Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 PlayStation 3

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2122 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 17, 2013
    9
    8.8 out of 10 (rounded off to 9).

    The sequel to the game that revolutionised much of the fps-multiplayer experience had a lot of hype to live up to, and many of the points, it did. The story continued much of the same cinematic drama from the first game, and made a lot of changes to the multiplayer. The multiplayer now has more perks, and more killstreaks to choose from, which is
    8.8 out of 10 (rounded off to 9).

    The sequel to the game that revolutionised much of the fps-multiplayer experience had a lot of hype to live up to, and many of the points, it did.

    The story continued much of the same cinematic drama from the first game, and made a lot of changes to the multiplayer. The multiplayer now has more perks, and more killstreaks to choose from, which is fun. I have found some balancing issues with the game, and so have others, with much complaining on the grenade-launchers and "akimbo" shotguns as secondary weapons, for example.

    This doesn't stop Modern Warfare 2 from being a great and over-all fun experience, which in many ways tops the original Modern Warfare game. So if that's what you're after, this game wont disappoint you.
    Expand
  2. Mar 31, 2012
    8
    Modern Warfare 2 was a hugely entertaining first person shooter. It's addictive online component was top of the class, presenting a brace of great maps, a ton of customization options and a pitch-perfect control scheme. The single player was massively over-the-top, like a video game version of a Michael Bay film. Heck, you even played out the shower scene from The Rock! But the campaignModern Warfare 2 was a hugely entertaining first person shooter. It's addictive online component was top of the class, presenting a brace of great maps, a ton of customization options and a pitch-perfect control scheme. The single player was massively over-the-top, like a video game version of a Michael Bay film. Heck, you even played out the shower scene from The Rock! But the campaign was all the better for it's insanity and although short, it was also completely awesome and unforgettable. Expand
  3. Jan 25, 2011
    8
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 is a pretty good game that was unfortunately stuck in the role of the bastard stepchild. It fell prey to the pitfalls of most sequels: most notably that developers simply tried too hard to top the original. That was a mountain to climb, Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is deserving of its unofficial title of the best shooter this generation. As a result, ICall of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 is a pretty good game that was unfortunately stuck in the role of the bastard stepchild. It fell prey to the pitfalls of most sequels: most notably that developers simply tried too hard to top the original. That was a mountain to climb, Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare is deserving of its unofficial title of the best shooter this generation. As a result, I think that while things are bigger, faster, louder, and crazier, that doesnâ Expand
  4. DW
    Apr 29, 2010
    8
    Okay - first off I don't think this game deserves a 10: but the average score here is WAY off. It definitely deserves an 8. Storyline = well presented. Gets a bit silly, unfortunately (moves more towards WW2 plot than one about modern espionage and special ops) Weapons = Great stuff here. The whole gamut. No drivable land vehicles unfortunately, though. Realism = A bit to be desired Okay - first off I don't think this game deserves a 10: but the average score here is WAY off. It definitely deserves an 8. Storyline = well presented. Gets a bit silly, unfortunately (moves more towards WW2 plot than one about modern espionage and special ops) Weapons = Great stuff here. The whole gamut. No drivable land vehicles unfortunately, though. Realism = A bit to be desired here, to be honest. The single player just doesn't feel realistic enough, given the setting. At least enemies and allies are all subject to the same unrealistic levels of health. No destructible environments - which is a real shame. Sound = Ticks all the boxes Multiplayer (normal) = Styled like the standard fare of FPS, but more polished than than almost all others. This actively rewards skill, whilst goes out of its way to prevent frustration. Buggy peer to peer networking is quite unacceptable, though. Also, a larger maximum number of players would be nice. Multiplayer (co-op) = The fact that you must arrange these with friends can be a drag, and also the fact that the maximum number of players is 2. Also a very long scenario (like the Nazi Zombies of COD 5) would be greatly appreciated Single player = The gameplay is too linear and the player is unable to make any plot decisions - but that's the same with almost all FPS games. The AI is top-notch; shame you don't get to see it do more, though. Single-player is a tad short and has no co-op capacity. Expand
  5. Feb 9, 2011
    8
    This is the first Call of Duty game I played. And to be honest, it was fun. Awesome gameplay, awesome graphics. However, while I think the game is indeed good, I honestly think there are other games more deserving of this game's billion dollar success.
