those problems deteriorate the enjoyment , if you insist , well then have luck, Even with the updates. Expand
  82. Apr 17, 2011
    10
    This game has it all in my opinion. Great single player, the Special Operations games are fantastic and the Online Multiplayer is terrific. I don't understand the lows scores, since I would highly recommend this game as one of the best shooter experiences I've played. The whole package...
  83. May 24, 2011
    10
    Quite possibly the best game I have played in over 20 years of playing video games (definitely logged the most hours on this game by far). It boggles my mind to read so many negative reviews for this game. The campaign mode is amazing, and the multiplayer is extremely addicting. As with any game, there are some flaws (as noted in other reviews), but I'm pretty sure the perfect game has notQuite possibly the best game I have played in over 20 years of playing video games (definitely logged the most hours on this game by far). It boggles my mind to read so many negative reviews for this game. The campaign mode is amazing, and the multiplayer is extremely addicting. As with any game, there are some flaws (as noted in other reviews), but I'm pretty sure the perfect game has not been created yet. Can't wait for MW3. Expand
  84. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    This game was breathtaking. my first fps multiplayer experience was incredible. the graphics made me believe i was actually in the game. the campaign was awesome. the story did a horrible job of explaining itself, but each specific mission left me on the edge of my seat. it was short, but very good. the mp was great. there were quite a few bugs in the beginning, but they were fixedThis game was breathtaking. my first fps multiplayer experience was incredible. the graphics made me believe i was actually in the game. the campaign was awesome. the story did a horrible job of explaining itself, but each specific mission left me on the edge of my seat. it was short, but very good. the mp was great. there were quite a few bugs in the beginning, but they were fixed relatively quickly. i LOVED the title and emblem system. gave me a purpose to keep playing the game long after i had gotten to tenth prestige. most of the maps were great. they were a few that pised me off, but mostly they were great. there were problems with hackers and modders, but almost every game is going to have problems with that. i can see why people wouldn't like the game, but the pros GREATLY outweigh the cons. and please stop saying that BFBC2 is better. i played both, and enjoyed both. they are two separate entities. so please dont **** on our game and we wont **** on yours Expand
  85. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    This game may not be the best game ever, but it has a fun not too hard story mode and has great special ops and is really fun to play with friends and online
  86. Aug 26, 2011
    9
    a good game,not reaching the levels of the first MW, but seen in its own self, a satisfying experience. Wish Infinity Ward had done something different to attract more gamers.
  87. Jul 8, 2011
    9
    This is my second cod game that ive played. I really enjoyed the single player campaign it was epic and a lot of fun. But too short. The spec ops is very fun after you've finished the campaign most missions are based on the campaign, you unlock more spec ops missions by earning stars. The Multiplayer is a fun but that fun can be taken away by: Shotguners, Greanade Launchers, RPG's. OverThis is my second cod game that ive played. I really enjoyed the single player campaign it was epic and a lot of fun. But too short. The spec ops is very fun after you've finished the campaign most missions are based on the campaign, you unlock more spec ops missions by earning stars. The Multiplayer is a fun but that fun can be taken away by: Shotguners, Greanade Launchers, RPG's. Over powered perks like commando. The killstreaks are way too over powered. Once you get a harrier you get 4 kills with it. That makes you move on to the chopper gunner. And that leads to a tactical nuke. These are bad parts about it. When you are doing very good and are on a roll it's highly addicting.Overall it's a great game. Expand
  88. Sep 15, 2011
    10
    For me, the best first-person shooter video game of the year (2009). I play some other Call of Duty titles, but this one was the best campaign ever made. The really good thing about MW2 is definitely de on line mode (the best that i ever play). I recommended.
