User Score
3.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 5096 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    It's very sad, that people give a developer credit for lazy work. Half of the sounds, equipment, perks, guns, and only one new attachment are in the game. 80% of the killstreaks are the same. And you always the get the felling "I have done this before". Survival is sorry attempted at zombies and fails flat. The same COD formula is use, Level up, get guns, unlock the same attachments from every call of duty, and rinse repeat. Sad really, this game will not move the industry forward but millions will buy a half tried effort. If any other game did this it would get bashed to crap. Save your money Expand
  2. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Disappointing on all fronts. It's a reskin of a 2 year old game with a multiplayer map pack and different singleplayer that's riddled with stupidity and cliches in bulk while still being insanely short

    I don't understand how Activision gets away with doing this to people. I understand it's fun to some gamers and they like the series and that's fine, but just throwing money at something
    because it's fun is selfish and they need to tell Activision with their wallets they're tired of getting ripped off every year. Expand
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Welcome to the Madden of fps! Every year they release essentially the same game with a few tweaks and a bit more graphics and tell you that you gotta have it. And just like the Madden series, no matter how few new features there are people will still snap it up. Rent before you buy, make sure you actually want this game!
  4. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    MW2 expansion pack is not worth full price. It's a decent game, there are still over powered weapons, there is still a bunch of annoying things to put up with online, the story is totally over the top, you character is defying death in every scene which becomes stale after the very first mission when you realize how many times you defied death in MW2. This is something you want to stay away from until the price goes down, or there is a sale. Not a bad game, at least not as bad as MW2, but not what I was expecting for a full priced game with over 2 years of development times. Expand
  5. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Bought this game, took it home, and played it. Then I realized the game I was playing was one that I already owned. I had owned several copies of this game. Why did I even go out and buy it? I thought it was new game, but I already have three of them.
  6. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    I didn't have high expectations from this game, but man did was it even worse than I had thought. Graphics are absolutely horrible compared to... just about anything released in the past 3 years, never mind Battlefield 3. There are some additions that have been 'inspired' by other games, like a Horde mode a-la Gears of War 3. The campaign is pretty short, although that's a standard for the series, and the only redeeming quality I can find is the extended re playability offered by the stand-alone Spec Ops missions and the aforementioned Horde Mode. I cannot, in good conscience, recommend this game to anyone, at least not at its full price. If you happen to find this at a bargain sale, then perhaps it would offer some buck for your money, especially if you are on a weaker system. Otherwise, just wait for the bundle that includes all 3 Modern Warfare games so you can experience the story from start to finish. This is a rehashed product, and I can't help but wonder what kind of work went into the development of such a game. As a side note, Elite is not currently available for PC. Expand
  7. Nov 9, 2011
    4
    Sure, I buy the same laundry detergent to wash my clothes every time. It does what I expect it to do. That doesn't mean I should pay $60 for it, and it certainly doesn't mean I have fun doing the laundry.
  8. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    This isn't a sequel, it is basically a $60 DLC where your stats get reset, and random elements of the game are broken, because it was made by significantly less talented developers (Bobby Kotick gets to pay them less that way) Enjoy your McVideoGame
  9. Nov 8, 2011
    3
    Multiplayer: It feels a bit broken, then again it was Sledge Hammer that made the multiplayer aspect of the game. The servers are laggy. The hit detection is still the same old Modern Warfare you'd expect. Knifing the air gets a kill. Shooting bullets onto an invincible hit box gets a kill, whilst the player is way out of harms way. Hit detection is way off in general. Bullets still do not penetrate thin walls or wooden crates but can penetrate 12 inch thick titanium steel. Character control in general feels a clumsy. Weapons are awkward to work with. Maps are the typical MW maps you'd expect if not worse. Unimaginative, bland, and with bad spawn points. Kills do not feel as rewarding as before and kill streaks are not as amusing. It's a great fast paced game but in general most of it feels like a rehash of MW2 with a blend of terrible Black Ops maps. Single Player: Same old cliche story suitable for people/children who need explosions and chaos to obtain an orgasm and deem it a good game or movie. I was in pain trying to finish this game, instead of enjoying it. I just wanted to get this garbage story to end and to my surprise; the expected MW ending. The AI of this game like always, using the same bad programing can cause some what of a humor. Small scaled linear pathway maps like usual. In conclusions, this game is nothing but a rehash of the old game (including Treyarch's Black Ops) with the number 3 stamped in front. Save your self $60 and keep on enjoying MW2. Expand
  10. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Maybe if they changed the game for once it'd be worth it. Not giving my money for, from what I've played, is a 60$ DLC, with a promised $60 of DLCs on the way. What a scam these guys are pulling off though. Should give the makers a higher score just for that...naaahhhhh.
