Call of Juarez: Gunslinger PlayStation 3

Call of Juarez: Gunslinger Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 146 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: From the dust of a gold mine to the dirt of a saloon, Call of Juarez Gunslinger is an homage to the Wild West tales. Live the epic and violent journey of a ruthless bounty hunter onto the trail of the West's most notorious outlaws. Blurring the lines between man and myth, this adventure madeFrom the dust of a gold mine to the dirt of a saloon, Call of Juarez Gunslinger is an homage to the Wild West tales. Live the epic and violent journey of a ruthless bounty hunter onto the trail of the West's most notorious outlaws. Blurring the lines between man and myth, this adventure made of memorable encounters unveils the untold truth behind some of the greatest legends of the Old West. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. May 26, 2013
    80
    An action-packed love letter to the old west, and with its engaging combat, charming sense of style and overall craziness you really can’t say no to the entertainment of this shooting gallery.
  2. Play UK
    Jun 24, 2013
    80
    A pretty, interesting and thoroughly enjoyable shooter that somehow trumps the rest of the Juarez games despite being a fraction of the price. [Issue#232, p.85]
  3. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Sep 4, 2013
    80
    What you get in the first hour of Call Juarez: Gunslinger, is exactly the same you will get in the next three or four hours of its story mode. So prepare for absolutely no surprises down the line. Still, Techland did a fine job constructing each level, making Gunslinger a fun ride through the Wild West. [June 2013, p.92]
  4. May 24, 2013
    75
    Why it puts such emphasis on its broken dueling mechanic is confounding, and its ludicrous load times and occasional crashes are marks against it, but the good beats out the bad and the ugly.
  5. Jun 9, 2013
    70
    The new Call of Juarez feels like an ode to the Wild Wild West. Although it doesn't bring anything new to the table, it has some pretty amazing shoot-outs and a few impressive Lucky Luke-like surroundings.
  6. May 24, 2013
    70
    Call of Juarez: Gunslinger is an action-packed game that you will enjoy since the very first minute. Exploration is not one of its strong points, nor is it interaction with your surroundings, but the narration will get you hooked until the very end of the strange story of gunslinger Silas Greaves.
  7. Jul 26, 2013
    50
    Gunslinger feels like a by-the-numbers shooter with a narrative gimmick that, put in the right hands, could’ve made for a truly compelling experience. As it stands, it overall feels like a way to pad out the length (it’s already pretty short at about five hours).

