Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 PlayStation 3

User Score
3.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 5198 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    poor nothing has changed... well done activition for rehashing a game on a year by year basis...

    shame COD will go down the route of Guitar hero due to Activitions money visions :-/

    on a plus note you can finish the trilogy story of Soap and his crew
  2. Nov 10, 2011
    3
    This game feels like an add-on to MW2. It has the same engine, recycled buildings and character models. It is practically MW2 with a few extra guns, perks and new maps. It is a shame on how Activision sells the same game twice at $60.
  3. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Iit is sad how we let Activision get away with this every year. This is why they will never change because all these sheep that keep handing them their wallets. Go play Batman Arkham City or The Legend of Zelda Skyward Sword. when it comes out.
  4. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Critics say one thing. People who paid 60$ for the game say otherwise... Trust me. This is not worth your time. Skyrim and Assassins creed are coming out soon so get those
  5. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Single player is ok but just more of the same nothing new really at all here. Graphics are dated, shooting a machine gun sounds more like a paintball gun than a real gun. Multiplayer looks and plays identical to previous COD titles. Was hoping for something revolutionary that didn't seem like an expansion. For my $59 I am highly dissapointed in this game and it will be the last game I everSingle player is ok but just more of the same nothing new really at all here. Graphics are dated, shooting a machine gun sounds more like a paintball gun than a real gun. Multiplayer looks and plays identical to previous COD titles. Was hoping for something revolutionary that didn't seem like an expansion. For my $59 I am highly dissapointed in this game and it will be the last game I ever pre-order. Expand
  6. Nov 9, 2011
    2
    How could this happened ?! How can you sell it 70 â
  7. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    Same old repeat. Feel like I bought MW2.1. Thank god I can get a full refund. I was such a Die Hard COD fan too! Epic fail guys. Never again. Spend less money on marketing hype and more on game development!
  8. Nov 10, 2011
    3
    The much anticipated Modern Warfare 3 game can only be described as an epic fail to provide its gaming community with anything new. The graphics are brilliant but the mechanics are terrible. The game plays to the gamer who just wants to log on and die 40 times and kill someone 40 times. After the release of BF3 this year you would have thought CoD MW3 would have been inventive... SaveThe much anticipated Modern Warfare 3 game can only be described as an epic fail to provide its gaming community with anything new. The graphics are brilliant but the mechanics are terrible. The game plays to the gamer who just wants to log on and die 40 times and kill someone 40 times. After the release of BF3 this year you would have thought CoD MW3 would have been inventive... Save your money or buy BF3. Expand
  9. Nov 10, 2011
    5
    Honestly I'm fairly disappointed. IW had a chance to make a truly great game but they completely let me down. Before you read further I was not a fan of MW2 either and honestly this feels cut and pasted with a few new features here or there. From the return of death streaks to the god awful map design this game just completely let me down. At the store the cashier put my copy in a MW2 caseHonestly I'm fairly disappointed. IW had a chance to make a truly great game but they completely let me down. Before you read further I was not a fan of MW2 either and honestly this feels cut and pasted with a few new features here or there. From the return of death streaks to the god awful map design this game just completely let me down. At the store the cashier put my copy in a MW2 case with a 3 scribbled over the 2 Expand
  10. Dec 30, 2011
    4
    MW3 is a great game. The only problem is that it's the same damn thing. They think that just because they add the littlest things to every new COD, that people will still think it is fresh. Critics judge it so high because they get payed to rate it, and probably get the game free. But people judge it so low because they wasted their money, and it's the same thing as before. COD's onlyMW3 is a great game. The only problem is that it's the same damn thing. They think that just because they add the littlest things to every new COD, that people will still think it is fresh. Critics judge it so high because they get payed to rate it, and probably get the game free. But people judge it so low because they wasted their money, and it's the same thing as before. COD's only future is in zombies. Check my new account for games, I am only doing movies on here. Expand
  11. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    DO NOT BUY. Waste of money - bought it and stupid me chucked the reciept. Stuck with this piece of ****. It feels like a mw2 expansion - but it feeels like it has made it worse. I hate when developers do this - rehash old games. The only new thing is the menu. SERIOUSLY DO NOT BUY
  12. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Oh man, this is worse than most of the Call of Duty games.... I mean really, everyone was just going on and on and on about it, and when it finally gets here, it was just flat out awful! It ended up being such a disappointing game. Hopefully, the next game (if there is one...) won't be as bad. Just get Uncharted or Sonic Generations.
  13. Nov 8, 2011
    2
    There's not much to say about the Call of Duty series any more. They have used the same engine for years, the game itself offers nothing to the FPS industry, let alone the gaming industry apart from disappointment. MW3 seems more of a fix for the previous games and to correct the imbalance during online gameplay. If you ignore the statements above and look at the current state of the gameThere's not much to say about the Call of Duty series any more. They have used the same engine for years, the game itself offers nothing to the FPS industry, let alone the gaming industry apart from disappointment. MW3 seems more of a fix for the previous games and to correct the imbalance during online gameplay. If you ignore the statements above and look at the current state of the game it seems they have been aiming more towards the casual audience with more perks for ease of play that will drive some hardcore players over the edge and seeking other FPS games. Expand
  14. Nov 8, 2011
    5
    To the people wondering if Modern Warfare 3 would take a hit due to the 40+ staff of Infinity Award leaving, look no further. The answer sadly, is yes. It has taken a huge hit. This review is primarily focused at the multiplayer (which I have loved both (COD 4: MW & MW2).