  11. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I was willing to give IW the benefit of the doubt in their claims that the game was vastly improved, and the new features breathed new life into the game.. Unfortunately, that doesn't seem to be the case. I can't help but feel like the game I'm playing would be better labeled an expansion pack for MW2, or just MW2.5 at best. IW seems to content now to rehash the same thing year after year without really aiming to do anything new. Such a shame to see this happen to a once great series. Expand
  12. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Hello Modern Warfare 2.5... Feeling like someone re-boxed an old mission pack addon for MW2 somewhat. Other than some slightly polished graphical updates, it's all same 'ol, same 'ol so far... disappointed with the whole game.
  13. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    very dissapointed the same game again and again year after after year. basically a cod4 map pack. dont get this youl be dissapointed, 0/10. the user reviews are spot on the critics were paid to give good reviews
  14. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I can't believe they try to pass off a game that is 90% the same as the previous games.. same engine, same gameplay. It is basically a patched up version of MW2 :(
  15. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Im not entirely sure of my consumer rights on this one, but if I purchase a game (MW3) bring it home play it for around 27 minutes and instantly realize I've 1.) Made a huge mistake and 2.) Actually been fooled by Activision / Infinity Ward once again into giving them money can i return it? Because thats exactly what I'm going to do, How, how, how, how could you actually put this out on the market and charge â Expand
  16. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    Don't waste money, effort, electricity, and your homemade mom's sandwich.. because nothing change same graphics like a cartoon style and i put 1 score only because of the story.. nothing special.. multiplayer sucks as always.. after playing campaign mode.. back to bf3 :P
  17. Nov 10, 2011
    3
    The much anticipated Modern Warfare 3 game can only be described as an epic fail to provide its gaming community with anything new. The graphics are brilliant but the mechanics are terrible. The game plays to the gamer who just wants to log on and die 40 times and kill someone 40 times. After the release of BF3 this year you would have thought CoD MW3 would have been inventive... Save your money or buy BF3. Expand
  18. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Old **** and it sells again. wtf why people is buyin this **** only new things are those insane killstreak **** and the story is like some b hollywood movie that just sucks like someone believes that one guy can go and kill 5 million peoples himself. wtf. i never buy cod again.
  19. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Modern Warfare 3, more like Modern Warfare 2.1. Adding some new maps and guns is not a new title. It's a very expensive expansion pack. Activision better stop trying to ride the Call of Duty wave and get IW to produce an actual successor to Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare.
  20. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Played this, this morning and its just a desaturated mess of a game, the whole thing needs to be updated to make it good, the textures are low, the shadows are to dark, the lighting is terrible, the only colour seems to be shades of gray and the sounds are just annoying, bad show IW, Sledgehammer and Activition, bad show
  21. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    This is honestly just MW2.1 this is awful. I can't believe I stayed up and went to a midnight launch for this. Complete waste of money, i'm taking this back to the store after work today to trade it in (or return it if they let me) and get battlefield 3. God IW is so lazy this is more or less THE EXACT SAME GAME as MW2 with a couple minor tweaks. Waste of damn money.
  22. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Yet another first person shooter in a market flooded with this overused brand. This game is horrible, glad I only rented it, I saved some serious cash.
  23. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Just like everyone was saying. It is a MW2 remake.... IW needs to move on to another game franchise. Eventually COD will dissapear like rockband and tony hawk... Good job Activision, you just killed another one of your franchises.
  24. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Pathetic, same game, nothing new, nothing has changed. They even made something impossible to do. After 4 years they managed to make the COD serie WORST, they managed to sell so much games without bringing real new gameplay improvements. They single player, pathetic storyline. The gaming industry is dead, thank you Activision, FPS will never be what it used to be.
  25. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    Same old repeat. Feel like I bought MW2.1. Thank god I can get a full refund. I was such a Die Hard COD fan too! Epic fail guys. Never again. Spend less money on marketing hype and more on game development!
