Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 PlayStation 3

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 5203 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 is a direct sequel to the previous game in the series, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2, with a campaign storyline continuing the struggle of U.S. forces against an invasion by the Russian Federation following the framing of an undercover U.S. agent in aCall of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 is a direct sequel to the previous game in the series, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2, with a campaign storyline continuing the struggle of U.S. forces against an invasion by the Russian Federation following the framing of an undercover U.S. agent in a terrorist attack on Moscow. Together with classic Call of Duty multi-character control, Modern Warfare 3 contains deep multiplayer support, including two-player Co-op Survival mode. The game also contains all-new Kill Streak categories and customizable strike packages that offer more options for player combat styles and strategies. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Nov 8, 2011
    100
    Modern Warfare 3 concludes the trilogy with a solo campaign that goes beyond my expectations, and a multiplayer with subtle yet efficient revisions. It boasts better balancing and takes into account the supportive players more than ever compared to the regular solo guns blazing hero. Quite comprehensive, it also re-introduces the beloved Spec Ops mode, and the launch of Call of Duty Elite grants him the best available service in that category. Even though in terms of production values, and scope of the competitive multiplayer, Battlefield 3 harms Activision's champion, it remains a title that is firmly anchored to its traditional strengths, and doesn't get lazy. The lovers will be ecstatic, the haters gonna hate.
  2. Nov 15, 2011
    90
    Modern Warfare 3 doesn't bring a lot of new stuff to the table, but it has refined single-player and multiplayer experiences to the point where they are as slick as any Hollywood production.
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    90
    Modern Warfare 3 meets expectations. The core elements of multiplayer and the campaign remain fundamentally unchanged, but the game serves as a great example of how many subtle tweaks can add up to an improved overall product.
  4. Feb 10, 2012
    90
    There's a tangible insistence from gamers that this series needs to evolve, but it seems unwarranted when it still leads the FPS class. The engine's definitely in need of an overhaul, but when it comes to thumping set-pieces and addictive multiplayer design, Modern Warfare 3 is still in a league of its own.
  5. Nov 22, 2011
    86
    It's all too familiar to MW2, and the multiplayer hasn't really changed either.
  6. Nov 28, 2011
    85
    Some will be disappointed by the fact that MW3 is not a drastic departure from previous iterations of the series and that is a very valid criticism. MW3 still offers so much content and still proves to be one of the best online experiences around. MW3 is a game that will certainly keep you busy until next year's release.
  7. Nov 8, 2011
    70
    Modern Warfare 3 doesn't reinvent gunpowder, but sticks to the recipe of the previous games in the series. With a decent story and good multiplayer it's a game worth playing, but the lack of willingness to add improvements in gameplay show a laziness often found in a complacent game series.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    So it's an expensive map-pack? Correct. However you won't find more people online playing a game with a more solid foundation and set ofSo it's an expensive map-pack? Correct. However you won't find more people online playing a game with a more solid foundation and set of mechanics. Shame? Yes. Could they have done more? Yes x2. Is it still going to keep you hooked for months? Yes x3. Collapse
  2. Apr 9, 2016
    10
    Great fun game with new characters fun multiplayer and some people hate this game and I don't know why great multiplayer and fantastic singleGreat fun game with new characters fun multiplayer and some people hate this game and I don't know why great multiplayer and fantastic single player and I may sound like a fanboy but I also play Battlefield. The only bad part is soap is dead :( fun game and I like the maps 100/100. Expand
  3. Nov 29, 2011
    9
    I would firstly start by questioning whether anyone actually realises what a sequel is. Its meant to have many qualities which are similarI would firstly start by questioning whether anyone actually realises what a sequel is. Its meant to have many qualities which are similar while adding and changing certain things and finishing the story. It's a shooter so there's only so much that can be changed. There are a few problems, hence the 9 and not 10 (you dont have to give it a 0 just because its not perfect or what you wanted). There are still flaws in the MP such as knifing through air and lag; and the campaign is too short, but these are redeemed through everything else. Before going on ill also address the whole stupid Battlefield vs MW thing. Why cant people just like both? I do. I prefer MW3 But would never say that BF3 is a bad game. They are so similar in some ways that it makes more sense to either like or hate both. The set pieces in BF3 are weak and feel lifeless no matter how interactive they tried to make them, but the MP is more strategic which is good and so why choose if I had the money id get both but couldnt (have seen BF played through and had a go though). MW3 nicely wraps up the story of the game with plenty of dramatic moments or twists which keep you interested and eager to find out what will happen next. The characters aren't very deep ( the usual macho men that you get in every war game) and yet they still manage to make you care about their fate on more than one occasion.The plot itself could be considered a little thin but does make sense and create an adequate sense of tension. The storyline moves along so quickly that some details are skimmed over and so it's hard to understand what is going on at times; on the other hand the pace keeps things interesting and no level or section of the story drags on for too long and becomes boring. The huge set-pieces in the game deliver such mind-blowing impact that you feel like youre really fighting for your life. There are just the right amount of explosions and things falling down around you to exemplify the destruction of that a third world war would bring without getting ridiculous. Each level has a different atmosphere from the last based on what had happened in the last level or the mise-en-scene of the current level. New York drops you in the middle of a fast-paced shootout through the streets, while Paris is an eerie, ghostown-like environment. Some sounds and textures may be recycled but this does not ruin anything at all. The guns have more of a 'feel' to them than in any shooter i've played. They look and sound lethal and really get you feelinf like youre firing the gun (my personal favourite being the M4A1, it just sounds so good). I don't understand most of the criticism of the visuals, they're good, no worse than any other game out there and are superior to other MW games. Despite the short campaign I did come out of it feeling satisfied because although it only took around 5 hours to finish, they were a damn good five hours and I had no problem moving on to higher difficulties just to have an excuse to play it again. Not only that, the MP and spec ops provide plenty of replatability. Spec Ops has two types now: Missions and Survival. Survival is infinitely replayable and i've actaully never got bored of playing it. Playing with different people creates a different experience and 16 levels is plenty to choose from, and despite not making new levels especially for it the MP maps also fit playing survival (actually better in some cases). The levelling up system to unlock upgrades and weapons for use in survival mode also adds an element which encourages you to play on even beyond the fact that its just genuinely fun, especially with a friend. The missions are more of a mixed bag with some being better than others but generally being very well designed. Most of them become incredibly hard (for me anyway) on veteran difficulty and so there's many many hours more gameplay in trying to complete them; additionally, what's not to like about being able to just pick a mission and jump in to a juggernaut suit anytime you like?