  6. Mar 30, 2011
    10
    Best Call of duty game in my veiw. Gripping Campaign, Brilliant multiplayer and i cant stop playing even though its 2011. the graphics are even better than black ops still 2 years ahead of MW2 i prefer it and many people i know do aswell.
  7. Mar 8, 2014
    8
    My review is solely for the multiplayer.
    Yes, it's unbalanced, but it's satisfyingly addictive and rewarding. Unfortunately, it is the last smooth experience you'll have on a Call of Duty game. The main gripe is about the community; filled with minors, exploiters and hackers. That shouldn't detract from the game, but it does detract from the experience of playing online. Overall, it's a
    My review is solely for the multiplayer.
    Yes, it's unbalanced, but it's satisfyingly addictive and rewarding. Unfortunately, it is the last smooth experience you'll have on a Call of Duty game. The main gripe is about the community; filled with minors, exploiters and hackers. That shouldn't detract from the game, but it does detract from the experience of playing online. Overall, it's a decent experience. It doesn't take long to learn the basics, nor does it take long to discover and accept the discrepancies and faulty mechanics that coincide with this title (every CoD title has them). The experience isn't perfect, but it's not completely broken. Learn what to expect, and once you do realize and accept its faults, you'll have a blast.
    Expand
  8. Sep 20, 2010
    8
    Modern warfare 2 is a great game, with a pretty good amount of stuff to do that will keep us coming back for more and more. I personally was a late adopter of the cod4 game, but once I got on I was in for the long run. When they announced a second one coming out I could not think of a thing they would add. I thought cod 4 was pretty much as good as that kind of game could get, and well IModern warfare 2 is a great game, with a pretty good amount of stuff to do that will keep us coming back for more and more. I personally was a late adopter of the cod4 game, but once I got on I was in for the long run. When they announced a second one coming out I could not think of a thing they would add. I thought cod 4 was pretty much as good as that kind of game could get, and well I guess I was right. The game is almost the same game with the smallest changes. While custom kill streaks and more perks is great, those are things that I could see being implemented in a add on pack or something, but the only thing that is dramatically better is the single player. I really enjoyed the single player on this one but was still not without fault. I think they were trying to go for a big blockbuster kind of game but for me to be a blockbuster you have to have everything, and to me it just feels like this game was trying to take itself too serious and were afraid of doing something different. Maybe it was the publishers pushing the developers but the game came out like a modern warfare 1.5 more than a true sequel to me. Expand
  9. JamesB.
    Apr 15, 2010
    9
    This is one of the greatest games of all time, but i can see where people are coming from when they give it a low score. Call of Duty has a history of amazing campaigns, but this one just short of what people want. What do i say? There wasn't a single part in the story where i sat there wishing it would just end, each part of it is fun and adds flavor to the game. That is an amazing This is one of the greatest games of all time, but i can see where people are coming from when they give it a low score. Call of Duty has a history of amazing campaigns, but this one just short of what people want. What do i say? There wasn't a single part in the story where i sat there wishing it would just end, each part of it is fun and adds flavor to the game. That is an amazing achievement for any game, but it is really short and dosnt explain the events that well. Voice acting is great, but if you could explain the story better i wouldnt have to wonder 'Why the hell am i doing this' so often. This dosnt cause a problem for me, and it all makes up in the multiplayer. What i like most about it is that accessibility of it. It finds me the game that i want fast and makes it more enjoyable to play. The graphics are the best in any game iv ever seen, they put all the love and care the make it absolutely amazing. Now, the reason its not a 10 in my opinion, the fact that it does get stale after so long. Sure, the maps are nice, but in multiplayer, the computer chosen maps sometimes ruin a few of the settings, such as quarry, its a good map with alot to do there, but they use it so many times it got stale for me. Sometimes by bad luck you play that same map two times in a row, and that sucks. Also, glitches, iv had a few times where my sever died on me, and i was forced out of my game when i was doing so good. Overall, i love the game, but it has a few technical difficulties, but it looks amazing and the diversity of the guns is enough for you to play it over and over again. Expand
  10. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    People should stop comparing this to other games, great campaign that tests you on veteran along with a superb online that also does the same. If you are looking for a fun campaign this game is for you.
