Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 PlayStation 3

User Score
3.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 5237 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 11, 2011
    6
    I like the fact that it is similar to MW2, however I HATE the fact that there is similarities to Black Ops. The Scavenger perk only lets you re-supply bullets and only grenades from downed players using the same weapons kits. There is a HUGE lack of sniper positions on almost all maps except 3 or 4. The sound effects for some of the weapons sound "cheap" and "tin like", especially for bothI like the fact that it is similar to MW2, however I HATE the fact that there is similarities to Black Ops. The Scavenger perk only lets you re-supply bullets and only grenades from downed players using the same weapons kits. There is a HUGE lack of sniper positions on almost all maps except 3 or 4. The sound effects for some of the weapons sound "cheap" and "tin like", especially for both grenades and flash/stun grenades. The graphics are awesome, and thank God for that or I would put it on e-bay for sale right now. Most of the maps offer way too many camping opportunities without the explosive ability to flush them out. Grenades in general have an explosive strength somewhere in the middle of MW2 and Black Ops. I have played MW2 almost every day since it was released, I may not do the same here, and patience is wearing thin for the lack of sniping with cover. All in all, I am a fan of the COD franchise with exception to Black Ops which I think was horrible all the way around. I'll give MW3 some more time, but might find myself with my old favorite MW2 back in play soon. Expand
  2. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Online matching seems to have improved the ping times in matched games, new perks, maps, same gameplay you have enjoyed with the series which is a good thing. Note that MP is faster paced than games like BF due to smaller maps, and lastly kill confirmed is a great new game mode.
  3. Nov 16, 2011
    0
    All I have to say is that I put more effort into masturbation than what Infinity Ward and Sledgehammer put into Modern Warfare 3. This game gave a very POOR first impression of Sledgehammer. Hell, Black Ops is better than this. i would rather want a re-vamped CoD 4 than this pile of poop.
  4. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    Gun Porn. Ridiculous story, boring twitch-based gameplay, endless enemies on every level (aka "monster closet" syndrome), dated graphics...I could go on, but why bother.

    This game represents everything that is currently wrong with gaming in general. It's mindless, it's violent, and it's not even vaguely realistic. If you want a fun game of this sort, get Battlefield 3. If you want
    Gun Porn. Ridiculous story, boring twitch-based gameplay, endless enemies on every level (aka "monster closet" syndrome), dated graphics...I could go on, but why bother.

    This game represents everything that is currently wrong with gaming in general. It's mindless, it's violent, and it's not even vaguely realistic. If you want a fun game of this sort, get Battlefield 3. If you want something realistic, get ARMA II. If you want to waste your money, get this.
    Expand
  5. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Modern Warfare 3 is just another marvel from infinity ward. With a brand new spec ops survival mode, players are certainly going to sink hours into this with an all new ranking mode, guns to unlock and different maps to unlock. The single player campaign has its ups and downs and is overall pretty decent. Although the multiplayer seems to be very similar to previous games, with tons ofModern Warfare 3 is just another marvel from infinity ward. With a brand new spec ops survival mode, players are certainly going to sink hours into this with an all new ranking mode, guns to unlock and different maps to unlock. The single player campaign has its ups and downs and is overall pretty decent. Although the multiplayer seems to be very similar to previous games, with tons of challenges to complete, new improved weapons, new strike packages systems, and a very fun kill confirmed mode, MW3 is a marvel. Expand
  6. Nov 13, 2011
    8
    nice game not very bad 8/10 i dont know why 0 anyway cool game 8 or 9 that rating but they must edit this game add new things in this game not copyright
  7. Nov 13, 2011
    3
    The most dissapointing cod game so far, single player is cheesy but thats what we have come to expect from the series, AI is terrible, constenly throwing grenades and running straight at the player trying to melee, graphics and sound quality is not to the same standard of other fps games like killzone 3 and battlefield 3. spec ops is great, by far the best part of this game, same problemsThe most dissapointing cod game so far, single player is cheesy but thats what we have come to expect from the series, AI is terrible, constenly throwing grenades and running straight at the player trying to melee, graphics and sound quality is not to the same standard of other fps games like killzone 3 and battlefield 3. spec ops is great, by far the best part of this game, same problems with the AI as single player but overall its the most fun part of the game, but it will become repetitive quite quickly. The multiplayer is awful!! small maps with objects everywhere creating plenty of choke points, meaning if your an objective based player be prepared to die a lot, stackable killstreaks are a nightmare, players sitting in corners or the choke points trying to get the streaks up, matchmaking is the worst of any cod series, if you have just stared playing and you are a low level expect to go up against high level players, these high level players with have unlocked some of the better perks and most of the pro versions, meaning they have a major advantage, i'm an expierenced cod player so although this is annoying i can still put in good games, for new players expect to die alot!! If you like dying by sniper rifles shooting you 2 feet away, stabbing from 10 feet away and hip firing from range then try out the multiplayer, to get certain perks you have to level, which is very annoying because untill you reach that level its harder to play objective based games, black ops let players buy perks and equipment and any stage as long as they had cod points, now i have to level to get the perks i need to help me play the objective, the above reasons will make it hard for any new player to get into this game, there are plenty of other problems with the multiplayer but to many to list. This cod game has taken a step backwards from black ops, what with so many other good games out there, this game is not going to be on my playlist, i preordered the elite copy, but canceled it, which im glad i did, this game is worth renting and playing but not worth the price to buy it new. I can totally understand peoples comments, the hype, the price, and its all a big let down. This game gets a 3 just for spec ops... Expand
  8. Nov 13, 2011
    1
    The multiplayer on MW3 (which is what we buy it for after all) is dreadful. Lazy, uninspiring maps that are all lazy rehashes of old COD maps. Interchange for example, is so similar to underpass that you can't believe that they could get away with it. There isn't a single stand out map, and they're all far too frantic, with no possibility of tactics or team play.
  9. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    Expensive DLC content is all you are getting. There is little value in the way of new content. The game does not perform equally across all platforms. The storyline is the same confusing trash that everyone has played before. The critics must have been paid or too scared to give an accurate review of this game. Just look at the difference between critic and user reviews. LISTEN TOExpensive DLC content is all you are getting. There is little value in the way of new content. The game does not perform equally across all platforms. The storyline is the same confusing trash that everyone has played before. The critics must have been paid or too scared to give an accurate review of this game. Just look at the difference between critic and user reviews. LISTEN TO THE PLAYERS...they are not getting paid to write their opinion. The low rating is an accurate score for this game. If you own any of the previous COD games, you are better off saving your money and playing those because its the same experience. Expand
  10. Nov 13, 2011
    8
    This game is very similiar to past iterations of MW. The single player is as good as mw1 and the sepcial ops are better than mw2 as you can now play online. You also get to level up as in multiplayer. As for mutliplayer I've never been a great fan as you sometimes feel like you runaround like a chicken with no head. I would say it's pretty much the same as before. All i all no a bad game
  11. Nov 13, 2011
    2
    A perfectly playable game. The online is fun. It'll last you a few hours.

    But, why not just pick up Modern Warfare 1, for under £20? It's exactly the same game. They've put little/ no effort into creating this game [MW3], and it doesn't deserve the success that it's gotten. I understand that it's the same series, so they're going to be similar, but they could at least TRY to
    A perfectly playable game. The online is fun. It'll last you a few hours.

    But, why not just pick up Modern Warfare 1, for under £20? It's exactly the same game. They've put little/ no effort into creating this game [MW3], and it doesn't deserve the success that it's gotten. I understand that it's the same series, so they're going to be similar, but they could at least TRY to be SLIGHTLY creative. There are a lot of brilliant games out around this time, so I'd advise getting something else, such as Skyrim, BF3, Uncharted 3, Dark Souls, AC:Revelations. Just don't waste your money on this **** £40 of my cash wasted.
    Expand
  12. Jul 31, 2013
    3
    MW3 improved a lot with the introduction of the new map packs but overall it was disappointing.
    It is still worth playing though, for those that love the COD franchise.
  13. Nov 14, 2011
    7
    Call of Duty Modern Warfare 3 is entering the â
  14. Nov 16, 2011
    0
    message to activision: SEQUELS YOURE DOING THEM WRONG, i personally think that they ahve killed the cod franchise now, maybe next years game will still sell but it wont sell as much, its a shame what cod has become, it started out as recreating the exiting battlefields of ww2 in russia france and germany but soon became a peice of fictionalised wannabe tom clancy rubbish, i thought cod 4message to activision: SEQUELS YOURE DOING THEM WRONG, i personally think that they ahve killed the cod franchise now, maybe next years game will still sell but it wont sell as much, its a shame what cod has become, it started out as recreating the exiting battlefields of ww2 in russia france and germany but soon became a peice of fictionalised wannabe tom clancy rubbish, i thought cod 4 was ok but mw2 was a joke now mw3 was a joke, and as for black ops, if i made that game id probably just retire guys, your games are becoming pretty dumb now trying to be clever but just ending up like a jean claude vanne damme film, utterly terrible, goodye activision, in 2 years you will go into administration. Expand
  15. Oct 3, 2012
    5
    After almost a year to let the dust settle, I have found myself going back to Black Ops. What? Back to Black Ops? That goes to show that MW3 is nothing more than a rehash of what has already been done. Spec Ops missions are largely forgettable and the survival mode is nice, but only for so long.
  16. Nov 14, 2011
    8
    Having played all the Call of Duty games, this one does sport cleaner graphics and the game play is varied. But the dedicated servers need to be ranked and the tools for admins must be released. This game has potential only if the developers listen to the PC world. Otherwise it will fade quickly
  17. Nov 14, 2011
    7
    Enjoy the campaign, but it is quite unrealistic and the campaign is short. Graphics is acceptable. Also it looks too much like MW 2, the multiplayer is worse than the previous MW series
  18. Nov 14, 2011
    6
    Overall good game but the multiplayer level design is garbage. Rehashed core design of mw2 maps only they aren't fun this time around. They claimed to have fixed spawning but it is worse than ever. I'd rather having the old COD2 or COD4 maps over this crap. What happened to inventive maps like "Carnival"?
  19. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    Lazy work all the way!!! It's way dissapointing to see how Activision has already over "milked" the series, just like guitar hero. Infinity Ward died more than a year ago and sledgehammer is garbage, they recycled a game that was released 2 years ago, don't you people see it? They are charging $60 for a few new maps.
  20. Nov 14, 2011
    2
    First thing is first: This game has received numerous praise from "official critics" and businessmen alike; that said, it does not deserve this praise whatsoever. Modern Warfare 3 is, essentially, an old game with a new face like many users are starting to realize. The single player is INEXCUSABLY short (clocking in at 4 hours 30 minutes) for a game that costs $60 and has a new iterationFirst thing is first: This game has received numerous praise from "official critics" and businessmen alike; that said, it does not deserve this praise whatsoever. Modern Warfare 3 is, essentially, an old game with a new face like many users are starting to realize. The single player is INEXCUSABLY short (clocking in at 4 hours 30 minutes) for a game that costs $60 and has a new iteration released each year. However, we will come to the negatives (of which there are many) in a bit, but first let's touch on what is good about the game:

