Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
Buy On
  1. Dec 12, 2011
    87
    A surprisingly good racing game, and not just because it's a licensed title, that also happens to have fantastic 3D effects for those who have a 3D TV.
  2. Aug 3, 2011
    86
    Despite the fact that I did not see the movie (yet), I can honestly say I really enjoyed Cars 2: The Game. I enjoyed it a lot more than I thought I would. It's not just a children's game, it's more challenging than it looks and it's not to be snubbed as a go-to party game.
  3. Aug 2, 2011
    80
    Think of it as Mario Kart with tricks and lots of weapons. It's a bit slow and the tracks aren't that great but there's a lot of fun game modes and in the end it's an excellent party family game. Avalanche is Disney's best friend.
  4. Aug 1, 2011
    80
    There is oodles of fun to be had in tackling the tracks alone or even more so with friends playing locally.
  5. Jul 27, 2011
    78
    Whatever your feelings about Cars, arguably Pixar's least popular movie series, you can't deny the quality of Cars 2: The Video Game. It's everything that typical movie games aren't, being fun, content-rich and technically solid.
  6. Jul 14, 2011
    75
    Despite the rough spots, Cars 2 still presents an enjoyable experience because none of the issues impact the core game. Whether you're a hardcore Cars fan or just looking for a kid-friendly racing game, Cars 2 is sure to please. It's perfectly tuned for the younger set, while at the same time packing in enough quality gameplay to keep things entertaining for all the older gamers out there. In short, if you happen to be a parent with kids, this one is right up your alley.
  7. Jul 14, 2011
    76
    Cars 2 isn't just a game for kids, fans of kart driving games should have no doubt about picking this one up.
  8. Jul 13, 2011
    80
    A solid, well-presented game that features a lot of creativity, great sound, and an action/racing style that really can't be found anywhere else.
  9. Jul 11, 2011
    80
    Instead of trying to retell the story of the movie, Cars 2 evokes the experience of the film through gameplay.
  10. Jul 8, 2011
    80
    A very fun game, way above the average movie-based title. Those who have predujices about Disney, Pixar of this sort of game might let escape a very enjoyable game.
  11. Jul 5, 2011
    78
    Cars 2 is a racing game that serves up a fun racing experience with a variety of game modes to keep you occupied.
  12. Jun 28, 2011
    75
    Cars 2 is a colorful and varied racer that's a lot of fun to play with friends and family.
  13. Jun 22, 2011
    80
    Under all the Pixar beauty is an extremely fun game.
  14. Jun 21, 2011
    78
    The game's levels take you through a variety of iconic areas, but they ultimately lack the wow factor that more fanciful takes that other games in the genre offer. At the end of the day, however, Cars 2: The Video Game is a satisfying racing game with a reserve tank of charm. And if multiplayer is your thing, the entire game can be played via a four-way split screen. Chances are, if you have younger gamers in your household, you'll have a few eager challengers in no time flat.
  15. Aug 31, 2011
    78
    Cars 2 is a great fun racer with easy tracks and classical weapons. On the flip side, the big turbo works poorly, you have to play the lenghty tutorial no matter what and Cars 2 has an impertinent rubberband AI.
  16. Aug 4, 2011
    75
    As a driving game, it actually handles pretty nicely.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Jun 23, 2011
    8
    Its a really great game. Some people think that games based on movies are horrible- but it isn't true. I played in Toy Story 3 and it wasIts a really great game. Some people think that games based on movies are horrible- but it isn't true. I played in Toy Story 3 and it was great too. My brother loves that game. (10.0) Full Review »
  2. Jan 30, 2016
    8
    A VERY great game for all ages! It's fun, has a lot of variety, and every mode (except Survival) is a lot of fun! I would definitely recommendA VERY great game for all ages! It's fun, has a lot of variety, and every mode (except Survival) is a lot of fun! I would definitely recommend this game! Full Review »
  3. Dec 17, 2013
    5
    Best thing about it: you can play everything with 4 players on the couch with friends.
    However, the driving is pretty boring as I don't feel
    Best thing about it: you can play everything with 4 players on the couch with friends.
    However, the driving is pretty boring as I don't feel any weight or speed to the cars and there is seems to be no interaction between cars. I just drove slowly past everyone with Mater in every race and that was that. Nothing more to it. No competition at all. Yes, I realise this is a childrens game but aren't the children supposed to be playing this game with each other?
    Full Review »