User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1842 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 3, 2012
    4
    I am not going to lie to you, because you should pick this up if you are a fan of the franchise, or otherwise do not have a brain. But, if you are here on planet sensible, you will know that you should instead go out and buy CoD4: Modern Warfare. Modern Warfare 2 is an insulting, hopeless cash in on an alreattdy brilliant game, with an appauling single player, average multiplayer and so full of plot loops that it gives the **** developers more reason to release rediculously overpriced DLC to expand the "story". Couple that abominable experience with the fact that Call of Duty is designed for you to give $80 a year to Activision so they can produce more stuff for you to buy and you have the mess that you got yourself into by buying this rubbish of a game, and the fact that you will have seen everything in the first hour and you will experience more helicopter crashed (with you inside, of course) than Michael Bay on an acid trip. This game really doesn't have any redeeming features except for the barely on par graphics allowing for a steady frame rate, and the fact that the killcams (which you will probably skip anyway) give you something to laugh at. I would even reccommend Black Ops over thi, even though that doesn't even deserve any acclaim. When you buy this and finish the abysmal four hour campaign, you will wonder why you bothered to spend so much money on it in the first place. But, if you DO live in the land of insanity (otherwise known as my brother's mind) then you will enjoy this game until the day you die, probably name it GotY for 2009 and campaign to change the law so that yo can marry it. Of course, if you have five minutes, you just wanna kill **** and you find this game in the shops for $3 then it is also a vaguely interesting experience, until GameStop rings up and asks why you returned it when you were finished with it. Buy Killzone, or Medal of Honor, or maybe a brain, because if you consider buying this, that's what you'll be needing the most. Expand
  2. May 14, 2012
    9
    Does MW2 deserves the "Game of The Year" (2009) award? Not really, but It is and was a strong nominee. Gameplay is extremely fun, but the graphics didn't impress me at all. Still it delivers a great single/multi player experience. (9.3)
  3. Jun 2, 2012
    9
    Everytime i want to play a ego i always grab the good old MW2 Box. Maybe only for 2 or 3 Mission, but it has some kind of magic at playing it. Very good balance in the different mission, also the characters are guys i want in my team. Technically it is not perfect i agree, but as i said the balance is really well done. You get a 9!
  4. Nov 24, 2012
    5
    A shoddy story where every section is just the same old enemy waiting to be shot, along with his friends. Multiplayer is supposedly "amazing", but a game swarmed with children aged 10-15 with the odd adult is just annoying. If I couldn't hear them it would be fine, but the little **** don't know how to mute their mikes. So each time a new one joins I have to go out my way to mute them. The only above average section here is the spec-ops. Enough said. Expand
  5. Aug 14, 2012
    9
    The great campaign and the excellent multiplayer, let's not forget, the incredible spec ops make this game a masterpiece. Not only that, but even the sharp controls are a big positive. But, what are the problems? Short campaign and dull graphics. Despite from those problems, MW2 stays fresh and awesome. 93 out of 100
  6. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    9-Presentation; The characters and dialogue are well built and the menu's are laid out well.
    10-Graphics; The visuals are just insane. Period.
    10-Sound; Authentic sound effects, amazing voice acting, and thrilling music.
    10-Gameplay; Excellent levels, controls, mechanics, and AI
    10-Lasting appeal; 6 hour campaign with spec ops and infinite replay value in multiplayer
    Overall-10/10
  7. Aug 26, 2012
    10
    Perfect game! in Multiplayer you can use your favorite attachments and in single player you have an perfect experience with awesome graphics and weapons.
  8. Sep 5, 2012
    2
    If you can get this for free, a lot of fun can be fished out of Special Ops if you have a friend to play with you. If not, good luck playing because that aspect of the game lacks a matchmaking feature. The campaign is far too easy, with a generally boring plot with predictable twists. The Multiplayer seems to attract a lot of people, but to anyone who has play CoD before, it's just very very familiar. Expand
  9. Sep 17, 2012
    9
    Really addicting COD. I own this game on both 360 and PS3 and they both are flawless. The Story, Graphics, Controls are all smooth. The Spec Ops missions are a little fun to do after a while. The MP can get frustrating at times but still highly addictive
  10. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    Its a simple fact, Tactical Nukes rock! This game rocks! I would highly recommend that you get a nuke as your first killstreak because they are so fun!
  11. Oct 13, 2012
    9
    Yes it's a worn out formula, Yes it's the same thing over and over again. But it's an excellent formula and unbeatable in terms of multiplayer so... Why the negative feedback? Can't understand it...
  12. May 8, 2013
    10
    5.9 are you kidding, dont listen at all to that score this is one of the best most comprehensive online, spec ops and single player. Much better than 3 way better than black ops. This game is turly great.
  13. Dec 28, 2012
    9
    This was the game that signalled the downfall of CoD; it over-complicated things and added too much unnecessary crap to the game that introduced the rage-inducing aspect of Call of Duty. What I'm talking about is the customizable killstreaks, of which many were too powerful, and features such as Commando and the overpowered grenade launcher setups when used with One Man Army and Danger Close. While the game can really make you rage like no other, this was still a highly addictive multiplayer that kept me engrossed and hooked into for more than a full year. Even though it signalled the downfall of CoD, it was still a great game in itself. Expand
  14. Nov 10, 2012
    9
    Perhaps the most perfect call of duty in history. The campaign mode was amazing (perhaps, modern warfare 3 was better), but the thing that make the difference between this game and the others Modern warfare is the online mode. The sniper, the hours you can spend playing without getting bored. This game continues the great way wich modern warfare 1 started, and turn it better. This game is the reason why call of duty becomes the bestseller game during 3 years.