    The Call of Duty franchise is known for its multiplayer, an aspect that is even more fun when played with friends. This remains true, even in this iteration of the current gen shooter. I found myself having fun when playing with friends because the game is new, exciting, and its what they're playing at the moment, right? In addition to this aspect, there was a bit of change with how one upgrades their weapons through experience, ensuring a learning curve to actually using the weapon. Some of the older, overused, and "overpowered" weapons were also locked off until the later multiplayer levels, helping newer players survive a bit longer (since they wont be blown to ashes within the first 20 seconds of the match). That is where all the positives end.

    Now for the negatives:

    I wont comment on the "innovation" (or lack thereof) that people seem to be upset about. The fact of the matter is this is the type of game people want to play. End of story. However, while it brings nothing new to the table, it should, under NO circumstances, detract from what was created for previous iterations of the franchise. I'll sum it up in these bullet points:

    -Inexcusably short singleplayer with an unsatisfying ending that left me (and a few friends) scratching their heads saying "that's it!?"

    -I will make a point in passing stating the graphics arent as sharp as they should be for a game in 2011. While I appreciate their restraint with lens flare (looking at you battlefield 3), these graphics arent up to snuff, and I feel like I've played this game time and time again.

    -No playercard customization. While I wont have to look at the sexual imagery that was so prevalent in Black Ops, it is sad to see that I wont also find new, intriguing and plain cool designs.

    -Map design. Map design. Map design. I have never seen so much camping in a Call of Duty game. Ever. There are corners. There are exploits where one can clip through trucks. There are catwalks and walljumps. It is bad. The maps are small, boring, and uninspired, drawing heavily from almost every other map you've ever seen in this franchise. Welcome to the skyscraper that is under construction AGAIN!

    -The spawn system leaves me wondering how this was ever deemed passable by Infinity Ward or Sledgehammer. All too often, I spawn ontop of my enemy, next to them, behind them, at their domination point, or in the same spot constantly. It sucks. There is no other way of putting it. It will detract from a good time.

    -"Pointstreaks" are a new form of killstreak that essentially allow one to do anything and get rewarded with massive explosions of death, which endlessly rain from the sky onto the map. You wont find it hard to get 9 or even 11 hit killstreaks in this game, assuming you have a bit of experience under your belt. The sky is ALWAYS filled with predator missiles, UAVs, Helicopters, or AC-130s. It gets to where one team dominates the other because they restrict access to the outdoors. This game is about PLAYER VERSUS PLAYER, not players versus fleets of helicopters and guided missiles. Pointstreaks merely detract from the overall game through overuse. I cannot stress this point enough. This is the sole reason, for me, that the game scored below a 4.

    I was on the fence about purchasing this game. I wasted $60, but that doesn't mean I can't stop someone else from making the same mistake. Rent this. Do not buy. Go to the movies with your friends twice, and you'll get more out of it than actually playing the game itself. No friends? Go to a strip club and get three lapdances for the $60. There is no shame in saying it would be a better use of money. I tried to approach this with as much objectivity as I could muster, but I just cant recommend getting it at all. Do not believe the "official reviewers".
    Expand
  21. Nov 14, 2011
    10
    modern warfare 3 is simply awsome, the best COD game to date! well thought of perks with a lot of great new features. I love the maps, and I have nothing bad to say about the game!
  22. Nov 15, 2011
    0
    this poor game, graphics is horrible. sound is horrible, horrible campaign = all horrible.

    graphics: 5 sound: 2
    innovation: 1
    recycled: 10

    ¡very good activision!
  23. Nov 15, 2011
    4
    I have to admit that i'm fairly disappointed by MW3. Story line seems chaotic and all the missions are too short to have any joy from gameplay :/ in multiplayer besides new maps and few more weapons game doesn't bring anything new... MW3 can be considered as a patch (map and weapon pack) for MW2... and the most important part... its way too expensive!
  24. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    ok let's settle score here this game deserve a well positive score anybody who say this is mw2 map pack hell yea who care ? 60 $ for it ok what is 60 $ nothing at all probably 3 hours of work !!! people who hate on this game is basically a noob or hater that just want this game to fail but hey as long as 30 M people like it it not 2551 noob that are going to take this down you hate theok let's settle score here this game deserve a well positive score anybody who say this is mw2 map pack hell yea who care ? 60 $ for it ok what is 60 $ nothing at all probably 3 hours of work !!! people who hate on this game is basically a noob or hater that just want this game to fail but hey as long as 30 M people like it it not 2551 noob that are going to take this down you hate the game because you get owned and because most of you were countin on those killstreak lol ! the map variety are great you have some for gun on gun gameplay wich is awesome because that were we test your skills at the very best story wise yea probably no the best but it aint the worse either bf3 story was the worst and i played it! just a quick update despite whatever mediocre user and hater says this guy try hard like the saying says behind every successful person lies a pack of hater of my personal favorite hater are simply people having angers toward everyone reaching success take each first letter and look was it say HATER get out !!!!!! Expand
  25. Nov 15, 2011
    0
    Just the same that the last CoD. They are doing the same game since CoD4, no changes, so they are using a DLC as a game. 70â
  26. Nov 15, 2011
    0
    From now on, Infinity Ward is not allowed to make another game. Period. The entire game is a reskin of MW2, which was a reskin of CoD 4. I already read the blog entry of them trying to say otherwise, but they're not fooling anyone. A weak story combined with a weak multiplayer where you get spawnkilled many times. I've gotten spawnkilled multiple times in a row before, and I've gottenFrom now on, Infinity Ward is not allowed to make another game. Period. The entire game is a reskin of MW2, which was a reskin of CoD 4. I already read the blog entry of them trying to say otherwise, but they're not fooling anyone. A weak story combined with a weak multiplayer where you get spawnkilled many times. I've gotten spawnkilled multiple times in a row before, and I've gotten spawnkilled by spawning in an enemy's line of fire. The idea is to improve the spawn system that people were complaining about, not make it even worse. Please, make a spawn system where I spawn away from the enemy, not two feet from them. And try to make it so you could spawn at random areas, not at preset spawn points. That's only helping them spawnkill us. Here's another player who's selling back his copy for the full value before the receipt expires. Expand
  27. Nov 15, 2011
    2
    Let's be clear right off the bat; Yes, I am a Battlefield fanboy. Have been since 1942 when it all began. HOWEVER: I enjoyed the living hell out of MW2 so much, that I still play it to this day. I jumped on the bandwagon out of curiosity, and what i found was an addicting, edge of your seat multiplayer (at least until the marathon/lightweight/commando/tac-knife combos were beingLet's be clear right off the bat; Yes, I am a Battlefield fanboy. Have been since 1942 when it all began. HOWEVER: I enjoyed the living hell out of MW2 so much, that I still play it to this day. I jumped on the bandwagon out of curiosity, and what i found was an addicting, edge of your seat multiplayer (at least until the marathon/lightweight/commando/tac-knife combos were being discovered) that had a Michael Bay movie attached to it. (I will not speak of the campaign any further than that.)

    Then we got Black Ops, which sucked. Let us not speak of it again.

    Now we have this thing. I knew this game was going to be copy/pasted to the extreme, but i was thinking "hey, maybe it'll be GOOD copy-pasta."

    I was wrong. When people say "this is the EXACT same thing as MW2," they really aren't joking. The game runs on an engine that is 3 years old with no improvements. It uses the same sound effects, the same models for the weapons, the same friggin font, renamed perks, and the same attachments. This game was LAZILY made. The survival mode feels tacked on and rushed, Zombies has more production value than IW's offering. (and is more fun to boot) The maps are utterly claustrophobic that fit the standard settings of a CoD map (ruined city, dirty place, grey place, brown place, GREYISH BROWN PLACE OF DIRT AND RUBBLE), there is little to no originality in the game, period. The campaign (which throws another big death scene (well, 3) just for the sake of being OSSIM) is utterly uninspired, and feels like a Transformers sequel without the big robots than a true sequel to the superb campaign that COD4 had.

    I give it 2 points; NOT because its not better than Battlefield 3, but because its nothing but a cash-in designed to rape your wallets. When a game's executable file says MW2.exe, you know you're doing something wrong.
    Expand
  28. Nov 16, 2011
    5
    I own every game since CoD4 and I MUST say that this one is the weakest of all. I was slightly disappointed with Black Ops, but now I miss some of the features of BO in MW3. The only advantage I can see are the new maps, which most of I like. I've a poor Internet connection, but compared to BO it takes forever to find a game... Also the weapons and perks don't suit me 100%... Overall it'sI own every game since CoD4 and I MUST say that this one is the weakest of all. I was slightly disappointed with Black Ops, but now I miss some of the features of BO in MW3. The only advantage I can see are the new maps, which most of I like. I've a poor Internet connection, but compared to BO it takes forever to find a game... Also the weapons and perks don't suit me 100%... Overall it's a good game, but has too many faults that I just can't accept, when expected an improvement and received.... well, nothing new really. Expand
  29. Nov 16, 2011
    0
    This review is primarily focused at the multiplayer. Critics HAD to be paid for good reveiw, USER reviews are spot on There was so much hype for this game, but once you play it, it just feels like a really expensive map pack for Modern Warfare 2.

    Main problems For me that make multiplayer completely UNPLAYABLE. Lag compensation Is a JOKE, Hit detection is way off in general, Quick Scope
    This review is primarily focused at the multiplayer. Critics HAD to be paid for good reveiw, USER reviews are spot on There was so much hype for this game, but once you play it, it just feels like a really expensive map pack for Modern Warfare 2.

    Main problems For me that make multiplayer completely UNPLAYABLE.

    Lag compensation Is a JOKE, Hit detection is way off in general, Quick Scope is out of hand and the re- Spawn is Horrible. Map clutter is also a issue getting caught up on random things in the map. Camping is the worst I have seen in any COD. ALSO you still can not create a clan!!!! elite is garbage.

    Have not not once got a comment from IW or Sledgehammer about these issues.

    I see this game for sale USED every where. If you have a chance to rent / or buy used Make sure you want this game.

    I Paid the 100 for the hardened ed. Which was useless cause anyone that bought a elite membership gets everything I did. WOW thanks for the pre-order bonus guys LOL. If your looking for a call of duty game get BLACK OPS! and wait for 3archs next cod title
    Expand
  30. Nov 16, 2011
    6
    I'm going to give my flat out opinion with no agenda in mind. The reviews giving this game under a 3 are unrealistic. On the other hand, the reviews giving this game a 8-10 are just as absurd. I held out on purchasing this game for a week. I just had a "bad" feeling about it and watching videos of game footage didn't reveal anything that made it a must have. I finally cracked because II'm going to give my flat out opinion with no agenda in mind. The reviews giving this game under a 3 are unrealistic. On the other hand, the reviews giving this game a 8-10 are just as absurd. I held out on purchasing this game for a week. I just had a "bad" feeling about it and watching videos of game footage didn't reveal anything that made it a must have. I finally cracked because I wanted to play a game with my friends. I haven't finished campaign but I don't have any real complaints other than stories that get a little too ambitious. I really miss the beautiful simplicity and seemingly realistic conflict that COD4 offered. MW3 multiplayer is where this game really shows its true colors. The graphics are on par with the last 3 COD games. Nothing looks any better and it has a cartoonish feel to it that just doesn't seem right. In fact, the entire multiplayer experience feels like a comic book. I can't explain it but it just feels juvenile. Next is the sound. The weapons in this game sound like airsoft or some pop gun battles. Is my weapon suppressed? I can't tell because regardless they all just seem to push air. My Turtle Beaches are useless. This is by far the worst selection of maps I have played in a COD game. The maps are all tiny CQB cluster messes. I love small tight maps but don't prefer it every game. Variety is the spice of life.

    From the guns, to killstreaks and other things, I just don't see 2 years worth of work. This is really a rehash of MW2 (and not even an improvement). I didn't think the IW staff reshuffle would have any effect but it seems that it did. I am very disappointed in myself for giving in and purchasing such a mediocre game for COD standards. I feel like I was taken advantage of and payed for a game off of pedigree and bloodline alone. This game is not worthy of the COD name and not worthy to deserve my time or money. This is a prime example of a company pushing mediocre products because they know millions will by it simply because of the name.

    At the end of the day I'm going to finish campaign, play a little more MP and probably trade this in. It's a bad nightmare I'm going to try and forget. I'll stick with the games that innovated and set the standard (COD4 and MW2). This is just such a disappointment and I don't know what else to say. Mediocre at best.
    Expand
  31. Nov 16, 2011
    2
    I can't believe Sledgehammer actually accused Battlefield 3 fans (or employees) of sabotaging MW3's Metacritic user score (their tweet has since been deleted). The simple fact of the matter is that MW3 is a very frustrating, unbalanced, broken game. Everything that frustrated and annoyed millions of buyers with MW2 is back. I was naive enough to buy this game without reading user reviews--I can't believe Sledgehammer actually accused Battlefield 3 fans (or employees) of sabotaging MW3's Metacritic user score (their tweet has since been deleted). The simple fact of the matter is that MW3 is a very frustrating, unbalanced, broken game. Everything that frustrated and annoyed millions of buyers with MW2 is back. I was naive enough to buy this game without reading user reviews-- don't make the same mistake. If you're a casual gamer, it'll frustrate you because the only way you can succeed is by exploit aspects of the game mechanics. If you're a gamer that wants a legit online competitive game that rewards your in-game skills, stick with Black Ops or Battlefield BC/3. Play MW3 if you want to die within 5 seconds (or less) of spawning when you're sniped from an unknown direction and have no means to evade. Expand
  32. Nov 16, 2011
    6
    inconsistent graphics, tedious and frustrating multiplayer lets the game down but a entertaining spec ops mode and a campaign with excellent blockbuster moments stop me from giving a negative score. The main problem is that i always have the feeling that i have been there and done that.
  33. Nov 16, 2011
    1
    I loved COD, it was so cool being a USMC soldier in MW, I loved Infantry ward I would only buy their versions of CODâ
  34. Nov 20, 2011
    6
    Call of Duty. Everybody and their grandmothers have heard of it. Every year, a new one is released, destroying all of the sales records the previous ones established. The first COD that brought on this sequence was Modern Warfare, way back in 2007. For the first MW, there were no troll wars, there was no hatred between different camps of gamers. MW was revered for its incredible campaignCall of Duty. Everybody and their grandmothers have heard of it. Every year, a new one is released, destroying all of the sales records the previous ones established. The first COD that brought on this sequence was Modern Warfare, way back in 2007. For the first MW, there were no troll wars, there was no hatred between different camps of gamers. MW was revered for its incredible campaign and, excuse the pun. game-changing multiplayer. Fast forward to 2011. The sequence continues. MW3 sold 6.5 billion in 3 days. Yet it has one of the lowest user scores on metacritic there are. What happened, what changed? Well, to say the least, nothing changed. MW3 is still the same shooter as the original 4 years ago, but with a much worse single-player campaign (3 hours, and that's a generous estimate) and a much bigger emphasis on multiplayer. With the huge emphasis on multiplayer, it ought to have improved significantly from year to year, yet the changes the games receive each year are so minute that most don't know anything was changed. Other than COD Elite, I really can't see much of difference between this, Black-Ops and MW2. At least Black-Ops had a decent length story, even if it was a little convoluted. Graphically speaking, this game looks pretty good. However, so did Black-Ops and MW2. In fact, they look very similar... Maybe its just me, but there hasn't been all that much improvement in the series. If I wanted the same old game I've been playing forever I would've never bought a new one. As far as controls go, this is Call of Duty. No innovations have been introduced here; if you've played any of the other generic shooters in the past 4 years you'll know how to play this game all right. In conclusion, Modern Warfare 3 is a fun game, until you realize that it is the same game you've been playing for 5 years. The lack of innovations has really started taking it's toll on the patience of consumers, as shown by its current user score. With games finally breaking into the mainstream culture as something regular people do, COD has become the generic war movie. Sure, it will sell huge numbers, but it won't be remembered as one of the greats. With so many huge games out this fall that are huge improvements on their predecessors, such as Skyrim, Uncharted 3, , I would suggest buying something else instead of this. If you need to play COD, just keep playing Black-Ops. We all know you have it. Expand
  35. Nov 20, 2011
    1
    IW thanks for great online
    look at this
    activision sucks, have a bad online.
    the search for games by region does not work, it must be global in extent as modern warfare 2. or black ops.
    30 minutes to find game, if not improving December 15, MW3 sell the **** and buy the Battlefield 3.
    I will not buy a single game over COD
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iU74QbFxTOQ
  36. Nov 20, 2011
    0
    Read DJ hazardous review below as he/she covers it very well. I agree totally. The game (Esp multiplayer) sucks. This shows a total lack of inagination by the developers. I have taken my copy back already.
  37. Nov 20, 2011
    0
    if feels the same... it is the same.... COD won't take one more dime out of me... im sorry but i am really disappointed with this series... :( sad because i used to love my COD....
  38. Nov 20, 2011
    6
    There are many things you can say about modern warfare 3, many people hate the game for being less and less original with every new entry, and some people just love it. I was able to beat the story in 4 hours, and the muiltiplayer is a load of fun, and spec ops. It is a well made game, and i had fun with it, but for value, this game fails, unless your really into muiltiplayer. But as muchThere are many things you can say about modern warfare 3, many people hate the game for being less and less original with every new entry, and some people just love it. I was able to beat the story in 4 hours, and the muiltiplayer is a load of fun, and spec ops. It is a well made game, and i had fun with it, but for value, this game fails, unless your really into muiltiplayer. But as much as i wanted to like it, it felt like just another cash grab. Expand
  39. Nov 20, 2011
    3
    I felt the game lacked any in new innovations to the FPS genre.....a rehashed overhyped game. The continuation of the single player does have some continuity from previous versions but not enough to be rated as high as the so called game industry reviews...."get a set" and call it like it is....
  40. Nov 20, 2011
    4
    SHORT REVIEW: I don't really like the improvement of the game. Although It really is an enjoyable game. The only thing that bugs me and dislike about the game is that the bullets sound effects isn't realistic,
  41. Nov 20, 2011
    6
    The great divider. This isn't a terrible game, and the metacritic score that it has now doesn't really reflect its fanbase or gamers in general. What it reflects is the few you think that someone cares. Regarding my opinions on the game, I think it's boring, yet well made. The last Call of Duty that was great was 4, and Black Ops was still a pretty good game. This one is just good. TheThe great divider. This isn't a terrible game, and the metacritic score that it has now doesn't really reflect its fanbase or gamers in general. What it reflects is the few you think that someone cares. Regarding my opinions on the game, I think it's boring, yet well made. The last Call of Duty that was great was 4, and Black Ops was still a pretty good game. This one is just good. The campaign is a bit shallow, (rephrase that) the campaign was insanely boring, and multiplayer can only do so much, at least for me. Spec Ops isn't as fun as Zombies mode, and the rest is the same stuff we've been playing for years, with a couple of other features. As I've repeated, the game isn't broken, but boring, thus a 6. I would give a 6.5 if given the chance, but I'd dare not give it a 7. So a 6. Expand
  42. Nov 20, 2011
    5
    Although I play Mw3 Multiplayer nonstop and was unable to sleep in anticipation to its release I feel pretty let down by the lack of significant improvements to the gameplay. New modes have been added yes but existing problems with the core of the game(multiplayer) have not been addressed. Server issues, menu interface, spawn system, bland and still non interactive maps are amongAlthough I play Mw3 Multiplayer nonstop and was unable to sleep in anticipation to its release I feel pretty let down by the lack of significant improvements to the gameplay. New modes have been added yes but existing problems with the core of the game(multiplayer) have not been addressed. Server issues, menu interface, spawn system, bland and still non interactive maps are among problems never addressed in mw3. In some ways it feels like a step backwards from the previous game Black ops, hell even the player emblems and titles look like they were drawn by a child where in Black ops not only were they varied and professional looking they were also customizable. Various other irks exist but truly the biggest failure is the hype behind Call of Duty Elite. Ignoring the launch issues that more than likely should have been foreseen, 95% of the service stat tracking and the like was already in Black ops and it was in game not separated (once again regressing). The media outlets projected it as if it would allow different play structures to exist like organized ladder tournaments and ranked matches to happen. This is not the case currently. I for one was really hyped to the consoles having ranked play as it would have allowed those new to the series or not as gifted to play while the uber players could truly see who was the better players among each other. Without any sort of meaningful service all Elite truly is is a map pack pre-order that I myself was duped into. Various other shortsightedness exists like the inclusion of strike packages that supposedly allow for support players to shine while the only stats tracked are K/D ratios and not goals and objectives show the product fails to live up to its own standards. As I continue to play (hell I payed $110 for it!) I await the next entry into the series and hope Treyarch or whoever develops it will redefine FPS as Activision not only has the talent to do, so but also the capital. Expand
  43. Nov 20, 2011
    0
    the only reason Sledgehammer requested user reviews was greed. its the same game as always. we need to stand up as consumers, stop pre-ordering, and start showing them we want quality. thanks for they same garbage.
  44. Nov 20, 2011
    4
    Call of Duty could be better if they actually did more changes in their games.
    I only saw a small number of new stuffs, besides that nothing.
    It is very disappointing to hit the video industry with this and quite expensive.
    But i must say i enjoyed the campaign.
  45. Nov 20, 2011
    4
    Right i wanted to give a review on this game after giving a solid amount of time on it to really give a fair rating on my experience with the game.. The Campaign - there was so much Hype for this game.. the last time i felt something like that was for Halo 3.. ( that was a disappointment for me) and JUST like Halo3 this was a disappointment.. i understood that the game wouldn't be tooRight i wanted to give a review on this game after giving a solid amount of time on it to really give a fair rating on my experience with the game.. The Campaign - there was so much Hype for this game.. the last time i felt something like that was for Halo 3.. ( that was a disappointment for me) and JUST like Halo3 this was a disappointment.. i understood that the game wouldn't be too long.. i have come to expect it from the MW Series, but i just didn't expect it to be so the same set piece's .. i was expecting something new / something different.. i don't know what different but just something??.. the story itself was pretty weak actually .. MW2 was better.. the main Events that happen u can just tell were coming. also i found that doing it on the hardest Setting was also alot easier than previous MW Games.. Maybe just coz im so used to how the game works ( coz it hasn't changed ) that is why it seemed easier than normal maybe.. In all story was a complete letdown but i wasn't too shocked. Survivor - hmm pretty fun the first time you do it.. but after starting doing the forth map on the list.. i was already bored with it.. i understand why you need to have a different profile so all the guns etc arnt unlocked from your main multi-player rank.. but god its slow to do the same maps to level up.. couldn't they have done it by a certain wave.. you can use the sentry launcher . not by a certain rank.. to me it just seems like a long winded way in getting you to play this mode till you reach the highest level to use everything. or just make the leveling up faster i think that would have been better.. in all the mode is pretty boring after a few attempts. Spec Ops - Loved! on MW2.. MW3 its kinda the same stuff really.. well the challenges are a little different which is good.. but i don't know.. just misses something *new* maybe im being a little harsh.. i think my main problem is that they are so suited to co op.. im actually more a single player person when it comes to challenges like this.. altho i have done the most of them 3 star.. i just felt.. this would have been quicker and MUCH easier on *co op* which is good but also bad coz the game doesnt get any easier when doing on your own.. or any harder when you do it Co-op.. but in all Spec ops is actually ok but once you done it.. no replay value at all.. good thing is spec ops ranking is linked with Survivor. ( thank god )