  26. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    This game was hyped everywhere. My friends were absolutely hyped for this piece of fecal matter. I was absolutely baffled when I put my copy in my machine. This is THE EXACT SAME GAME as MW2 or Black ops. What I found was new maps, new campaign and some simple tweaks. This is absolutely ridiculous. And "professional" reviewers are giving this game glowing scores. I admit I had some fun with this game for the first couple of hours but it all watered down really quickly because I had this feeling "I've played this game before". I sincerely hope that the next addition to the COD franchise will flop. In wait for a dozen of 15$ map packs, I end this review. Expand
  27. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Wow, what a complete rehash. I thought it was going to be similar but wow. It's less than an expansion or even DLC. This is basically a slightly changed mod! I am literally bored already.... No more chances for this tired series; this is just plain POOR.
  28. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I have been an avid supporter of the call of duty franchise for many years, playing each game for hundreds of hours. The latest release, Modern Warfare 3 is however extremely disappointing. There is almost no difference when compared to COD 4, which is disgusting considering that this is a stand alone game, and not just an expansion or map pack. The elite service is also rubbish, charging for things most games offer for free. I think I'm going to change sides and give BF a try. Expand
  29. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I believe this game deserves a 0 for this reason, it's not a new game. Nevermind the trailers that say otherwise, nevermind the hype given to the game by its marketing department 'The most anticipated game in HISTORY!' this is simply put, a £40 MW2 map pack. And unless people stop listening to the reviewers that have been paid off, and stop subscribing to the hype the game gives itself, Activision will continue to churn out rehash after rehash, each time offering you LESS for your money. This year it was 'HEY GUYS LOOK ITS BUNGIE.NET BUT YOU PAY FOR IT!' and to my disbelief that actually worked. I've got to give it to you Activision, your marketing department are sublime. Expand
  30. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    $60 dlc. same garbage in a different box for a different year. they'll just keep stripping away more of your game each year and reselling it knowing you all will pay for anything.
  31. Nov 8, 2011
    2
    It sickens me when "pro" reviewers give this game high scores, eventhough its nothing more than a patch. Same graphics engine, same weapons, same animations, just more missions, arenas,killstreaks. How long can this cash cow formula keep working for Activision. They want us to keep paying premium prices for the same $hit every year, BLOPS, MW2,MW1, its all the same, just different maps. After 2 years of development this is what they came up with? are they even investing any money on this franchisee anymore? And "reviewers" give it high scores, yet thrash games like U3, Killzone 3, R3 for not been "innovative" or "bringing anything new" oh how I hate video game journalism, if we can even call it journalism Expand
  32. Nov 8, 2011
    2
    Enjoy your $60 map pack. I was skeptical of this purchase in the first place because of the previous products in this franchise but I thought I would give them the benefit of the doubt and give it a shot. Absolutely worst purchase I have ever made.
  33. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Awful game.

    All they have done is reskinned blackops and added a few gimmicks. Blackops was a reskin of mw2. They publish half arsed games every year just to capitalise on sales. Only sheep would buy such a game. Awful campaign, again. All they have done is port the game over to the pc from console. No console, lean, configs, etc.
  34. Nov 10, 2011
    3
    This game feels like an add-on to MW2. It has the same engine, recycled buildings and character models. It is practically MW2 with a few extra guns, perks and new maps. It is a shame on how Activision sells the same game twice at $60.
  35. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    well lets just say ive played this game before -_- this game is not worth buying and just get the cheaper version witch is call of duty 4 modern warfare terrible story same multiplay spec ops mode gets boring after one match do not recommend
  36. Nov 8, 2011
    2
    Disaster. An absolute disaster. I bough it for the single player experience, which was excellent in Modern Warfare and MW2, but this one felt like some kind of Michael Bay wet dream. Don't waste your hard earned cash folks. Just get Skyrim instead.
  37. Mar 16, 2012
    0
    This is MW 1 & 2 all over again!!! :-o
    My nephews got it and I played it RIGHT after MW2, it was THE SAME EXPERIENCE!!!
    What is this!? Why do people praise these games??? :-O
  38. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    Who is paying these "critics", this game is full of cow turd.

    -repetitive
    -3 year old engine based on an even older engine
    -sounds are terrible
    -not even fun anymore since COD 1-3 maybe even 4
  39. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Tired rehash of the same old thing... The marketing department grossly over-hyped this game, their detachment from reality and their willingness to sell out is disgusting. They clearly didn't play the same game I did. Don't believe the hype, it's a sequel.
