Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 318 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Utilizing the Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare engine, Call of Duty: World at War throws out the rulebook of war to transform WWII combat through a new enemy, new tactics and an uncensored experience of the climatic battles that gripped a generation. As U.S. Marines and Russian soldiers, players employ new features like cooperative gameplay, and weapons such as the flamethrower in the most chaotic and cinematically intense experience to date. Call of Duty: World at War introduces co-operative play, bringing fresh meaning to the "No One Fights Alone" mantra with up to four-players online for Xbox 360, PS3 and PC, or two-player local split-screen on consoles. Nintendo Wii will also support a unique co-op mode for two players. For the first time ever players can experience harrowing single-player missions together for greater camaraderie and tactical execution. The co-op campaign allows players to rank up and unlock perks in competitive multiplayer by completing challenges and earning experience points, adding continuous re-playability and team-based gameplay. Whether playing competitively or cooperatively – if players are online with Call of Duty: World at War – they always gain experience points. Based on a player’s experience rank and rank of the player's friends, Call of Duty: World at War scales dynamically to provide a deeper level of challenge. [Activision] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Packed with extras, World At War is a fast, frantic, exciting and emotionally draining shooter. This is how a war game should be. [Dec 2008, p.66]
  2. 92
    This is a solid, confident shooter with plenty to offer the casual and hardcore alike.
  3. World at War also sees the implementation of four-player co-operative gameplay online, and two-player split-screen, with options for a meta-game or just regular co-op. Despite its smooth running, the co-op isn't the most effective we've seen - getting further in the game on co-op won't unlock those missions on Solo - which seems a bit backward compared to other titles.
  4. Call of Duty fans should still enjoy what Call of Duty: World at War has to offer. Fans of Call of Duty 2 who found themselves utterly disappointed by COD3 should absolutely love everything that World at War offers.
  5. One of the best shooters this year, Call of Duty: World At War is an explosive and powerful cinematic experience.
  6. While it's a shame that the campaign isn't as good as its predecessor's, World at War sticks to what made Modern Warfare great: a solid multiplayer experience that can last you months.
  7. Treyarch has taken just enough from COD4 to make World At War a broad success, but it remains firmly in its shadow. [Christmas 2008, p.90]

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 79
  2. Negative: 19 out of 79
  1. KevinW.
    Nov 15, 2008
    10
    If you enjoy the online part of call of duty, GET THIS GAME!!! Its similar to Call of Duty 4 but at the same time its different and its TIGHT!!! Trust me, this game is definitely going to keep me occupied until the next call of duty or hardcore shooter comes out. Expand
  2. Dec 28, 2012
    10
    My favourite Call of Duty game. The simplicity of CoD4 plus the awesome maps and WW2 atmosphere makes for a very, very fun MP game. It may not be addictive as, say, MW2, but the fun factor more than makes up for that. Collapse
  3. JackH
    Nov 12, 2008
    9
    This game deserves a lot more credit than it's gotten. Aside from the very first mission in the game...it's all pretty well written...more intense than CoD4 even. The differences and why it is still worth a full purchase: It really wouldn't of made sense for them to make another modern warfare game Right after CoD4...people would be even more critical saying that treyarch ripped off it it too much...and they couldn't of made this game a futuristic warfare game (like the year 2100...nothing too sci fi) because that wouldn't leave much room for Infinity ward to expand on when they do call of duty 6. Yes, there are plenty of WWII shooters out there...but this is the best, by far. Everything you loved about CoD4 with more action and vehicles etc...with the exception of it's cool weapons. You owe it to yourself to get this game. if you enjoyed CoD4 don't let false premonitions keep you from this title...Buy. Expand
  4. Oct 8, 2012
    7
    I reckon this was the last truly great campaign the CoD franchise made. This game draws you into the horrible events that occurred during the Second World War. The way this game makes you feel is that you can die at anytime and you are always expecting to be shot at out of nowhere. What makes this different to all the other CoD's is that you aren't a one man army in this game and you have to hide and take cover if you want to live. If you play like the way you play in Black ops or MW3 you will certainly get your face shot off instantly by the enemy. The online play to was also fun but was improved upon by Black Ops. Expand
  5. Oct 29, 2013
    6
    Not too epic but really awesome, has great missions and has NAZI ZOMBIES mode, but the zombies are creepy, not to epic game, even though, the final mission isn't really cool, just run to the base and put the flag. Expand