    Multiplayer - Well you either love it or hate it.. to me the newer idea's they brought onto MW3 like the strike packages is Brilliant. more guns, and alot of maps .. ( il get more onto the maps in abit )
    but for these small things.. the rest of the stuff is either the same or Just plain bad.. Spawning for me is a real issue on this game.. i read people prefer it or they hate it.. im a hater... I cant stand when my whole team spawn on me when im trying to sneak around the back of a group / team only for everyone else all of a sudden by my side.. i think a big drawback is that with so many strike packages / support / kill etc.. no one shines out anymore.. Ive never been *elite* at the game but i have good games / bad games.. but i donno just everything is so chaotic with UAV spam Alot of Kills but alot of Deaths.. but tbh i think thats due to the map... I HATE the maps. i like there is alot of maps but hate the style.. u can get attack from every direction all the time.. so with the dodgy spawning of people right next to you even tho you just killed 3 of them.. all their team just spawned next to each other.. its just crap...shotguns and knifing is broke IMO.. but i think thats a personal Issue.. Verdict - in all the game was / is a let down for me.. alot of hype for the same game as before but much Worse. im still playing it.. just coz i hope they might fix some problems.. i would rent it if i could turn back time. I may even consider going back to MW2. the game is Deff not a 0 but i wouldnt give more than a 4.. alot of reused stuff and i hope the creators of the game read all these opinions of the people who buy their Games and come up with something new and exciting and not a Micheal Bay Story mode.
    Expand
  46. Nov 20, 2011
    4
    this game is basicly the same as mw2 and is a disapointment to all those fans of cod that this new game would be so alike like cod mw2. i played this game and i enjoyed it but only for a certain amount of time after a while it gets pretty boring. the multiplayer is really fun but once again after a while it gets boring
  47. Nov 20, 2011
    2
    I have to say that when the original Modern warfare came out I was blown away by the engine and how impressive it was. While today if any other developer were to release this game looking like this it would probably be hailed as a spectacle to see, we expect more from you at infinity ward and sledgehammer. I mean come on adding a few guns some minor graphical improvements to water and aI have to say that when the original Modern warfare came out I was blown away by the engine and how impressive it was. While today if any other developer were to release this game looking like this it would probably be hailed as a spectacle to see, we expect more from you at infinity ward and sledgehammer. I mean come on adding a few guns some minor graphical improvements to water and a few other things and a new scope attachment and you think people werent going to complain. Anyways if you want to get back on top grow some balls and try something different! Oh and by the way improve the Audio engine the silenced sniper rifle was an absolute joke! Expand
  48. Nov 20, 2011
    3
    common i wonder if call of duty is using the same engine in 15 years and the exact same formula will the critics ever give it something below a 85? the problems its stale, irritating and boring... the cons outweigh the pros here... i bought it on release day after playing black ops for a long time and enjoying that... but i come here and its just something so unenjoyable about the game...common i wonder if call of duty is using the same engine in 15 years and the exact same formula will the critics ever give it something below a 85? the problems its stale, irritating and boring... the cons outweigh the pros here... i bought it on release day after playing black ops for a long time and enjoying that... but i come here and its just something so unenjoyable about the game... theres alot of maps and a few i liked thats a plus a heck of alot of maps... but they are small.. im not here to write forever i wanted this to be good for me maybe its just to arcadey idk... but the bad outweighs the good IMO and thats why im here to give my IMO Expand
  49. Nov 20, 2011
    2
    Recycled previous versions, solid campaign though. They really needed to have more innovation, additionally, trying to set up a subscription service ? Very poor showing.
  50. Nov 20, 2011
    0
    i cant believe i wasted my $$$ on this piece of #####.
    game plays the same feeels the same.
    this should be dlc rather than a full game. this is the last time you got my $$$ activition.
  51. Nov 20, 2011
    0
    The so called professionals are giving this game raving reviews. Why? maybe because they think it is good. Well maybe, or it could do with the fact that this is the highest selling franchise ever, and disagreeing with that franchise wouldnt sit well with activision. I have read many reviews none mention entire elements being copyed from mw2( sounds, most text, leaderboards, guns,The so called professionals are giving this game raving reviews. Why? maybe because they think it is good. Well maybe, or it could do with the fact that this is the highest selling franchise ever, and disagreeing with that franchise wouldnt sit well with activision. I have read many reviews none mention entire elements being copyed from mw2( sounds, most text, leaderboards, guns, equipment, perks). they will milk this game till it is ran into the ground. Innovation, creativity are what are needed in games not slight modifications of the same game over and over again. I was fine with it when we made the leap from cod4 to mw2 but seriously your have the highest grossing franchise ever, multiple studios working and you can't use a new graphics engine. i wouldnt be surprised if the game was finished a half year ago. Expand
  52. Nov 20, 2011
    4
    If Modern Warfare 2 had not been made, then this game would have been an amazing step forward from Modern Warfare. Sadly, that is not the case. Activision has not improved their game much at all. It is basically the same game with a similar campaign, the same, if not worse, multiplayer, and a new survival mode which, compared to zombies mode, is decent at best. Starting with the campaign,If Modern Warfare 2 had not been made, then this game would have been an amazing step forward from Modern Warfare. Sadly, that is not the case. Activision has not improved their game much at all. It is basically the same game with a similar campaign, the same, if not worse, multiplayer, and a new survival mode which, compared to zombies mode, is decent at best. Starting with the campaign, it is the best one of the series, with lots of near death experiences and large explosions. Although, it seems to much like it's predecessor. Spec Ops mode returns, with 16 missions featuring various objectives to be completed, much like Modern Warfare 2. The survival mode seems fun at first, but after a few games, it becomes apparent that it is basically a rip-off of Call of Duty Zombies mode. Now on to the multiplayer, yes, the multiplayer. At first glance, it seems fantastic, brand new gun proficiencies, a new killstreak system, and new maps. But if you dive deeper, you'll find that over half of the guns are from the two previous Modern Warfare's and a couple from Black Ops. The gun proficiencies are just perks that were in previous Call of Duty games that could not be fit into this one. The killstreaks are mostly the same with new names. The only ones that strike me as brand new are the osprey and the juggernaut. The maps are just downright boring compared to Modern Warfare 2's. This may be a harsh review, but it's the truth. If your a hardcore Call of Duty fan, then you'll probably buy this game regardless of what you read. But know, you were warned. Expand
  53. Nov 20, 2011
    2
    I have bought every COD and Modern Warfare game so far But this will be my last.
    First player was fun and what i expected to finish of the series But as a huge fan of multi player games this one really lets me down. It is not so much the playing of the game it is actually worse as a whole on the rewarding of random shooting and killing. Plus the fact they have brought back the whole quick
    I have bought every COD and Modern Warfare game so far But this will be my last.
    First player was fun and what i expected to finish of the series But as a huge fan of multi player games this one really lets me down. It is not so much the playing of the game it is actually worse as a whole on the rewarding of random shooting and killing. Plus the fact they have brought back the whole quick scoping. It just dose not add any thing new or reward you for actually using the aim button but my biggest disappointment is the huge hype and reviews it received and the fact that most people like myself per-ordered it and are just suppose to lump it. When in fact i would not recommend it for anything except a weekend rental. Sorry to say all you reviewer who help convince me to buy it you need to get your head out of your butts. We should not be paying over hundred dollars for dodgy games any more.
    .
    Expand
  54. Nov 20, 2011
    0
    How the mighty have fallen!!! Once upon a time there were good quality call of duty games. Now since a new title every year come out itâ
  55. Nov 20, 2011
    5
    Lots of people unhappy with the lack of innovation for this game, for me this is not really the problem as I wasn't expecting any. . . My biggest concerns are the lag, spawn issues and poorly designed maps. I enjoyed the campaign (What I've played of it so far) but the multiplayer is almost unbearable, the poor hit detection, constant shooting round corners and spawning straight into theLots of people unhappy with the lack of innovation for this game, for me this is not really the problem as I wasn't expecting any. . . My biggest concerns are the lag, spawn issues and poorly designed maps. I enjoyed the campaign (What I've played of it so far) but the multiplayer is almost unbearable, the poor hit detection, constant shooting round corners and spawning straight into the line of fire make it a very stale experience. . . What was that old saying people used to defend this franchise "If it ain't broke, don't fix it"? well I'm afraid this time it is broke. :( Expand
  56. Nov 20, 2011
    6
    As an unbiased person to shooters and not in the bandwagon with the "BF3 or MW3 fanboys," I can rate this game as to what it deserves. The story mode is rather short...and really got alot of hyped up events that didn't even happen. And of course the story itself is..quite mediocre. The multiplayer feels rather unpolished as I can see many bugs happen while I'm playing. The special ops areAs an unbiased person to shooters and not in the bandwagon with the "BF3 or MW3 fanboys," I can rate this game as to what it deserves. The story mode is rather short...and really got alot of hyped up events that didn't even happen. And of course the story itself is..quite mediocre. The multiplayer feels rather unpolished as I can see many bugs happen while I'm playing. The special ops are quite fun, but that's pretty much it. If you're playing this by yourself, you're a fanboy. If you're playing to hang with your friends, then you should have smooth sailing with this game. Expand
  57. Nov 21, 2011
    6
    I loved the campaign, which has been the strong feature of this franchise but the mechanics of the game didn't sit right with me. First of all, aren't guns suppose to have a knockback/recoil when you shoot? I mean I have played many shooters, even in the old Counter-Strike 1.6, there was superb recoil which made it feel real. This game is too easy even the AI was stupid, they ran towardsI loved the campaign, which has been the strong feature of this franchise but the mechanics of the game didn't sit right with me. First of all, aren't guns suppose to have a knockback/recoil when you shoot? I mean I have played many shooters, even in the old Counter-Strike 1.6, there was superb recoil which made it feel real. This game is too easy even the AI was stupid, they ran towards me and with no recoil I shot hordes of AI in matter of seconds. The game costs Rs. 3500($67) in India. its **** expensive for playing a game with no innovation. Do not buy this game. If you want to play the campaign rent the game. Its not worth the money. Expand
  58. Nov 21, 2011
    6
    This game is missing something, CHANGE. But I can't deny that it is a good game, the reason I give it 4 is because it's all seen before. The thing that they've been most succesful at, is the singleplayer, They have made a good storyline, good fighting, but yet again, that's just as the other modern warfare games. Their "special ops" is very good, I must give them that, It's the best partThis game is missing something, CHANGE. But I can't deny that it is a good game, the reason I give it 4 is because it's all seen before. The thing that they've been most succesful at, is the singleplayer, They have made a good storyline, good fighting, but yet again, that's just as the other modern warfare games. Their "special ops" is very good, I must give them that, It's the best part about the game, I've played it alot with my brothers, and we're having alot of fun. But the most dissapointing about the game is the multiplayer, it's the same as the other games, all they did was throwing some new modes in it and thought it didn't need more. But the one thing is bothering me the most: WHAT DID THEY DO IN THE TWO YEARS!! I mean, almost nothing has changed, the biggest change is the singleplayer, I've seen much better games been made in less than that, and making much bigger difference, for example the Assassins Creed series, they only have 1 year for every game. Expand
  59. Nov 21, 2011
    1
    This is little more than DLC being charged for at full price. It looks, sounds, feels and plays like every other Modern Warfare. I couldn't even be bothered to finish the single player, and the multiplayer... well, what do you want me to say? It's Call of Duty. Again.

