Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 5106 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 is a direct sequel to the previous game in the series, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2, with a campaign storyline continuing the struggle of U.S. forces against an invasion by the Russian Federation following the framing of an undercover U.S. agent in aCall of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 is a direct sequel to the previous game in the series, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2, with a campaign storyline continuing the struggle of U.S. forces against an invasion by the Russian Federation following the framing of an undercover U.S. agent in a terrorist attack on Moscow. Together with classic Call of Duty multi-character control, Modern Warfare 3 contains deep multiplayer support, including two-player Co-op Survival mode. The game also contains all-new Kill Streak categories and customizable strike packages that offer more options for player combat styles and strategies. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Nov 8, 2011
    100
    Modern Warfare 3 concludes the trilogy with a solo campaign that goes beyond my expectations, and a multiplayer with subtle yet efficient revisions. It boasts better balancing and takes into account the supportive players more than ever compared to the regular solo guns blazing hero. Quite comprehensive, it also re-introduces the beloved Spec Ops mode, and the launch of Call of Duty Elite grants him the best available service in that category. Even though in terms of production values, and scope of the competitive multiplayer, Battlefield 3 harms Activision's champion, it remains a title that is firmly anchored to its traditional strengths, and doesn't get lazy. The lovers will be ecstatic, the haters gonna hate.
  2. Nov 15, 2011
    90
    Modern Warfare 3 doesn't bring a lot of new stuff to the table, but it has refined single-player and multiplayer experiences to the point where they are as slick as any Hollywood production.
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    90
    Modern Warfare 3 meets expectations. The core elements of multiplayer and the campaign remain fundamentally unchanged, but the game serves as a great example of how many subtle tweaks can add up to an improved overall product.
  4. Feb 10, 2012
    90
    There's a tangible insistence from gamers that this series needs to evolve, but it seems unwarranted when it still leads the FPS class. The engine's definitely in need of an overhaul, but when it comes to thumping set-pieces and addictive multiplayer design, Modern Warfare 3 is still in a league of its own.
  5. Nov 22, 2011
    86
    It's all too familiar to MW2, and the multiplayer hasn't really changed either.
  6. Nov 28, 2011
    85
    Some will be disappointed by the fact that MW3 is not a drastic departure from previous iterations of the series and that is a very valid criticism. MW3 still offers so much content and still proves to be one of the best online experiences around. MW3 is a game that will certainly keep you busy until next year's release.
  7. Nov 8, 2011
    70
    Modern Warfare 3 doesn't reinvent gunpowder, but sticks to the recipe of the previous games in the series. With a decent story and good multiplayer it's a game worth playing, but the lack of willingness to add improvements in gameplay show a laziness often found in a complacent game series.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    So it's an expensive map-pack? Correct. However you won't find more people online playing a game with a more solid foundation and set ofSo it's an expensive map-pack? Correct. However you won't find more people online playing a game with a more solid foundation and set of mechanics. Shame? Yes. Could they have done more? Yes x2. Is it still going to keep you hooked for months? Yes x3. Expand
  2. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    This game does not deserve the negative criticism it is being dealt. It is an excellent game and I already know that the playtime I am goingThis game does not deserve the negative criticism it is being dealt. It is an excellent game and I already know that the playtime I am going to get out of it will, by far, warrant the $60 purchase. I don't understand why people bash the game for "unoriginality." Seriously, has anyone compared Madden '08 to Madden '11? The differences between all of Madden's iterations are EXTREMELY miniscule, especially when you compare it to the changes between all of the Modern Warfare versions. Ignore the public's grudged misconception and give the game an open-minded try. You'll have some fun!! Expand
  3. Mar 19, 2012
    9
    how you lot on metacritic think mw3 is bad i don't know this is the best cod ever with a fantastic campaign brilliant multiplayer and superbhow you lot on metacritic think mw3 is bad i don't know this is the best cod ever with a fantastic campaign brilliant multiplayer and superb spec ops the only fault with the new cod is it doesn't feel as fun as cod's before it and i don't always want to play it Expand
  4. Nov 15, 2011
    3
    Honestly, this game is no different than COD 4. Its the same damn thing. Yes, it has a lot of explosions, and guns but is that really what youHonestly, this game is no different than COD 4. Its the same damn thing. Yes, it has a lot of explosions, and guns but is that really what you want? Try something new, play a more creative game. I used to love games like this, but now I just find them tiresome, and all the same. And do you really want to play online with the most immature, annoying people on this planet? If you do, pick up this rehash. 3/10, and thats generous. Expand
  5. Jan 26, 2013
    1
    This horror drudgery Shouldn't even be in call of duty. From the Boring Campaign to the horrible multiplayer maps to the desperate attempt ofThis horror drudgery Shouldn't even be in call of duty. From the Boring Campaign to the horrible multiplayer maps to the desperate attempt of the spec ops mode, there isn't really much to say here. Me? Im a cod fan, but that's going to change if Activition, Treyarch, and Infinity ward, doesn't start learning how to make games. Or at the very least, make something new. Expand
  6. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Wow what a disappointment, two years in development and that's what we get. I'm sorry to say the almighty dollar has taken over. ActivisionsWow what a disappointment, two years in development and that's what we get. I'm sorry to say the almighty dollar has taken over. Activisions greed for money killed the cod series. And now how can Activision get more money faster than shipping sub par games, let's introduce cod elite and take another half a billion dollars from gamers for something that has no use. Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    1) I don't recommend playing the single-player campaign. You're better-off watching it on youtube!!
    2) Multi-player maps suck.
    3) I don't
    1) I don't recommend playing the single-player campaign. You're better-off watching it on youtube!!
    2) Multi-player maps suck.
    3) I don't believe I paid $49 for ELITE membership. I would like a refund.
    4) Get Treyarch back cause Black Ops is bloody awesome!!
    Expand

See all 2273 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.
  2. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles Image
    Published: January 13, 2011
    Our 2011 videogame preview kicks off with a look at the two dozen most-anticipated titles that will be available for multiple platforms, from Portal 2 to Mass Effect 3.