Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 PlayStation 3

User Score
3.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 5193 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 4, 2012
    7
    For Infinity Ward, this is the laziest game they made. For Sledgehammer is not a great introduction to the game industry but at least it's a nice move , still not the best. Starting with the campaign is a great ride worth taking but we all know that when we play a CoD game is solely in the multiplayer aspect and nothing more unless you spend some time with the other mode ( Zombies ) butFor Infinity Ward, this is the laziest game they made. For Sledgehammer is not a great introduction to the game industry but at least it's a nice move , still not the best. Starting with the campaign is a great ride worth taking but we all know that when we play a CoD game is solely in the multiplayer aspect and nothing more unless you spend some time with the other mode ( Zombies ) but this time is the other mode called " survival " that the name itself describe it all , survival. The graphics looked fine enough with a little detail but is the same good thing we've have seen since Mw2. Some new cool modes are acceptable like the innovative Kill Confirm that consist on taking the dog tags etc but i don't feel compelled enough to play this modes because they feel worthless I never felt any motivation to play other modes but only Team Deathmatch .MW3 didn't felt like that juggernaut game that if it was announced caused me nostalgia , other than that those little problems, or boring things dragged a game that was a triple A franchise. I hope that the next one recovers from this hard wound . Still for those that liked the fast paced formula they won't be dissapointed . Expand
  2. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Alright, first off. I've never played a single copy of Battlefield. Ever. That out of the way, having owned both MW and MW2, I am extremely annoyed at the complete laziness that Activision is trying to pass off as innovation and progress. Graphically, when compared to other games, fps included, these visuals are incredibly lacking. As far as the game's multiplayer is concerned, because asAlright, first off. I've never played a single copy of Battlefield. Ever. That out of the way, having owned both MW and MW2, I am extremely annoyed at the complete laziness that Activision is trying to pass off as innovation and progress. Graphically, when compared to other games, fps included, these visuals are incredibly lacking. As far as the game's multiplayer is concerned, because as we all know, no one plays the single player, and those who do realize it is very, very unoriginal in it's approach as a war story, it is literally nothing more than redesign of some MW2 guns and same old stupid perks/kill streaks. I still find myself laughing at the whole "red jelly on the screen = im hurt." idea and truly believe that I've wasted 60 dollars on this game. Come tomorrow morning, I am returning this game. Expand
  3. Nov 9, 2011
    1
    I was a hardcore CoD player when the original MW and its sequel came out but ever since Black Ops my faith in the series have been slowly deteriorating. Don't get me wrong the multiplayer formula is great but it needs to reinvent itself with much more additions than just perks and kill streaks.
  4. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Played it for 2 hours last night, and I'm done with it.

    COD4 MW was epic, but the game hasn't moved on one jot since then, nothing new, no innovation. zip, nado. Same lag, same spawn killing, same problems