    If you want to play MW3, buy CoD4 instead - it's only a fiver in most stores. Spend the money you save on a more deserving
    This is little more than DLC being charged for at full price. It looks, sounds, feels and plays like every other Modern Warfare. I couldn't even be bothered to finish the single player, and the multiplayer... well, what do you want me to say? It's Call of Duty. Again.

    If you want to play MW3, buy CoD4 instead - it's only a fiver in most stores. Spend the money you save on a more deserving title instead.

    FINAL VERDICT - This should have been DLC. Hell, 90% of it should have been a PATCH! 1/10
    Expand
  60. Nov 21, 2011
    4
    I actually can say I was somewhat interested in MW3 just because of the story. MW2's campaign was actually a good one so I thought the follow up in MW3 would be a decent one. Sadly, this is not the case. MW3's campaign edges on your patience mission by mission following up with one boring step at a time. I had forced myself to play on hoping something exciting would happen. UnfortunatelyI actually can say I was somewhat interested in MW3 just because of the story. MW2's campaign was actually a good one so I thought the follow up in MW3 would be a decent one. Sadly, this is not the case. MW3's campaign edges on your patience mission by mission following up with one boring step at a time. I had forced myself to play on hoping something exciting would happen. Unfortunately it took about half of the time I spent playing before something interesting actually happened, it took me until the level with the sandstorm to not get bored for a while. Then after that. The game once again starts to become less and less interesting. It took me a little under seven hours to complete the campaign on veteran. It might just be a matter of perspective but I thought it was much more fun in MW2 playing as the Rangers as apposed to MW3's DF. The graphics aren't much different then MW2. In fact they're exactly the same. Nothing has improved. You even see some of the same objects that were in MW2. Sounds of guns are okay but I have run into a few situations where the game will mess up and I'll hear a static-ish screeching that will force me to turn my sound all the way down until it stops. Half of the music flat out sucks. It's probably the worst soundtrack of any of the CoD series. You hear the delta force music so much that the mute button on your TV actually becomes useful. On to the multiplayer. In my eyes MW3 is slightly better then the camp fest known as MW2. It's no CoD4 but it's decent. Until the lag hits. Wow this game lags far worse then Black Ops ever did online. This company has made over a billion dollars from the Call of Duty name and they can't get better servers? The constant freezing in games and lag makes this game a joke. Just like Black ops and MW2 a lot of the maps in the game feel like they were designed to suck. This game's online interface has taken a huge step back from where BO was going too. The lack of in depth stat tracking and MW3's terrible theatre, which for some reason doesn't work for me half of the time (Out of Memory.) . I feel like whoever was working on the MP aspect just threw stuff together and called it a day. All in all. This game is below being what could be considered mediocre at best. The campaign blows. Survival should have been 4 players, and the online is really laggy. I seriously hope if there is a MW4 IW gets their crap together because if this is the sign of all things to come it looks like Treyarch is going to be the only one dropping out decent CoD's. Expand
  61. Nov 21, 2011
    0
    This game sucks, I can't believe people are still buying this mainstream crap. They make the same game every year, make some new maps for the boring multiplayer, and slap together a linear, run from point a to b campaign. Its as bad as the ea sports games, as its just milking people year after year. If you've never played the games before, you might enjoy this, but if you've sick and tiredThis game sucks, I can't believe people are still buying this mainstream crap. They make the same game every year, make some new maps for the boring multiplayer, and slap together a linear, run from point a to b campaign. Its as bad as the ea sports games, as its just milking people year after year. If you've never played the games before, you might enjoy this, but if you've sick and tired of the yearly repetitive cod formula save your money and stay away, you'll find little to nothing new. Expand
  62. Nov 21, 2011
    5
    here is wat I seen in mw3 the story structure is no different from gears 3 and the structure of the game entirely is not different from mw2 then the multi player is a regenerated mock up of the newer engine that's basically it there isn't any thing NEW or AMAZING its just a game that cod **** go obscenely over like a rabid nintendo fan boy/girl. that's the sum of it all in the end result.here is wat I seen in mw3 the story structure is no different from gears 3 and the structure of the game entirely is not different from mw2 then the multi player is a regenerated mock up of the newer engine that's basically it there isn't any thing NEW or AMAZING its just a game that cod **** go obscenely over like a rabid nintendo fan boy/girl. that's the sum of it all in the end result.