  40. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    This FPS has just released? In 2011? Let me laugh !! There is no evolution since CoDMW... Just a new campaign, heavier textures and new weapons, not a new game. More than $15 for this, it's just a joke ! There is no game development and no expensive work to release this game.
  41. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    There is no point to sugarcoat this, this game is modern warfare 2 with a few new maps, and even saying that is too much. I keep being fooled into buying these games when I could clearly spend my 60 dollars on something more worth it, like food and clothes. The hype for this game is out of control and the fanbase that praises this game like a religion continues to make it sound like we're paying for new technology.

    With that said, call me when this recycled series hits the next generation consoles (PS4/XBOX720), maybe they'll have something new by than.
    Expand
  42. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    After playing this game for a good 4 hours, I noticed that this game felt very familiar, A little bit TOO familiar. Then it hit me that everything in this game from the graphics, the sound effects, the art, is from Modern Warfare 2. It sickens me that Activision thinks that they can get away with just copying everything that the original IW team has worked for and just paste into a new package and call it Modern Warfare 3. Contrary to all the "VIDEO GAME JOURNALISTS" that give this game a 80% or higher this game is nothing new and they should have just called it Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 2011 edition, you are basically paying $60 on a expansion pack, A very poorly made expansion pack. Expand
  43. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I will never forgive you for scamming me. Goodbye, asswipes. May I never be reminded of this horrible serie again. Be gone from my PC. You have wasted all hopes, all dreams. And my bandwidth.
  44. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Can't even tell the difference between this and original modern warfare. There's a reason they come out with so many games and so many map packs...its because they want one thing, and it looks like an "S" with a vertical line through it.
  45. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    so in all fairness this is a 60 dlc that people pay for and yet there is call of duty elite for 50 bucks witch is dlc so your really paying 110 for map packs a broke ass story and a rip off of gears horde mode have fun kids ill stick with skyrim and bf3 ps kill confirmed is a rip off u can still camp bc your team kills get earsed not yours nobody cares about team in that that game kids ruin this game Expand
  46. Nov 8, 2011
    3
    Im new to gaming and have really caught the bug after playing on a friends PS3 this year , got MW3 last night (prebooked today of work !) Having spent over 7 hours on the game i have to say im really disappointed . I'd read and heard so much about the series that i thought it would be awesome but the graphics seem very poor and the multiplayer maps seem so small . I'd been playing a game called Bad Company 2 for the last few months at my friends house and i thought this would be at least as good but sadly its not even half as good as that , there's no teamwork , no destruction , no vehicles , poorer graphics and a huge downgrade in sound quality . On the plus side it kind of runs quick and turning feels like im on ice but ive decided to strike while the iron is hot and sell this game as quick as possible to recoup my money and i'll go and get this new Battlefield 3 game that everyone seems to be raving about . If its as good as Bad Company then its already better than this MW3 . Sadly i think i got caught up in the hype but i'll not get my fingers burnt again and will stick with the Battlefield series from now on . Expand
  47. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Rebaged COD4 Ill pass sorry. This game would have been great 10 years ago but with nothing new added to the same I see no reason to buy this game. If other people would skip on it we could send a message to activion they need to work to earn our money. There will always be blind masses, a series that brought so many to gaming needs to show most games dont just copy paste and add a new number to make a new game in a series, sorry but I dont buy it. Pick up Battlefield 3 or hey almost any other shooter and save yourself $60 or if you have to have it just buy COD4 Expand
  48. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Biggest map pack yet! It even comes with a few sneaky bonuses which you'll have to find.
    5 new guns, new killstreaks and other pointless crap! Just another Infinity ward serving of poo.
  49. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Very poor game in my opinion. Looked from the start actually that it was going to be this way. Come on Activision stop being lazy by giving us the same old crap -.- . This is what unfortunately happens when a very good game gets a new release every bloody year.
  50. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Outdated engine is outdated. God, the particle effects are exactly the same as they were in CoD 4. I'm not sure how anyone could blow 60 dollars an CoD MW 1.3, because that's what it is. Even the gun audio remains the same for most weapons. Sure, they've tweaked gameplay, that doesn't warrant another release though, instead they could actually support their community and game with content BESIDES map packs, which are overpriced as well. Expand
  51. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    DO NOT BUY. Waste of money - bought it and stupid me chucked the reciept. Stuck with this piece of ****. It feels like a mw2 expansion - but it feeels like it has made it worse. I hate when developers do this - rehash old games. The only new thing is the menu. SERIOUSLY DO NOT BUY
  52. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I am insulted that this can pass as a full finished game. This is NOT AAA material.
