User Score
3.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 5134 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    poor nothing has changed... well done activition for rehashing a game on a year by year basis...

    shame COD will go down the route of Guitar hero due to Activitions money visions :-/

    on a plus note you can finish the trilogy story of Soap and his crew
  2. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Single player is ok but just more of the same nothing new really at all here. Graphics are dated, shooting a machine gun sounds more like a paintball gun than a real gun. Multiplayer looks and plays identical to previous COD titles. Was hoping for something revolutionary that didn't seem like an expansion. For my $59 I am highly dissapointed in this game and it will be the last game I everSingle player is ok but just more of the same nothing new really at all here. Graphics are dated, shooting a machine gun sounds more like a paintball gun than a real gun. Multiplayer looks and plays identical to previous COD titles. Was hoping for something revolutionary that didn't seem like an expansion. For my $59 I am highly dissapointed in this game and it will be the last game I ever pre-order. Expand
  3. Nov 10, 2011
    3
    This game feels like an add-on to MW2. It has the same engine, recycled buildings and character models. It is practically MW2 with a few extra guns, perks and new maps. It is a shame on how Activision sells the same game twice at $60.
  4. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Critics say one thing. People who paid 60$ for the game say otherwise... Trust me. This is not worth your time. Skyrim and Assassins creed are coming out soon so get those
  5. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Iit is sad how we let Activision get away with this every year. This is why they will never change because all these sheep that keep handing them their wallets. Go play Batman Arkham City or The Legend of Zelda Skyward Sword. when it comes out.
  6. Nov 9, 2011
    2
    How could this happened ?! How can you sell it 70 â
  7. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    Same old repeat. Feel like I bought MW2.1. Thank god I can get a full refund. I was such a Die Hard COD fan too! Epic fail guys. Never again. Spend less money on marketing hype and more on game development!
  8. Nov 10, 2011
    3
    The much anticipated Modern Warfare 3 game can only be described as an epic fail to provide its gaming community with anything new. The graphics are brilliant but the mechanics are terrible. The game plays to the gamer who just wants to log on and die 40 times and kill someone 40 times. After the release of BF3 this year you would have thought CoD MW3 would have been inventive... SaveThe much anticipated Modern Warfare 3 game can only be described as an epic fail to provide its gaming community with anything new. The graphics are brilliant but the mechanics are terrible. The game plays to the gamer who just wants to log on and die 40 times and kill someone 40 times. After the release of BF3 this year you would have thought CoD MW3 would have been inventive... Save your money or buy BF3. Expand
  9. Dec 30, 2011
    4
    MW3 is a great game. The only problem is that it's the same damn thing. They think that just because they add the littlest things to every new COD, that people will still think it is fresh. Critics judge it so high because they get payed to rate it, and probably get the game free. But people judge it so low because they wasted their money, and it's the same thing as before. COD's onlyMW3 is a great game. The only problem is that it's the same damn thing. They think that just because they add the littlest things to every new COD, that people will still think it is fresh. Critics judge it so high because they get payed to rate it, and probably get the game free. But people judge it so low because they wasted their money, and it's the same thing as before. COD's only future is in zombies. Check my new account for games, I am only doing movies on here. Expand
  10. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Oh man, this is worse than most of the Call of Duty games.... I mean really, everyone was just going on and on and on about it, and when it finally gets here, it was just flat out awful! It ended up being such a disappointing game. Hopefully, the next game (if there is one...) won't be as bad. Just get Uncharted or Sonic Generations.
  11. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    DO NOT BUY. Waste of money - bought it and stupid me chucked the reciept. Stuck with this piece of ****. It feels like a mw2 expansion - but it feeels like it has made it worse. I hate when developers do this - rehash old games. The only new thing is the menu. SERIOUSLY DO NOT BUY
  12. Nov 8, 2011
    2
    There's not much to say about the Call of Duty series any more. They have used the same engine for years, the game itself offers nothing to the FPS industry, let alone the gaming industry apart from disappointment. MW3 seems more of a fix for the previous games and to correct the imbalance during online gameplay. If you ignore the statements above and look at the current state of the gameThere's not much to say about the Call of Duty series any more. They have used the same engine for years, the game itself offers nothing to the FPS industry, let alone the gaming industry apart from disappointment. MW3 seems more of a fix for the previous games and to correct the imbalance during online gameplay. If you ignore the statements above and look at the current state of the game it seems they have been aiming more towards the casual audience with more perks for ease of play that will drive some hardcore players over the edge and seeking other FPS games. Expand
  13. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    Who is paying these "critics", this game is full of cow turd.

