Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 PlayStation 3

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2128 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 24, 2011
    8
    More improved on graphics and sound makes it even more impressive than the one that was released two years ago. The problem I had was that the plotline was so over the top that it would have been better served if they added more background depth with cutscences, conversations, news reports. Sort of makes the story hollow when it's barely touched upon. Still, these are extremely fun games.
  2. Apr 17, 2011
    10
    This game has it all in my opinion. Great single player, the Special Operations games are fantastic and the Online Multiplayer is terrific. I don't understand the lows scores, since I would highly recommend this game as one of the best shooter experiences I've played. The whole package...
  3. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    cccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooolllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllcccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooolllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll ggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaammmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee Expand
  4. Jun 16, 2011
    10
    I think this is the best game in the world! I really like the single player and the spec ops are very funny.
  5. Aug 2, 2011
    7
    The Call of Duty creators must be criticized for having the greatest opportunity in the industry with unlimited resources to only coming up with something half good and not a masterpiece. Call of Duty MW2 has its production values, its popular, it has high quality models, shooting animations and sounds which do provides players some immediate satisfying gameplay (for a short time). But theThe Call of Duty creators must be criticized for having the greatest opportunity in the industry with unlimited resources to only coming up with something half good and not a masterpiece. Call of Duty MW2 has its production values, its popular, it has high quality models, shooting animations and sounds which do provides players some immediate satisfying gameplay (for a short time). But the overall 'game' of MW2 is a mixed bag and fails to be something really special, not just a 'fun' or 'popular' game. The single player story is a bad joke, the themes and meanings the story portrays are a contradictory muddled mess. The special Op missions do offer some well designed gameplay but why the story mode is not intertwined is confusing, I would have preferred the entire story dropped for more Special Ops. The multiplayer can be fun for short periods of time but does lack depth which is why it has not resonated as a competitive Esport title. I do recommend MW2 due its surface fun and value for money but it lacks to what should have been something much much more. Expand
  6. Aug 23, 2011
    0
    my god u people r jaded . as of aug 2011 this still one of the best games they have made for the ps3. maybe pc gamers should lay off of the elitism a bit and have fun playing. servers? thats just one less thing the average guy doesn't have to deal with. it is the norm now. plenty of people r still crankin it on xbox too . black ops has now carried it on and im sure many of u have beenmy god u people r jaded . as of aug 2011 this still one of the best games they have made for the ps3. maybe pc gamers should lay off of the elitism a bit and have fun playing. servers? thats just one less thing the average guy doesn't have to deal with. it is the norm now. plenty of people r still crankin it on xbox too . black ops has now carried it on and im sure many of u have been **** about it the very same way. what u want is something that doesn't exist yet. perfection from human error. Expand
  7. Oct 29, 2011
    2
    a very linear storyline disguised by over the top dramatic sequences that is somewhat a copy of COD4.
    spec ops are mission that are derived from the story mostly. multiplayer has a very unbalanced weapons
  8. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    Really good game that sets the bar, graphically, for first person shooters. Alot of fun in the quick campaign. Spec ops is a blast. Mulitplayer is great, improves everything from the first entry in the series. The game feels like its following too closely in its predecessors footsteps and suffers slightly for it.
  9. Jan 7, 2012
    8
    First let me get this out of the way: there is LOADS of **** in this game the most out of any cod including commando, one man army and the ump45, but other than that, fantastic game. great campaign and multiplayer buy this game if you don't have it.
  10. Sep 5, 2012
    2
    If you can get this for free, a lot of fun can be fished out of Special Ops if you have a friend to play with you. If not, good luck playing because that aspect of the game lacks a matchmaking feature. The campaign is far too easy, with a generally boring plot with predictable twists. The Multiplayer seems to attract a lot of people, but to anyone who has play CoD before, it's just veryIf you can get this for free, a lot of fun can be fished out of Special Ops if you have a friend to play with you. If not, good luck playing because that aspect of the game lacks a matchmaking feature. The campaign is far too easy, with a generally boring plot with predictable twists. The Multiplayer seems to attract a lot of people, but to anyone who has play CoD before, it's just very very familiar. Expand
  11. Dec 3, 2012
    1
    Debated making it a 0 but its graphics are very good, so I have to give it something. The graphics is the only compliment I will give this game. It is terrible, the biggest let down of a game ever. The game developers could of just reskinned COD4 (which they wisely did it seems in Black Ops 2) and focused on a cool campaign and have taken the easy way out, which is underwhelming but atDebated making it a 0 but its graphics are very good, so I have to give it something. The graphics is the only compliment I will give this game. It is terrible, the biggest let down of a game ever. The game developers could of just reskinned COD4 (which they wisely did it seems in Black Ops 2) and focused on a cool campaign and have taken the easy way out, which is underwhelming but at least you won't pull your hair out playing it. But no, they decided to do a whole new physics engine and campaign which were cheaper in quality than a Michael Bay film. The multiplayer just feels clunky and wacky. The knifing in this game is a whole 90 degrees off it seems, campers rule over half the map, and bullets seem like they were shot out of a paintball gun, not a m16. They added all these new killstreaks which emphasized the problem that the only way you can get a kill in this game is through childish tricks, maybe thats why so many 5 year olds play this. Oh, but what really gets this game all the **** its thrown at it is the terrible community that has infected this franchise ever since nazi zombies came out (not knocking nazi zombies in any way, it just was a clever analogy, zombie outbreak to COD fanboy outbreak) which do nothing but sit in a corner in a video game and take pot shots at you. Do not hope to find any teamwork, because there is none, this game revolves around you running around and hoping that the other guy isn't facing you. Nobody cares about the campaign so there is no reason to go over it. Expand
  12. Jul 30, 2013
    9
    Modern Warfare 2 is an improvement on Call of Duty 4. Campaign is short but compelling, Special Ops is a slick package of a variety of mini missions but it's the multiplayer that keeps you hooked on Call of Duty.