    Unfortunate to say MW3 is nowhere near as good as the previous games in terms of multiplayer, with the major drawback
    To the people wondering if Modern Warfare 3 would take a hit due to the 40+ staff of Infinity Award leaving, look no further. The answer sadly, is yes. It has taken a huge hit. This review is primarily focused at the multiplayer (which I have loved both (COD 4: MW & MW2).

    Unfortunate to say MW3 is nowhere near as good as the previous games in terms of multiplayer, with the major drawback being the map design. With 16 maps included on the disc you'd think there would be atleast a dozen of good quality maps, instead you're met with 16 small, maze ridden maps that have no flow whatsoever. In my opinion there are about 3-5 bearable maps, the rest are so poor even the maps from Black Ops outshine. I seriously think when the **** hit the fan at IW all the map designers left because the 16 on offer are truly awful. Pretty much all buildings are locked out and everything is basically flat, there are no areas to cover your six and it's completely geared toward the Rambo COD gamers that run around like blue arsed flies shooting and running constantly.

    It is a severe disappointment,. I was expecting this game to not match the quality of the previous two games but even then I was still majorly let down.

    This is the worst COD MP I have ever played, and that includes COD2, COD4, W@W, MW2 & Black Ops.

    This is a completely truthful opinion from a big fan of the series, unfortunately it seems that it is now time to leave it for dead (or atleast go back to the awesome MW2).

    Seriously, the maps are truly awful. I am selling this game as soon as I have finished the campaign.
    Expand
  15. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    Who is paying these "critics", this game is full of cow turd.