    -repetitive
    -3 year old engine based on an even older engine
    -sounds are terrible
    -not even fun anymore since COD 1-3 maybe even 4
  14. Nov 8, 2011
    3
    I am simply a gamer who likes a $60 game to be at least somewhat polished and offer something that is intriguing as well as visually and emotionally stimulating. This game simply does not deliver and I am embarrassed to say i bought it... We all bought into the hype, I just wish some of the developers would treat us as human beings and not mindless open wallets. I will give this game aI am simply a gamer who likes a $60 game to be at least somewhat polished and offer something that is intriguing as well as visually and emotionally stimulating. This game simply does not deliver and I am embarrassed to say i bought it... We all bought into the hype, I just wish some of the developers would treat us as human beings and not mindless open wallets. I will give this game a "3". It did offer some entertainment but absolutely nothing different then MW3. And as I was getting ready to log off last night someone said "your mom is a **** And that's when i remembered that this game is for children.. Expand
  15. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    "This game is horrible, glad I only rented it, I saved some serious cash" "Modern Warfare 3, more like Modern Warfare 2.1. Adding some new maps and guns is not a new title. It's a very expensive expansion pack. Activision better stop trying to ride the Call of Duty wave and get IW to produce an actual successor to Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare"
  16. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Outdated engine is outdated. God, the particle effects are exactly the same as they were in CoD 4. I'm not sure how anyone could blow 60 dollars an CoD MW 1.3, because that's what it is. Even the gun audio remains the same for most weapons. Sure, they've tweaked gameplay, that doesn't warrant another release though, instead they could actually support their community and game with contentOutdated engine is outdated. God, the particle effects are exactly the same as they were in CoD 4. I'm not sure how anyone could blow 60 dollars an CoD MW 1.3, because that's what it is. Even the gun audio remains the same for most weapons. Sure, they've tweaked gameplay, that doesn't warrant another release though, instead they could actually support their community and game with content BESIDES map packs, which are overpriced as well. Expand
  17. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Welcome to the Madden of fps! Every year they release essentially the same game with a few tweaks and a bit more graphics and tell you that you gotta have it. And just like the Madden series, no matter how few new features there are people will still snap it up. Rent before you buy, make sure you actually want this game!
  18. Mar 16, 2012
    0
    This is MW 1 & 2 all over again!!! :-o
    My nephews got it and I played it RIGHT after MW2, it was THE SAME EXPERIENCE!!!
    What is this!? Why do people praise these games??? :-O
  19. Nov 8, 2011
    2
    Enjoy your $60 map pack. I was skeptical of this purchase in the first place because of the previous products in this franchise but I thought I would give them the benefit of the doubt and give it a shot. Absolutely worst purchase I have ever made.
  20. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Wow, what a complete rehash. I thought it was going to be similar but wow. It's less than an expansion or even DLC. This is basically a slightly changed mod! I am literally bored already.... No more chances for this tired series; this is just plain POOR.
  21. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    Just as I suspected. An overhyped, copy and paste of Modern Warfare 2. Very disappointing, I'd like to give a higher score but I'm so angry, how could they re-release a game and expect people to pay £39.99? Same graphics, same gameplay, same multiplayer, same everything else.
  22. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Well, what shall i say? Its a $55 mappack. I had high expectations, and yes i'm disappointed! I mainly blame Infinity Ward and hope that Activision will never work with them again.
  23. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    After paying $60 on this game I went home and put it in my PS3. After a couple hours of gameplay I realized I had been ripped off! I looked in my DVD rack and grabbed a CoD game I bought 2 years ago, it looked the same but had a 2 on it instead of a 3. I then realized it is the same exact game, with a few minor tweaks. Biggest waste of money ever. Yet, there are still trolls on theAfter paying $60 on this game I went home and put it in my PS3. After a couple hours of gameplay I realized I had been ripped off! I looked in my DVD rack and grabbed a CoD game I bought 2 years ago, it looked the same but had a 2 on it instead of a 3. I then realized it is the same exact game, with a few minor tweaks. Biggest waste of money ever. Yet, there are still trolls on the internet like Destructoid's own Jimmyx Sterling getting paid big bucks to give it high review scores. Expand
  24. Nov 9, 2011
    4
    Sure, I buy the same laundry detergent to wash my clothes every time. It does what I expect it to do. That doesn't mean I should pay $60 for it, and it certainly doesn't mean I have fun doing the laundry.
  25. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Wow, this game is the same thing, over and over again. MP offers zero competition. 10 year old kids might enjoy this game, but other than that? Steer clear.
  26. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    so in all fairness this is a 60 dlc that people pay for and yet there is call of duty elite for 50 bucks witch is dlc so your really paying 110 for map packs a broke ass story and a rip off of gears horde mode have fun kids ill stick with skyrim and bf3 ps kill confirmed is a rip off u can still camp bc your team kills get earsed not yours nobody cares about team in that that game kidsso in all fairness this is a 60 dlc that people pay for and yet there is call of duty elite for 50 bucks witch is dlc so your really paying 110 for map packs a broke ass story and a rip off of gears horde mode have fun kids ill stick with skyrim and bf3 ps kill confirmed is a rip off u can still camp bc your team kills get earsed not yours nobody cares about team in that that game kids ruin this game Expand
  27. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    I didn't have high expectations from this game, but man did was it even worse than I had thought. Graphics are absolutely horrible compared to... just about anything released in the past 3 years, never mind Battlefield 3. There are some additions that have been 'inspired' by other games, like a Horde mode a-la Gears of War 3. The campaign is pretty short, although that's a standard for theI didn't have high expectations from this game, but man did was it even worse than I had thought. Graphics are absolutely horrible compared to... just about anything released in the past 3 years, never mind Battlefield 3. There are some additions that have been 'inspired' by other games, like a Horde mode a-la Gears of War 3. The campaign is pretty short, although that's a standard for the series, and the only redeeming quality I can find is the extended re playability offered by the stand-alone Spec Ops missions and the aforementioned Horde Mode. I cannot, in good conscience, recommend this game to anyone, at least not at its full price. If you happen to find this at a bargain sale, then perhaps it would offer some buck for your money, especially if you are on a weaker system. Otherwise, just wait for the bundle that includes all 3 Modern Warfare games so you can experience the story from start to finish. This is a rehashed product, and I can't help but wonder what kind of work went into the development of such a game. As a side note, Elite is not currently available for PC. Expand