    A lazy product from a lazy company.
  5. Nov 9, 2011
    4
    I liked this game when it was called MW2! I am totally disappointed with the lack of change from any of the previous installments. Activision, Sledgehammer Games, and Infinity Ward have applied very little originality to this title. They know that they could package a turd in a case and sell millions of copies based on the name alone. I have been a huge fan of the COD series up to thisI liked this game when it was called MW2! I am totally disappointed with the lack of change from any of the previous installments. Activision, Sledgehammer Games, and Infinity Ward have applied very little originality to this title. They know that they could package a turd in a case and sell millions of copies based on the name alone. I have been a huge fan of the COD series up to this point. To me, it's growing into a Madden style sellout. The multiplayer is full of connection issues and to me, rehashed maps. I am by know means a COD(I own every COD on current generation systems) hater but I can honestly say, "I am glad I also have a copy of Battlefield this year". Expand
  6. Nov 10, 2011
    2
    I'm sorry but this is a rehash of all the same stuff we saw in MW1/COD4. They put a few bells and whistles on it and call it a new game? Not cool. Then at some investment meeting they announce they will be doing a MW4 next year. Screw you Activision. They are pulling a Madden on us. Its the SAME GAME. At least Battlefield 3 is bringing something different to the table. MW3 will be seen allI'm sorry but this is a rehash of all the same stuff we saw in MW1/COD4. They put a few bells and whistles on it and call it a new game? Not cool. Then at some investment meeting they announce they will be doing a MW4 next year. Screw you Activision. They are pulling a Madden on us. Its the SAME GAME. At least Battlefield 3 is bringing something different to the table. MW3 will be seen all over the Pre-Owned Games wall fo' sho. Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    Ok honestly this game should have been a add on DLC. 60$ is a little much to ask in my opinion for this game. There is nothing different about this game except the number 3. It is in every identical to mw2. Menu and all. Ok the levels are different but that is it. For 60 bucks it would have been nice to see Upgraded graphics or something that makes this better than mw2. Stick with mw2 sameOk honestly this game should have been a add on DLC. 60$ is a little much to ask in my opinion for this game. There is nothing different about this game except the number 3. It is in every identical to mw2. Menu and all. Ok the levels are different but that is it. For 60 bucks it would have been nice to see Upgraded graphics or something that makes this better than mw2. Stick with mw2 same gameplay same everything. Save your money. Expand
  8. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    The epitome of everything wrong with gaming today, the king of the nickle and dime philosophy returns to gouge the uninformed public for another year.
  9. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I cannot believe the hype for a game that is basically the same thing over and over again. Sorry but I played this game 3 years ago, nothing new. Graphics are dated, I have seen better, sounds are just pathetic and don't get me started on the horrible campaing mode. Save your cash if you already have Cod 4, you will not miss out on anything.
  10. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Despite the hatred for this franchise from an increasing number of people, this game still does one thing better than any other: it's fun to play!
    The graphics are surely not the best on the consoles or the PC, but it is in no way an ugly game. Singleplayer, in my opinion, is better than MW2 and multiplayer is still as great with some few new additions. And Spec-Ops is the reason why I
    Despite the hatred for this franchise from an increasing number of people, this game still does one thing better than any other: it's fun to play!
    The graphics are surely not the best on the consoles or the PC, but it is in no way an ugly game. Singleplayer, in my opinion, is better than MW2 and multiplayer is still as great with some few new additions. And Spec-Ops is the reason why I bought it!
    All in all I really liked this game, it's a great purchase. At least in my opinion.
    Expand
  11. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    I was originally waiting until Christmas to play this and but was given it as an early present and I must say it is easily the best of the series... unlike its predecessor, the multiplayer is now finely balanced and the stupid fun of the solo campaign has been taken to new heights and in a game fun should always be taken into consideration unlike certain other po-faced FPS 'battles'. ToI was originally waiting until Christmas to play this and but was given it as an early present and I must say it is easily the best of the series... unlike its predecessor, the multiplayer is now finely balanced and the stupid fun of the solo campaign has been taken to new heights and in a game fun should always be taken into consideration unlike certain other po-faced FPS 'battles'. To top it off is the vastly improved Spec Ops co-op that is now fine-tuned to be an equally enjoyable solo experience to the campaign with Survival discovering how to balance solo and co-op where Zombies et al could not.
    People may argue that the game runs on an old engine but briefly ignoring the fact that this is a very nice-looking game with a silky smooth 60FPS: since when have engines been the be-all and end-all of a game's success... Ocarina of Time 3D is still one of the best games of the year despite running on an engine from a decade ago so that cant be a detrimental factor to MW3.....
    The highlight of the series and the most fun I've had with an FPS since Portal 2 (and there have been many in between you'll all note) :)
    Expand
  12. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    I see that dark forces are at work again! I cannot quite believe what I am reading. Having owned the entire Call Of Duty series, and played online for endless days/weeks MW3 is amazing. I do think that some of the maps in Black Ops are better, but that is it. Nobody likes unfamiliarity. It is a new game. It will seem foreign at first, it may take a couple of weeks before you feel at home.I see that dark forces are at work again! I cannot quite believe what I am reading. Having owned the entire Call Of Duty series, and played online for endless days/weeks MW3 is amazing. I do think that some of the maps in Black Ops are better, but that is it. Nobody likes unfamiliarity. It is a new game. It will seem foreign at first, it may take a couple of weeks before you feel at home. I did not like the maps in Black Ops at first, coming from MW2. As it turned out, these were some of the best maps I have played. Black Ops was not perfect, it has frame rate issues, it has lag issues, and online games often fail. I do not know how many times I have had the message â Expand
  13. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    How are people still playing this horrible, horrible series. Same old pile of crap they release year in and out. And now they want to rip you off for another $60 for their elitefail service. Vote with your wallet; crush the turd that is the call of duty series.
  14. Nov 10, 2011
    5
    Here's the thing: It's not a bad game. It's in fact a really good game, especially if a lot of your friends are buying it, since multiplayer's basically the point. But let's not kid ourselves: You already own 3 or 4 copies of this game. Black Ops? MW2? MW1? World at War? All the same stuff. The multiplayer has a facelift, all cosmetic changes, but no substantial differences from the otherHere's the thing: It's not a bad game. It's in fact a really good game, especially if a lot of your friends are buying it, since multiplayer's basically the point. But let's not kid ourselves: You already own 3 or 4 copies of this game. Black Ops? MW2? MW1? World at War? All the same stuff. The multiplayer has a facelift, all cosmetic changes, but no substantial differences from the other MW games. Single player is still a silly excuse to jam achievements into an otherwise social game. There's just too many quality games coming out this season to consider buying MW3. Sorry guys. Maybe release it in the summer when I've got no other games to play. Expand
  15. Nov 10, 2011
    2
    Seriously, is Activison even trying anymore? You could swap MW2 for MW3 and no one would be able to tell which one came out first. Old graphics engine, RESUSED ASSESTS AND TEXTURES from previous COD games, same interface, icons etc. With all that, all this can be only described as a $60 map pack. I'm very disappointed. I don't know why this game reviewed so well on gaming sites. I mySeriously, is Activison even trying anymore? You could swap MW2 for MW3 and no one would be able to tell which one came out first. Old graphics engine, RESUSED ASSESTS AND TEXTURES from previous COD games, same interface, icons etc. With all that, all this can be only described as a $60 map pack. I'm very disappointed. I don't know why this game reviewed so well on gaming sites. I my opinion, it's getting a free pass with everything I stated above. I only gave it 2 because the game isn't broken. But after three incarnations of the same game, what else would you expect. Expand
  16. Nov 10, 2011
    4
    Single Player is short and uninteresting.
    Multiplayer is the same old deal, same old tactic of taking old obscure user-made game modes from old shooters to pretend they did something original, same old MMO-style methods of keeping players addicted to grinding points.
    Playable, but not enjoyable.
  17. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    A game review website said it perfectly albeit a little more nicely..but what I took away from this supposed"epic new blockbuster game of the year" was simply this: "Another year, the same MW". It was like a bad Michael Bay film trying to enrapture its young audience by big explosions and guns. Yeah we get it..its a damn FPS the least innovative genre out there save flight sims. At leastA game review website said it perfectly albeit a little more nicely..but what I took away from this supposed"epic new blockbuster game of the year" was simply this: "Another year, the same MW". It was like a bad Michael Bay film trying to enrapture its young audience by big explosions and guns. Yeah we get it..its a damn FPS the least innovative genre out there save flight sims. At least you could've come out with a new engine..not rehashing the same outdated one, and your storyline was weak to begin with. Expand
  18. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    The pop music of video gaming. Cheap, repetitive, thoughtless and popular. A disgrace to video-gaming. IW just depend on their fan base of mindless consumers to snap up every title with the "Call of Duty" prefix. Story is fairly bad, run, shoot tons of guys, get extradited. Nothing too special. Couldn't even compare it to games like Portal 2 that utilize creative story lines and innovativeThe pop music of video gaming. Cheap, repetitive, thoughtless and popular. A disgrace to video-gaming. IW just depend on their fan base of mindless consumers to snap up every title with the "Call of Duty" prefix. Story is fairly bad, run, shoot tons of guys, get extradited. Nothing too special. Couldn't even compare it to games like Portal 2 that utilize creative story lines and innovative game play. Same ol' call of duty, run gun and plot twists that are about as predictable as you get. Multiplayer? Haha, pitiful. Balance issues and total lack of teamwork like nothing else. Players that just run about, using a sniper as a shotgun and getting unbelievably unbalanced kill streaks. The games a joke, and so are the critic reviews. I'm not sure why paid professionals cannot deduct that this game is just the same as every other member of the Call Of Duty franchise. 0/10. If this game had any other title other than "Call Of Duty" It would be labeled as one of the worst games in history. Expand
  19. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I bought Battlefield 3 this year and played it for 2 weeks. New to the series I found it to be a great game, but i could not wait to get my copy of MW3. I have been playing this series since the first Modern Warfare. Last night I took my MW3 disc out of my PS3 and i don't know if i'll put it back in. After a handful of multiplayer matches i decided to register my elite membership. I wasI bought Battlefield 3 this year and played it for 2 weeks. New to the series I found it to be a great game, but i could not wait to get my copy of MW3. I have been playing this series since the first Modern Warfare. Last night I took my MW3 disc out of my PS3 and i don't know if i'll put it back in. After a handful of multiplayer matches i decided to register my elite membership. I was asked to play one match on Black OPS of multiplayer then log refresh the page. When i put my Black OPS disc is and loaded my first match, I was blown away at how much better the game looked and played. I felt Infinity Ward had the upper hand Treyarch when it comes to the Call of Duty series but MW3 really let me down. I read a article on IGN about how MW3 was not a port of MW2, but i couldn't tell any different. colors look washed out, sound is lacking. I have not played the campaign but i don't see any reason to. I really think I will stick with Battlefield 3 and think twice before I spend $100 on a game ( Hardened Edition ). Activision, Sledgehammer I wish you could have provided me an experience that i was hoping for. This comment is not being left to build Battlefield 3 into something its not but to say that MW3 has not lived up to the hype, for me anyway. Expand
  20. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    DONT BUY IT WORST COD EDITION EVER BIG TIME 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o oo o o o o o p p p p p p p p p p p p p p p p p p p p p p p p p p p p p p p p p p !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  21. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Everyone agrees that this game is just an updated version of the previous titles which leads me to believe that this game was a weak effort from the developers. Therefore, in my opinion it is not worth the price tag suggested on the fliers. When a new game comes out there are a few things I expect from it. All Activision and it subsidiaries do is try and make us believe that this is a newEveryone agrees that this game is just an updated version of the previous titles which leads me to believe that this game was a weak effort from the developers. Therefore, in my opinion it is not worth the price tag suggested on the fliers. When a new game comes out there are a few things I expect from it. All Activision and it subsidiaries do is try and make us believe that this is a new game with better graphics and innovative gameplay. What I see is an expansion pack for modern warfare 2 that is way overpriced. Then again we live in a world where its profits first. I never expected this game to be any different from the last, but seeing for my self, i say "for shame". Expand
  22. Nov 11, 2011
    0
    This game is just bad. The graphics are dated, the textures are horrendously blurry and ugly, and why the hell is everything an ugly tan or gray color? I also find the multiplayer maps to be terrible. Not a single one of them is good. All of them are just a bunch of confined corridors and hallways. There are no open areas or vantage points at all. Single-player is completely forgettable asThis game is just bad. The graphics are dated, the textures are horrendously blurry and ugly, and why the hell is everything an ugly tan or gray color? I also find the multiplayer maps to be terrible. Not a single one of them is good. All of them are just a bunch of confined corridors and hallways. There are no open areas or vantage points at all. Single-player is completely forgettable as well. The story felt so forced. Spec Ops Survival is a terrible new mode because you can't play with 3 other friends, only 1. Black Ops looked just so much more polished. MW2.5 smh... Expand
  23. Nov 11, 2011
    5
    While some people are saying that most reviewers are biased I do not think that is the case here. Maybe, just maybe some people are being honest and are not afraid to voice their honest opinion about the game. I do have both games(PS3 and PC BF3) and MW3 for PS3 and I will say MW3 does one thing I enjoyed more then BF3's. The story on MW3 felt better and more fun then Battlefields, I justWhile some people are saying that most reviewers are biased I do not think that is the case here. Maybe, just maybe some people are being honest and are not afraid to voice their honest opinion about the game. I do have both games(PS3 and PC BF3) and MW3 for PS3 and I will say MW3 does one thing I enjoyed more then BF3's. The story on MW3 felt better and more fun then Battlefields, I just got more into it and enjoyed it, more so when they had music going on while the action was happening and how you traveled around the world to different locals. Now for the Multiplayer, which honestly you can say COD changed so much, but they really didn't. Yes they added some new game types and added a few more weapons however mainly the same. They did reuse some maps, or just changed orientation of it to look new, same graphics as well. You can search youtube to see the comparison of reused graphics or if you have it go back to previous games and see the same things. A lot of noobtubing going on as well with the new gun(XM25 or something) that i have seen on most games, The servers well, if someone rage quits who is host get used to connection reset, searching new host etc.. Say what you will but BF3 I personally hardly have any issues like that. Over all this game while it is fun to play I would not give it a higher Score then BF3, to me Personally speaking just feels like an expensive map pack for MW2. So I would say rent it before buying so you do not get disappointed and if you have not give BF3 a try. Expand
  24. Nov 11, 2011
    1
    What is up with the SFX 1st of all, is this a stand alone game? really? last I checked, Payday the Heist was not a full game and more effort was put into that.

    To those who say the story is great...i can only sigh....
  25. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This is a game that brings people that are the epitome of being "haters" and "trolls" to the surface and forefront for what they do. It's so funny how much free time adolescent kids have where they can go out of their way to create accounts with multiple websites just so they can leave negative review scores of 0. I can't understand the world truly. I mean really, it baffles meThis is a game that brings people that are the epitome of being "haters" and "trolls" to the surface and forefront for what they do. It's so funny how much free time adolescent kids have where they can go out of their way to create accounts with multiple websites just so they can leave negative review scores of 0. I can't understand the world truly. I mean really, it baffles me sometimes just how ignorant people can be. Additionally what is also baffling is the fact that so many underage people are talking about MW3 and Battlefield 3. You shouldn't be able to grab ahold of these games to begin with. But as the way of the world your sh*t parents don't care about what you're into anyways and will be the ones ultimately buying these games for you.