    It has a lot of depth, killstreaks allow you to do more than just shoot. It's very rewarding and awesome to use. In Call of Duty 4, you only had 3. In Modern Warfare 2, you can
    Modern Warfare 2 is an improvement on Call of Duty 4. Campaign is short but compelling, Special Ops is a slick package of a variety of mini missions but it's the multiplayer that keeps you hooked on Call of Duty.

    It has a lot of depth, killstreaks allow you to do more than just shoot. It's very rewarding and awesome to use. In Call of Duty 4, you only had 3. In Modern Warfare 2, you can only use three but you have 15 killstreaks to choose from.

    Modern Warfare 2 introduces several new features, not seen in Call of Duty, aside from new weapons, equipment and perks that upgrade to "pro versions" after meeting utilization requirements. If you're really good, you can get a nuke (25 killstreak) and the person who use it will win for the player, him or herself, or the team no matter who's winning.

    Host migration is a bit annoying, since the host likes to rage quit, but it lets you continue on with the game instead of going back to the lobby, where you would lose your victory points and extra exp if you were about to win.

    Third person is an option in selected game types and there are new game types as well as the return of Team Deathmatch, Search & Destroy etc. Trophies/achievements is very easy so this game is a good collection for you trophy/achievement whores as there are no multiplayer achievements, though you would need two players for some.

    Special Ops has a variety of mini missions from snowmobile race to eliminating enemies. Special Ops is great if you need a change from multiplayer. Graphics isn't the best but it runs consistently at 60 FPS on console. Consistent frame rate is required for competitive play rather than graphics that makes you go "wow" and there are loads of better looking games out there, such as Uncharted as well as Final Fantasy.

    People like to annoy you online, doesn't make the game itself bad. If you run into some annoying c**t, just mute him. Simple! People b***hing about trickshotters. So what? They get killed more than they kill anyway. Again, doesn't make the game bad. It's how the player chooses to play. Killstreaks isn't consistent but it's how the franchise evolves. It's one of the best shooters out today so if you haven't played it, you're missing out.
    Expand
  13. Jun 19, 2013
    0
    This is one of the worst games I`ve ever played. Don`t buy it!
    Singleplayer: The story isn`t good.
    Multiplayer: One Map was blocked so you only can play it on a hacked server. That`s the second problem, in this game are many hacker and hacked lobby`s/server.. The weapons are not balanced just like the match-making-system. You have to play mean to get bonus experience so many players are
    This is one of the worst games I`ve ever played. Don`t buy it!
    Singleplayer: The story isn`t good.
    Multiplayer: One Map was blocked so you only can play it on a hacked server. That`s the second problem, in this game are many hacker and hacked lobby`s/server.. The weapons are not balanced just like the match-making-system. You have to play mean to get bonus experience so many players are camping, noob-tubing or rush with overpowered weapons. In this game are some mean kill-streak-rewards like the AC-130. The enemy players dies non-stop so you get no kills too. That means no one is happy (only the player with the AC-130).
    Sometimes it`s very funny but the bad and aggressive making moments are so much more...
    The developers stopped the support so the game will not get updates.