  11. JonathonC
    Apr 1, 2010
    9
    an amazing campaign the guns are modern and feel realistic. its amazing theres a lot of detail put in to this games graphics. the story is a bit thin but dosent really cross your mind until the last three mission and the mission no Russian. MULTIPLAYER is absolouetly incredible so much depth and fun addicting action but this amazing online fun does come with a price CAMPERS totally ruin an amazing campaign the guns are modern and feel realistic. its amazing theres a lot of detail put in to this games graphics. the story is a bit thin but dosent really cross your mind until the last three mission and the mission no Russian. MULTIPLAYER is absolouetly incredible so much depth and fun addicting action but this amazing online fun does come with a price CAMPERS totally ruin the game for everyone a few mins in and a camper will have the veins blowing in your heads but worse of all he will proberbly have an ac-130 in the air. lag is another issue its constant i swear to you will find 1 in a hundred games where there wont be lag. Aside from the problems with the Multiplayer Modern Warfare 2 is golden and defineatly lives up to its name as one of the greatest shooters of all time. Expand
  12. StevenL
    Mar 1, 2010
    9
    If you're looking for the best online shooter of 2009 / 2010 then this is for you. The Single player story is indeed not as long as some people would have liked, but given that you have loads of missions in Spec Ops and the Multi Player aspect of MW2, then you have a blockbuster. Sure it looks kind of the same as COD 4, it's an inevitable comparison, however there are lots of If you're looking for the best online shooter of 2009 / 2010 then this is for you. The Single player story is indeed not as long as some people would have liked, but given that you have loads of missions in Spec Ops and the Multi Player aspect of MW2, then you have a blockbuster. Sure it looks kind of the same as COD 4, it's an inevitable comparison, however there are lots of tweaks. People complain about campers, it was my initial view too. However once you know where people camp and how to get around them, it's even more satisfying nailing them in the head. Add 5 friends in a good mood and you have an epic game on your hands. IW aren't the fastest to respond to bugs, but they are addressed where needed over time and with more maps on the way why wouldn't you be playing this? Sure the MP is different to COD 4, which is why a LOT of people aren't comfortable with MW2 immediately. Give it time and watch the dust grow on 4 on your shelf. Expand
  13. ChrisI
    Jan 24, 2010
    10
    How could it get anything less. Ive put over 150hrs into the game and still playing. That is a whole lot of game for $60.
  14. MiKE
    Dec 23, 2009
    9
    A soild 9 from me, I was very impressed with the graphics, gameplay and intense action! One of the BEST action shooters I played in a long time! I didnt play the multiplayer, so this review is only based on the single mode experience. I would of liked if the story would of been better told then just displaying the map and have over voice.
  15. blakel
    Apr 23, 2010
    10
    I love this game so bad but callof duty four is pretty fun they dont have that good of snipers in mw2 than mw1 i like m40a3 in cod mw1 just to tell you people ilove this game so go out and by this game i like do in glitches but if you people wnat to be my friend on ps3 my friend name is blakemotoracer please add me i you want to do glitches in private match once again i would lov to be I love this game so bad but callof duty four is pretty fun they dont have that good of snipers in mw2 than mw1 i like m40a3 in cod mw1 just to tell you people ilove this game so go out and by this game i like do in glitches but if you people wnat to be my friend on ps3 my friend name is blakemotoracer please add me i you want to do glitches in private match once again i would lov to be your friend so go buy this game for the ps3. snipers kick ass. Expand
  16. Oct 28, 2010
    9
    i am a call of duty fan and i have played most of the call of duty games and i think this was a very good game. The campaign was very enjoyable and spec ops is good as well its good teamwork builder. The multi player is very good i admit its full of campers and noob tubers but i cant in good conscience blame the game for that its not infinity ward fault for that its the noobs playing buti am a call of duty fan and i have played most of the call of duty games and i think this was a very good game. The campaign was very enjoyable and spec ops is good as well its good teamwork builder. The multi player is very good i admit its full of campers and noob tubers but i cant in good conscience blame the game for that its not infinity ward fault for that its the noobs playing but the game itself is very well made Expand
  17. Sep 28, 2010
    8
    A really exiting and fun game, the attention to detail is outstanding, and the online play is one of the best around, however there are a few things that annoy me about this game, because it is spoiled by the perks and certyain equipment that ruins the gameplay. All infinity ward care about is taking your money.
  18. May 23, 2011
    10
    This game has a user score of 57 as opposed to a critic score of 94. This tells me that it's a high quality game, but people don't like it because they suck. Now whether or not you LIKE a game is subjective, and I'm sure that there are people who actually don't. However, the majority of negative reviews here are just people **** that they got killed in MP.
  19. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    This is the best FPS game I have ever played. Really good customization and the fun never ends with all the Map Packs. And thats it. All the Negatives are battlefield fans or noobs.