    Go ahead and fuel my fire, I don't care. Go ahead and say my review isn't helpful, I don't care. I'll be the first though to say this game is awesome. Prior to buying this game I did buy (and I do own) Battlefield 3. [You see when you are not a child dependent on your parents income to buy your entertainment, you can buy both games and actually "really" play them on day 1] So after buying into EA's deceptive great marketing ploy I was so convinced B3 would be a great game, even coming from a COD fan. I think competition is healthy and I am willing to play whatever is good, as simple as that. B3 looked so good to begin with, then the beta left a bad taste in my mouth and left me wondering was it all just hype? I changed my mind from instant buy to maybe. Then the reviews came out and declared it a good game, all the bugs had been fixed, the game had been balanced and polished. True it has, but really what I still discovered is that mostly the game is hype and the reviews seem to be generously giving it higher scores than deserved. In short I'll be honest and straight to the point. Although B3 is just an alright title, it is nothing to write home about. I find it to be a bit dull and boring, the controls are nice but not as tight as a Modern Warfare title, and the graphics (console versions) are actually ugly. A majority of the gaming community worldwide play games on consoles, this is how the majority experience their games, and sadly the majority will experience some suckage. I would even say on consoles (I'm playing on PS3) that it doesn't even look better than Modern Warfare 2. I'm having a hard time having fun with it and after the jet level where you take off from the aircraft carrier I haven't picked up and continued from there yet.

    Now I am on Modern Warfare 3 and this game is gorgeous, the controls are tight, it is fast paced, and the most important thing is that it is fun and entertaining. A step above B3 in every department. To say it is just recycled whatever from Modern Warfare 2 is an ignorant claim and statement to make, it is not. People are just trying to make a case to give reason to hate this game. No one complains about Halo, Gears of War, Uncharted, GTA, and a plethora of hundreds of other good games recycling engines, but when COD does it, it is bad. If it isn't broke why fix it? Just tweak it to make it better, which is exactly what was done. Right from the start being in the first (Manhattan) level and going through the city streets and into the NYSE it looked downright gorgeous. I never seen any of those buildings, set pieces, debris and furniture rendered in other COD games before, so how is it recycled? Just ignorant talk is all. Going right into the second level breaching a submarine and surfacing up on the NYC coastline again this game looks amazing.

    The honest reason why people have so much time to bash this game for is because their game B3 already came out, they played it and found it boring just as I did, but they don't want to say it or show it. So instead of spending time to play their game they substitute hitting review sites, and bringing the score way down and constitute that as having a good time instead. Well have fun doing that, this game will probably go on to be the number 1 selling video game of all-time with or without your 0's. I laugh at you and I laugh at your stupidity. So mind boggling how stupid people can be really, all I can hope for is God coming down to end the world sooner rather than later, because mankind needs help, fast!

    //SIGNED//
    A 29 year old "man" not still living at home with his mother
    Expand
  26. Nov 11, 2011
    6
    MW3 ~ MW2. Really, everything that changed between the two could have been patched (i.e. balancing weapons, killstreaks, perks, etc), so essentially only getting 16 maps for retail price is unfortunate. Worse yet, the 16 maps are strictly worse than previous titles. MW2 was amazing because it had great maps (personal favorites include quarry, estate, Favela, and Karachi), and is theMW3 ~ MW2. Really, everything that changed between the two could have been patched (i.e. balancing weapons, killstreaks, perks, etc), so essentially only getting 16 maps for retail price is unfortunate. Worse yet, the 16 maps are strictly worse than previous titles. MW2 was amazing because it had great maps (personal favorites include quarry, estate, Favela, and Karachi), and is the reason I played it over Black Ops, so I hoped MW3 would deliver, but no. The maps are just plane, small, and lack the genius behind those of MW2. In the end MW3 still deserves 6/10 simply because it can be fun, and it will undoubtedly have a large community, so you can guarantee full servers 24/7. Expand
  27. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Simply put Call of Duty Modern Warfare 3 is the best new shooter of 2011. The developer has greatly improved the already great base laid by the previous games in the series, with a huge improvement on multiplayer, a great new game type in spec ops and a conclusive story. The multiplayer is what will keep us all avidly playing for the next year. With a sleek newish leveling system more gunsSimply put Call of Duty Modern Warfare 3 is the best new shooter of 2011. The developer has greatly improved the already great base laid by the previous games in the series, with a huge improvement on multiplayer, a great new game type in spec ops and a conclusive story. The multiplayer is what will keep us all avidly playing for the next year. With a sleek newish leveling system more guns and even more customization the multiplayer is sure to hook you. With 16 all new maps, that are available in the multiplayer and the survival mode, there is sure to be something every player will enjoy. Both the new and old guns look better than ever thanks to the new engine, running at 60 fps. The new weapon leveling system has added a new twist to the way you can customize your load-out, adding weapon proficiencies which replace some old perks and add a new depth to your weapon. Spec ops is back and better than ever, new missions and an new 'horde' mode which again will keep you coming back trying to test your mettle against the progressively more difficult enemy ai. The new Call of Duty Elite also adds a social element to the CoD experience; increasing the social networking aspect to the game, allowing for better clan interaction, and bringing in a competitive element outside of the pro-gaming circuits.
    This game is an awesome instalment in one of the biggest gaming franchises in the world, and I highly recommend picking up a copy if you haven't already.
    Expand
  28. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    It has a solid, single-player campaign, a rich multiplayer mode that has new modes and will be played by millions of gamers for years to come; a awesome Spec-Ops mode that includes an all-new Survival gameplay mode similar to Horde; and is the first Call of Duty title to launch with the new Elite service, something that will become a standard in the CoD franchise for years to come. TheIt has a solid, single-player campaign, a rich multiplayer mode that has new modes and will be played by millions of gamers for years to come; a awesome Spec-Ops mode that includes an all-new Survival gameplay mode similar to Horde; and is the first Call of Duty title to launch with the new Elite service, something that will become a standard in the CoD franchise for years to come. The online game is the deepest and richest CoD multiplayer experience to date and the Spec Ops co-operative mode is worth the price of admission alone. MW3 has excellent sound design, is very polished, and its gameplay exceeds expectations. MW3 is going to be played for a long, long time to come, and deservedly so Expand
  29. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This is the best Cod to date.I've played all the cods and this one shines in both MP and campaign.MP has the best map design and is very balanced and thank god there is no more Nuke this time around there is a M.O.A.B which is pretty much a Nuke but does not end the game.The Campaign is awesome. Yes is is very Michele Bay but that were all the fun is 10/10
  30. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    Ce que je ne dirais pas magnifique graphiquement car c'est pour moi on va dire du déja vue avec modern warfare 2, mais en un an je dirai qu'il est excellent pour le mode survie ou je me butte, la campagne est excellente ou rentre vraiment dans le suspens et courte car les dévellopeur on remarquer qu'on voulait allez jouez sur le online vite fait, le mode en ligneCe que je ne dirais pas magnifique graphiquement car c'est pour moi on va dire du déja vue avec modern warfare 2, mais en un an je dirai qu'il est excellent pour le mode survie ou je me butte, la campagne est excellente ou rentre vraiment dans le suspens et courte car les dévellopeur on remarquer qu'on voulait allez jouez sur le online vite fait, le mode en ligne et bon mais les armes lorsque que l'on débute c'est vraiment nul ! Mais sinon personnellement avec le Call of Duty Elite, le mode de jeu et devenue révoluttionnaire!! Expand
  31. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    bobby kotick this is the best game i have ever played, i'm loving it, every second. infinity ward and sledgehammer games has shown playstation love, this game works. battlefield 3 is slow and boring.
  32. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This is the best call of duty of the series ! Buy IT ! They add alot of new stuff like Survival Mode and 2 new multiplayer mode like Kill Confirmed and Base Defender . This game is very similar to mw2 but we like it ! This is very very very much better than black ops . If you like MW&MW2 you will like the MW3 .
  33. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    All of the Call of Duty titles play very similarly, in fact there is very little difference in the way it plays going way back to the original Call of Duty. Why are people only just figuring this out? Is that a bad thing? Hell no! The game has been tweaked and tuned to perfection along the way. There is a reason why it's the #1 Franchise. Love it or hate it. MW3 runs brilliantly on allAll of the Call of Duty titles play very similarly, in fact there is very little difference in the way it plays going way back to the original Call of Duty. Why are people only just figuring this out? Is that a bad thing? Hell no! The game has been tweaked and tuned to perfection along the way. There is a reason why it's the #1 Franchise. Love it or hate it. MW3 runs brilliantly on all ports and add's some neat features to keep the fans happy. Not to mention the gritty campaign we have all come to appreciate from all of the Call of Duty titles. It's not perfect, dedicated servers and added pc features such as FoV etc would have been nice. However I'm going to give this a 10 to compensate for all the thoughtless 0's I'm seeing. Good job Infinity Ward and Sledgehammer! I look forward to your next installment. Expand
  34. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Great game, people just feel the need to complain about anything. It's almost embarrassing how people can't give an honest opinion on a game because they feel like they're being cheated. You still bought the game and you know you're still gonna play the hell out of it.
  35. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    What can I say other than, MW3 delivers the best fps multi player experience of any game I've played. I have BF3 too [this is not a bashing of BF3] and it's so much more fun. I've not played the campaign on either and frankly it doesn't matter, because who buys these game to play single player. Level 60 in 2 days shows how addicting this game is. The maps are brilliant, crowded combat isWhat can I say other than, MW3 delivers the best fps multi player experience of any game I've played. I have BF3 too [this is not a bashing of BF3] and it's so much more fun. I've not played the campaign on either and frankly it doesn't matter, because who buys these game to play single player. Level 60 in 2 days shows how addicting this game is. The maps are brilliant, crowded combat is great. Camping and quick scoping has all but been eradicated. The options available to the player vast, as in BF3, but unlike BF3 there are people to kill. The maps in BF3 are too sparse on consoles at least, and you expect about 15 kills a game. where as on MW3 you get in the region of 30 a game. Kill confirmed is better than anything BF3 has to off. The best call of duty yet, and the most enjoyable FPS on console. Expand
  36. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    rom a Battlefield 3 Fan Perspective this game is very good, it's not a DLC of MW2 the MP has improved over with the spec ops giving the shine it is just as good as zombies and the unlocks will keep you going on for a while and Prestige and 80 levels will definitely be alot of time too
  37. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    There are many deefrents beetwen call of duty and battlefield.In battlefield you have bigger maps and more people.In cod you have smaller maps.Cod multiplayer is faster than battlefield so this is the reason why i love cod.
  38. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    It's impossible to satisfy all. And the more successful a company or a person is, the more people are going to hate it. It's the natural order of things. The bottom line is that a game with a 2.7 score does not become the most selling entertainment item in history. This score is the outcome of haters that probably didn't even play this game. I, on the other hand, bought it and amIt's impossible to satisfy all. And the more successful a company or a person is, the more people are going to hate it. It's the natural order of things. The bottom line is that a game with a 2.7 score does not become the most selling entertainment item in history. This score is the outcome of haters that probably didn't even play this game. I, on the other hand, bought it and am absolutely satisfied with the US$60.00 I spent. It's a quality game that ties a story that started nearly 4 years ago. If you enjoy a rather realistic but still arcade-style first person shooter this game is your pick. Not only it has a good story, filled with adrenaline moments, but it's replay value is very high. Expand
  39. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    Same.same.same. Thats all I see in this game. And this is coming from a gamer who actually played the game. Not to mention the campaign is disappointing and only 4 hours. Just get Battlefield or any other FPS
  40. Nov 12, 2011
    0
    All the video game websites that had no balls to be truthful and give mw3 a low score which it deserves since it is a recycled game the same game as before can take the money activision payed you to give the game a high score can shove the money up each of your bunholes. And all the call of duty fan boys out there congradualations for being robbed of your money by activision.
  41. Nov 13, 2011
    0
    I remember playing this game in 2007, but I think it was called COD4. This games formula is staid to say the least, but I have to wonder what it might have really been like if Infinity Ward hadn't imploded. Oh, and it is a 0 because I don't think a map pack should cost $60.
  42. Nov 13, 2011
    5
    This game felt like a big middle finger to the CoD fans. When you release a brand new game, it should be expected that a lot of refinement and effort goes into it. Instead, IW and Sledgehammer pull this crap off that looks half-assed, relying on the popularity of MW and MW2 to push sales. If you think 1 new mode and a few lighting and water improvements are significant in a new release,This game felt like a big middle finger to the CoD fans. When you release a brand new game, it should be expected that a lot of refinement and effort goes into it. Instead, IW and Sledgehammer pull this crap off that looks half-assed, relying on the popularity of MW and MW2 to push sales. If you think 1 new mode and a few lighting and water improvements are significant in a new release, then more power to you, but I feel most gamers are going to turn their nose up at this. There are 16 maps, all of them don't feel varied enough like other CoD games. They all felt like close-quarter chaos. For a franchise that is as popular as this, and brings in a much revenue as it does, it is inexcusable that more refinement didn't go into this game. There aren't even dedicated ranked servers, that is pathetic when other shooters pull that off with less revenue. This game doesn't deserve a 0 or 1, it can be fun, it also in no way deserves a 10, or 9 for that matter. I'm giving it a 5. Everything in this game that felt good, something else just was plain awful or lackluster. Expand
  43. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    I got this game on steam on launch day, hoping it would be better than Black Ops. Biggest mistake I have ever made in buying a game, even worse than buying BO. That game was a mess, and I have deeply regretted buying it, but not more than MW3. I have played MW, MW2, BO, and now MW3 and I can say each game gets worse exponentially. I will never purchase another COD game again.