    If I could I would give minus points for this game. Please IW update this game or don`t do mistakes like this again.
    Expand
  14. Feb 21, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Althought it haves a lot of innovation, MW2's innovation is negative. You can be winning 199-0 in a Domination game but if someone in the other team kills 25 dudes without dying, is an instant loss. Perks like Commando (getting knifed from a 10-feet distance really freaks me out), terrible spawns, people that shoot their's grenade launchers throught the map and kill the entire team and the fact that you get rewards for dying makes this game a really broken one, and in my opinion does NOT live up the hype of the incredible prequel it has. Expand
  15. Mar 19, 2013
    8
    Modern Warfare 2 is judged too rashly on its online mode. The storyline continues on from Modern Warfare and, with the help of Price, you'll undoubtedly be begging for more come the end. If there was no online mode, MW2 would no doubt be pushing on that 10/10 mark. But there is unfortunately an online mode, and as it happens, it's the most frustrating online game out there, with a seriesModern Warfare 2 is judged too rashly on its online mode. The storyline continues on from Modern Warfare and, with the help of Price, you'll undoubtedly be begging for more come the end. If there was no online mode, MW2 would no doubt be pushing on that 10/10 mark. But there is unfortunately an online mode, and as it happens, it's the most frustrating online game out there, with a series of bumbling errors, glitches and general annoyances that can really make you more irate than a game should. However, you can't argue with the fact that MW2 is one of the most played, most commercially successful, and most anticipated games, ever. While one can scream the house down while playing it, it will take your pride and self-respect away, but I promise you you'll go back for more. Such is the nature of the Call Of Duty series. Expand
  16. Oct 5, 2015
    10
    MW2 is the epitome of Multiplayer. The most genius and addictive online experience you will ever play. Even years after its release I still compare every modern online shooter to MW2 and not one has come close. It is sad that the franchise has now died and only the memory of this wonderful masterpiece lingers, but if you were lucky enough to play this at the time of its popularity, like meMW2 is the epitome of Multiplayer. The most genius and addictive online experience you will ever play. Even years after its release I still compare every modern online shooter to MW2 and not one has come close. It is sad that the franchise has now died and only the memory of this wonderful masterpiece lingers, but if you were lucky enough to play this at the time of its popularity, like me you will never forget the joyful experience.

