Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 5134 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 is a direct sequel to the previous game in the series, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2, with a campaign storyline continuing the struggle of U.S. forces against an invasion by the Russian Federation following the framing of an undercover U.S. agent in aCall of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 is a direct sequel to the previous game in the series, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2, with a campaign storyline continuing the struggle of U.S. forces against an invasion by the Russian Federation following the framing of an undercover U.S. agent in a terrorist attack on Moscow. Together with classic Call of Duty multi-character control, Modern Warfare 3 contains deep multiplayer support, including two-player Co-op Survival mode. The game also contains all-new Kill Streak categories and customizable strike packages that offer more options for player combat styles and strategies. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Nov 8, 2011
    100
    Modern Warfare 3 concludes the trilogy with a solo campaign that goes beyond my expectations, and a multiplayer with subtle yet efficient revisions. It boasts better balancing and takes into account the supportive players more than ever compared to the regular solo guns blazing hero. Quite comprehensive, it also re-introduces the beloved Spec Ops mode, and the launch of Call of Duty Elite grants him the best available service in that category. Even though in terms of production values, and scope of the competitive multiplayer, Battlefield 3 harms Activision's champion, it remains a title that is firmly anchored to its traditional strengths, and doesn't get lazy. The lovers will be ecstatic, the haters gonna hate.
  2. Nov 15, 2011
    90
    Modern Warfare 3 doesn't bring a lot of new stuff to the table, but it has refined single-player and multiplayer experiences to the point where they are as slick as any Hollywood production.
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    90
    Modern Warfare 3 meets expectations. The core elements of multiplayer and the campaign remain fundamentally unchanged, but the game serves as a great example of how many subtle tweaks can add up to an improved overall product.
  4. Feb 10, 2012
    90
    There's a tangible insistence from gamers that this series needs to evolve, but it seems unwarranted when it still leads the FPS class. The engine's definitely in need of an overhaul, but when it comes to thumping set-pieces and addictive multiplayer design, Modern Warfare 3 is still in a league of its own.
  5. Nov 22, 2011
    86
    It's all too familiar to MW2, and the multiplayer hasn't really changed either.
  6. Nov 28, 2011
    85
    Some will be disappointed by the fact that MW3 is not a drastic departure from previous iterations of the series and that is a very valid criticism. MW3 still offers so much content and still proves to be one of the best online experiences around. MW3 is a game that will certainly keep you busy until next year's release.
  7. Nov 8, 2011
    70
    Modern Warfare 3 doesn't reinvent gunpowder, but sticks to the recipe of the previous games in the series. With a decent story and good multiplayer it's a game worth playing, but the lack of willingness to add improvements in gameplay show a laziness often found in a complacent game series.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    So it's an expensive map-pack? Correct. However you won't find more people online playing a game with a more solid foundation and set ofSo it's an expensive map-pack? Correct. However you won't find more people online playing a game with a more solid foundation and set of mechanics. Shame? Yes. Could they have done more? Yes x2. Is it still going to keep you hooked for months? Yes x3. Expand
  2. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Every year the same game......this mw3 doesn't value my â
  3. Nov 30, 2011
    9
    I am really disappointed in the people that gave this game 0's. No game should deserve that. Everyone is a tyrant for doing it. I love ModernI am really disappointed in the people that gave this game 0's. No game should deserve that. Everyone is a tyrant for doing it. I love Modern Warfare 3 Expand
  4. Nov 15, 2011
    3
    Well I bought this with an open mind. Even looking forward to the new MW in the series and I have to say to say I am disappointed. ConsideringWell I bought this with an open mind. Even looking forward to the new MW in the series and I have to say to say I am disappointed. Considering the money they have made off this series the poor execution of this game is inexcusable.While I haven't played the campaign portion ( I find them all generally to be the same anyways), the multiplayer portion looks terribly 2009. There were games in 2009 that looked better than this one. The maps are good overall, exciting gameplay anyway. But they seem very generic. I don't have a sense of excitement when certain maps coming up. Even Black Ops as glitchy as it was had some maps I still enjoy playing. That game had better graphics as well. I might be trading this one for BF3. From what I've seen online it seems way more advanced. Epic fail Activision. Expand
  5. May 28, 2013
    1
    This game deserves NO credit, it was Modern Warfare 2 with an add-on pack of maps. Everything was much better in MW2 than here. The levelThis game deserves NO credit, it was Modern Warfare 2 with an add-on pack of maps. Everything was much better in MW2 than here. The level aesthetically is wonderful, but the re-spawn is atrocious, no game have I hated more than this, and it's not because of difficulty, this game was fundamentally broken. Then to top that, was lag, campers, terrible matchmaking, clan upon clan in TDM, it was a complete joke that had me searching for reason to why I had this crappy game.
    Again, I've never played a crappy game, and I've played them all. This one sucked, stand against the hype, and thats all this one was.
    Expand
  6. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Wow what a disappointment, two years in development and that's what we get. I'm sorry to say the almighty dollar has taken over. ActivisionsWow what a disappointment, two years in development and that's what we get. I'm sorry to say the almighty dollar has taken over. Activisions greed for money killed the cod series. And now how can Activision get more money faster than shipping sub par games, let's introduce cod elite and take another half a billion dollars from gamers for something that has no use. Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Bought this game, took it home, and played it. Then I realized the game I was playing was one that I already owned. I had owned several copiesBought this game, took it home, and played it. Then I realized the game I was playing was one that I already owned. I had owned several copies of this game. Why did I even go out and buy it? I thought it was new game, but I already have three of them. Expand

See all 2276 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.
  2. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles Image
    Published: January 13, 2011
    Our 2011 videogame preview kicks off with a look at the two dozen most-anticipated titles that will be available for multiple platforms, from Portal 2 to Mass Effect 3.