Call of Duty: World at War Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 398 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Utilizing the Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare engine, Call of Duty: World at War throws out the rulebook of war to transform WWII combat through a new enemy, new tactics and an uncensored experience of the climatic battles that gripped a generation. As U.S. Marines and Russian soldiers,Utilizing the Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare engine, Call of Duty: World at War throws out the rulebook of war to transform WWII combat through a new enemy, new tactics and an uncensored experience of the climatic battles that gripped a generation. As U.S. Marines and Russian soldiers, players employ new features like cooperative gameplay, and weapons such as the flamethrower in the most chaotic and cinematically intense experience to date. Call of Duty: World at War introduces co-operative play, bringing fresh meaning to the "No One Fights Alone" mantra with up to four-players online for Xbox 360, PS3 and PC, or two-player local split-screen on consoles. Nintendo Wii will also support a unique co-op mode for two players. For the first time ever players can experience harrowing single-player missions together for greater camaraderie and tactical execution. The co-op campaign allows players to rank up and unlock perks in competitive multiplayer by completing challenges and earning experience points, adding continuous re-playability and team-based gameplay. Whether playing competitively or cooperatively – if players are online with Call of Duty: World at War – they always gain experience points. Based on a player’s experience rank and rank of the player's friends, Call of Duty: World at War scales dynamically to provide a deeper level of challenge. [Activision] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. PSW Magazine UK
    100
    Packed with extras, World At War is a fast, frantic, exciting and emotionally draining shooter. This is how a war game should be. [Dec 2008, p.66]
  2. Treyarch did a remarkable job of breathing new life into the WWII shooter. They followed the conventions outlined by Infinity Ward to a tee and, as a result, created a shooter that is every bit as good as last year's entry. Of course, there isn't a whole lot of innovation this time around, but the increased Multiplayer options, new settings, and great enemy A.I. should more than satisfy all but the most jaded Infinity Ward fanboys.
  3. A stunning game that doesn't miss a beat from start to finish and includes one of the most feature packed multiplayer components of any game released this year.
  4. While not on par with Infinity Ward’s Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare, World at War is better than Treyarch’s last entry, Call of Duty 3.
  5. One of the best shooters this year, Call of Duty: World At War is an explosive and powerful cinematic experience.
  6. Unfortunately a large shadow in the shape of last year's game hangs heavy over everything in World at War. Admittedly the feel is excellent, the visuals and audio work strong, but any overt enthusiasm is tempered by the knowledge that in twelve months time we'll perhaps be thinking the same thing about part six: that we've seen it all before, that in itself each Call of Duty is still one of the best rollercoaster rides outside of Hollywood's summer season, that Modern Warfare did it all better.
  7. Edge Magazine
    60
    Treyarch has taken just enough from COD4 to make World At War a broad success, but it remains firmly in its shadow. [Christmas 2008, p.90]

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 93
  2. Negative: 19 out of 93
  1. KevinW.
    Nov 15, 2008
    10
    If you enjoy the online part of call of duty, GET THIS GAME!!! Its similar to Call of Duty 4 but at the same time its different and its If you enjoy the online part of call of duty, GET THIS GAME!!! Its similar to Call of Duty 4 but at the same time its different and its TIGHT!!! Trust me, this game is definitely going to keep me occupied until the next call of duty or hardcore shooter comes out. Collapse
  2. Nov 11, 2012
    10
    This is the best Call of Duty in the series. MW is a crappy lame boring series that put me to sleep..Cannot wait for the true COD made by theThis is the best Call of Duty in the series. MW is a crappy lame boring series that put me to sleep..Cannot wait for the true COD made by the better company. BO2 is gonna rock. Expand
  3. Nov 18, 2015
    9
    So I took this game off the shelf hoping that maybe there are people still playing this game online and thankfully there are. So for lastSo I took this game off the shelf hoping that maybe there are people still playing this game online and thankfully there are. So for last couple of days I've been playing this game and I must say, even after seven year this game is still so much more fun to play than the last 4 or 5 COD. How crazy is that. Expand
  4. Aug 17, 2011
    8
    The single-player is decently long and interesting though it didn't have many OMG moments. I didn't play the multiplayer. "Nazi Zombies" isThe single-player is decently long and interesting though it didn't have many OMG moments. I didn't play the multiplayer. "Nazi Zombies" is great fun especially with friends or random people of the internet. The graphics looked a bit grainy but the lighting was good Expand
  5. timmeho
    Jan 5, 2009
    7
    I enjoyed the game well sort of, it keep me entertained for a while. i havnt played cod4 online but i enjoyed COD WW online, it wasnt I enjoyed the game well sort of, it keep me entertained for a while. i havnt played cod4 online but i enjoyed COD WW online, it wasnt realistic at all with it's silly weapon upgrades eg. red dot targeting in a ww2 game but it was fun, unless the host had a shit connection which became increasingly frequent, i did also enjoy the single player campaign but didnt notice quiet a few flaws which did upset me a little as if no care was taken into making this game, dont get me wrong i enjoyed the game i just felt like it could have been just so much better with a little more effort. im not gonna write a full page im just going to skip to the points, it feels like the AI are scripted which is because they are, which is dissapointing becasue if you die and try again its exactly the same as before, they AI also hav a habit of just targeting you the main player, as if its a one man war, and your fellow soilders just suck, theres no other word for it, maybe thats why they just target you????? but honestly the game is fun despite it flaws, the graphics are decent not ground breaking or out of this world but good enough, it is a brutal game, violent but then the guns are silly. sniper rifles kill with one shot almost regardles of where you shot the person, and the same gun without a scope it takes 2 shots, i am a ww2 fan but im struggling find anything new, they are all just slight variations of the one recipe and it's become quiet boring, the gameplays just completely linear, the AI are scripted and stupid but they can be incredibly accurate at the same time, i feel these game producers are just becoming lazy they dont care anymore as if no matter what crap they put out it will sell because there is nothing else, the huge amouts of space on blu ray discs and awsome power of the ps3 arent gettting used by the slightest. i still did enjoy this game, BUT rent before yu buy becasue the campiagns short and the multiplayer is well no other word than silly tho i enjoyed it, others may not. i could go on about the banzias melee attackes and the sometimes very repative gameplay etc etc. but i did enjoy this game because compared to other ww2 games, as it does bring some new aspects and is quiet fun and entertaining but still very much the same everywhere else. to conclude, MY OPINON IS THAT this is a great game, but far from a fantastic game. Expand
  6. JustinA.
    Feb 4, 2009
    5
    The game is decent. Nothing new from COD4 but online is pretty fun. My only gribe with online death match is the cheaters. Some people know The game is decent. Nothing new from COD4 but online is pretty fun. My only gribe with online death match is the cheaters. Some people know how to glitch the maps and walk underneath them being totally untargetable by other players. They then proceed to shoot everyone that walks by, getting free easy kills. The developers desperately need to release a patch to fix this or I will stop playing. Expand
  7. [Anonymous]
    Nov 18, 2008
    0
    Terrible, absolutely terrible. Takes Call of Duty IV and makes it even worse. If you're looking for the same shooter that you've Terrible, absolutely terrible. Takes Call of Duty IV and makes it even worse. If you're looking for the same shooter that you've been playing for the past 5 years, get this. If you want something new, go get Mirror's Edge. Expand

See all 93 User Reviews