Metascore
45

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 69 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Call of Juarez: The Cartel is the third game from the Call of Juarez series.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 42
  2. Negative: 23 out of 42
  1. Jul 22, 2011
    65
    It's not what it used to be. The new setting doesn't any good, and to top it all off, you just end up chasing checkpoints like in Operation Flashpoint: Red River. That's no fun at all.
  2. Jul 22, 2011
    55
    Some distinguishing features give this shooter a touch of class, but bugs and execution flaws cast a long shadow over Call of Juarez: The Cartel.
  3. Aug 5, 2011
    51
    What I played this last week was one of the least enjoyable video game experiences I've ever had, and I would be extremely surprised if there were to be a fourth game in this franchise. Not only is the game full of miserable characters, it's also lacking the polish consumers should expect of a finished game.
  4. Aug 5, 2011
    45
    Although Techland brings some nice ideas into the Call of Juarez universe, the game ultimately fails to deliver because of a way too typical story, dated graphics, loads of bugs and a total misunderstanding of the concept 'Wild West'. The Cartel is a major step back for the franchise and we would have been better off without it.
  5. Aug 1, 2011
    42
    The single best feature in Call of Juarez: The Cartel is the ability to play through the entire game in co-op.
  6. Jul 29, 2011
    40
    Truly, this game is a disappointment on nearly every level.
  7. 10
    The game feels like the developers assembled it at the last minute and they didn't even bother to play test it. The bad writing, disappointing gameplay, and annoying dialogue is enough to give this game a bad rating, but the technical faults make this truly one of the worst games of this generation. This isn't a game, it's a joke and nobody is laughing.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 17
  2. Negative: 7 out of 17
  1. Aug 3, 2011
    9
    haven't finished the campaign yet it's 7/10 for me but were having a blast in multiplayer! seriously ppl need to pick this up and play the missions it's the cops vs. robbers all kids love to play but with real looking guns lol!! Expand
  2. Aug 12, 2011
    8
    Wow--I can't believe this game is rated so poorly--yea its not the greatest game--but it's also much better tan some of the game out there--

    I've played through about half of it so far and the story is actually interesting for once in a FPS--although there are some mechanics issues--they aren't really that terrible---you get the occasions screen tears and glitching but what game hasn't come out in the last year that hasn't had issues upon release--It has some interesting things happening in it and so far am quite intrigued and entertained by it. As for the graphics--I noticed that was a key issue with many of the reviews---well sirs and madams it ain't that bad--I've seen some games that are much worse and have gotten much better reviews so I'm not sure what the big deal is. My only real bothersome issue with this game is the gun accuracy--outside of that---I think its a pretty decent--enjoyable game---with an entertaining story.. And the fact that you can play the game as all 3 characters and online coop with 2 other people is pretty cool.
    Expand
  3. Aug 1, 2011
    7
    Okay. This is not a masterpiece, agreed. Still it's an FPS which tries to tell a story! Gasp! While graphics and animations are not nearly as good as they should be, the campaign is fun thanks to a solid plot with some pretty heavy themes. It's not in the least political, it's not about the drug war in Juarez. The Cartel is, like Bound in Blood, a story of the main characters. Being able to play in co-op just adds to the experience. Also while it's not as easy as in COD to find games online, this may well be the most innovative competitive multi of the year. The way people are forced or encouraged to work together with assigned partners is pure genius. Expand
  4. Jul 19, 2011
    6
    This isn't a bad game but its far from great. For you fans of the series the wisecracking banter, shifty anti hero characters, and interesting story are back. But the guns are just plain generic and the combat comes in a bit short. While shooting in general is up to par the new bullet time lacks the character or features of the old game. I'm sorry but a quick one liner and slomo does not ad up to auto targeting while snapping the view stick or unloading bullets at all the enemies you managed to get in your cross hairs. CO-OP is unclear and the fact that online play is not the default mode means you won't be seeing allot of team play on your first play through (though i have heard the XBOX settings may be different). Also some of the side characters just feel hollow and not well thought out with most of the effort falling on the 3 main characters. If your a fan you will enjoy this and maybe if your new to the series, but i would not blame you for waiting until you can rent or buy this game at a discounted price, 60$ just seems a bit high Expand
  5. Jul 22, 2011
    3
    The review scores say it all. What were Techland thinking? Buggy, bland, messy, boring and, worst of all for a Juarez game, completely lacking in atmosphere, the one thing the previous games majored on. I'll persist on, just to try and get some value out of this, but Bound In Blood fans really should just keep playing that until Techland come to their senses. Expand
  6. Sep 21, 2011
    2
    Games like this shame us all. Thousands of years from now a race of alien beings will sift through artifacts found in the irradiated ruins of Northern America, find this game, and then proceed to thermonuclear bomb the living crap out of our planet. Call of Juarez: The Cartel isn't just an unfinished mess of a game that wasn't that brilliant to begin with, it's a scam. While it's really hard to pinpoint the "worst"thing about this game, I'm going to have to say that it's the driving system. Instead of giving you the option of changing the driving perspective, they force you into first person from the perspective of sitting in the drivers seat. You use R2 to drive, the Left stick to steer the car, and the RIght stick to look around the cab. Since you can't see through the entire windshield from where you sit, you have to constantly look around the cab interior while trying to drive, and so driving becomes a frustrating mess. And then for no reason what-so-ever, they've made it so it's impossible to see behind you when you're driving. Finally when you are in a car, the health of the car is the same as your own health, so if the car get's shot up and breaks, you die for no damn reason all. Finally add to all that the fact that you can't exit the car at any point during a mission, so if your car starts taking heavy damage, you have no where to run.

    This all screams of developer laziness. Rather than develop a special set of rules governing how a player controls a car, Techland just used the same control setup for driving that it used for walking. And that's just one example of the hundreds of bad decisions that went into the creation of this game.
    Collapse
  7. Aug 1, 2011
    0
    A review for call of jaurez the cartel. After reading the positive review from dazigz I felt like I had to throw my hat into the ring. The cartel is terrible and there aren't enough trophies in the world to make up for this abortion of a game. Excuse the foul language but dazigz must take a hot seven inches in his mouth if he thinks otherwise. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews