Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 5113 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 is a direct sequel to the previous game in the series, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2, with a campaign storyline continuing the struggle of U.S. forces against an invasion by the Russian Federation following the framing of an undercover U.S. agent in aCall of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 is a direct sequel to the previous game in the series, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2, with a campaign storyline continuing the struggle of U.S. forces against an invasion by the Russian Federation following the framing of an undercover U.S. agent in a terrorist attack on Moscow. Together with classic Call of Duty multi-character control, Modern Warfare 3 contains deep multiplayer support, including two-player Co-op Survival mode. The game also contains all-new Kill Streak categories and customizable strike packages that offer more options for player combat styles and strategies. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Nov 8, 2011
    100
    Modern Warfare 3 concludes the trilogy with a solo campaign that goes beyond my expectations, and a multiplayer with subtle yet efficient revisions. It boasts better balancing and takes into account the supportive players more than ever compared to the regular solo guns blazing hero. Quite comprehensive, it also re-introduces the beloved Spec Ops mode, and the launch of Call of Duty Elite grants him the best available service in that category. Even though in terms of production values, and scope of the competitive multiplayer, Battlefield 3 harms Activision's champion, it remains a title that is firmly anchored to its traditional strengths, and doesn't get lazy. The lovers will be ecstatic, the haters gonna hate.
  2. Nov 15, 2011
    90
    Modern Warfare 3 doesn't bring a lot of new stuff to the table, but it has refined single-player and multiplayer experiences to the point where they are as slick as any Hollywood production.
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    90
    Modern Warfare 3 meets expectations. The core elements of multiplayer and the campaign remain fundamentally unchanged, but the game serves as a great example of how many subtle tweaks can add up to an improved overall product.
  4. Feb 10, 2012
    90
    There's a tangible insistence from gamers that this series needs to evolve, but it seems unwarranted when it still leads the FPS class. The engine's definitely in need of an overhaul, but when it comes to thumping set-pieces and addictive multiplayer design, Modern Warfare 3 is still in a league of its own.
  5. Nov 22, 2011
    86
    It's all too familiar to MW2, and the multiplayer hasn't really changed either.
  6. Nov 28, 2011
    85
    Some will be disappointed by the fact that MW3 is not a drastic departure from previous iterations of the series and that is a very valid criticism. MW3 still offers so much content and still proves to be one of the best online experiences around. MW3 is a game that will certainly keep you busy until next year's release.
  7. Nov 8, 2011
    70
    Modern Warfare 3 doesn't reinvent gunpowder, but sticks to the recipe of the previous games in the series. With a decent story and good multiplayer it's a game worth playing, but the lack of willingness to add improvements in gameplay show a laziness often found in a complacent game series.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    So it's an expensive map-pack? Correct. However you won't find more people online playing a game with a more solid foundation and set ofSo it's an expensive map-pack? Correct. However you won't find more people online playing a game with a more solid foundation and set of mechanics. Shame? Yes. Could they have done more? Yes x2. Is it still going to keep you hooked for months? Yes x3. Expand
  2. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    This game does not deserve the negative criticism it is being dealt. It is an excellent game and I already know that the playtime I am goingThis game does not deserve the negative criticism it is being dealt. It is an excellent game and I already know that the playtime I am going to get out of it will, by far, warrant the $60 purchase. I don't understand why people bash the game for "unoriginality." Seriously, has anyone compared Madden '08 to Madden '11? The differences between all of Madden's iterations are EXTREMELY miniscule, especially when you compare it to the changes between all of the Modern Warfare versions. Ignore the public's grudged misconception and give the game an open-minded try. You'll have some fun!! Expand
  3. Nov 30, 2011
    9
