User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 69 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 69
  2. Negative: 27 out of 69

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 18, 2013
    7
    The cartel has suffered greatly at the hands of site reviews, however after playing it I believe it deserves a much better rating, sure there are some bugs but nothing major, controls feel a little clunky at times and the constant chatter of your Ai buddies can be... Annoying, but having said that it is a solid shooter, fun and different from most others out there. Personally I like cheesy action movies and that is exactly what this game is. Graphics for the best part are crisp and water effects are done well, in fact a benchmark indicator of how good a game is for me is based on how well water is rendered because if you can't get water right then the game will probably suffer from poor programming skills and be inherently bad ( see Tom Clancy games ). Overall I would rate this title a 7. There are better games out there, but for the price there are a lot worse. Expand
  2. Sep 21, 2012
    0
    this game was so bad it was so repetitive with lot of bug the voice are so tired some which proof to be boring.

    shooting mecha is sloppish i found my self shaking my head in anger........ i return it on second day i hate it so much it was most lame game ever, i found duke nukem forever to be more entertaining....
  3. Nov 14, 2011
    0
    un insulto que este juego utilice las palabras: "Call of " en su titulo. Lo compre y no logre aguantar jugando a este juego ni media hora, en menos de una semana ya lo habia vendido. Muy triste que utilicen el nombre de la franquicia para sacar al mercado semejante mierda.
    El juego en el modo campaña puede presumir de ser el unico que tiene lag, el juego en el modo
    campaña va a golpes, graficos de PS2 en la era del HD. Expand
  4. Sep 21, 2011
    2
    Games like this shame us all. Thousands of years from now a race of alien beings will sift through artifacts found in the irradiated ruins of Northern America, find this game, and then proceed to thermonuclear bomb the living crap out of our planet. Call of Juarez: The Cartel isn't just an unfinished mess of a game that wasn't that brilliant to begin with, it's a scam. While it's really hard to pinpoint the "worst"thing about this game, I'm going to have to say that it's the driving system. Instead of giving you the option of changing the driving perspective, they force you into first person from the perspective of sitting in the drivers seat. You use R2 to drive, the Left stick to steer the car, and the RIght stick to look around the cab. Since you can't see through the entire windshield from where you sit, you have to constantly look around the cab interior while trying to drive, and so driving becomes a frustrating mess. And then for no reason what-so-ever, they've made it so it's impossible to see behind you when you're driving. Finally when you are in a car, the health of the car is the same as your own health, so if the car get's shot up and breaks, you die for no damn reason all. Finally add to all that the fact that you can't exit the car at any point during a mission, so if your car starts taking heavy damage, you have no where to run.

    This all screams of developer laziness. Rather than develop a special set of rules governing how a player controls a car, Techland just used the same control setup for driving that it used for walking. And that's just one example of the hundreds of bad decisions that went into the creation of this game.
    Expand
  5. Aug 16, 2011
    7
    People nowadays are spoilt with gaming. COJ:THE CARTEL is a GAME and personally there is a huge amount of hate for a game that has a few issues. I couldnt give a flyin f**k about bad reviews, to me so far its been an enjoyable no brainer of a shooter that, granted has changed direction from its predecessors in a not so accomplished way. Damnation, Duke Nukem, Conflict:Denied Ops are **** whereas COJ is a shooter to while away the hours until the big titles arrive to blow us away. I began gaming in 1979 and have played pretty much everything but, unlike todays whingers (poor story, not feeling the characters, not real enough etc) I can take things for what they are. This game gives you a lengthy campaign unlike the propaganda driven drivel that you know what i'm talking about. Not worth the full price but, def worth £20 or so. Expand
  6. Aug 12, 2011
    8
    Wow--I can't believe this game is rated so poorly--yea its not the greatest game--but it's also much better tan some of the game out there--