  20. Nov 9, 2011
    8
    Modern warfare 2 est meilleur que Modern Warfare 3 Très bonne histoire , très bon jeu en ligne !
    Il y a de très bon graphisme (Enfin sava)
    Il mérite d'avoir un 8/10
  21. JamesW
    Apr 25, 2010
    10
    What is wrong with some people. This is an epic game and is actually the best game I've ever played. I have not even played single player but what I have done with spec ops and multiplayer already makes this game a standout. I have played multiplayer for 6 days which is something like 200 hours and I still can't get enough of it. One day I play this game and the next day I feel What is wrong with some people. This is an epic game and is actually the best game I've ever played. I have not even played single player but what I have done with spec ops and multiplayer already makes this game a standout. I have played multiplayer for 6 days which is something like 200 hours and I still can't get enough of it. One day I play this game and the next day I feel like I am playing a totally different game. The multiplayer is perfect with the amazing level up system and clever perks. The weapons in this game at first seem to powerful but once you gain a little skill you will be the one ranking up the kills and suddenly being addicted to this game. The killstreaks are great because it is a challenge to get the powerful rewards and very easy to get the basic rewards like radars. The catch is that you are only allowed to select 3 killstreaks, so if you pick the three best rewards then it will be very hard to get up there, but if you chose the worst 3 awards then after you have gained all you will feel somewhat unrewarded. To those people bagging this game saying it us "unrealistic" are both ignorant and stupid. Firstly this game is mostly realistic except for a few perks as other people said like coomando which means from no matter how high you jump you can't die but the truth is do we buy games and think their good because they are realistic. NO. we buy games because they are fun. If you want a realistic game why don't you just live your own life. That's a game that is realistic. Well it's sort of a game. Anyway why buy a game for how realistic it is when you can buy a game that keeps things real but most importantly is fun. I rest my case.........I've always wanted to say that. Overall if you are looking for a great multiplayer experience that in my oppinion stands much higher than any other multiplayer game than click the exit button on your computer, click start then click shut down computer then slowly make your way to your wallet, grab out that extra $100 bucks and take a trip down to your local games store. Thanks to those people who have read this far and keep your eyes out for another review by James W. Expand
  22. Ikarus14
    Dec 20, 2009
    9
    I really don't understand what the complaints are about. This is simply one of the greatest games I have ever played and it never failed to amaze me with awe-inspiring graphics, thrilling set pieces and adictive multiplayer.
  23. bigdaddy
    Dec 26, 2009
    10
    The Graphics are amazing, the story is amazing, and even if your bored with the story there is an AMAZING multiplayer for you to enjoy. this game has a lot of replay value and will make you feel like your in the game. BUY THIS GAME.
  24. danm
    Dec 19, 2009
    9
    this is an overall great game they made plenty of improvemnets from MW1 although campaign couldve been longer the multiplayer is truly the highlight of this game a must buy
  25. [anonymous]
    Dec 22, 2009
    10
    The most comprehensive multiplayer FPS to date (so much equipment, great maps, great objectives). I love this game. After reading the negative reviews from other users, I can only say that these people must be 1) Not into FPS, 2) Not good at console FPS. or 3) stupid. You definitely have to be able to play at a certain level in multiplayer, or you will easily become frustrated.
  26. EvanS
    Dec 23, 2009
    10
    It takes a hell of a good game to get a 10 from me. Every game has flaws, but Modern Warfare has so few that it is easy to overlook them. Most of the problems are not actually with the game itself, but with the players online. The single player, while only a few hours long, has so many holy $#!T moments that there is never a dull moment. Online has been improved from COD4 in every way. It takes a hell of a good game to get a 10 from me. Every game has flaws, but Modern Warfare has so few that it is easy to overlook them. Most of the problems are not actually with the game itself, but with the players online. The single player, while only a few hours long, has so many holy $#!T moments that there is never a dull moment. Online has been improved from COD4 in every way. With customizable killstreaks, titles, host migration, and some amazing new maps, there isn't much more you could ask for. Expand
  27. JustinK
    Dec 27, 2009
    10
    This game is pretty good! Most people probably don't agree with this statement because they haven't played the other Cod's! Playing Cal of Duty 4: MW keeps you grasping the edge of your seat when playing MW2! It just keeps the excitement going, and going!