    -repetitive
    -3 year old engine based on an even older engine
    -sounds are terrible
    -not even fun anymore since COD 1-3 maybe even 4
  16. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Welcome to the Madden of fps! Every year they release essentially the same game with a few tweaks and a bit more graphics and tell you that you gotta have it. And just like the Madden series, no matter how few new features there are people will still snap it up. Rent before you buy, make sure you actually want this game!
  17. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Outdated engine is outdated. God, the particle effects are exactly the same as they were in CoD 4. I'm not sure how anyone could blow 60 dollars an CoD MW 1.3, because that's what it is. Even the gun audio remains the same for most weapons. Sure, they've tweaked gameplay, that doesn't warrant another release though, instead they could actually support their community and game with contentOutdated engine is outdated. God, the particle effects are exactly the same as they were in CoD 4. I'm not sure how anyone could blow 60 dollars an CoD MW 1.3, because that's what it is. Even the gun audio remains the same for most weapons. Sure, they've tweaked gameplay, that doesn't warrant another release though, instead they could actually support their community and game with content BESIDES map packs, which are overpriced as well. Expand
  18. Mar 16, 2012
    0
    This is MW 1 & 2 all over again!!! :-o
    My nephews got it and I played it RIGHT after MW2, it was THE SAME EXPERIENCE!!!
    What is this!? Why do people praise these games??? :-O
  19. Nov 8, 2011
    3
    I am simply a gamer who likes a $60 game to be at least somewhat polished and offer something that is intriguing as well as visually and emotionally stimulating. This game simply does not deliver and I am embarrassed to say i bought it... We all bought into the hype, I just wish some of the developers would treat us as human beings and not mindless open wallets. I will give this game aI am simply a gamer who likes a $60 game to be at least somewhat polished and offer something that is intriguing as well as visually and emotionally stimulating. This game simply does not deliver and I am embarrassed to say i bought it... We all bought into the hype, I just wish some of the developers would treat us as human beings and not mindless open wallets. I will give this game a "3". It did offer some entertainment but absolutely nothing different then MW3. And as I was getting ready to log off last night someone said "your mom is a **** And that's when i remembered that this game is for children.. Expand
  20. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    "This game is horrible, glad I only rented it, I saved some serious cash" "Modern Warfare 3, more like Modern Warfare 2.1. Adding some new maps and guns is not a new title. It's a very expensive expansion pack. Activision better stop trying to ride the Call of Duty wave and get IW to produce an actual successor to Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare"
  21. Nov 8, 2011
    2
    Enjoy your $60 map pack. I was skeptical of this purchase in the first place because of the previous products in this franchise but I thought I would give them the benefit of the doubt and give it a shot. Absolutely worst purchase I have ever made.
  22. Nov 9, 2011
    4
    Sure, I buy the same laundry detergent to wash my clothes every time. It does what I expect it to do. That doesn't mean I should pay $60 for it, and it certainly doesn't mean I have fun doing the laundry.
  23. Nov 9, 2011
    0
    Wow, what a complete rehash. I thought it was going to be similar but wow. It's less than an expansion or even DLC. This is basically a slightly changed mod! I am literally bored already.... No more chances for this tired series; this is just plain POOR.
  24. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    Just as I suspected. An overhyped, copy and paste of Modern Warfare 2. Very disappointing, I'd like to give a higher score but I'm so angry, how could they re-release a game and expect people to pay £39.99? Same graphics, same gameplay, same multiplayer, same everything else.
  25. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    After paying $60 on this game I went home and put it in my PS3. After a couple hours of gameplay I realized I had been ripped off! I looked in my DVD rack and grabbed a CoD game I bought 2 years ago, it looked the same but had a 2 on it instead of a 3. I then realized it is the same exact game, with a few minor tweaks. Biggest waste of money ever. Yet, there are still trolls on theAfter paying $60 on this game I went home and put it in my PS3. After a couple hours of gameplay I realized I had been ripped off! I looked in my DVD rack and grabbed a CoD game I bought 2 years ago, it looked the same but had a 2 on it instead of a 3. I then realized it is the same exact game, with a few minor tweaks. Biggest waste of money ever. Yet, there are still trolls on the internet like Destructoid's own Jimmyx Sterling getting paid big bucks to give it high review scores. Expand