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    This game is such a surprise! And a damn good one The graphics are nice, the story with this old and funny bounty hunter losing his mindThis game is such a surprise! And a damn good one The graphics are nice, the story with this old and funny bounty hunter losing his mind talking about his past is just hilarious, and the arcade experience gives to Gunslinger a pretty original taste. I can't wait for the next one! The worthy heir of Django Unchained in video games, my two cents! Expand
  2. May 4, 2016
    9
    This game is one of the best games I have played. Graphics are outstanding for a PS3 game. Guns feel like they have a kick to them and theyThis game is one of the best games I have played. Graphics are outstanding for a PS3 game. Guns feel like they have a kick to them and they feel powerful too. I also love the skill tree as this adds so much replay value to the game, allowing you to try out different playstyles. If you are a fan of the Borderlands series or just like cowboy games, then this is the game for you! (p.s. I'm hoping that they release a PS4 remastered version as I sadly only got to experience this game quite recently). Expand
  3. Jun 2, 2013
    9
    Gunslinger is a pure shooter experience that should be played by any fan of the FPS genre. It's humor makes the ride all the more enjoyableGunslinger is a pure shooter experience that should be played by any fan of the FPS genre. It's humor makes the ride all the more enjoyable with the narration throughout the game being akin to the also wonderful game, Bastion. If you want a short but thrilling romp though the old west that requires a quick trigger finger and not much else, be sure to download this gem. Expand
  4. Jan 27, 2014
    8
    A fantastic game. Considering it is a PSN game, it is amazing. Fun from the beginning to the ending. Some very good graphics, although at someA fantastic game. Considering it is a PSN game, it is amazing. Fun from the beginning to the ending. Some very good graphics, although at some times the frame rate drops to almost static. But I only had it that bad twice through the game. It's a fun western shooter, very solid mechanics, interesting presentation, nice story. And damn, you'll shoot like crazy. Like someone said, it comes from a school of fun video games, like Blood Dragon. Well, the length is ok, but since it gets kind of repetitive, I though it lasted 1 or 2 hours longer than it should. But it was a truly fun, frantic, fine shooter. It is not a blockbuster, mind you, don't expect it to be Red Dead or even the previously Juarez. It is just plain fun, and that's it. Expand
  5. Dec 1, 2015
    8
    First of all, let me preface this by saying that I am a huge Western fan and that I'm grateful for almost any game that scratches that itch.First of all, let me preface this by saying that I am a huge Western fan and that I'm grateful for almost any game that scratches that itch. Having said that, this is one of the funnest games I've played and I've played plenty. The first Call of Juarez games were good, solid FPS games and a good time overall, but they weren't great. This game not only refined the formula, but added a sweet XP system that allows upgrades for your weapons. The game has a western spaghetti, cartoony vibe thanks to some sweet cell-shaded graphics and a muted color palette. But the real icing on the cake is the narrative, you play an old gunslinger, Silas Greaves recalling his adventures in the old west to a bunch of strangers in a bar. And the narrative, which is often interrupted by the doubtful gathering or even by Silas's need to urinate, is constantly changing as you play. It also happens to be a super cheap deal for the price and a new game plus allows to you to keep your weapon upgrade progress as you replay the game on new difficulties. Absolutely recommended. Expand
  6. Jun 24, 2015
    8
    Pure, arcade-style shooter fun. There's a surprising amount of content for a downloadable game. For $14.99 you get a fully fleshed outPure, arcade-style shooter fun. There's a surprising amount of content for a downloadable game. For $14.99 you get a fully fleshed out campaign and two other modes. Multiplayer unfortunately isn't one of them, but that isn't really a bad thing here. "Gunslinger" is proof that single-player FPS games can still provide enough thrills on their own.

    There's a surprisingly great story here backed up by fantastic voice acting. It plays off of the absurdity of old western stories giving it a great sense of humor and over-the-top action that translates to the gameplay. The story mode is a linear affair, but the action is so solid and fun the way it is set up doesn't matter. The way it dishes out points for how you kill enemies will keep you trying your best to line up those shots until they are jus right. If you can forgive a few tediously designed boss battles the campaign is a real treat. With unlockable difficulties, skills to unlock, two endings, and a new game plus mode there are plenty of reasons to come back after the credits roll.

    After you're done playing and replaying the campaign the arcade mode will keep you coming back. This time it's all about the score. Attacking fast and furious will get your points up, but be cautious because you only get one shot. It's easily the better of the two extra modes and the one you will come back to. Duel mode isn't necessarily bad, but the dueling mechanics themselves are a bit awkward. Managing speed and focus before you draw doesn't always seem to matter as sometimes the AI just has the better luck. It's there if you need it, but I don't expect it to keep people coming back.

    It's an action packed spaghetti western that's a heck of a lot of fun. With action this solid and theme this well fleshed out you'll be hard pressed to find a better game set in the wild west outside of Red Dead Redemption. If you are looking to strap on a six-shooter and blow away some varmints this is the game for you. There's enough replayable content to keep you busy for a while. At the price of a downloadable game it's even harder to pass up. A few issues get in the way, but it doesn't change the fact that this game can be a blast.
    Expand
  7. Jul 29, 2013
    6
    Good game but felt like something was missing. Whilst Id like to judge it by itself, but i cant help but compare it to Red Dead Redemption inGood game but felt like something was missing. Whilst Id like to judge it by itself, but i cant help but compare it to Red Dead Redemption in particular, the storyline. There was nothing compelling about it-only a small part of the latter part of the game is interesting.Its just a shooting game, nothing more-it provides a weak storyline. I do praise the presentation and how he story is presented and the fact that its a narrative in a bar/pub adds good atmosphere. Gameplay good but repetitive after a while. Expand

See all 21 User Reviews