  6. ZachA.
    Nov 24, 2008
    5
    Where do I start? Well, the campaign is an amazing triumph of gaming engineering, and how Treyarch and Activision have put this story mode together is marvellous! There are faults in the campaign, which, give them their due is unavoidable. Some minor faults that are unavoidable are the ridiculous glitches with characters and how they can merge into a wall and glitch so badly that you cannot carry on in your conquest of Europe. The face is, Activision/Treyarch, you could iron out these faults I believe. I'll start with the Pacific side of the campaign now, with these pathetic (OK, maybe that did happen in real life) Banzai Chargers that in one hit put you down on the floor like a sack of steaming turds. I'm sure everyone feels this way when I say; "JUST DIE YOU DAMN BANZAIS!". The only way you are ever going to clear these out of your path of destruction is to Flamethrower the buggers! There are many other annoying aspects of the campaign, but I do not have the time, nor the energy to type my fingers down until they are bleeding and oozing stubby clumps attached to my hands! Settle down reader. The online is a trecherous and unforgiving pile of useless boring crap. If any fan of Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare would agree, that would probably the best FPS game that I have ever come across, but then came Call of Duty: World at War. With this came the same gameplay and huge maps, unrealistic melee attacks, over powered, but surprisingly under powered sub-machine guns, gastly and an unlimited combination of perks and weapon choice, out of proportion characters compared to the maps, incredibly rabid dogs, the unexplainable concept of attack dogs that might as well be flying, under powered rifle, weirdly put together bolt-acion rifles when you attach a sniper scope that somehow makes these guns one hit kill to the torso and head when they take two torso shots if you attach the bayonet or grenade launcher. Take a little breather... ANYWAY! I'll start on the kniving now. It sounds like someone is thwacking you over the back of the head with a plank of drift wood wrapped in a cotton sheet. To be honest, it makes me crap my pants sometimes when some cheeky punk sneeks up behind me and "pounds me to death with cotton wrapped drift wood", and it gets increasingly annoying. Bouncing Betty's are even more annoying due to the fact that they are more persistently used and insanely destructive to the human virtual body. My theory is that if you trigger one - Bouncing Betty - and it jumps up and explodes, lie down as quickly as possible to avoid its nuclear asplosion. Perks. The "Second Chance" perk which is exactly the same as Last Stand from Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare, has an added extra which allows you to revive any other user of Second Chance on your team. Ingenius, but rather silly. Hallelujah for Martydom, and the explosion range being reduced! There you see, I did have a good point about the online... Tanks, awesome and tremendous addition. The uselessness of a Molotov Cocktail, I am really unable to comprehend. Sticky Grenades suck as much as the Molotov's. Every Rifle on this game, are rendered useless if you have attached a Flash Hider or Supressor. The M1 Garand rifle, ordinarily takes around three shots the finish an enemy off, but when the sniper scope is attached, then it's one hit kill. THAT DOESN'T MAKE SENSE! I feel that there are far too many challenges in the fifth episode of the Call of Duty series. And if this is Treyarch's/Activision's idea of "occupying" the player with an impossibly large amount of challenges to complete, THEN THEY ARE BADLY MISTAKEN! Right then, my neck and eyes hurt. My finger tips are sore because my anger and disappointment towards Call of Duty: World at War has forced me to literally mash the buttons in to type this comment. In my opinion, this game is such a flop and bores me so horribly, that I would be able to purge vomit through my eyes and ears. I know thousands will disagree, so be it! Thanks very much! Expand
  7. [Anonymous]
    Nov 18, 2008
    0
    Terrible, absolutely terrible. Takes Call of Duty IV and makes it even worse. If you're looking for the same shooter that you've been playing for the past 5 years, get this. If you want something new, go get Mirror's Edge. Expand

See all 79 User Reviews