  89. Aug 26, 2011
    9
    From Infinity Ward comes the much anticipated Modern Warfare 2. You are 4 characters in this game PFC Joseph Allen, Pvt Ramirez, Sgt Gary "Roach" Sanderson and Soap the main protaginast from MW1. My rant is the PC multiplayer it is only adhoc matches which is a total pain. But a bonus for the Console multiplayer is an offline profile I play alot of offline for practice and with fantasticFrom Infinity Ward comes the much anticipated Modern Warfare 2. You are 4 characters in this game PFC Joseph Allen, Pvt Ramirez, Sgt Gary "Roach" Sanderson and Soap the main protaginast from MW1. My rant is the PC multiplayer it is only adhoc matches which is a total pain. But a bonus for the Console multiplayer is an offline profile I play alot of offline for practice and with fantastic new maps and perks it is sort of great. The story is a bit all over the place until you get to the middle i loved the end. It is an auditory masterpiece from the heart pumping music to the guns i love it and it looks stunning in the top 5 FPS's ive ever played. Overall Modern Warfare 2 is the best COD game out i'll give it 9.5. The Review is on my blog at url http://maximalistgtg.blogspot.com/2011/08/call-of-duty-modern-warfare-2.html Expand
  90. Aug 17, 2011
    9
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2, is the sixth installment in the popular first person shooter series. And yes, it's the best one yet. The Campaign is amazing, and first follows PFC Joseph Allen, a newly recruited member of Task Force 141. Meanwhile, Allen is later killed at an airport in Moscow. He was taking place in an undercover mission, which he was forced to participate in a massacreCall of Duty: Modern Warfare 2, is the sixth installment in the popular first person shooter series. And yes, it's the best one yet. The Campaign is amazing, and first follows PFC Joseph Allen, a newly recruited member of Task Force 141. Meanwhile, Allen is later killed at an airport in Moscow. He was taking place in an undercover mission, which he was forced to participate in a massacre of civilians. After the massacre, Makarov kills Allen, sparking a war between the U.S.A and Russia. The Modern Warfare 2 Campaign is amazing, and full of action-packed missions, and does have some jaw-dropping and shocking moments. This Campaign is the best story line yet, and will be hard to beat in Modern Warfare 3. Modern Warfare 2 now features a Spec Ops mode, which allows you to play individual missions with friends or by yourself. I enjoyed most of these missions and some of them were quite the challenge. Especially when you're playing on Veteran difficulty. It increases the capabilities of the enemies. Spec Ops is a great game mode if you want more action after the Campaign mode. After completing a Spec Ops mission, you earn a different amount of stars, depending on the difficulty you played on. Stars will unlock more playable missions. And then there's Multiplayer. My favorite part of the game. Multiplayer is basically perfect, with plentiful weapons, highly detailed and fun maps, incredible objective and team based game modes, and of course, playing with friends. The customization in Multiplayer could of been better, like Black Ops with customizable emblems and face paint. Multiplayer allows you to reach level 70, so it will keep you busy unlocking weapons, attachments, titles, and emblems. Modern Warfare 2 is an enjoyable, near perfect shooter game and is the best game in the series yet. Any Call of Duty fan would love this game and I highly recommend purchasing the game if you want an amazing, fun, and realistic shooter game like this. Great graphics and amazing gameplay all wrap up into this incredible game. One of the best games I've ever played. Expand
  91. Oct 31, 2011
    10
    Let's put this in perspective. If you're one of those Halo or Killzone fanboys that gets mad when a Call of Duty game destroys one of your favorite games, don't even read this. However, if you're a regular person who enjoys fun and valuable experiences, MW2 is an excellent choice.