    The multiplayer has plenty of flaws. But every single MP i've played has for the first month or so and there's not too many compared to, say, Resistance 3. Some of the maps are a little poorly designed and too labyrinthine or just having too many, too good camping spots. However the leveling up system is a large improvement on any other MW game. The weapon levels add an extra element to how you have to improve your guns and proficiencies allow further customisation of your class. The prestige shop is a nice little touch aswell. The perks are more balanced than ever before with some countering others and needing to be used more tactically than usual. The new killstreak system with support, assault and specialist packages allow newer players to stand more of a chance and allow there to be a greater variation of killstreaks available while also rewarding players who can get the higher level killstreaks with worthwhile rewards.
    Expand
  4. Nov 20, 2011
    3
    common i wonder if call of duty is using the same engine in 15 years and the exact same formula will the critics ever give it something belowcommon i wonder if call of duty is using the same engine in 15 years and the exact same formula will the critics ever give it something below a 85? the problems its stale, irritating and boring... the cons outweigh the pros here... i bought it on release day after playing black ops for a long time and enjoying that... but i come here and its just something so unenjoyable about the game... theres alot of maps and a few i liked thats a plus a heck of alot of maps... but they are small.. im not here to write forever i wanted this to be good for me maybe its just to arcadey idk... but the bad outweighs the good IMO and thats why im here to give my IMO Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2011
    1
    I think I've played this before...Oh yes, I've played this 3 times before this. They keep putting the same game over and over again claimingI think I've played this before...Oh yes, I've played this 3 times before this. They keep putting the same game over and over again claiming that they've changed things. Since Modern Warfare, which was groundbreaking, they just released the same game and decided to charge $60 for it. I think Activision has beat another horse to death. Expand
  6. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    A game we've already seen. This is just a rehashed MW2. Enjoy buying your MW2 maps again and again. It's really saddening to see companiesA game we've already seen. This is just a rehashed MW2. Enjoy buying your MW2 maps again and again. It's really saddening to see companies like this releasing the same game over and over again, with almost nothing new. Same graphics, same sounds, same gameplay. Maybe it's time to try doing something new? Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    I honestly don't think I've evert played a worse game, period. Ony a five year old could enjoy this game, which makes sense, because those areI honestly don't think I've evert played a worse game, period. Ony a five year old could enjoy this game, which makes sense, because those are the only people online. Please, avoid the tragedy at all costs, and use your hard earned money to buy skyrim. Expand

See all 2289 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.
  2. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles Image
    Published: January 13, 2011
    Our 2011 videogame preview kicks off with a look at the two dozen most-anticipated titles that will be available for multiple platforms, from Portal 2 to Mass Effect 3.