  53. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    This game came out two years ago, It's called Modern Warfare 2. I pity the fool who buys Modern Warfare 3. You'd have more fun spending your $60 on a toothless hooker.
  54. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I'm quite frankly disgusted with the critic reviews for this game. It's the same select critic every year who reviews the franchise. If Kevin Van ord from gamespot reviewed this instead, it would have got a much more realistic score. Many, many other FPSs try to innovate and serve up something different, only to get slammed by reviewers simply because its not call of duty. Listening to classmates talk about how good it will be sickens me to the heart. Quite simply, MW3 is the exact same as previous iterations, and critics have even acknowledged this fact. So why does it keep getting these uncharacteristically high reviews? If I'm coming across as a hater, then that's absolutely right, I hate the franchise. And I have good reason to, along with so many others. It's a bad game, and with so many people buying it every year and lining activision's pockets, its the cancer that will kill the videogaming industry. The user score just speaks volumes about the truth. Just remember, in 10 years time when gaming has become a subscription based, always online service that intrudes on every aspect and becomes extortionately expensive, you brought it on yourselves. You've all been warned. I think I'll enjoy Skyrim. Expand
  55. Nov 8, 2011
    4
    Now im going to be completely honest here, having gotten the game 3 days early I can tell you one thing. It's simply more of the same. That's not to say the original CoD 4 was bad though, it's just completely over used and now getting to the point where it is ridiculous.
  56. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Well I thought I'd buy the game in hopes it wasn't going to be another over-priced expansion pack...looks like I was wrong, but at least they threw in the bugs for free. I just wish major review sites had the balls to call this series out for things they'll rip others apart for because I'm returning the game tomorrow and I hope the rest of you do to.
  57. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    After paying $60 on this game I went home and put it in my PS3. After a couple hours of gameplay I realized I had been ripped off! I looked in my DVD rack and grabbed a CoD game I bought 2 years ago, it looked the same but had a 2 on it instead of a 3. I then realized it is the same exact game, with a few minor tweaks. Biggest waste of money ever. Yet, there are still trolls on the internet like Destructoid's own Jimmyx Sterling getting paid big bucks to give it high review scores. Expand
  58. Nov 8, 2011
    2
    There's not much to say about the Call of Duty series any more. They have used the same engine for years, the game itself offers nothing to the FPS industry, let alone the gaming industry apart from disappointment. MW3 seems more of a fix for the previous games and to correct the imbalance during online gameplay. If you ignore the statements above and look at the current state of the game it seems they have been aiming more towards the casual audience with more perks for ease of play that will drive some hardcore players over the edge and seeking other FPS games. Expand
  59. Nov 9, 2011
    2
    How could this happened ?! How can you sell it 70 â
  60. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Iit is sad how we let Activision get away with this every year. This is why they will never change because all these sheep that keep handing them their wallets. Go play Batman Arkham City or The Legend of Zelda Skyward Sword. when it comes out.
  61. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    Just as I suspected. An overhyped, copy and paste of Modern Warfare 2. Very disappointing, I'd like to give a higher score but I'm so angry, how could they re-release a game and expect people to pay £39.99? Same graphics, same gameplay, same multiplayer, same everything else.
  62. Nov 8, 2011
    3
    I am simply a gamer who likes a $60 game to be at least somewhat polished and offer something that is intriguing as well as visually and emotionally stimulating. This game simply does not deliver and I am embarrassed to say i bought it... We all bought into the hype, I just wish some of the developers would treat us as human beings and not mindless open wallets. I will give this game a "3". It did offer some entertainment but absolutely nothing different then MW3. And as I was getting ready to log off last night someone said "your mom is a **** And that's when i remembered that this game is for children.. Expand
  63. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    SAME GAME. They just want your money. Why pay for a 60 dollar game that has 90% of the same stuff as the games before? They do this all for money. You have to pay 50 dollars for a lil stupid COD social network? Please. They are just fooling all the rich people into paying 60 dollars for this sht. Should have just made a huge expansion pack for like 10-30 bucks. End of story, like what they did with borderlands. Pathetic and sad Expand
  64. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Wow, this game is the same thing, over and over again. MP offers zero competition. 10 year old kids might enjoy this game, but other than that? Steer clear.