    This game
    I got this game on steam on launch day, hoping it would be better than Black Ops. Biggest mistake I have ever made in buying a game, even worse than buying BO. That game was a mess, and I have deeply regretted buying it, but not more than MW3. I have played MW, MW2, BO, and now MW3 and I can say each game gets worse exponentially. I will never purchase another COD game again.

    This game really feels like MW1.5 as there is absolutely nothing new. Graphics are more than 4 years old. Same old boring, predictable story. Multiplayer is exactly the same with new maps. This game could have been a $15 DLC, and even that would be a rip off.

    If you guys want a good, quality game, check out The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim. There's a game that the developers actually put time into making, about 3 years. Not like each COD game taking less than a year to make, no wonder their quality is so terrible. It's sad that such a piece of junk like MW1.5 can sell millions and even more than games that outclass it like Skyrim. There are just too many mindless, stupid fanboys who enjoy shooting each other with new maps paying a $60 fee every year to do so.

    Overall, this game couldn't even last me 2 days as once Skyrim came out I dumped this piece of crap. Hopefully, the COD series dies with this game or they totally reinvent it because it's only going to get worse from here.
    Expand
  44. Nov 15, 2011
    0
    non vale niente è una semplice copia mal riuscita di modern warfare 2........................................................................................................................................................................................
  45. Nov 16, 2011
    0
    COD 4: Innovation Warfare... With All New Price Increase!

    On the game: It's diabolical. If you like corrider shooters, lacking story which it attempts to make up for in PG violence, buy Doom - it's a damn-site cheaper. As for multiplayer, there are many better experiences such as Red Dead Redemption, Resistance and - dare I say it - Battlefield 3. The reason I decided to write this
    COD 4: Innovation Warfare... With All New Price Increase!

    On the game: It's diabolical. If you like corrider shooters, lacking story which it attempts to make up for in PG violence, buy Doom - it's a damn-site cheaper. As for multiplayer, there are many better experiences such as Red Dead Redemption, Resistance and - dare I say it - Battlefield 3.

    The reason I decided to write this review was not due to the fact I find the COD experience so repulsive, it's down to the petty developers. Take, for example, the schoolyard insults Infinity Ward was throwing at other game developers over the past few months; and also this recent Twitter post from a Sledgehammer 'P.R.' chap about this very website:
    ""I don't usually do this but, if u like MW3 go 2 Metacritic.com & help our user score"
    Their egos have obviously took a massive hit, but it was this following post which really infuriated me:
    "It's suspiciously low. Be honest but help if u agree."
    Really? They just can't accept that people don't enjoy the BS they spew over the market every November, anymore. No! It has to be a conspiracy! ... These pretentious, **** untalented d*cks should be banned from copy/pasting COD 4 for profit.

    Do not buy this game, you will regret it as you will be wasting hard-earned cash only to give it to the scourge of video game franchises.