    RIP COD. And thanks MW2 for the great memories.
    Expand
  17. philipc
    Jan 20, 2010
    7
    sp although the story was short and the start was slightly rushed they managed pull it back with several brilliant twist that kept me interested. game play was similar to the first modern warfare. spec-ops spec-ops was like little challenges that made a brilliant new addition to the game and ads more play time to the game. online as fun and enjoyable as ever. however although there has sp although the story was short and the start was slightly rushed they managed pull it back with several brilliant twist that kept me interested. game play was similar to the first modern warfare. spec-ops spec-ops was like little challenges that made a brilliant new addition to the game and ads more play time to the game. online as fun and enjoyable as ever. however although there has been upgrades to features and the addition of death streaks I do not see anything creatively new in this part of the game and I just hope they can come up with something new for there next game. Expand
  18. michaelk
    Jan 8, 2010
    10
    i really struggle to understand all the negative feedback this game is getting its easily one of the best games i've ever played yes the story makes little sense but this doesn't detract from the fun of shooting my way through so many fantasticly built levels, spec-ops is amazing fun even more so when played with a friend and the multiplayer is so good i probably will still be i really struggle to understand all the negative feedback this game is getting its easily one of the best games i've ever played yes the story makes little sense but this doesn't detract from the fun of shooting my way through so many fantasticly built levels, spec-ops is amazing fun even more so when played with a friend and the multiplayer is so good i probably will still be playing it in 2 years when the sequel comes out Expand
  19. ChrizH
    Feb 18, 2010
    8
    Ill give it a fair 8. modern warfare 2 was a great game for me. i loved the single player mode. and the multiplayer was also great. there is some flaws of course as ive seen many others on this site write about the game. alot hasnt really changed. people camps their butts out of the game. alot uses the grenade launcher attachment alittle too far (also called noobtubers for some people) Ill give it a fair 8. modern warfare 2 was a great game for me. i loved the single player mode. and the multiplayer was also great. there is some flaws of course as ive seen many others on this site write about the game. alot hasnt really changed. people camps their butts out of the game. alot uses the grenade launcher attachment alittle too far (also called noobtubers for some people) and that can be VERY annoying in some eyes. i myself havent tried spec ops. i dont really know why i just didnt find it very important to try challenge myself further. the game is great i love playing it. although it sucks to the pc (i realised that cause i started with buying it to pc and then later on ps3) cause of the non dedicated servers. ill give it a 8 for a very fun single player story. and a great (with some flaws) multiplayer. Expand
  20. EricD
    Dec 12, 2009
    9
    i'm amazed at the blatant attempt by the users to bring down the score of this game. I mean really....you're going to rate it zero based off the notion that you're pissed that you can't kick another player from the game? the user scores being lowered like this is an obvious outright manipulation of the true value assessment of this game. get a life. - this game is i'm amazed at the blatant attempt by the users to bring down the score of this game. I mean really....you're going to rate it zero based off the notion that you're pissed that you can't kick another player from the game? the user scores being lowered like this is an obvious outright manipulation of the true value assessment of this game. get a life. - this game is great, -maps are more complex, the weapons perks are more rewarding, there are a multitude of different options to customize, -gameplay is solid as always, - if there are any problems, it's nothing that can't be reconciled with a good patch. -- 2 thumbs way up. Expand
  21. BrentA
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    Simply put this game is incredible. You people out there that rate this a 1-6 are morons who haven't actually played the game.
  22. RichardM
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    Not as groundbreaking as cod4. But underneath its new slick, perhaps camper ridden exterior lies a game of depth and versaitility. Okay the one player a spec ops are decent. But its the multiplayer that sets it aside from games like killzone and even its predecessor. It has a plethora of game modes, guns, equipment and perks. The scope ( pardon the pun) for improving and developing your Not as groundbreaking as cod4. But underneath its new slick, perhaps camper ridden exterior lies a game of depth and versaitility. Okay the one player a spec ops are decent. But its the multiplayer that sets it aside from games like killzone and even its predecessor. It has a plethora of game modes, guns, equipment and perks. The scope ( pardon the pun) for improving and developing your own skills and styles in the game are endless. This game is a joy to behold and will keep even the most casual of gamers hooked online for many many months, and in my case years. Expand
  23. JamesA
    Jan 12, 2010
    9
    This is one of the best PS3 games I've been on, better than CoD4 for sure but I agree with most of the other reviews, there are way too many campers.
  24. GáborN
    Jan 22, 2010
    5
    The single player campaging is god but short. the multi player it was fun, untill some hackars ruin. You can't play a match without you encounter some cheater. The Infinity ward nothing do aninthing. It's passed 2 moth. The IW is do only the money, and the dont do anithing for fee. Pathetic, it was my last call of duty game.... fuck activison
  25. JerryG
    Jan 23, 2010
    9
    For the most part I enjoy a game for the fun factor and don't get into all the complicated crap a lot of people say on here. This game this game is fun and after a few months is still fun. After spending a year in Iraq that is all I am looking for......fun!
  26. JosephK
    Jan 20, 2010
    10