  28. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Im not entirely sure of my consumer rights on this one, but if I purchase a game (MW3) bring it home play it for around 27 minutes and instantly realize I've 1.) Made a huge mistake and 2.) Actually been fooled by Activision / Infinity Ward once again into giving them money can i return it? Because thats exactly what I'm going to do, How, how, how, how could you actually put this out onIm not entirely sure of my consumer rights on this one, but if I purchase a game (MW3) bring it home play it for around 27 minutes and instantly realize I've 1.) Made a huge mistake and 2.) Actually been fooled by Activision / Infinity Ward once again into giving them money can i return it? Because thats exactly what I'm going to do, How, how, how, how could you actually put this out on the market and charge â Expand
  29. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    After playing this game for a good 4 hours, I noticed that this game felt very familiar, A little bit TOO familiar. Then it hit me that everything in this game from the graphics, the sound effects, the art, is from Modern Warfare 2. It sickens me that Activision thinks that they can get away with just copying everything that the original IW team has worked for and just paste into a newAfter playing this game for a good 4 hours, I noticed that this game felt very familiar, A little bit TOO familiar. Then it hit me that everything in this game from the graphics, the sound effects, the art, is from Modern Warfare 2. It sickens me that Activision thinks that they can get away with just copying everything that the original IW team has worked for and just paste into a new package and call it Modern Warfare 3. Contrary to all the "VIDEO GAME JOURNALISTS" that give this game a 80% or higher this game is nothing new and they should have just called it Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 2011 edition, you are basically paying $60 on a expansion pack, A very poorly made expansion pack. Expand
  30. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Can't even tell the difference between this and original modern warfare. There's a reason they come out with so many games and so many map packs...its because they want one thing, and it looks like an "S" with a vertical line through it.
  31. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Well I thought I'd buy the game in hopes it wasn't going to be another over-priced expansion pack...looks like I was wrong, but at least they threw in the bugs for free. I just wish major review sites had the balls to call this series out for things they'll rip others apart for because I'm returning the game tomorrow and I hope the rest of you do to.
  32. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    It's very sad, that people give a developer credit for lazy work. Half of the sounds, equipment, perks, guns, and only one new attachment are in the game. 80% of the killstreaks are the same. And you always the get the felling "I have done this before". Survival is sorry attempted at zombies and fails flat. The same COD formula is use, Level up, get guns, unlock the same attachments fromIt's very sad, that people give a developer credit for lazy work. Half of the sounds, equipment, perks, guns, and only one new attachment are in the game. 80% of the killstreaks are the same. And you always the get the felling "I have done this before". Survival is sorry attempted at zombies and fails flat. The same COD formula is use, Level up, get guns, unlock the same attachments from every call of duty, and rinse repeat. Sad really, this game will not move the industry forward but millions will buy a half tried effort. If any other game did this it would get bashed to crap. Save your money Expand
  33. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Yet another first person shooter in a market flooded with this overused brand. This game is horrible, glad I only rented it, I saved some serious cash.
  34. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Just like everyone was saying. It is a MW2 remake.... IW needs to move on to another game franchise. Eventually COD will dissapear like rockband and tony hawk... Good job Activision, you just killed another one of your franchises.
  35. Dec 6, 2011
    4
    It's not so much the game but the community that breaks this game. As someone who enjoys heavily team based games like Battlefield etc MW3 offers very little. It seems that the game promotes kill whoring a little too much which leads to players more obsessed with their k/dr than actually winning.
  36. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    This FPS has just released? In 2011? Let me laugh !! There is no evolution since CoDMW... Just a new campaign, heavier textures and new weapons, not a new game. More than $15 for this, it's just a joke ! There is no game development and no expensive work to release this game.
  37. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    There is no point to sugarcoat this, this game is modern warfare 2 with a few new maps, and even saying that is too much. I keep being fooled into buying these games when I could clearly spend my 60 dollars on something more worth it, like food and clothes. The hype for this game is out of control and the fanbase that praises this game like a religion continues to make it sound like we'reThere is no point to sugarcoat this, this game is modern warfare 2 with a few new maps, and even saying that is too much. I keep being fooled into buying these games when I could clearly spend my 60 dollars on something more worth it, like food and clothes. The hype for this game is out of control and the fanbase that praises this game like a religion continues to make it sound like we're paying for new technology.

    With that said, call me when this recycled series hits the next generation consoles (PS4/XBOX720), maybe they'll have something new by than.
    Expand
  38. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    SAME GAME. They just want your money. Why pay for a 60 dollar game that has 90% of the same stuff as the games before? They do this all for money. You have to pay 50 dollars for a lil stupid COD social network? Please. They are just fooling all the rich people into paying 60 dollars for this sht. Should have just made a huge expansion pack for like 10-30 bucks. End of story, like what theySAME GAME. They just want your money. Why pay for a 60 dollar game that has 90% of the same stuff as the games before? They do this all for money. You have to pay 50 dollars for a lil stupid COD social network? Please. They are just fooling all the rich people into paying 60 dollars for this sht. Should have just made a huge expansion pack for like 10-30 bucks. End of story, like what they did with borderlands. Pathetic and sad Expand
  39. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Awful game.

    All they have done is reskinned blackops and added a few gimmicks. Blackops was a reskin of mw2. They publish half arsed games every year just to capitalise on sales. Only sheep would buy such a game. Awful campaign, again. All they have done is port the game over to the pc from console. No console, lean, configs, etc.
