Call of Juarez: Gunslinger PlayStation 3

Call of Juarez: Gunslinger Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 137 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: From the dust of a gold mine to the dirt of a saloon, Call of Juarez Gunslinger is an homage to the Wild West tales. Live the epic and violent journey of a ruthless bounty hunter onto the trail of the West's most notorious outlaws. Blurring the lines between man and myth, this adventure madeFrom the dust of a gold mine to the dirt of a saloon, Call of Juarez Gunslinger is an homage to the Wild West tales. Live the epic and violent journey of a ruthless bounty hunter onto the trail of the West's most notorious outlaws. Blurring the lines between man and myth, this adventure made of memorable encounters unveils the untold truth behind some of the greatest legends of the Old West. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. May 26, 2013
    80
    An action-packed love letter to the old west, and with its engaging combat, charming sense of style and overall craziness you really can’t say no to the entertainment of this shooting gallery.
  2. Play UK
    Jun 24, 2013
    80
    A pretty, interesting and thoroughly enjoyable shooter that somehow trumps the rest of the Juarez games despite being a fraction of the price. [Issue#232, p.85]
  3. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Sep 4, 2013
    80
    What you get in the first hour of Call Juarez: Gunslinger, is exactly the same you will get in the next three or four hours of its story mode. So prepare for absolutely no surprises down the line. Still, Techland did a fine job constructing each level, making Gunslinger a fun ride through the Wild West. [June 2013, p.92]
  4. May 24, 2013
    75
    Why it puts such emphasis on its broken dueling mechanic is confounding, and its ludicrous load times and occasional crashes are marks against it, but the good beats out the bad and the ugly.
  5. Jun 9, 2013
    70
    The new Call of Juarez feels like an ode to the Wild Wild West. Although it doesn't bring anything new to the table, it has some pretty amazing shoot-outs and a few impressive Lucky Luke-like surroundings.
  6. May 24, 2013
    70
    Call of Juarez: Gunslinger is an action-packed game that you will enjoy since the very first minute. Exploration is not one of its strong points, nor is it interaction with your surroundings, but the narration will get you hooked until the very end of the strange story of gunslinger Silas Greaves.
  7. Jul 26, 2013
    50
    Gunslinger feels like a by-the-numbers shooter with a narrative gimmick that, put in the right hands, could’ve made for a truly compelling experience. As it stands, it overall feels like a way to pad out the length (it’s already pretty short at about five hours).

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Jun 6, 2013
    10
    This game is such a surprise! And a damn good one The graphics are nice, the story with this old and funny bounty hunter losing his mindThis game is such a surprise! And a damn good one The graphics are nice, the story with this old and funny bounty hunter losing his mind talking about his past is just hilarious, and the arcade experience gives to Gunslinger a pretty original taste. I can't wait for the next one! The worthy heir of Django Unchained in video games, my two cents! Collapse
  2. May 4, 2016
    9
    This game is one of the best games I have played. Graphics are outstanding for a PS3 game. Guns feel like they have a kick to them and theyThis game is one of the best games I have played. Graphics are outstanding for a PS3 game. Guns feel like they have a kick to them and they feel powerful too. I also love the skill tree as this adds so much replay value to the game, allowing you to try out different playstyles. If you are a fan of the Borderlands series or just like cowboy games, then this is the game for you! (p.s. I'm hoping that they release a PS4 remastered version as I sadly only got to experience this game quite recently). Expand
  3. May 28, 2013
    9
    This game is pure arcade shooter FUN. No pretentious story criticizing a political ideology just a throwback to PS2 era shooters that weren'tThis game is pure arcade shooter FUN. No pretentious story criticizing a political ideology just a throwback to PS2 era shooters that weren't afraid to be a fun VIDEO GAME. Lots of content here, more than some $60 games, for $15 and runs very well on PS3. The story was good cheesy fun and the setting of the Wild West is not played out or grim like modern combat games. This is a linear game and not a open world shooter. No multiplayer but I am OK with that. Controls are perfect and satisfying. Hard to spend a better $15 on video games these days. Expand
  4. Nov 20, 2013
    8
    Call of Juarez: Gunslinger is a really fun game and a fresh take on the wild west. The story starts out kinda boring but gets way better, itCall of Juarez: Gunslinger is a really fun game and a fresh take on the wild west. The story starts out kinda boring but gets way better, it also has a really good ending. The graphics are amazing, the shading looks great. The gameplay is phenomenal, one of the funnest games of the year. I got this game with a Playstation Plus discount, originally it is $14.99 but on sale it was $3.75, quite a steel. If you have Playstation Plus than go buy this game right now. Hopefully this game comes to retail. Overall Score= 80/100 Expand
  5. Jul 10, 2015
    8
    I really enjoyed this game, more than I thought I would. Nice 6-7 hour romp through the Wild West with a pretty solid narration/story as youI really enjoyed this game, more than I thought I would. Nice 6-7 hour romp through the Wild West with a pretty solid narration/story as you go. Good fights and areas, nice duels, good pacing. Expand
  6. Jul 31, 2014
    8
    Its good, pretty solid gameplay and story. Little bit not so exiting at the beginning, but than int much better. Its worth to replay.
    But
    Its good, pretty solid gameplay and story. Little bit not so exiting at the beginning, but than int much better. Its worth to replay.
    But frame-rate drops sometimes.
    Expand
  7. Jul 29, 2013
    6
    Good game but felt like something was missing. Whilst Id like to judge it by itself, but i cant help but compare it to Red Dead Redemption inGood game but felt like something was missing. Whilst Id like to judge it by itself, but i cant help but compare it to Red Dead Redemption in particular, the storyline. There was nothing compelling about it-only a small part of the latter part of the game is interesting.Its just a shooting game, nothing more-it provides a weak storyline. I do praise the presentation and how he story is presented and the fact that its a narrative in a bar/pub adds good atmosphere. Gameplay good but repetitive after a while. Expand

See all 19 User Reviews