    Cheers..
    Expand
  46. Nov 17, 2011
    0
    To this day I still play Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare, not because I am poor or against what's cool and popular but because there is no actual solid new features included in COD4's successors(both MW2 and MW3) that would warrant a purchase from me; it is quite evident that the evolution of the series has yet to take place. I have rented MW3 for a day, for about $2.13, and believe me whenTo this day I still play Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare, not because I am poor or against what's cool and popular but because there is no actual solid new features included in COD4's successors(both MW2 and MW3) that would warrant a purchase from me; it is quite evident that the evolution of the series has yet to take place. I have rented MW3 for a day, for about $2.13, and believe me when I say I feel like a fool for paying $2 dollars to play a game that I already own. For those that wasted the full $60 + tax, you have my sympathies. The only graphical differences in the MW3 is the lighting, they tweaked with the lighting in MW2 also. Who are they trying to fool? 2 years between each game and the only visual improvement is something that can be applied to the previous game via patch?! The campaign is lackluster, explosions and "spontaneous" events are suppose to keep you on the edge of your seat but all it does is make me think about the better ways that I could've spent those two dollars I threw away renting this game. The multiplayer is mediocre, it has the fun aspects of COD 4(obviously), the frustration of MW2, and lacks the amount of customization that was present in Black Ops; overall, not a good mix. The gameplay keeps you wanting to play and give the game a chance, but the fact that there's overpowered killstreaks and anybody that manages to get three kills in a row is basically handed the win keeps you irritated, shaking your head, and ultimately bored. Unlike COD 4, where there are no ultra-overpowered killstreaks and the perks are balanced out, MW3 is, exactly what it set out to be, a super easy game that takes less skill. COD 4 is easy to pick up and play, but MW3 is RIDICULOUSLY easy to pick up and play; by my 3rd match I was already getting the top score, It took me about 10 or so on COD 4, and about 5 on Black Ops. How can somebody that doesn't know the maps get the top score on their third try? Killstreaks and an abundance of perks. There's little to no skill involved, the outcome of how good you will do is determined in the beginning of the match by how well your internet connection is at that juncture. Which leads me to another complaint, Activision, billions upon billions of profits later still no dedicated servers?! When games with a lower budget like Homefront can provide its users with dedicated servers? we all know that you are evil and that you are trying to take over the world by riding this COD bus until it breaks down and you end up with trillions upon trillions of dollars, just enough for the CEO of Activision to relieve himself of his daddy issues, but atleast try to delude us into thinking you are making somewhat of a quality product by investing atleast a couple of thousands or less on dedicated servers. It is insulting to gamer's intelligence to even release this game without the aforementioned. I only see little Jimmy playing this when his parents are asleep, or Brad and Chad after coming off of a very touchy lockeroom scenario and are ready to indulge in the usual dudebro fest. Expand
  47. Nov 18, 2011
    0
    Welcome to the Madden of fps! ( TRUE!) This is a expansion pack no a game!
    It's just like The Groundhog Day FPS. It's sad . Maybe this game will be a Best seller, COD saga it's just like Saw saga the same **** over and over.
  48. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    I at first thought this was a MW2.1. I have played it now since launch I think the single player campaign has tied up the story very well, then we move to the online. This is the meat and gravy of this game this is where. Infinity & Activision get their extra dollar or pound out of us (depending what side of the pond your from) didn't we all knock Black Ops? I did it seemed to be a stepI at first thought this was a MW2.1. I have played it now since launch I think the single player campaign has tied up the story very well, then we move to the online. This is the meat and gravy of this game this is where. Infinity & Activision get their extra dollar or pound out of us (depending what side of the pond your from) didn't we all knock Black Ops? I did it seemed to be a step back, weapons from yester year many of us flooded back to MW2. This leads me to my final point if it's not broken why try to fix it this game now gives me the same buzz MW2 did, yes I said did because this game has taken its place. Give it a chance I'm not just talking about the boo boys from the Sony and Microsoft camps I mean the COD community. It's gonna be like a fine wine it will get better with age. Expand
  49. Nov 20, 2011
    7
    Modern Warfare 3 is by no means a bad game. Its just the fact that Activision and Infinity Ward aren't changing enough aspects of the game to justify a $60 purchase. It is, for the most part, more of the same. But that's not necessarily a bad thing. The story is still too crazy for its own good and the multiplayer is still fast-paced fun. People shouldn't be too surprised that they stuckModern Warfare 3 is by no means a bad game. Its just the fact that Activision and Infinity Ward aren't changing enough aspects of the game to justify a $60 purchase. It is, for the most part, more of the same. But that's not necessarily a bad thing. The story is still too crazy for its own good and the multiplayer is still fast-paced fun. People shouldn't be too surprised that they stuck to the same old formula for this game, it still works and it's still mildly entertaining. You know the old saying, "If it ain't broke, don't fix it." well Modern Warfare 3 sticks closely to this saying. If you want more Call of Duty, go get more Call of Duty. Just don't expect anything wildly different from what Activision keeps putting out every year. Expand
  50. Nov 20, 2011
    7
    Decent, if short campaign. Multiplayer is very similar to MW2, but that doesn't mean it's bad. So many zero scores, when it isn't a bad game. They're just raging because they don't like it. Sure it could have been better, but BF3 multiplayer didn't change much from BC2, but it's still a good game. Crazy fanboys.
  51. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    If you liked previous CoD games, you will love MW3. MW3 has some very nice improvements over previous titles. Such as, strike packages, gun proficiencies, and the prestige shop.
  52. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    The campaign is great, as always, along with the multiplayer and spec ops. The graphics are about 10x better than Modern Warfare 2. The only people that would not like it, would be Battlefield fanboys. (I love the Battlefield franchise too, so don't say this review is one-sided.
  53. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    It seems crazy that so many people want to just respond emotionally and give this game a 0. Truly just doesn't make sense.

    The graphics are still better than almost every other game on the market. The sounds are very realistic and often make me smile when I hear something really clever. Almost everything has it's own physics now, pretty damn remarkable. The gameplay is tight and a
    It seems crazy that so many people want to just respond emotionally and give this game a 0. Truly just doesn't make sense.

    The graphics are still better than almost every other game on the market. The sounds are very realistic and often make me smile when I hear something really clever.
    Almost everything has it's own physics now, pretty damn remarkable.
    The gameplay is tight and a lot of fun. The new perk leveling system is brilliant and you can expect to see it become a part of the video game industry as a whole. The maps are fun, look great, and have some great spots on each one. The single player is a little lacking story wise and I did think that a lot of the gun combat seemed unnaturally close. The multiplayer has tons of graphical and perk rewards added from Modern Warfare 2. But with it being the same engine it does look directly descendant from MW2. The explosions are just barely beginning to outdated. The specs ops and it's new leveling system are SO MUCH FUN. I just can't get over the great time I've had. This is the highlight of the whole thing for me. What a blast!!!

    Lastly, if you think that Battlefield 3 is better that's within reason. But there's no way that because this game is in second place it isn't worth buying. Video games are supposed to be fun to play. And this game has a lifetime's worth of gamemodes and enjoyable content.
    Expand
  54. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    So far, I've logged 20 hours or so online, blasting away and getting blasted. I am finding the new maps to be less "camper friendly" than Black Ops, which is nice, and the general feel of the game to be more crisp than the prior iterations. The perks and streak packages are also more accessible, and the interface gives the game a more "sporting" appearance. The streamlined nature of theSo far, I've logged 20 hours or so online, blasting away and getting blasted. I am finding the new maps to be less "camper friendly" than Black Ops, which is nice, and the general feel of the game to be more crisp than the prior iterations. The perks and streak packages are also more accessible, and the interface gives the game a more "sporting" appearance. The streamlined nature of the online multiplayer is quite addictive and is fast pasted both in gameplay and in loading times. There have been a few glitches/server losses, but that only means I have to wait another 45 seconds to get back into it. No big deal.

    Why not a "10"? There is room for improvement, particularly in the graphics. But COD MW3 is, nonetheless, and enjoyable game, over and over.