  40. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Biggest map pack yet! It even comes with a few sneaky bonuses which you'll have to find.
    5 new guns, new killstreaks and other pointless crap! Just another Infinity ward serving of poo.
  41. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    No, sorry. This is a rip-off activision. MW 2.5 not more. Customers are stupid, but not that stupid! To destroy a so successful franchise the way you are doing itdoes not proof to be extremely smart....
  42. Nov 8, 2011
    2
    Disaster. An absolute disaster. I bough it for the single player experience, which was excellent in Modern Warfare and MW2, but this one felt like some kind of Michael Bay wet dream. Don't waste your hard earned cash folks. Just get Skyrim instead.
  43. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Disappointing on all fronts. It's a reskin of a 2 year old game with a multiplayer map pack and different singleplayer that's riddled with stupidity and cliches in bulk while still being insanely short

    I don't understand how Activision gets away with doing this to people. I understand it's fun to some gamers and they like the series and that's fine, but just throwing money at something
    Disappointing on all fronts. It's a reskin of a 2 year old game with a multiplayer map pack and different singleplayer that's riddled with stupidity and cliches in bulk while still being insanely short

    I don't understand how Activision gets away with doing this to people. I understand it's fun to some gamers and they like the series and that's fine, but just throwing money at something because it's fun is selfish and they need to tell Activision with their wallets they're tired of getting ripped off every year.
    Expand
  44. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    Don't waste money, effort, electricity, and your homemade mom's sandwich.. because nothing change same graphics like a cartoon style and i put 1 score only because of the story.. nothing special.. multiplayer sucks as always.. after playing campaign mode.. back to bf3 :P
  45. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Very poor game in my opinion. Looked from the start actually that it was going to be this way. Come on Activision stop being lazy by giving us the same old crap -.- . This is what unfortunately happens when a very good game gets a new release every bloody year.
  46. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    MW2 expansion pack is not worth full price. It's a decent game, there are still over powered weapons, there is still a bunch of annoying things to put up with online, the story is totally over the top, you character is defying death in every scene which becomes stale after the very first mission when you realize how many times you defied death in MW2. This is something you want to stayMW2 expansion pack is not worth full price. It's a decent game, there are still over powered weapons, there is still a bunch of annoying things to put up with online, the story is totally over the top, you character is defying death in every scene which becomes stale after the very first mission when you realize how many times you defied death in MW2. This is something you want to stay away from until the price goes down, or there is a sale. Not a bad game, at least not as bad as MW2, but not what I was expecting for a full priced game with over 2 years of development times. Expand
  47. Nov 8, 2011
    3
    Multiplayer: It feels a bit broken, then again it was Sledge Hammer that made the multiplayer aspect of the game. The servers are laggy. The hit detection is still the same old Modern Warfare you'd expect. Knifing the air gets a kill. Shooting bullets onto an invincible hit box gets a kill, whilst the player is way out of harms way. Hit detection is way off in general. Bullets still do notMultiplayer: It feels a bit broken, then again it was Sledge Hammer that made the multiplayer aspect of the game. The servers are laggy. The hit detection is still the same old Modern Warfare you'd expect. Knifing the air gets a kill. Shooting bullets onto an invincible hit box gets a kill, whilst the player is way out of harms way. Hit detection is way off in general. Bullets still do not penetrate thin walls or wooden crates but can penetrate 12 inch thick titanium steel. Character control in general feels a clumsy. Weapons are awkward to work with. Maps are the typical MW maps you'd expect if not worse. Unimaginative, bland, and with bad spawn points. Kills do not feel as rewarding as before and kill streaks are not as amusing. It's a great fast paced game but in general most of it feels like a rehash of MW2 with a blend of terrible Black Ops maps. Single Player: Same old cliche story suitable for people/children who need explosions and chaos to obtain an orgasm and deem it a good game or movie. I was in pain trying to finish this game, instead of enjoying it. I just wanted to get this garbage story to end and to my surprise; the expected MW ending. The AI of this game like always, using the same bad programing can cause some what of a humor. Small scaled linear pathway maps like usual. In conclusions, this game is nothing but a rehash of the old game (including Treyarch's Black Ops) with the number 3 stamped in front. Save your self $60 and keep on enjoying MW2. Expand
  48. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    well lets just say ive played this game before -_- this game is not worth buying and just get the cheaper version witch is call of duty 4 modern warfare terrible story same multiplay spec ops mode gets boring after one match do not recommend
  49. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I am insulted that this can pass as a full finished game. This is NOT AAA material.
  50. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    This game is absolutely horrible. Hardcore mode is screwed, one hit and someone is dead just like black ops. They basically just made black ops "modern warfare" and slapped the 3 on it to sell.
  51. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    This game is just another death knell of the FPS genre. Activision is riding previous success by releasing yet another clone that adds nothing progressive to the series. It's unfortunate that the massive amount of money they make is not being used to create something new. It appears this time they didn't even bother to update the graphics, despite the amazing graphics in their competitor'sThis game is just another death knell of the FPS genre. Activision is riding previous success by releasing yet another clone that adds nothing progressive to the series. It's unfortunate that the massive amount of money they make is not being used to create something new. It appears this time they didn't even bother to update the graphics, despite the amazing graphics in their competitor's Battlefield 3. There are many great games coming out in the following months, don't waste your money on this one. Expand
  52. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I dont understand the critics from the major companies....clearly Actavision wrote them a big fat cheque so that they would give it some sort of positive score. This game lacks everything its a COPY PASTA of MW2 what a joke and their charging us full retail price. This game sucks KEEP your money and instead play MW2........ Im going for a refund as we speak.