    other than that i wasn't thrilled it was like they rushed it to quickly especially in the campaign mode, they could have done better, good enough to rent but wait till it drops in price.
    Expand
  63. Nov 21, 2011
    4
    I have been playing COD since MW1, but i am getting tired of this. it feels the same as MW2, but not in a good way. I got fast bored with this game, its a disappointment.
  64. Nov 21, 2011
    0
    Just another $60 map pack here. Might be worth picking up if your a sheep and pay for the exact same thing year after year. There is no other series out there that people put up with total laziness from the developers why do it for COD remember what they did to tony hawk.
  65. Nov 21, 2011
    0
    I didn't even know what metacritic was until the powers that be at MW3 Facebook page posted a story about how bad their score were on here. I decided to imeadiatley check it out for myself and was pleasantly surprised to find out that I'm not the only person completely disappointed with this game. I've been playing call of duty since the 2nd installment. They've had their slip ups fromI didn't even know what metacritic was until the powers that be at MW3 Facebook page posted a story about how bad their score were on here. I decided to imeadiatley check it out for myself and was pleasantly surprised to find out that I'm not the only person completely disappointed with this game. I've been playing call of duty since the 2nd installment. They've had their slip ups from time to time such as the third one in particular but nothing as disappointing as their newest release Call of Duty Modern Warfare 3. The hype behind this game was staggering! It was talked about by everyone includding people who've never played video games before. I know that there have been some shake ups in their staffing but rather than spending their resources on building a quality game I feel like infinity ward spent all their time on money on marketing. AND THEY DID A DAMN GOOD JOB AT IT! This game is dreadful in every aspect, the multi player being the worst. The single player seems as though it were an after thought, like 'oh yeah, we need to put a campaign mode in too.' The spec ops is still only two players. Who doesn't have more than two friends they play video games with nowadays? Even Gears of War realized that a good co op game mode needs atleast four players involved. The multiplayer however is the reason most people buy this game and it it the biggest reason not to buy it in my humble opinion. I'm not saying I could make a better game but in a way I feel like I could. This seems like such a step backward that it should be in the apple app store not the midnight release of the year. All the maps seemed washed out like your in a never ending sand storm, the spawns suck because you'll spawn with an enemy directly behind you, the kill streaks are terrible! Nothing fun about kill streaks since everyone can earn them now. When you die they don't reset so the game is constantly rumbling from stealth bombers. All I have left to say is that this was the worst $100 I ever spent on a game. I bought the hardened edition that included founder status to COD Elite (which by the way still is not working and is a whole other reason not to buy MW3) I'm happier playing Black Ops which has its own problems but at least it was a step in the right direction when it came out. Modern warfare 3 is terrible! Expand
  66. Nov 21, 2011
    0
    It feels like a 60 dollar map pack. The maps are dull, cluttered, and uncreative, the killstreaks and weapons are recycled from previous games. They reward people for dying, anyone can get overpowered killstreaks, the combat is mindless and frankly uninteresting...etc etc. I don't see why Activision thinks that they should turn this franchise into a yearly sports game.... they areIt feels like a 60 dollar map pack. The maps are dull, cluttered, and uncreative, the killstreaks and weapons are recycled from previous games. They reward people for dying, anyone can get overpowered killstreaks, the combat is mindless and frankly uninteresting...etc etc. I don't see why Activision thinks that they should turn this franchise into a yearly sports game.... they are killing it in the same way they did to Tony Hawk and Guitar Hero. Expand
  67. Nov 21, 2011
    2
    When you compare Modern Warfare 3 to upcoming and current releases in the FPS genre, its embarrassing that this game is scored above mediocrity anywhere. There is little to no innovation, its completely rehashed all the way down to recycled models and maps. You could easily play MW2 and this game interchangeably minus the UI and not even know, and that is because this game feels like a 60$When you compare Modern Warfare 3 to upcoming and current releases in the FPS genre, its embarrassing that this game is scored above mediocrity anywhere. There is little to no innovation, its completely rehashed all the way down to recycled models and maps. You could easily play MW2 and this game interchangeably minus the UI and not even know, and that is because this game feels like a 60$ map pack. Shame on Activision, and also the current kiss ass reviewers that are too afraid to rate this bloated rotting whale of a AAA+ title below an 8 or its equivalent on their grading scale. Expand
  68. Nov 21, 2011
    6
    dissapointment is a understatment its not a horrible game its just too much of the same feels like they got mw2 and a couple maps and minor tweaks seems like 60$ dlc, i see cod being the next guitar hero if they keep flooding the market with titles
  69. Nov 21, 2011
    0
    Oh dear...this is the 'Street Fighter 2 Turbo Champion Edition' of our time. An appallingly lazy and derivative follow-on from a great and storied series - actually, lazy doesn't begin to cover it. Downright sloppy, more like. Then again, what can you really expect when the devs are nothing more than performing monkeys standing on the shoulders of giants?
  70. Nov 21, 2011
    2
    The only thing different about this compared to Modern Warfare 2 is the number 3 on the front cover. It's the same thing over and over and over again. Don't waste your time. That being said, it's selling like hot cakes and the reviews don't reflect the sales reports.
  71. Nov 21, 2011
    1
    Giving this game a 2 is already being to generous. This game shouldn't have been made... same exact engine as mw2 same everything just different weapons, perks, etc. I understand that if there is nothing wrong with the engine than don't fix is but these servers... Mw2 had good servers and good hit detection but in this game... what went wrong? You already copy pasted the game is it reallyGiving this game a 2 is already being to generous. This game shouldn't have been made... same exact engine as mw2 same everything just different weapons, perks, etc. I understand that if there is nothing wrong with the engine than don't fix is but these servers... Mw2 had good servers and good hit detection but in this game... what went wrong? You already copy pasted the game is it really that difficult to make the servers good? I can go back to COD4 which is 4 years old and its servers are 10x better than this games... Good job Iw you may of made COD4 the best out of the COD series that revolutionized this series but you just killed the series with MW3. Expand
  72. Nov 22, 2011
    0
    MW3 deserves a zero. I say this with a straight face and the knowledge that I am no fanboy, simply a man who does not like to be lied to. MW3 is not a sequel, it is a glorified expansion pack. If this had been a 20$ map pack for MW2 or Black Ops it might have been acceptable. The fact of the matter is, not enough has changed to warrant the release of this "sequel." The game itself,MW3 deserves a zero. I say this with a straight face and the knowledge that I am no fanboy, simply a man who does not like to be lied to. MW3 is not a sequel, it is a glorified expansion pack. If this had been a 20$ map pack for MW2 or Black Ops it might have been acceptable. The fact of the matter is, not enough has changed to warrant the release of this "sequel." The game itself, reviewed from by a person who has never played COD before is indeed a masterpiece. I'd say it would easily be a 9. However, the fact that this game was developed and released as a"sequel," angers any who have played even one Call of Duty before. Everything is recycled and tired. The fact the developers can get away with this sham is not only reflective of their greed and apparent lack of interest in creating anything innovative, it is reflective of the stupidity of the consumers who buy the product in the first place. If these people continue to support this lunacy, there is no telling how long the COD series will be able to extort gamers from their money to pay more map packs. There is also no telling if this trend will spread, which being a trend that makes the developers more money at the cost of little work it will likely spread to other, well-liked franchises. You see I don't hate MW3. I hate how people don't see MW3 for what it is and appropriately don't buy it. The sooner the COD developers realize they can't **** with their own consumer base, they will put much more EFFORT into their work, improving QUALITY. THEREFORE DO NOT BE SHEEP AND BUY A REHASHED PIECE OF WORK. DEMAND QUALITY YOU DESERVE. Essentially this statement means if MW3 was not bought and made Activision lose money, the next one would actually be worthy of the title Modern Warfare. Here's to the last great COD game, Modern Warfare before they ****ed it all up lol Expand
  73. Nov 22, 2011
    1
    Campaign is flashy but not memorable at all, not to mention how short it was overall. Multiplayer seems to be the same as mw 2 with new but uninteresting modes. They pretty much pasted mw 2 over the title mw 3. The graphics engine is the same. I got my copy on the first day and forced a refund on the second day. It's not bad, but there's not much improvement since mw 2. The devs need toCampaign is flashy but not memorable at all, not to mention how short it was overall. Multiplayer seems to be the same as mw 2 with new but uninteresting modes. They pretty much pasted mw 2 over the title mw 3. The graphics engine is the same. I got my copy on the first day and forced a refund on the second day. It's not bad, but there's not much improvement since mw 2. The devs need to realise that we aren't dumb enough to buy this sort of half assed effort at 60 dollars anymore. I hope they take the criticism well this time well like what happened with dragon age 2, or I'm going to put my money elsewhere on games that offer me more bang for my buck. Expand
  74. Nov 22, 2011
    0
    Call Of Duty .... one the best franchise of games .... it WAS ! The more Call Of Duty games are released, the more then are worst than the last one. Call Of Duty 4 Modern Warfare was one of the best game I ever played, in solo mode but in multiplayer too. Modern Warfare 2 was pretty bad in comparison. The solo campauign was just OK (some missions were very fun, but less than the previousCall Of Duty .... one the best franchise of games .... it WAS ! The more Call Of Duty games are released, the more then are worst than the last one. Call Of Duty 4 Modern Warfare was one of the best game I ever played, in solo mode but in multiplayer too. Modern Warfare 2 was pretty bad in comparison. The solo campauign was just OK (some missions were very fun, but less than the previous one). And now Modern Warfare 3 ... wow .... solo campaign is not that bad, but it brings absolutly NOTHING NEW. It's always the same damn thing. No new situations, even weapons are the same. And the multiplayer ? To be honest, didn't test it, because I did not want to ! To play again the same thing, with no new addition ? Non thank you Activision, I got more games to do than wasting time on your "MW Clone of the past ones" ! Played & resold in 2 days, that's what your game deserves ! Expand
  75. Nov 23, 2011
    6
    I had such great times playing Black Ops and this game is such a disappointment. This is straight cut and paste to the max. Getting shot in the back constantly, getting sniped by a person a couple feet from you(oh how I despise quick scoping,) aim assist is a horrible idea. The multiplayer did upgrade and I was pleased with that. But they had 2 full years to make this game and it looksI had such great times playing Black Ops and this game is such a disappointment. This is straight cut and paste to the max. Getting shot in the back constantly, getting sniped by a person a couple feet from you(oh how I despise quick scoping,) aim assist is a horrible idea. The multiplayer did upgrade and I was pleased with that. But they had 2 full years to make this game and it looks like a game that took a little under a year to make. For the first time, I am looking forward to the next Treyarch Call of Duty than Infinity ward. Expand
  76. Nov 24, 2011
    2
    story mode 1/10 multiplayer 1/10 co-op 5/10 graphic 5/10 imitative 0/10
    price to the content 2/10