    The best: Multiplayer, one of the best multiplayers in shooter history. Awesome graphics, weapons variety. Good campaign and good special ops mode.
    The worst: Now, the hackers. The Nuke in multiplayer. Some bugs.
    Expand
  15. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    For me Call of duty had never been about the online multiplayers as i seen many battlefield fans just putting crap on it. but sure the game is hardly refreshed it does bring a much better story line. The story line really gets you in as you want to finish it. Playing split screen was the obvious reason i at time prefer cod over other shooters.
  16. Nov 23, 2012
    10
    This game will forever be the pinnacle of the CoD franchise (including the original Modern Warfare). I love this game and played it far beyond it's release date. The only reason that most of us don't play it anymore is because of the hackers that UAV themselves into an orgasm. A sad end to a great game.
  17. Dec 18, 2012
    8
    The game doesn't have the best story, but it does have the best characters not like Battlefield Bad Company where the characters look like cartoons, excellent voice acting, great music, good graphics, average arsenal, controls that are very tight, very nice fighting scenarios and epic moments. This game may not be the best of its kind but it certainly doesn't deserve a score under 6. The game manages to deliver a very fun FPS game. One of the things that did turn me off was the fact that again the game is too linear, there's not much space for any tactical approach really. And the only thing that makes this tittle an M rating game is the killings because there's not too much blood either, to me should a T rating. Expand
  18. Nov 23, 2012
    6
    The campaign wasn't so bad: even if it was linear and a bit cheesy, it still had intense moments. For the multiplayer, the gameplay is really addictive and just simple enough. The graphics are ok but the real downside of this game is the community: campers, hackers, whiners, 8 y/o, tubers. You name it.
  19. Dec 3, 2012
    1
    Debated making it a 0 but its graphics are very good, so I have to give it something. The graphics is the only compliment I will give this game. It is terrible, the biggest let down of a game ever. The game developers could of just reskinned COD4 (which they wisely did it seems in Black Ops 2) and focused on a cool campaign and have taken the easy way out, which is underwhelming but at least you won't pull your hair out playing it. But no, they decided to do a whole new physics engine and campaign which were cheaper in quality than a Michael Bay film. The multiplayer just feels clunky and wacky. The knifing in this game is a whole 90 degrees off it seems, campers rule over half the map, and bullets seem like they were shot out of a paintball gun, not a m16. They added all these new killstreaks which emphasized the problem that the only way you can get a kill in this game is through childish tricks, maybe thats why so many 5 year olds play this. Oh, but what really gets this game all the **** its thrown at it is the terrible community that has infected this franchise ever since nazi zombies came out (not knocking nazi zombies in any way, it just was a clever analogy, zombie outbreak to COD fanboy outbreak) which do nothing but sit in a corner in a video game and take pot shots at you. Do not hope to find any teamwork, because there is none, this game revolves around you running around and hoping that the other guy isn't facing you. Nobody cares about the campaign so there is no reason to go over it. Expand
  20. Jun 19, 2014
    9
    Modern Warfare 2 is a great game with a fun multiplayer and a great campaign. Yes, the multiplayer is broken with the noobtubes, OP killstreaks and the aim assist snipers but that doesn't prevent it from being loads of fun.The campaign continues the story of the previous installment Cod4:MW so it will not disappoint.The characters are still great, the storyline is great and the gameplay is just borderline addicting.If you are a fps gamer, forget all the ignorant idiots that rank this an 0 and buy this game. Expand
  21. Jul 30, 2013
    9
    Modern Warfare 2 is an improvement on Call of Duty 4. Campaign is short but compelling, Special Ops is a slick package of a variety of mini missions but it's the multiplayer that keeps you hooked on Call of Duty.