  53. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Pathetic, same game, nothing new, nothing has changed. They even made something impossible to do. After 4 years they managed to make the COD serie WORST, they managed to sell so much games without bringing real new gameplay improvements. They single player, pathetic storyline. The gaming industry is dead, thank you Activision, FPS will never be what it used to be.
  54. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I have been an avid supporter of the call of duty franchise for many years, playing each game for hundreds of hours. The latest release, Modern Warfare 3 is however extremely disappointing. There is almost no difference when compared to COD 4, which is disgusting considering that this is a stand alone game, and not just an expansion or map pack. The elite service is also rubbish, chargingI have been an avid supporter of the call of duty franchise for many years, playing each game for hundreds of hours. The latest release, Modern Warfare 3 is however extremely disappointing. There is almost no difference when compared to COD 4, which is disgusting considering that this is a stand alone game, and not just an expansion or map pack. The elite service is also rubbish, charging for things most games offer for free. I think I'm going to change sides and give BF a try. Expand
  55. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    $60 dlc. same garbage in a different box for a different year. they'll just keep stripping away more of your game each year and reselling it knowing you all will pay for anything.
  56. Nov 8, 2011
    2
    It sickens me when "pro" reviewers give this game high scores, eventhough its nothing more than a patch. Same graphics engine, same weapons, same animations, just more missions, arenas,killstreaks. How long can this cash cow formula keep working for Activision. They want us to keep paying premium prices for the same $hit every year, BLOPS, MW2,MW1, its all the same, just different maps.It sickens me when "pro" reviewers give this game high scores, eventhough its nothing more than a patch. Same graphics engine, same weapons, same animations, just more missions, arenas,killstreaks. How long can this cash cow formula keep working for Activision. They want us to keep paying premium prices for the same $hit every year, BLOPS, MW2,MW1, its all the same, just different maps. After 2 years of development this is what they came up with? are they even investing any money on this franchisee anymore? And "reviewers" give it high scores, yet thrash games like U3, Killzone 3, R3 for not been "innovative" or "bringing anything new" oh how I hate video game journalism, if we can even call it journalism Expand
  57. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Bought this game, took it home, and played it. Then I realized the game I was playing was one that I already owned. I had owned several copies of this game. Why did I even go out and buy it? I thought it was new game, but I already have three of them.
  58. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    This isn't a sequel, it is basically a $60 DLC where your stats get reset, and random elements of the game are broken, because it was made by significantly less talented developers (Bobby Kotick gets to pay them less that way) Enjoy your McVideoGame
  59. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Rebaged COD4 Ill pass sorry. This game would have been great 10 years ago but with nothing new added to the same I see no reason to buy this game. If other people would skip on it we could send a message to activion they need to work to earn our money. There will always be blind masses, a series that brought so many to gaming needs to show most games dont just copy paste and add a newRebaged COD4 Ill pass sorry. This game would have been great 10 years ago but with nothing new added to the same I see no reason to buy this game. If other people would skip on it we could send a message to activion they need to work to earn our money. There will always be blind masses, a series that brought so many to gaming needs to show most games dont just copy paste and add a new number to make a new game in a series, sorry but I dont buy it. Pick up Battlefield 3 or hey almost any other shooter and save yourself $60 or if you have to have it just buy COD4 Expand
  60. Nov 8, 2011
    4
    Now im going to be completely honest here, having gotten the game 3 days early I can tell you one thing. It's simply more of the same. That's not to say the original CoD 4 was bad though, it's just completely over used and now getting to the point where it is ridiculous.
  61. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Hello Modern Warfare 2.5... Feeling like someone re-boxed an old mission pack addon for MW2 somewhat. Other than some slightly polished graphical updates, it's all same 'ol, same 'ol so far... disappointed with the whole game.
  62. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    very dissapointed the same game again and again year after after year. basically a cod4 map pack. dont get this youl be dissapointed, 0/10. the user reviews are spot on the critics were paid to give good reviews
  63. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I can't believe they try to pass off a game that is 90% the same as the previous games.. same engine, same gameplay. It is basically a patched up version of MW2 :(
  64. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I will never forgive you for scamming me. Goodbye, asswipes. May I never be reminded of this horrible serie again. Be gone from my PC. You have wasted all hopes, all dreams. And my bandwidth.
  65. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    This is honestly just MW2.1 this is awful. I can't believe I stayed up and went to a midnight launch for this. Complete waste of money, i'm taking this back to the store after work today to trade it in (or return it if they let me) and get battlefield 3. God IW is so lazy this is more or less THE EXACT SAME GAME as MW2 with a couple minor tweaks. Waste of damn money.
  66. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    This game came out two years ago, It's called Modern Warfare 2. I pity the fool who buys Modern Warfare 3. You'd have more fun spending your $60 on a toothless hooker.