  65. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    This game is absolutely horrible. Hardcore mode is screwed, one hit and someone is dead just like black ops. They basically just made black ops "modern warfare" and slapped the 3 on it to sell.
  66. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    "This game is horrible, glad I only rented it, I saved some serious cash" "Modern Warfare 3, more like Modern Warfare 2.1. Adding some new maps and guns is not a new title. It's a very expensive expansion pack. Activision better stop trying to ride the Call of Duty wave and get IW to produce an actual successor to Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare"
  67. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Single player is ok but just more of the same nothing new really at all here. Graphics are dated, shooting a machine gun sounds more like a paintball gun than a real gun. Multiplayer looks and plays identical to previous COD titles. Was hoping for something revolutionary that didn't seem like an expansion. For my $59 I am highly dissapointed in this game and it will be the last game I ever pre-order. Expand
  68. Dec 6, 2011
    4
    It's not so much the game but the community that breaks this game. As someone who enjoys heavily team based games like Battlefield etc MW3 offers very little. It seems that the game promotes kill whoring a little too much which leads to players more obsessed with their k/dr than actually winning.
  69. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    poor nothing has changed... well done activition for rehashing a game on a year by year basis...

    shame COD will go down the route of Guitar hero due to Activitions money visions :-/

    on a plus note you can finish the trilogy story of Soap and his crew
  70. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Critics say one thing. People who paid 60$ for the game say otherwise... Trust me. This is not worth your time. Skyrim and Assassins creed are coming out soon so get those
  71. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Game reviewers are getting paid to give this resale of last years game positive reviews. Its 5 hours long and some multiplayer maps. Really dont waste your time or cave into your kids request for the game.. there are so many more other games out there that arent rehashed
  72. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Oh man, this is worse than most of the Call of Duty games.... I mean really, everyone was just going on and on and on about it, and when it finally gets here, it was just flat out awful! It ended up being such a disappointing game. Hopefully, the next game (if there is one...) won't be as bad. Just get Uncharted or Sonic Generations.
  73. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    This game is just another death knell of the FPS genre. Activision is riding previous success by releasing yet another clone that adds nothing progressive to the series. It's unfortunate that the massive amount of money they make is not being used to create something new. It appears this time they didn't even bother to update the graphics, despite the amazing graphics in their competitor's Battlefield 3. There are many great games coming out in the following months, don't waste your money on this one. Expand
  74. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Well, what shall i say? Its a $55 mappack. I had high expectations, and yes i'm disappointed! I mainly blame Infinity Ward and hope that Activision will never work with them again.
  75. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I dont understand the critics from the major companies....clearly Actavision wrote them a big fat cheque so that they would give it some sort of positive score. This game lacks everything its a COPY PASTA of MW2 what a joke and their charging us full retail price. This game sucks KEEP your money and instead play MW2........ Im going for a refund as we speak.
  76. Dec 30, 2011
    4
    MW3 is a great game. The only problem is that it's the same damn thing. They think that just because they add the littlest things to every new COD, that people will still think it is fresh. Critics judge it so high because they get payed to rate it, and probably get the game free. But people judge it so low because they wasted their money, and it's the same thing as before. COD's only future is in zombies. Check my new account for games, I am only doing movies on here. Expand
  77. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    No, sorry. This is a rip-off activision. MW 2.5 not more. Customers are stupid, but not that stupid! To destroy a so successful franchise the way you are doing itdoes not proof to be extremely smart....
  78. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    No real changes, again... multiplay is only decent because of the players, the same level of enjoyment can be had with the other games, nothing new, no point in buying.
  79. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    When I started playing FIRST PERSON SHOOTERS, I began with HALO. When COD MW:1 came out, I was hooked with the series until Black Ops. Then I was introduced to Battlefield BadCompany 2, which is when I said screw COD. I could not wait for Battlefield 3...but then a few weeks before it came out, I began remembering my days with COD...the glory days. I almost got excited for MW3. I did all the research that was available on the internet about MW3 during this past October........it was clear to me that BATTLEFIELD 3 was definitely the better game and most thrilling. I'm a veteran of both franchises, and I am telling you seriously...if you give BF a try and play the way it's supposed to be played instead of running and gunning, you will be amazed...I promise you! Expand
  80. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    New mw2 map pack .There was alot of hype building up to this game, being the proceedor of both Modern Warfare's. Played the first few missions of the campaign. The graphics disappointed me, and it was just the same as any other Call of Duty campaign. The series is getting very old now.