    I've played through about half of it so far and the story is actually interesting for once in a FPS--although there are some mechanics issues--they aren't really that terrible---you get the occasions screen tears and glitching but what game hasn't
    come out in the last year that hasn't had issues upon release--It has some interesting things happening in it and so far am quite intrigued and entertained by it. As for the graphics--I noticed that was a key issue with many of the reviews---well sirs and madams it ain't that bad--I've seen some games that are much worse and have gotten much better reviews so I'm not sure what the big deal is. My only real bothersome issue with this game is the gun accuracy--outside of that---I think its a pretty decent--enjoyable game---with an entertaining story.. And the fact that you can play the game as all 3 characters and online coop with 2 other people is pretty cool. Expand
  7. Aug 9, 2011
    6
    It isn't a terrible game (like Duke Nukem Forever), but it is a pretty bad game. The story is borderline, but entertaining. The three player concept for co-op and story telling is good.
    The technical aspects of the game are miserable and nearly too numerous to list. Here is a small list: graphics are subpar, PS3 lock-ups, graphics are jittery, sometimes can get trapped in a map (requiring
    a reloading from checkpoint to recover), the driving is way to easy and repetitive.. Game companies should really learn from their mistakes and stop outsourcing the game development. The technical flaws of this game reek of some programming farm in eastern Europe. Expand
  8. Aug 4, 2011
    7
    It looks cheap at times but the story is better than any fps I played this year. It's not the 'charlie is oscar mike' type of commando game but there's still plenty of lead flying around. I liked the Wild West scenery of the previous CoJ but this one is interesting for online co-op and action.
  9. Aug 3, 2011
    9
    haven't finished the campaign yet it's 7/10 for me but were having a blast in multiplayer! seriously ppl need to pick this up and play the missions it's the cops vs. robbers all kids love to play but with real looking guns lol!!
  10. Aug 1, 2011
    7
    Okay. This is not a masterpiece, agreed. Still it's an FPS which tries to tell a story! Gasp! While graphics and animations are not nearly as good as they should be, the campaign is fun thanks to a solid plot with some pretty heavy themes. It's not in the least political, it's not about the drug war in Juarez. The Cartel is, like Bound in Blood, a story of the main characters. Being able to play in co-op just adds to the experience. Also while it's not as easy as in COD to find games online, this may well be the most innovative competitive multi of the year. The way people are forced or encouraged to work together with assigned partners is pure genius. Expand
  11. Aug 1, 2011
    0
    A review for call of jaurez the cartel. After reading the positive review from dazigz I felt like I had to throw my hat into the ring. The cartel is terrible and there aren't enough trophies in the world to make up for this abortion of a game. Excuse the foul language but dazigz must take a hot seven inches in his mouth if he thinks otherwise.
  12. Jul 31, 2011
    7
    its not bad. nice amount of weapons,nudity,foul language and blood. Good game for getting some easy trophies. when its all over you will probably have enjoyed the experience
  13. Jul 31, 2011
    8
    I was really surprised when I read some of the reviews AFTER I finished the game. It has some flaws but it's a really fun game, one of really few that let you play in co-op. The ONLY ONE that features a good story to be played with 3 characters and what's more it differs for each character. I really had fun playing it with my friends. So the press reviews don't give this game justice imo.
    Good choice for me for this summer.
    Expand
  14. Jul 26, 2011
    2
    One of the worst games I've played. And I've been playing games for 19 years plus. Ok maybe that's an exaggeration, but at the very least it's one of the worst I've played in recent memory. I rented it on a whim with low expectations, figuring at the very least it could occupy me for a few hours a day over the weekend. I was mistaken. I gave up after about 10-15 minutes. The graphics were outdated, the mechanics were stale, the weapons uninspiring, and on top of that it was consistently buggy and was lagging every 3-4 minutes.

    Unless you're a huge huge fan of the game and have the patience of Job, don't rent it. And unless you have $60 that you don't mind lighting on fire, don't buy it.
    Expand
  15. Jul 22, 2011
    3
    The review scores say it all. What were Techland thinking? Buggy, bland, messy, boring and, worst of all for a Juarez game, completely lacking in atmosphere, the one thing the previous games majored on. I'll persist on, just to try and get some value out of this, but Bound In Blood fans really should just keep playing that until Techland come to their senses.
  16. Jul 22, 2011
    1
    The decline of a great name call of juarez is dead

    It's a shame that a franchise with such popularity as Call of Juarez is now represented by this game lacks any originality technically bad and boring that does not justify the price, hopefully it will not come to PC I hope as well is a disappointment graphically, for hardcore gamers is not recommended is not up to titles like crysis 2
    or fear3 not to mention the upcoming games that will come as a deus ex human revolution or rage.

    A game that was made quickly to fully exploit the fans of Call of Juarez who expected something different but also original and has been the opposite, since I personally play the experience was bored and tired as the game has spirit to motivate you to finish the story ridiculous and unrealistic, definitely one of the worst games this year
    Expand
  17. Jul 19, 2011
    6
    This isn't a bad game but its far from great. For you fans of the series the wisecracking banter, shifty anti hero characters, and interesting story are back. But the guns are just plain generic and the combat comes in a bit short. While shooting in general is up to par the new bullet time lacks the character or features of the old game. I'm sorry but a quick one liner and slomo does not ad up to auto targeting while snapping the view stick or unloading bullets at all the enemies you managed to get in your cross hairs. CO-OP is unclear and the fact that online play is not the default mode means you won't be seeing allot of team play on your first play through (though i have heard the XBOX settings may be different). Also some of the side characters just feel hollow and not well thought out with most of the effort falling on the 3 main characters. If your a fan you will enjoy this and maybe if your new to the series, but i would not blame you for waiting until you can rent or buy this game at a discounted price, 60$ just seems a bit high Expand
  18. Jul 31, 2011
    0
    its not bad. nice amount of weapons,nudity,foul language and blood. Good game for getting some easy trophies. when its all over you will probably have enjoyed the experience
Metascore
45

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 42
  2. Negative: 23 out of 42
  1. Sure, there are some minor kicks in three player co-op, but they're very short-lived and fraught with frustration. Call of Juarez should have stuck to its guns and remained an Old Wild Western. Avoid this like you would the real po-lice. [October 2011 p80]
  2. Sep 16, 2011
    30
    What's most disappointing about The Cartel is that it feels like a point of no return for what was once a promising franchise. It has really dropped the ball on the whole Western motif in favor of mostly grim urban environments and an almost actively disengaging plot.
  3. Sep 13, 2011
    33
    Call of Juarez: The Cartel is a hodgepodge of bad ideas and performance issues. Even if you can get past the technical problems, this heavy-handed action game never quite lives up to its potential. If you have a couple friends to play with you might get some fun out of it, everybody else might want to look elsewhere for their first-person fix!