    On a side note, it's interesting that sports fans don't mind picking up a only slightly revamped Madden every year, or anything from 2K games, but FPS fans (on this site in particular) are rabid about things like "developer laziness" or because it lacks a particular element some gamer preferred. And yet, regardless of the low scores, there are anywhere from 600K to 900K online playing - er - enjoying MW3 at any given time.
    Expand
  55. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    Starting with the singleplayer, I think it is definitely better than MW2 about everything. Very strong story, characters, action packed levels combined with detailed conversations. However the singleplayer is still a step down from the thrilling CoD4 experience.
    Spec Ops is really fun. With the new survival mode I think it is more fun than the zombies. Survival is great with the maps,
    Starting with the singleplayer, I think it is definitely better than MW2 about everything. Very strong story, characters, action packed levels combined with detailed conversations. However the singleplayer is still a step down from the thrilling CoD4 experience.
    Spec Ops is really fun. With the new survival mode I think it is more fun than the zombies. Survival is great with the maps, weapons, upgrade system, money system and variety of enemies. The mission part of Spec Ops is like MW2 but I think the missions are longer and want the player to get into action a little bit more. Generally Spec Ops is better than MW2 as well.
    Coming to multiplayer, most played section of the game. The fast paced Modern Warfare multiplayer is back with new chain kill or point streak system, kill confirmed game mode, new weapons, new weapon upgrade system etc. Nothing much the say about multiplayer I think. The same addictive and absolutely fun MW multiplayer is back like the previous MW games. One thing I saw about the MW3 multiplayer is this multiplayer is more tactical and defensive compared to MW2 multiplayer. I think this is better because it gives you the chance to reflect your playing-style better and use the advantage of the stronger sides in your gamesytle. Graphics, better than MW2 but worse than BF3 to be honest.
    Generally, this game has great singleplayer, exciting spec ops and addictingly fun multiplayer.
    The battle with BF3? I think MW3 wins this one because of the more detailed singleplayer, variety of singleplayer in spec ops and I think with the multiplayer that a FPS game must have.
    Expand
  56. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    I find it curious how all of these horrible reviews came out the same day the game was released. At least play the game more than 3 hours before you go screaming its horrible. I find it extremely enjoyable and entertaining continuation of MW2 although much of the gameplay is similar to MW2 it still has new enjoyable features that will keep me leveling up and possibly even go prestige onceI find it curious how all of these horrible reviews came out the same day the game was released. At least play the game more than 3 hours before you go screaming its horrible. I find it extremely enjoyable and entertaining continuation of MW2 although much of the gameplay is similar to MW2 it still has new enjoyable features that will keep me leveling up and possibly even go prestige once or twice. The new pts system as opposed to kills makes the old killstreak system much more enjoyable because people go for objectives not kills. Leveling the guns separate of your character makes the decision to switch guns much more of a risk-reward scenario as opposed to I'm a higher lvl so I get the best attachments right away. Overall the maps are a little repetitive but i guarantee the first map pack that comes out will fix that. Expand
  57. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    im really enjoying the game yes its not a big improvement from mw2 but its still fun with better graphics and a great story with a great multiplayer experience and the survival mode is very fun i actually play that more then multiplayer people need to stop giving it a low score if it was that rubbish why buy it in the first place so stop being idiots and give it a good score dosent have toim really enjoying the game yes its not a big improvement from mw2 but its still fun with better graphics and a great story with a great multiplayer experience and the survival mode is very fun i actually play that more then multiplayer people need to stop giving it a low score if it was that rubbish why buy it in the first place so stop being idiots and give it a good score dosent have to be 10 it can be like a 5 or higher but it dosent deserve 1 or anywhere near there. Expand
  58. Nov 22, 2011
    9
    Call of Duty MW3 does not disappoint the average gamer, people are giving this game such low scores because they are either dumb, or are over estimating this game just because it has COD on the cover. Sure MW3 may not be perfect, but it isn't bad, who cares if it is the same engine, who cares if its similar graphics, Video games are made for fun, to be enjoyed, and that is what MW3Call of Duty MW3 does not disappoint the average gamer, people are giving this game such low scores because they are either dumb, or are over estimating this game just because it has COD on the cover. Sure MW3 may not be perfect, but it isn't bad, who cares if it is the same engine, who cares if its similar graphics, Video games are made for fun, to be enjoyed, and that is what MW3 provides. Currently it has some lag issues which are probably going to be patched within a month or 2, this game is amazing, its the most fun and stands its ground as a COD title, after all, the sales numbers do not lie. Expand
  59. Jan 9, 2012
    3
    ok every who thinks this game was rated unfairly...imagine being excited for something only to be let greatly disappointed especially if ur a fan of its previous entries!? this is how ppl feel about this game excluding ppl who have not played it of course but IMO these user scores justify how they toward this game after spending. $60(higher in other countries) its not a bad game BUTok every who thinks this game was rated unfairly...imagine being excited for something only to be let greatly disappointed especially if ur a fan of its previous entries!? this is how ppl feel about this game excluding ppl who have not played it of course but IMO these user scores justify how they toward this game after spending. $60(higher in other countries) its not a bad game BUT IW/activision/sledgehammer have blatantly ripped off millions of gamer everywhere & ppl are FINALLY taking notice but plz cod fanboys understand that this wont kill the franchise(if they have new ideas of course) but will force them to do actual work for the next title instead of perfecting what cod mw2 could have been which is what mw3 basically is i hope this none biased opinion of mw3 helps fans of this series realize that all ppl want from ALL future cod games is effort when it comes to devoping their gaes Expand
  60. Dec 12, 2011
    9
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 is a definate must buy for all hardcore fans of the series. The new features including the gun leveling system and killstreak customization for a preferred load out provides players with a feel of a more individualized play style. Special ops returns and doesn't disappoint for those who are familiar with the spec. ops for MW2 and survival mode will test theCall of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 is a definate must buy for all hardcore fans of the series. The new features including the gun leveling system and killstreak customization for a preferred load out provides players with a feel of a more individualized play style. Special ops returns and doesn't disappoint for those who are familiar with the spec. ops for MW2 and survival mode will test the skills of any gamer who wants to play with teamwork in mind. The framerate is still top notch and the graphic quality has been polished. For the multiplayer only group in order to get a great experience I advise a good internet connection. MW3 surpasses its predecessors on all levels. Expand
  61. Dec 16, 2011
    0
    Tired game , Tired engine, Same crap gets put out every single year for four years and people flock to toss their cash away, sad really sad. I have played it it IS THE SAME AS MW2. why would you buy it again ?? Activision is laughing all the way to the bank! This is pathetic and should have been released as an expansion pack nothing more!
  62. Dec 16, 2011
    4
    Oh my god. They did it again. They used the same game engine, the same graphics, the same interface... they only changed the game. I mean seriously. They have been making the same game since Call of Duty Modern Warfare. THE FIRST one.
  63. Jul 17, 2012
    1
    Didn't I play this game twice already? With a know how to let down the Call Of Duty franchise strikes again! There are three main things wrong with this game: 1. Community- besides being called a camper and a noob constantly over my mic for checking my croners and moving when it is safe, the community consist of imauter 10 year old who wont leave to console to play with friends. 2.Hype-Didn't I play this game twice already? With a know how to let down the Call Of Duty franchise strikes again! There are three main things wrong with this game: 1. Community- besides being called a camper and a noob constantly over my mic for checking my croners and moving when it is safe, the community consist of imauter 10 year old who wont leave to console to play with friends. 2.Hype- never once have i been excited for a Modern warfare title. Stop Displaying it like some sort of god! just except its terrible and move on. 3. Gameplay- Wow. I would rather listen to Justin Beiber then play this game. All in all just terrible if you love to be kicked in the balls and robbed of your money then this is the game for you. Expand
  64. Sep 18, 2012
    9
    Great game. Most people were but they were too earlier as free DLC came out for a new gamemode called Face-off, including 1v1, 2v2 and 3v3. With small, fun maps. Better killstreaks like support (For noobs, I don't use support) and a way of recording videos and uploading them to YouTube very easily. Great first person shooter, you should get it. Ignore those bad reviews.
  65. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Zocker is wrong, both BF3 and MW3 are both terrible games, the difference is that BF3 was made that bad, MW3 they took MW2 and changed a little bit, added a crappy new story, then sold it like tard cakes. both were very bad games, MW3 is worst and i cant understand how anybody could be so blind as to not realize its obvious flaws in both game play and story
  66. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    This is a horrid excuse for a sequel.To be fair to consumers it shoulda been a 29.99DLC at best...I am disappoint.So whos gonna buy the next CoD game that comes out in eleven months...
  67. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Wow what a cash grab. I've bought MW1, MW2, Black Ops.. Why did I buy MW3??? Seriously I should have just waited on Skyrim or Uncharted 3. Now I'm out $60 for a rehashed game that's hardly anything more than a map pack. Everybody thinking that the negative reviews are trolls bombing this game are incorrect!! MW3 could be fun to someone who's never played the series I'll give it that, butWow what a cash grab. I've bought MW1, MW2, Black Ops.. Why did I buy MW3??? Seriously I should have just waited on Skyrim or Uncharted 3. Now I'm out $60 for a rehashed game that's hardly anything more than a map pack. Everybody thinking that the negative reviews are trolls bombing this game are incorrect!! MW3 could be fun to someone who's never played the series I'll give it that, but almost everybody has and this was the laziest version put out to date. The graphics look dated, the engine is old, the game is sooo laggy, and you're in the lobby half the time waiting for a game to actually work. Especially when everyone is hard out for money these days, DO NOT WASTE IT ON THIS GAME!! Expand
  68. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    Having never gotten into the whole Call of Duty thing before now (yes, I'm the one) I was pleasantly surprised after I got my copy of Modern Warfare 3. The multiplayer is fast and intense, with lots of choice for game modes - my personal favourite is kill confirmed, a different take on regular team deathmatch. The campaign, while not overly long, was enjoyable and had some great setHaving never gotten into the whole Call of Duty thing before now (yes, I'm the one) I was pleasantly surprised after I got my copy of Modern Warfare 3. The multiplayer is fast and intense, with lots of choice for game modes - my personal favourite is kill confirmed, a different take on regular team deathmatch. The campaign, while not overly long, was enjoyable and had some great set pieces. I haven't spent much time with Spec-Ops yet but what I have seen has impressed me. Overall, this is a great game and I can see myself investing many more hours into it. I'm not sure why so many people are badmouthing it. What sort of revolutionary experience were you expecting from a first-person shooter? The genre can only go so far, and this seems about as good as I can imagine it getting. Expand
  69. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    All the low user scores are pure fan boys **** because they have nothing better to do. I work in the games industry as a senior character artist, and I can safely say this game is incredible, both from gameplay point of view and a technical perspective. I also want to state, I love BF3 just as much too. As far as I'm concerned the indsutry is much better off for having 2 very successfulAll the low user scores are pure fan boys **** because they have nothing better to do. I work in the games industry as a senior character artist, and I can safely say this game is incredible, both from gameplay point of view and a technical perspective. I also want to state, I love BF3 just as much too. As far as I'm concerned the indsutry is much better off for having 2 very successful and amazing games being created. I highly recommend MW3. Expand
  70. Nov 10, 2011
    8
    Yes it's a very similar game to MW2, but that's because MW2 is a near perfect shooter (multiplayer). If your looking for a radical change go play something that sucks. They have made small but significant changes to balance the game play. it's dishonest to rate this game a two when you know full well your going to spend the next 4 months plays the s**t out of it.
  71. Nov 10, 2011
    8
    It's the exact same thing as Modern Warfare 2 but seeing as I'll probably be playing it for the next year or so and it's the funnest multiplayer experience I've had in a while. I just had to give it a good score.
  72. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    MW3 developers now begging fanboys to rate this game good on this site?!? pathetic! This game is just Modern Warfare 2.2. There is no innovation, just rehashed, rushed, and reused graphics, code, levels, and players. COD fans, I feel sorry for you
  73. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    As expected this is just a copy from the last game with no real improvements to the Multiplayer. Singleplayer has some new stuff but if that were the game alone no one would buy it anyway. Seriously, let's get behind the FPS craze please.
  74. Cal
    Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Just buy the original, same game, different maps. I cannot believe that this game will be a success, it does not deserve even a fraction of the success it recieves.
  75. May 23, 2013
    6
    When this game was initially released, I decided to score it a 9. This is in complete conflict to my current opinion, and I have no idea what I was thinking at the time. I presumably scored it so highly out of some form of loyalty to Infinity Ward, trying to help them against some of the seemingly unfair reviews. I'm rather ashamed of having done this, and wanted to put things more on theWhen this game was initially released, I decided to score it a 9. This is in complete conflict to my current opinion, and I have no idea what I was thinking at the time. I presumably scored it so highly out of some form of loyalty to Infinity Ward, trying to help them against some of the seemingly unfair reviews. I'm rather ashamed of having done this, and wanted to put things more on the level.