  81. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    It's just overpriced DLC for MW2. Nothing more, nothing less. I think Activision really need to make a new game. Not just copy old games add a couple of features and call it new. They do this every year.
  82. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Shame on Infinity Ward. This game, 52,50 $ its just awazing. Big remake of MW2 (graphics, gameplay). No CREATIVITY !!!! I repeat shame on Infinity Ward !!!
  83. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    complete garbage, same as mw2... and again the ps3 version receives a very inferior port, where they put the millions of $ they profit every year?
    Activision is such a lazy producer...
  84. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    I have to say I was a huge fan of the previous COD games but this one is just more of the same old thing. I think I'm done with this game from now on and I may have to give Battlefield 3 a try from now on. I sure wish I could get my money back on COD but I will be trading this in for sure ASAP! The Game of the year you must be playing is Uncharted 3 and I'm in love with everything about this sweet game. Expand
  85. Nov 14, 2011
    2
    while im really trying to enjoy mw3 i honestly just cannot. its has LESS features than black ops which is outrageous. to list a few: no combat training, no more "advanced" scoreboard, HORRIBLE game chat between players (robotic and choppy), very laggy particularly on ps3 where there are a lot of frame rate issues, no party privacy settings, no online wager matches, no theater mode parties, a worse theater mode in general, can't change different game audios (turn off music), no yy or triangle-triangle, and lastly BO's menu looked better. gameplay wise it is mainly personal preference. i feel that there is little skill involved in mw3, its simply a twitch shooter, whoever sprays first. in bo there were tactics involved, because damage was higher. im sure the campaign is wonderful, but us cod fans care more about multiplayer, and at this point it needs HUGE improvements. hopefully treyarch will add a new playlist to black ops so i can play that instead, or otherwise im waiting for cod9. Expand
  86. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    The fact that there is an audience for Call of Duty astounds me. This generic shooter is the same copy and paste formula we have been seeing year after year from Activision. With its low skill ceiling and over powered incentives this game lacks any variety what so ever. This game is more fitting as a map pack, a bad one at that.
  87. Nov 8, 2011
    3
    OK. What are we looking at, 2 years of development. What have we got? 3 months of work, 21 months of holidays that all i can see. Yes the game has strong combat elements and exiting but thats far from the point here. We pay £40 quid for this game and expect to get our moneys worth, well in this case we dont. The graphics look like a high end PS2 title at best ( would go as far to say worse then MW2) weapons sound affect remind me of paint ball guns and the maps are as small as my back garden. In all a poor show, didnt expect this at all. Will think again before spending my cash on this franchise. Expand
  88. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    There is no difference from Modern Warfare 2 and this steaming failure of a game. All these official critics should be ashamed for not being able to stand up and say what this game really is, pathetic, boring, see-it-before waste of money.
  89. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    This game was awful. Purely disgusting. The gameplay mechanics have not changed in the past 10 years. Although might be tried and true. The ending when Price kills makarov and smokes a cigar was a terrible way to end the game. And killing that little girl in the cutscene, was that really appropriate?
  90. Nov 26, 2011
    0
    OK. When I saw the User Score, I thought that it was just a whole bunch of Battlefield 3 trolls trying to take a big steamer on the CoD franchise. I'm a huge Battlefield fan so I thought "Yeh Lay That Cable!!". I loved the CoD Series from the first WW2 games to CoD 4 Modern Warfare & Modern Warfare 2. Then Battlefield Bad Company 2 came out & I never looked back or forward to Black Ops. MW3 showed me that like some of the comments here, They don't have any more fresh ideas, they never had the backbone to change anything or to shy away from 10 to 16 year olds that would beg their parents to purchase the game for them. Online is the same, with little change but a few more flashing words of BONUS. Guns sound lovely but don't pack the punch needed to make me feel I'm in the battle. Same old run and gun attitude, no squad feel at all. Same Block style atmosphere maps, WALLS, STAIRS, WINDOWS oh and plants and burnt out cars. Playing the game has just set it that I will never buy any of the CoD series again. I was so hoping that MW3 was going to change this for me but it hasn't. Thank you CoD4 for setting a bench mark for FPS and thank you Battlefield for having the guts to implement change. I give fealty to EA, DICE and the FROSTBITE 2 Engine. Well Played. Expand
  91. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    This game has been copy and pasted since 2007. The campaign is standard for a game in this series, linear and predictable. Nothing significant has changed in the multiplayer. The quality of the graphics has not changed. Still no full co-operative mode. As a consumer, I am insulted by the lack of innovation that has been made in this series. 4 years is a significant period of my life, spent waiting for something, ANYTHING to happen with this series, that I will never get back. And here I am once again, disappointed with this November's rehash of the game that came out in 2007. Expand
  92. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    The story has not changed much from former Call of duty series, going down a hallway, and shooting people. Some hallways are larger and some are smaller. And the multiplayer is generally not much different, dont waste your money this time around.