    score 2.33
  77. Nov 24, 2011
    4
    I'm a casual gamer in my 30's and have played the Call of Duty franchise since its inception. This is the first review I've ever posted for anything, but I felt the need to inform those that don't believe the negative hype, that, for the most part, it is warranted. I've logged 15 or so hours on the online multi-player and must admit it's very frustrating. Reasons why: 1) Hope you got 5I'm a casual gamer in my 30's and have played the Call of Duty franchise since its inception. This is the first review I've ever posted for anything, but I felt the need to inform those that don't believe the negative hype, that, for the most part, it is warranted. I've logged 15 or so hours on the online multi-player and must admit it's very frustrating. Reasons why: 1) Hope you got 5 minutes to let your playstation find you a game - and if you want to play Survival mode... forget about it. 2) I thought bullet detection took a step backward from MW2 to Black Ops... well, you ain't seen nothin' yet. 3) If you want to be completely frustrated, watch the kill cam a few times and watch dudes empty clips into you as you round a corner and they haven't even shown up on your screen. I realize, the more you play you get a 6th sense of where people are coming from and can "feel" someone coming around the corner, but I have a feeling many times people are getting the drop on me because of a faster internet connection, which I've never felt before in a CoD game... so bear in mind, this issue might not be suffered by you if you have a super fast internet connection.

    I must admit, the low score is due grading on a curve based on the other CoD games. Considering how great a game MW2 was, I just feel the ball was really dropped here. Credit where credit is due though... graphically beautiful, worthy single player campaign conclusion, and just about everything about it is a giant step up from Black Ops, but I thought Black Ops was pretty crappy with the exception of online Zombies.