    To take another look at this game, its certainly nothing special. While the Campaign of COD 4 was largely praised for its characters and setting. Its difficult to say the same here, simply playing along with the same recipe that just feels rather dated now, given its lack of change. But multiplayer is the main reason most are brought to Call of Duty, and it at seems a little more balanced in its gunplay following patches, something not shared by its predecessor. However, other issues quickly come to light. Odd choices such as the changes from Killstreaks to score streaks raise a number of issues.One such example is the stealth bomber, which can be earned quiet easily, due to being placed in the "support" section, meaning that the kills to obtain it compile even after death. This makes the bomber appear far to regularly, which is also far too offensive for its support namesake on many of the maps. Which brings me to another huge issue, the maps. Graphically their all rather unimpressive, largely just a series of drab, darkly hued buildings or rubble. Those that aren't marred by this issue instead of horrendous and unmemorable layouts that just don't live up to the experiences had on many of MW2's maps, such as "Afghan." When the maps are as bad as they are, its difficult to praise MW3's multiplayer at all.

    Other than these points, the rest is largely standard fair, with a few new options to keep you busy. The cooperative spec ops mode adds a little more longevity with its survival and mission modes, but it feels rather tacked on given that it can only be played with two players, a particularly noticeable omission in the uninspired survival mode.

    And that's all there really is to say. Its not particularly superior or inferior to other titles in the series. If you enjoyed them and want more, it'll largely give you what your after, but if you've always disliked the series, this certainly wont change that.
    Expand
  76. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Never once have I felt so betrayed by a game developer. That they honestly want to treat their customers like this. They didn't even try to lube it up. It was just rough from the beginning. No foreplay, just plain shiat, from start to end. Wauw.
  77. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Another MW game, and this time, they didn't bother to hide the fact that they were reusing textures and building from the fourth installment, or that they hardly changed anything about the overall gameplay. In fact, they seemed to have taken a step back from their newer game, Black Ops, opting for a tired out MW2 system. Brainless fun, a junk food of a game. Save your 60$.
  78. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    Here is an honest review from a buyer of Battlefield 3. Wow. This game is what Infinity Ward has been building to since we started the journey some years ago. With an epic conclusion to the gripping campaign, a more balanced, albeit with some flaws, best in class multiplayer mode, and endless replayability in Spec Ops, the developers have truly outdone themselves. For all of those lowHere is an honest review from a buyer of Battlefield 3. Wow. This game is what Infinity Ward has been building to since we started the journey some years ago. With an epic conclusion to the gripping campaign, a more balanced, albeit with some flaws, best in class multiplayer mode, and endless replayability in Spec Ops, the developers have truly outdone themselves. For all of those low scores in the user section, ignore them. Look to the critic reviews. This game is a gem, something that cannot be avoided by any gamer. It is the best installment in the series thus far. Bravo IW and Sledgehammer games, you have truly outdone yourselves like never before. Expand
  79. Nov 10, 2011
    3
    Like a lot of people i came into this game not expecting much after the implosion at infinty ward, and i'm afraid i have been proved right the multiplayer is an aweful mess with small, clutterd and poorly designed maps which are tailored to the spray and pray muppets.
    The single player and spec ops are a quite good but not enough to make up for the good aweful multiplayer element which
    Like a lot of people i came into this game not expecting much after the implosion at infinty ward, and i'm afraid i have been proved right the multiplayer is an aweful mess with small, clutterd and poorly designed maps which are tailored to the spray and pray muppets.
    The single player and spec ops are a quite good but not enough to make up for the good aweful multiplayer element which is cods main feature.

    I really hope staff at infinity ward and sledgehammer listen to there gaming community and make some serious changes otherwise this is the death of the modern warfare series.
    Expand
  80. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    exactly the same game as modern warfare2, same graphics, the same error messages ;o feels more like a dlc then a brand new game. call of duty died after cod4
  81. Nov 10, 2011
    2
    Was always a fan of COD. When MW2 came out i was blown away. When Black ops came out i was skeptical at first but i gave it a try and eventually loved it. MW3 is garbage. I never really had high expectations as I knew what to expect based on following all the developments. But I was dissapointed regardless. Lets face it, we play it for the multiplayer, and theres absolotely nothing newWas always a fan of COD. When MW2 came out i was blown away. When Black ops came out i was skeptical at first but i gave it a try and eventually loved it. MW3 is garbage. I never really had high expectations as I knew what to expect based on following all the developments. But I was dissapointed regardless. Lets face it, we play it for the multiplayer, and theres absolotely nothing new offerred in this game. They tweaked the progressions, guns now level up. Some new gun options with gun perks. However its more of the same and maybe a bit worse. My major dissapointment is the maps. There are a ton of them, and theyre all tight, cramped, and feel like a big maze. Theres a couple of decent maps, but for the most part they just dont play the old greats. Spawning is a major issue, as you'll often spawn right next to an enemy and get killed within seconds. Everyone is either running around like headless chickens or camping. Matchmaking is slow, and it can take up to 5 munites to get a game when youre playing with a group of friends. I'll be playing black ops for now it seems Expand
  82. Nov 10, 2011
    3
    Ok. I have been playing the COD games since the first one and i have to say this is the most disappointing of the lot. I really wanted to like it but when it comes down to it, the game is broken.

    Firstly, getting into an online match is hit and miss at best. You will see "server connection timed out" more than the iron sights of your weapon and constant disconnects just get too much. The
    Ok. I have been playing the COD games since the first one and i have to say this is the most disappointing of the lot. I really wanted to like it but when it comes down to it, the game is broken.