    It has a lot of depth, killstreaks allow you to do more than just shoot. It's very rewarding and awesome to use. In Call of Duty 4, you only had 3. In Modern Warfare 2, you can
    only use three but you have 15 killstreaks to choose from.

    Modern Warfare 2 introduces several new features, not seen in Call of Duty, aside from new weapons, equipment and perks that upgrade to "pro versions" after meeting utilization requirements. If you're really good, you can get a nuke (25 killstreak) and the person who use it will win for the player, him or herself, or the team no matter who's winning.

    Host migration is a bit annoying, since the host likes to rage quit, but it lets you continue on with the game instead of going back to the lobby, where you would lose your victory points and extra exp if you were about to win.

    Third person is an option in selected game types and there are new game types as well as the return of Team Deathmatch, Search & Destroy etc. Trophies/achievements is very easy so this game is a good collection for you trophy/achievement whores as there are no multiplayer achievements, though you would need two players for some.

    Special Ops has a variety of mini missions from snowmobile race to eliminating enemies. Special Ops is great if you need a change from multiplayer. Graphics isn't the best but it runs consistently at 60 FPS on console. Consistent frame rate is required for competitive play rather than graphics that makes you go "wow" and there are loads of better looking games out there, such as Uncharted as well as Final Fantasy.

    People like to annoy you online, doesn't make the game itself bad. If you run into some annoying c**t, just mute him. Simple! People b***hing about trickshotters. So what? They get killed more than they kill anyway. Again, doesn't make the game bad. It's how the player chooses to play. Killstreaks isn't consistent but it's how the franchise evolves. It's one of the best shooters out today so if you haven't played it, you're missing out.
    Expand
  22. Mar 10, 2013
    8
    I joined the COD universe with this game and I won't regret it in a million years. Fast, brutal, fascinating! One of the Bests of the Offensive FPS games. Length of the story is sufficiently short, spec ops missions are well built, the grounds are varied, anyone can find his/her favourite weapon, and the Multiplayer will attract you back Time-toTime. I know, it's almost the same game as the other Cods from before, but for a newbie like me it is a good start and in total it IS a good game. Expand
  23. Jun 19, 2013
    0
    This is one of the worst games I`ve ever played. Don`t buy it!
    Singleplayer: The story isn`t good.
    Multiplayer: One Map was blocked so you only can play it on a hacked server. That`s the second problem, in this game are many hacker and hacked lobby`s/server.. The weapons are not balanced just like the match-making-system. You have to play mean to get bonus experience so many players are
    camping, noob-tubing or rush with overpowered weapons. In this game are some mean kill-streak-rewards like the AC-130. The enemy players dies non-stop so you get no kills too. That means no one is happy (only the player with the AC-130).
    Sometimes it`s very funny but the bad and aggressive making moments are so much more...
    The developers stopped the support so the game will not get updates.