  93. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    Disgraceful. When Mw3 crashed to desktop it noted "Modern Warfare 2" has stopped working. Sums it up perfectly. Waste of money. No effort to make an improved game since 2007. You people are a joke.
  94. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Absolute crap. Don't buy this game or even rent it. I wouldn't even be willing to pay $10 for this garbage let alone $60. There's so much recycled stuff from sound to graphics and even the buildings
  95. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Yet another mod of CoD4 they are releasing to take money from uninformed players. This game brings *nothing* new, fun or interesting to the industry, it just perpetuates the boring respawnfest that is allowing real innovation to happen. I genuinely played it looking for reasons why it's any different from the last 3 identical titles. I honestly couldn't say I found a thing. Hopefully this trend blows over so progress can be made int he industry. Expand
  96. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Please do not buy this rehashed trash. This is just a pathetic cash grab. Jut rent it and witness is pointlessness for a much cheaper price like I did. I still question the point of a rental.
  97. cze
    Nov 9, 2011
    0
    They literally put MW2, boxed it with MW3 and sent it off. How sad.

    I feel sorry for the poor kids that don't know any better. The game is actually slowly killing the FPS genre and sucking the challenge out of it completely. The skill ceiling is now at an all time low
  98. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Appalled by review scores. Battlefield gets ripped on the fact that they added a singleplayer mode to what is essentially a multiplayer only game, just as an addition to add value to the game, yet Activision gets away with this crap every year. It's all about the money, and they're making a lot of it.
  99. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    I knew this would happen eventually. Activision using the same game engine year after year, treating this series as if its Guitar Hero, another series they ran into the ground. Activision is good at making money, but they have no idea what it means to be a gamer. They are out of touch, and this game is proof of that.
  100. Nov 9, 2011
    1
    MW2 was the first multiplayer shooter I had ever played. I enjoyed it with my friends - it was a frantic good time for n00bs like us. Then I bought BLOPS and was fairly disappointed. I purchased BF3 and have enjoyed it immensely, but decided to get MW3 since my friends plan on getting it again.

    Spent a couple hours with it last night. I was skeptical of the outrage that people showed
    over this so-called "$60 expansion" pack, but I'm starting to think they're spot on. The maps contain your standard third-world village, snow facility, construction site... really just re-hashes of the previous game's maps. The engine is more dated and the graphics are worse than the reviews let on. I was quite surprised, but it does not look like a game that was released in 2011. It's a shame that this will probably be the all-time best-selling game in a few months, because it certainly does not deserve that honor, but will be fun if you're looking for an arcade-style shooter rather than a simulator.

    I also never noticed the kids/swearing/slurs/degenerates quite like I did last night. Compared to the other games out there, its quite jarring and getting quite old. Or perhaps I'm just getting old.

    If you must have CoD, then this is a no-brainer, but if you're on the fence, you might as well stick with MW2 and keep prestiging (it's essentially the same thing) or move to BF3, like I did. It's really hard to recommend this at a $60, $50 or even $40 price tag.
    Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Feb 10, 2012
    90
    There's a tangible insistence from gamers that this series needs to evolve, but it seems unwarranted when it still leads the FPS class. The engine's definitely in need of an overhaul, but when it comes to thumping set-pieces and addictive multiplayer design, Modern Warfare 3 is still in a league of its own.
  2. Feb 1, 2012
    85
    By sticking to the series' strengths, Modern Warfare 3 delivers some of the best competitive, cooperate, and single-player shooting in the business.
  3. As a complete package, Modern Warfare 3 takes the cake. [Jan 2012, p.67]