    Firstly, getting into an online match is hit and miss at best. You will see "server connection timed out" more than the iron sights of your weapon and constant disconnects just get too much. The maps themselves when you do get in are small, maze like boxes which make the game feel more like a modern day pac man as you chase people around. Hit registration is terrible, it feels flat and bland with the same old killstreaks, which you can now stack by the way and then unleash pretty much all at once for a nice score....great. I really wanted to like this, but when Infinity Ward sacked their best staff this game took a massive dive for the worst. Never again will i waste my money on this tripe and will trade it in tonight for Skyrim. My love of cod ended with 4, its just a shame mugs like me still for for this ****
    Expand
  83. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Horrible game, so boring, so uncreative. Really makes you think why did you spend 60$ on such horrible product. Activision should never fire the people from Infinity Ward, because whats left of IW is not able to even do tetris. Tbh Activision should just leave games alone, they are destroying Blizzard alredy. 2 mil people stopped playing WoW and more will come cause Activision is greedyHorrible game, so boring, so uncreative. Really makes you think why did you spend 60$ on such horrible product. Activision should never fire the people from Infinity Ward, because whats left of IW is not able to even do tetris. Tbh Activision should just leave games alone, they are destroying Blizzard alredy. 2 mil people stopped playing WoW and more will come cause Activision is greedy company thinking only about money and how to milk more cash from gamers. Expand
  84. Nov 10, 2011
    2
    This game is a disappointing failure. Dated graphics, scripting campaign, and reused art assets make me feel like I'm playing DLC and not a new game.
  85. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    Don't listen to the haters. For whatever reason there is a misguided push for people who aren't playing this game at all to give stupidly low scores because they like to drag down what is popular. The fact of the matter is this game series is still the best online shooter available on the market. Yes the game is similar to past iterations- so is gears, halo, and uncharted which justDon't listen to the haters. For whatever reason there is a misguided push for people who aren't playing this game at all to give stupidly low scores because they like to drag down what is popular. The fact of the matter is this game series is still the best online shooter available on the market. Yes the game is similar to past iterations- so is gears, halo, and uncharted which just came out- we don't get on those games but for some reason modern warfare takes all kinds of flak. I'm not saying its GOTY or the best ever, but the fact remains that this is a solid game and any rating giving anything lower than an 8 is just dumb. Expand
  86. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    was very hyped for this and was so let down....same old cod, feels like modern warfare 2 DLC imo, yes this may be the "best" call of duty multiplayer but no improvements that i'm willing to fork out £40 for. I'll be trading this game in very soon. utter garbage and just to think activision makes so much money from people, and the the DLC will be over 10 per mapwas very hyped for this and was so let down....same old cod, feels like modern warfare 2 DLC imo, yes this may be the "best" call of duty multiplayer but no improvements that i'm willing to fork out £40 for. I'll be trading this game in very soon. utter garbage and just to think activision makes so much money from people, and the the DLC will be over 10 per map pack...outrageous, glad ive got other GREAT games to play such as fifa 12, uncharted 3, battlefield and batman AC. Expand
  87. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    It's just MW2 with a patch and a free map pack. Had this game had a graphics upgrade and improvements, it would get a good rating. Call of Duty 4 was great at the time, but nothing has changed.
  88. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    This is what Modern Warfare 2 SHOULD have been, coming from CoD4. It's an expansion, nothing more. Warning to all the potential consumers: Do not purchase this, you will be sorely disappointed. In fact, I'm going to return this game to get CoD4 and play on the servers for that.
  89. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    This game is a big joke like black ops , there is no improvement at all and the graphics are scary looks like the game is in 540p ,and 30 dlc comming soon Oh my god, yeah well i'm gonna stay on Battlefield 3.
    This whole game could've been a dlc of black ops
  90. Nov 10, 2011
    4
    I have yet to play the campaign but i feel like the new features were not enough in multiplayer mode. I would even go as far to say its almost a step backwards in some aspects to Black Ops in multiplayer(yes i'm aware infintyward did not touch BlackOps). No AI enemies available in split screen which makes playing more than two people on one console worthless. No one wants jsut a 4 playerI have yet to play the campaign but i feel like the new features were not enough in multiplayer mode. I would even go as far to say its almost a step backwards in some aspects to Black Ops in multiplayer(yes i'm aware infintyward did not touch BlackOps). No AI enemies available in split screen which makes playing more than two people on one console worthless. No one wants jsut a 4 player squirmish. It wouldnt have been so bad if they let you log on with more than one guest, but alas they didnt. Black ops gives you the ability in split screen to do up to 9 AI enemies in a ffa mode or build AI teams in deathmatch. So far i feel like MW3 should of just been DLC content to MW2. I might be a little over critical, but i feel like the series hasn't really evolved that much between the last few titles. Expand
  91. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    A game we've already seen. This is just a rehashed MW2. Enjoy buying your MW2 maps again and again. It's really saddening to see companies like this releasing the same game over and over again, with almost nothing new. Same graphics, same sounds, same gameplay. Maybe it's time to try doing something new?
  92. Nov 10, 2011
    3
    The critical praise for this game kind of demonstrates how bankrupt the backbone of game journalists are. They are too afraid to call something out if it costs a lot of money to make and has really good production values. Make no mistake: MW3 still has great production values. The explosions are nice and the graphics are great. But it is also nearly completely lacking in new ideas.The critical praise for this game kind of demonstrates how bankrupt the backbone of game journalists are. They are too afraid to call something out if it costs a lot of money to make and has really good production values. Make no mistake: MW3 still has great production values. The explosions are nice and the graphics are great. But it is also nearly completely lacking in new ideas. This is the same game you played many times before and the single player is more on rails than ever before. If you buy these games just as a "yearly update" like a sports game, you might find it totally acceptable, but anyone who is actually looking for a fresh experience, there is none to be had. Expand
  93. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    This game is Modern Warfare 2. This is the exact same game as MW2 which was released over 2 years ago. Except now you have even worse perks and maps. They didn't even bother to change the menus. This game is literally a cut/paste job so sheeple can feed Bobby Kotick's dick. If you truly want to give your money to Activision, buy this rehash. Meanwhile I rather play Battlefield 3.
  94. Nov 10, 2011
    3
    This game is the same old song and dance. The campaign is like a Michael Bay movie, a lot of special effects but not much substance. MP hasn't changed, I feel like I have been playing the same game since MW1. The COD series desperately needs a new engine and a new direction. Sadly this once great franchise seems to have become the Guitar Hero of shooters. They will milk it into the groundThis game is the same old song and dance. The campaign is like a Michael Bay movie, a lot of special effects but not much substance. MP hasn't changed, I feel like I have been playing the same game since MW1. The COD series desperately needs a new engine and a new direction. Sadly this once great franchise seems to have become the Guitar Hero of shooters. They will milk it into the ground for all it is worth when this game should have been dlc or a $30 expansion. Expand
  95. Nov 10, 2011
    3
    MW3 is the last CoD I will buy. In fact if I could be given my money back I would do. Does this game contains new lines of code? Does it contains any new experience? It's the same old game repacked and put on sale again and again...Last CoD
  96. Nov 10, 2011
    6
    This review is based SOLELY on Multiplayer. Here is my Steam profile:

    http://steamcommunity.com/profiles/76561197993278481 As you can see my time played in MW2 is 993 hours and Black Ops is 461 hours. MW3 feels like a rehashed MW2. I am sorry for the people giving this a 10. I hope it's on the single player because multi player is horrible. Sure there is a lot of detail given in
    This review is based SOLELY on Multiplayer. Here is my Steam profile:

    http://steamcommunity.com/profiles/76561197993278481

    As you can see my time played in MW2 is 993 hours and Black Ops is 461 hours.

    MW3 feels like a rehashed MW2. I am sorry for the people giving this a 10. I hope it's on the single player because multi player is horrible. Sure there is a lot of detail given in design but 75% of the maps are too small. Most of the maps don't allow for multiple roles (sniper , support, assault) as they are all run and gun being so small.

    They even made the game easier by giving some of the old perks as gun stats. Assault rifles now have FMJ and 2 Weapon Attachments as a gun stat rather than a Perk slot.

    However, they did do a few things right. Making Blast Shield not lose your vision like they did in MW2 so people can now avoid grenade spam and noob tube better. Also, I do like how they separated out the kill streaks into 3 catagories.

    But overall I feel like this is a reskinned MW2. Most of the titles are the same as are the emblems and achievements. There are slight improvements to graphics. And hacks for MW2 work in MW3 so they were there the very first day.

    This is a PC review. I liked the single player campaign in MW2 and a friend of mine who did the campaign said he liked it. I'll probably enjoy it as well.

    Also co-op is a joke as it's a kill waves of enemies survival. The MW2 co-op was 1000x better.
    Expand
  97. Nov 10, 2011
    3
    J'étais fan de la série. Je trouvais BF passable... Ã
  98. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    This game killed the call of duty franchise I will never buy another cod game again! To have hyped the game this much and basically release the same game like MW2 is crazy and is just a way to steal our money.
  99. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    The amount of hype for this game is incredible. However the game is not. The multiplayer is an exact rehash of the past MW2 and Call of Duty 4 mixed together. The single player is fun but it seems like I had experienced everything before and felt like De Ja Vu. The sound of this game is TOO generic. Activision basically devised a great plan which is too milk the series for all its worthThe amount of hype for this game is incredible. However the game is not. The multiplayer is an exact rehash of the past MW2 and Call of Duty 4 mixed together. The single player is fun but it seems like I had experienced everything before and felt like De Ja Vu. The sound of this game is TOO generic. Activision basically devised a great plan which is too milk the series for all its worth with the input of effort being minimal. This felt like more of a DLC than a full retail game. There are other great games coming out to spend your hard earned money on. Expand
  100. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Tried this game in a store on a console and was COMPLETELY convinced I was playing MW2 the entire time. this game is an insult to the gaming community, it's a digital Bigmac; it smells and looks pretty tasty but after you've had a taste you just want to puke.
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Feb 10, 2012
    90
    There's a tangible insistence from gamers that this series needs to evolve, but it seems unwarranted when it still leads the FPS class. The engine's definitely in need of an overhaul, but when it comes to thumping set-pieces and addictive multiplayer design, Modern Warfare 3 is still in a league of its own.
  2. Feb 1, 2012
    85
    By sticking to the series' strengths, Modern Warfare 3 delivers some of the best competitive, cooperate, and single-player shooting in the business.
  3. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Jan 4, 2012
    90
    As a complete package, Modern Warfare 3 takes the cake. [Jan 2012, p.67]