    If I could I would give minus points for this game. Please IW update this game or don`t do mistakes like this again.
    Expand
  24. Feb 21, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Althought it haves a lot of innovation, MW2's innovation is negative. You can be winning 199-0 in a Domination game but if someone in the other team kills 25 dudes without dying, is an instant loss. Perks like Commando (getting knifed from a 10-feet distance really freaks me out), terrible spawns, people that shoot their's grenade launchers throught the map and kill the entire team and the fact that you get rewards for dying makes this game a really broken one, and in my opinion does NOT live up the hype of the incredible prequel it has. Expand
  25. Mar 15, 2013
    5
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 is pretty average across the board, It's single player campaign is decent and action packed but it's way too short and it's story is not very interesting at all. Obviously multiplayer is what the Call of Duty series it known for, but unfortunately Modern Warfare 2 is just as much a mixed bag here as well, the guns in the game control well but are not very balanced and the kill streaks are what kill the game with people just destroying with some of the later kill streaks which makes the game not fun and all you end up doing is sitting in a building waiting for the kill streaks to end. There are better multiplayer shooters out there, save your money and get a shooter that is more balanced, If you really want a Call of Duty game then there are also betters ones out there. Expand
  26. Mar 19, 2013
    8
    Modern Warfare 2 is judged too rashly on its online mode. The storyline continues on from Modern Warfare and, with the help of Price, you'll undoubtedly be begging for more come the end. If there was no online mode, MW2 would no doubt be pushing on that 10/10 mark. But there is unfortunately an online mode, and as it happens, it's the most frustrating online game out there, with a series of bumbling errors, glitches and general annoyances that can really make you more irate than a game should. However, you can't argue with the fact that MW2 is one of the most played, most commercially successful, and most anticipated games, ever. While one can scream the house down while playing it, it will take your pride and self-respect away, but I promise you you'll go back for more. Such is the nature of the Call Of Duty series. Expand
  27. Jun 20, 2013
    9
    This is a great game!! The campaign has a great story and an amazing cinematic presentation that I absolutely love to see in games because i think it makes the experience more like a movie! Aside from that it has a series of co-op special ops missions that are great fun to be had with a buddy! Last but certainly not least the multiplayer for this game is ridiculous, addicting and crazy fun! I still enjoy playing this game to this day! Expand
  28. May 10, 2013
    9
    of all the call of duty games that ive played this games beats all (including both black ops games, modern warfare 3, world at war, and cod 4). this game is a MUST buy for call of duty fans. I give this game a 9 because of how the PSN servers are and have been down for about 1 and a half years. Otherwise this is my fav game of all time
  29. May 19, 2013
    10
    Probably the best COD game I have played. It has a good campaign but its too short. Spec Ops is a good addition to the COD series. For the multiplayer, it has the best pacing, best guns, and best killstreaks
  30. May 25, 2013
    7
    MW2 has several issues, but can be ignorable once you see the good in this title. First off, the single-player campaign is fun, yet short, even on hardened difficulty. The MP has small problems, but won't bother you. The weapons can be unbalanced, with some weapons being over-powered and some under, but the MP is very exciting, especially the new Spec Ops mode.
    However, I recommend you
    rent the title first before you purchase it. Expand
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 67
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 67
  3. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. 100
    Modern Warfare 2 crosses into the must-have category of video games effortlessly. It offers an unmatched shooter experience, a compelling story mode, a slick package of mini missions and a multiplayer which is pretty much unparalleled in depth.
  2. 100
    Modern Warfare 2 offers epic gameplay, a stunning Spec-Ops mode and a huge amount of adrenaline.
  3. Despite certain controversial elements, this game is an FPS fan’s dream. Game of the Year? Hell, yeah!