    Definitely going to sell on Ebay (after logging about 80 hours less than I would normally on a CoD game) and give Battlefield 3 a try. Maybe that franchise takes steps forward instead of back. Based on the reviews here, I'd bet this was Call of Duty's last record breaking opening day for sales... I know I am no longer eagerly awaiting what is next in the franchise.... and I really have to wonder about the glowing reviews from professional critics???? Reminds me of the 4 star reviews for The Phantom Menace.
    Expand
  78. Nov 24, 2011
    6
    Singleplayer experience is much better than MW2, although it still feels like it is directed by Michael Bay. Though for an action game, this isn't necessarily a bad thing. Spec Ops is pretty fun, with the missions providing a decent amount of fun. However, Survival Mode is where the real fun lies in Spec Ops. It's always fresh when you can play on any multiplayer map. Multiplayer is stillSingleplayer experience is much better than MW2, although it still feels like it is directed by Michael Bay. Though for an action game, this isn't necessarily a bad thing. Spec Ops is pretty fun, with the missions providing a decent amount of fun. However, Survival Mode is where the real fun lies in Spec Ops. It's always fresh when you can play on any multiplayer map. Multiplayer is still as addicting as ever, however, it is still the same thing as it has been since MW2. Some updates in graphics or gameplay mechanics would be nice. Or really anything for that matter. Starting to feel extremely repetitive, especially with annual releases. Expand
  79. Nov 24, 2011
    0
    This game is pathetic. The graphics are so bad, it's like you are playing a cartoon game. That was cute with Zelda back on NES but it's time to step it up. Unfortunately, I actually waited in line at midnight to get this game and I'm just waiting til I venture over towards GameStop again to trade it in. I agree with most of the reviews that the single player is fun but multiplayer is theThis game is pathetic. The graphics are so bad, it's like you are playing a cartoon game. That was cute with Zelda back on NES but it's time to step it up. Unfortunately, I actually waited in line at midnight to get this game and I'm just waiting til I venture over towards GameStop again to trade it in. I agree with most of the reviews that the single player is fun but multiplayer is the reason I bought the game. It's so stupid that someone can put on lightweight and marathon and just run around and try to get as many kills as they want without worrying about dying because they have "support package" set as their killstreak and their killstreaks don't reset. So this is 2 years in a row that the Call of Duty franchise has struck out. One more chance is all they're getting from me Expand
  80. Nov 24, 2011
    0
    We as gamer's got hussled this is by far the worst out of all the Call of Duty games to bare its title, Yes even worse than CoD 3, how this game got released is beyond me. Mutliplayer seems to suffer from its same terrible lantency issues that make it a frustrating piece of garbage, i'm Saddened I bought this game even more upset that this company is selling a product for so much cash andWe as gamer's got hussled this is by far the worst out of all the Call of Duty games to bare its title, Yes even worse than CoD 3, how this game got released is beyond me. Mutliplayer seems to suffer from its same terrible lantency issues that make it a frustrating piece of garbage, i'm Saddened I bought this game even more upset that this company is selling a product for so much cash and more people feed the machine, FPS's this year have but nothing short of a disappointment and let's face it the genre is dying a slow death. Maybe i'm getting to old for these types of games but I remember the golden days of FPS shooter's were actually skill would trump someone with host. Expand
  81. Nov 24, 2011
    0
    I don't get why Call of Duty insists on releasing the same game over and over again, and hoards of fanboys insist that it's "the greatest" game when I could name 20 games off the back of my hand that are better than Modern Warfail 2.5.
  82. Nov 25, 2011
    6
    This is the most honest multiplayer review I can give. I've been a call of duty fan since the first modern warfare and owned every mw game since and never played the bf3 series. The biggest problem I have with this game is the lack of innovation with every consecutive game. Cod is a winning formula but it's being copy and pasted (literally) and the game is still very addictive but you'llThis is the most honest multiplayer review I can give. I've been a call of duty fan since the first modern warfare and owned every mw game since and never played the bf3 series. The biggest problem I have with this game is the lack of innovation with every consecutive game. Cod is a winning formula but it's being copy and pasted (literally) and the game is still very addictive but you'll get burned out really easy after a few hours. The second problem is with the maps. It's a massive maze of junk and buildings with no "flow" in any of them. This leads to lots and lots of campers killing you instead of actually having a good gun battle. I also miss the customization there was in black ops, the call of duty elite website allows you to look at the same stats but now it's not in the game. A few minor annoyances I have are how long flash bangs blind and stun you, it's about 5 seconds which feels like an eternity. Also there are very few maps for sniping because the layout is up close and maze-like which doesn't allow you any distance. The biggest plus I have with this game is the gun-balance. I feel like there's not one gun that is overpowered or underpowered. I also like how you have 80 levels to prestige and gold gun camo is based on how much you use that gun. All in all I'd give the multiplayer experience a 6. Its addictive and fun but you'll burn out quick. Let's stop paying the developers to copy and paste 90% of the game and lets get some new innovative material. Expand
  83. Nov 28, 2011
    2
    I feel like i overpaid for this game I was expecting more from this game a bit of a dissapointment i know black ops isnt the best out of the series and isn't everyone's favorite but it sure feels like its newer than MW3 and i find myself playing black ops much more than MW3, Call of Duty has been my favorite first person shooter series but if this is whats now being developed i might asI feel like i overpaid for this game I was expecting more from this game a bit of a dissapointment i know black ops isnt the best out of the series and isn't everyone's favorite but it sure feels like its newer than MW3 and i find myself playing black ops much more than MW3, Call of Duty has been my favorite first person shooter series but if this is whats now being developed i might as well start looking elsewhere Expand
  84. Nov 28, 2011
    2
    Very very disappointed. I expected Infinity Ward and Sledgehammer games to innovate on what was once one of the greatest franchises of all time. Instead they decided to churn out the same junk from last year and the year before. I'm just in shock they would let this franchise die such a horrible death. The weapon sound effects are the same, rank up sounds same, kill streak menus the sameVery very disappointed. I expected Infinity Ward and Sledgehammer games to innovate on what was once one of the greatest franchises of all time. Instead they decided to churn out the same junk from last year and the year before. I'm just in shock they would let this franchise die such a horrible death. The weapon sound effects are the same, rank up sounds same, kill streak menus the same and the main menu is also exactly the same as Modern Warfare 2. Graphics have barley had a tune up. Thing don't look better just more glossy. As if everything in the world of Call of Duty is colored with Candy paint. The Campaign was a let down as well, I expected an epic climax to the story instead i got lead down a straight path to at the end, push keys it told me to, and with such dated graphics it just looks so cheesy. Theres no variety to multiplayer either. Basically its every man for himself. Everyone run around like chickens with their heads cut off. In my opinion this game also takes no skill to play. The weapons significantly lack recoil making it very, very easy to aim and by aim i mean spray rounds everywhere because you wont be bumped off target. Not worth 60 dollars, hell not worth 20 dollars. I'm no fanboy, just a very disappointed gamer. Expand
  85. Nov 28, 2011
    4
    All I have to say about MW3 is that it's a disappointment for me at least. i mean i started the out on the campaign and it takes less then four hours to beat that just shows how little they cared about the campaign. i mean even black ops took about six hours to beat on the first try so what they just decided to kill every one off and expect us to ignore the length of the campaign i thinkAll I have to say about MW3 is that it's a disappointment for me at least. i mean i started the out on the campaign and it takes less then four hours to beat that just shows how little they cared about the campaign. i mean even black ops took about six hours to beat on the first try so what they just decided to kill every one off and expect us to ignore the length of the campaign i think not. Next is spec ops first they didn't increase the amount of missions that much and most of them just take patience to beat even on the hardest difficulty so clearly they didn't want to make tough challenges just long ones which is tedious and boring. Now onto Multiplayer where to begin oh i know its boring i mean come on over half the guns are from the last two games so no creativity there and kill streaks are either a easy to shoot down or B not worth using i mean a juggernaut can be killed by one grenade so ya its real worth the eighteen kills to use it. on a personal note its also boring with all close quarter maps and no fun to play by your self. i played for five minutes with out my friends and quit from lake of any feeling at all. so i guess what I'm trying to say is MW3 is just a sad half ass attempt to make another call of duty game before people realize it's like the madden series where it's the same stupid crap time after time again. in conclusion its a lazy attempt at a game and show little to no new content so I give it a four based solely on the fact that it call of duty is still fun to play against friends with but that's all i see in this game. Expand
  86. Nov 29, 2011
    5
    It's not that the game is terrible. However, I feel the formula is running dry. I am upset because I feel like I could have had the same experience in the previous version. I am worried about the discrepancy between the User Ratings and Critic Ratings. I feel users might be clamoring for something new, while the critics are looking at the game itself, which is what they are for. Not thatIt's not that the game is terrible. However, I feel the formula is running dry. I am upset because I feel like I could have had the same experience in the previous version. I am worried about the discrepancy between the User Ratings and Critic Ratings. I feel users might be clamoring for something new, while the critics are looking at the game itself, which is what they are for. Not that every game needs to reinvent the genre, but a good try at that would be welcomed. Many will not argue the idea of the game being good, but many will argue the idea of the game lacking much innovation. Good game... but boring fast for me, not worth my purchase. Hope it helped. Expand
  87. Nov 29, 2011
    0
    Expecting a quality game? Nope, Chuck Testa! This game is so terrible, it only gets a 10 because it's a pretty number, you know what I mean???????????
  88. Dec 2, 2011
    3
    Fun and engaging multiplayer. Very easy to start a match you can jump right in. Graphics look very dated. The developers of the game are lazy enough to update their engine. Generic single player campaign. Overall it's like a quickie thing when you want to hop In a match and just shoot some people.
  89. Dec 2, 2011
    0
    no compreis este juego son unos maricas nos an engañado a todos todo el mundo se ha gastado 80 putos euros en este juego pa qe sea peor qe los dos anteriores..... iros a tomar por culo infinity me voy a pasar al battelfield
  90. Dec 3, 2011
    8
    As a wise man once said "If it ain't broke, don't fix it". Yes this essentially looks and plays the same as its predecessors but when its predecessors still look and play better than most FPSs' on the market who gives a damn? Ground breaking this isn't but its addictive as hell and nicely ties up the modern warfare storyline. It would be interesting to see how many people who gave thisAs a wise man once said "If it ain't broke, don't fix it". Yes this essentially looks and plays the same as its predecessors but when its predecessors still look and play better than most FPSs' on the market who gives a damn? Ground breaking this isn't but its addictive as hell and nicely ties up the modern warfare storyline. It would be interesting to see how many people who gave this 0/10 actually played it and how many people just think its cool to hate COD. Expand
  91. Feb 10, 2012
    0
    I previously wrote a detailed review giving this game a 4. Now, as of the 1.08 update, MW3 is not playable. You can't join matches. So this game gets a revised score of 0.
  92. Feb 15, 2012
    5
    This game is a great new installation in the Modern Warfare franchise but some aspects of it let its reputation down, like the laziness to improve the game and some lagging. The multiplayer section is still the same, though some weapons are in a different form, like the MP5K, which has changed into the MP5. One problem is that the dreaded host migration is still there. Many people have hadThis game is a great new installation in the Modern Warfare franchise but some aspects of it let its reputation down, like the laziness to improve the game and some lagging. The multiplayer section is still the same, though some weapons are in a different form, like the MP5K, which has changed into the MP5. One problem is that the dreaded host migration is still there. Many people have had to put up with rage quitters and losing their game data and all their XP and completed challenges. Call of Duty Elite is a new feature which doesn't really make a difference, only that you get double XP and new emblems and titles for your callsign. The single player campaign carries on the storyline from the end of Modern Warfare 2, in which Soap Mactavish gets stabbed and General Shepherd have a fight. Mactavish pulls out the knife from his chest and throws it at Shepherd where it hits him in the eye. Overall, a game with an okay reputation. Expand
  93. Feb 17, 2012
    6
    MW3 is not a terrible game. Unfortunately, i found it boring and repetitive, and the single player was short and forgettable. Survival mode is new, but i found it to be a boring rip off of zombies. Having liked Call of Duty in the past, this game was a disappointment to me. I do like the addition of strike packages, but the game still feels pretty stale, and I only have fun using obscureMW3 is not a terrible game. Unfortunately, i found it boring and repetitive, and the single player was short and forgettable. Survival mode is new, but i found it to be a boring rip off of zombies. Having liked Call of Duty in the past, this game was a disappointment to me. I do like the addition of strike packages, but the game still feels pretty stale, and I only have fun using obscure weapons like shotguns and snipers. I will not buy the next COD game, unless Treyarch reinvents the game play. Unfortunately, Activision is probably just going to release a another mediocre game, but the 12yr old fan boys will still buy because they don't notice how repetitive and stale it is. Expand
  94. May 7, 2012
    0
    I was a Black Ops junkie... when i bought this game, I started to play Battlefield 3 (traded for MW3). The maps are very boring, there is no way to play with sniper well, the game is made only for unrealistic hardcore gamers... and too much things to understand and think, almost a RPG... I only want to shoot!!!
  95. May 11, 2012
    7
    Modern Warfare 3 a very enjoyable game, but I have to agree with other users, it is much of the same from COD 4 and 6. The guns, weapons, killlstreaks, death streaks,perks,attachments, prestige badges, and graphics engine, really nothing new. Other people have given low scores because they've all played MW2, so have I. I recommend only getting this game if you enjoyed MW3 or haven't playedModern Warfare 3 a very enjoyable game, but I have to agree with other users, it is much of the same from COD 4 and 6. The guns, weapons, killlstreaks, death streaks,perks,attachments, prestige badges, and graphics engine, really nothing new. Other people have given low scores because they've all played MW2, so have I. I recommend only getting this game if you enjoyed MW3 or haven't played Cod 4 and 6. Personally I still enjoyed it, single player was epic, with lots of twists. But I felt Spec-Ops (survival) could of been made better. Expand
  96. May 12, 2012
    9
    Everyone says they hate this game because it is the same as MW2, but honestly what do you expect. It is a good game, finishes off the MW story. The multiplayer is great and the the story is short but exciting.
  97. May 13, 2012
    0
    a very bad game the story line is way to short. after playing it your like really is that it? and for the graphics mw2 looked and sounded fair better as for online i have never seen a game from lunch get worse even after updates being sent out to fix the problems the online play at this time is unplayable. get any other game but this.
  98. May 18, 2012
    7
    mw3 is still a good game its just thesame game thats the only problem this feels like an expansion pack to mw2 which felt like an expansion to mw1 but its still a great game if your a cod fan then pick it up but if your not then dont mw3 is not guna change your mind about cod unlike mw1 7/10
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Feb 10, 2012
    90
    There's a tangible insistence from gamers that this series needs to evolve, but it seems unwarranted when it still leads the FPS class. The engine's definitely in need of an overhaul, but when it comes to thumping set-pieces and addictive multiplayer design, Modern Warfare 3 is still in a league of its own.
  2. Feb 1, 2012
    85
    By sticking to the series' strengths, Modern Warfare 3 delivers some of the best competitive, cooperate, and single-player shooting in the business.
  3. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Jan 4, 2012
    90
    As a complete package, Modern Warfare 3 takes the cake. [Jan 2012, p.67]