  67. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I believe this game deserves a 0 for this reason, it's not a new game. Nevermind the trailers that say otherwise, nevermind the hype given to the game by its marketing department 'The most anticipated game in HISTORY!' this is simply put, a £40 MW2 map pack. And unless people stop listening to the reviewers that have been paid off, and stop subscribing to the hype the gameI believe this game deserves a 0 for this reason, it's not a new game. Nevermind the trailers that say otherwise, nevermind the hype given to the game by its marketing department 'The most anticipated game in HISTORY!' this is simply put, a £40 MW2 map pack. And unless people stop listening to the reviewers that have been paid off, and stop subscribing to the hype the game gives itself, Activision will continue to churn out rehash after rehash, each time offering you LESS for your money. This year it was 'HEY GUYS LOOK ITS BUNGIE.NET BUT YOU PAY FOR IT!' and to my disbelief that actually worked. I've got to give it to you Activision, your marketing department are sublime. Expand
  68. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Old **** and it sells again. wtf why people is buyin this **** only new things are those insane killstreak **** and the story is like some b hollywood movie that just sucks like someone believes that one guy can go and kill 5 million peoples himself. wtf. i never buy cod again.
  69. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Tired rehash of the same old thing... The marketing department grossly over-hyped this game, their detachment from reality and their willingness to sell out is disgusting. They clearly didn't play the same game I did. Don't believe the hype, it's a sequel.
  70. Nov 8, 2011
    3
    Im new to gaming and have really caught the bug after playing on a friends PS3 this year , got MW3 last night (prebooked today of work !) Having spent over 7 hours on the game i have to say im really disappointed . I'd read and heard so much about the series that i thought it would be awesome but the graphics seem very poor and the multiplayer maps seem so small . I'd beenIm new to gaming and have really caught the bug after playing on a friends PS3 this year , got MW3 last night (prebooked today of work !) Having spent over 7 hours on the game i have to say im really disappointed . I'd read and heard so much about the series that i thought it would be awesome but the graphics seem very poor and the multiplayer maps seem so small . I'd been playing a game called Bad Company 2 for the last few months at my friends house and i thought this would be at least as good but sadly its not even half as good as that , there's no teamwork , no destruction , no vehicles , poorer graphics and a huge downgrade in sound quality . On the plus side it kind of runs quick and turning feels like im on ice but ive decided to strike while the iron is hot and sell this game as quick as possible to recoup my money and i'll go and get this new Battlefield 3 game that everyone seems to be raving about . If its as good as Bad Company then its already better than this MW3 . Sadly i think i got caught up in the hype but i'll not get my fingers burnt again and will stick with the Battlefield series from now on . Expand
  71. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Modern Warfare 3, more like Modern Warfare 2.1. Adding some new maps and guns is not a new title. It's a very expensive expansion pack. Activision better stop trying to ride the Call of Duty wave and get IW to produce an actual successor to Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare.
  72. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Maybe if they changed the game for once it'd be worth it. Not giving my money for, from what I've played, is a 60$ DLC, with a promised $60 of DLCs on the way. What a scam these guys are pulling off though. Should give the makers a higher score just for that...naaahhhhh.
  73. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Game reviewers are getting paid to give this resale of last years game positive reviews. Its 5 hours long and some multiplayer maps. Really dont waste your time or cave into your kids request for the game.. there are so many more other games out there that arent rehashed
  74. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    This game was hyped everywhere. My friends were absolutely hyped for this piece of fecal matter. I was absolutely baffled when I put my copy in my machine. This is THE EXACT SAME GAME as MW2 or Black ops. What I found was new maps, new campaign and some simple tweaks. This is absolutely ridiculous. And "professional" reviewers are giving this game glowing scores. I admit I had some funThis game was hyped everywhere. My friends were absolutely hyped for this piece of fecal matter. I was absolutely baffled when I put my copy in my machine. This is THE EXACT SAME GAME as MW2 or Black ops. What I found was new maps, new campaign and some simple tweaks. This is absolutely ridiculous. And "professional" reviewers are giving this game glowing scores. I admit I had some fun with this game for the first couple of hours but it all watered down really quickly because I had this feeling "I've played this game before". I sincerely hope that the next addition to the COD franchise will flop. In wait for a dozen of 15$ map packs, I end this review. Expand
  75. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I was willing to give IW the benefit of the doubt in their claims that the game was vastly improved, and the new features breathed new life into the game.. Unfortunately, that doesn't seem to be the case. I can't help but feel like the game I'm playing would be better labeled an expansion pack for MW2, or just MW2.5 at best. IW seems to content now to rehash the same thing year after yearI was willing to give IW the benefit of the doubt in their claims that the game was vastly improved, and the new features breathed new life into the game.. Unfortunately, that doesn't seem to be the case. I can't help but feel like the game I'm playing would be better labeled an expansion pack for MW2, or just MW2.5 at best. IW seems to content now to rehash the same thing year after year without really aiming to do anything new. Such a shame to see this happen to a once great series. Expand
  76. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Played this, this morning and its just a desaturated mess of a game, the whole thing needs to be updated to make it good, the textures are low, the shadows are to dark, the lighting is terrible, the only colour seems to be shades of gray and the sounds are just annoying, bad show IW, Sledgehammer and Activition, bad show
  77. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I'm quite frankly disgusted with the critic reviews for this game. It's the same select critic every year who reviews the franchise. If Kevin Van ord from gamespot reviewed this instead, it would have got a much more realistic score. Many, many other FPSs try to innovate and serve up something different, only to get slammed by reviewers simply because its not call of duty. Listening toI'm quite frankly disgusted with the critic reviews for this game. It's the same select critic every year who reviews the franchise. If Kevin Van ord from gamespot reviewed this instead, it would have got a much more realistic score. Many, many other FPSs try to innovate and serve up something different, only to get slammed by reviewers simply because its not call of duty. Listening to classmates talk about how good it will be sickens me to the heart. Quite simply, MW3 is the exact same as previous iterations, and critics have even acknowledged this fact. So why does it keep getting these uncharacteristically high reviews? If I'm coming across as a hater, then that's absolutely right, I hate the franchise. And I have good reason to, along with so many others. It's a bad game, and with so many people buying it every year and lining activision's pockets, its the cancer that will kill the videogaming industry. The user score just speaks volumes about the truth. Just remember, in 10 years time when gaming has become a subscription based, always online service that intrudes on every aspect and becomes extortionately expensive, you brought it on yourselves. You've all been warned. I think I'll enjoy Skyrim. Expand
  78. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    What a load of rubbish! I cannot believe the hype for a game that is basically the same thing over and over again. Sorry but I played this game 3 years ago, nothing new. Graphics are dated, I have seen better, sounds are just pathetic and don't get me started on the horrible campaing mode. Save your cash if you already have Cod 4, you will not miss out on anything.
