Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. It's a great game that I'm happy PS3 owners will now have a chance to play, and I look forward to playing through the co-op adventure mode a few more times in the near future.
  2. 91
    My enthusiasm for the XBLA release was initially tempered by busted online play, which took months to correct, but the PSN version luckily lacks significant issues. Lag occasionally pops up, and I've encountered a couple of issues connecting to matches, but by and large, it works -- and aside from having three friends in your living room, playing online is the best way to experience Castle Crashers.
  3. Added to the package is all of the DLC from the XBLA market place, team arena, the volleyball mode, and the lush 2D graphics, make it worth the $15 asking price. If you have the time and the dime, Castle Crashers is a worthy PSN title to add to your mantle!
  4. Castle Crashers made a brilliant transition to the PS3, although it took its fine time to flop onto our hard drives.
  5. Dec 29, 2010
    88
    The gameplay is fast and furious. [Issue#200, p.102]
  6. Dec 29, 2010
    85
    It ain't big and it ain't clever, but still: demon corncob. [Jan 2011, p.91]
  7. 85
    If you never experienced the Xbox 360 version, or you happen to have more friends on your PSN list, Castle Crashers is a great game though you might want to wait for a multiplayer patch before investing.
  8. While it would've been nice for The Behemoth to top the PSN port of Castle Crashers off with more bonus content and perhaps even a more lenient difficulty setting, it's worth downloading.
  9. Jan 13, 2011
    84
    Fit-to-bursting with fun, Castle Crashers is a rare PSN treat. [Jan 2011, p.96]
  10. It's during the co-op play that this really hits its stride. [Jan 2011, p.121]
  11. Combat is both satisfyingly bloody and bloody satisfying. [November 2010 p80]
  12. A delightful visual style and compulsively playable beat-'em-up action make Castle Crashers an invigorating breath of fresh air in a classic genre.
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 98 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Sep 14, 2010
    10
    I feel like such a tool by giving the first game I ever score on metacritic a 10, but honestly...this game deserves it. probably the most perfect downloadable game ever made. Imagine my surprise when this actually lived up to the hype. Full Review »
  2. Sep 9, 2010
    9
    This is the best Download-able game on the market. the gameplay is easy to pick up and easy to master, and the graphics are good for what the game's supposed to be. I am disappointed by the minor changes and the lack of DLC (in comparison to the XBOX 360 version), but this game is still so amazing and similar to the other that it doesn't really matter much Full Review »
  3. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    Easily the greatest PS3 downloadable of 2010 along with some other titles. This Beat Em' Up game features amazing 2D graphics and a wide array of enemies and bosses that each require a special tactic to defeat. You spawn in a castle partying when a siege is launched on your kingdom. Plunged into battle, you see your king being paralyzed while a deranged wizard steals the kingdom's magic crystal. And while this is happening, 4 princesses have been stolen and taken to various locations around the map. Multiplayer is required for boss battles because of teammates ability to rejuvinate allies after they've fallen in combat. It's not about checking your wallet or getting the demo. I speak to you saying-
    GET THIS GAME!!
    Full Review »