  92. Nov 26, 2012
    9
    Visually stunning, great gameplay and all-roundly very good perfomance on Playstation 3 - this is one of the best games made on Playstation 3. It's fun (if you don't take it too seriously) and even if you're not a gamer who plays shooters - you still will spend a lot of time with this title online. Plus it has nice co-op content. Single-player is ok but this game is all about online fun.Visually stunning, great gameplay and all-roundly very good perfomance on Playstation 3 - this is one of the best games made on Playstation 3. It's fun (if you don't take it too seriously) and even if you're not a gamer who plays shooters - you still will spend a lot of time with this title online. Plus it has nice co-op content. Single-player is ok but this game is all about online fun. Many strategies, funny moments and tight clashes. It's a game of LUCK and SKILL which is the best combination to make most of players feel good. The only weak point is if you take it too seriously. For competetive hardcore players I admit this has things that will not appeal all the time. But a small amount of luck/random makes everything (wins etc.) much more enjoyable because everyone can win sometimes. Expand
  93. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    Para mi es un gran shooter, es divertido, y ahora que han conseguido que vaya estable, me encanta!!
    tiene sus defectos y podria mejorar, pero a mi me divierte!
  94. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    This game is so perfect, Gameplay, graphics, quick scopes with sniper, i love it so much, tactical nuke is the best thing i have ever seen. This game really rocks, best FPS ever made.
  95. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    This game was a masterpiece in 2009, and still is, also probably tis he last game of Infinity Ward's that was infused with hardwork. Enough said. R.I.P Call of Duty Franchise. May Activision find the guidence of the Gamer God or so, let that Publisher rot and fill bankruptcy never to hurt a video game again.
  96. Nov 22, 2011
    9
    Call of duty MW2, a true successor of CoD 4 MW, return this time to the war as Soap and new allies, but look no further, the online multiplayer is amazing, new guns and sounds, and amazing new graphics, IW really nailed it this time and deserve a pat on the back
  97. Feb 26, 2012
    10
    It's official. Modern Warfare 2 is one of the best games of the century. I'll give it a definite 10 for it's amazing graphics, excellent plot, and astonishing multiplayer. If you don't have this, well , I feel bad for you because you're missing out on an extraordinary game.
  98. Jun 7, 2012
    9
    96/100
    I thought this game was amazing. This game did almost everything right. The game was fun and exciting, and the campaign was breath taking. Although, I said almost. The game was not well supported, and boosters were everywhere trying to get there little Nuke emblem and everyone was hacking to get 10th and all of the titles and emblems they could never have gotten legit. The
    96/100
    I thought this game was amazing. This game did almost everything right. The game was fun and exciting, and the campaign was breath taking. Although, I said almost. The game was not well supported, and boosters were everywhere trying to get there little Nuke emblem and everyone was hacking to get 10th and all of the titles and emblems they could never have gotten legit. The scoreboards where hacked to death and that became useless. The saving grace of the game was the amazing Campaign. The campaign was compelling and the most exciting campaign to finish in any Call Of Duty game.
    Expand
  99. Feb 1, 2012
    9
    Don't listen to all of these negative reviews, in my opinion this is the best COD game out there. The campaign was good but not great but the multiplayer makes up for it.
  100. Feb 24, 2012
    10
    The Best CoD Game and nothing can beat it because of the Intervention and beating Mw3 and CoD4. I would definantly the best game in the whole franchise. The campaign is awesome even though they kill ghost and they put spec ops mode which put a sparkle to this game. The multiplayer was the best in this game and had the best perks, guns, and attachments. 10 out of 10 in my opinion of thisThe Best CoD Game and nothing can beat it because of the Intervention and beating Mw3 and CoD4. I would definantly the best game in the whole franchise. The campaign is awesome even though they kill ghost and they put spec ops mode which put a sparkle to this game. The multiplayer was the best in this game and had the best perks, guns, and attachments. 10 out of 10 in my opinion of this great awesome game in the series with the best System IW. Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 67
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 67
  3. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. 100
    Modern Warfare 2 crosses into the must-have category of video games effortlessly. It offers an unmatched shooter experience, a compelling story mode, a slick package of mini missions and a multiplayer which is pretty much unparalleled in depth.
  2. 100
    Modern Warfare 2 offers epic gameplay, a stunning Spec-Ops mode and a huge amount of adrenaline.
  3. Despite certain controversial elements, this game is an FPS fan’s dream. Game of the Year? Hell, yeah!