  26. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    I didn't have high expectations from this game, but man did was it even worse than I had thought. Graphics are absolutely horrible compared to... just about anything released in the past 3 years, never mind Battlefield 3. There are some additions that have been 'inspired' by other games, like a Horde mode a-la Gears of War 3. The campaign is pretty short, although that's a standard for theI didn't have high expectations from this game, but man did was it even worse than I had thought. Graphics are absolutely horrible compared to... just about anything released in the past 3 years, never mind Battlefield 3. There are some additions that have been 'inspired' by other games, like a Horde mode a-la Gears of War 3. The campaign is pretty short, although that's a standard for the series, and the only redeeming quality I can find is the extended re playability offered by the stand-alone Spec Ops missions and the aforementioned Horde Mode. I cannot, in good conscience, recommend this game to anyone, at least not at its full price. If you happen to find this at a bargain sale, then perhaps it would offer some buck for your money, especially if you are on a weaker system. Otherwise, just wait for the bundle that includes all 3 Modern Warfare games so you can experience the story from start to finish. This is a rehashed product, and I can't help but wonder what kind of work went into the development of such a game. As a side note, Elite is not currently available for PC. Expand
  27. Nov 8, 2011
    5
    It's mainly disappointing. There was so much hype for this game, but once you play it, it just feels like a really expensive map pack for Modern Warfare 2. It doesn't change virtually anything, the graphics are the same, the game play is the same, most weapons are the same. This is a series where you could previously see at least a little effort on the part of the developers, starting withIt's mainly disappointing. There was so much hype for this game, but once you play it, it just feels like a really expensive map pack for Modern Warfare 2. It doesn't change virtually anything, the graphics are the same, the game play is the same, most weapons are the same. This is a series where you could previously see at least a little effort on the part of the developers, starting with the wonderful CoD 4 that revolutionized the industry and moving onto Modern Warfare 2, which improved a lot of things in the multiplayer aspect and was a great title. This just feels insulting. Taking 60 bucks away for a few map and a SP campaign which could have been as well DLC. Infinity Ward really dropped the ball here, get this game used if you can, it's worth used, never new. Expand
  28. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    Well, what shall i say? Its a $55 mappack. I had high expectations, and yes i'm disappointed! I mainly blame Infinity Ward and hope that Activision will never work with them again.
  29. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    It's very sad, that people give a developer credit for lazy work. Half of the sounds, equipment, perks, guns, and only one new attachment are in the game. 80% of the killstreaks are the same. And you always the get the felling "I have done this before". Survival is sorry attempted at zombies and fails flat. The same COD formula is use, Level up, get guns, unlock the same attachments fromIt's very sad, that people give a developer credit for lazy work. Half of the sounds, equipment, perks, guns, and only one new attachment are in the game. 80% of the killstreaks are the same. And you always the get the felling "I have done this before". Survival is sorry attempted at zombies and fails flat. The same COD formula is use, Level up, get guns, unlock the same attachments from every call of duty, and rinse repeat. Sad really, this game will not move the industry forward but millions will buy a half tried effort. If any other game did this it would get bashed to crap. Save your money Expand
  30. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    so in all fairness this is a 60 dlc that people pay for and yet there is call of duty elite for 50 bucks witch is dlc so your really paying 110 for map packs a broke ass story and a rip off of gears horde mode have fun kids ill stick with skyrim and bf3 ps kill confirmed is a rip off u can still camp bc your team kills get earsed not yours nobody cares about team in that that game kidsso in all fairness this is a 60 dlc that people pay for and yet there is call of duty elite for 50 bucks witch is dlc so your really paying 110 for map packs a broke ass story and a rip off of gears horde mode have fun kids ill stick with skyrim and bf3 ps kill confirmed is a rip off u can still camp bc your team kills get earsed not yours nobody cares about team in that that game kids ruin this game Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Feb 10, 2012
    90
    There's a tangible insistence from gamers that this series needs to evolve, but it seems unwarranted when it still leads the FPS class. The engine's definitely in need of an overhaul, but when it comes to thumping set-pieces and addictive multiplayer design, Modern Warfare 3 is still in a league of its own.
  2. Feb 1, 2012
    85
    By sticking to the series' strengths, Modern Warfare 3 delivers some of the best competitive, cooperate, and single-player shooting in the business.
  3. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Jan 4, 2012
    90
    As a complete package, Modern Warfare 3 takes the cake. [Jan 2012, p.67]