    I am really disappointed in the people that gave this game 0's. No game should deserve that. Everyone is a tyrant for doing it. I love ModernI am really disappointed in the people that gave this game 0's. No game should deserve that. Everyone is a tyrant for doing it. I love Modern Warfare 3 Expand
  4. Nov 15, 2011
    3
    I really wanted to like this game, I really did. I enjoyed MW1, loved MW2, liked Black Ops, a lot, but was disappointed with Modern Warfare 3.I really wanted to like this game, I really did. I enjoyed MW1, loved MW2, liked Black Ops, a lot, but was disappointed with Modern Warfare 3. Everything people are saying about it being a rehashed version of MW2 are correct. It feels like the same game with nothing new or original about it. Same game with a few new maps. The campaign was stale and formulaic, same game as MW2 with nothing new in the visual graphics department. Midway through the campaign, I was like, "ugh when will this game end?" After the campaign I started the multiplayer and it felt EXACTLY like MW2 with new maps. Played a few matches for about an hour, got bored with it and put it down and started playing playing Skyrim. Modern Warfare 3 feels uninspired and is just more of the same COD with new maps. Not worth my time playing it and i feel like it was a wasted $60 bucks. It's too bad, cause I was really looking forward to this game. But I was met with a big disappointment. Looks like the real COD killer was Activision and COD itself. Time to move on and play something else. Expand
  5. Feb 22, 2013
    1
    I almost smashed my console when i tried this game. After playing it like half a year, i have made my mind. This is not MW 2.5. This is MWI almost smashed my console when i tried this game. After playing it like half a year, i have made my mind. This is not MW 2.5. This is MW 2.1. Incredible lack of innovation mark this game's campaign and multiplayer. Let's start with the positives. SpecOps missions are somewhat fun to play, Survival offers somewhat like zombies from BO: Kill someone, you earn money and you can buy weapons, perks and more. Now you can level up in these missions, and, like multiplayer, you unlock new stuff to buy at Survival. Now, the negatives. The singleplayer is esentially the same from MW2 Like the last "Die Hard" movie, it's all about explosions and firefights. Predictable plot twists and not-so-good storytelling ruin the campaign. Killing enemies that lack the brain to take cover and just run into your bullets makes the campaign boring and leaves a deja-vu effect if you played MW2. Now, with the star of the game, multiplayer. In my opinion, MW2 added a lot of stuff that ruined the game, like deathstreaks and a nuke. The only thing fixed in MW3 are the grenade launcher's blast radius. Terrible weapon balance, overpowered perks and even worse map design with lots of camping spots (yes, campers are back), terrible spawns and bad hit detection. Visual glitches and some unfixed issues (like teammates shoving you) are still present. Oh, and now the nuke is called M.O.A.B. but it doesn't end the match, just kills everyone. However, it's still a stupid killstreak. Overall, MW3 has the same graphics, same weapons with other name and same problems MW2 had. Do not buy this 60-bucks expansion pack. Expand
  6. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Wow what a disappointment, two years in development and that's what we get. I'm sorry to say the almighty dollar has taken over. ActivisionsWow what a disappointment, two years in development and that's what we get. I'm sorry to say the almighty dollar has taken over. Activisions greed for money killed the cod series. And now how can Activision get more money faster than shipping sub par games, let's introduce cod elite and take another half a billion dollars from gamers for something that has no use. Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Very disappointed! I was hoping MW3 would address the long running online issues such as lag, joining friend's party, server time out issues,Very disappointed! I was hoping MW3 would address the long running online issues such as lag, joining friend's party, server time out issues, etc but this has sorted none of them. Tried playing last night with 3 friends, 2 couldn't join my party yet we could all join another persons, when we were in game lobby 2 of us kept getting kicked out. If this was released as a map pack for £10 I might have thought I was getting a good deal as this is just MW2 all over again with no improvement. Do not waste your money on this title and I'm just glad I rented it before I brought it as it is not worth £20 let alone £40!!! Expand

See all 2274 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.
  2. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles Image
    Published: January 13, 2011
    Our 2011 videogame preview kicks off with a look at the two dozen most-anticipated titles that will be available for multiple platforms, from Portal 2 to Mass Effect 3.