  79. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    As expected this is just a copy from the last game with no real improvements to the Multiplayer. Singleplayer has some new stuff but if that were the game alone no one would buy it anyway. Seriously, let's get behind the FPS craze please.
  80. Cal
    Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Just buy the original, same game, different maps. I cannot believe that this game will be a success, it does not deserve even a fraction of the success it recieves.
  81. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    This is just a re-skinned MW2 with some new guns and not much else, It's should of been a DLC for MW2 and while they where there they should of fixed that abortion of a game. These guys at IW have again shamed themselves by not offering any innovation at all. The thing I find most laughable is they say they had made the graphics better, Sorry but adding bloom and making things shiney doesThis is just a re-skinned MW2 with some new guns and not much else, It's should of been a DLC for MW2 and while they where there they should of fixed that abortion of a game. These guys at IW have again shamed themselves by not offering any innovation at all. The thing I find most laughable is they say they had made the graphics better, Sorry but adding bloom and making things shiney does not make for better graphics. This game suffers from what all CoD games do, Crap hit detection and poor connection. Expand
  82. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    So I get up this morning and see that Glen Schofield from Sledgehammer games has asked people to PLEASE come to Meta and "Right the Wrong" "suspiciously low" user score for MW3... Hey Glen guess what ???? This is what you get when you charge 60 bucks for a 4 hour campaign and the same dam Multi-player as the last 4 games... So I came to "Right the Wrong" low score... and to make itSo I get up this morning and see that Glen Schofield from Sledgehammer games has asked people to PLEASE come to Meta and "Right the Wrong" "suspiciously low" user score for MW3... Hey Glen guess what ???? This is what you get when you charge 60 bucks for a 4 hour campaign and the same dam Multi-player as the last 4 games... So I came to "Right the Wrong" low score... and to make it appropriately LOWER... The masses have spoken. !!!â Expand
  83. Nov 10, 2011
    2
    I don't understand all the fuzz around this game. It's more and less the same as it's always been. If you like MW2 I think you will like this one. If you want to hear only 12 year old children on your head-set, it's a must buy!! ;-)
  84. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. zero un jeu qui n'en vau pas la peine pire que black ops au revoir caloff bonjours bf3 dice a eu 1 an pour faire un nouveau jeu et ils on réussi vous vous avez repris du vieux pour essayer de faire du neuf mai.....c'est vraiment pas bon et il faut savoir le reconnaitre.....maintenant il va falloir ce mettre au travail urgemment pour essayer de rectifier le tir si cela est encore possible......... Expand
  85. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    £45 for a Modern Warfare 2 map pack is pretty steep... But seeing as all the Infinity Ward creative talent jumped ship and are having to sue Activision to get paid for their work, it's hardly surprising that the Sledgehammer Guys and the handful of Infinity Ward Staffers who stayed behind didnt want to try anything new.
    Here's hoping the guys at Respawn can one-up their former
    £45 for a Modern Warfare 2 map pack is pretty steep... But seeing as all the Infinity Ward creative talent jumped ship and are having to sue Activision to get paid for their work, it's hardly surprising that the Sledgehammer Guys and the handful of Infinity Ward Staffers who stayed behind didnt want to try anything new.
    Here's hoping the guys at Respawn can one-up their former evil overlords at Activision.
    Expand
  86. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Shame on all the critic reviews who are giving this game and 80 or a 90. The fat check from Activision must have arrived in the mail, huh?

    This just shows that you can't trust the internet journalist reviews anymore. What a shame. To add insult to injury - now the user rating are starting to creep up suspiciously with multiple 10 and 9 reviews. Just yesterday this game had a 1.4 rating,
    Shame on all the critic reviews who are giving this game and 80 or a 90. The fat check from Activision must have arrived in the mail, huh?

    This just shows that you can't trust the internet journalist reviews anymore. What a shame.

    To add insult to injury - now the user rating are starting to creep up suspiciously with multiple 10 and 9 reviews. Just yesterday this game had a 1.4 rating, now it's 2.3? Bwohooo! Activision must have unleashed their spam bots!

    Review critics & Activision - you are a disgrace. PC gaming fans - stay away from this piece of crap.
    Expand
  87. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Signed up just to show angry I am with this game. What the f&%% have they done to COD, absolutely embrassing! You know when the dev of COD is telling people to help the ratings they have screwed up big time.