    Its absolutly ridiculous the internet backlash this game is gettn, sure it got a ton of hype and fer some sad reason people feel like its cool to go against the hype(its clear that some people just dont like the game who give it 6's and 7's. thats fine )Everything has been ramped up from the original, the graphics are some of the best on ps3, definetly better than cod4's Its absolutly ridiculous the internet backlash this game is gettn, sure it got a ton of hype and fer some sad reason people feel like its cool to go against the hype(its clear that some people just dont like the game who give it 6's and 7's. thats fine )Everything has been ramped up from the original, the graphics are some of the best on ps3, definetly better than cod4's and although the story is very short and not as cohesive as cod4's it really is a thrillride where amazingly every single mission is a joy to play through so overall short but very sweet. Spec ops is pretty damn fun with a mate and they have definetly made some changes to the multiplayer but overall im still as hooked on it as i was on cod4's. Sure sometimes i feel like throwing the game out the window with the lag and campers but the highs far outweigh the lows. look its obvious this is one of the best games ever made and I respect people who think this just isnt their thing, but I feel sorry for all the biased sad people who give this a 0 or a 2 cus they're missing out on a real gem. Expand
  27. SachinT
    Jan 4, 2010
    10
    Why the hell r people givin this game such low scores? n sayin that nothin has been improved?! The single player while short, offers alot more cinematic moments, the music is epic, gameplay is again very sharp , the spec ops mode is a nice add, even the visuals on multiplayer llook superior to cod4's sp visuals. The multiplayer is the best online xperience you can ever have in a Why the hell r people givin this game such low scores? n sayin that nothin has been improved?! The single player while short, offers alot more cinematic moments, the music is epic, gameplay is again very sharp , the spec ops mode is a nice add, even the visuals on multiplayer llook superior to cod4's sp visuals. The multiplayer is the best online xperience you can ever have in a game! Tonnes of new attachments, perks, n kill streak rewards r included. So bascally IW improved on every aspect of the 1st MW. This game is the GOTY for sure!! So if you're planning on buyin this game n r a bit skeptical after reading these negative comments, ignore!! because these people either suck at it or are bitcin about the lack of dedicated servers for pc. Just buy the game n enjoy!! Expand
  28. AndyE
    Feb 28, 2010
    6
    Excellent single player but the multiplayer is the first one in my life... that makes me want to throw the disc and case into a snowdrift outside (Feb '10). Terribly imbalanced perks and weapons, very regularly there's a major glitch that, while not gamebreaking, is incredibly frustrating. While Infinity Ward is indeed patching the glitches, they're not doing it in a timely Excellent single player but the multiplayer is the first one in my life... that makes me want to throw the disc and case into a snowdrift outside (Feb '10). Terribly imbalanced perks and weapons, very regularly there's a major glitch that, while not gamebreaking, is incredibly frustrating. While Infinity Ward is indeed patching the glitches, they're not doing it in a timely manner and it feels like a mod for Call of Duty 4. I vastly preferred Call of Duty: World at War's broken multiplayer over Modern Warfare 2's and Call of Duty 4 had easily the best multiplayer out of those three games. Expand
  29. ChrisP
    Nov 11, 2009
    7
    Like many people, when I heard Infinity Ward was planning on making a sequel to Modern Warfare as the next installment in the series I got very excited. Unfortunately, my child-like excitement got the better of me and I spent the last year or so thinking this game would be the best game ever released. Infinity Ward has given us a very streamlined and much fancier version of CoD 4, but Like many people, when I heard Infinity Ward was planning on making a sequel to Modern Warfare as the next installment in the series I got very excited. Unfortunately, my child-like excitement got the better of me and I spent the last year or so thinking this game would be the best game ever released. Infinity Ward has given us a very streamlined and much fancier version of CoD 4, but nothing new in the singleplayer and an outrageous amount of accomplishments in the multiplayer. While I am aware that many game publications base the majority of their rating on the single player, I cannot understand this for a game with a 5-6 hour story that many users will play 20 times that online. That being said, I find that the singleplayer experience is almost identical to the first game (which I very much enjoyed despite it's brevity) with almost identical plot twists and wild stories. I was disappointed with the lack of originality but still pleased enough to continue the story. The multiplayer is a beast that is tough to capture with just one rating. While it is vastly expanded in terms of goals and objectives from the first installment, this can make it a bit too busy at times. One of the best parts of the first Modern Warfare was the balance that you felt between the weapons. While there were some weaker weapons, on the whole you didn't feel a serious imbalance. This is not the case in Modern Warfare 2. Many of the guns feel inaccurate or too weak without certain perks. The maps feel too cluttered and non-linear to be multiplayer maps (although this does make for a much more interested single-player experience). I personally play on PS3 and have found that once again, the game grinds to a halt online. The first installment had a handful of glitches that made online play frustrating at times but were usually patched quickly. So far, this game has already had massive flaws on the PSNetwork and it seems like Infinity Ward didn't even bother to test the game on our network. All in all, the multiplayer has been pretty fun, but nothing I would invest the kind of time in that I did with the series' previous installment. If you own a PS3 & an Xbox 360, I would strongly urge you to buy the Xbox version, as Infinity Ward seems to have FAR fewer issues with Xbox online. Further, at the game's release there were issues for PS3 trophies and partymaking that Xbox is not having. This game is worth the price of admission, but will fall far short of expectations and the longevity that the previous version had/enjoyed. Expand
  30. CodyB
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    Lives up to the hype. One of the best games this generation among the original Call of Duty 4, Metal Gear Solid 4, Left 4 Dead, & Uncharted 2.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 67
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 67
  3. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. 100
    Modern Warfare 2 crosses into the must-have category of video games effortlessly. It offers an unmatched shooter experience, a compelling story mode, a slick package of mini missions and a multiplayer which is pretty much unparalleled in depth.
  2. 100
    Modern Warfare 2 offers epic gameplay, a stunning Spec-Ops mode and a huge amount of adrenaline.
  3. Despite certain controversial elements, this game is an FPS fan’s dream. Game of the Year? Hell, yeah!