  28. Oct 2, 2010
    9
    Very good game. Campaign was pretty good, enjoyable specials ops but you can solo most of them. Multiplayer is good, except for some overpowered guns, dual wielding and perks BUT there are ways to counter these sort of problems as a silenced weapon to mention one. I suspect that the most people who gave this game a bad rating is getting whipped, go into a rage and turn the console off.Very good game. Campaign was pretty good, enjoyable specials ops but you can solo most of them. Multiplayer is good, except for some overpowered guns, dual wielding and perks BUT there are ways to counter these sort of problems as a silenced weapon to mention one. I suspect that the most people who gave this game a bad rating is getting whipped, go into a rage and turn the console off. Yes, multiplayer gets frustrating but once you know the maps, gun combinations, etc this game is very good. Recently new modes was introduced like Barebones Pro where killstreaks are disabled!! So if you have any complaints about overpowered killstreaks just jump into this mode. Expand
  29. Dec 28, 2010
    9
    This game is really great and there is no denying this. The campaign was solid, really exciting, adrenaline pumped, had a good plot, good scenes and cut scenes, and of course connectable bad ass characters. The sound is great and realistic, and the musical score really adds to make the scene. Specs mode is lots of fun, there are TONS of missions that will keep you busy for awhile which youThis game is really great and there is no denying this. The campaign was solid, really exciting, adrenaline pumped, had a good plot, good scenes and cut scenes, and of course connectable bad ass characters. The sound is great and realistic, and the musical score really adds to make the scene. Specs mode is lots of fun, there are TONS of missions that will keep you busy for awhile which you can do with your friends at different difficulties. All of them are unique in their own way and so much fun. Now lets get to the MP. It seems that now that it seems to be the "cool" thing to hate on mw2 ridiculously. I find this completely stupid and hypocritical. People the complain about the game continue to play it, which means IW must of done something right to make it that fun and addicting to make you continue playing. People don't give the game enough credit and fail to realize what it's done. It has awesome killstreaks, awesome tight guns, graphically beautiful and original maps. I have never had so much fun with an FPS before in my life. COD4 is more balanced, but as fun or as packed as MW2. Yes, the nuke boosting and noob tubes can sometimes be a nuisance but it's not the end of the world as hardcore gamers claim. It's liveable. I love using the AC130 and love going for the nuke as a challenge. And you know what? The flaws of the game make the game more interesting and provide for rants and a "booster justice" game mode. MW2 is by far a much better game than Black Ops. Anyone who says different, is obviously in denial and is a stupid hypocrite. Expand
  30. Dec 26, 2010
    9
    The sequel to COD4 I'd give 90 out of 100 compared to the 94 out of 100 I gave COD4. This game added a few "tweaks" to the multiplayer making it even more fun. After all, the perks and leveling is what makes the game addictive and the "options" you have for kill streak bonuses are even greater. But, the single player was hard to follow. It again had some great moments but I'm sure manyThe sequel to COD4 I'd give 90 out of 100 compared to the 94 out of 100 I gave COD4. This game added a few "tweaks" to the multiplayer making it even more fun. After all, the perks and leveling is what makes the game addictive and the "options" you have for kill streak bonuses are even greater. But, the single player was hard to follow. It again had some great moments but I'm sure many felt it was more of the same but with much less plot or any direction. While SP was fun I didn't really understand what the story was all about because it seemed to jump around a bit with very little tying it all together. So, even though this game was great and equally addictive as COD4 there are definitely some irritations such as the knuckleheads that run around with marathon, lightweight, and commando perks. Imagine some teenage punk running around twice the speed as humanly possible, unlimited sprint, stabbing you from clear across the room before you can even put a single round into him with a sub machine gun... not very realistic. If they took away just a couple of these annoying perks the game would be more fun and probably the only reason I can't give this game a 10.

    I will be looking to Battlefield Bad Company 2 next to see what this is all about. It claims to be a more realistic MP experience and it might be a good change of pace for this genre. I will give my thoughts on that in a little bit after I've played it for a while.
    Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 67
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 67
  3. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. 100
    Modern Warfare 2 crosses into the must-have category of video games effortlessly. It offers an unmatched shooter experience, a compelling story mode, a slick package of mini missions and a multiplayer which is pretty much unparalleled in depth.
  2. 100
    Modern Warfare 2 offers epic gameplay, a stunning Spec-Ops mode and a huge amount of adrenaline.
  3. Despite certain controversial elements, this game is an FPS fan’s dream. Game of the Year? Hell, yeah!