  88. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    MW2 está de vuelta, incluso peor, porque te sacan 70 euros del bolsillo por algo exactamente igual a lo visto en su antecesor. Lo triste es la cantidad de cegatos y locos que lo comprarán por el simple hecho de ser un call of duty, totalmente desastroso para el sector, pues hay gente que quema su dinero de ésta forma, haciendo ricos a los que menosMW2 está de vuelta, incluso peor, porque te sacan 70 euros del bolsillo por algo exactamente igual a lo visto en su antecesor. Lo triste es la cantidad de cegatos y locos que lo comprarán por el simple hecho de ser un call of duty, totalmente desastroso para el sector, pues hay gente que quema su dinero de ésta forma, haciendo ricos a los que menos hacen y menos se lo curran, QUE INFINITY WARD TOME NOTA DE LO QUE à Expand
  89. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    I bought this game and played it for an hour, then immediately put it on EBay to sell and the next day sold it for what I paid for it. This game is horrible. It is just like its predecessors, the same exact garbage over and over again. I am done with Call of Duty. Waste of time and money.
  90. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Amongst all of the shooters coming out this season, this one will sell the most based on its viral name...Call of Duty. While standing in line for this game, there are more kids 13 and under buying it than adults. I guess this goes to show that Call of Duty has a new market of gamers. These kids are oblivious to graphical standards and this game falls in line with the Madden sickness ofAmongst all of the shooters coming out this season, this one will sell the most based on its viral name...Call of Duty. While standing in line for this game, there are more kids 13 and under buying it than adults. I guess this goes to show that Call of Duty has a new market of gamers. These kids are oblivious to graphical standards and this game falls in line with the Madden sickness of putting out a game that is exactly the same as previous titles with a few new modes. Shame on them for not releasing a new and polished game and just releasing a revised version of MW2. Expand
  91. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I'm so disappointed for this game, I believed they made a significant evolution in the game but they practically showed as a DLC, we purchased a game not a DLC! I just purchased & sold this game in 1 day, I'm very disappointed. I'm being serious... I'm sorry but this game is a garbage, lazy developers won't succeed to resurrect this game. Thanks.
  92. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    I want to give this game a 0, i really do. But I have to give it a 1 because playing multiplayer is still entertaining enough although i could have just kept playing black ops. I was beyond disappointed in this game. It is beyond lazy! There were no advancements made in technology, creativity or gameplay. This might as well have come out as an expansion DLC to MW2. If you are consideringI want to give this game a 0, i really do. But I have to give it a 1 because playing multiplayer is still entertaining enough although i could have just kept playing black ops. I was beyond disappointed in this game. It is beyond lazy! There were no advancements made in technology, creativity or gameplay. This might as well have come out as an expansion DLC to MW2. If you are considering buying this, DON'T! Save yourself some money, keep playing Black Ops and MW2. Obviously Activision is trying to replicate the Madden/NCAA football model. Trust me DO NOT BUY THIS GAME for more than $30, in fact you would be better off just buying back your MW2 for $20. I will not buy a new COD until they put out an ACTUALLY NEW game. Expand
  93. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I gave this the benefit of the doubt and bought it in hopes that it would be better, but no, in fact, instead of being the same game over and over, they're getting worse. It's truly a horrible installment in a once stellar franchise
  94. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    this game is more of the same what they did was a fusion of black ops and mw2 these people have no creativity'm not going to buy another cod game developers and asking people to vote for the game as one is going to give good reviews to a game that is the same
  95. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    The campaign was short. Its story was so generic that even a retarded child can make it. The graphics is worse than CoD4. The sounds are just recycled junk from old CoD all guns sounds like a toy gun. Its streak system become from worst to worstser(i know there's no such word). To make it simple. This game is a joke. Its a CoD4 DLC.. And Cod4 is much better. Save your money and buy other games.
  96. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    This game is a rehash and its pretty much solidifying the fact that gaming is dying. Every year expect more and more of these things to come out, receive inflated scores by paid off reviewers, and for them to break all sorts of retail records. COD is the new Madden of our time, only difference is it changes even less between installments.
  97. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Blame the greedy publishers for trying to cut corners and not keep promises, they fired the core group of talented developers thinking they could just reinvent with cheaper labor and this is what you get, a game with little imagination, awful multiplayer maps, no flow and nothing original.
  98. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    Copy-paste of a previous title. Not impressed one bit. Some aspects may be fun, however, it gets old fast as it feels completely like it's previous title.
  99. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I kind of expected the same game over and over with guitar hero. However with a shooter I didn't expect the same game copy/pasted with a 60$ price tag. However that's what I bought, thinking critic reviews actually meant something. Save your money, this is just Activision cashing out at the expense of their player base.
  100. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I dont know what it is. But it seems that I have played this game year after year. I always liked the single player. But it sucked on the lengt. It sucked of all the glitches. It looked many time out dated. And there was not a good story in there. Multiplayer is just like blackops, mw2. mw1 with some improvements. But not as much good of a spec ops mode ass mw2. it did nor live up to the hype.
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Feb 10, 2012
    90
    There's a tangible insistence from gamers that this series needs to evolve, but it seems unwarranted when it still leads the FPS class. The engine's definitely in need of an overhaul, but when it comes to thumping set-pieces and addictive multiplayer design, Modern Warfare 3 is still in a league of its own.
  2. Feb 1, 2012
    85
    By sticking to the series' strengths, Modern Warfare 3 delivers some of the best competitive, cooperate, and single-player shooting in the business.
  3. As a complete package, Modern Warfare 3 takes the cake. [Jan 2012, p.67]